View Full Version : C'mon Oct 06 Mums - it's July!
Just realised it's the 2nd.... thought I'd better start us off again!
GeorgiaAnne
02-07-2008, 11:28
Good on you Bec, you sound great and clever Ella for settling into her big bed so quickly and easily. Does she wake up at night at all or did she before you moved her into the bed?
No - she hasn't been a night waker for ages. She occaisonally has a nightmare, but quickly resettles (she had one on the 2nd big bed night).
I reckon she likes it because she has a pillow and a big doona now, so it's more soft & snuggly than her cot. Also because of the pillow she doesn't hit her head on the bedhead, which she was doing in the cot.
SalTheGal
02-07-2008, 19:05
Hi Everyone, well it is about 3c outside and windy and rainy here tonight, and I just jad a doorknocker trying to switch us onto a different energy supplier....how desperate is that! :rolleyes: Silly woman, and she bl00dy well wouldn't take no for an answer either, luckily Nedd got grizzly so I could use him and bedtime as an excuse to shut the door and send her on her merry/freezing way.
Sare- I take my hat off to you for being able to wait...but I am sure you are having a boy.
Sarah- You sound so so happy!! That is just wonderful, and Monet sounds brilliant, I am going to be in geelong next week for work, you will be hearing from me- I'd love to be able to pop in for a cuddle!!!
Kristin- Bella sounds like she is doing brilliantly! Going to the toilet, and speaking so well, she is very much the big sister isn't she- that is wonderful!
Nedd is talking lots, but not as advanced as a few of your lot- but I am noticing its maybe the girls- which I have heard that is normal? Girls tend to be more chatterboxes than boys?
He still sits on the potty often for poos but we are not encouraging him, I am happy for that to wait till summer- this house is way too cold.
Bec- yay on the prize, and re the cash from work, I have to put all expenses (including flights and accomodation) on a work amex which is then my responsibility to pay and claim, so I have been paying off the bill, but too lazy to claim from work...it doesn't take long to add up when you include several interstate flights! Ella sounds very very cute at the moment, Nedd loves to fall down too, and totally cracks himself up, easily amused!
Nedd's food is still iffy at dinner time, but after hearing that its pretty standard I am not stressed, he gets what he is offered, and if he doesn't eat it then he misses out. He is still having a cup of milk before bed so I am not too stressed.
We had a great night last night- he slept through which was wonderful! I actually felt half rested this morning when I woke.
Work is work, I hate it with a passion... but its been pretty busy this week and next- which is good, its easier to enjoy when I am busy than moping around being bored.
OK, well thats enough ramble from me! Take care all. :goodvibes:
Sal - It is freezing here too, but I know how much colder Ballarat is than Melb.
Oh and the waiting thing...I'm really impatient normally. I've already scrutinized the ultrasound dvd about 3 times and paused. I think I can tell what we're having (I did with the girls, could plainly see those 3 lines), but I will just have to wait to November to be sure.
Bec - That's great that Ella has taken to a bed so well. I can only hope Lara does too. Her's is on order, so we just have to wait for it to turn up. Then the fun begins, Lara and Eloise will be sharing a room and they think anytime that they're together in Eloise's room (soon to be their room), that it's party time.
How long until you have your big scan and find out whether you're having a boy or girl? It can't be that long, you're only due a month after me and I had mine late-ish at 20 weeks.
Congrats on your win too. And good luck with the house hunting.
Kristin - Wow on Bella's tt-ing. I take my hats of to you guys who have started already. I hated it with Eloise, as I am sure you all remember. I'm dreading going through it all again.
I'll have a look at your zoints profile later, but the pics that you put on facebook were adorable.
Lara's latest fascination is The Fairies. She just loves them. She dresses up like them and dances around. She is mesmorised by the books and she is continually saying Buzzy Bee and makes attempts at Harmony and Rhapsody. She had us in stitches the other day, she started singing 'Jump, jump, star' (one of their songs) and showed us her newly acquired skill of jumping. She just thought she was ace.
Who's off to the toy sales tomorrow? I wasn't going to bother, but Eloise is going to a friend's house for a play, so I thought I'd take the chance to pop down to K-Mart and see if they have the 2 things that she wanted for Christmas (the Dora in-line skates and the Disney Princess sleeping bag). Not fussed if I don't get them though. I have no idea what to get for Lara or the baby though, so I'll leave it until it gets closer to Christmas (and until we know whether bubs is a boy or a girl).
Better go. Take care girls...
:wave: everyone,
Hope all is good! Things are going well here, although still getting used to the new routine now there are 4! Dinner time has been a bit of a test this week...I really must start preparing it during the day like I used to before Monet arrived (perhaps instead of being on here, lol) Other than that though, all's ok.
I have an appoint with M tomorrow to see an osteopath, so hopefully his sleeping and behavioural issues will be dealt with...if not, it's off the Dr for him in the enxt few weeks. I'll give a few weeks more of 'settling' in with the baby before deciding it's him and not the circumstances, iykwim?
Had a worrying call from the BIL on Wednesday night. FIL was taken to hospital by ambulance after losing blood (on the toilet) and having episodes of passing out, etc. Was a little scary. He's still in hospital now, having test after test. We are currently waiting on a phone call which may lead us closer to understanding what in fact is going on. Nobody seems to know as yet. Of course, the worst case scenario pops into one's head, however, we just need to stay positive and hope it's nothing too serious.
Bec - That's great the Ella's doing so well in the big girls bed. I'm still not attempting this with J yet. Perhaps I should though as he is getting so heavy to be lugging him over the cot side, lol!!
Sare - So cute about Lara and her fairies!! J is only just starting to take notice of different shows. He's liking the Wiggles, In the night garden, and the new Earnie and Burt show. Stands so close to the TV I'm surprised he can actually see what's on it, lol! Keep scrutinising that DVD. Are you sure what your looking at is the right place?? I still think it's going to be a boy :thumbsup:
Sal - Would love for you to pop in and see our little princess. Just let me know when you're around and I'll try and be home :D
Re: TT - Mum has had J a bit over the past fortnight, and has sat him on the potty throughout the day. You know what?? The cheeky little fella has done 2 wees and a poo on her potty :eek: I have tried him here at home, but he seems uninterested - which I'm fine with ATM as I don't really have the time to focus on it yet anyway. I have bought her potty home here to see if perhaps he didn't like ours (who wouldn't though. It's a little throne that plays music when he does wee or poo!), but it hasn't seemed to make a difference. Mum even mentioned that perhaps she would take J on Monday's, Tuesday's and Wednesday's to help with the TT. I don't care to much about the TT, but one less child would be great, lmao!!
Re: Day sleeps - Is anyone else finding that their cheeky little devils are not wanting a day sleep?? Many times during this past week, we have put J down at his normal time of 12.00 - 12.30pm, and he's still been awake at 2.30pm. It's ended up in me just getting him up again as that's just too late for him to be going down. He has gone down without a worry today, and he went down ok at Mum's yesterday too. I'm just worrying I guess that he's trying to phaze his day sleeps out, which I am not ready for him to do :no:
I best go and get a rest on the couch in before J and little M wake., and help these older 2 boys to some more food.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-07-2008, 21:28
quick post from me...
M,T,J & M's MUM - hope your FIL is ok....! keep us updated!
TT - i ask keanu if he wants to do a wee wee on his potty....and he shakes his head and says nah, nah, nah!! so not ready. i bought him a pack of undies at the toy sale for xmas for him tho..spiderman ones...so cute!
sleeping - he is doing ok during the day, some days he naps for 30 mins others 2 hrs...just depends. got to run. have a great weekend everyone
SalTheGal
05-07-2008, 12:07
Hi Everyone...
I have a sicky in the house :no: Just a cold, but poor Nedd has such a blocked nose that he is finding it hard to breath, thus the last two nights have been rather unsettled....which is quite unfortunate given that he actually slept through the two before- so we were nearly on a roll! He is a bit off his food too so I am thinking a sore throat- will head off to the Drs tomorrow if no improvement.
Nedd is definitely still having day sleeps- atleast 1.5hrs- if not 2 or more, he was a bit off colour at daycare last week and slept for 4hrs! :eek: I cannot see him dropping them anytime soon- if he misses one at lunch time he will definitely crash during the afternoon.
Apart from that I am laying relatively low. Lots happening on the house- we were out there this morning with me on the Drill :eek: (very dangerous) putting up 'sizalation'- that wrap stuff that goes on the outside of the house before brickwork, and tomorrow we are putting in the windows- whilst it is nice having a builder DH, the fact that it means he is saving us money by doing things such as these himself is a bit of a pain as I get roped into helping!
Roof is getting put on next week, and brickies starting the week after. I can't believe how quickly it is all happening after so much drama to start with!!
Update on DH and I and our counselling etc, well DH finally got to the Drs to have a chat bout depression- and yep the Dr agrees and has prescribed meds for him. TBH it really took me by surprise, but in hindsight I guess I can see it- just that men show depression in such different ways to women (he is very angry and insolent and withdrawn)- specially having suffered myself before I thought I would recognise the signs. So we are going to see how things go over the niext month or so, I remember when I got treatment, our relationship improved ten fold...back then lots of our problems were my problems, and TBH this time round lots of our problems are DH's (not that he can see it) so I am hoping things will just improve over time, although they have been pretty good lately- honestly I can't recommend counselling highly enough it really helps us get back on track. :valentine:
We are all systems go for TTC this month :smiliedance: so who knows what will happen...its quite exciting, but I am also a bit scared now that it is really happening!
Hmmm nothing much else to report.
Sarah- Hope your FIL is ok...try not to think the worst- cross each bridge as it arises. And I will be in your area next week sometime, I will PM you! Sounds like your Mum has a way with her gandson.
Speaking of toy sales- what is everyone getting? I am a bit stumped with what to get Nedd that isn't lego/transport/or train related. DH wants to build him a cubby house for xmas- but I would like him to have other stuff too!
Sarah - I hope your FIL is ok. How did M go at the osteo today? Has he found the adjustment to having Monet as part of the family really difficult?
Oh and I'm pretty sure that I'm looking at the right parts of the ultrasound. I'm pretty sure that I know what we're having now. I posted some screen shots that I had captured from the u/s dvd on pg4 of the July Chat for Nov 2008 mums if you want to check.
Sal - Poor Nedd. We've got a house full of sickies too. Just colds. Luckily they seem to be sleeping ok (probably in for a shocker of a night now that I have typed that!).
Great news about the house, sounds like it's really progressing.
Good luck with ttc...hope it happens straight away for you.
re: sleeping - Lara's still having between 1 and 2 hrs sleep. She'd be feral if she didn't have it.
re toysales: I bought a few things for Eloise (the ones that I mentioned in the last post), but I have no idea what to get for Lara or the baby. I think I'll just wait until closer to b'day/Christmas. I'm pretty sure there are toy sales around November too.
We're off to see Disney on Ice tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to it. It was great last year, but this year they are doing 5 Disney stories and one of them is The Lion King, which I just love. It'll be a busy day though, we have a b'day party to go to before that.
Hope you are all having a great weekend!
SalTheGal
05-07-2008, 15:18
lol Sare, I had a peek and dont know why I bothered really- I wouldn't know how to tell head from toes!!! Oh and its pg 8! But if your hunch is right (and it sounds like youve studied it enough to have a fair clue) then Yay Yay Yay!!!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-07-2008, 15:29
hi girls
sal - that is great about you and DH....relationships need constant work, and great to see that thru the tough times you can stick together....that's what it is about!
Ah i got keanu from the toy sales-
BDAY-
Elmo acoustic guitar (well i am getting from target)
and a tonka truck.
XMAS
spiderman undies for TT
a set of matchbox cars and a car mat
easel
remote control car
will prob get him a few stocking fillers, but he will get things from the family, so trying to keep it a bit smaller.
prob spend $100 all up....for bday and xmas...that is plenty!
he is loving trucks and cars in the past week..playing like a real little boy!
today i got him the fisher price stepstool potty that plays music, so hopegully it encourages him....it was $29....
anyway that is it for me...except GOODLUCK sal in TTC...hopefully we are preg together!! That would be great - we are already discussing names lol....we find it really hard to agree on names....we had one boy and one girl name last time...that was it...that is all we agreed on he he...so for a girl we are thinking Anastasia (and i am thinking Rose as a middle name). but who knows....ha ha we aren't even pregnant yet!
got to run...chat soon and sal, hope nedd is better soon!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-07-2008, 15:41
Oh girls, i have a november mum kirra and liam who would like to join our thread....our november thread is slowly dying....there is heaps of chit chatter in here and everyone is lovely, lots of helpful things/advice too. so i told her the more the merrier. Hopefully she comes across! :)
Hi Everyone...
I have a sicky in the house :no: Just a cold, but poor Nedd has such a blocked nose that he is finding it hard to breath, thus the last two nights have been rather unsettled....which is quite unfortunate given that he actually slept through the two before- so we were nearly on a roll! He is a bit off his food too so I am thinking a sore throat- will head off to the Drs tomorrow if no improvement.
Apart from that I am laying relatively low. Lots happening on the house- we were out there this morning with me on the Drill :eek: (very dangerous) putting up 'sizalation'- that wrap stuff that goes on the outside of the house before brickwork, and tomorrow we are putting in the windows- whilst it is nice having a builder DH, the fact that it means he is saving us money by doing things such as these himself is a bit of a pain as I get roped into helping!
Update on DH and I and our counselling etc, well DH finally got to the Drs to have a chat bout depression- and yep the Dr agrees and has prescribed meds for him. TBH it really took me by surprise, but in hindsight I guess I can see it- just that men show depression in such different ways to women (he is very angry and insolent and withdrawn)- specially having suffered myself before I thought I would recognise the signs. So we are going to see how things go over the niext month or so, I remember when I got treatment, our relationship improved ten fold...back then lots of our problems were my problems, and TBH this time round lots of our problems are DH's (not that he can see it) so I am hoping things will just improve over time, although they have been pretty good lately- honestly I can't recommend counselling highly enough it really helps us get back on track. :valentine:
We are all systems go for TTC this month :smiliedance: so who knows what will happen...its quite exciting, but I am also a bit scared now that it is really happening!
Hmmm nothing much else to report.
Sarah- Hope your FIL is ok...try not to think the worst- cross each bridge as it arises. And I will be in your area next week sometime, I will PM you! Sounds like your Mum has a way with her gandson.
Speaking of toy sales- what is everyone getting? I am a bit stumped with what to get Nedd that isn't lego/transport/or train related. DH wants to build him a cubby house for xmas- but I would like him to have other stuff too!
Hi Sal,
Poor little Nedd, being a little unwell. Hope he picks up soon for you.
You're sounding very adventurous there, helping DH with the house...just reading it made me feel exhausted, lol!! Sounds like it's all happening now, for sure. When is it planned to be all done?
Re: Counselling - It sounds like your DH's diagnosis did come as a shock, but I guess the good thing is, is that it's now being treated and hopefully things will soon become ok again. And now you know what you're dealing with, I guess it will help you as to how to deal with future 'problems' so to speak.
Re: TTC - :smiliedance: Hope it happens really soon for you!! I'm going to be feeling so jealous of you Oct 06 mummies that will be having babies in the next 12 months or so....It's still sinking in the Monet is probably our last :crying:
Re: Toy Sales - Nothing!!! I have no plans to walk into any store whilst their toy sales are on. I'm actually almost tempted to open my house for a toy sale, lol!! I may, though, pop into Kmart to get the boys some new Wii games...that will be all I'm going to get. They always seem to have good sales a little later in the year anyway.
Re: FIL - Dh has picked him up and taken him home today. He'll have to go back in to hospital in a fortnight or so to have a colonoscopy. It could have been caused by a number of different things such as a burst blood vessel, bowel cancer, and some other things. There is a history of cancer in the family, so we're all keeping our fingers crossed that this isn't the case with him. I will keep you posted....thanks!
Sarah - I hope your FIL is ok. How did M go at the osteo today? Has he found the adjustment to having Monet as part of the family really difficult?
Oh and I'm pretty sure that I'm looking at the right parts of the ultrasound. I'm pretty sure that I know what we're having now. I posted some screen shots that I had captured from the u/s dvd on pg4 of the July Chat for Nov 2008 mums if you want to check.
We're off to see Disney on Ice tomorrow. I'm really looking forward to it. It was great last year, but this year they are doing 5 Disney stories and one of them is The Lion King, which I just love. It'll be a busy day though, we have a b'day party to go to before that.
Hi Sare,
M did really well at the osteo today. I'm so pleased I decided to take him. His little neck was so tight, and his back was all out of whack. His hips were also at different heights! She did some really gentle work on him, and could actually hear the pop of his neck going back to where it should've been!! M was really patient with her, laying right where she told him too, etc. She seems to think, that from the converstions she was having with him, that his sleeping and behavioural issues have come from these incorrect alignments. He is currently with BIL tonight, and apparently, M had a day sleep today!! He fell asleep when they were out on a drive, which he never does...I'm guessing it's because of the treatment he had today. She also took a look at Monet, and did a slight treatment on her. All was generally good, she just did something for her diaphram. She also had a huge sleep this afternoon, and seems extra sleepy tonight...once again, I'm assuming it's from her treatment.
