View Full Version : What size car is your family car?
sydneybubhub
30-06-2008, 13:37
With petrol prices on the rise, the cost of getting around in the family car is escalating out of proportion. And parents, especially those with older children, will testify that ‘normal life’ includes ferrying kids, at least once a week, to and from sporting activities, training and similar extra curricular activities that logistically can’t be safely achieved by using public transport.
What size car is the most common driven by families on our roads today? Vote in our poll and let’s see if we think size really does matter.
What sort of car you drive vs the size of your family? Based on the current economic climate, are you are considering upgrading or downgrading your engine size when you next buy a vehicle? If yes, to what? And if no, why not?
preciousbabyboy
30-06-2008, 13:41
yay im first to vote :D
i wish we could get away with our little 4 cylinder hatch that we had. so economical and easy :yes:
We drive a 7 seat pathfinder. It now costs us about $100 to fill the tank.
With another baby on the way we will have to upgrade to an 8 seater vehicle, probably a Toyota Prado. I am guessing it will be the same fuel consumption wise.
I guess I don't really have the right to have a whinge about petrol prices and a large car, because I am the one who has chosen to have a large family. I guess I just have to live with it. We do however, limit the "unnecessary" trips. :)
30-06-2008, 13:44
We just bought a 95 model of holden commodore sedan its 6 cylinder.
Bo0tifuL
30-06-2008, 13:45
We have a Commodore station wagon. Was costing !00 to fill. But luckily my Man works for a gas fitting service called LPGas1. So now we have converted to gas and we fill the car for 30. Gas will always be cheaper then petrol no matter what, So even if petrol gets to $2 then your still looking at under $1 for gas!
our little treasures
30-06-2008, 13:48
We have a 6 cylinder 8 seat (factory fitted) ford station wagon. ATM I have had to stop visiting my family due to the cost of fuel:crying: Thats really the only thing I have had to stop and that is the hardest thing! The good thing is we have the bigger car and know the costs so any extra children we may have will all fit:D Until it's time to upgrade
our little treasures
30-06-2008, 13:49
We have a Commodore station wagon. Was costing !00 to fill. But luckily my Man works for a gas fitting service called LPGas1. So now we have converted to gas and we fill the car for 30. Gas will always be cheaper then petrol no matter what, So even if petrol gets to $2 then your still looking at under $1 for gas!
We wanted to convert but after every mechanic telling us not to, we have decided that we won't be. Apparently it is not a good thing to do to the car:no:
We had a Toyoto Seca (4 cylinder hatchback) when it was just one child, and I found it very economical to run. When we had our second, we upgraded to a Toyota Camry sedan (6 cylinder) which was much more roomy, but that now costs $93+ to fill!!!! The only prob is with 2 kids, you need more boot space for the '2 of everthings' > 2 bikes, etc, so we are looking at getting a wagon or (eek!) a small 4wd just to fit us all on holidays!!
Bo0tifuL
30-06-2008, 13:56
Nothing wrong with Gas. Heaps of cars have it these days. i dont know why everyone doesnt have it lol. But you get the rebate back too so you dont pay anything or maybe a litte to convert it to CHEAP gas!
canberramomma
30-06-2008, 13:58
We have one six cylinder car (station wagon) for our whole household. There are six of us and we fill up once a month unless we go to the coast or something (but that doesn't happen very often.
DD#1 and DH usually catch the bus and the three littlies and I walk a lot, so apart from our weekly shop (that I often put off to fortnightly) and getting to and from sporting practice and games, we don't use the car heaps.
Baldie's Mum
30-06-2008, 13:59
We have 2 cars......Both 6 cyls. A holden calais and a ford XR6 ute. When we have bubba we will be traiding in the calias and getting a new car. No sure yet.....my :fingerscrossed: for a Range Rover...... :D
Petrol prices are part of life and we just go with the flow. :yes:
mumma sienna
30-06-2008, 14:51
we had a holden commodore (partners car) and we used Holden commodore staion wagon (My car) for family outings, which was chewing the petrol! we have just traded my partners car for a toyota camry altise (4 cylinder) and using that as the family car. its fantastic, its big enough but uses 1/3 of the ptrol the wagon does. very happy with the change!!!:D
we have a big 6.. landcruiser (need it for the 8 seats!) fuel wise, it is really no difference to when we had our 4cylinder tarago..
though, we are on LPG, but still use about $20 of petrol every 3-4 weeks. we get about 300km per tank of gas that lasts a week, costs around $45-50 to fill. when we were on pertrol (about 18months back now) was costing us $70 a week (and that wasnt even to FILL it) and we limited our driving as much as we could, but still did about 180km a week.
I happily go to my mums almost everyday now (15mins each way), where as before, it was lucky to be twice a week.
theres nothing we can downgrade too, like I said, even the tarago we had before this one, went through pretty much the same amount of fuel.
Chunkydunks
30-06-2008, 16:04
We have a 4 cyclinder subaru liberty station wagon. The only time we'll be getting something else is if we have more than 3 kids.
Chickadee
30-06-2008, 16:07
4 cylinders. A 1.9L Polo diesel TDI. Pretty small, but it's go-fast-red. :laughing: Only one child in our family so we can get away with a smaller car.
A Party of Five
30-06-2008, 16:09
We have a 4 cylinder Holden Zafira for our family of seven. We only use the car then we have to as we live with in walking distance of the main street and school. I can't wait for the day we have family sized electric cars :cloud9:
MummaBear03
30-06-2008, 17:36
I've only ever had a 4 cylinder car. Have a camry and that was my last car too. Can't afford to extra cost of a larger car, not just fuel consumption but also rego and insurance.
LittleButton
30-06-2008, 17:39
4 Cylinder Hatch!!! ;) Just a small one!
kayla Lilyz mum
30-06-2008, 18:40
i drive a hyundai excel, its very cheap to run costs around $45 to fill! i only have one child but pick friends up and can fit a 3 wheeler and groceries in the boot and it fits in the smallest of parking spaces! Will never go much bigger than his coz small cars are so much more economical, looking at upgrading in a years time to a brand new nissan micra, or something small and new.
