View Full Version : July chat for Oct 08 babies - Eek! 3rd trimester here we come!!
*Chels*
16-07-2008, 06:27 PM
LYP-What a fricken hassle!!!God I hate being stuffed around like that!You poor thing!
Dont worry-you didnt freak me out about the shot.Back home in NZ,you get it after birth,at that point I didnt care anymore,I was so used to pain and prodding LOL.I think I can handle it:p
Naebie-OMG girl!Take it easy!!!You better get the computer,TV,DVDS and a heap of books moved into your bedroom!!!!We dont want bubs making an early appearance!!
I talked to Mum today.She is coming over at the end of October-for like a day:rolleyes:I spose its better than nothing,but I cant help feeling a bit ripped off.One day is hardly time to catch up,seeing as we(me,bro,sis,Riley)havent all seen each other since last May!!!!
BazzasMum
16-07-2008, 06:47 PM
No Renee- that bub has to stay put!!! Make sure DP is waiting on you hand and foot. you're only allowed up to pee!!!:hugs:
Chels - why is your mums trip so short?? Hardly worth it, unless she's planning to surprise you??
LYP - at least your DD slept. I would have been ropeable having to wait that long with a cranky bub!! I hope she's good for you tomorrow...
PrincessT
16-07-2008, 07:02 PM
Oh Renee - take it easy babe. Are you sure that you dont want a second opinion about the antibiotics etc? It sounds like you got 2 different opinions and I would double check it. Let us know if we can do anything for you.
I'm so tired - going to lie on the couch now... I'm going to ban myself off ebay, well, after I win something I dont need but can do with.
loulousmum
16-07-2008, 07:58 PM
Naebie - Princess T said exactly what I was going to say. Are you going to get a second opinion? Strict bedrest at home sounds like they are pretty serious - so why the backflip on the antibiotics and steriods - particularly if they aren't dangerous, wouldn't you want them as a precaution? Sorry - but I've been thinking all this stuff through in preparation for the possibility of pre-term labour with the twins.....
My parents and my in-laws have now left. The MIL wasn't too painful, but did have a go at me for putting Archie to bed at his bedtime and called him a 'poor little thing', I commented to her that there is nothing I'd like better than to be going to bed for 12 hours at 7pm, so if that makes him a poor little thing, I'd like to be one too. Mum followed me into his room and told me to be nice to her because she can't help herself. It is a hassle to have a conscience in the room with me when I'd just like to have a battle of the wits with the woman!!!! Lou had a lovely evening and now the festival of her birthday has ended!
I have nothing at all on tomorrow - thank god. Will drop the kids at childcare at 9am and come home and put my feet up until 3pm...my ankles have been swelling all afternoon - hopefully not a sign of things to come...
Off now to watch Gruen Transfer and Hollowmen. Goodnight fellow mummies!
Lyneve
17-07-2008, 08:31 AM
Hello :wave:
I'm a bit slow on the uptake... looks like you are all pretty familiar with each other here! I added my name to the due in Oct list some time ago, but haven't said 'Hi' yet.. so ..'Hi' :)
I'm going to be a first time single mum to a boy due 28th Oct. Bub was concieved at the tale-end of a long term on/off relationship, and unfortunately (perhaps fortunately!) was enough to encourage the father to hit the road for good. I plan on loving my bub enough for two. Any other single mums to be here?
All is going well with my pregnancy so far, except bubs kidneys were a little larger than they should have been at the 20 wk scan. Was told not to worry, and they will be checked again at a later scan. Fingers crossed!
I'm limited in my use of the internet as I don't have it at home, but will try and contribute at work when no one is looking... hehe. Looking forward to getting to know you all & best of luck with your pregnancies!
Littleyorkshirepudding
17-07-2008, 08:50 AM
Morning All,
and welcome Lyneve and congratulations on your pregnancy and a little boy too :D - you'll find we are very friendly and supportive here. It'll be nice to get to know you. Hope to see lots of you on here despite having to sneak on at work :laughing:
Well hopefully it will be 2nd time lucky for me today and I will have this glucose test and once done I'm going to hit the Target Toy Sale as I've spotted a few birthday and Christmas pressies for Ruby.
Well must go and get ready
have a lovely day all
LYP x :wave:
loulousmum
17-07-2008, 09:52 AM
Welcome Lyneve - I admire your attitude and just know that you will give your little boy all the love in the world. Motherhood will be the best thing you've ever done!
LYP - good luck with the test - I thought the Target sale wasn't on for another week?? Maybe I should get down there myself...but I am meant to be resting!
Quiet in here today...
*Chels*
17-07-2008, 10:42 AM
Morning!
Welcome Lyneve!!Sounds like you have alot of love to give and you will make an awesome Mummy!!!:yelclap:
Had a middie appointment-all is well,just had a blood test and Anti-D so a bit ouchie.Dont see her again till I am 34 weeks:eek:
Oh,also am gonna go to a breastfeeding class-just to refresh!
Kirsty- Mum is coming with my stepdad,staying in Brissie with a friend.She coming over for a caravan expo.If you remember my last vent about Mum-stepdad controls her.Shes yapping on about cost and taking time off work etc,which I understand,its not cheap.The thing that annoys me is she will have a 2 week holiday at xmas.She should have come over here ALONE for at least a week,then had a shorter break at xmas:rolleyes:
FAMILY AYE??
Twiglet
17-07-2008, 11:04 AM
Naebie - Wow there is a big difference in bed rest and hospital stay. I think LouLousmum is right get a second opinion. Either way look after yourself.
Lyneve - Welcome to the group
LYP - Good luck with your test today. Just as well they're not measuring your stress levels. After the Target Toy sale might be through the roof. I went to the Kmart one and did all my birthday and christmass shopping last week. I needed to relax for an hour afterwards. LOL
YacinesMommy
17-07-2008, 11:36 AM
Hi everyone, Have been MIA for a while now as I still dont have the internet working at home since we moved. Thanks to Bazzasmum for starting this new thread.
Everything here has been going great. I cant believe that I am going to have this baby in about 10 weeks!!!!!
At home things are a little stressfull since the move. Yacine had the Baby Measles right after her 1st Birthday. She is all better now, but we had to postpone her Birthday party which is now this week end so i am trying to organise everything for that!
Is anyone else who is haveing #2 starting to stress with how they are going to cope. Yacine will be 14 1/2-15mths when this new bub makes her appearance and she has recently been getting VERY clingy. so unlike her. I am wondering how she is going to cope when i have to put most of my attention to the bub and not have much time for her anymore.
Sorry for no personals but there are way too many pages to get through.
Well i gott go, am at work on lunch at the moment. Cant wait till i go on Mat leave.
Only 5 weeks to go!!!
Belly rubs to all
Tina
loulousmum
17-07-2008, 12:09 PM
Yacine's Mum - welcome back! Louella was 14 and a half months when Archie was born and in the lead up I can't count the number of times I said "Oh, she's suddenly clingy" or "How will I breastfeed with Lou running around the house?" etc. When it all happened she just went with the flow and was totally unfazed by it all! She loved being a little helper and I think she grew up a lot in the first couple of weeks that we were home. She even coped really well when Archie and I went back into hospital at 3 weeks.
So - I totally understand where you are coming from and I think the concerns are very real - but at the same time, I'm sure it will be just fine. After a couple of months it'll be like there was always two kids in the house!!:yes:
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 01:33 PM
Howdy Strangers!
I feel so weird not writing in here as often as i use to! Well had my 2 hr glucose test today dont know when the results will come back... :confused: dont have another appointment till the 9th Aug.
Welcome to all the new mums due in October and congrats!!
happybirthday To loulou! wow those cakes look amazing i have a cake book that has that exact butterfly in it! You should be so proud you did an amazing job :yelclap:
Naebie - Take it easy we dont want bub to come early either, just keep baking away!!!!
LYP - that sucks i would have been fuming!! especially when they knew what you were there for!!!
Hello to everyone else and huge :hugs:'s sorry havent got much time so cant do personals for everyone... until i get home hehe!!
Well im trying to organise Ethans birthday (yes i know another kiddies bday) his is in 13 days cant believe how quick it has gone! Anyway im going to hold it at the playshack... here is a link to explain it a bit: http://www.ruralbusinessguide.com.au/playshack/pages/home_rightside.html
he went there for a bday party a few months ago and LOVED it!!! soooooo thats what he is getting this year... and its a bonus for me cos i dont have to clean up or cook (except the cake but thats the fun job) :D just have to find a cake design for him... hmmmmm :detective:
Anyway better get back to work
Take care everyone
Mel xoxox
Littleyorkshirepudding
17-07-2008, 02:48 PM
I certainly do have pregnancy brain you're right Loulousmum the Target toy sale doesn't start till next Thursday I have no idea what I was thinking about, but at least I've finally had my glucose test, bloods done and check up - won't get the results for 2 days re blodds and glucose test but all was fine at my check up phew!!!!
Tina - nice to hear from you - Poor Yacine how dreadful for her to get measles the poor thing glad to hear she is all better though and can now have her party . I totally understand where you are coming from wondering whether you will manage as I'm thinking the same thing but my age difference will be a little bigger 22 months and Ruby is now very good at understanding instructions and her speech is coming on everyday so at least we'll be able to communicate with her, but like you I am dreading it, but for now I'm trying not to think about it and hope I can deal with it when it happens. We don't have any family at all out in Australia (we're both from the UK) so managing with 2 is constantly on my mind even though I try not to think about it if you see what I mean. I'm even starting to panic about where Ruby will go when I go into labour and if Hubby has to stay with her I'll be all on my own - but I'm sure we'll work this one out nearer the time
Sam - thanks for your words of encouragement to Tina - as her post hit a thread with me it was nice to read your experience and has put my mind at rest for the time being. How's your day of resting been?
Chels - so where did they jab you? and were you alright? Good to hear all is well. I know what you mean about family, they are a strange bunch - my mum & stepdad still haven't made a decision as too when they are coming out mum can't decide between Nov 08 or April 09 - Nov 08 was the original plan as she wanted to be here for Ruby's 2nd Birthday but then when she found out I was expecting again she thought maybe April so she can enjoy the new baby too when she is more interactive rather than just a baby baby as they don't know when they'll be back after this trip and we don't know when we'll get back to the UK. Hubby's parents are coming out in Jan 09 for 8 weeks so they are sorted.
Naebie - please take care of yourself and I'd probably get a second opinion too, you don't want bubba making an early entrance, but I'm sorry to say the image of you confined to bed rest but with your computer by your side bubhubbing it did bring a smile to my face - you poor thing take it easy girl.
Hello mum2ethan - the place you have picked for Ethan's birthday looks great how old will he be this birthday? and yes I was fuming but then I figured what good was it going to do me by being angry when they clearly weren't bothered except to ensure my appointment today was wih a shared care Dr, but it was good to get it off my chest yesterday here.