I'm unsure if Monet is the problem. It's hard to tell. We have made sure that we are still spending plenty of time with the boys. If it's not me, DH is almost spending every minute with them, and if it's not him, they're off with one of our Mum's, etc. I'm hoping that today's appoint will make a difference to him and that we get our little Mack back!! I do know that he seems a little put out that Monet is in our room to sleep at night, and that he's not allowed to be. I don't think that something as small as this could make such a huge difference with him, could it?
Re: Ultrasound pics - I checked out the pics you posted. I'd have to say...OMG!!!! If that's not a boy baby you're cooking in there, I'd be very very surprised!!! Does not look a thing like my ultrasound did of Monet. looks much more suspiciously like my previous 3 children's ultrasounds, not that I'm a sonographer ao anything!! I'm surprised they took pics of that region for your DVD. They won't do that here.
Hope the Magpies have a win for you tonight, and I hope you all have a lovely day at Disney on Ice tomorrow. It would be great if we lived a lot closer to all of those sort of things so we could perhaps go to some, but we don't, and I can't be bothered with the car trip there and back, lol!! I would love to take to boys to the museum though to see the dinosaurs thing they have on atm...perhaps I could brave the car trip just once : )
After my almost 3 hour nap this afternoon, I'm still awfully tired, so I'm off to bed for yet another early night. MIL has DS2, and BIL has DS1. J has been asleep for almost 2 hours already, and little M is fast asleep too. Sounds like it's time for me to get some sleep too!!
Sare - I took a look at the scan but I'm just going to have to take your word that its a baby, I can't tell a thing from that!
Disney on Ice? You do the coolest things. I'm going to take Abbey to the supermarket to buy toilet paper, does that compare? I totally don't even think of taking her to events, or even know they are on. I don't even stop and watch the supermarket school holiday shows, I'm trying to avoid them for as long as I can. Very soon she will insist on staying though.
Sarah - hope the tests on your FIL don't show anything cancerous. So good that M cooperates with the osteo, makes the visit a lot more useful I bet.
Sal - good news on the ttc, hope it works first go and puts you in a better frame of mind about work etc. I agree, counselling is excellent and everyone should try it before separating. It really should be covered at least a part by medicare or something though, just to make it more widely accessible.
Make sure your DH meds don't (negatively) affect his libido while you're ttc!
Jackie - more mums are welcome of course. Have you tested for this month yet?
Abbey-Cadabby and I have been having rough nights. I'm assuming its teeth bothering her, she just wants to grump at me all night and fidget and kiss me. We get enough sleep, just not quality sleep. And boy does she wake up grumpy. Lasts at least 15 minutes of complaining and refusing to be happy.
She learned an important lesson yesterday. In a rare visit to maccas drive thru she was getting antsy, so I gave her a 50c piece and a cup to put it in. She's had money before, but never spoken about it. Yesterday she apparently needed "more munny!". Little monkey!
We picked up a new dryer yesterday and her nappies now dry in half the time. Considering the weather report says it will rain every day until Wednesday that is super. Err...does it bother anyone when I say I win this or that? Sometimes it does, and while I love to share my happies I don't want to annoy anyone.
Re toy sales - I'm finding it harder to buy for a 2 yo than I did for her previously. I guess the flashing lights and bright colours don't thrill me anymore. I've preordered an outdoor toddler gym from target, with a little swing and slide. Hopefully she will enjoy such things by christmas. For her birthday and small gifts, I don't know. She has so many toys as it is!
re naps - She doesn't act sleepy or anything, but I enforce a 12.30 -2.00 nap each day. If I don't she gets grumpy around 3pm and if I don't keep her awake then intentionally she will crash out and stay up late afterwards. I'm not looking forward to losing the day nap. I suspect my sanity will depart with it.
GeorgiaAnne
06-07-2008, 16:44
Buggah, I just lost a big post!
I don't have time to re-type but Sare, I think you should be buying some blue by the look of those scan photos. There is a suspicious thing between those legs!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-07-2008, 17:57
is there a scan photo...me can't find :no:
Yep...I've just been too slack to repost them, they're in the due in Nov 08 July Chat. Just for you Jackie I'll repost them here for you:
1 (http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p194/mselg/1.jpg)
2 (http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p194/mselg/2.jpg)
3 (http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p194/mselg/3.jpg)
4 (http://i128.photobucket.com/albums/p194/mselg/4.jpg)
I've labelled the parts I can tell. I really think that its a boy, but I just don't know. In the back of my head I'm thinking that it could be the umbilical cord.
Are you close to testing again Jackie? :fingerscrossed: for you.
I don't have time to re-type but Sare, I think you should be buying some blue by the look of those scan photos. There is a suspicious thing between those legs!
I wish I was confident enough to. How are you going Georgia? Is that little boy of yours treating you well? And how is Miss Sophia?
We picked up a new dryer yesterday and her nappies now dry in half the time. Considering the weather report says it will rain every day until Wednesday that is super. Err...does it bother anyone when I say I win this or that? Sometimes it does, and while I love to share my happies I don't want to annoy anyone.
Michelle, I think that you must be one of the luckiest people that I know (IRL or cyberspace!) Congratulations that's great. Are you a serial comper? Or just super lucky?
:hugs: for you and Abbey on the teething issues. I hope you both get a better night's sleep tonight.
Are you testing again this month? Will you have news to share with us soon? :detective:
Hi Sal,
She seems to think, that from the converstions she was having with him, that his sleeping and behavioural issues have come from these incorrect alignments.
I hope that solves all M's issues. I still can't believe the difference that the chiro made to Lara months ago. I'm a converter to some of these alternative forms of therapy now.
How did Monet sleep last night after the osteo? Hopefully you got a well deserved good night's sleep.
The trip to the Dinosaur thing at the museum is worth it. Eloise loved the children's museum and the natural science bit too, but she thought that the hatching the past bit was great. They have all these little pits where the kids can be archelogists and search for dinosaur fossils. Plus they have dinosaur costumes, books and puzzles for the kids to play with.
Bec - Love your avatar. Ella looks adorable. How are you going?
We had a really busy day today and Lara has been a feral child. Not sure what's going on at the moment, whether she's over-tired or just being an almost 2 yr old. She's really lashing out at us. She repeatedly smacks us in the face when she doesn't get her own way. She's also started pinching too. It could also be that my tolerance levels are lower than what they normally are. But whatever it is, dh and are totally over her today and are glad that she's in bed.
Disney on Ice was great. Eloise loved it all. She didn't take her eyes of the ice for the whole show. Lara was good for most of it, but she just can't handle being confined. There was no leg room and she had to sit on my or dh's lap for the whole time (and you all know how much she is a mummy's girl and that dh doesn't get a look in :rolleyes:) But once Tinkerbell had been on ...told you she was fairy obssessed... she just lost it. She screamed thrashed about, kicked the poor man in front on me, kept trying to steal other people's water bottles, smacked, pinched and grabbed at me :banghead: I was actually glad when I could get her out of there. Then on the way home, she saw Eloise's lolly bag from the b'day party we had been to earlier in the day and she just kept on screaming "No, mine lolly, mine lolly" Over and over...do you get the idea of how over Lara I am today? On the brightside, tomorrow is a new day!!!
Well enough from me...take care...
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
06-07-2008, 19:24
aww thanks sare. i feel special!! Great that Disney on Ic was a hit..i have heard it is great!! he he in regards to lara!! they are just at that age aren't they!!!
re ultrasound - i must say it looks a lot like keanus ultrasound piccies...especially number 2....i think BLUE...time will tell i suppose!!! we also thut umbilical cord also...
I am due for AF tomorrow...we have only been trying 2 months and i am already impatient...i so can't wait...mind u this month i don't feel i have any pregnancy symptoms...but will keep u all posted!
SalTheGal
06-07-2008, 20:29
Ok, next time I pretend to be Bob the Builder can someone please remind me that drills do not go through finger nails?!? I now have half of the bottom of my thumb nail missing, and a hole where it should be...YOUCH!!!! :crying:
On the bright side we got everything done to the house we needed to this weekend, so thats all good. Cept some of the windows are the wrong design- DH's fault, he wrote them up on the plans incorrectly- we will need to swap them over- will cost more, but I won't budge- they look really silly!
And speaking of spending money- Michelle, I LOVE hearing about all your wins...I live my lucky life through you- I wish I could be half as clever. :yelclap:
Sare- Sorry to hear bout your troubles with your little miss! I was talking to my SIL today, and we both have very gentle mannered boys, we were discussing how we could never really comprehend having a fiesty young thing- specially a girl...I don't know how I would cope- you do brilliantly! And I bet if number 3 is the predicted boy he will be the most cruisy little man going around, you are due for it! :hugs:
Sarah- So glad to hear the chiro helped...I am a big fan!
Jackie- I am getting the elmo guitar for Nedd too, its about the only thing I really know I want for him...
Maybe it best if I avoid the sales too since I don't really want anything in particular. Cept I think I may be lining up at the door for opening time for a WiiFIT, have been hanging out for one for ages.
Oh and we are (well I am) totally talking bout names too, though I don't think I ever stopped, I am obsessed with names! I saw Piper for a girl in the paper today, so thats my new fave!
Speaking of grumpy bums, does anyone else have a little person who demands breakfast five minutes ago when they get up? It is really the only time I can garuantee Nedd will throw a tantrum, I like to cook him porridge- he loves it, but god help us while we wait for it to be ready...I am sure the neighbours can hear him! :hissy:
OK, well I am buggered- last night was a horror, I actually turned on the light and read a book between 2-3am as I was up so often to Nedd it was pointless trying to sleep, the longes stint I got uninterrupted was 1.5hrs between 3.30-5.00am....GRRRR
Poor thing is so blocked up that he is snoring like a trooper, and today his poor little face around his nose is red raw from all the gunk. :no:
So off to bed for me...night all, hope it is a better night for those of us having sucky ones. :sleeping:
GeorgiaAnne
07-07-2008, 14:33
Hi chicks
Sal - Lol on Nedd's apetite when he wakes up -HURRY UP MUM I'M HUNGRY!!!!!!!! Sophia always potters around my feet when i'm making anything in the kitchen and wants "uppity" but then if I stop and go and sit down on the couch with her for a cuddle she then wants to do something else :rolleyes: women I tell ya?!
Jac - :fingerscrossed: for a bfp!
Sare - I reckon you should just find out the sex as you 99% have anyway, you may as well just get it confirmed! Young man is good thanks for asking. I must pop a photo up of my large bump, it is quite spectacularly large!
Hey Kimba, how are ya luv?
We had a lovely day yesterday and went to the rugby, it was a beautiful day. Sophia for the first time had some junk food like hot chips, s & v chips and when we got home she did the biggest, stinkiest vomit i've ever come across which went all over her, dh and the floor :laughing: (I of course got to cloean it up) so no more junk food for Miss Muffet.
I've been wondering about Kimba too. I hope everything is ok Kimba.
Ha ha, Georgia, that's exactly what happened the first time Ella had any junk food! It just bounced out of her after her bedtime milk - luckily most of it on me (not on the rental carpet) and it smelled hideous. I'm sure some of the other mums think I'm totally OTT with policing her junk food, but it's not worth it to let her have a lot! lucky you going to the rugby. I really, really miss that!
OMG Sal, my stomach turned over at the description of your building injury :barf: OWWW! Poor you and poor Nedd too with the awful cold/sinus infection thingy.
I'm waiting for the Target sale as our local hall gets used for the duration. I want to get Ella an etch-a-sketch kind of thing, plus some more CD's for long trips (she's always happy with music on, but you have to have enough variety not to drive the adults mad!)
Jack - good luck :fingerscrossed:
Sare - I don't know what boy bits look like on a scan! So I won't hazard a guess. Thanks for the comment on my avatar - as soon as I took that pic I knew what I would use it for! She looked so cute that day, all dressed up for the daycare fancy dress party (for the starlight foundation). I'm feeling good, happy & glowy, but boy am I knocked out at night. Struggle to make it past 8pm awake! Also feeling much more "stretched" this time. Big baby??
Michelle, Ella has one of those little slide sets and she LOVES it. Always gives me valuable "hanging out the washing" or "weeding the garden" time without chasing Ella away from the toileting cat/cotoneaster berries/side passage/shovel. I reckon it's great to buy something they will use for a few years. I'm dying to buy Ella a trampoline (but it will have to be one that takes my weight safely, no way am I not being able to jump on it:D)
Best go - chat later!
SalTheGal
08-07-2008, 18:59
Not a happy place in this house at the moment.. Nedd's poor face has become all infected- from dribble as he breathes out his mouth at night (blocked nose), and snot caking on during the night. He looks revolting! :mad:
To top it off I have tonsillitus, feeling sh!t in a word, got the chills and fever and razor blade throat, just from basically getting about 7hrs cumulative sleep thurs-sun, I am buggered. :no:
We have my SIL and kids staying with Mum and Dad for a few days, but she has ended up in hospital last night with her eldest- he has chronic tonsillitus and got to the point he was struggling to breathe, they are thinking they might keep him in and remove his tonsils this week- the ENT took one looked and said they need to be removed last week (I have never seen any so big even when he is well!). But she has been sitting in hosp all day today waiting for the senoir ENT to come and make a decision- she is still waiting! She and Jy are totally over it. Poor things, they had their second in hospy two weeks ago with Pnuemonia, and the youngest a few weeks before that with a chest infection, so it has been a very trying time indeed....They so deserve some healthy months.
Nothing else to report here, it was snowing this morning! The Western Hwy which I usually take to get to melb for work was covered in snow so I was kinda glad I got to stay home.
Georgia, Yucko on the junk food throw up, poor Sophia, we are off to the footy on Fri night, but I don't think we will take Nedd with us, it will be too cold....I am super excited though- I haven't been to the AFL since before Nedd was born, so it will be fun.
OK, well I am off to bed...try to get some decent sleep tonight (not holding my breath!) :sleeping:
Feel like I've been MIA for ages! Life has been a bit 'much' these last couple of weeks, so I've been laying low. My job is being made redundant at the end of July and I have to decide whether to take the money and run (and go through stress of finding a new job, knowing I want another baby within 12 months), settle for another role which is a slight demotion (same money though), or contest a promotion which would mean more money, but a lot more hours, and a lot more stress! Argh Decisions!
And DH and I are reaching new lows and getting nowhere fast :no: which isn't helping.
Ahhh, life hey!
Thank goodness for Jet, he's amazing, and giving me all the love and cuddles I need :cloud9:
He's started sleeping in his big bed at night :yelclap: although still usually ends up in bed with me because he gets cold. He fell out of his bed for the first time last night which scared him (and me) a bit...
Also, I have a little 'flasher' on my hands! he's taken to pulling his pants and nappy down at the front and pulling his penis out then walking around like that, OMG! LOL. He's showing all the 'signs' of readiness for TT - except I just can't get him to tell me when he needs to poo! Even when I catch him doing one and ask 'are you doing a poo?' he says 'nooo' :laughing: He's also started pooping then sneaking off to remove his his nappy and pants and wipe his butt with something soft, like his pants, or blanky - YUCK!!! LMAO. I just wish I could get him to make that leap to sitting on his potty to go...
Anyone else's kid being really super clingy with you and pretty much ignoring DH, or is it just mine??? Jet cries when I leave him at daycare, refuses to stay with DH if I need to pop out to the shop, drags me to bathe him (usually DH does the bath), and insists I lay down with him till he goes to sleep. I'm wondering if he's picking up on the tension with me and DH...hmmm...:(
Re: toysales, I totally had no idea it was 'that' time of year already...I guess I'd better go and see if there's anything left to layby for Jet and my nephew for bday and Christmas...
Sal - hope everyone is well soon. Re: demanding brekkie nope, Jet's never hungry in the morning, just demands that I get up and play at 6am!
Bec - glad to hear you're feeling 'glowy' i loved that part of pregnancy! Ella is soooo cute in your avatar.
Georgia - poor Sophia, yuck - I bet cleaning that up in your state wasn't much fun!
Sare - oooh scan pics yay - that bit between the legs definitely looks suss, but you're right, it could be the umbilical cord - definitely no sign of the 'hamburger' though so my guess is a boy! Yippee! Had to laugh at your description of Lara at the Fairies - that's exactly what Jet was like at the Wiggles - only he was trying to run away the whole time as well! Couldn't wait to get him out of there...
Michelle - did you win the new dryer? Wow go you! Can you win me a new washing machine? LOL.
Sarah - love the photos of Monet she's so cute...glad the osteo helped M - Jet's osteo is lovely, but sadly no amount of adjustments have ever helped him sleep well, he's still a shocker!
Abbey and I are going to buy a bed this morning. I feel bad about that though. I asked my parents if they had any spare single beds and they did so they brought me one, but its actually bunk beds, hot pink tubular steel covered in old stickers. We left the top bunk off but thats left steel slot things poking out and I'm afraid she will put a hole in her skull when messing around. Dad even went to the effort of buying a board to put under her mattress so it didn't sag. Its seriously so awful it makes my eyes wince.
And I'm going to disregard the fact they dug it out of the shed, dusted it off, towed it 3 hours to me....
I'm a horrible daughter. Guilt guilt guilt.