Lastcenturymum
30-06-2008, 18:48
Got a 4cl Golf. It's great. Have had a 6 cylinder in the past. I think families CAN manage with smaller cars often.
Probably not the place as it's a poll question, but advantags of diesel? We had a diesel hire car and the smell nearly made me sick
SorenLorensen
30-06-2008, 19:00
4 cyclinder, subaru liberty wagon....LOVE IT.
cost me very little to run and has plenty of room for the kiddies (and the million accessories that go with them)
i have holden commodore SV6 six-cylinder and for me to fill it up from empty it cost me $120 but that can last me about 9-10 days now that im not working anymore
We have a 6 cyclinder Pajero which basically only gets used for DP to go to work and back (or for him to go fly his planes, he needs the room) my car is a 4cyl Honda Civic hatch. Enough room to fit as all in comfortably.
Threadkiller
30-06-2008, 20:30
I voted 6cylinda but i have a V6 dont know if its any different tho :laughing:
~*clairesmum*~
30-06-2008, 20:49
i have a 4 cyclinder, dp has a work car n its only 3 lol but they pay for it n we have a really old hilux ute thats 4 cyclinder as well but alot heaver on fuel then mine that only gets used for trips, four wheel driving.... etc....
markandjacksmum
01-07-2008, 10:34
We have a Commodore sedan, and want to convert to gas, but there's just no way I can fit a gas bottle plus a pram plus any shopping I may have in the boot. :( Looks like we'll have to wait til DS2 is out of a pram.
'Our Little Treasures' - What have you been told about gas coversion being bad? Is it just in relation to your model of vehicle? (My Mum has a converted AU Falcon)
WinstonA3
01-07-2008, 11:53
Our family car is a 4 cylinder Toyota Corolla. Having only 1 child at the moment, it is big enough. But if (when) baby number 2 comes along, we'll need to get a bigger car.
What I am finding annoying is the lack of choice among medium sized wagons. There are only a few available, and they tend to be base models. I need a bit more room than in the Corolla, but I also would like some luxury features.
However, many manufacturers offer luxury SUVs that have the desired features, but they use more fuel, and don't handle as well as a car. I personally don't really like the high driving position either.
We'll probably go for a European mid-sized wagon, but they often require premium fuel, increasing the cost.
BTW having a 4 cylinder engine doesn't necessarily make a car economical. I also own a 4 cylinder Porsche, and it uses twice as much fuel as the Corolla.
Gruffalo
01-07-2008, 12:03
We have two 6's. A commodore and a jeep renegade. We are looking at selling the jeep cos on a single income $110 (perhaps more) to fill up each tank (DH drives to site and back everyday in one), we are spending quite alot of $$ on petrol, and it is costing us an absolute fortune. We are looking at buying a 4 cyclinder Mazda3.
MissSparkle
01-07-2008, 12:49
We have a V6 Commodore. Atm we're spending about $80 a week on fuel but I have to drive DH to work n home every day and that stops next week (he's working closer to home so riding a bike LOL!) so it'll drop soon. We're still going to convert to gas in the next few months tho.
TeamAwesome
01-07-2008, 13:36
We currently have a 6 cylinder Commodore but we will be downgrading engine size to a 4 cylinder and upgrading our seat numbers from 5 to 7 close to the end of the year or even early in the new year.
I have a 4 cylinder Holden Astra. Great little car, I love it. It isn't just petrol prices that are an issue, but rather a desire to cut down on emissions wherever possible. Unless I somehow end up with 4 children (and the next baby would need to be triplets for that to happen!) I won't be driving a big car.
I desperately want a Prius though.
the dargonfly faery
01-07-2008, 15:35
We have a 6 cylinder Ford Fairlane. We know when we upgrade we will more then likely get a hybrid car, that will be in 2 yrs at the earliest due to the loan.
To fill to up completely it costs us over $100 and that dosn't last long when df drives to and from work plus home for lunch everyday. We have only one car, to go back to his dads 1hr away it cost us a return trip of $50.
Lolliesmum
01-07-2008, 16:47
We have a 4 cyclinder Mazda 6 deisel station wagon, which uses about 7.8L/100km! Which is about a third of what our Jeep was using. I only fill up about once a month (well I usually bribe DH to do it). Another plus is its easy to get the pram in and out, and even the dog fits with the pram!
I would definately recommend this car.
Angelmist♥
01-07-2008, 17:13
We just sold our fuel guzzler and bought a new 4cyl Nissan Xtrail :D Definitely worth it IMO. We've got two 4cyl cars now.
taliistheword
01-07-2008, 17:18
we have a 6cyl ford xd falcon which was my hubby's granddad's car soon it in great cond, hubby whats to put a v8 in it
blackdog
01-07-2008, 18:01
I don't know what it's like in other states, but we also have to pay more rego for a 6cyl car, so I have never wanted one. I am too tight!:D I have a 2.2litre 4cyl Camry, and before that I had a Corolla.
I'm not into having a car as a statement or a status symbol - to me it is just a tool.
The Camry used to cost me $50 a fortnight in petrol at the beginning of the year. Now it's more than twice that, because I also have to drive to work! :( I fill up once a week now instead of once a fortnight, and the tank costs $70 instead of $50:(
chameleon
01-07-2008, 21:06
We have a V6. We are wanting to get a bigger car though (with boot space for the dog) but maybe only a 4 cylinder (an X-trail hopefully:fingerscrossed:)
01-07-2008, 21:28
4cyl, toyota tarago.
Lollie86
02-07-2008, 00:26
We have a 4cyl mitsubishi lancer.
MamaKoala
02-07-2008, 09:27
I guess I don't really have the right to have a whinge about petrol prices and a large car, because I am the one who has chosen to have a large family. I guess I just have to live with it. We do however, limit the "unnecessary" trips. :)
Kia has brought out some 4 cyl SUVs which are supposed to be economic to run. Also with the newer 6 cyl the efficiency is becoming closer to a 4 cyl. Just have a shop around and you can have both your large family and your economic family car.
grass is always greener
02-07-2008, 09:51
We have a 6 cyl ford station wagon, we put $50 in it a week and it does what we need it to. We are lucky as DF works 900m away from our house, so he doesnt use that much fuel. We travel into Port Macquarie twice a week atm for antenatal checkups and a spot of shopping.