Did anyone watch the Jamie Oliver program last night - it scared the wits out of me and the biscuit I was just about to eat, but then decided I had to eat it to ensure there were no more in the house to be tempted on, so after my appointment today and realising Target didn't have a toy sale on I hit the grocery shops and have stocked up on fresh fruit, veggies etc so every time I fancy a chocolate biscuit I'm going to try hard and have a piece of fruit and some yoghurt etc and on that note I'm off to make a cuppa and have some fruit honestly :D
Hope you're all having a lovely day, talk soon
LYP x (aka Karen) :wave:
Electric Mumi
17-07-2008, 03:09 PM
naebie: HOLY HECK GIRLFRIEND!!! SO much for the stitch makeing you feel all safe and secure huh. Geez they dont like the cervix to be under 3cm...no wonder they are making u take it easy etc. Thank god for the steriod injections...thats what saved my little man at 25 weeks!! Its magic stuff in case ur little gift does decide to arrive early. If you walk around do it slowly...within the home I mean, no brisk walks up hills and down dales sorry! haha
Thinking of you and at least you can have the net in ur room..or u can chill on the lounge with loads of DVDs for the coming weeks ahead. Keep us posted honey, hope u are keeping ur chin up about it all. I know it must be hard, but each day that lil bub gets stronger and the doctors and hospital staff are amazing if their are early deliveries so have faith that things will be all gud. :hugs:
Hello :wave:
I'm a bit slow on the uptake... looks like you are all pretty familiar with each other here! I added my name to the due in Oct list some time ago, but haven't said 'Hi' yet.. so ..'Hi' :)
I'm going to be a first time single mum to a boy due 28th Oct. Bub was concieved at the tale-end of a long term on/off relationship, and unfortunately (perhaps fortunately!) was enough to encourage the father to hit the road for good. I plan on loving my bub enough for two. Any other single mums to be here?
All is going well with my pregnancy so far, except bubs kidneys were a little larger than they should have been at the 20 wk scan. Was told not to worry, and they will be checked again at a later scan. Fingers crossed!
I'm limited in my use of the internet as I don't have it at home, but will try and contribute at work when no one is looking... hehe. Looking forward to getting to know you all & best of luck with your pregnancies!
Hey girl!! I too am a single mummy..
altho the FOB and I are back together now (after a 3 yr split) but we are not living together and only see each other a few times a week. We have a 4 yr old son together and are having a bub in the next few months.
This bub will be ur lil offsider now and we sure dont need men to be able to cope and be a gud parent. So many women with partners are living a single mother life as the men arent very involved with the kids or they work so much. Yay for you, its great news and congrats..even tho its not new news to u! lol
Where do u live??? Im in Brisneyland!! Look forward to hearing ur updates and news on ur lil ones kidneys xxx
MONIQUE x
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 03:39 PM
Hello mum2ethan - the place you have picked for Ethan's birthday looks great how old will he be this birthday? and yes I was fuming but then I figured what good was it going to do me by being angry when they clearly weren't bothered except to ensure my appointment today was wih a shared care Dr, but it was good to get it off my chest yesterday here.
He is turning 2... not a baby anymore... gee they grow up sooooooooooooooooooooo quick!
Have been looking for cake designs on the net im making 2 cakes one for his childcare 1 for his party but im thinking of just doing cupcakes for childcare that way they dont need to worry about anything besides handing them out, i will just write Happy Birthday Ethan on them or somthing... but with his other one it will be something to do with cars or bikes or trucks or planes LOL takes after his daddy, real motor fanatic!! :laughing: Ive found a few designs will keep looking tho... i found a perfect cake im gonna make for my brothers next birthday hehe he is in the army on the tanks and i found the best tank cake!! LOL but will have to wait til March to do that... thats IF he is still up here (he is going to Afghanistan in Nov :() dont know when he will be back... but he has a wedding in May so he will definately be back for that!!
Well better get back to it again...
Mel xoxox
BazzasMum
17-07-2008, 04:02 PM
Afternoon all..... I've just read the whole page..... and can't remember a thing!!! :doh:
Welcome Lyneve. Hang around - you'll catch up with all our nonsense!
Nice to see you again Tina!
Sam - have your ankles gone back to normal yet??
My middie appt went well. Got in almost straight away, and bumped into a lady I shared accommodation with in Melb at Uni back in 1993! She looked exactly the same... Anyway, the middie was great. Bub is head down, but waaaay back there. She checked heartrate - bub moved away. When she followed with the doppler she got 2 big kicks for her trouble! Too funny!! It was a bit cold tho... No luck on another scan tho... might go back to the GP, see if I can con him. Did ask what they provide - nada!!! I have to bring EVERYTHING!!! better get a bigger case....That's a lot of nappies :thumbsdown:
Waited for ages at QT (no surprise there) but I've got spanky new plates on my car! Pretty poxy, no choice given.:no: DH will take his car in next week - got 3 weeks to get it done.
then of course i had to go shopping at Big W. BTW they have maternity PJs on sale. $15 - didn't get any, they had 3/4 sleeves and long pants. Will be too hot for them here. :( And Kmart have a sale on their Bub2b range - $13 for breastfeeding tops. Pretty, but again longer sleeves. *sigh*
loulousmum
17-07-2008, 06:48 PM
Have just finished dinner and am about to relax with a glass of sparkling shiraz left over from Lou's b'day dinner last night. I won two tickets to see Richard Fidler's (ex-Doug Anthony All Star and now ABC afternoon presenter) show broadcast live at the Speigeltent as a part of the Brisbane Festival tomorrow. I'm looking forward to it but know I'll be exhausted afterwards!
LYP - I didn't see the Jamie Oliver thing, but if it has prompted you into action with fresh food etc. maybe I should have! I'm about to make a grocery list - so healthy food will be on the agenda for the next week. Although we are in a corp box at the AFL on Sat night and out for dinners or Bris Festival events four nights next week - so not too many groceries required! In terms of what happens with DD when you go into labour - are you in a mother's group? I'm sure any of them would be happy to stand in! Also, you're in Sydney aren't you? Even though it might be expensive, if worst came to worst you could probably call a nanny company...
Mum2Ethan - I did cupcakes for childcare. It is heaps easier for the teachers and it is easy to make something that looks pretty spectacular for minimal effort. The brighter coloured the icing the better - and you can probably make car shapes out of lollies on top if you are creative! Also, you can buy Dollar Fives in different themes now and probably get a great set of 'boy' coloured sprinkles. I'll look forward to hearing what design you choose for the cake.
Kirsty - Thanks for asking, my ankles are back to normal. Last night when I finally put my feet up I could really feel the fluid/blood pumping back down my legs! I had a great day of rest today and I think that has made a difference. I'm really starting to get heavy though and it is tough to get around. Thanks for the tip on K-mart and Big W, might have to try and get there for some bargains. So the hospital doesn't provide anything?? That's a bit rough. Maybe it's one of those things where they say they don't provide it but if you forget something they'll help you out??? Or am I too hopeful?
*Chels*
17-07-2008, 07:04 PM
LYP-My middie actually told me they do it in your leg now.I really didnt want to pull down my pants and show off my old knickers and unruly jungle:oso I told her just to do it my bum:laughing:
OMG I need to get a bikini wax or something.I havent shaved my legs for months,its so hard to bend over and I dont even wanna look at my viens!!!!!
I got 4 new tops at Kmart today:smiliedance:Couple of long stretchy singlets,and a couple of casual but nice tops.So glad I have more clothes to wear now!!
I just baked a huge cookie(we have premade dough in fridge) which I am going to smother in icecream:goodvibes:OMG no wonder I feel flabby!!!
Hey Mel:wave:Good to see you in here again,miss you around!!
Ffrenchstar
17-07-2008, 07:14 PM
See you all in 3 weeks!! We are off to Germany tomorrow!!!!! Hope everyone has a trouble free next 3 weeks....see you soon lovely ladies :hugs::wave:
*Chels*
17-07-2008, 07:28 PM
See you all in 3 weeks!! We are off to Germany tomorrow!!!!! Hope everyone has a trouble free next 3 weeks....see you soon lovely ladies
See ya Katie!!Hope you have a FANTASTIC time(which I am sure you will!!!!)
Safe travelling,take care of that bump!!:babydust2::goodvibes:
PrincessT
17-07-2008, 07:35 PM
Ya'll can talk when I'm not about!!!
Katie - have a safe trip to Germany. Keep up your fluids and do some exercises on the plane ok!
Chels - I notice your Jeans for Genes avatar... good on you! Allegra was filmed for the current commercial but you cant see her as she was shorter than most of the other kids (they were on average 4 and she is 2) but I am glad we did it. She was holding a sign that said "power to the little people" - so gorgeous!
Kirsty - ring and ask them for your results next week. You shouldnt have to wait until August... but I guess they will ring you if there is a problem with the results.
Welcome Lyneve - you sound like an excellent mumma to be. Your bubs is lucky to have you.
Tina - Poor little Yancie... give her an extra cuddle.
Well, I had an OB appointment today, he gave me the results of my 2 diabetes tests. They first was 7.7, which I thought ok, that high (aparently the cut off is actually 8) then my second test (the two hour one) was 3.4, 4.1 and then 5, which he said was excellent.. I explained about eating just before the test and he said it was a sugar surge that probably altered the result. I also made him laugh, telling him that I stupidly watched Miss Universe this morning and I now feel very much like a whale LOL - he agreed that they are not bad sorts down in south america!
OK - I need chocolate now, there is no way I am going to have to put on a bikini and say I am from Australia in a pagent so I might as well reward myself hahahahaha.
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 07:36 PM
Bye bye Frenchie have a blast!! im so jealous!! can you take me with you??? :laughing:
take care!!! :hugs:
Ffrenchstar
17-07-2008, 07:39 PM
Thanks Chels, Princess and mum2ethan :hugs:
Dont worry, I am sure I will be getting plenty of exercise on the plane with 3 kids!! :p I made my class work extra hard at pump tonight as I am going to be sitting down for nearly 16 hours!! argh....on that note, I am excited to do some Bodypump and Attack classes in German!! :D
Mum2ethan, there is still a bit of room in the suitcases, you never know......:laughing:
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 07:47 PM
:laughing: Better be a HUGE suitcase!!! lol
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 07:52 PM
Here are some cakes im thinking of doing please let me know what you think
Cake 1: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/nascar-birthday-cakes-09.jpg
Cake 2: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/nascar-birthday-cakes-02.jpg
Cake 3: http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/nascar-birthday-cakes-07.jpg
PrincessT
17-07-2008, 07:52 PM
hahahahaha - I was just thinking of folding myself into a suitcase too!
Gosh I forgot to add I did some PJ shopping today at Sussans - they had some good stuff on the sale rack and even got some slippers for about $10 - I'm going to take them with me to the hospital as my feet were really swollen last time and there are nice and roomy.
M2E - I like cake 2!
BazzasMum
17-07-2008, 08:01 PM
Have an awesome trip Katie... how about some virtual postcards???
Mel - I like cake 3....mmmmm chocolate......
OMG I watched the Jamie Oliver thingy from last might. :barf: Really going to make sure we eat more veges now!!! Karen - I finished off the cookies first!!! :laughing:
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 08:02 PM
hahahahaha - I was just thinking of folding myself into a suitcase too!
Gosh I forgot to add I did some PJ shopping today at Sussans - they had some good stuff on the sale rack and even got some slippers for about $10 - I'm going to take them with me to the hospital as my feet were really swollen last time and there are nice and roomy.
M2E - I like cake 2!
I was looking for PJs and slippers during the week but didnt have enough time to look around, big W had some maternity PJs but they were all size 8... hmmmmmmm wouldnt fit me :laughing: so will go looking this weekend
Thanks i like cake 2 as well (altho 2 of them are pretty much the same lol) but i could put trucks and motorbikes on there as well even a train track and train
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 08:03 PM
Mel - I like cake 3....mmmmm chocolate......
OMG I watched the Jamie Oliver thingy from last might. :barf: Really going to make sure we eat more veges now!!! Karen - I finished off the cookies first!!! :laughing:
HAHA i know I love chocolate as well! its a tough decision...
What is they Jamie Oliver thingy? I missed it...
*Chels*
17-07-2008, 08:06 PM
Teena-I arranged to sell the merchandise at work.I harrass all my customers to buy something:laughing:I always stare at the donation box and posters coz they kids on them are sooo damn cute!!!!!!Thats so cool Allegra was in the ads!!
