View Full Version : cloth nappies and a newborn, change table?
preciousbabyboy
01-07-2008, 17:24
Do you have a change table?
How long did/will you use it for?
Is is useful or just another piece of unessary baby furniture in your opinion?
What change table would you reccomend?
All info appreciated, thanks :D
never had one for Jack ...
got one second hand for Alex
we use it for storage :laughing:
we ALWAYS change him in the lounge .. on a change mat (we just bought the mat itself from Big W when Jack was born!) ..
SassyMummy
01-07-2008, 17:45
It hurt my back leaning over to change her... and so LOVED my change table. I didn't have to bend over, and used it heaps.
We moved all our nappies out to the lounge room (perhaps because I love surveying my stash :detective:) and do all the changing in the lounge on the mat that came with the change table (the foam top thing) which now lives under our couch.
Now that DD is getting wiggly I wouldn't dream of having her up high. I can barely keep a hand on her as is!
This said, we have a very open plan house so the laundry is in the open area too and we bath her out here so it makes sense to get her dressed out here too. She's not a fan of being changed (that started at about four months) so the distraction of the goings on of the house are great for when I have to get clothes on her!
Also, I should add that she sleeps with me so she's never once spent a night in her room. If she was using her room then this all might have been a different story...
Hmm... HTH.
i couldnt have lived without mine... i used it for DS1 up until march this year (hes now 2y8m)
and i use it for DS2 nearly every change (all except nights)
Chunkydunks
01-07-2008, 18:19
DH has a broken back so couldn't lean over to change DS. In that scense it was great but I rarely used it. I did have a trolley set up next to it with all the change stuff so it was all at hand. We just had the old folding one. It was my sisters and she bought it second hand.
punkbaby
01-07-2008, 18:20
i have one, never changed a nappy on it though LOL its basically a storage unit for my mcns and the top is a place to sit clothing when i am putting her clothes away LOL
cherrybaby
01-07-2008, 18:31
Gosh I couldn't live without mine!!! Heaps of room for storing nappies and bits, though because of the crazy amount of nappies than need to be stored there I also have baskets that slide in under the change table to keep them all in! :D I have barely changed DS anywhere else since he was born, though he has been in his room with it since day one so it was always there. We have another one the same (thanks SIL!) for the new baby ready to go in her room.
I can imagine we will use it with Oli till he is out of nappies- I know that my niece was changed on her changetable until she TT'ed at 2 1/2.
01-07-2008, 18:34
2.5 years and a second baby and we still use it ALL the time - we couldn't have lived without it.
A Party of Five
01-07-2008, 18:46
Have for previous babies but found it unessary :yes:
kezzaskids
01-07-2008, 18:56
I loved my change table. I didnt use one for my irst three kids and with #4 I got one with a bath in it and have used it every day since. Ds is now 3yo and although he is long out of nappies it is still in the bathroom stroing towels etc and is ready for bub 5.
Kazamataz
01-07-2008, 22:03
I had a change table till we moved to WA.
Now I have a change mat on top of a desk and I hate it.
I want my change table back but right now we have no where to put it.
I think it's a totally must, it keeps all you nappy stuff in the one place and if you've got a wriggler like me, it somewhat keeps him from running off.
Thermolicious
01-07-2008, 22:32
Do you have a change table? Yep
How long did/will you use it for? Until DS is toilet trained
Is is useful or just another piece of unessary baby furniture in your opinion? Very useful, my mum has just had her 3rd spinal fusion...I dont want to go down that path and after 7 years at day care I was used to using them
What change table would you reccomend? sturdy wooden one with storage...I am thinking about putting one of those shelving units that go over your toilet on mine with #2 on the way??
aardvark
01-07-2008, 23:01
I would not be without a change table for a bub.
I've used it for all three babies from birth until toilet trained. I even bought a cheap one for my parents' holiday house.