We use to have a 3 cyl swift, in the days before children, $50 would have the tank over flowing.
PinkAngel
02-07-2008, 15:37
We have a 4cyl BMW 1 series... costs about $65 a tank... should be interesting squeezing a car seat in it soon :yes:
StormAngel
03-07-2008, 09:58
We drive a nissan patrol, it's on deisal, usually pretty good on fuel, but with the price of deisal at the moment, we are limiting the trips (not easy with older kids).
We wont be down grading as we are farmers & it's practical on the farm
BrookeandLou
03-07-2008, 16:30
I drive a v6 commodore. I have p plate restrictions so I can't drive v8s. If I could I would have on...
ThomasMum
04-07-2008, 11:40
For our family car ours is Volkswagen's Jetta TDI (Diesel series), environmentally friendly plus easy on petrol we always forgot that we need to fill up our tank because we hardly buy em :laughing:
We also have a lil 2 doors hatchback just for me, not bad with petrol, hardly drive it only for emergency when DH is overseas for work etc because I dont like to drive much
izziesmum
04-07-2008, 20:14
Used to have a cute little Focus before Missy Moo can along....now drive a Mitsubishi Magna (the last of the series)....a little bit more expensive to run but then again I'm not going that far now days....
Mumof3Princesses
04-07-2008, 22:24
We drive a six-seater 1996 V6 Commodore. Within the next year, we will probably have to upgrade, but as yet undecided on what to get.
It is costing us $80+ to fill at the moment. :(
Bluemist
04-07-2008, 23:17
WOW...I must be the odd one out. We relied on public transport for over ten years. Did this right up until October 2007 (DD was two- trains and walking everywhere up till then) and I was pregnant with #2...we bought a Honda Jazz....which I just :smiliedance: love.
It's economical to run and is like a Tardis inside...(except the Dr isn't in there LOL).
I felt bad when I bought it because of environmental reasons but it is a necessity now.
Sammilee
05-07-2008, 00:00
We have a 4 cyl hatchback, and with 1 kiddy it's just about right. Boot space is a lil' tight but you gain some amazing 'organisation' skills 'coz you have to pack the boot right to make everything fit :laughing:.
If (and when) number #2 comes along we'll have to find a bigger car purely for the boot space, but haven't really thought about that just yet. Either way, definitely want something economical. I refuse to waste unnecessary money on fuel.
We also have a 2nd car, my trusty ol' 3 cyl Suzuki Swift which I've had since I was 17!!! :D She's a great lil' back-up car (mostly DH uses it if I need to use the other car which has the car seat for DS). Now I remember the days when I could fill up my lil' swift for about $25, no kiddin'!!!
Sammilee
05-07-2008, 00:03
We use to have a 3 cyl swift, in the days before children, $50 would have the tank over flowing.
Go the Swift!!! Gotta love a 3 cyl car... do they make 3 cyl cars anymore? :rolleyes: LOL I still have my Swift, she may be old but still a goodie :yes: :D :laughing:
GirlGerms
06-07-2008, 19:56
I drive a 2004 Corolla. It's perfect for us currently but if #2 comes along, we'll have to get a small wagon...
Our family car is a 4 cylinder Toyota Corolla. Having only 1 child at the moment, it is big enough. But if (when) baby number 2 comes along, we'll need to get a bigger car.
What I am finding annoying is the lack of choice among medium sized wagons. There are only a few available, and they tend to be base models. I need a bit more room than in the Corolla, but I also would like some luxury features.
We are in exactly the same situation! It's a shame Corolla and Lancer are no longer available as wagons. Apparently there is no market for it. What the..??
However, many manufacturers offer luxury SUVs that have the desired features, but they use more fuel, and don't handle as well as a car. I personally don't really like the high driving position either.
Once again, I'm with you. Also, the 'small' SUV's often use quite a bit of fuel - around 30 - 50% more than Corollas. I can't justify it.
We'll probably go for a European mid-sized wagon, but they often require premium fuel, increasing the cost.
I really like the Passat wagon, but I'm actually leaning towards a Skoda. Just want to see how popular they end up in Australia because the risk you run is that if they're not very popular, resale value will be poor.
BTW having a 4 cylinder engine doesn't necessarily make a car economical. I also own a 4 cylinder Porsche, and it uses twice as much fuel as the Corolla.
That's very true. The reverse also applies - 6 Cylinders don't always consume heaps of fuel, as long as they are SMALL 6 cylinder engines.
FYI apparently the Hyundai i30 is going to be available early next year as a wagon. From what I understand, it's a really good car and I'll consider it, even if I'm a little shy when it comes to Hyundai as a brand.
GG
subaruforestermum
06-07-2008, 20:22
Our family car, my beasty baby, Miss Suby Ruby is a 4 cyclinder TURBO Subaru Forester.....:valentine::valentine::flowerz:
Its an AWD, and is quite good on fuel if you drive it conservatively...lol...
Handling is great, sticks well to corners, and was the safest car on the road in its year....
I love it, and being an AWD it handles better than a front wheel drive, and better than a rear wheel drive...
Takes $60-$70 in fuel to fill her up, depending on price of fuel.....and usually gets me to brisbane and back twice, gatton and back, and kindy and back in the week..... so quite good, if I drive it conservatively and dont hoon in it....
Mamalicious
06-07-2008, 20:29
I would not have a clue how many cylinders!! :laughing:
It has 5 seats though, I think...I haven't actually seen it yet. :o:p
subaruforestermum
06-07-2008, 20:37
I would not have a clue how many cylinders!! :laughing:
It has 5 seats though, I think...I haven't actually seen it yet. :o:p
LMAO too funny...
I just sold my old car on Sunday and the chick (her boyfriend was buying it) said, can I check the VIN, so I gave her the paper that had the VIN on it, and told her where it was and she said.... "I'm only a girl, I have no idea what I'm looking for..."...cracked me up.....
What type of car is it?? Has he told you that???
Mamalicious
06-07-2008, 20:44
LMAO too funny...