But I really want Abbey to have a nice room. I may be cr@p at decorating and end up with a try hard effort, but it will at least be a pleasant room to spend time in.
Abbbey's imagination is crazy. She was putting blocks together and showed me the result, apparently it was an airplane. I wasn't paying attention, so she elaborated. She flew the 'airplane' around me, and said "airplane airplane fly zoooooom in the sky!". I think that's the longest sentence she's ever said clearly! I should ignore her more often.
This morning she bit her toast in supposed animal shapes. A turtle then danced with a dinosaur across the table.
Let's see, what else have we been up to...went to the gp yesterday to check her feet. She turns her right foot in sometimes so much that when she runs she trips over it. She's started running like a special person sometimes too, you know, legs going round in circles instead of straight ahead. Anyway, doc said its fine for now, just keep an eye on her and discourage it, and when she starts to develop her arch in the next 12 months to come back if she still does it. I wasn't too worried, just wanted to check I was doing the right thing by waiting for it to go away by itself.
Not much going on with me, its too early in my cycle to ovulate so no news there, but I do have a boy name picked out (Finn). Which is dumb because I'm going to have a girl.:fingerscrossed: Boys have doodles and are weirder than Abbey during a full moon.
Sal - Piper was the other name Abbey could have had. She was going to be a Piper or an Abbey, and she just happened to look more Abbeyish. So of course, I love the name. I can't use it anymore though, my cousin is naming her babies after the characters on Charmed and it would be weird.
Poor Jet, sounds like he's having a cruddy time. And you of course. Is DH taking good care of both of you? Hope your nephew gets the surgery he needs and it all goes well.
Kimba - Sounds like rough going at your place. I had to laugh out loud at Jet's bum wiping. I can just imagine how helpful he thinks he's being! Fortunately Abbey shows no interest in taking her pants off - yet. No interest in sitting on her potty either, its still a toy.
With your job, I guess it depends how much money is available to run with. At least if you choose to find a new job you can spend some time at home with Jet while looking.
Yep, the dryer was a win. My old one was re-homed with my bro. My wish list includes a new washing machine for myself, so you might have to take a number.
I'm not a hard core comper like those people you see on tv occasionally. And I'm not lucky at all. These things usually come from those 25words or less things. I spend maybe an hour a day on it, if the parcel guy brings me presents I don't argue!
Georgia - wow, you can tell her she's allergic to junk food and hopefully she will never develop the habit. Abbey hoovers such things at a scary rate unfortunately. I've found its easier to stop people eating it around her than keep her away from it.
diesal444
09-07-2008, 21:46
Evening ladies,
Feels like I havent posted in ages AGAIN!
All is going ok here at the moment, just feeling a little down with things, work/the house/DP. Kinda feeling a bit lost IYKWIM???
Darcy is doing great though, but I still dont think she says very many words and as much as repeat and use words in play she really doesnt SAY much. She says like a new word everyday, but I just dont think she is progressing. But her imaginative play is so good and amazing that I am not overly concerned. I am sure she will start chatting away very soon.
Everyday she amazes me with the things she has learnt by purely observing and I just love watching her play and learn.
Eating is becoming a huge problem in this house and I dont know why. Some times it feels like she eats hardly anything all day and its a struggle to get a spoon in her mouth. Even feeding herself is not happening.
I took a sickie today as my mum has gone home for 5 days and DP just couldnt have a night off :rolleyes:!!! Apparently driving a truck is very important and coz he manages the night shift then Blah blah blah. :ecomcity: . I was informed that because I work for a huge company like QANTAS that me taking a sickie was not going to impact the company.... WHATEVER!!
Hhhmmm .... sound a little catty dont I????????
I just had a lovely visit from my couple friend and they brought dinner over, she is a chef so it was YUMMO:chef:
I had a few issues with my mum last week over me not wanting to give Darcy a pillow. Mum gave her one a few days prior and I felt it wasnt right, especially as we had had the conversation weeks earlier that she wouldnt have one till she was in a bed. She thought I was being a bit of a drama queen, and I know she minds her alot, but I still think its my right to make this decision.
DP is also giving me the sh!ts because I asked my boss if I could do 11pm-7am shift instead if my rostered 3pm - 11pm. He thinks its stupid of me and it makes me too grumpy, I am doing it so I can be with Darcy more eg. when she wakes in the morning, put her to bed at night. Ok I might have been a little niggly, but dont pick on me, just leave me alone and I will be fine.
God this has turned into a real whinge post.. sorry girls, I had better go to bed before I depress everyone else. :o
Hello lovely ladies and babies ( who are really not babies anymore).
I've missed you guys but noone told me twins were twice as much of time wasters as 1 baby :laughing:
I'm not sure what I've been doing or not doing but all is well in this house.
Adam is still my precious little man who sleeps when he should, eats all his food, loves his mummy and daddy and little brothers as well as his bigger family members to death, wees in the toilet what feels like 5 million times a day and occasionally poo's in there too just because he can. He is an avid book reader and is going through a monkey stage. Hands under his arms and ooo ooo ooo sounds. He isn't a big talker but he makes himself known and understands us fully ( but that's boys as a rule). He has learnt to do the twist this week and likes to pretend he is singing deep opera songs. He likes to sit in the high chair and make cakes - well eat the beaters really, but that helps.
The twins are 4 months already and have started rolling and now smile all of the time. Shaun (the baby of the two) is the talker - non stop and loud, deep voice. Jack is the mover. He doesn't stop.
Congratulations on the arrival of Monet (gorgeous name). ANd congrats to all who are waiting or practicing for their next.
We are all done although for those who like a laugh after all the drama and sympathy for DH it turns out his snip has failed- Just my luck...... He now has to stay on his half of the bed until at our age he can work out how to use a condom or he flies back to Qld to be re snipped. :D
Well I will endeavour to read the last 6 weeks of posts and catch up with personals.
Love to all
GeorgiaAnne
10-07-2008, 14:53
Great to hear from you Di, glad all is well in your house. Lol on the snip, he must be speechless!
Mary-Anne - Sorry you're a bit down in the dumps hun :hugs: You're always such a positive chick, i'm sure you'll feel better soon. Sophia is the same re:speech, she doesn't talk as much as other kids her age but certainly understands everything. I'm not too worried though.
All is well here, working hard etc. and still enjoying being pg apart from the refluxy feeling yuck! Though i'm remembering ms coming back around 36 weeks, it better not this time. I aslo had 5 hours of unbroken sleep last night first in ages but man, I was busting by the end of it!
In the last 2 weeks i've had 2 different friends separate after years of marriage and another is contemplating it. It is so sad and so hard to say the right thing to both parties :gloomy: You really hope that by that stage all that sh!t is behind you.
Georgia - I just had a look at your ticker...I can't believe you've got just over 7 weeks to go :eek: I knew you were due early Sept, but that has just flown. Glad to hear that you are well. I hope the m/s doesn't return this time around. How are you going on deciding a name?
That's really sad about your friends. I agree that after you've been married for years you presume that all of that is behind you. I was shocked when I heard about that 70+yr old who killed his wife after 50 years of marriage last week. It's shocking, but also really sad.
Kimba - :hugs: I don't know what to say. I hope you and your dh get through this rough patch. Good luck with the decision about what to do re your job. What's your heart telling you to do?
LOL at Jet and his striptease. At least he must make you smile heaps
Di - Great to hear from you. :eek: on your dh's snip not working.
Mary-anne - :hugs: for you too. Soumnds like you're going through a rough trot too. Hope you enjoyed your sickie though.
Michelle - Wow on Abbey's imagination. That is so cute.
Sal - Hope you and Nedd are feeling better. How's your nephew?
We're all good here. We've all got colds, but for some reason (which I am not complaining about...and :fingerscrossed: it stays this way) the girls are still sleeping though. Eloise slept until 9.45am this morning. It was so cute she woke up and came down to me saying 'Mummy, it's 12 o'clock. It's too late for breakie' You should of seen her cheer up once I told her it was only 9.45am and that she could have breakie.
Well I have presumed that bubs#3 is a boy after what looks like boy parts on the u/s video, so I bought my 1st boy clothing ever. It was an all-in-one from JK online. It was only $9, so no big deal if #3 is a girl, I'll just give it to a friend who has a boy. Actually JK online have some huge bargains on sale at the moment. I had a bit of a splurge and bought 2 tops and some PJs for Eloise, a top for Lara and the baby's all-in-one for $57 (free postage). I love sale time :D
GeorgiaAnne
11-07-2008, 08:47
Sare - Yipee for buying boys clothes! No names yet :hair: can't even get dh to think about it, he was the same with Sophia and it drove me nuts.:eek: on Eloise sleeping 'til 9:45, imagine what she'll be like when she's a teenager!
All is well here had a fairly good sleep last night and yeah, starting to freak out a bit about # 2 and the changes it will bring. How long does it take to get back into a semi normality with 2? Is it easier second time 'round?
SalTheGal
11-07-2008, 09:55
Hey Ladies,
We are finally on the improve in this house...My tonsillitus has been a bugger to kick- the worst I have had in ages, but Nedd is much better, adn has actaully only needed me up once or twice the last few nights- this morning he didn't wake till 7.30 in his own bed- it was wonderful!
Kimba and Maryanne :hugs: sending loads of hugs your way! Sorry to hear things are the pits at the moment, I so know what it feels like. I kinda think winter doesn't help either. It is such a depressing time of the year.
Kimba- good luck with your Job decision, would the 'demotion' mean an easier job? If so my thoughts would be leaning towards that- atleast you get the same pay, and its not like you were looking for a promotion anyway. As you know I hate my job now, but I won't look for another one until after next bubs, as I prefer to have the garanteed maternity leave- perhaps this will be a factor for you too. Have you and DH thought bout getting counselling at all? I know most men are reluctant, but if it makes/breaks things then it might help. DH is still being an **** in this house heaps, but atleast I get to vent bout it in our sessions, and he usually sees where he is going wrong. But I am glad that Jet is continuing to be your shining light, bless him! :goodvibes:
Maryanne- I would stand your ground with your mum, I think thats one of the worst things about being a working mum is that you feel like you miss out on the important milestones/decisions. It is really hurtful when you feel like someone else thinks they spend more time/know your child better than you do so can make different decisions- I am very firm bout that one rule- that I decide when Nedd is ready for things, not his carer be it daycare or my mum.
Michelle, I think we must have similar names taste! Finn is on my list (and was with Nedd) but DH's good family friends recently had a boy and named him this so we are back to the drawing board on that one. When you enter comps whats your trick: do you make up witty rhymes, just write a little clever paragraph or go all out with the big poster style attention grabber art piece? And do you actually stick to the 25words or is it just a guide- I've always wondered that!
Di- bad luck to your DH, lol at the condom remark- aren't they shockers with that! I came off contraception a while ago and it has been DH's responsibility- he hates it, but accepts that its either that, get none, or get a baby!
Update on my Nephew- he went into hosp here yesterday and had his tonsils removed....they have Private health, so they decided to jump on it...and I am glad they did, poor thing will be so much better. They will be here till monday now whilst he recovers.
Hey Sare- yay for you buying some blue! Thats exciting, are you going to tell your family/friends your suspicions, or keep it to yourself? And badluck on the sickies, but glad to hear you are still getting some sleep- hope it continues. Oh and how do you get free postage at JK? If there is a promo code can you please pretty please share it with me!?!?
We are off to the footy tonight :smiliedance: I am so excited, I haven't been since we had Nedd, and its at the G so it will be freezing, but the atmosphere will be brilliant. Scarily Nedd's godfather is looking after him- he has NO experience with kids, loves Nedd, but always just plays with him, so to throw him in the deep end, with the whole night time routine, dinner, bathing, pajamas and bed will be very interesting....we leave at 5pm so he will have to do the lot! Plus we won't be home till the wee hours so he will have to tend to any wake up calls too. Its going to be an eye opener for him to say the least!! :eek: :p
OK, well I really need to do some work, heaps of admin to do and due to it being midyear I need to get it done, my boss is breathing down my neck. :o
Sal - The promo code is CPS2. Have fun shopping.
I'll BBL:goodvibes:
Ok, I'm back...
Sal - Have fun at the footy. Rug up it will be freezing at the 'G. It looks like it will be a great match, but try as I might, there is no way I can go for Carlton :raspberry: I'm sure Nedd will have a ball with his Godfather. My brother and SIL don't have kids, but they are Eloise's favourite relos and they always look after the girls. They have an absolute ball together and do stuff with them that most adults with kids couldn't be bothered doing.
We're not planning on telling family about our boy suspicions, just in case we're wrong. Plus my MIL has been on at me since I was pg with Eloise that it would be nice to have a boy for dh, so he has someone to kick the footy with. I'm like WTF, I've been with dh for 15years and I've NEVER seen him kick a footy. I won't get started on the ILs, I could write pages....
I did however tell mum and she was not surprised. My symptoms and cravings have been a lot like hers for my brother (she had 2 girls, then 2 boys). And I have told a few friends.
Georgia - I'm only hoping that Eloise slept so late because she's been unwell. But I think she is going to be a shocker when she's a teenager...or even next year at Kinder when she'll have 2 x 8.30am starts. Oh the troble I am going to have getting her up, fed and out of the door by 8.15am :dizzy:
re going from 1-2 kids - In all honesty it wasn't too bad. I was lucky that I had dh around for a month after Lara was born, so he really took care of Eloise for me. One of the hardest things was keeping Eloise happy and occupied while I was feeding Lara (DVDs, food, playdoh, toys...whatever works).
Lara was a harder baby than Eloise, but things were definitely easier. I sort of knew what to expect and I trusted myself and my judgement a lot more. The birth was easier too, but be ready for those afterpains when you're feeding....owwww... if the middies offer you panadiene for them, my advice is to take it. They did get better after 4 or 5 days. (I'm cringing at the thought of going through that again)
I'm pretty sure that Marion is having her c-section in the next week or so. I think it was the 23rd.
Poor Lara looks like she is getting conjunctivitis. Only a little gunk after her nap today, but her eyes are so red and bloodshot. The pharmacist recommended some bleph 10 drops, but if it develops, then take her to the drs. so it doesn't get any worse.
No big plans for the weekend. Elosie has been back on a reward chart system to try and stop her from wetting her pants. I told her that if she didn't have any accidents between Wed and Sun, we'd take her to see Kung Fu Panda. So far, so good. So it looks like we'll do that Sunday afternoon and then off to the ILs for dinner. All I want this weekend is a sleep-in.
Hope you all have a great weekend too :sunshine:
Sorry I have been MIA for a little bit - just been busy.
Sal - I really have no idea but can see where your suspicions come from! I am going to find out so I can be organised!! My Dh's family are all hoping for a boy (as is DH) - I am happy with either just hoping for a better behaved baby this time!!
I am doing quite well but had really sore boobs the last couple of days. M/S is mostly gone and I am not quite as tired.
Kayley is showing signs of stopping her daytime sleeps which is really annoying - she will just stay in her cot for ages without sleeping at least 2 - 3 days a week now - not happy Jan!
She has also been painful to put to bed again lately - grrrrr.
Well I am off to Melbourne for work on Friday but wont have enough time to catch up unfortunately - will definately try to catch up next time.
Sorry for no more personals but I have to run.
GeorgiaAnne
12-07-2008, 14:09
Please post your votes my lovelies :)
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2844120#post2844120
Its a time of firsts here. I just put Abbey to bed in her big girl bed for the first time. We went straight swap, cot is down and out already. She won't sleep the whole night there, heaven forbid, but a few hours is usual.
And our big big first - after our shower she found the new toilet seat padded sesame street thingo I bought a few days ago. She refused to try it then, ran away and hid, but tonight she picked up, said potty wees, took me to the loo, popped it on the seat and asked to be lifted up. She didn't do anything, but she did comment on how the water dripping off her was wee. I didn't have the patience to wait for more than 5 minutes (mummy gets cold without clothes) but its more progress on the TT front than we've ever had. She's always refused to sit on her potty and refused to be lifted on to things like swings and the toilet because she knows she can't get down by herself. So hopefully tomorrow she will ask to try the toilet again.
I took her to the hairdresser for her first haircut too. I balked at paying $17 for what I thought would be a fringe trim and very quick tidy of the back. So I found a hairdresser at my local shops who did it for $6. Abbey now has a mullet, a real mullet, full bogan style. You get what you pay for :o Shan't be returning there!
And our last first to report, we bought a pet. Its a fighting fish. His name is Zeus, Abbey named him. He lives on the kitchen window sill, and she has a little step she stands on to look at him and try to throw chalk in his bowl.
Abbey seems to have given up day naps too. The other day I was oh so clever and decided to put my schedule before her nap since I know she doesn't really need the nap, but unfortunately she realised the same thing. I'm not giving up without a fight, I'll keep trying for a nap!
Beck - These girls have all been conspiring against us! Hope the boobs settle down soon.
Sare - Is the G the Gabba? Not that I know what that is either. Poor Lara with her gunky eyes. Kung Fu panda is great for grown ups too, I laughed a few times. Just make sure you prepare for awesomeness!