I have a bad back from time to time, so does DH. It really helps, I find.
preciousbabyboy
02-07-2008, 08:53
I am sooooo torn.
Reasons i want one:
Storage
they look pretty/tidy :o (shallow i know)
Reasons not to have one:
takes up more room in our already small house.
As I would want a timber one, im not sure about re selling it as this is our last bub. Dont want to loose too much money on it.
DP thinks we dont need it:no:
DALLASMUM
02-07-2008, 09:05
yes i have one and couldnt live without it... but i would never have brought one... it was given to me- with DD i used to change her on the bed( but i used disposables with her to, so had much less to store)
onemummmy
02-07-2008, 09:20
have one love it. Its a 3 tier wooden one, so changetop and 2 shelves, I can fit so much stuff on it lol. I too have back issues so its easier on my back then leaning over to the bed or floor etc. Mine is a Kingparrot, made by Boori, they have pretty good resale value on ebay etc, they are a really good quality brand. Mine was $199 RRP but I got 15% off on sale.]
ETA I did have a childcare cheapy but it was nowhere near as sturdy so I got the Kingparrot.
preciousbabyboy
02-07-2008, 09:38
lol you guys arnt helping, I was hoping i would hear most people diddnt bother with them!:laughing:
onemummy, i too had the plastic childcare one for DS#1. I diddnt like it much either.
onemummmy
02-07-2008, 09:45
I think its gonna be a 50/50 thing LOL
lmao oops u already did a poll :laughing: DUH
MrsScatterbrain
02-07-2008, 10:04
I'm not sure if anyone has said this already - but you could buy a second hand one? That would cut down on the cost issue? :laughing:
You could get one with drawers, and it can double as the storage spot for all bub's clothes (therefore you can justify the space!)
Hang on ... aren't I sposed to be talking you out of it!! :laughing:
onemummmy
02-07-2008, 10:04
dont get one they are poo :p
preciousbabyboy
02-07-2008, 10:13
I'm not sure if anyone has said this already - but you could buy a second hand one? That would cut down on the cost issue? :laughing:
You could get one with drawers, and it can double as the storage spot for all bub's clothes (therefore you can justify the space!)
Hang on ... aren't I sposed to be talking you out of it!! :laughing:
lol thanks :hugs: I have been looking on ebay and cos we are in tassie. there are none, and of course the cheaper ones are all pickup only. There are not many places that sell second hand baby stuff don here either!
I saw some with draws, but most of them face the wrong way iykwim as i would want the draws to be against the wall and next to the cot (therefor it would make it hard to access) :thumbsdown:
onemummmy
02-07-2008, 10:15
target has up to 40% off nursery starting thursday ;)
RaryGirl
02-07-2008, 10:16
I love mine .... couldn't live without it!
We still use it for DS and of course it will be used for the new addition to arrive in coming weeks. DS will lay still on the change table, rather than wiggle, fight, try to get away on the floor.
And the other reason we love it .... don't end up with back pain from bending over - all at the right height.
ETA: We got a Target one in the sales before DS was born - best money we spent.
preciousbabyboy
02-07-2008, 10:22
target has up to 40% off nursery starting thursday ;)
Hugely useful for us. We got one of those open ones with two shelves and wheels (from Babyco) and store all her nappies, creams, wipes and associated stuff underneath in arms reach.
BUT Mum & Dad bought it as a gift, and a friend of mine uses a chest of drawers with one of those change table foam things on top, and it works just the same. Plus it's easy to get those (drawers) at 2nd hand shops & garage sales!
Hope this helps :)
Kazamataz
02-07-2008, 14:06
I had a thought to save you money.
Are you or Hubby handy?
You could easily make one from MDF, which is cheap as chips.
I'm sure they've made on on better homes and gardens before. So they would have a pattern.
Let me go see....
02-07-2008, 14:12
SIL gave us hers for dd3, never had one for the others and tbh, wouldn't bother buying one either, it now sits in the corner unused.