I just sold my old car on Sunday and the chick (her boyfriend was buying it) said, can I check the VIN, so I gave her the paper that had the VIN on it, and told her where it was and she said.... "I'm only a girl, I have no idea what I'm looking for..."...cracked me up.....
What type of car is it?? Has he told you that???
Only a girl...lol that's silly...I just don't do car stuff :D
I think he has, but I can't remember what he said...I *think* it's one of those hatchback things, who knows!!!
I don't even know what a VIN is!!! DH looks after the car, when I get one he's just going to paint it pretty for me and make the inside all nice...I just have to look pretty in it. :o:laughing:
subaruforestermum
06-07-2008, 20:50
Only a girl...lol that's silly...I just don't do car stuff :D
I think he has, but I can't remember what he said...I *think* it's one of those hatchback things, who knows!!!
I don't even know what a VIN is!!! DH looks after the car, when I get one he's just going to paint it pretty for me and make the inside all nice...I just have to look pretty in it. :o:laughing:
LOL..... as long as he doesnt put frangapani stickers all over it.....then you'll be right;), and you can look pretty in it.... (eta sorry, just seen your avatar, I didnt realise prior....they are just too over-used on chicks cars tis all.....)
A VIN is the 'Vehicle Identification Number' (in case you wanted to know)...
As long as you know how to change a tyre, and fill the tyres with air and all that jazz. Or even better join up to a RACQ, or NRMA car club, with roadside assistance....Gives you even bigger opportunity to just look pretty in it...
Oh yeah your DH is a spray painter.....Hmmm my Bonnet scoop needs a respray soon....***wink wink..nudge nudge..*** lol...
Mum23DDs
07-07-2008, 10:07
We have a holden Aclaim Station Wagon...Lots a room for the troops :). We just got rid of my old commodore and this one is heaps better on petrol. I guess it's the new technology (whatever that may be I have no idea when it comes to cars):D.
07-07-2008, 10:12
We have a 03 VY Holden Commodore that has 6 cylinders. It costs up about $90 to fil the tank up.
Mamalicious
07-07-2008, 10:15
LOL..... as long as he doesnt put frangapani stickers all over it.....then you'll be right;), and you can look pretty in it.... (eta sorry, just seen your avatar, I didnt realise prior....they are just too over-used on chicks cars tis all.....)
A VIN is the 'Vehicle Identification Number' (in case you wanted to know)...
As long as you know how to change a tyre, and fill the tyres with air and all that jazz. Or even better join up to a RACQ, or NRMA car club, with roadside assistance....Gives you even bigger opportunity to just look pretty in it...
Oh yeah your DH is a spray painter.....Hmmm my Bonnet scoop needs a respray soon....***wink wink..nudge nudge..*** lol...
:laughing: I'll let him know :p
LMAO about the frangipanis...hahahahah no I wasn't going to have flowers on it, it's going to be hot pink with sparkles or pearl in it hehe :D
Bubble*Crazy
07-07-2008, 19:11
I drive a 2004 6cyl petrol Pajero (aka fuel guzzler :rolleyes:). I really want a new Commodore thinking it may just save us a 'bit', but DH won't be in it (he says I can buy myself one when we win lotto ... not fair :hissy: ... I want one now!!!)
We've got a volvo station wagon. It can become a 7 seater with the fold up seats in the back which is handy if we have little friends over. :)
It's not too good on petrol though!:no:
mumtojoshandsam
16-08-2008, 17:57
Currently have a Magna but with this forthcoming baby will need to get a bigger car and hopefully it will be on gas.
We've got a 6 cylider. Had to get a BIG car to fit 3 car seats accross the back and the big 3 wheel pram in the back. And living out of town there is no public transport so doesn't really leave you much choice! It's a 1998 Ford Explorer.
I hate putting fuel in it, it goes soooo quickly. I love living where we do, but having to drive to get into town to get anything can be annoying I'd love to walk more, but 25km one way is a bit far!!! (maybe I should, might lose the extra couple of tyres around the middle! LOL) and it cost about $120 to fill and that would last a fortnight, DH had a little 4cyl corolla, but even in that he goes through 3-4 tanks of fuel a fornight (travels to work) so we spend about $350 a fortnight on petrol!!!!!!
westketeers
18-08-2008, 01:25
I drive a 2002 Magna, we chose this car for the bootspace as we had to fit a twin pram in. Well, it fits great plus a whole heap more ! The boot is huge ! It drives great and it costs me about $90 to fill up which last between a 10 days to a fortnight depending on how often we travel to town(perth CBD area/airport)
3BoysBlue
18-08-2008, 08:35
Ive got a 99 vectra
its a nice size Big boot
not bad on pertrol about $60-70 to fill up 9 it has a big tank) that would last a fortnight or more
i have a ford laser with 3kids all in car seats. we fit, its not spacious but it is comfortable. the boot can fit 2prams plus shopping. atm i dont see need to get a bigger car, but if we end up having more then we will get a bigger car.
just my opinion, but if i can fit 3 babies in a small car, why does everyone see the need to have big massive cars?
bumblytumbly
18-08-2008, 15:32
We have a Mazda CX-7 and a Mazda 3. Both are 4 cyl although the CX-7 is about $85 a week to fill. The 3 is very economical though.
Sheer Bliss
18-08-2008, 16:33
We have just bought a 2003 Commodore wagon - so 6cyl. Have had a 4cyl outback for years now, but with the thought of TTC #3 int he future, I wanted a car that could fit a capsule/convertible carseat and 2 maxi-riders accross the back seat - not too many small cars will do that, and I want the security of having them in the safest carseats. The Outback can barely fit my 7yo nephews bottom in between the car seats, no way his little booster would fit (and it he were my kid, he'd still be in a maxi-rider anyway) I know some of the vans that fit lots of seats on them are 4cyl and probably not as thirsty as a commodore, but after having the space of a wagon for years, i can't go back!
we don't have a car, we walk and catch public transport instead :yelclap:
I have a MAzda 3, love it to bits. More economical than my pulsar i had. Bigger car and bigger engine.
It's actually the same size (measurement wise) as the older commodores, so we will be sticking with this unless we have 3 kids.