PrincessT
17-07-2008, 08:44 PM
Yes, I am a stage mother at heart!!! She was in the paper in her jeans looking just angelic ahhhhh a mummy is allowed to be proud.
*Chels*
18-07-2008, 08:04 AM
Morning girls!!!
Mel,I like cake 2.I am trying to figure out what kind of cake to do for Rileys bday-I want to make one every year just like my mum did for us,but I dont know if I will have the time with bubs due so close:(
Whats everyones plans for weekend??I am going to lunch with a friend 2moro(fasta pasta YUM)and then going round to BIL's that night,probably to battle it out on our new Wii:D
Am going to paint bookcase today and try to get it done!!!!
loulousmum
18-07-2008, 10:14 AM
Cake 3 for me - it is impressive - and actually still looks like a cake!!!
Lou had 4 year old needles this morning - so brave, didn't cry and I was very proud. She is now 105cm tall and 17 kgs - it is about 2 years since we last properly weighed and measured her - so it feels like a massive growth spurt but is really just normal!!
Archie has yet another ear infection. He isn't too fazed by it, in fact, I had taken him to the Dr because of his cough - Dr isn't worried about cough but picked up the ear infection....lucky!
Chels - for the weekend, we are at a Maccas birthday party in the morning, a corp box at the AFL Lions game Sat night and another birthday party at lunchtime on Sunday. I'm tired just thinking about the weekend ahead!!! I hope yours is more restful and involves more free time...
Princess T - Can just imagine you as a stage mother :laughing: I think my friends have been expecting me to become one as well, especially with my background as a Drama teacher. So far, I've seen no performing arts giftedness in the kids - Louella loves to sing and dance and is a very good poser - but do you think she'll turn it on in front of an audience??? No way - what a DIVA!!!:laughing:
Twiglet
18-07-2008, 10:31 AM
My middie appt went well. Got in almost straight away. Anyway, the middie was great. Bub is head down, but waaaay back there. She checked heartrate - bub moved away. When she followed with the doppler she got 2 big kicks for her trouble! Too funny!! It was a bit cold tho... No luck on another scan tho... might go back to the GP, see if I can con him. Did ask what they provide - nada!!! I have to bring EVERYTHING!!! better get a bigger case....That's a lot of nappies :thumbsdown:
When do they usually turn downwards? Am due the same day as you and I think my bub is still sitting upright? Will have to ask next time I go. :confused:
See you all in 3 weeks!! We are off to Germany tomorrow!!!!! Hope everyone has a trouble free next 3 weeks....see you soon lovely ladies
You lucky thing. Have a great time
Well, I had an OB appointment today, he gave me the results of my 2 diabetes tests. They first was 7.7, which I thought ok, that high (aparently the cut off is actually 8) then my second test (the two hour one) was 3.4, 4.1 and then 5, which he said was excellent.. I explained about eating just before the test and he said it was a sugar surge that probably altered the result. I also made him laugh, telling him that I stupidly watched Miss Universe this morning and I now feel very much like a whale LOL - he agreed that they are not bad sorts down in south america!
Hope all goes well at your appointment
10 more weeks at work as of today :smiliedance:. Having to keep reminding the management team as I need to hand over to someone.
The weekend is here. Hope everyone has something nice planned even if its something very small. I have a hair appoitment. Can't wait.
Littleyorkshirepudding
18-07-2008, 12:14 PM
Just popped in to say hello - haven't caught up with the thread since yesterday, so I'm off to make a cup of tea, a rather large ham & cheese sandwich and a bowl of fruit and yoghurt and sit here and catch up with the thread, watch part 2 of Grey's Anatomy final (as I still haven't watched it) and will be back later to have a chat. DD is in bed, so I'm going to enjoy a couple of hours of peace to myself.
Hope you're all having a nice day
Chat soon
KrissyM
18-07-2008, 12:25 PM
Afternoon all
nabie hope everything is ok keep resting and keep your legs crossed sending you lots of :hugs:
last day of school holidays today then 10 weeks and im off for 3 terms :smiliedance: its gonna be weird handing my class over to someone else. I really should go to school over the weekend and get some organising done. My weekend plans are paint the skirting, door and window frames in nursery, finish the washing if i dont get it done today and enjoy the peace while DP is in Adelaide for Crows Port game and try not to worry about him driving home Sun night (he prob wont get home till midnite).
Well better get stuck into this washing ive got 2 loads waiting to be hung out and hve some lunch.
Have a great weekend everyone
Kristy
Lyneve
18-07-2008, 12:26 PM
Thanks all for the warm welcome!
Hey girl!! I too am a single mummy..
altho the FOB and I are back together now (after a 3 yr split) but we are not living together and only see each other a few times a week. We have a 4 yr old son together and are having a bub in the next few months.
This bub will be ur lil offsider now and we sure dont need men to be able to cope and be a gud parent. So many women with partners are living a single mother life as the men arent very involved with the kids or they work so much. Yay for you, its great news and congrats..even tho its not new news to u! lol
Where do u live??? Im in Brisneyland!! Look forward to hearing ur updates and news on ur lil ones kidneys xxx
MONIQUE x
That sounds like a good way to organise your man, there when you need him, and out of the way when you don't! Congrats on your little girl.
Bubs father actually contacted me yesterday (after 6 weeks not communicating), and is having lunch with me on Sunday. Will be interesting!
I'm in Canberra. Brissyland sounds like a much nicer place to be. Its been really cold here the last couple of weeks, and I can't find any decent/cheap maternity clothes that are warm enough.
I have my Glucose Tolerance Test next week.. not looking forward to it. Not a big needle fan... :(
KrissyM
18-07-2008, 12:29 PM
:hair:just posted a reply and my computer ate it!!
Nabie - hope everything is going ok lots of :hugs: to you keep resting and make sure DP is looking after you
Ill pop back in later my washing machine is beeping at me
KrissyM
18-07-2008, 12:31 PM
just looked and my post was there :hair: computer is being slow and frustrating today!!
PrincessT
18-07-2008, 12:53 PM
I feel like I have been punched in the chest... is anyone else having breathing problems.. not breathing as such but a little more laboured?
As of yesterday bubs was head down.. is that early? I cant remember from Allegra. I dont want another early bubba.. ive got too much to do LOL
Twiglet
18-07-2008, 01:18 PM
I feel like I have been punched in the chest... is anyone else having breathing problems.. not breathing as such but a little more laboured?
Yes but then I suffer from astma and its horrid weather here at the moment. Effect me most when I'm on my back in bed
*Chels*
18-07-2008, 02:37 PM
I am asthmatic too,so I am always using my puffer.Seems like Bubs is squishing up my lungs:laughing:I seem to get out of breath so quickly!
84zsazsa
18-07-2008, 02:46 PM
PrincessT......Like above I have asthma but my bub is head down too. He has been getting his feet up in my rib cage and I have been getting quite breathless from time to time so it may just be that.
As for whether they will come early cause of that.....Could, couldn't....but my OB didnt seem concerned the other day about it and he even said bubba was quite low in my pelvis as well as being head down and still was calm so I don't think it is a problem.
Danni
*Chels*
18-07-2008, 02:55 PM
When I saw middie the other day she was asking me where I could feel him moving mainly.Well hes a groover,I feel him all over the show!
I asked if at this stage babies still moved round all over,and she said until their heads get a bit heavier,they will do 360's!
So when the head gets heavier,they end up head down,I *think* she said it wasnt until 34 weeks??
The other night I was reading in bed and I felt Cletus's little bum sticking out the side.I gave him a poke and he moved along:laughing:I keep trying to imagine what the heck he is doing in there!!
Electric Mumi
18-07-2008, 03:13 PM
M2E: Love the cake ideas chick!! Combine all 3 and make it what u want..he is gona love it!
That sounds like a good way to organise your man, there when you need him, and out of the way when you don't! Congrats on your little girl.
Bubs father actually contacted me yesterday (after 6 weeks not communicating), and is having lunch with me on Sunday. Will be interesting!
I'm in Canberra. Brissyland sounds like a much nicer place to be. Its been really cold here the last couple of weeks, and I can't find any decent/cheap maternity clothes that are warm enough.
I have my Glucose Tolerance Test next week.. not looking forward to it. Not a big needle fan... :(
Thats good you are in contact with FOB, its so much easier when u can get along and make informed decisions together about things. Is he supportive??
As far as maternity clothes go, u dont really need specific "maternity" gear. Go to Kmart and Big W and check out some of their stretchy\flowey tops and bottoms etc. They wack the price up loads when it is specific to maternity wear.
I have my 2 hr glucose test nxt tuesday. I dont like needles but its gota be done and its very fast these days! Good luck with yours hun x
PinkLily
18-07-2008, 04:00 PM
Lou'smum - Thanks for the heads-up about the hot milk sale :thumbsup: They are divine aren't they!
Naebie - Hope all stays well for the next 30 or so weeks :hugs: Lotsa rest for you...
Welcome Lyneve! :flowerz:
And I just bought some casual maternity tops from Big W last night on sale. Got a couple for $6 each! And they had the Bonds Bumps Hoodies on sale too!! Not sure if you have a store in Canberra though...
Me too ladies. Been getting short of breath very easily recently. Things are definately moving up aren't they?!
Hope everyone has a wonderful fantastic weekend!
BazzasMum
18-07-2008, 05:22 PM
Joanna - I don't know when they stay head down. DS was head down bum up from about 15 weeks - he hardly ever rolled around, but kicked like mad. This bib always seemed to be sitting sideways, so I was a bit surprised when she found the head!
Mel - Jamie Oliver did a special on what happens to our bodies when we eat junk food. Seriously nasty - spesh when they did cross sections of dead bodies!!! :barf: DH couldn't watch it anymore...
Naebie - Hope all stays well for the next 30 or so weeks :hugs: Lotsa rest for you...
:laughing: That's a bl00dy long pregnancy!!! How about the next 10 instead......? Sorry PL!!
Today we went to the show!! It was packed!!!! and sooo hot :dizzy: At least DS was free to get in. He went on 3 rides but wanted to go on the BIG rides.... said do you want to go on the teacups? no I want that one.... and pointed to the zipper!!! AS IF!!! :laughing:
And someone tell me... how do you tell a 3 yr old he's not allowed to play with the boy next door when his mummy won't let him? He went and knocked, the boy said I'll come out. 5 mins goes by, can't hear them, go out to have a look - they shut the door in his face! He was devastated!! He just didn't get he wasn't allowed to play.
Littleyorkshirepudding
18-07-2008, 07:24 PM
M2E - cake 3 gets my vote too all that yummy chocolate hmmmmmmm:D
Chels - lol - better ask for it in my bum too cos there is absolutely no way I'm bearing all either
PrincessT - Awww that is so good your princess is in the jeans for genes commercial I'll be looking out for her and in the paper too you have every right to be a very pround mummy I would be
Yes I'm finding breathing a little bit more laboured rather than breathless - I carry high too downside of having a short body so I've felt it for awhile now, I shudder at the smallest hill now.
My little one is definitely still doing 360 degrees turns in here - a friend of mine who has just had her 2nd was actually engaged from 30 weeks and the OB told her not to expect to go to full term, she went to full term plus 10 days and in the end asked to be induced.
Loulousmum - good idea about my mother's group - they are a great bunch no doubt if I put the feelers out now they'll be more than one mum willing to help me out, plus you're right if all else fails I live in Sydney and can get a nanny in - great idea
Was going to do a few more personals but am now bushed and haven't the energy sorry folks.
Hope you've all had a lovely day - I finally got to see part 2 of the season finale of Grey's Anatomy and loved it, totally bawled my eyes out though, but loved it, gosh I do love that show.