Sal - re the comps you have to stick to 25wol or risk wasting your time. Some I win by answering the first thing that comes into my head, some I write a little rhyme. Usually just as bad and inappropriate as the first thoughts in my head. I've never done the full arty entries, I kinda think that's cheating, and I honestly couldn't be bothered investing that much time in a maybe.
Glad your nephew got the surgery, it will be a load off everyone's mind that tonsillitis is a thing of the past. You're not lining up for the same procedure?
I love winter. Except for the dry skin and static electricity. Mostly I love not having to expose my skin and saggy bits.
Di - :eek: I bet your DH is rather annoyed about that! Is that a standard test they do afterwards, just to make sure?
Maryanne - whinging is good for you and we don't mind a bit. Good on you making it clear who the mum is, its so hard. I still haven't admitted I'm not using the dangerous eyesore bed mum brought. I am a wuss.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
13-07-2008, 18:12
A favour to ask lovely ladies.
could you please let me know what car seat you have. Pros/cons and how much longer you think you will get out of it.
keanus was secondhand from a trusted friend, but we think it has had its life. i am looking at getting another. at this stage we think we'll just get a convertible birth-18kg as he is only 11kg. then when the next bub (no im not preg yet lol) comes along we will then get him a maxi rider and the new bub use the convertible.
so any suggestions.
so far in the catalogs i have seen the safe n sound safekeeper car seat or the Go Safe Shadow. I currently have a safe n sound guardian i think it is.
thanks for any advice/input. appreciated!
jackie
Hi Jackie - just a very quick post before I head off to work. We currently have a Safe n sound Royale retractor and a mothers choice one in DHs car. Both are convertibles. We also need to get a new one as Kayley (who was 13.8kg unclothed a week ago) is growing out of them with her height.
I am seriously looking at a Safe n Sound Maxi Rider II as these are from 8 kg to 18kg as a baby seat then convert to a toddler seat to 26kg and can be used with a protecta harness. They are on the expensive side but I figure they have a long life. Amyway I hope that helps - I hav eto run or I will be late!!
jackie - is Keanu's head above or nearing the back of the car seat? That's when they've outgrown it as well, not just weight. I would go for a covertible booster for now, and upgrade the baby seat when its ready to be used.
I just got a Maxi Rider AHR, I love it. She looks so safe in it. Shop around and you can get it for about $370. Abbey will be in it until she's at least 5.
We've got 2 car seats in each car.
Eloise has a maxi-rider II in both cars and Lara has a Safe n' Sound Meridian in my car and a Bertini one in DH's car (it's good, but no where near as good as the s n' s one).
We put Eloise in a Maxi Rider around 22 months (as Beck said it goes from 8kg - 26kg). Eloise is around the 17 kg mark now so is still in the 5 point harness, but at 18kg will move to a H-harness. I love it because it's anchored, so it feel just as safe as any other car seat that we have. The only down point about them, is that are fairly wide. We ended up buying a new car, knowing that we would eventually need to put 3 car seats in the back row, 2 of which would be maxi-riders.
I anticipate that the girls will be in their car seats until 6 (I think that's what the new car seat rules will be suggesting anyway)
Good luck with your choice.
Very exciting weekend - we got DP's builder friend to take a look at the house we're interested in, he gave it the thumbs up and so we've put in an offer! Haven't heard back from the agent yet.
Jackie - we have a hand me down Maxi Rider, not sure what model, that we graduated Ella to about a month ago (she was getting way too tall for the convertable Galaxy she was in from birth!). I love it, it's a great fit, still seems to be comfy for her to sleep in, and best of all she can select her own toys from the seats beside her!
Beck - boy am I hearing you on the sore boobs! They are ridiculous. And I don't think I'll ever find a maternity bra that is comfortable AND gives me some kind of support. Sigh.
Georgia - hope the votes help! We finally have a girls name that DP likes... so it's still Mark Thomas for a boy, and now Kate Mary for a girl. Yippee!
Sal - glad to hear you're getting better. Hope you had fun at the footy. There's nothing like live sport! Or so I dimly recall:p Is DP becoming less of an **** with counselling? Or is the trick that you are less annoyed with it? :D I bet Nedd had a blast with his godfather - did bedtime happen or was he only just gone to sleep on the lounge when you got home?
Sare, tell your MIL (aside from where to stick it) that GIRLS can kick a footy too! She may die from the shock. I played rugby for 5 years and it was the best fun I ever had playing sport! BTW thanks for being so lovely & reassuring about coping with Child no. 2. Nice to hear! Hope Lara's eye clears up. Last time we thought Ella had junky, it was actually a charming side effect of a sinus infection - ick.
Michelle - how did Abbey's first night go in the big girl bed? You should post us a pic of the mullet, poor Abbey! I bet you do love winter in QLD. What's your minimum temperature - 20deg?:p
We've just nearly had a week solid of sleet. Brrrrrr. Big brick houses cost a lot to heat too. At least moving in to a cottage (hopefully) it is smaller so will heat up faster?
BTW - who out there doesn't have a bath? The house we've bid on only has a shower. What's your showertime routine?
GeorgiaAnne
14-07-2008, 09:29
Just a quickie to say Good Luck with your offer Bec, I hope you're successful!
Sarah - Sorry for stealing your name Jarvis but it's a good one!
Abbey's first night in her bed didn't go too well. She slept for a couple hours before calling out, I snuggled her back to sleep, but 10 minutes later she was up. Put her in my bed and she squiggled and asked for her animal dvd all night.
She doesn't mind being ON the bed, but I've got her so well trained to think sleeping bag = bedtime that no sleeping bag = no bedtime. Almost an hour of snuggles and me falling asleep a couple times and she was still playing silly duffers. Put her in her sleeping bag and she was out in 15 minutes.
She was still asleep when I went to bed, but I woke up to hear her giggling and walking around the house around 1am!
She had escaped her sleeping bag and found she could also escape her bed, so did. Little monkey. Back in bed with mummy and she slept soundly.
So I'll just keep using her sleeping bag for now, not sure how to transition to using a blanket.
Bec - hope your offer gets accepted, how exciting!
I'll have you know 20degrees is cold. And it was 17degrees the other day! I had to go buy warm clothes for both of us!
We have a bath, but rarely use it. She's always been a shower baby. I used to hold her in one arm and wash with the other, but now she stands and plays before I lift her up to wash her. I have to lift her up still since I can't really see her down there without my glasses. She doesn't mind, its a great time to pour water on my head, and she opens her mouth really wide to drink shower and I get to look at her big teefs.
I've got mullet photos of her jumping on her bed, but none close up.Will have to do that. I did get some nice photos of her on the toilet today though. I'm saving them for her future boyfriends.
diesal444
15-07-2008, 06:34
Morning ladies :wave:
Di - :eek: at the "snip" failing. Adam sounds adorable and I cant believe your Shaun and Jack are 4 months already!!
Georgia - Wow cant believe your nearly at the end of your pregnancy. Whats your actual due date again?? By the way i picked Xavier..Love that name!!!
Sare - Hope Lara's conjunctivitis doesnt get too bad. And poor you on getting a cold :(.How did Eloise go with her reward chart and going to see kung fu panda?
Beck - Oh I hope for your sake that Kayley isnt stopping her daytime sleep. Did you miss Melbourne when you popped over on friday?
Jackie - We have a safe and sound royale and we wont be moving out of it for a while yet. But there wont be pregnancy on this front for a long while so I dont need to move her into a different one.
Bec - Good luck with the offer on the house.... How exciting!! Re bath...I would be lost without ours as Darcy is not keen on showers at all, so cant help you on that one luv.
Michelle - I am dreading putting Darcy in a big bed. Even though she sleeps all night in her cot, whats stopping her from doing what Abbey did and go roaming once she wakes....:laughing:. I decided that I will keep the cot up till we are in the new house. New house - New big bed.....Too much????:confused:
So I have taken RDO today as my mym is coming home from 5 days up NSW.
I am feeling a little better about things and I have also heard a runour at work of a new job coming up in Sept and the hours are 3am starts which would be so perfect. :fingerscrossed: its not just a rumour and that I get it!!
House is now at lock up stage which to me seems to have taken ages!!!!!!!!!!!
Hopefully the plaster can start soon.
Darcy is well. She is such a little helper these days... Closing doors and drawers that are open, putting clothes in washing basket, picking up toys when asked ( all be it at the rate of a snail! ) Her eating is getting a bit better over the last few days, I guess i will just have to resign myself to the fact that she will eat if she is hungry...
OKies brekkie time!!!!
Have a great day all....xxx
SalTheGal
15-07-2008, 09:51
Grrr, gastro in this house this week! We are not having a good run at the moment....I was not well and started throwing up bout 11pm, Nedd threw up bout half an hour later- and then poor DH had to manage the two of us, everytime Nedd would chuck we would go in to clan him up, and then I'd be running off to chuck too.
So sickie today, I am much better- but Nedd isn't himself, infact he slept till 8.30 in bed with me this morning, and yet he is already back down for a nap.
Michelle- you and Abbey have been busy with lots of new things!! I can't wait to get Nedd a fish, it will be his first pet when we move into our new house. Sorry to hear she didn't go so well in her bed, got no advice on that one. I am dreading it with Nedd!! Oh and you'd be buggered coming to Ballarat for a holiday- it was around 5degrees all week last week- during the day! Even thats too cold for me!
We are going to do the big bed thing when we move too Maryanne- new house, new bed, I too am not sure if it will be too much, however we will have the advantage of setting up the cot anyway in the nursery, so we can keep using it we really need too.
Jack I have a fisher price carseat and it is useless...its ok, and has done the job, but just little things like adjusting the straps is really hard, so I don't find it user friendly. I am going to by Nedd a maxirider when the Target sale is on.
Bec- that is so exciting on the house front! Goodluck. And re DH- well he is slowly but surely getting a bit better I think (but I definitely think I am getting more tolerant!). And surprisingly enough Nedds godfather actaully had him in bed by 7pm (he usually goes down bout 7.30-8pm)...we think he was buggered by then, and wanted some peace and quiet!! :laughing:
Nedd is being his usual blissful self here- he is getting more clever all the time, doing little things that show he is thinking bout stuff- ie he did a puzzle last night where he was actaully looking at the shape he had and really trying to pick the right spot for it- rather than his usual random put it in where ever...
His sentences are getting really good- and I am loving actually being able to communicate with him, its lots of fun.
Um, nothing much else to really report here, and I might go have a little lie down while Nedd is asleep.
Hi guys - they've accepted our second offer! So exciting but nerve wracking at the same time. Of course my concentration levels at work are at an all-time high :D
GeorgiaAnne
15-07-2008, 13:34
:yelclap::smiliedance::goodvibes: Bec, that's great news, congratulations!
diesal444
15-07-2008, 13:41
Hi again!!!
Sal - arrgghh on the Gastro... Thats the pits. I hope it doesnt last long for both you and Nedd. Glad to hear DH is looking after you both :yes:
Bec - :smiliedance: Great news on the sellers accepting the offer on the house. How exciting!!!
Well I picked mum up from the airport this morning and I already had a disagreement with her. It really was my fault, I think I can be inconsiderate at times...now I feel bad. Wasnt really a fight but it probably wasnt something she was expecting 5 mins after landing... IYKWIM??
OK have a great arvo everyone!!:)
:yelclap: Yay Bec, that's great news. New house and a new baby... I bet it's a beautiful house. I love the look of little cottages. They always look so homey. Congratulations!!!
Sal - :hugs: Hope you guys are better soon. You've had a really bad run with sicknesses lately.
How clever is Nedd doing puzzles...Lara's attention on those types of things lasts all of about 3 milliseconds. If it hasn't got anything to do with The Fairies, she's just not interested.
Did you enjoy your night out on to the footy on Friday? (despite the loss)
Mary-Anne - :fingerscrossed: for the new position. They've really mucked you about with all your shift changes.
Great news that your house is at lock-up stage. Have they given you any idea as to when you'll be able to move in?
Oh and the reward chart worked a treat...no accidents since last Tuesday. Even better news is that she has woken up dry for the last 3/4 days. So Eloise may soon be nappy/pull-up free and that will at least save us some $$$ before #3 arrives.
Michelle - I have 2 words for you SAFETY GATE...they are a God-send for when toddlers move into big beds. Eloise quickly learnt that she couldn't roam the house when there was a safety gate on her door. We did find her asleep on the floor a few times, but she soon learnt and the gate came off. When she comes down to our room in the middle of the night we still threaten her with the safety gate on her door if she comes to our room (only allowed when she's sick). I'm guessing that it will be back on the door in a few weeks when Lara's bed arrives. I somehow think she's going to be a little bit more of a struggle that Eloise was.
Looking forward to seeing Abbey's mullet shots.
Georgia - Are you any closer to choosing a name yet?
We're still suffering from colds here...but they're not too bad. Lara's conjunctivitis never got too bad, but boy did she hate having those drops put in.
She's been a real PITA with sleeps and eating for the last week and a half. I am at a loss as to why. Today I had to offer sultanas as bribery to get her to eat her yoghurt...one mouthful of yoghurt, one sultana....and she normally loves yoghurt. The only food that she begs for at the moment is cheese and all cheese is referred to as cheesy pops. :rolleyes: What to do??? :detective: Last night I had to rock her to sleep too... might need a trip to the drs just to get everything checked out.
Oh and how's this? My little miss Eloise has decided that she's a big girl now and is ready for school. All because she can hold a pencil correctly :laughing:. Mind you she already knows her letter names and a fair few of the sounds, which is more than some of the preps in my class. Plus she can count to and recognise numbers to 30 (and sometimes beyond) all by herself. The most pleasing thing about her learning is that none of it has been forced upon her, it's all been from incidental things we do and when she is interested in things. It's starting to rub off on Lara too, she joins in with Eloise when she counts and tries to draw/write whenever Eloise is. It's so cute to see her trying to copy her big sister.
GeorgiaAnne
16-07-2008, 08:54
Sare - re: names, no, nothing has stuck yet :no:
That's great about Eloise and her learning she sounds like a smart little cookie! How's your pg going, are you getting big yet?
Sal - Hope you're all feeling better after the gastro (yucko!) :hugs:
Mary-Anne - That's what mothers and daughters do (at least we do anyway) my mum is my best friend as well as being the pushiest most annoyingly critical person in my life :rolleyes: Love her to bits tho!
I had a lovely appt at the bc yesterday and all is looking good and they are very positive about my prospects of vbac, which is lovely. The bubba is also 3/5 engaged which is a bit freaky?! :eek: Sophia was also engaged at this stage but I didn't think 2nd bubbas got stuck this early?
Georgia - Great news that all is looking good for your VBAC.
Yep, I'm getting huge. I think I'll be the biggest from all three pregnancies with this one :( The pregnancy is going well. The baby is bum down, which means that dh hasn't felt a kick yet because they are so low down. I think both girls were head down from a very early stage.
SalTheGal
16-07-2008, 16:28
Well, I think the bug is all gone from this house...fingers crossed we stay well for a while now!
Bec- Congratulations on the house!!! That is such exciting news...is it through an agency- do they have pics on their website? It sounds lovely, just like our house we sold last year, a cute cottage that is homely and comfortable. :smiliedance:
Maryanne- Mothers, who'd have em huh?!? (Cept that they are alwasy there for us when we need them :p) I have a very much love hate relationship with my mum!
Sare- I think it is time we organised a melb meet- I bet you look brilliant, and not half as big as you feel!!! Sorry to hear Lara is being a pain, Nedd is so unpredictable with his eating at the moment too, maybe it is a stage?!?!
Georgia- Thats fantastic news about your VBAC, I am keeping everything crossed for you....so the poll for the names didn't help?? I still go for Jeremy!!
Oh boy no-one told me this TTC business would be so nerve racking!! Well we are on our first month of trying, and only got to DTD once in the window of opp (then I got sick with gastro)...but I have been reading way too much into every symptom I have gotten over the last couple of days, I mean if it happened I would have conceived Mon, and I have been quesy in the arvos since (yes I know- gastro!!), plus yucky nasal congestion, which I had right from word go last time. Now I know the chances of me falling with one shot are slim to none, but I am pretty sure I would have ovulated sun, and thats when we DTD so it is possible!!!
Oh, the waiting!!!!! :rolleyes: :o I am driving myself silly!!!
OK, GTG, we have swimming lessons this evening, brrr, bit bloody cold for it if you ask me, but atleast DH gets the in the water, so I get to sip lattes whilst I watch!! :p
Now I know the chances of me falling with one shot are slim to none, but I am pretty sure I would have ovulated sun, and thats when we DTD so it is possible!!!
Sal, believe me it does happen ;) I'm living proof. We DTD once while we were on holiday...nice to think we are forever going to have a memento from that holiday :laughing: So I have my :fingerscrossed: that it happens for you.
Glad to hear you guys are feeling better. I think you've had your fair share of illnesses now.
I would love to catch up...and I really do look huge. When I'm pregnant I gain weight everywhere. Back to dieting after Christmas :(
Georgia - Have you tried the Nymbler site (http://www.nymbler.com/). You type in names that you like and it pops out some more suggestions for you. Hope you find 'the one' soon.
We've just had a cruddy night. The kind where you thank Jeebus the sun has risen and you can stop pretending you should be asleep.