Hubby has a 6cyl Ford Telstar and its a GREAT car, not too much more than my car to feed.
When working out how much something is to run petrol wise, you cant go by what it costs to Fill up as you may not fill up the same amount of litres every time. So when you do fill up, take note of how many litres you put in to the car and how many kms u did since u last filled it. That will give you a more accurate picture on what it's costing :)
I was reading an article and the average fuel bill has only risen by about $20 per tank. I dont think that is a great deal personally.
madhousemum
23-08-2008, 10:16
4cyl, toyota tarago.
same here ... awsome car very fuel efficient and easy to drive and we need the space
DP is of course, a car lover. (Just my luck).
So it couldn't be anything less than a Statesman than we drive... Thankfully I managed to talk him out of a V8 one, and we have a V6 Supercharged one instead. It only influences the fuel when he drives, as he has a lead food. I don't think he cares about my disapproving stares, either. :no:
If it were up to me, I would have found a way to make the twins fit in my 4 cyl lancer! :yes:
with our 1st child i drove my 5door holden barina but once we had our 2nd we bought a magna wagon.
2 kids with car seats, pram and weeks shopping just didnt fit in the barina.
NonnyMouse
23-08-2008, 21:28
Well, my "family" is still baking, but I'll be keeping my car cause I only just bought it! It's a zippy little Honda Jazz and I love it to bits! Very economical, I've moved house with it and been amazed at how much **** I can fit in the boot, and it's a breeze to drive and park. My only concern is being not being able to put a baby seat in the centre of the back seat cause of the "ridge" there.
RaryGirl
23-08-2008, 21:33
Another one with a 4cyl Toyota Tarago.
maisymum
23-08-2008, 21:34
We have a 6 cyl Camry costs about $75 to fill, we are trying for number 4 so we will soon need to look around at a 7 or 8 seater. No idea what yet but it will be fun looking ( well for hubby anyway ).
Maisymum :flowerz:
Miraclebub1
24-08-2008, 13:50
DH has a 2002 Subaru Liberty and I have a 2003 Daihatsu Charade which will be gone hopefully this week as we have used it as a trade in for a 2008 Hyundai Elantra (4 cyl).
We only did this because DH travels a bit for work with the Subaru and my charade is a two door which makes it hard to get bubby in and out of a convertible carseat.
maybe1more
25-08-2008, 17:59
I used to have a beautiful Hyundai s coupe 4 cylinder when i had my first baby but it was too hard getting him in and out of a 2 door:eek: it was an awesome car and cheap on petrol.
Now i drive a Holden Jackaroo 6 cylinder that costs $120.00 to fill and lasts about 9 + days depending on how much i drive.
My DF drives a very old old model Holden Astra 1984 4 cylinder and it costs him $50.00 a week.
WarriorMummy
25-08-2008, 18:02
we have a 2006 tiida
if we get another car it'll be 1 that runs on water or something or we'll go bigger for another kid
floodprincess
25-08-2008, 18:18
Being a full time working family plus school aged child we've got two cars (three if you count my mothers because she lives with us).
We've got the practical 6 cyl station wagon for the around the town stuff (which will become more practical now that bub #2 is on the way); and we also have the no so practical 6 cyl 4wd dual cab ute (which is great for the camping weekends and house moves, but not so great for fitting a baby seat in)...
Both cars are reasonably economical...getting around 700kms to a tank of petrol (mind you that tank costs DH with the station wagon about $100 to fill and me with the 4wd about $130 to fill).
Not considering changing vehicles atm because of the kms/litres ratio - most family sized cars run on around 10 - 12 litres per 100kms of combined driving.
we have a v6 commodore 03 model and a 2000 mazda 121. I love my 121 but my pram does not fit with the straps of the car seat, so essentially we have swapped cars. hubby works in Sydney so it is more economical that way anyway. not really sure about our spending as only just getting into a routine and hubby is on hols at the moment. he is planning to catch the train up home (central coast) when not working.
would love a forester, but own both our cars so can't justify a loan at the moment. public transport very ordinary in our area and I need a car for work so 2 car family we will stay for when I go back to work.
Ffrenchknickers
27-08-2008, 09:24
We have a 6cyl Pajero which costs over $120 to fill the tank....a full tank lasts us less than a week.
hey im wanting to know if anyone has on 04-06 model Mitsubishi Lancer Im wanting to get out but my partner says its going to be too small. can anyone help me convince him its not.
hey im wanting to know if anyone has on 04-06 model Mitsubishi Lancer Im wanting to get one but my partner says its going to be too small. can anyone help me convince him its not.
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/images/misc/progress.gif
cookiesa
29-08-2008, 10:36
We have 2 cars. Land Rover Discovery (7 seat family) and my wife has an Excel for running to and from work.
Not cost, there is a common pereception portrayed by the media of "tank 4x4's" well sorry to ruin it for them but we use 9L per 100 km, driven gentler that drops to 8.
So although it costs $140 to fill that is good for over 1000km. We use it for travelling and our kids spend as little time as possible in front of the playstation or tv watching documentaries, they are out there seeing it for themselves and running through the bush! (feral! lol)
Petrol 4x4's are generally dearer to run, though most mid sized wagons use about the same as a commodore or falcon. BUT most of these are now available in diesel and auto. Several of the compact 4x4's are also now available in diesel including the X-trail and Tucson. Don't be shy of Hyundai, they make great vehicles (along with equipment like ships and excavators!) The new diesel powered vehicles are very different to the diesels of 5 years ago. Comparing current ones to those of 5 or so years ago is like comparing fuel injected petrol cars with carbys! If your looking make sure you drive a couple of them as a comparison
And by the way the Prius is no where near as environmentally friendly as we are led to believe when the total life of the vehcile is taken in to consideration. They have a much shorter life expectancy also. In most actual test of simulated normal driving the VW golf and similar diesels have been proven to use less fuel!
But at the end of the day don't feel you have to justify what you drive! Drive it because it is what you want and it does what you need it to do!
Cwazywabbit
29-08-2008, 21:15
With petrol prices on the rise, the cost of getting around in the family car is escalating out of proportion. And parents, especially those with older children, will testify that ‘normal life’ includes ferrying kids, at least once a week, to and from sporting activities, training and similar extra curricular activities that logistically can’t be safely achieved by using public transport.