Night all
*Chels*
18-07-2008, 07:36 PM
Kirsty-How fricken rude of them!!Thats so harsh!!
I have a single mummy next door(we are in a complex)and we befriended her and her 4 yr old son.The kids are running between houses pretty much all weekend long playing together.
Such a shame your neighbours suck so much:banghead:
Well,its been over 10 days since Rileys accident and I have been trying to get his little surgical strip bandage things off but he wont let me near.Tonight it started bleeding.Hes alseep on couch so I have been pulling off the bandages:oThey are a bit weepy so I am half way thru.
Its so hard coz I dont wanna rip off scab,but I fear his skin will start growing over the bandage!!!Arrrggghhh what to do?????
I am eating strawberries and icecream-so yum!
myusernamewoohoo
19-07-2008, 07:28 AM
I havent been on for a few days .My 2 little boys broke my keyboard I cant keep them away from it .
Not feeling great right now I have the worst back .I went to see the physio and I have got a unstable pelvis .They told me that when your preganant you body has a hormone that relaxes your ligaments.I knew that but seem I have tomuch hormone and its realxed them to much and my legaments are not supporting my pelvis like they should .
So I am now on crutches and have to go see the physio every week .I have 13 weeks to go on crutches:no:. In the real worl you just cant be on crutches when you have a house and family to take care of .I fond that I dont use them near as much as I should and ouch my back hurts lol
Anyways just had to vent oh anyone elce here getting really badleg cramps when there in bed at night?.I never had them before ,seems my body is letting me down lol
Hope you all have a great day :)
BazzasMum
19-07-2008, 08:06 AM
Chels - put Riley in the bath, make sure the bandage gets really wet - it should come off a lot easier.
It does suck about our neighbours - he's a 6yr old only child, and I've NEVER seen him play with other kids. Pretty sad, as he talks more like an adult (albeit a smart-ar$e one).... the other side are cool. He plays over there all the time, but they'll be moving out in Jan at the end of the lease to get a bigger house. She's having #4 4 weeks after I'm due. It's a family house, so I hope we don't end up with teenagers or something...
Don't know what we're doing today. Not raining now, but a few dark clouds around. Might chop a few palm fronds.... the bag guys will be here Wed.
Woohoo - isn't there a brace you can get instead of crutches??/ That would be a bit more practical. Maybe ask the physio next time you see them.
loulousmum
19-07-2008, 08:55 AM
Kirsty - glad to hear you are on the countdown although it feels weird to be due at the same time as you and already be on leave!!! I gave my work 7 months notice and they still couldn't replace me in time to do handover!!! And I work in the Strategic HR Directorate - go figure - do as we say not do as we do!!
LYP - What did you think of Grey's?
Woohoo - Sorry to hear about your pain - and crutches - how awful, puts my complaining about having this belt on all day into perspective.
Princess T - My breathing has been getting worse particularly over the past few weeks. Babies can turn right up until the last minute but I think if they are head down after 34 weeks then they are likely to stay that way. It's only a sign of early labour if the head engages...hopefully you're not there yet - although you'd know it because you'd be waddling around already!!!!
Krissy - You are very clever to be timing bub's arrival with the school term! Did you plan it that way?
Sorry to not reply to everyone, am in a bit of a hurry am off to a MacDonald's Birthday party with Lou. It's 'dress up' so she has her princess/ballet dress on but I've packed extra clothes because I can just see it being a disaster on the climbing equipment!!!
Will check in later today!
Sam
Electric Mumi
19-07-2008, 09:31 AM
WOOHOO: My goodness that sounds horrible darl. My back has been playing up and have been going to my chiro but it nothing that warrents crutches. He said "you have the waddles now ur shape has changed and the ligaments have relaxed etc" luved how he said WADDLES! Its so true! haha
Im with Chels, maybe ask (even second opinion) about getting a brace or something else. Crutches is a damn uncomfortable way to spend the next 13 weeks! Feel for you honey, hope it eases us. :hugs:
Well the countdown is almost on!! Tomorrow Im 29 weeks so next week- 30 wks- is my countdown from 10 weeks down to the big event!! Exciting but EEEEEK
*Chels*
19-07-2008, 09:43 AM
I am going out to Fasta Pasta for lunch soon.Gotta love the carbs!!!:D
I am 28 weeks today!I feel like once I hit 30 weeks,I am on the home stretch!Bring it on:smiliedance:
myusernamewoohoo
19-07-2008, 10:43 AM
Hi again
we have tried the belt thingy and it wasnt any good plus bubs hated it .Everytime I put it on she would kick and move ,I tried tolower it and nope no good .So crutches is the last thing they have left for me to try .
Cant remember who typed it but I agree once I gte the 30 weeks I can count down ,anyways thanks for the replies
talk soon
mum2ethan
19-07-2008, 01:22 PM
Hi everyone, hope you are all having a great weekend!
Thanks all for you input on the cakes its a tough choice between 2 and 3... Well i got some paty invites and have just finished writing them up so will hand them out on Monday!
Ohhh i got Ethan's childcare photos back on Friday will scan it and post it for those who want to see, its just so gorgeous... hang on will do it now...
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/img179.jpg
Woo hoo - :hugs: sorry to hear about your pain, mine isnt anywhere near as bad as that, just take it easy.
Wow some of us are close to single figure countdown! Blo0dy scary!!! :eek:
Ohhhhh that reminds me i put my maternity leave notice in i finish up on the 3rd September... its only like 6 weeks away!!!
Well better get back to playing with Ethan talk soon
Mel xoxox
84zsazsa
19-07-2008, 04:31 PM
Ohhh i got Ethan's childcare photos back on Friday will scan it and post it for those who want to see, its just so gorgeous... hang on will do it now...
http://i276.photobucket.com/albums/kk3/Pottset/img179.jpg
Mel xoxox
Hey Mel, That pic is cute!!! You can't help but smile when you look at it.......glad it turned out so well for you.
:wave: Big hello to all you other ladies......I have been MIA. Refiancing our mortage and changing the deeds. So busy, money, banks.....solicitors.....the list goes on!!! :sleeping: I've been taking it easy but....and enjoying the footy match proceeding within me daily!!
Keep well and ((((Bellyrubs))))
Danni
What a beautiful picture Mel :)
KrissyM
19-07-2008, 06:50 PM
Krissy - You are very clever to be timing bub's arrival with the school term! Did you plan it that way?
didnt plan it at all wasnt even trying to get pregnant. Way was planning a trip to europe for the christmas holidays when i found out i was pregnant. But the dates have worked out really well so :fingerscrossed: I'll be able to work until the end of term
Electric Mumi
20-07-2008, 04:20 AM
:party:!!!29 Weeks Today!!!:party:
M2E: OMG what a cutie!! Thats a fabulous photo darl. I keep picturing him to be that lil baby in ur avitar! haha
84zsazsa
20-07-2008, 05:07 AM
Hey Moni - Hoooowwwsss it grooving?? Must be something to be up at this hour!! Lol. How have things been in ur world lately?? 29wks hey!!! :party: I got 1 day and I will join that party! My life has become so business like I've almost forgot we have a bubba coming! :laughing: At least I get a little car at the end of the finance and brand new furniture :smiliedance:. I have waited soooo long for this.
Hows ur little tummy grub doing?? Mine has been playing down there again for 2 days!! God it is uncomfortable......I keep thinking "don't worry about that area yet!!"
Anyhoo gotta run hubby to work........:sunshine: Have a good day chic.
Danni
PrincessT
20-07-2008, 08:28 AM
Morning all - I just had a cuppa and a pain au chocolait for breakfast, complements of hubbie who went out to the bakery this morning... Allegra and I loved them!!!
I cant believe the home stretch is here already. Ive got about 9/10 weeks to go and then its all go!! I did dream about bubba last night. I had this dream that she was in the hospital bassinet and she was so so small.. I tired to find out how big she was but I could get anyone to tell me. She was gorgeous though and looked like Allegra.
Had a great day yesterday. My sister in law and I went to Ikea for some shopping and then I dropped Allegra off at the local pony club where my cousin rides. She thought Allegra might like to come and pat the pony's. So my mum met us there and she took Allegra for a few hours, which was just heaven! I mananged to get a manicure and pedicure... so overdue lemme tell ya!!
Today I am being dragged to a jewellery party. Its something called Emma Paige. My aunt sells it, so I am being dutiful and going for support. Even though I told her I am not going to buy anything. I just dont need anything but she needed to have a party to make up some quota.
Hope everyone had someone to do something nice for them today... its Sunday!
loulousmum
20-07-2008, 09:33 AM
Good morning everyone!
Very happy because the Brisbane Lions won last night - and I didn't get heartburn from all the good food in the corporate box!! I did take one of those tablets one hour before we got there to make sure I could keep it at bay.
Princess T - Yep - someone did something nice for me! Got a sleep in this morning and then DH took the kids outside to play on the fort and trampoline so I could watch Insiders (favourite Sunday show).
Mum2Ethan - Finishing in 6 weeks is exciting. Photo is cute too! My kids were on holidays for childcare photos this year but we are having family shots done when I get my belly shot on 4 August!
We are off to a 4th birthday BBQ lunch at midday. I'm quite keen to go but feeling very short of breath and light headed. Will just find a nice spot to sit down I think - and let the kids go crazy with all the other kids...the family hosting the party have their own jumping castle - Louella is already very excited!
I'm the same as a few of you and down to about the 10 week mark given my revised due date. The multiple births people say to have my hospital bag packed from 28 weeks which is at the end of this week - a bit scary...
happyhips
20-07-2008, 11:04 AM
I've been missing in action because I've been too sick to even get on the net.
Sam: Hope Loulou had a fabulous birthday!!! I was thinking of you when I was coughing my little heart out. My cough isn't so bad now but I can hear all of the yucky stuff rattling around in my lungs and so I'm now busy convincing myself I've got pneumonia. My lung kinda hurts when I cough so I might go back to docs tomorrow.
Well we've been drama central in this household. First I got sick, then my ob rang me and told me I failed my first glucose test and I had to go in and do the 2 hour one, then my DS got sick as well and told us he couldn't walk and just lay on the floor crying. I panicked and rushed him to the hospital where they told me it was the viral infection giving him sore muscles and joints. He literally slept the whole day when we got home, poor baby!
Anyway, my husband just came and told me he has got me an appointment to see a Dr at 12.50. I have obviously worried him with the pneumonia statement. God I love him.
Sorry for all the negative stuff, I haven't had a chance to do personals yet but I will try to get there soon.
Annette.
Electric Mumi
20-07-2008, 04:16 PM
Hey Moni - Hoooowwwsss it grooving?? Must be something to be up at this hour!! Lol. How have things been in ur world lately?? 29wks hey!!! :party: I got 1 day and I will join that party! My life has become so business like I've almost forgot we have a bubba coming! :laughing: At least I get a little car at the end of the finance and brand new furniture :smiliedance:. I have waited soooo long for this.
Hows ur little tummy grub doing?? Mine has been playing down there again for 2 days!! God it is uncomfortable......I keep thinking "don't worry about that area yet!!"
Anyhoo gotta run hubby to work........:sunshine: Have a good day chic.
Danni
Heya Dan,
Sorry I missed you this morning. I havent been sleeping well hence why I was up at the rediculous hr..and its worse when DP stays over, not used to sharing my bed me thinks! hehe
All gud here. We all went out for lunch today and did some shopping. Got the kids a massive tramp for xmas from Target and also got kane a big swing set for his 5th bday in Nov. I got a gazebo thing to park my car under because as soon as I get this back yard stuff, I wont be able to park under the house.