Abbey slept for a bit in her bed, then came into mine as usual. Screamed for a few minutes as usual, then fell asleep. She woke me some time later squiggling and around trying to get out of her sleeping bag, so fine, i let her out. I actually thought it was almost morning. Turns out it was 1am and that was all the sleep she planned on getting. She spent the next 5 hours constantly pawing at me, rubbing her face on me, talking, sitting up and generally being a complete nocturnal bum hat.
I have no idea how many times I told her shut up (bad mummy has her limits), pushed her back lying down, snuggled her, removed her fingers from my ears and nose or told her to go to sleep. I do know I only said the F word once though. :thumbsup: (I say it maybe 6 times a year)
I absolutely hate her wandering hands. Especially around my ears. I'm a bit special that way, don't like people near my ears. I can tolerate stationary hands just fine, but when they start moving and fossicking I start to feel like she is trying to consume me.
I don't know if that makes any sense to you ladies.
So anyway, I'm in a rotten mood, she seems to be coming down with a cold, and the tv is going to get a good workout today because if she wants someone to dance for her, it ain't gonna be me.
Sal - have you bought a supply of tests yet? Buy in bulk and you can test compulsively. I'm now a pro at weeing in a cup.:D It only takes one spermy to make it happen, and you got a delivery of a couple million. I like those odds!
Yay Nedd on his puzzle progress!
Georgia - good luck for the vbac, I hope you get the birth of your dreams.
Sare - great to hear Eloise is ready for school, in her mind at least. I started school when I was 4 because I was bored silly at pre-school, no idea if I knew how to hold a pencil though!
My baby gates are out on loan sadly. She hasn't done a repeat escape, but only because she's barely slept the past 2 nights and nor have I.
Bec - congrats on the house! When do you settle?
Something weird - I put Abbey's pj shirt on last night, against her will, so I only did up one button to ensure it didn't fall off until I caught her. When I was getting her ready for bed I saw 2 more were done up. It wasn't me! She is interested in buttons and does have a fiddle, but she couldn't possibly have done them up, could she??
I know it wasn't me on autopilot as they were still uneven from the first one I did. If I was doing her up I would have fixed them.
GeorgiaAnne
17-07-2008, 08:41
Michelle - Hope you get a nap today, what a cr@ppy night. I'm not a big fan of Sophia putting her fingers in my ears either, they seem to go down such a long way :no:
Sal - I also got pg after one bd as dh was away a lot and I thought I had ovulated waaay before he was around so there is def. a chance. Sare, I think we should be a bit more careful from now on!
Sare - Is this it for you guys now or do you think you'll have more kids? *rubbing crystal ball* I think I see one more in your future!
Sophia decided to wake up at 5:45 this morning: not happy!
We're a bit quiet at work this week bc of the World Youth day thing as the road closures are right in our area and I think a lot of people have skipped town so I have no excuses for not doing my end of fin year boring work :hair:
So I hope you're all well and i'll bbl!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-07-2008, 11:06
Sal... i hear ya. this is our 3rd month.....! i have been told my a psychic (one that has a great reputation) that we will move back to QLD in 4 months and i'll conceive within the following 3 weeks of being there, or when we move i will be 3 weeks...so will be interesting to see if i am preg in 4 months time.....he he he...
the weird thing is i have had a feelling inside me that it wont happen until we move back...and apparently DP aslo has had that same feeling (he told me so last night...so makes it more interesting)
it is hard and yep u read into every little part of your body, hoping i think that it is a preg symptom :laughing: it will happen, when the time is right...in the mean time just have fun trying...
we are going to lunch today, keanu had his cousins stay last night, who is 7 and he loves him, had an absolute ball and kept him amused!!! which was great :)
he has been sick, on amoxil and redipred. Last night was the first night in a while that he slept thru...he woke at 4.30am then went back to sleep til 7.30am....so was GREAT. let's hope he is getting better!!
had better run, have a great day everyone! :)
Jackie - Hope Keanu is ok. So are you definintely going back to Qld? I hope the psychic is right.
Georgia - Yep, 3 is our limit. It's funny, dh and I have said that he'll go for the snip sometime next year, but in the last few weeks both of us have decided that we're not sure that we want him to. So we'll wait and see how we feel after the baby is born. I'm almost positive I don't want any more than 3 and dh is certain that 3 is it. What about you guys? Any more kids in your future?
Poor you with the 5.45am wake-up. My girls were much kinder to me. 9.15am. It was great to get some well needed sleep.
Michelle - :hugs: Poor you. I don't blame you for the tv being your friend today. I say chuck on a dvd for Abbey and have a lie down yourself.
Lara's almost back to her old self, which is great. She's much happier, sleeping better and eating again. For the last 2 nights sh'e even gone to eat her vegies before her meat. The only fruits that I can get her to eat at the moment are grapes and apples. She will occasionally have strawberries and bananas, but generally only if she sees one of us eating that and decides that she wants some.
Back to work tomorrow. I went by most of last term not seeing the parents because I was on yard duty before school and they just dropped their kids off. This term I don't, so I will see a few in the morning. It will be interesting, because they still haven't been told that I'm pregnant. There's no hiding the fact now.
My principal asked me if I would be happy to work until the end of November and I really would like to say yes, but the ILs are so unreliable with looking after the girls, that I think that I'm going to have to say no and finish up at the end of term 3, which means that I only have 10 days of work to go until I am on maternity leave again :laughing:
GeorgiaAnne
17-07-2008, 14:08
Sare - I know you're superwoman and all but how can you work 'til the end of November when you're due on the 18th? Maybe you could do some relief work if you're not ready to finish yet? Do the parents get ratty when you finish up before the end of the year. I think I would which is totally unreasonable considering I have kids but it would be disappointing if you like the teacher.
Ooops, meant October :dizzy:
I don't think that the parents would be too fussed by me leaving, because I only have them one day a week, but I think they will be surprised because nothing has been said about it before.
Most parents were great when I left 2/3 through the year when I was having Eloise. You get the odd one who thinks that you've deliberately gotten pg to affect their child's education. Crazy huh?
GeorgiaAnne
17-07-2008, 14:28
lol that'd probably be me! Only kidding, i;m not that much of a psycho. How are you guys going for names? Got any I can steal :laughing:;)
GeorgiaAnne
17-07-2008, 14:34
re: names Sal, I think Jeremy is still the winner for me atm, has always been a front runner I just don't LOVE it, though maybe I will know when I see his little face!
I really like Jeremy, Georgia.
We're settled on a girl's name...Amelia Claire.
I thought we had on a boy's name, I mean I like it, I'm just not sure whether I can imagine hearing it being called out in the playground at school. DH wants Oliver John. As I said I do like Oliver and he'll get the nn Ollie I'm sure. He wants John because it's his middle name. I'm not a fan of John, so I told him that I want James as a middle name it was originally my Grandad's name (until it was changed to Arthur...goodness knows why???) and it is my brother's name. I think if the baby gets dh's surname (and you know how ugh that is) then it's only fair that my family is represented somewhere in one of our kids names too.
Other names that I like are William (Will), Marcus (I love this name dh isn't as keen), Luke and Sebastian.
I haven't been around much, I know. Not that anyone has missed me though ;)
Sal - I have conceived each of the children very very easily, so here's another living proof example that it can be done! With DD, I was experiencing symptoms within the first week, so that's possible too. knew I was pregnant way before I could test, and when the test came up negative, I knew it was wrong..tested a couple of days later, and wham... :bfp: Hope it happens soon! Good to hear you think that yucky sickness has left your house. We have had a really good run with everyone being well for such a long time. I'm sure it will hit soon though, lol. And, now that I've typed that, I'm sure I've just jinxed myself!
Georgia - I like Jeremy. It's nice! I know what you mean about not loving the name. I only had one name with DD which I loved, and DH hated it, so it forced me to have to find another name. We were then choosing out of 2 names, neither of whcih I really LOVED. Anyway, we chose Monet in the end, and it does suit her, very much. Hard decision to make though, this naming children business! Good to hear that bubby is 3/5's engaged. DS2 didn't engage until labour, and DS3 and DD both engaged early, with DD being born 2 weeks early, so here's hoping this happens for you!
Sare - 3 was DH's limit too...funny how us women get what we want, hey? I could probably even sway him to 5, lol!! If only we were going to be guaranteed with just 1. All our luck, we'd get twins, lol!! Great to hear you're doing well. I was definitely bigger with Monet...Put on about 20 kilos :eek: I'm absolutley shattered now, as I have to get back into my size 10 clothes!! I need a miracle, lol! ETA - Sare, I like those names you've picked too. I hear you on not liking the nn associated with the name. I loved Archer (and Monet would have been named this had she of been a boy), but I hated Archie!! Just be strong and tell people that that's not his name, his name is Oliver and that is what he'll be called!
Michelle - You sure have a little genius on your hands if Abbey did those buttons up!! Mack is 5.5 yrs and he still has issues with his buttons! Maybe it's just Mack that has issues, lol! Hopefully Abbey's cold doesn't turn into much more
Jackie - Have I missed something? Are you going back to QLD? Are things not working out over there? Hope you get you BFP really soon!
Bec - Congrats on the new house! You must be really excited!!
Not much happening here. Just ridiculously busy, trying to fit 30 hours into a 24 hour day, you know how it is!
J has decided that sleeping during the day IS a good thing, and has gone from having no nap, to a 3 - 4 hour nap!! He is still asleep now, and he went down at 12.45pm. If only Monet would take some notice, lol!
DH and I went out for lunch and did some shopping today, leaving J and Little M at home with my Mum. Was lovely indeed not to have any children with us for a few hours! Now to just arrange that more often!
I'm taking Mack to the dentist tomorrow for his first check up. I've been sure to make it sound like the dentist is good fun, lol, so hopefully all will go well when we're there.
better go and fold some washing I guess, so the pile doesn't get any bigger....
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-07-2008, 17:52
Things are good! perth is lovely, but it isn't home. DP has spoken about a transfer so as soon as a job comes up in brissy we will move back! it is where we belong. Moving here hasn't been a mistake, it has given us the opportunity to be able togive keanu a much better financial future, as well as ourselves, so we don't regret it for one minute....but yeh sometimes the grass isn't always greener on th other side. We want to be around our family and bestest of friends, we want keanu to be around at least one set of grandparents, and we want the support....
so that's it in a nut shell.
got to run ke is cracking it :laughing:
diesal444
18-07-2008, 07:10
Mornin ladies:wave:
Sare - OMG, How clever is your little Eloise with her numbers and letters. Re the house. We have been given the date of 20th December for it to be finished by. Glad there havent been any "accidents" for Eloise in a while!! Re boys names: My brothers name is Oliver and we ALL call him Oly and it kinda suits him even though he is a 39 year old grown man!!
Georgia - Great news about VBAC. Have fun doing all you tax work... yuk!
Sal - :laughing: at you reading into every symptom. Glad to hear the bug has moved on though. Hope you enjoyed sipping lattes whilst at swimming......:yes:
Michelle - Sorry to hear about your sleepless night. That would be my worst nightmare! Hope Abbey doesnt get to big a dose of a cold. On a different note....Hail to you only saying the "F" word only 6 times a year. I am trying to come up with new "F" words since it tends to freely flow from my mouth in times of frustration!!
Jackie - Hope Keanu is feeling much better now. Sounds like you are really keen to go back home. You really do need to be happy and you gave it a go!
Sarah - Just a question???........How on earth do you find time to post on here... Not that I dont love hearing about you being "supermum". Gald to hear you have some nice child free time to relax with DH.
All is good here. Darcy has been her sweet little self. She is just so lovely and I miss her so much when I am at work.
The house is coming along as well. Was there yesterday and the plaster has been hung, so I guess that means all systems go for the inside now.
Mum was sick this week so she couldn't have Darcy whilst I worked and I couldnt take ANOTHER sickie so DP had to just do some organising of his own with work and his mum. Funny coz he said to me last night on the phone...." wow, what a hectic week its been ". I laughed silently coz its what I do every week :laughing:....
Okies, have a great weekend all!
Things on the house front are progressing very slowly, jeez DP's field of employment is a nightmare when trying to prove his year's income! Basically he's worked for 20 different people last year, so that's 20 different PAYG's that have to arrive before he can do his tax...phew. Fortunately he has a good accountant...I'm trying not to be too excited as I still feel it could all collapse, IYKWIM? I'll be thrilled when we have the keys!
Mary-ann - you don't want to go the old Alf F-word..."Flippin heck" or "flamin 'ell"?....:laughing: I tend to just make loud growling noises these days. Quite alarming enough.
Jackie what was Keanu cracking it over? was it bedtime?
Sarah, I like Archer, haven't heard it before. He'd probably be more likely to be Arch I reckon. Are you thinking of lining up again to use that name? Wow then you'd have a whole touch footy team!
Sare - I LOVE that girls' name! We have finally settled too, on Kate Mary (can't remember if I said that before...:o) I know an Oliver too and he's been Ollie nearly since birth - but it suits him too. I'm with you - a surname gives you one less vote!! Also, that attitude you mentioned about getting pg deliberately to mess up people's lives happens in most fields - I usually say coolly "well it didn't seem like a good reason to put my life on hold". Seems to work with farmers anyway :D
Michelle - hope your nights have improved. Hahaha it was 17degrees and sunny here last week and everyone had short sleeves on for the first time in weeks! I'm so ready for the warmer weather.
Ella is a bit out of sorts the last couple of days - grumpy and whiny, like a whole different person. I hope it's just the cold she's starting and not a developmental phase..I miss my little sunshine girl!
GeorgiaAnne
18-07-2008, 13:04
Hi chicks,
Bec - lol on the growling noise - I think I should try that bc I could make a sailor blush with my disgusting mouth :o I hope Ella goes back to her lovely self soon.
Sare - I love the names Oliver and Amelia - Amelia was on our list with Sophia. Oliver is a good friend of mines son's name and has bad connotations when matched with my surname. The other name i've always liked is Jasper but another mate used that one!
Mary-Anne - Good to hear from you! It's nice when dh's realise that it's quite hard work juggling everything as a working mum etc, I think you do an amazing job.
Jac - I;m sorry you're not loving Perth. How long do you think you'll stay for?
Sarah - Ooh, a day with just your dh, that must've been lovely. Good luck with the dentist :thumbsup: re: baby, i'm kinda hoping I come on time (ish) as i've got quite a lot on late Aug/early Sept with work but in saying that, it pretty much guarantees i'll be early!
Righto, that's enough babble from me....
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-07-2008, 14:22
ah well no more than 18 months.....hoping a position comes up in brissy before christmas tho, but we have put our limit to another 18 months!!! so yeh, if something comes up before then then we'll take it with open arms!!!!
but perth is lovely...it has great things for families...if our family was here then there would be no dramas....but we are happier back in QLD....it is where we are meant to be...so hopefully it happens soon!
but we are well...oh keanu was just cracking it lol..having a tanty cos he couldn't reach the potato mahser :laughing: he is hilarious, getting better as he slept thru til 6.50am then went back to sleep til 7.30am....last night and the nigh before woke at 4.30am for a drink and slept til 8.40am...so yeh he is on the mend thankgoodness.
my folks leave in about 2 weeks, so in a way will be good to go back to our normal lives he he....will miss them but it will be nice just being me, DP and Keanu.
I am taking up plagroup again this term...well will attend on the days it is raining, cos we walk...so that will be good for keanu to interact again...and will have to organise anutha meet with some perth ladies i met...we may as well make the most of it while we are here.... :) no point moping around...oh and there is the study i'll finish too by october, then i think i'll have a break for a bit, maybe pick it up again later. just have to finish these modules otherwise a waste of money!
well thats enuf :ecomcity: from me
SalTheGal
18-07-2008, 14:59
Hi Ladies, working from home today as mum and dad are away on holidays, therefore getting nothing done!!
Hmmm, well I do not know how I am going to get through the next week till I can test, I have continued to feel nauseous every afternoon, starting bout this time...I have barely touched dinner each night this week (went out last night for dinner with a GF who knows I will be trying soon, and I could tell she was so suss on me as all I did was push my food around!!), and I was up vomiting at 5am this morning :detective: I know I am reading way way too much into all this (could just be left overs from gastro)!!! Its just so frustrating having what could be typical symptoms- but deep down I am sure I am not BFP...I actaully think I passed that egg whitey type discharge yesterday that would have been me ovulating. And considering Nedd was the result of a once off 14 days after a missed pill I know how easily it can happen- but I just don't feel it IYKWIM!!
So just trying to chill for the next week till I can test. (Longest week of my life so far!) :rolleyes:
Jack, After all the travels I have done to perth for week I can see where you are coming from- it is a lovely spot, but I could never settle there long term either...its so isolated from the rest of the country too!
Sare- LOVE your name choices, Amelia was one our list for a girl last time, but DH wasn't fussed on it.
Actually I love everyones choices so far- us chickies have good name tastes!!
Just had a pit stop to tickle Nedd- he is hilarious- comes up to you with his top up and asks for tickles....then when you stop he lies there and shyly asks for 'more'- like he can't decide if he really wants it or not!!
My daycarer was also telling me that on the day its all girls apart from him they play doctors with him and he is always the patient- aparently he lies there for ages with his top pulled up letting them go to town on him with stethescope etc.....:eek: What a floozy I have created!!!