What size car is the most common driven by families on our roads today? Vote in our poll and let’s see if we think size really does matter.
What sort of car you drive vs the size of your family? Based on the current economic climate, are you are considering upgrading or downgrading your engine size when you next buy a vehicle? If yes, to what? And if no, why not?
I only have two at home now and yes I drive a Tarago. why when I only have two? Kayacks, football friends, bikes and so forth .........maybe I need a UTE? At least that would cut down on the friends I have to ferry around.:D I have to admit It's never had a service because I work on it myself (and it's self tuning thank god) but it's been the cheapest car I've had in the long run and more versitile.
We have a Falcon Sedan - dedicated LPG only...no petrol at all!! It costs me around $45 to fill and lasts around 520km's/roughly 10days. We also have a 1991 VN SS V8 - DH's pride and joy which only gets driven on the weekends as he has a company supplied vehicle.
There is only the 3 of us atm, and as for our next car.....in a couple of years, we would be looking at something like a Ford Territory - again, LPG, but it the $$$$ allowed it, I'd be going a Holden SS Wagon....LPG where possible.
Ys_Woman
02-09-2008, 16:10
There are six of us and yet we drive a 5-seat petrol guzzling Ford SR station wagon. Dh wants us to trade up to a 7-seat Ford Territory but in three weeks time we will finally own our wagon outright:smiliedance: (bought it new six years ago). I don't want us going into debt again, would rather buy a block of land with the extra money.
I did think about getting a seat fitted into the back of the wagon but they don't seem terribly safe to me.
Dh suggested he start riding his motorbike to work to save petrol but I am so scared of him being on that contraption.
Can't seem to find a happy middle ground.
Amy:)
QuackinDuck
02-09-2008, 16:22
We have 2 Commodores, my wagon 2005 VZ (V6) and DH's 1998 VT (V6) BUT.... DH's car is modified so costs a huge amount in fuel, I use around $80 a week in fuel, he uses about the same but does 1/4 the amount of driving I do.
QuackinDuck
02-09-2008, 16:40
And to add (sorry bit of a car freak family here)
We wanted to convert but after every mechanic telling us not to, we have decided that we won't be. Apparently it is not a good thing to do to the car:no:
It all depends on what system you put into your car. There is one, more expensive system which is better for your car. LPG is not really "bad" for your car, but most of the time you end up loosing a bit of "power". Take a look at Taxi's for example.... they all have LPG and look at how many kms they do before being retired. There have been some studies done that will actually tell you that LPG can make your engine last longer.
If you really want me to go into it I can but it may seem confusing. lol
To me LPG is pointless.... and in fact you save near nothing, and loose some performance.
Higher consumption with LPG, in my old car... (2001 VX Commodore)
LPG= 400kms city driving
ULP= 480kms city driving
I worked it out quite thoroughly before purchasing our next car, to decide weather or not to find a new car already on LPG or just ULP.
I was filling up my LPG at least once a week, when ULP I was only filling once a fortnight, not to mention the fact it takes twice as long to fill with LPG.
With LPG you will also have to part with Traction Control in most cases, which then ad's another safety risk.
If you do allot of country driving then go for it, you will save heaps, but city driving ULP is the way to go.
cookiesa
02-09-2008, 17:35
There are some flaws in your points there.....
YES gas is NOT good for your engine, that's why Ford make a "dedicated" gas version of the "Barra" engine (one currently fitted to falcon/Territory etc)
Basically Gas does not have the lubrication qualaties and burns "hotter" than petrol (keeping things simple here) however here are ways to minimise the damage it does (and we are talking over thousands of kilometres here) Basically most of the damage is done to the valve seats. You may need to rebuild the top end of the engine particualry earlier than in a petrol only version.. all things like servicing being equal! But again this is more likely to be an issue for the next owner or the one after them!
Gas can be quite suited to fitment to MOST vehciles... but some are just a no no. The best way is to talk to a few different gas places NOT just fitters, look around for workshops that specialise in working on converted vehicles. They will give you an unbiased opinion based on the work they do.
And like most things.. you get what you pay for. There is the "cheap" gas conversions, generic systems.. best avoided. Then there are systems designed for particular models of vehciles. These are dearer but are a MUCH better system. Again speak to some hgas companies about the different ones they offer for your model. When they start saying we do this one because it does any vehicle your better speaking to someone else. Gas systems are NOT all the same and well worth the research!
The latest systems are called Gas Vapour they are the rolls royce of gas systems but for some vehicles they are the only real option unless you want to be continually fixing your vehicle and replacing expensive parts (things like airflow metres etc)
Taxi's are not a good example for wear as most damage is done to a vehicle starting and stopping... something Taxi's avoid doing. They are almost always at the ideal temp and running (even waiting for a fare the engine is still "warm" when they start and head off again.) They are also rarely loaded up and having to work, something the average family car is asked to do... and often when cold too. They are used very differently to your normal car, but even they break down.
Anyway gas can be a good way to save money, but you need to do your sums and talk to a few different companies about the best option for you.
Gas doesn't effect Traction control at all, it can change the stability control in some vehicle's. Again speak with fitters about your specific vehicle.
kytysmum
02-09-2008, 17:38
we have a vt commodore v6
cost around $100 to fill :thumbsdown:
WarriorMummy
02-09-2008, 17:47
wow- i gotta say i love our nissan tiida- about $40 a fortnight and thats with driving out to the beach and stuff too
finalcountdown!
02-09-2008, 21:09
we drive a v8 diesel 200 series landcruiser...costs about $200 to fill !!!!