We are all going to Dreamworld tomorrow coz DP has been working 8 days and nights straight and thats meant we havent seen him. So he took tomorrow off to hang with us and give the kids a special day!!!( kids meaning KANE and his 2.5 yr old girl) So yeh should be a good day!
loulousmum
20-07-2008, 04:54 PM
Have fun at Dreamworld Monique!!
HappyHips - Sorry to hear it hasn't been much fun at your place. I hope for your sake it's not pneumonia. I thought mine was as well, but it was just the peak of the sickness. Can you believe I'm still coughing stuff up now?? It's not so bad though because it comes up very easily - not that hacking sort of thing I had a couple of weeks ago. Let me know how you go at the Dr tomorrow.
Now - what are your thoughts on other adults (that your kids don't really know) giving them instructions? We've just been at a party and a woman Louella has only met maybe three times told her to get out of the inside part of the house (although Louella had asked permission from the Mum who lives there). Louella was quite upset and came and told me that the lady had told her to get out of the house. I found her and explained that Louella had asked for permission and so it was okay and she told me that Louella shouldn't 'second guess an instruction from an adult'. I explained that I would be surprised if any four year old didn't second guess an instruction from an adult they don't know and that if she did everything any adult told her to do it would worry me as she would be at risk from strangers/paedophiles etc....and as long as Louella hadn't been rude to her, that I was happy for her to come and check an instruction another adult had given her....So please, tell me, am I out of step with society???? I thought 'follow all adult instructions' was a bit of an outdated idea - and I'm a teacher :laughing:
Twiglet
21-07-2008, 10:02 AM
Loulou's Mum
what are your thoughts on other adults (that your kids don't really know) giving them instructions? I don't mind. If there is a child misbehaving in a shop or in the street I'm the 1st to put them straight. As there are times when they are putting themselves in danger. Also I live in a street that has a lot of older generation living there. They are all looking forward to being step-grandparents and know that I don't mind them disciplining my child if they are doing wrong or putting themselves or others in danger. However they need to tell me about it so that I can deal with it as well.
However I do believe in this case the other adult should have acknowledged her mistake and apologised to Louella. That way Louella or any other child for that matter will learn that adults can be wrong sometimes too and can respect those that apologise. This sounds like a very silly women.:yelclap: Well done to Louella for asking permission and then double checking with you.:yelclap:
Happy dance :smiliedance: we're 27 weeks today and now in the 3rd trimester!!!!!! Have my GTT & Other tests on Friday. Weekend was good. DH has finally finished the side fence. Which means I'll feel a lot safer knowing our 2 big dogs are now protecting all the windows of the house.
Hope everyone has a great day
farmmummy
21-07-2008, 10:05 AM
Hello Ladies and Craig hope you and your families are all doing well?
Firstly welcome to the new ladies.
Tina - Look forward to catching up again soon.
Sam - Doesn't sound like your getting time to relax
Renee - Soak up as much rest as you can hun I wish I could
Danni - Glad things are all okay.
Craig - Snor yes I do. I snore normally but it is worse in the later half of the pregnancy. Just need to build a bridge my friend or do what My husband does and slips his hand under my pillow and gives it a wak enough to get me to roll over but not to wake me up.
So I went to work with Matt last week, it was all good except me getting cranky due to lack of sleep. Appointment went really well on Wednesday in before my appointment time and out before 10am. Bub is already head down and I have to lay off picking up Sarah as much as I can. Did a bit of shopping I got a couple of thoes Bonds Bump singlets really cumfy. Got home and did shopping and house work Thursday then Friday we went camping yes I said camping (at 28 weeks) and fishing we went out with MIL and FIL was a pretty good weekend except when I ended up going for a drive to the local hospital due to asthma my puffer wasn't working but by the time I drove the 38klms to the hospital my oxygen saturation levels were normal and I could breath. Next night wasnt much better but I slept in the car for a couple of hours seemed to help. Think it had to do with a blanket I was using that I haven't used for a couple of years even tho it's been in a packet it has still been in storage for years. Slept alot better last night except that my nose is running (I'm allergic to my cat and smoke from the wood stove interfears with my sinus) and heart burn/reflux arrrhhh it hurts like you wouldn't believe and I had almost no relief from it until last night. My darling husband cooked dinner for us then after Sarah went to bed so did I. Ummm not much else to report here at all still haven't been into the post office to pick up my goodies from ebay. Will be like christmas I bet might go in tomorrow. It's been raining again today at least the rain held off till we got home.
Chat later
Nikki x
loulousmum
21-07-2008, 10:28 AM
Hi Twiglet - thanks for your thoughts! Yes - 27 weeks now:smiliedance: I will really start relaxing from 28 weeks. I have to go for my test sometime this week, actually today is probably the best day to go - just have to get motivated to go out!
Farmmum - I'm not doing a whole lot of relaxing but I am getting some simple jobs done - just reorganised Archie's drawers and moved stuff for giving away and stuff for the twins to use out of his room. I can't see myself ever getting around to that once the babies come. It sounds like you've had an awful few nights - hope you get some relief over the coming days.
Well, our Little Mates Farm outing today got cancelled due to rain, so the kids are now at childcare and I've been doing some organising around the house. Now that Twiglet has reminded me to go for my glucose test, I'd better go and do it today - it's the only day this week I have nothing on during the day and it means the results will be back when I have my OB appointment on Friday....will check in later!
BazzasMum
21-07-2008, 11:48 AM
Afternoon all!!
Sam - I agree with Joanna. Lou did the right thing by asking the hostess in the first place, and that other lady should have apologised when she found out she was wrong. I don't have a problem with her telling Lou to leave - I would have done the same, but she should have said sorry when she found out the facts.
OMG Nikki - I'm not letting my DH see you went camping. He got a bee in his bonnet about it on Sat arvo. Air mattresses are NOT comfy at the best of times, never mind 6 months pregnant (I can say that now!!). I'd fill the car just with my bedding, never mind having to take the dogs everywhere too!!
And the heartburn has been getting to me too. Immediately after dinner - last night salad dressing set it off!
Have made an appt with my GP for Thurs. Will see what he says about the GTT. The hosp didn't even check my urine - it's been 2 months! Anyway, I'll also ask about a growth scan. This munchkin feels way heavier than DS. I looked at my belly pics when I downloaded them on the weekend - I don't look anywhere near as big as I feel. Strange!!
Well, both DH and I have lovely new QLD plates. He went this morning - and his truck wouldn't start!!! Had to jump-start it. The battery terminals were a bit corroded, so he cleaned them and off he went. Why do these things always happen when you're in a hurry???
Went for a bike ride to the beach yest. Def getting easier! Have to keep up some semblance of fitness....
mum2ethan
21-07-2008, 01:37 PM
Sam - I agree with Joanna. Lou did the right thing by asking the hostess in the first place, and that other lady should have apologised when she found out she was wrong. I don't have a problem with her telling Lou to leave - I would have done the same, but she should have said sorry when she found out the facts.
:iagree: as well
Thanks everyone for you replies on Ethans pic, he is such a show pony as soon as a camera comes out he poses and smiles :laughing:
Happyhips - :hugs: hope you and your DS are feeling better soon darl, sounds horrible. Just rest up and take it easy.
EM - hope you and the kids are having a blast at Dreamworld!
Well i just did a quick trip to Kmart on my lunchbreak and brought some slippers and a nighty for the hospital both for $15 :thumbsup: thought i better get my act together and start getting stuff ready... have the Darwin Show coming up this weekend so will be busy on Saturday but will be cleaning out the bassinet on sunday (has a whole heap of stuffed toys in it and it needs a wash!!) and i need to go thru what newborn clothes i have been given to see what else i need to get...
OHHHHHHHHH im almost in single figure countdown eekkk (technically i am cos im having a c-section OMG how exciting!!)
Anyway better get back to it have a lovely day
Mel xoxox
84zsazsa
21-07-2008, 02:33 PM
Hey Sam - I think that lady was rude for not appologising to Louella!! Like the other ladies have said.....she should have. I dont have a problem with other adults directing my kids but myself for example would have ask your daughter if she had asked permission to be inside when I've seen her in the house. If she said yes I would have given her the benefit of the doubt and just maybe mentioned to you or the host that she was inside.
You or the host would have then informed me she had asked and all fine. If she hadnt then you would be aware and you can parent your child accordingly. Maybe I'm different :laughing:
Its how my logic would have handled it and its what I do with friends kids.
Hope the rest of you ladies and Craig are doing well. Bubba has been kicking heaps today!! :smiliedance: Sooo cute. I had another day of valuation, house etc.
Anyhoo....keep well and growing them babies. 29wks today woohooo....
Danni
Electric Mumi
21-07-2008, 04:11 PM
DANNI: How exciting for u..getting a new car!!! What type do u know???????? Forgot to mention it in my last post..typical fuzzy baby brain!
Dreamworld was great today. We had a fab day!! Off for my 2 hr GT tomorrow. Gota fast from 9pm tonite!
*Chels*
21-07-2008, 04:42 PM
Just quickly checking in,I feel like **** after 2 long days at work,and have been battling a headache,bad heartburn and achy viens.
Was 28 weeks on Saturday!Feel like the home stretch is quickly approaching!!:yelclap:
Hope everyone is well:hugs:
84zsazsa
21-07-2008, 06:10 PM
DANNI: How exciting for u..getting a new car!!! What type do u know???????? Forgot to mention it in my last post..typical fuzzy baby brain!
Dreamworld was great today. We had a fab day!! Off for my 2 hr GT tomorrow. Gota fast from 9pm tonite!
Hey chic,
Glad to hear Dreamworld went well today....I bet you guys had a ball. Good luck with the GT test 2morro....I passed mine by .1 :D. I had eaten terrible amounts of sugar in the 24hr lead up.
Yes and the car :smiliedance:!! I cant wait. We went to 1 car (my new little Suzuki Swift I got after Divorce, bout 3yrs old now) to save money when I fell preggers as DH (new 1.....Long story :laughing:) was discharging from the Army and was worried about work. No car all this time has driven me up the wall!!
Hubby is having the Suzuki for running back and forth to work and "his" car and I get to pick one for me!! I only budgeted $15, 000 to spend but I going to go for a nice Dark Green Rav 4 (4yr old, great nick.....as I am fussy with my cars.....used to have show cars) or A Hyundai Wagon I have seen for sale. Both a bit cheaper then my budget so more coin to do up the house.
Sorry to ramble....Ive just being slowly going mad from no car over the last 7mths!! :laughing:
KrissyM
21-07-2008, 09:36 PM
Evening all
back it work today it was nice to see the kids again. had 2 new students on their first day at school 1 had visits last term the other I found out about at 8.45 so nothing was organised for him but parents were cool so thats ok. The rest of my class were funny they kept saying Miss A your tummy is sooooo big (thanks for reminding me) and then some were trying to show me how big my baby would be some had it measuring at about 1m OUCH hope not lol. After all the verbal reminders of how big Ive gotten in the last 2 weeks (including some from staff - theres no mistaking it now that your pregnant what I just looked fat before?) I found out how much my belly is now getting in the way. I have an easel next to my chair that I always model writing on once I got about half way down the page my belly was getting in the way and i couldnt reach I just laughed and the kids thought it was funny too when i explained it to them. Then at tea when i was eating my tacos I couldnt lean over the coffee table any more but my belly made a very useful stable table. Then i was cutting up some stuff on the coffee table for school and my belly kept getting in the way of reaching for the stuff I needed. Its all getting interesting!!! was telling DP about my belly getting in the way and he actually asked whats it like to be pregnant.
Well 27 weeks today, 6 mths down 3 to go then I get to meet this little bub cant wait!!!