We wouldn't be without one.
My Step dad made ours, it's just the right height for me, with 2 shelves. I store the clean nappies underneath it.
We've found we have far less tantrums when it comes to change time when I use the change table. The kids have always known it's time to be changed and they are quite happy about it. Plus it's much easier on your back imo to have it the right height, rather than the floor.
However if you happen to have a bub that likes to roll themselves about you can't fall off the floor iykwim. So I suppose if I had had a super wriggly bub I would rethink the change table, but we haven't and have used it with all 4 of ours.
For me it's an absolute must item. So much better for your back. I couldn't have managed without one for the first weeks anyway because of my c section. Mum and dad bought it for us as a present.
Ours has a belt for a wriggly bub so you can strap them in, but we never had to use it. It was a bath and change table in one but we only used the bath for the first week and then took the bath out and used it in the big bath. I really don't recommend getting one with the bath, unnecessary.
It has storage underneath with two shelves and a 4 part compartment which hangs off the side of the change table(to access creams etc).It was from babyco.
Lollie86
03-07-2008, 00:04
We used one at first mainly bc I had a C/S and found it more comfortable. Ours also had a bath under the lid so that was handy in the early months, however the change table has now been unused since DD was about 6 mths old. We just change her wherever we can.
The nappies would normally go under in the shelves but I have started to dismantle it bc I found I just piled on too many clothes on top that never got put away. :o
lunawolfspirit
03-07-2008, 05:15
i think if you have a back and/ or neck injury a change table is a must. if you or ur partner necks and backs are both fine you can probably get away with not having one and use the couch, bed,floor ect.
i have a wooden change table and im planing on using it as a kitchen caddy after im finished using it as a change table, lol im going to store the boxes of cans of drink on it or other items like that hehe, it matches the stuff i have in the kitchen so it should work out ok, im a strange one i know....
if i didn't have my injury i wouldn't of worried about getting one.
ladybugblue84
06-07-2008, 22:24
I love my change table. We don't have a lot of room but I have it next to all of my baby stuff in the lounge room so everything is there, her bath, her clothes and all her creams and nappies (I call it my baby station). I was a bit lazy in the beginning and tried to change her on the bed a few times only to have her pee or poo on my -brand new- bed pretty much every time (she was on a change mat but it just rolls off - the disposable huggies ones absorb the pee tho). I now make the trip to the loungeroom to change her even in the middle of the night (not that far). If she pees on the table (an occassional occurance) I just change her clothes and wipe it down (no need to change sheets). It's the perfect height so no back strain. I got a white wooden one from Kmart on special for $80. Its very good quality and sturdy and has a shelf below for storage and wheels so its easily moved. I got the mat for $30 from Kmart but I think you can get them cheaper at Big W. Keep your eye out for sales 'cause I think I got a great bargain (cheaper than I found on ebay for 2nd hand ones of the same type/quality). I would def recommend one!!! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
mummysangels
06-07-2008, 22:37
Didnt have change table for my first child as we use an old unused table to bath and change her on.
I had a second hand white wooden one for my second child and used it most of the time, I then sold it in garage sale (thinking I couldnt fall preg again :rolleyes:).
Now for DD3 I wasnt planning on getting one but I did and use it all the time as I found it hard on my back when changing her on floor or bed.
I couldnt go without it and will use it for a long as she is in nappies :yes:.
My change table is a wooden change table, I brought it on sale at Kmart for $112 :thumbsup: and the change mat was $29.95.
MacAidan
06-07-2008, 22:48
Have used the same change table for all three children, and have I wouldn't be without it. We have a Boori one, it matches the rest of the nursery furniture. It's on wheels so when they are newborn, i wheel it into the bathroom so everything is there and ready for me to change them straight after their bath.
squiglet
07-07-2008, 11:11
I have a set of draws that has the change mat on top.
I could not get though a day without it.:)