Sarah- so nice to hear from you, and great to hear you are getting some down time with DH....that is one very awesome effort!!
OK, I am off to do a quick clean up before DH gets home, I am meant to be getting the house spotless today as the inlaws are coming tomorrow to babysit Nedd...we have our football club ball (very generous calling it a ball- more like a country p!ssup in suits and ties and cute dresses) tomorrow night, and I am thinking it may be my last night out for quite some time. MIL is taking Nedd to watch the footy in the arvo and I am getting my hair cut and styled, pianting my toenails yunno, and going to a GF's to get ready together- all that pampery stuff.
So best be off to find the vacuum cleaner!! :goodvibes:
Just finished work and home to an empty house :( I miss my girls after not seeing them all day. Dh has taken them to see his parents as his dad had an operation to remove the colonoscopy bag that he had put in after the nicked his bowel when they removed his prostate a few months ago.
Sal - Good luck; I've got my fingers crossed for you. My first symptom with this one was the tingling achey boobs. Much worse than I had with the other 2 at the same stage and they were there for a few days before I got my BFP, so who knows maybe they are pregnancy symptoms.
Have fun at the ball tomorrow night.
Georgia - I'm with you on the swearing front, and that from a 'good' catholic school teacher too :o. Eloise is such a goodie two shoes that she wouldn't dream of copying dh or I when we swear, but Lara's a different. The other night I yelled at the dog to shut up and a split second later she's yelling "Baxter, shut up" too.
Jackie - Glad to hear Keanu's feeling better. Lara was the one with the sh1tty night last night. For some reason my girls take in turns to have a bad night on a Thursday, knowing that I have to work on a Friday :hair:
I truly believe the saying home is where the heart is and it sounds like home is in Qld, so I hope your dp gets a transfer real soon.
Bec - Good luck with the house. Hope you get the go ahead soon.
Lara was like Ella last week. Just grizzly and not her usual bubbly self. She did have a cold. Now she's on the mend, the change in her has been huge. She's almost better than she has been ages. I hope Ella gets better soon.
Kate Mary is a lovely name too. Such a strong, pretty name. It's exciting talking baby names with you all again. :p
Mary-Anne - That's great that you'll be in your house by Christmas. It must be exciting to see it progress. Have you popped any more recent photos on facebook lately? (note to self...must remember to check...)
I didn't mean it to sound like I didn't like the nn Ollie. I really do. It actually makes me feel better that at school he will have the option of going by either his full name or nn (that is if we have a boy). It's funny when we chose Eloise, we always planned that she'd get the nn Ellie. Only my uncle has called her that and just the once. I think babies grow into their names.
Sarah - Great to hear from you. How's M going now? Have things settled for him now? How did he go at the dentist? Eloise loves our dentist. She has been going every 6 months since she was 2 because of her crooked teeth at the bottom can get a build of plaque so they need a proper clean. She's been great so far. I even had Lara checked at my last appointment because of her chipped tooth. Taking them has at least made me go regularly. I think I had about 12 years between 2 appointments once :eek:
I better go. I have some work to do before they troops arrive home. I think it will be a take away night for us tonight. It's cold, wet and I can't be a$$ed cooking after working today. Take care and have a great weekend. We're kid free tomorrow night :smiliedance: Off to a trivia night for a kinder fundraiser with my mother's group. Should be a laugh.
Things are good! perth is lovely, but it isn't home. DP has spoken about a transfer so as soon as a job comes up in brissy we will move back! it is where we belong. Moving here hasn't been a mistake, it has given us the opportunity to be able togive keanu a much better financial future, as well as ourselves, so we don't regret it for one minute....but yeh sometimes the grass isn't always greener on th other side. We want to be around our family and bestest of friends, we want keanu to be around at least one set of grandparents, and we want the support....
so that's it in a nut shell.
got to run ke is cracking it :laughing:
I can understand that!! With my DH working in QLD and us living in VIC, I can totally understand where you are coming from! We haven't made the decision to move us all up there, and will probably stay here, as it's our home, iykiwm? I have my sister and my bestie in Brisbane, but we'd still be about 9 hours drive or so away from them, so we'd have no 'real support' there either. Hopefully your DP will get a transfer really soon and you can go home!
Sarah - Just a question???........How on earth do you find time to post on here... Not that I dont love hearing about you being "supermum". Gald to hear you have some nice child free time to relax with DH.
The house is coming along as well. Was there yesterday and the plaster has been hung, so I guess that means all systems go for the inside now.
Mum was sick this week so she couldn't have Darcy whilst I worked and I couldnt take ANOTHER sickie so DP had to just do some organising of his own with work and his mum. Funny coz he said to me last night on the phone...." wow, what a hectic week its been ". I laughed silently coz its what I do every week :laughing:....
Okies, have a great weekend all!
I don't, lol!! I have to make the time! I figure that DH gets to go outside every now and again for a cigarette, so I get to sit on the computer for 1/2 hour each day....I call that my cigarette, lol!!
great to hear the house is finally coming along. How exciting, that all going well, you'll be having Christmas in your new house!
Men, hey? It's always so much harder for them to cope with our lives, isn't it? I won't even get started, lol.
Sarah, I like Archer, haven't heard it before. He'd probably be more likely to be Arch I reckon. Are you thinking of lining up again to use that name? Wow then you'd have a whole touch footy team!
Ella is a bit out of sorts the last couple of days - grumpy and whiny, like a whole different person. I hope it's just the cold she's starting and not a developmental phase..I miss my little sunshine girl!
I'd probably like to have another, but right now, I'm very happy with the 4 we have!! In saying that, I'm pretty sure that this will be it, but you never know how we'll be feeling in a few years time. I'd still probably use Archer if we were to have a boy. When we had Jarvis, MIL asked if his nn would be Jarvi. I said NO WAY, it'll be JED (his initials). He's never been called Jed, and always gets Jarv, or Jarvi, lol!!
I hope Ella is back to her happy normal self really soon. J had a little time period of the same sort of behaviours. I took him the DR and all, but all was good. Perhaps they just get sick of being 1 sometimes, lol!
Hmmm, well I do not know how I am going to get through the next week till I can test, I have continued to feel nauseous every afternoon, starting bout this time...I have barely touched dinner each night this week (went out last night for dinner with a GF who knows I will be trying soon, and I could tell she was so suss on me as all I did was push my food around!!), and I was up vomiting at 5am this morning :detective: I know I am reading way way too much into all this (could just be left overs from gastro)!!! Its just so frustrating having what could be typical symptoms- but deep down I am sure I am not BFP...I actaully think I passed that egg whitey type discharge yesterday that would have been me ovulating. And considering Nedd was the result of a once off 14 days after a missed pill I know how easily it can happen- but I just don't feel it IYKWIM!!
Sarah- so nice to hear from you, and great to hear you are getting some down time with DH....that is one very awesome effort!!
Sal, with my pregnancy with Monet, I had symptoms from very early on. Possibly within the week. I remember "knowing" quite a while before I could test, and when the test came back negative 2 days before AF, I didn't believe it and tested again the day of AF, and yep, got the BFP!! Trust how your body is feeling I say. I thought I may have been imaginign things, but na! I also thought I had ovulation mixed up, as I had the egg whity stuff from mid cycle til testing day...a true pregnancy sign for me! So, it may be looking good for you!!
Enjoy the night out tomorrow night!
Just finished work and home to an empty house :( I miss my girls after not seeing them all day. Dh has taken them to see his parents as his dad had an operation to remove the colonoscopy bag that he had put in after the nicked his bowel when they removed his prostate a few months ago.
Sarah - Great to hear from you. How's M going now? Have things settled for him now? How did he go at the dentist? Eloise loves our dentist. She has been going every 6 months since she was 2 because of her crooked teeth at the bottom can get a build of plaque so they need a proper clean. She's been great so far. I even had Lara checked at my last appointment because of her chipped tooth. Taking them has at least made me go regularly. I think I had about 12 years between 2 appointments once :eek:
Hi Sare, hoping your FIL was feeling ok.
M is still having his moments! At the dentist today - which went really well! - he found that M has a new tooth coming through. So, I thought, mayber this has been what's causing the issues we've been having?? I'll see if it starts to setle down soon. I spoke to his Kinder teacher today, and she's not having any dramas with him, so I guess only he knows what the real prob is.
I had thought of taking T to the dentist too, but decided not too. If your girls have handled it all ok, perhaps T would too...Our dentist is really lovely too. My Dentist of over 20 years retired a couple of years ago, and a lovely younger couple took over. They're both excellent with children, and make the experience fun for them. Much different than when I was little....I dreaded the dentist!!
GTG, baby screaming to be fed!
Have a nice weekend!
Hey all
Finally caught up on the reading......takes me a little while at the moment.
Well I will agree with the girls who "just knew" they were preg even if the test said they weren't. I was like that with the twins. I woke up one morning going 'gee something is different with me' I tested but got a negative. Tested again every morning for the next week and finally got a yes. I'd already booked doc appointment lol. I guess you could say I knew from the start. (It was only the fact there were 2 that was a surprise)
As for names "good blo**y luck" You think one name is bad.........when there is 2 you have to decide not only on names but if they go together and who should have which name ha ha
On the home front all is well here. Our darlings are huge now ha ha. 'little jack' is 15lb 12oz (7.1kg) and Shaun is 15lb 1 oz (6.8kg). Jack has always been smaller but we knew he'd overtaken Shaun this time. It's good because Shaun is actually the baby :rolleyes:.
Adam is so precious he makes my heart melt every day. He is glad to have all the older kids back from holidays, he's not sure who to attack first. He is such a help with the twins. He loves to put powder on their backs and bellies and rub it in. He rocks their bouncers and gets them nappies and face washers for their bath. He loves taking things to the laundry and vacuuming or sweeping. It seems a shame that by the time he is a teenager he will have no recollection of how to do any of these things :laughing:
Last bit of news is that we have decided Bendigo is not really working out for us. So, we too are on the move again. Going back to Mildura where we came from originally. We have been offered an old cottage to do up and do what we want with. So, we will be off within the month and then we will be renovating a house while I study to finish my accounting degree and look after the 6 kids. Surprisingly all the kids are happy about it. Even Chloe, the eldest who is going back to Qld at the end of the year is happy - go figure - noone wanted to go back when we decided to head back this way..kids and men - you'll never work them out.
Anyway all. I am glad to hear that there is a lot of good news out there with houses, babies, jobs etc. Not long to go and our "babies" will be starting to turn 2. Then they'll all be big kids :valentine:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
19-07-2008, 11:09
Di goodluck with the move...you gave it a go too..do what ur heart says!!! and i am sure you will be happy! it is great that everyone is happy!!! :) hopefully we have some news soon....:laughing:
I had a good weekend in Melbourne - very busy though - I am stuffed now!Have a cold and everything and way too run down to go to work today.
Oh and QANTAS cancelled our 4pm flight back yesterday and changed it to 8.10pm plus then that was late....Didn't get Kayley to bed until 11pm last night.
I'm glad everyone sounds well. Names, names, names - I have a few that I like but am waiting until our scan so I can concentrate on girl or boy names. I have a friend who has an Eddie and an Ollie and I think the sound cute but I have to admit I wouldn't have initially picked them! We had a friend in Melb who had a baby last week and called him Sonny and another one fairly recently Archie. We boht love Jack but have a friend who has already called their baby this so probably not going to use it at this stage. Oh and Sare I love William - would use it but my nephew is already William (and DH's cousins just used it too) - I will probably use it as a middle name if we have a boy as it was my dads middle name. I find boys names sooooo hard.
Mary-Anne - your house sounds like it is coming along. Ours has been a little slow the last ocuple of weeks as we have had a bit of rain but if we have some good weather we shouldn't be a long way from lock up - better hurry up as we hope to be in my October!
Well no 2 will be our last - as you might remember DH wasn't keen on 2 so I don't think we will go for a 3rd. I am happy with 2 and I really don't mind if it is a girl or a boy but DH really wants a boy!!
Well I have to run and lie down. Keep well everyone!
SalTheGal
21-07-2008, 20:46
Evening everyone from FREEZING Ballarat!!
Well on this front any 'symptoms' I have such as nausea disppeared on FRi- which I am so relieved about as I can forget about reading into it all, it wasn't fun as my gut tells me I am not this month, so all those stupid symptoms were just playing with my head!
We had lots of fun at our Ball on sat- cept my bestie had too much to drink and we ended up having a fight- she was being totally irrational and drunk, and has since sheepishly apologised for being such a twit.
I am off to Syd tomorrow for 2nights, so not looking forward to it, but fingers crossed it will be one of the last for me!
Nedd is being very cute, all healthy which is nice. He is obsessed with the 'sky' at the moment- everything is 'up to the ky, up to the ky' and 'zoom zoom in the ky', he sounds so cute when he says it. We are struggling a bit with settlilng him at night- he is needed lots of cuddles and really fighting going to sleep, and still doing his stupid banging during the night too, so sleep is not a happy subject here.
Last night I had a nightmare of all things botu 12.30am- dreamt the bed was being covered by spiders the size of my hand- so much so that I actually jumped out of bed screaming, ran into the hallway and turned on the hall light yelling at DH to get out of bed and away from the spiders!! Took quite a while to get over it, and DH actually had to check and prove to me there were no spiders!!
Then after several calls to Nedd, the bl00dy dog was asking to be let out at 4am, then Nedd into bed with as at 5.30am, I am just stuffed! Add to that a massive dislike of work at the moment and I have no motivation whatsoever.
Sorry, no time for personals, I am off to bed to try and catch some :sleeping: before Nedd stirs. But Beck- sorry to hear that your flight was delayed and you got home so late- it sucks doesn't it!! Hope you get a chance to take it a bit easy this week.
Sal - you're crazy :yelclap: Have you been watching Arachnophobia or something lately?
Names are so hard in this family, with so many in the extended family I had to run potential names by mum so she could say we had one of those, two of those...could be why some of the special ones have been making up names for their kids now.
Di - another move, this time with the twins and Adam in tow, you are are going to be one busy bee. Least you can make the older kids do all the packing and sorting.
I was in the I know when I'm pregnant club too. Something just clicks and you know. I'm always incredulous when women go full term without knowing a thing. Talk about sticking your head in the sand. I think my first physical signs were being tired and having tender veiny boobs.
Abbey is doing a jigsaw next to me, making me help. Its a toddler jigsaw so there's no such thing as a piece that doesn't fit, it just makes a very unique shape and picture.
Well after that sleepless night Abbey did have a cold, which she then lovingly passed to me. The inside of my head is itchy, I can't decide if I'm hot or cold, my head is muzzy and I'm coughing and dropping tissues everywhere. We had houseguests night before last so we are doing our duty and spreading the virus to those we love. I very rarely get sick at all so its a bit of a blow to feel unwell, even if it is just a cold. The good part is Abbey has been sleeping well at night, and so have I.
She actually slept until 4.30am in her bed last night and I woke to her crawling in her sleeping bag into my room. Splat splat splat, chatting about 'swargles' (snuggles). She must have gotten cold in her bed and decided to take matters into her own hands.
Her granddad is chuffed that she will say his name now. Now that he's gone home again she hears a noise outside and asks if thats granddad come back. He is 'ah-dad'. She hasn't seen her real dad in a month, but she did get hold of my mobile and call him. Out of all the numbers in my address book she found her daddy and dialled him. No answer though, very sad.
It must have been a fluke, because while she knows the letter O, she doesn't know his name is Owen.
Hello everyone,
We had a rough day yesterday - Ella had a high temp, took her to the docs who couldn't quite put his finger on why she was so sick. I was really worried though - I ran out of painkillers and rushed to the chemist before I went to the doctors, by the time I'd dosed her up she was grey and shaking, it was awful! Then we had to get a chest x-ray to rule out pneumonia...she was so good, I couldn't hold her near the xray due to being pg, so she stood on a chair with no shirt on all by herself with me across the room! Little angel.
Anyway the best diagnosis we could come up with was "might be a bit of bronchitis (!)", high dose of antibiotics and ongoing nurofen. Anyway - she slept in 2 hrs later than normal this morning and is chipper as can be today! But I'm keeping her home one more day to be sure. Also missing out on the two most boring days of a week long training course:D oh dear.
Michelle sympathies for the cold. Ella has passed some bugs on to me too - my nose is a painful tap - lovely. Good news on the sleep front! Very nice of her to do that when you're both sick and need the rest.
Sal, hi back to you from freezing Yass! OMG it was so cold yesterday. Great day to be carting a sick toddler in and out of the car. Hope you got some good sleep last night. Lol at the spider dream - my sister sleepwalks and that's her most common dream - her poor husband has been wrenched regularly out of bed because of the spiders since they were married!
Beck - pooh bloody Qantas. Hope you got some rest (even if you had to "run" to it :laughing:)
Hey Di - I never thought of that, having to decide which twin gets which name! I think Mildura is lovely, or I did during the half day I spent there in 1996:p Nice buildings and parks. How lovely that Adam is such a help.
Sare - glad you like the name! I love trivia nights, it's like a payout for being a total nerd:D
Anyway - better go send off the last bit of paperwork for our loan application. Told our parents on the weekend - Mum's reaction was much more satisfying than MIL's of course... isn't that the rule?