:thumbsdown:
stephcaitmum
03-09-2008, 00:25
car what car? I have my trusty foot falcon, in other words walk everywhere, it's much cheaper and kids are fit, but hey I'd drive everywhere if i did have a car and i'd get a 4 cylinder. I reckon I would be at the coast every week if I had one.:sunshine: and be very very broke :laughing:
StellasMummy
03-09-2008, 09:11
I use to have 2005 pink suzuki swift but sold it when i found out i was pregnant as the boot wasnt very big to say the least! there was noooo way i would fit a pram in there So i got a nissan tiida.super roomy and super comfy.with rising petrol prices it cost about $70 to fill and that last me about 2 weeks. I have been taking the pram out and walking to the shops lately,tryin to do my bit for the enviroment.the hills nearly kill me tho.:laughing::laughing::laughing:
BoyCrazy
04-09-2008, 15:34
i did have a 2000 mitsubishi magna v6 sedan. i loved that car, but it needed heaps of front end work timing belts and such, and was nearing 210,000kms, i felt it wouldve been better just to upgrade . (plus bub2 is on the way)
i researched HEAPS of cars, and bought a 2005 mazda 6 sports wagon (4cyl)....i LOVE it (big understatement) it is both auto and manual, 6 stacker cd player, cruz control, climate control, 16inch alloys (thinking of putting 18s on it :o) and omg there is so much space!!! I could fit 3 prams, a portacot, bags, and kiddie stuff in the boot alone!!! hehe yes i love my new car! :laughing:
mum23girls
05-09-2008, 09:53
We have just downgraded from an 05 Magna to a 03 Mirage :cloud9: it is only a 2 door but the girls shuffle in and out without a problem. They fit in nicely with a booster for the youngest and half booster for the middle child. It is sooooo economical. $40 will get me 500k's :smiliedance: HEAPS better than the magna. We don't go away, don't have to carry round baby stuff anymore so don't have a problem with it being so small.
cookiesa
05-09-2008, 09:57
Yeah we use the excel for just the "running" around.. sometimes it pays to look at your driving patterns too and just see if perhaps running a "cheap" 2nd or even third sometimes small car is a better option. Obviously you have to also take in to account rego, insurance etc too but the other thing to for those who use their vehicles to go away a bit is it helps cut back on the amount of km's you rack up in that vehicle... could mean you keep it a lot longer and minimise the loss of trading up on a regular basis.
We have a pajero (petrol) and a few 4 cylinder cars which is not too bad as I only use the big car for trips with the kids otherwise dh and I drive the small cars to work. As for gas its ok if you have the room for it ,in a station wagon the gas bottle goes behind the second row seat so it can limit your room and in some sedans it can use up most of the boot.
Well we havea 6. We need a bigger car with #4 due soon. But the environment is a concern.As is finances.
we have 2 6 cylinders(dh's territory - company car - but we own the company so still pay everything for it and my commodore). Soon we need to upgrade the commodore. If money grew on trees I'd have the Lexus RX400 Hybrid, so I'm stuck for what else might suit my needs - maybe a 4cyl Mazda 6 wagon, but just depends on how it fits my car seats and the safety features.
muminshock
06-09-2008, 22:12
I have a 2005 RAV4 Sport. I LOVE my car...BUT. Baby number 3 is on the way and you'd be lucky to fit a koala bear between the 2 car seats so getting a third car seat in is NOT possible. We want to have 4 kids so we probably need to find a 7 seater now, save us buying another one later on down the track... oh ****!
loulousmum
08-09-2008, 10:31
We have two kids with twins due in a few weeks. We've recently traded our Honda Accord for a lovely new 6 cyl Kia Grand Carnival! It's got sliding doors on both sides and best of all, you can completely remove any of the seats in the second row to allow easy access to back row! The other thing I like about it is that you can actually walk from driver's seat to back row inside the car. The Grand version also has massive boot space - needed if 6 people are going on holiday!
We have a Honda Jazz and love love love love love it!!! Fill up for about $60 a fortnight (we do alot of walking too - and hubby cycles to work), but we get about 6L/100km.And it's a low emissions vehicle (less interest on the loan! Woohoo!) Two seats in the back no worries, pram and all the shopping in the boot which is WAY bigger than it looks - definitely a TARDIS car (wish the doctor was in there too!). I would love to keep this car forever, but I want bubba number 3 even more! Just have to figure out what will fit 3 baby seats across the back.....
kccmylife
13-09-2008, 13:47
I drive a Honda Odyssey. 7 seater as we have a 6 member family. It costs roughly $100 to fill and I limit driving to school drop offs, pick-ups, grocery shopping once a week and one outing a week, fuel last a fortnight just doing that.
I miss the days when we fitted in a 5 seater, 4 cylinder car. But then again back then fuel was so much cheaper anyway.
HarvestMoon
15-09-2008, 15:27
I have a disel I30. I fill it up once every 4 weeks for around $70-$80.
NatalieG
31-10-2008, 18:21
We have a Honda Jazz and love love love love love it!!! Fill up for about $60 a fortnight (we do alot of walking too - and hubby cycles to work), but we get about 6L/100km.And it's a low emissions vehicle (less interest on the loan! Woohoo!) Two seats in the back no worries, pram and all the shopping in the boot which is WAY bigger than it looks - definitely a TARDIS car (wish the doctor was in there too!). I would love to keep this car forever, but I want bubba number 3 even more! Just have to figure out what will fit 3 baby seats across the back.....
We're similar to you. We have a Mazda2 (bought it only 4 weeks ago!) and we LOVE it. So cheap to fill the tank and much bigger than it looks. Right now we have only one child - a 3 year-old - but we are TTC'ing #2 and reckon we'll be able to fit a baby capsule in on the other side no probs. Carting around all the newborn paraphernalia might be a slight challenge - especially when you start talking about travel cots when we go to visit the grandparents who live in the country and the like - but that's going to happen so infrequently that it's worth the small inconvenience to have a year-round low-cost, fuel-efficient car.