Oh forgot to say one of my new little ones looked at my belly and said 'whats wrong with your tummy?' things kids say.
Shera
22-07-2008, 07:20 AM
Hello everyone :)
I'm finally able to post again after a very long & tiring move to the sunny coast. We've had internet for a week but I've been too tired to post as there seems to be an endless amount of work to do! I've been on my feet all day with only 3-4 20 minute breaks for the past few weeks, the downside is that my lower back, pelvis & veins are very sore but the upside is that I''m sleeping really well at night & haven't been getting any hip pain. I can't sit for more than 20 minutes anyway as I get a horrible jabbing pain in my right side (long car trips really suck!).
Thanks Chels for the facebook message, I got it this morning & it was nice to know that you were thinking of me. I hope that you managed to get the bandage off Riley, trying while he's asleep is a good idea & soaking it in warm water might also help.
Mel - Ethan is such a little cutie, that kindy pic is adorable.
Woohoo - Hello :wave: I wish you all the best with your back, I hope that you can find an alternative to crutches.
Sorry, no more personals today, it is good to hear that everyone's pregnancies are progressing well.
Emily.
84zsazsa
22-07-2008, 07:33 AM
Hey Emily (Shera).......:wave:
Long time no hear!! Glad to hear the move went well.
Take care of those aches and pains......I can sympathise at the moment.
Danni
loulousmum
22-07-2008, 07:56 AM
Mel - single figures!! I know what you mean about the date coming forward for the c-section. I kept getting mixed up and so that's why I started a second 'ticker' - that way I have a reality check everytime I post on here!!
Danni - 29 weeks - wow! When do you get the car?
Electric - OMG! Fasting for that long - I think I'd be afraid I was going to faint at the wheel of the car on the way there!!! Do you have it first thing in the morning? I had my 1 hour yesterday - hope it went well - can't imagine another two hours watching the bad reception of Dr Phil and Oprah at the QML on Logan Rd.
Chels - Sorry to hear you don't feel well.
KrissyM - the kids sound too cute. Not at all like the high school kids responses I experienced during my previous two pregnancies!!! And it is amazing the things you take for granted that you can't do when the tummy is in the way! I have to admit though - this one being twins - I had visions that by now I wouldn't even be able to drive - so every day that I can is a bonus!
Shera - Good to have you back and glad the move is done. Sorry to hear you're not feeling great - hope you can find some time to rest.
I went out with two colleagues for dinner at one of Brissy's best restaurants last night - it was divine!! This morning is off to do boring medicare/shopping things and then this afternoon I have a board meeting to attend...but tonight - Deborah Conway in the Speigeltent for the Brisbane Festival - I'm so excited, I just love her music and have seen her live a number of times. It's an early show 7pm-8.30pm so really quite sensible. When I booked the tickets months ago I had visions of myself being absolutely massive and a chair collapsing under me - it is quite a nice surprise to be at this stage and feeling quite spritely and well!!
Oh well, off to join the queue at Medicare.....:rolleyes:
PrincessT
22-07-2008, 08:39 AM
Well, I started off having a good morning but now I am at work and am disgusted. There is a video on Youtube about Sophie Delezio and its made me sick. The person who posted this should be arrested.. it says such awful cruel things about her and her injuries and its double upsetting as her and her family are clients of mine and I cant imagine how they feel when they see this stuff.
Why are there so many awful people in this world?
*Chels*
22-07-2008, 08:47 AM
Morning!
Danni-Yay about new car.We brought a Hyundai Lantra Sportswagon last year and I LOVE IT!Its a great family car,and good to have a spacious boot for the pram,groceries etc!I have also always wanted a Rav 4,but I have my eye on the new Hyundai Tuscons!If only I had some $$$ LOL
Emily:wave:Good to see you back in the thread!
PT-That is really harsh.Unfortunatley there are some sick ppl out there,and they really do suck if they get a kick out of picking on an innocent,beautiful wee girl!!:mad:
I am off to do groceries and do a stash of baking.My sis is coming to stay tonight so I am gonna get her to do a pedicure for me:D
Will be back later!Have a good day guys
myusernamewoohoo
22-07-2008, 09:43 AM
its kinda hard to keep up with this thread and not really knowing anyone is hard lol .
Its nice to see we are all due around the same time .Its nice to be going through the same things with other people
I have had a couple of good days with my back so thats awesome .As for the crutches I just cant use them I have 2 little boys under the age of 3 so cant do anything with crutches lol .
I got for my gt test next week eeekkkkkk hate that test always makes me feel like **** .
Its nice to know we are all heading for the last few weeks Im just waiting to hit 30 weeks so I can count down lol
Just wanted to ask does anyone elce have a baby that seems to be laying low ?
This last week my baby is laying low and my tummy looks different and her movements are not the same there much lower.
Oh one more question ,is there a home page here that we can add tickers I know how to make one but buggered if I know how to add it .Or is there a place to go to read how to use this I cant even qote threads my preggo brain wont work
have a great day
PrincessT
22-07-2008, 10:15 AM
I think you go into user control panels and you an add tickers that way? Not sure as I am pretty clueless still after all this time!
I'm low as well. I have been this whole pregnancy.. Its strange because I was high with my daughter and even though I am having another girl its so different.
In other news - I finally got around to organising the nursery YAY. I had the amoire I got on ebay moved in and put the bassinette together - Its not much but its a start. Another day or so of moving stuff around and it will look like something LOL. I ordered a cr seat for Allegra yesterday too - its the Safe and Sound one, its new and its for 8 - 26 kilos and I managed to order one in the same fabric colour as the other car seat... I know I am anal but I like things to match!!!
Twiglet
22-07-2008, 01:42 PM
Sorry no personals today
So hideously tired that I'm like a bear with a sore head. :banghead:
84zsazsa
22-07-2008, 01:45 PM
Sorry no personals today
So hideously tired that I'm like a bear with a sore head. :banghead:
Ohhh Twiglet :hugs:
I was like that yesterday, gave a driver that breaked to hard the finger, felt like ramming everyone in Coles with my trolley and hubby hid from me for hours after he finished work!! :D
Take it easy :hugs:
Danni
Littleyorkshirepudding
22-07-2008, 01:51 PM
Sorry no personals from me either I've just popped in to catch up with the thread and say hello.
I've had a gastro bug for 2 days so feel like pooh, I have no energy and my poor little Ruby is getting so neglected as all I want I do is lay on the couch and sleep. I'm not sleeping well at night due to this bug and am having to sleep upright it's terrible.
Hope everyone else is well
talk soon
PrincessT
22-07-2008, 02:11 PM
Oh lord we are a sorry bunch today!!!!
Hope everyone gets the happy and healthy end of the stick soon.
Nothing much from me.. working on a book which is fun. I also ate about 8 choc chip cookies and now feel a little ill. Oh well, serves me right for being a guts.
BazzasMum
22-07-2008, 02:23 PM
Just a quickie...
Woohoo - go to the top of the page, little black writing and click on Tickers. You have to create one first and copy the code, then go to User Control Panel and edit your signature. Paste the code between the [IMG] thingys (I think) - you can preview before you save so you know you've done it right. Good luck!
Teena - some people are horrid. Hope it gets removed... Don't know what it's about, don't want to either!
:hugs: to everyone who feels crappy.
Off to pick up the monster....
*Chels*
22-07-2008, 02:30 PM
We are a sorry bunch today:yes:Oh dear...
I am in a FOUL mood-I hate all people in this world today.:rolleyes:
Riley is really driving me nuts.He always wants to play,or go to park or go look at diggers and all I want to do is lie down and chill!!!!!:hissy:And he just doesnt listen!!!!!I think hes just going a little stir crazy,and I want to put him in kindy for an extra day but going down to one income,I wont have enough money.Mentioned to DH that maybe MIL could have him for a day,but he didnt really say anything...and I hate her so any extra involvement would probably send me over the edge!!!
I just REALLY want to get drunk today!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Of course I wont,but I think in about 11 weeks, 4 days I will be skulling down a bottle of wine:laughing:
PinkLily
22-07-2008, 02:42 PM
Afternoon all,
29 weeks :eek::smiliedance:
Teena - That is disgusting :( Does Youtube have a reporting area where you could report this to be removed?..
Myusername - Yes I'm very low as well (check out my belly photo..). Has been from the beginning, and bub seems to be laying ALWAYS across the bottom.
Had the GT test this morning, and had been told by different places to fast for two hours before test, then by others to eat half an hour before! The one I went to said to eat brekky so I did :p Felt pretty sick and headachy for hours after... Get results on friday.
Feeling pretty c*** still, so more :hugs: for all those who are as well...
Twiglet
22-07-2008, 03:08 PM
:laughing::laughing: Gosh it does seem to be an October Baby Blue Day :hugs::hugs:
mum2ethan
22-07-2008, 03:10 PM
:hugs:s to all! We are a pretty sorry bunch today im in a foul mood as well! Ethan is being a right lil **** terrible twos kicking in already!! He threw the biggest tantrum at my grandmothers yesterday (great just what i needed especially in front of her long story dont want to get into just pretty angry with her at the moment, just up to her old tricks of starting cr@p with everyone) but i have to be nice to her as it is her birthday today.. And this morning he was chucking tantrums and all sorts (i was late to work because of it :rolleyes:)
Also my pelvis is killing me today, my fault i thought it would be a good idea to wash both the cars yesterday arvo when i got home from work...
Anyway cant wait to go home so i can rest up!
Hope you are all feeling better soon!
PrincessT
22-07-2008, 03:12 PM
You can report something - which has been done. We also informed her dad about it and he was pretty upset. My boss will be ringing the You tube registered office in California and trying to have it banned. The problem with people like the person who posted it is that they will just keep on doing nasty stuff for attention. Its horrible.
Electric Mumi
22-07-2008, 03:23 PM
Dan: WOW Danni look at that beautiful belly pic!!!! Im jealous, cant look that gud when u have a gut already..haha
Electric - OMG! Fasting for that long - I think I'd be afraid I was going to faint at the wheel of the car on the way there!!! Do you have it first thing in the morning? I had my 1 hour yesterday - hope it went well - can't imagine another two hours watching the bad reception of Dr Phil and Oprah at the QML on Logan Rd.
Yeh it was more on the way back that I felt terrible.It was at 9-30am and they had no tv! It was the smallest wait room in history..mater collection centre in Camp Hill. The lady there was lovely tho and I just read new mags she had there and chatted to the other people coming and going! I had a blood test then had to drink 1.5 bottles of lucozade (shows how much sugar is in them if medics are using them to test for diabetes!!) within 5 mins, wait for an hr and have another blood test and then another one an hour after that. So 3 in total. I felt sooo tired after the first hour and baby was jumping around like she'd eaten a bag of jelly beans! I was yawning and sluggish and felt fuzzy. Went to Carindale to get some food then went home and made a nice big ham and salad sanga and I felt ok after eating! I had a for 2 hrs and now feel "bleh".. have felt like that for a few days actually.
Whats going on with us all gals?
myusernamewoohoo
22-07-2008, 03:38 PM
Hope no one minds I do a small post to see if my ticker is working lol .
Oh yea my day went down the crapper also since posting ,my boys have been wild ,cant wait for bed time lol
84zsazsa
22-07-2008, 03:41 PM
Dan: WOW Danni look at that beautiful belly pic!!!! Im jealous, cant look that gud when u have a gut already..haha
Hey chic,
Thanx about the belly. I'm quite in love with it these days. My thighs are storing all the baby fat me thinks by the look of them!! :laughing: Thats last wks bump pic too....I got another to post in the bump thread tonight...it's bigger!! :D
I posted a reply to your question about the car too this morn its about 2 pages back now.