Sal - that is me!! I used to get the spider dreams all the time and it was worse when I was pregnant - my husband used to just roll his eyes and tell me to calm down. On Saturday night I had a funny dream where I opened my eyes and their was somehting blue aiming at me and I literally jumped out of bed but was not my bed and I landed on my back on the floor - ouch is all I can say. Guess I better get used to more crazy dreams for the next 5 months!
Sal/Bec - Melbourne was cold enough for me on the weekend. The couple of degrees and absence of the wind chill makes all hte difference here in Adelaide!
Michelle - we stayed with nana and grandad on the weekend and Kayley was very good at saying gandad and nannan judy! They were so chuffed. They were quite upset when we (or should I say Kayley) went home - they have to organise themselves and move over here methinks!
Well I have to run - still feel average and Kayley is grumpy (have put her down to one bottle during the day and I think she misses her afternoon one!)
Take care all.
I promise I have been reading, I just haven't had much time to sit down and write a post, so I thought I'd do it now (I'm trying to avoid cleaning Eloise's pigsty of a room :cool:)
Not much going on here. Still getting huger, but no real complaints. We all finally seem to be over our colds. Eloise started Kinder again today, so it was nice to have a break, all be it short. Lara has been sleeping through again, but is putting up a real battle when we put her to bed whether it's for a day sleep or at night.
Bec - Hope Ella is ok. At least you got to miss the boring bits of work. There has to be some benefits to having a sick child...right?
Michelle - Hope you're feeling better too. This winter seems to have been particularly bad for us for colds and it seems like everyone we know has had it too (numerous times!). How's Abbey going in her new bed?
Sal - How are you feeling now...any symptoms reappeared? Any more spider nightmares?
Di - Good luck with the move. You are one brave lady to be doing that with 3 kids under 2 plus all your other kids.
Sarah - I just saw on your facebook status that Monet is already a month old...where does time go? happybirthday Monet.
I've talked my dh into going to the footy on Saturday. He's been asking me what I'd like to do for my b'day on Saturday and I had no idea and while I was flicking through the tv guide I saw that Collingwood are playing Essendon on Sat afternoon, so that was decision made for me. Then dh and I are going out for dinner on Sunday night. I have been craving Asian food all this pregnancy, so I am thinking that I might like to go to a Thai restaurant, or maybe we'll go to one of my favourite Indian restaurants. Either way it will be delicious :D
I hope everyone else is well. I better get a start on Eloise's room before dh gets home from work. I told him that I would tidy it today :(
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
23-07-2008, 17:16
enjoy the footy sare....
ah i am feeling stressed....i am just constantly snappy and feeling frustrated....keanu is constantly having a tanty if i say no, or don't let him have something :hair: when he is not doing that he is great! i am just so unhappy and i guess he is feeling it and picking up on it, how do i get myself out of this rut that i am in?
we are starting playgroup again this week, which hopefully will be good for both of us.
other than me feeling this way things are good...the weather is wet so can't get out and do much. my mum and dad leave on the 31st...as much as it will be great getting back to our lives, it will also be sad i guess as i wont have that distraction, but i kinda also feel as tho keanu is mucking up cos they are here. so kinda looking forward to it and kinda not, if that makes sense.
i have never felt the way i am feeling of late...i am just feeling ran down and exhausted. i guess i kinda feel like we don't have a life, cos DP works and when he does come home i am exhausted and just don't have the energy for him. and we don't really have any friends here...so there isn't that outlet type thing. argh! sorry for the let out :crying:
i know only i can make myself happy and need to put in more of an effort, it's just hard!
thanks for listening to me :ecomcity:
maybe1more
23-07-2008, 18:01
Hi Ladies i havent been on here for a while:o i must read up all everyone to see how you are all doing. Ive also changed my user name from Firstbub to maybe1more.
I hope everyone has been well and loving motherhood. I cant belive our babies are going to be two soon :( time flies!!!!
Hello! :wave:
It has probably been months since I checked in with you all. Our family has been constantly sick and both DH and I have had some stress issues, stemming from work. Thankfully, we have both arranged new jobs with little or no travel.:yelclap:
Sammy's development amazes me. I bought him a play kitchen because he loves the one at creche so much. He makes us pretend meals and makes us eat them. Then we get 'tea' to drink afterwards. Very hospitable!
He also loves Dora the Explorer ('Door-wah') and Wiggles ('Wug-ees') as well as Sean the Sheep ('Baa'). We're right into books, especially 'Where is the Green Sheep' at the moment. Everything is asked for with 'Peez' on top, so we are fostering some lovely manners. Wonder how long that will last...
Sleep has not been so good. I have sought advice from other parents, Sam's carers and have given up and decided that he can wander in and sleep with us if he needs to. He has been in a big bed for a few months now and sleeps in a stretcher at creche. I was astonished with how well the worked out! Sam seems to need lots of lovin'. My mean approach was unsuccessful, the cuddle approach seems to work better. We're also right into duplo and wooden blocks and we have to make towers every night, then smash them down.
We're also very opinionated about our clothing. The other day I went to put his 'Thomas' jacket on and got told 'No. Wug-ees' meaning Wiggles. I then had to confront a massive tantrum when I replied that we did not own any Wiggles clothing.
Anyway, happy to hear that some are pregnant or trying and am sad to hear that other are having relationship issues. Parenting is the most rewarding decision I have made but also the most difficult job I have set for myself.
Now we both have new 'family friendly' jobs, I hope to make a comeback here...see you soon!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
24-07-2008, 11:22
Jeffy - too cute about the clothing!! they certianly are developing their own little personalities aren't they...
Well....DP has suggested me and DS go back home to QLD...and he wait it out for a transfer...he doesn't want me having a breakdown....as he and ke need me healthy and happy. he said he loves me and is doing it cos he loves me...i don't know if i could leave him over here tho, on his own, take DS away from him?! would be heartbreaking, and we'd only see him every 3 months. And there is no time frame on when a job will come up (i know there is a guy unhappy there at the moment but who knows when he will quit)....there would be a time limit of 18 months tho that we would stipulate to ourselves. BUT i just don't know, as much as i would give anything to go back....i can't bare the thought of him being here alone, where he knows no one and has no support. he says he has work, and then on his days off he will have computer games, skype for us to talk on...etc etc...but i just don't know. In a way i know he is right....DS and he need me healthy and happy but at the same time it is a heartbreaking decision...and i feel as tho i am failing to support him....but he says i'm not that i'm not being selfish if i go back...BUT BUT BUT it is a huge decision to make...i just don't know what to do? i thut give it another 2 months and reasess the situation.
argh....to do what is right for the family? but for it to be heartbreaking? i know WE would cope fine...we are strong, and love each other, so it isn't that...it is him being here alone....not waking up to keanu etc!! it scares the Cr@p out of me...:crying: i thank him for being such a wodnerful DP and for suggesting it....
:ecomcity: sorry!
Jackie - :hugs: You're in a relly tough situation, but it sounds like you are really evaluating your options and trying to do what's best for your family. I hope a job comes up in Qld soon.
Jen - Good to hear from you. That's great that you have a new job and it will take some stress away from your family. I swear dh's workload is what we argue about the most.
Well I fronted the Target toy sale today when Eloise was at Kinder and it was bedlam. I managed to get a few things...mainly for Eloise (who now well and truly has enough for her birthday and Christmas). I wanted 1 thing for Lara, the sesame street digital camera. After searching the store for 30 minutes and asking 3 different people where they would be (getting told 3 different places :banghead:) I had to give up because Elosie was due to be picked up. I might head back there tonight after Eloise's swimming lesson and see if they are around anywhere. I have no idea what else to get her or the baby. Any ideas?
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
24-07-2008, 19:26
:wave: wow sare you are game!! ha ha...we will go and get the car seat and elmo wooden guitar for keanu on saturday!!! wasn't game enough to tackle it today.
at this stage i have decided to stay here with DP....i don't want to go back without him :no: we we will get through it together and just hope QLD isn't far away....if it does get to a point tho, at least i know there are other options...and if it is better for us as a family maybe we will use them, but for now i am sticking here!! it will be hard and i know that...but this is my decision for the time being!
DS has been ok today, not as many tanties, i have put him down early as he is tired. and i am relaxing, will go and watch tv soon....i just need to chill a bit...i am maybe looking into going back to work 2 days a week. and putting keanu into care but at this stage it doesn't look viable unless i can work at a centre and get free childcare, which some centres do!! so will wait and see.
anyway had better run.
tootle-roo!
I'm on my way to bed, but thought I'd jump on here for a minute or 2 to see what's been happening.
I am absolutely exhausted today...Mum and I decided to head off to the Target toy sale last night, well this morning (our store opened at midnight). We got there at 1.00am to find no trolleys left, anywhere, and a layby line almost out the door :eek: I got my shopping done in an hour, and I got evrything on my list!! It was the layby that neally killed me!! We were waiting in line for 2 hours!! So, some ridiculous 4 figure amount later, we headed home. I got home at 4.00am, had to then feed Monet, and didn't crawl into bed until 5.00am this morning, not getting to sleep until about 5.30am. Up again at 7.30am to get the boys ready for the day, feed Monet, and I went back to bed for an hour or so. Buggered tonight though, so bed for me it is!!
Sare - I got J the cars rollercoaster for his birthday, and I'll just be getting him some clothes. For christmas, all I've got so far is a Wiggles DVD and a toy whipper snipper. Probably more clothes too. I didn't go overboard for Monet, and at this stage have only got her some crawling drums (fisher price)
Jackie - :hugs: I totally understand your situation, only going through it myself a short time ago. We decided that the children and I would stay close to our families whilst he went away and worked. I hope you can make the right decision for you all without too much heartache
Jeffy - Great to hear from you!
Bec - How's Ella feeling now? Hope all is ok
I can't even concentrate, so I'm outta here. I'll try and pop back in over the next few days. Hope everyone is taking it easy!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
24-07-2008, 19:30
3 months is a long time tho to go between visits??
how do you cope?
it is such a heartbreaking decision to think of leaving him here til the transfer comes up....so at this point i am saying no...who knows it may change...
Sarah - you are game going to Target at midnight! No way would I ever do that, I don't have much patience for queuing. I'm heading there today though, should be quiet and peaceful.
I have no idea what to get Abbey for her birthday/Christmas, she has too many toys as it is. She's getting the outdoor play gym, and a soft baby doll, maybe I'll get a sandpit as well. Just too hard to decide!
Jackie - I'm sure time will pass quickly and you'll both be back before you know it. You could always take a week holiday back to QLD to refresh yourself for the duration. Just keep taking occasional breaks until the transfer comes through.
Jen - lol at the clothing tanty. We don't own any wiggles clothing either. Abbey hasn't make any demands about her clothing except that she doesn't want to wear anything but 6 pairs of socks all on top of each other. And maybe a tutu.
Abbey has been sleeping really well in her big girl bed. She actually asks to go to sleep some days! I've decided I don't really like the days she naps now, she's so hard to get to sleep at night afterwards. So unless she is literally dragging on the ground I don't put her down. We go and have a snuggle and a rest for a bit instead. Most days she is up from 7am-7pm and doesn't get tired until 4pm, when I rouse her with games, giggles, dinner and bath before bed.
She also sleeps in her bed until early in the morning, and then comes into my room all by herself. Sometimes she gets confused about where I am and goes past the door into the living room, but I usually wake up by then and call her back. She can't do much harm out here anyway, would probably just go to sleep on the couch.
I had some other things to share but can't remember what they were. Oh well.
Michelle - I am glad the sleeping is working well! We are not putting Kayley in a bed until the new house as her room inthe rental is just too cramped.
Sare & Sarah - Well done on the sales. I went today and got a few things. I was hoping for that cheap blackboard/whitboard thing but they were sold out. I got some bath toys, a lot of painting and activity type of stuff. A Dora dress up doll a few other little things oh and a baby alive in a carrier thing. I thought that could be a good Christmas thing so she can have her baby when I have mine! Oh and I have already got a few things from Kmart and Toys R Us on Sale so we are all done I think. Except I want to get a cubby house in the new place!
Jackie - such a tough decision. I would think about it for a while. Would you get more support in Qld during the day when your DH is normally at work? My DH might be going to Sydney for a month of training which I think I will find hard enough so I don't have an answer for you. Hopefully you sort it all out.
Jeffy - congrats on the new jobs close to home. I would love to work from home I think if I could find something that worked for me!
Things are well here - I am already getting huge! Kayley has been good (most of the time) and bubs is kicking and rolling around heaps now. Scan in 3 weeks which is exciting.
Lovely weather here this week too (although they have done nothing on the house - grrr).
Take care everyone and have a great weekend.
hey guys, just a quick howdy before I go pick Ella up. Thank the Lord it's Friday, what a week, not all bad just tiring!
Ella is fine, back to having a blast at daycare. Bizarre. I'm glad she's better, bit worried that we never found out what it was though. I have a rotten cold, and am so tired.
I'm going to enlist DP to watch Ella tomorrow so I can go to the toy sale. I want to get her the outdoor swing/slide set for the new house! just layby it til then. I also want to get her that big set with the baby, rocker, pram etc, for the same reason you said, Beck! Can't decide to give it to her for Christmas or birthday though - if only I knew exactly when the real baby would be arriving! Also the craft stuff is a great idea, she will really miss that when she goes from f/t daycare to one day/wk. I'll have to check the catalogue again tonight.
:hugs: Jackie, hope you feel better now you've made a decision. It's such a tough one. I reckon we'd be ok as long as we were still together - but that's easy to say when your supports are in the same state I know, if not in the same town.
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
25-07-2008, 16:11
:wave: thankf for all the hugs...yeh for now i have made the decision to stay here with DP...the thing is i would get more support when DP is at work...MIL, family and friends...i would be socialising a lot more too...so in that respect yes it would be better...but we would be leaving a huge chunk of our life here...and that is :crying: breaks my heart. we will get through this together...and we will be ok...this isn't forever and that is what i have to remember.,
went to playgroup today and met some new mums so that was great...younger mums too so that was also nice. keanu had fun.
i am having trouble with DS tantrums tho..it seems constant all day....i put him in his bed usually for time out..but have to try something else...i have tried ignoring, but maybe i need to just walk away into another room and ignore it...?? any advice would be great!!
oh my it is pouring down and DP is at work.
i got a botte of wine today...riccaddonna ruby, i love it...haven't had it for ages, so thut i'd treat myself lol...so will have a glass or 2 tonight!!
be nice for the weekend, mum and dad are having DS on sunday so we can go to the movies, so that should be nice! going to see the dark knight!
anyway better run
xoxoxo
diesal444
26-07-2008, 08:56
Happy Birthday Sare
Hope you have a wonderful day!!
happybirthdayhappybirthdayhappybirthday
SalTheGal
26-07-2008, 09:00
Happy Birthday Sare.
:wizard: :wizard:
Have a wonderful day, and hope you get spoilt rotten.
We must catch up very soon!!!
Will be BBL for a proper catch up, home from syd thurs night, then stayed with bro and SIL last night so the cousins could play together.
Got to catch up quickly with Georgia in Syd- you are looking great Georgia!!
OK, have a nice day.
GeorgiaAnne
27-07-2008, 10:02
happybirthday Sare for yesterday, sorry I'm late! Hope you had a fabulous day at the footy and dinner. :goodvibes:
Lovely to see you too Sal, thanks for the tea and the lift! You're a trooper with all the travel you do :yes:
:party:happybirthday for yesterday Sare.
Sorry I'm a bit late, Mum and Dad are visiting us for the weekend so I haven't been online. Hope you had a great day! :flowerz:
hello loveys,
I have my first (!) antenatal clinic appt tomorrow, and I'm actually quite nervous. It's funny, but having no appointments with an OB or anything has made me very relaxed this pregnancy - but now one is imminent, of course I am mentally reviewing all the things that could be wrong:o
I'm excited though, as I'm meeting a doula tomorrow morning before my appointment, to chat & see if she's the right one for us.
Ella is fine, we've just had quite a full weekend actually. We had a party on Sat night, then went to my sister's place for my BIL to cook us curry at lunch Sunday. So her sleeps were all over the place! Good fun weekend though, also we bought her a $17 Dora pop up tent with a tunnel at Target, which was so worth doing as she loves it! Calls it her cubbyhouse, awwww.
Sare, hope you had a good birthday!
Sal - it's worth making the effort to let cousins see each other isn't it? Always gives me a warm fuzzy when Ella's playing with her cousins (and aunts, uncles and other rellies!), even though they're all older than her. We reckon it's good to know where you come from. IYKWIM.
Jackie - how was the movie? I love batman movies generally (sucker for a good superhero!) but this one looks a bit too dark for woosy me... what did you think?
BTW (for a laugh) our daycare has a pajama party for a fundraiser tomorrow, and the staff are dressing up too - one of the mums said to me this morning she's looking forward to seeing what one carer (young, male and a bit of a hottie) wears to bed!:laughing:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-07-2008, 12:54
bec - it was geat! a little dark, but nonetheless GREAT! see it!!....if u get firghtened lol...just don't look he he...nah i didn't find it scarey tho.
and have fun tomorrow and goodluck, very exciting :)
keanu just had a spewing/maybe something stuck in his throat episode - poor fella...he is all ok tho!!! was wondering what was going on tho lol.
things are ok here.....!!! i'm feeling a bit better in all honesty! :)
diesal444
28-07-2008, 15:12
HAPPY BIRTHDAY :party:KIMBA:party:
happybirthdayHope you have a terrific dayhappybirthday
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
28-07-2008, 17:05
Happy Birthday Sare and Kimba! happybirthday
SalTheGal
28-07-2008, 21:08
happybirthday:flowerz:happybirthday
Happy Birthday Kimba,
Hope you had a wonderful day with lots of kisses and cuddles from Jet!!!
So busy here, so little time to chat- I hope everyone is staying well, sorry for the lack of personals!!
All good on this front except getting :gloomy: from work etc. I have had a chat to my GP and my boss and I am getting a certificate to drop down to 4days a week until we get Nedds sleep sorted, I am so glad I have a heap of sick leave owing to me- so its good that I can use it for this.
And Nedd is getting worse rather than better (we are averaging between 6-12 times up every night at the moment, 99% of which fall to me) so I am just buggered, and work/mental health is really suffering. But I have another app with my Paed in a couple of weeks, and I will be demanding a referral to a sleep specialist to try and break this habit- as that is purely what it is by now.
I am also buying him a bed this week- was planning to wait till we were in the house, but I think enough is enough and maybe if he falls out of a bed a few times from rocking himself right off it he might realise it isn't so much fun anymore!! :p
OK, I am off to bed, hope everyone is well and all the little cherubs are behaving themselves!! :wave:
happybirthday Kimba. Sorry mine's late too. Hope you had a lovely day yesterday.
Not much happening here. Life's busy as usual.
Gotta go and get the girls organised, but I will try and hop on here either tonight or tomorrow.
maybe1more
29-07-2008, 14:04
Hi All:wave:
Has anyone given there bub`s the flu injection?? Just wondering as i got it for both my boys and a week later then got the flu really bad!!! Because its the first time they have had the injection they were supose to have another one a month later, but they are still still!!! Im starting to wonder if it was such a good idea:rolleyes:.
Just wonder to, if anyone has had any luck with maybe baby??? Im trying to chart my o but not having much luck with the ferning!!! Any ideas?
Hi All:wave:
Has anyone given there bub`s the flu injection?? Just wondering as i got it for both my boys and a week later then got the flu really bad!!! Because its the first time they have had the injection they were supose to have another one a month later, but they are still still!!! Im starting to wonder if it was such a good idea:rolleyes:.
Just wonder to, if anyone has had any luck with maybe baby??? Im trying to chart my o but not having much luck with the ferning!!! Any ideas?
I asked my GP about the flu injection just the otehr day, and he told me that it's not as effective to give it to children, and not to bother with it unless they have respiratory problems. So, I have decided that I won't bet getting them done.
happybirthday To Sare and Kimba!! Hope you both had a wonderful day. Bit late, I know, sorry :o
Not having such a great time with DH at the moment. I'm really looking forward to him going back to QLD next week, even if it does mean I'll turn into a mental case with the 4 children by myself. Anything's better than being around him at the moment :(
Gotta go and do yet more bl00dy washing/drying. It never ends here, I tell ya!
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
29-07-2008, 15:38
i got keanu the flu injection...he got a bad flu the following night, however in saying that ke got hyper reactive airways last year so trying to prevent that from happening...but then again athma runs on DP family... so :rolleyes: but yeh i think it is normal to get a flu after it....and also think trying to prevent it or even lessening (is that even a word) the symptoms is worth it...but each to their own...!! :)
SalTheGal
29-07-2008, 20:39
No flu injection here, but then I avoid anything that isn't totally necessary in the way of immunisations.
Hope everyone is well!!
SalTheGal
29-07-2008, 20:54
What'd I say?!? :o :confused:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
29-07-2008, 20:58
sorry sal :o im tired and didnt read it properly...took it as :laughing:
SalTheGal
29-07-2008, 21:08
No worries, I thought maybe i'd not read something right!!!! I know what you mean bout being tired, I for one am off to bed, on the road by 7.00am in the morning....grrr
"Don't bite your friends, bite bite bite, no no no"
Pre-school tv sure is educational! I'm sure she was planning on biting everyone until a puppet sang a song about it. :rolleyes:
We've been busy here doing nothing. Its very time consuming. All that painting and singing and playdoh and running suck up all the hours in the day and then its bedtime again.
Hope Sare and Kimba had excellent birthdays and got all the presents and spoiling they deserve!
Re flu injection - nup. I won't even consider it for myself so that's a definite no for Abbey. We'll just not get the flu and save the trouble.
Sarah - how long as DH been home? It must be weird.
I've been watching Big Love about polygamists and decided I could definitely do that - send hubby off for days at a time and get him back only when you miss him. I'm too anti-social to play happy families with sister-wives though, so there goes that plan.
maybe1more - I tried maybe baby with my last cycle and it works well. I found I wouldn't get a good result with morning saliva though, it had to be afternoon. The ferns are very pretty!
Sal - good choice cutting back the days, no good running yourself down if you can avoid it. Falling out of bed will probably work well for Nedd, a nice shock to the system and negative reinforcement of head banging. Abbey has only fallen out once, but it was more a case of falling off because we were playing silly duffas and she forgot there was an edge there. Good thing these kids are indestructible.
Oh, did I tell you my darling now calls Owen "daddy"? Manipulative minx. I was trying to put her down for a nap and she saw him and that was that. Called for Daddy to save her.
So we have a huge vocabulary of various words, a daddy, an ah-dad (grandad), a mum-bah (grandma), some cousins and aunts...and NO MUMMY! She may not feel the need to name me, but she should do it because I feel neglected.
The appt went really well, lovely middie and I'm healthy (aside from the BMI:o) and so is the baby, lovely heartbeat thundering along in there. But DP is in the doghouse, after coming home I did the washing up, got all the washing in and put a roast chicken dinner on - he came home when I was pulling the roast out of the oven, and gave me a bollocking because Ella had tipped the 1cm remainder of a cup of peppermint tea on the lounge! He later apologised but has yet to ask me how the appointment went :(
Poor Sal :hugs: sounds like you have a good GP. Maybe Nedd is trying to stop the rocking but doesnt' know how else to get to sleep?? Anyway, sleep specialist sounds like a good idea!
Michelle I can't believe there's a song that specific! I wonder if they have one for every permutation of toddler violence?
Sarah - OK I'll stop whinging about housework now. I'm sure washing for 5 is much more demanding (and it's not great drying weather either)
Bye!
Eloise is still busy eating breakfast and Lara is happily playing, so I have the chance to hop on here.
Bec - Glad to hear that your appointment went well. :shame: to your dp. I swear my dh needs a kick up the bum too. How did you go meeting the doula?
Michelle - What show was that on? I should get Lara to watch it :laughing: Her biting seems to have stopped, for the time being anyway.
Sal - I hope you get Nedd's sleep sorted soon. It's no fun being a tired mumma. It would make ttc less fun too...who can be bothered when they're tired...certainly not me! :p
Sarah - :hugs: Last thing you need is a PITA dh when you've got 4 young kids.
Maybe1more - I'm with Michelle here, never contemplated the flu injection myself, so I wouldn't make my girls have it either. They've never had the flu, just headcolds.
In fact, I can't remember the last time I've had the flu.
All's pretty much the same here...back to girls with green snotty noses again...ACE!!! If this one doesn't clear up soon, I think I'll take them to the drs. Lara's breath stunk yesterday, so it could be something more. She seems ok though.
Thanks for the birthday wishes. I didn't really do much. My back has been really playing up unless I have good back support, so I decided to give the footy a miss (thank goodness, it was a shocking game from what I heard). Plus Eloise fell on my hair straightner on Sat morning and burnt the top of her leg (despite me sitting next to the hair straightner, and having warned her to stay away, she was mucking around and walking backwards and tripped...luckily it had been turned off for a few minutes, so it wasn't as hot as it could have been) After having some burn cream applied and being dressed for the last 4 days it is already healing, thank goodness. I did get a new food mixer for my birthday from dh and the girls, so Eloise and I had a lovely day baking.
I've booked in for a 4D ultrasound, through one of those places that do them purely to see the baby (don't need a referral from your OB). I wanted to get one for Lara, but decided not to at the last minute. As this will be our last baby, and we really don't have many things to buy for it, I decided that I would really like to get it done this time. So in 5.5 weeks time I should get a really good look at the baby. Can't wait.
Nothing much else...kinder duty today :rolleyes: Would much prefer not to have to, but Eloise loves me going. I'm going to give next term a miss though. Dh can do it while he is on paternity leave. :laughing:
Hope everyone is well...
SalTheGal
30-07-2008, 19:35
"Don't bite your friends, bite bite bite, no no no"
Pre-school tv sure is educational! I'm sure she was planning on biting everyone until a puppet sang a song about it.
Was that on yesterday on Yo Gabba Gabba? We saw it here too and I must say I had a bit of a roll eyes moment!
Mind you Nedd loves that show for some reason....I have just reconcliled myself to not minding The Night Garden and now I have to put up with a dude with an orange afro. :rolleyes: But I must say it allows me ten mins to race around putting things in the car, getting shoes on, etc while Nedd is glued to the TV.
Got my period today :crying: Not that it was unexpected. Oh and Sare- I so hear you on the TTC and being tired....this month we are really putting some effort into it and I am dreading it, considering I am usually in bed fast asleep by 9.30pm, and DH lobs in about 11pm...trust me one one count- its not going to be very romantice!!! :laughing:
Sare- poor Eloise, hope her burn clears up soon; those straighteners are NASTY!! They scare me so much. And that is very exciting bout the 4d scan!
Bec- My DH is in the doghouse tonight to, by god they are selfish aren't they??? We stopped by a pharmacy tonight so I could get some betadine for Nedd, I was not even 10 mins due to asking the advice of the pharmacist- and I got into trouble when I got back to the car for 'taking too long'....better that than get the wrong thing for Nedd :mad: MEN!!!
Well I am off to finish watching So You Think You Can Dance....night all! :wave:
**Oh and Yay- I was only up twice to Nedd last night, please please let tonight be a repeat! :fingerscrossed:
MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
30-07-2008, 21:02
sal, men :rolleyes: and i hear ya with the TTC...we have been a little slack of late. i am certain this month wont be 'our' month....been slack and had my folks here, darn it :laughing:
i am eating chocolate and relaxing, we just went for dinner at the tav. ke and dp are in bed asleep!
maybe1more
30-07-2008, 23:07
[quote=SalTheGal;2898469]Was that on yesterday on Yo Gabba Gabba? We saw it here too and I must say I had a bit of a roll eyes moment!
Mind you Nedd loves that show for some reason....I have just reconcliled myself to not minding The Night Garden and now I have to put up with a dude with an orange afro. :rolleyes:
Im not keen on Yo Gabba Gabba either, its definatley out there. Thumbs up to THe Night Garden, (from the creators of Telletubbies) when its on it when i squeese in my shower while my boys are entertained!!!
I haven't had a chance to get on for a while but ee trying to keep up on the posts.
Kayley has had a flu injection. The doc recommended it as she always had a cold. She has hardly been sick since so I have been quite
happy with the results since then.
Kimba & Sare – belated happy bdays to you both.
We had a really bad weekend last weekend. Our beautiful dog died suddenly. We think probably a heart attack. He had been fine 5 minutes before hand so it was very sudden. I was just going to bed when I heard him howling and I thought he was hurt (got himself caught up in something) so I ran outside and by the time I got there he was basically dead. We have been pretty sad about it especially as he was still young (would have been 5 next week).
Apart from that everything is OK here. Well I have to run as the house is a pigsty!
Beck - So sorry to hear about your dog. :hugs:
Anyone want two girls for a while? Mine are driving me crazy. Oh and dh is p1ssing me off too...why can't life just be easy for once?
Hello lovelies,
I have heaps to do at work so my urge to procrastinate is very high :yes:
I have booked in for my 20wk u/s next Monday, hooray! Hope the baby is feeling "revealing" for us.
DP must have realised yesterday he'd been a bit of an **** lately, because he was carefully nice, "how was your day today", "what did they say at the appointment" etc, and we stepped around some of the things we had been fighting about. So we're back to normal and all's well. Phew. Hormones and emotional upset are very exhausting (not to mention walking 5km up & down hills in a freezing wind counting planted trees...oh I love my job!)
Beck, sorry to hear about your dog dying. So sad :hugs:
Jenny - you need "that show" don't you, the one that guarantees you can cook dinner/have a shower/sit down for 20 mins!
Sal, I have a mental picture of you punching DP on the arm, saying "come on man, put some effort into it" in a hearty male war movie voice :laughing: Hope Nedd did indeed set an improved sleep pattern for you, so you can get to providing a sibling to deprive you of even more sleep :D
Sare - the doula was lovely, and since she's a trainee she's not going to charge us anything. DP is all for it now, and even says we'll insist on paying her travel! I'm feeling quite excited about my pregnancy now, which is a nice change from just feeling tired/drained/sick. Bought some nice new crystals and am going to treat myself to a massage at least monthly - I figure it's still coming out LOTS cheaper than having an OB! Hope the girls aren't driving you too mad today. I am sick of snot too (mine and Ella's) Still makes me retch wiping her nose sometimes.
Sigh. Better get back to it.
GeorgiaAnne
01-08-2008, 15:07
Anyone want two girls for a while? Mine are driving me crazy. Oh and dh is p1ssing me off too...why can't life just be easy for once?
lol Sare, I TOTALLY hear ya! :yes:
Beck - I'm so sorry about your dog hun, that must've been heartbreaking :hugs:
Bec - Wow, 20 weeks already!!! Can't wait to find out what you're having - what do you think?
All is well here, feeling humungous and sleep is hard to come by, as is a grac eful way to get out of bed REMEMBER THAT GIRLS???!!! But getting excited. I've worked it down to 2 names which are Jeremy and Felix, not sure how dh feels about them though :p
SalTheGal
02-08-2008, 13:59
I bought Nedd a My Little Pony this morning...he loves it!! I did buy him a blue one- its the princess party cake one, she has a party hat and smells like bubblegum. :p And I laybuy'd a dolls pram for christmas for him. :eek: What am I going to turn him into!!!!!
Just waiting for him to wake up (has been asleep for over 2hrs) then we are off to the footy to watch DH, then friends house for fish and chips. Nice and cruisy arvo!!
Caught up with two mums of girls from Nedd's daycare yesterday- it was lovely, our daycarer suggested we meet up, and she was right, we hit it off- it is so nice to meet random people that you just click with. :goodvibes:
Georgia- you may be feeling huge, but you are so not! I thought you were looking fantastic!
Bec- Goodluck with the U/S can't wait to hear if you have any 'boy' news! Oh and you so made me crack up laughing out loud with your visualisation- might just give it a go, you never know what might just help us out!!!:laughing: Glad you DF is behaving himself....till next time huh!
Beck- so so sorry to hear bout your dog. :hugs:They really are a part of the family aren't they...my mutt is 10 this year and really getting old, I am dreading losing him.
Hmm, thats Nedd waking, best go, have a good weekend everyone! :flowerz:
Somebody has stolen my wussy child and replaced her with an adventurous one. She climbs everything now. Climbs up onto chairs to use the laptop or steal stuff, climbs in and out of the car to go for drives while I unload the shopping, and climbs on playground equipment now! She even went down the slippery dip without me.
My baby...where is my baby?!
Still refuses to go on swings though. Which is weird when I recall how much she loved her swing as a little baby and how I could leave her there to sleep for ages while being flung back and forth. Maybe it traumatised her!
I guess when summer rolls around we will go to the pool and see if she is ready to try swimming lessons yet. A swimming lesson without screaming, imagine that.
We went to currumbin (bird & wildlife sanctuary) yesterday. She could care less about the birds and crocodiles and koalas since she either couldn't see them or they didn't move, but she enjoyed patting kangaroos and emus. Was quite facinated by the echidna too. We're going to Underwater World later this month to see the fishies and turtles, she's so spoiled.
Beck - sorry to hear about your dog, hope you gave him a nice send off.
I actually prefer Yo Gabba Gabba to the Night Garden. At least YGG makes sense and I could remember the characters' names if I wanted to. Night Garden confuses me and I can't tell my ninkynonks from my puddlywonks.
Sal - I always think its hilarious when men complain about their demanding wives during baby making. Surely its their dream come true - walk in, do the job as fast as they like, walk out and back to their true love (the x-box). Romance can wait!
PMSL about the pram and pony. Abbey doesn't even have such girly things!
She finally learned my name. First I was 'muppy', then 'munny', then mum. Still working on Mummy, and she only says mum when I ask her my name. TBH I didn't mind being 'muppy'.
Bec - glad your dh realised he needed to suck up more and good luck for the u/s on Monday. Hope s/he is being an exhibitionist and gives you a good perve!
OKay, well its taken me all day to type this in spurts and abbey just threw her dinner on the floor while waving it in the sky asking for more even though it was already full, so I'm off.
SalTheGal
04-08-2008, 21:22
Just in case anyone else thought it was quiet in here:
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=195271