Sam - The mortage should be refiananced next week so then its off car shopping!! :smiliedance:
Chels - The sportswagon is the one I want!! Ex PIL had one and it was great.
Danni
farmmummy
22-07-2008, 03:43 PM
Howdy all hope feeling better soon. Not too bad have been cranky at Sarah too. I have been busy finaly painting the front of the house (undercoating) Got a fair bit done today considering I didn't start till late. I went into town to check the mail and it was like Christmas I got my breastfeeding blanket, adore-a-view mirror, the monitor I got off ebay and the Kidsline Barnyard set also from ebay. If it wasn't for the painting I'm doing then I would set up the nursery. I also got a visit from a real estate agent just before lunch so I had to discuss everything with him. Planning on getting in and having just about everything finished tomorrow or Thursday at the latest. A friend of Matt's is coming over on the weekend so if I get undercoat down this week hopefuly we can get colour on by Sunday.
Ummmm asthma is a lot better now thank goodness. But am feeling buggered mainly because I woke up when Matt went to work this morning and just dozed after he left.
Teena - It's a shame people don't do something more constructive with their time.
I will try and post again later.
Nikki x
KrissyM
22-07-2008, 05:24 PM
:hugs: to everyone having a bad day. Mine's been good so Im not joining the October sorry bunch. My class is becoming more and more fasinated by my belly. I was sitting down in the morning and one of my little ones couldnt see my belly so asked where my baby had gone. Pointed out my belly was still there than another girl walked in and shes got a little podge so he said she's having a baby too. Which then prompted a very interesting conversation from my kids about how babies come out there was a short live argument of if you get cut open or they come out your bum one thought they came out your mouth. Had to put a quick end to it, its not really my place to start explaining the ins and out of childbirth. If they ask too much I keep telling them I dont know the dr hasnt told me yet. They believe me.
Hope everyone elses day imroves
Electric Mumi
22-07-2008, 08:09 PM
Wheres this bump thread u are all posting in?? I want to peer with envy at u all!! I just look fatter :(
84zsazsa
23-07-2008, 05:51 AM
Wheres this bump thread u are all posting in?? I want to peer with envy at u all!! I just look fatter :(
Go to Search chic and type in October Bumps and search thread titles. It will bring it up.
Danni
happyhips
23-07-2008, 08:04 AM
Am starting to feel a bit better now. So is DS. He really scared me the other day but hopefully we are all now on the mend.
Sam - I don't have pneumonia, I am just a hypochondriac. The Doc just told me to continue the Amoxil and use the puffer. I think that I was reading a bit too much about it on the net :). There must be some virus running around brisbane infecting everyone, sounds like we may have had a pretty similar thing.
Sounds like everyone is doing it a bit tough at the moment. We must be losing that 2nd trimester glow. I've started feeling a bit sick again (morning sickness) which happened last time so not really surprising. Oh and I forgot to mention that I have passed my second glucose test so yay!!!!! I can eat junk food again - WooHoo!!!
Have a fantastic day everyone!!!
Annette :flowerz:
mum2ethan
23-07-2008, 09:24 AM
Morning all!
Happyhips great to hear you and DS are feeling better, sorry to hear MS has come back, im still waiting for the results of my 2nd glucose test...
Well i had another sleepless nights thanx to those damn leg cramps :banghead::hissy: hard enough to get out of bed as it is but with a cramp OMG!!!! grrrrr...
Good news is only 1 more day of work till the long weekend (Friday show day is a public holiday) :smiliedance:
So i will get to sleep in (hopefully)
Hope you are all having a great day
Mel xoxox
Shera
23-07-2008, 11:03 AM
Good Morning everyone :wave:
Good luck for those ladies who have their second glucose tests.
It seems like yesterday was not a happy day for a lot of us, :hugs: to those of you feeling down, I hope that today is much better.
I felt emotional, sensitive & grumpy for most of yesterday too I'm sick of being asked if ' are you sure there's only one in there' & 'not long now', DD is also asked if I've had the baby yet - the surprised faces when I say that I still have 10 weeks to go are funny though! I also had a argument with DF over cooking ingredients which ended in tears. It seems so silly today but DF is still annoyed with me about some of the things I said (not cooking related)! Hopefully today my hormones won't get out of control.
Have a lovely day ladies :) Emily
PrincessT
23-07-2008, 11:11 AM
Hey my lovelies - we are having a much better day today. We just finished kindy, I just ate a sandwich and Allegra is eating hers whilst watching tv... usually I dont like her eating in front of the telly but today I dont mind.
Its seriously -100 today. I want the sun back!
Going to do some ironing soon.. fun fun fun.
farmmummy
23-07-2008, 11:29 AM
Hi Girls and Craig, hope you are feeling better today. I was going to do some more painting today but it's wet and hasn't stopped raining since at least 2:30am this morning. The verandah is wet so I just stuck to cleaning up the house. I made sure the wood stove has been lit so to keep the damp air down and I've also got washing inside on the airer. I've had a nice long and hot shower (love it when we get lots of rain and I can splurge on water such a novilty when you don't have mains water just rain water). I've been sitting down in the lounge now with Sarah watching tv and eating a pack of chips, the darling just went and got me a glass of water from the cooler on the bench. This really is miserable weather. I really want to set up the nursery but don't think there is much point until August especially if MIL comes to stay before then as I will have to dismantle one of the beds in the nursery and I have a chair to pick up that I won on Ebay to put in the nursery and I need something to set up a light and the monitor on.
$Sorry I'm blabbering today I'm more than a little borded and lonley, especially with Katie being overseas (lucky bugger).
Mel - I can relate to the cramps I only seem to get them if I dont have enough salt during the day. Mind you I don't mind salt at the best of times.
Monique - Did you get a list of what you need to take to the Mater for bub when you have bub? In the normal Q Health public they at least provide cloth nappies. Unsure of what to pack for bub.
Anette - Glad you are on the mend. Nothing worse than feeling crook when you pregnant.
Emily - :hugs:I know all about arguing over trivial things, damb hormones. Plus I can relate to "when are you due?" my inlaws ask all the time. I don't know how many times I've had to tell them my due date and when I'm due. Guaranteed that I'll have to tell them again on the weekend.
Okay might go and have a quick look on ebay, not that I need anything but you never know what you'll find. Until later
Nikki x
Twiglet
23-07-2008, 12:52 PM
looks like its a better day for everyone.
Woke up with a headache but apart from that feeling great. DH let me sleep in while he walked the dogs. The look of shock on thier faces when it was him with thier leads was priceless.
After he was so perfect to me yesterday I let him go down to his toy store "bunnings" to get a new toy.... must learn to put a price limit on sayings like that. He can home with a new triton workbench. Didn't seem him for the rest of the evening as he was setting it up.
Hope everyone is doing well. Enjoy the wet weather while you can Nikki it will soon pass and you'll be back to being as busy as every.
farmmummy
23-07-2008, 02:37 PM
Jo - I would like to be doing something productive so that I could sit back and do nothing later. Mind you there are things I could be doing like ironing but can't be bothered. Would like to go for a nap too late in the arvo now.:no:
Electric Mumi
23-07-2008, 02:52 PM
Monique - Did you get a list of what you need to take to the Mater for bub when you have bub? In the normal Q Health public they at least provide cloth nappies. Unsure of what to pack for bub.
Hey Nik,
I did get a letter...hmmm not sure where I put it tho! I know they used to supply a few huggies but they asked that u take ur own as well I think. Will have a search and let u know hun. I need to look at packing my bags too.
*Chels*
23-07-2008, 04:28 PM
Am pooped today.Worked 6.30am-3.30pm,my feet hurt.Its also FREEZING here today!
Dont have work till Sunday:yelclap:
Still hate the world,and most ppl today,but to a lesser extent:D
Won an All Blacks T-shirt for bubs on Ebay last night!YAY!
farmmummy
23-07-2008, 05:00 PM
Sam - What was the website for the handbag patterns you sent me before? (I'm sure it was you - Could be wrong;)).
Twiglet
23-07-2008, 05:35 PM
Jo - I would like to be doing something productive so that I could sit back and do nothing later. Mind you there are things I could be doing like ironing but can't be bothered. Would like to go for a nap too late in the arvo now.:no:
How about baking or sawing? That's an inside job. The weather here is bad as well so I'm planning of doing all my paperwork tonight. Might actually get it to the tax man this month.
BazzasMum
23-07-2008, 05:53 PM
I asked last week at my middie appt - they DON'T provide cloth nappies up here! Spewing - I have to bring a huge bag to fit everything in!!! Hopefully I won't have to stay too long. Am NOT taking cloth nappies if I've got nowhere to put dirty ones - we all know what meconium poos are like!! :barf:
Did some laundry today - it's on the airer, but not getting any air! So humid!!
Poor DS - took him swimming this morning, with his dry clothes in the bag. My water bottle leaked all through it - he had one pair of dry shorts to wear after his lesson!! Poor love - had a spare towel in the car, and wrapped him in that till we got home. It wasn't far, but he was a bit chilly :doh:
:hugs: Chels - hope you feel a bit brighter tomorrow! Stay in bed if the weather doesn't improve...
Nikki - sounds like you got a great haul! I hate looking at eBay - so much stuff but I've got enough already!!
Annette - good to hear you're feeling better.
Oh yes, discovered AGAIN this morning coffee and vitamins don't mix. Was washing up when :barf: all over the clean cutlery.... typical! Had a cup of tea to settle my tummy before swimming. Felt fine then! Go figure...
Littleyorkshirepudding
23-07-2008, 07:16 PM
Wow I am feeling so much better after my bout of gastro, back to top form and was looking forward to taking Ruby to the zoo today with a friend after all she has been couped up with me for 2 days and it rains so we didn't go, but did manage a few hours at the playground where she fell off the slide and got jumped on by a dog the poor pet Ruby that is not the dog :D
Can't believe how many of us are poorly this week at least we can all feel sorry for ourselves together.
Bazzasmum - Don't you just hate being :barf:over clean cutlery - think of me on Sunday I cleaned the downstairs toilet and upstairs bathroom on Sunday afternoon both were sparkling clean, only for me to be sick in one on the Sunday night and the other on Monday night - why did I bother I only had to clean them all over again poor me
Anyone going to the Target toy sale tomorrow - I've spotted a couple of things I'd like to get Ruby but don't know if I can cope with it - we'll see.
I hope all those who are/were feeling unwell are better now and those who are well stay well not long to go now ladies - I have officially 10 weeks to go on Sunday same as EM wow the count down soon begins
Talk soon and take care all
loulousmum
23-07-2008, 07:16 PM
Well - have had a great day! Went to acupuncture this morning and it was amazing how great I felt when I left.
The stuff I ordered YESTERDAY (with 20% off code from MY CHILD magazine) from QueenBee Maternity arrived TODAY!!! :smiliedance: I know what you mean about people constantly asking when you are due and commenting on your size - so I finally succumbed and bought a shirt that says "There are two peas in my pod!" - I figure that should shut 'em up!!!
Got a bit frustrated this afternoon - Archie just won't eat anything other than milk, yogurt and tiny teddies. I know what you're thinking - "well, stop feeding that to him..." but as he's been sick, I'm more concerned that he's got something going in than what it is - but this didn't stop me trying this afternoon and getting a bit of an anxiety attack about it!! I even bought some toddler formula because I thought it might be better for him than milk for a short period of time - but he rejected it too.....at least I know he CAN eat - and there's no medical problem there.
Anyway - tomorrow I'm having the pregnancy massage I got a voucher for for Mothers' Day - very excited!:yelclap: But also getting a bit worried about the state of the twins' room - some clothes and two bassinets and not much else...
Farmmum - the website I recommended for bag patterns is Duckcloth but the patterns are Amy Butler so if you do a google search you may find them elsewhere as well.
Sorry to read all the sad tales of yesterday! I was at the Deborah Conway concert which was just fantastic! But now of course I feel like I need to sleep for the next 5 weeks...
Have a wonderful evening all!:flowerz:
loulousmum
23-07-2008, 07:22 PM
LYP - just missed your post - I'm at the 10 week mark too when I take into account the 38 weeks c-section or induction for twins! It is freaking me out a bit as I still feel very underprepared.
I just keep reminding myself that as long as they have somewhere to sleep (we have two bassinets), something to eat (I have two breasts) and somewhere to be bathed (we have two bathrooms -though I'd expect we only need one- newborns aren't that big or dirty) the rest will sort itself out over time.
But - I really should get motivated and pack a hospital bag....and sort out my breast pump...again though, I'm pretty sure that if they are born premmie, the hospital will sort me out with a breast pump for the time I'm in hospital. Does anyone have experience of this?
*Chels*
23-07-2008, 07:39 PM
I just keep reminding myself that as long as they have somewhere to sleep (we have two bassinets), something to eat (I have two breasts) and somewhere to be bathed (we have two bathrooms -though I'd expect we only need one- newborns aren't that big or dirty) the rest will sort itself out over time.
:laughing::yelclap:So true!!You are planning to breastfeed?That is awesome!
Massage sounds awesome-I am so jealous!!!
Know what ya mean about kids and eating.Riley has been shocking lately.Will ask for something-have 2 bites and want to throw it away.Doesnt want to eat dinner but is asking for a choc chippie biscuit 2 mins later!!!GGRGRRR!!!
Loving the pea pod t-shirt!That should shut the ppl up LOL
Oh,I forgot to mention before...A friend of a friend is 18,been with this guy for about 2 months.Hes an ex ice addict,smokes pot and drinks everyday,got hit by a police car(obviously doing the bolt from something dodgy)and wrecked his knee so gets comp and cant get a job.
He treats his GF like ****,all the drugs make his mood swings terrible.Anyways,hes a dropkick.They have been having unprotected sex since they got together,and now shes announced she is pregnant.
I feel so bad for the baby:crying:It already has a **** start to life because its constantly breathing in 2nd hand pot smoke.
So stupid!Just had to get my vent out.Usually I am sooooo excited when I find out someone is pregnant,but all I want to do is cry about this one!
LYP-I am going to Target sale with my sis,shes getting some stuff for the kids for xmas.But I think I might wait till weekend,I hate the madness the sales bring!!!:hissy:
Littleyorkshirepudding
23-07-2008, 07:40 PM
Hi loulousmum,
Just reading your post re Archie and eating - I too have anxiety attacks over what Ruby will or more like won't eat and how much, until I read a book that advised mums not to stress about it, as sometimes for a week all they will want is milk, yoghurt, tiny teddies or whatever their food thing is and that is fine too, and some days they may not eat much and some days they'll eat like we've starved them, but over all with most toddlers over a week they will be getting a good varied & balanced diet and will eat when hungry and won't go hungry if you know what I mean, so I'm just reminding you as a seasoned mum as you've probably been through it with Lou it is ok but heck isn't it a constant worry.
Glad you enjoyed the concert and enjoy your massage tomorrow you lucky thing I would love one, it's good to hear you are looking after yourself so well and the two peas in your pod - I feel like getting a t-shirt saying Don't ask - I'll answer it for you - there's only 1 in there :laughing:
Ok off for my dinner - I'm home alone tonight Hubby gets to go out for a posh dinner whilst I dine alone oh well.
farmmummy
23-07-2008, 08:05 PM
Twiglet - I've been too lazy to do either sewing or baking but if it's still raining tomorrow I'll finish off the cusion for bub's room.
Kirsty - I've been only trying to get things that I need not at thing that I want. Hard to do both but is kind of fun watching and waiting. Trying not to let it get addictive.
Sam - Thanks hun I couldn't find it earlier. Figured I might have a look at making something other than cusions, quilts etc ;). The fussy eating cloud must be over every one latley. Sarah has been fussy, wouldn't eat much over the weekend while we were camping only junk figured it was because she has her grandparent's around her little finger. But last night she wouldn't eat dinner last night so I put my foot down and said well go to hungry wouldn't eat anything then she ate everything today. Very frustrating because she hasn't been sick or isn't getting sick. Grandparents thought she might have sore mouth over the weekend but when I looked in her mouth no red or inflamed bits and she was eating packets of chips.:hair:
LYP - Glad your getting better nothing worse than gastro.
Chels - :hugs: What makes it so frustrating is that you feel so powerless to do anything as well.
Monique - Nope definatley nothing in all the stuff I've gotten from the Mater about what I need to take with me. I asked the OB last week and she didn't even know.
Oh well just watching the Gruen Transfer on ABC before going to bed. I've got to do the shopping tomorrow and take all Matt's stuff in to have our tax done. Hmmm that's it from me I'm really bored and it's getting more and more lonley being here by myself. Night ladies
Nikki x
*Chels*
23-07-2008, 08:18 PM
Nikki-I know how you feel.DH works nightshift so I get pretty bored myself!I think it will be better once bubs is here,the weather is warmer and DH starts biking to work.I might actually go somewhere when I have the car!
But yes...it does get lonely...especially without a bottle of wine to keep you company:laughing:
farmmummy
23-07-2008, 08:46 PM
Nikki-I know how you feel.DH works nightshift so I get pretty bored myself!I think it will be better once bubs is here,the weather is warmer and DH starts biking to work.I might actually go somewhere when I have the car!
But yes...it does get lonely...especially without a bottle of wine to keep you company:laughing:
I guess after everything over the last 4 years Matt has spent more time traveling away from home because the Meat works has been closed. This time around he has been traveling on and off since the beginning of last year. The most he was home was after we lost Jack, he was home till January. I have the car but almost all our friends are in Brissy. I'm just looking forward to living as a proper family again and not sleeping alone.
KrissyM
23-07-2008, 09:23 PM
Chels I can understand your frustration one of my friends has a brother like that I think he's up to his 3rd kid now its so frustrating for her especially after she lost a baby at around 20 wks which eventully ending up costing her marriage. All you can do is support her once bubs is born and help her to give bubs the best life possible (if you can)
Electric Mumi
23-07-2008, 09:37 PM
Just watching the Jamie Oliver Chicken and Egg show. I hope you all use or plan to buy from now on FREE RANGE. This show has totally opened my eyes to the reality of the shocking lives these birds live. Im so glad Jamie put this program on...we all need to be shocked into reality!
farmmummy
24-07-2008, 07:15 AM
Just watching the Jamie Oliver Chicken and Egg show. I hope you all use or plan to buy from now on FREE RANGE. This show has totally opened my eyes to the reality of the shocking lives these birds live. Im so glad Jamie put this program on...we all need to be shocked into reality!
My eggs are as free range as you get :laughing: my girls (chooks) wander around the place at will. They even walk around up at the cattle yards and stuff. I think it was good of Jamie to do the show so people can wake up and see that their food doesn't just come from the supermarket or a factory.
Still raining here so I'm going to have a shower, take Matts paperwork into town and get his tax done and do the shopping then when I get home I'm going to maybe do some sewing. Still bored...
Nikki x
84zsazsa
24-07-2008, 08:05 AM
Growing up on a farm and having an extreme animal lover for a mum (I am one too....4 dogs & 3 cats, ducks, fish, mice & pigeons says it all :laughing:) I have never ever eaten or ever will eat anything but free range. Mum told me from a young age what kind of life the poor caged egg hens live :no:.....very cruel and sad.
As a teenager I would go to the local caged egg farm in my grandparents country town with my cousin in the middle of the night and steal the chickens. Granddad used to get sooo cranky (we never got caught) but it was our little political statement on the world!! :D
Danni
Electric Mumi
24-07-2008, 09:04 AM
DANNI: thats fabulous danni!! Hippy at heart huh!! Love the political statement also! Im teaching kane about these things already too.
*Chels*
24-07-2008, 09:10 AM
Morning girls.
Its cold and rainy here today.Riley is at kindy.I don't know what to do with myself today!I think I might just be really lazy and lie and read or watch movies:cloud9:
mum2ethan
24-07-2008, 09:20 AM
Morning all! How are we today? Well im great had a good nights sleep had a CRAMP FREE night :smiliedance: i told DP im not doing anything in the arvo when i get home from work cos whenever i do i get cramps at night so he has to do all the cooking and housework :laughing: not really if he did all the cooking we would just be having 2 minute noodles or spaghetti on toast!! :yes:
Chels - :hugs: i can understand your frustration its so hard to be witnessing something like that, and not being able to change things.
EM - ive only ever gotten free range!
Well public holiday tomorrow :smiliedance: cant wait to sleep in!!!!
Have a great day!!
Mel xoxox
*Chels*
24-07-2008, 10:01 AM
Geez Mel,you are getting slammed by those cramps!!:hugs:I have been getting them mildly.If I start to stretch out my legs,I feel the cramp coming so try to stop it before it starts.
Well,I am trying to be productive.Put a load of baby clothes on...
and I just brought this for bubs
CLICK (http://www.oztion.com.au/buy/auction.aspx?itemid=4981115)
Sweeeeet!!Now lets just hope hes a booby monster like his brother:D:laughing:
84zsazsa
24-07-2008, 10:06 AM
Geez Mel,you are getting slammed by those cramps!!:hugs:I have been getting them mildly.If I start to stretch out my legs,I feel the cramp coming so try to stop it before it starts.
Well,I am trying to be productive.Put a load of baby clothes on...
and I just brought this for bubs
CLICK (http://www.oztion.com.au/buy/auction.aspx?itemid=4981115)
Sweeeeet!!Now lets just hope hes a booby monster like his brother:D:laughing:
I love that top Chels!! I bought my little guy the same one.....infact the company its from "Rock your Baby" Has made about $200 off me since i found out I was preggers!! :laughing:
Other great sites/companies are Well spotted.com, RetroBaby.com and Baby rock apparel. He's gonna be a little rock star!! :D Can only hope.
Danni
*Chels*
24-07-2008, 10:26 AM
Pretty trendy huh?I need to buy some more BLACK clothes.Why?Will tell you a wee story.
I hate my MIL.She does ppl's colours..like ya know,everyone has a season they are,and have colours they should wear etc.I dont buy into the whole thing and she is CONSTANTLY forcing her opinions on ppl and judging what they wear etc etc.
My niece Taylah is 7 months old,and my SIL is gettin so p!ssed because MIL keeps going on about what colours Taylah should be wearing.Shes a baby FFS,she suits anything:rolleyes:
MIL also despises black,and its the bane of her life that ppl wear black:laughing:She even thought DH was "Morbid" for wearing black to our wedding!!!!
Sooooo long story short-I am on a mission to dress my baby in Black whenever she comes to visit.Just to put the sh!ts up her:raspberry:
PinkLily
24-07-2008, 11:06 AM
Chels, Dannii - That top is cute as! Just checked out the Rock your Baby website - what cool stuff they have?!
EM - I kinda knew what conditions that battery hens have to live in, but that show really brought it home! Will def look out for free range always now...
I'm going to brave the Target sales. Got my eye on a few things to layby, like the portable dvd player (to put in car), Lego, Baby swing, and 'maybe' a Wii for DH for xmas :detective:
Got my regular doctor checkup tomorrow and get results for Glucose test. :fingerscrossed: I get the doc that does an ultrasound to check bubs progress and I get to see bubs again! (Wouldn't mind making sure that bubs is still a g