Our other car is an 8 year-old Hyundai Elantra... also 4 cylinder but a 2.0litre engine as opposed to the 1.5 litre Mazda.
just her chameleon
01-11-2008, 09:38
We have 2 x 6-cylinder cars. 1 x commodore (mine) and 1 x pajero (his). Our fuel bill is $200 per week :eek: I hate how much it costs us, but there's very little we can do. We live 25km out of town, DD works on a farm an hr away and needs his 4wd because when it rains he can't get to work without it... Although he'll tell you he NEEDS his 4wd to go 4wding :rolleyes: Fuel would have to go up a lot more before we looked at changing cars...
crazyaboutbubs
01-11-2008, 10:24
I don't have a family yet.. But i brought a new Hyundai i30 about 3 months ago. I made sure when i was buying i was thinking about family.. the boot is quite large for a small car.. enough to fit a pram and other things. Its quite roomy inside.. and It's 4 cyclinder diesel. So it's about 800ks to a tank.. i only fill up every 2 weeks. :yelclap: So it's about $35 a week to run. The insurance is quite low on it.. And it's got a 5 year warranty. I don't plan on a big family.. If we were to go anywhere about 2 children.. i think we would look at a bigger car.
lovbemummy!
12-11-2008, 11:05
We have a ford XR6 and a ford Ranger turbo diesel (yes we love fords, and no we're not bogans!), it the first time in our lives we haven't had a V8, and that is because my husband has difficulty getting into them due to spinal surgery earlier in the year. We found V8s have very similar fuel consumption to V6 and the difference is negligable. We will probably in the new year be upgrading to a Ford Territory so my husband can get in and out of the car easier. It will use more fuel as its heavier, but it doesn't bother us that much.
Our family car will never be a 4 cyclinder because they don't have the power to haul around 4 adults, and I like to go up hills when the car is fully loaded with ease and not struggle.
Maybelline
20-11-2008, 08:46
We are having firts baby..we have 3 door hyundi getz..super cheap to run..also 3 door jeep wrangler and 3 door studibaker...see are theme..no back doors..ahhhhh..we are looking into a 5 door with big boot...mazda 2 or 3 i like...
proudmama
27-11-2008, 20:07
we have a mazda 3 and highly recommend it - spacious, big boot, economical and just generally safe IMO
we are lookin at a bigger car but withthe way money is nowadays we might wiat for a better time - the mazda is great for the moment and with how we want to time the kids all three (whent he other 2 are born hehehe) should be able to fit in the back
Pina Colada
27-11-2008, 20:13
VroomVroom I drive a V8 :D
Holden SS Crewman Thunder.
We are leasing it at the moment, and when the lease expires we will buy it for DH car, and then we will lease a Ford Territory for me to drive :yelclap:
familyof10
30-11-2008, 10:47
we have a toyota landcruiser 8 seater but we really need a 10 seater any suggestions would be greatly appreciated it will have to be second hand. 2 adults, 8 children[13,12,11,9,8,5,2 and 7 months].
6 Cylinder. We currently have a Mitsubishi Pajero but just sold it for a VX commodore wagon.
30-11-2008, 11:03
I dont know how many cylinders ours is, its a Ford Transit 12 seater,
Familyof10 - we recently upgraded as I was never going to get 5 carseats into the people mover we had which was only 7 seater and I babysit 2 kids up to 5 days a week so really needed something bigger!
I love my Transit, yes its a beast of a thing but it means we have plenty of space for our massive grocery shops, it means we can go on family driving holidays without the kids all confined next to one another etc etc not to mention it costs $100 to fill up and does on average 550km to a tank... my people mover was costing $100 to fill and only doing 350 (transit is on diesel, ppl mover was unleaded)
lovelymum
30-11-2008, 11:14
Hi we have a mazda 3 sedan and its great. We have 2 car seats in the back at the moment and easily fit our phil & teds pram in the boot plus a bit of shopping as well. It costs me around $20 a week to run as I only really do local driving. We are TTC and I have just returned from Baby Bunting as we are working out car seat confirguration and it looks like we should get three car seats in the back - we will have to buy 3 new car seats but it sure beats buying a new car!!:laughing: If anyone else has a small car & three seats in the back could you let me know how it is working out & what seats you purchased. Thanks:cool:
jimmysmummy
30-11-2008, 11:47
Ours is a 5-cyl Land Rover Discovery turbo diesel. It's fantastic to drive and has awesome fuel economy.
We go 4wding quite often and have a great time in it.
embryonichappyperson
30-11-2008, 19:27
We have a 2001 Toyota Prado 8 cylinder. I love it, easy to drive and plenty of room in the boot. I live in the country so its good for traveling up to the city and going to Esperance to do a big food shop. We do 4WD and it guzzles fuel but I still love it!
carleena
01-12-2008, 16:03
We have a 4 cylinder Toyota Camry station wagon. It's very economical but has heaps of room in the back and we can fit the dog in too
mother of six
03-12-2008, 22:46
I have recently bought a new commodore v6 and my husbane has a ute and a v8 vn and considering, mine being new is really cheap on fuel and lucky my husbane's work car is v8 but only work a few streets away :)
GirlGerms
05-12-2008, 07:08
I drive a 2008 model Nissan X-Trail diesel with all the trimmings. I don't mind driving it, but would have to say that it is one of the ugliest cars available at the moment. But it's more fuel efficient than our previous car, which was a 2004 Corolla. Go figure!
GG
We have a 6 cylinder honda accord for our family that car is actually mine but my husband also have a 6 cylinder honda Civic that we use occasionally.
MrJones&Me
19-04-2009, 13:13
We have 3 cars:eek: for two people...lol
We have 1x Turbo Diesel 80's Landcruiser (DP's dream car... and our very comfortable travelling car)
1x little 4cyl suzuki swift for me... (our little shopping car)
and another beast, a petrol 80 series thats being sold: it was mostly for 4wding anyway.... (anyone wanna buy? let me know!!)
3'llhavetodo
19-04-2009, 13:22
A 4 cylinder Nissan Terrano, not terribly fuel efficient. We mainly got it as it is 7 seater and it makes it up our rediculously steep driveway.
And DH has a 6 cyl Toyota 4runner It stinks and I hate it.
I would love a hybrid if we could afford one and it could fit the fam and driveway.:laughing:
TripleTime
19-04-2009, 13:50
I have a 2004 VZ V6 Commodore Wagon only thing i can get everything in, would rather a Ford Territory & i buy my Dad's off him in 2 yrs.
DF has a 2004 Ford BA XR6 Turbo that is his toy cross daily driver. Seeing as all toy cars were sold late last year.
Courtney83
19-04-2009, 14:10
We have a Mazda 3 as our "family" car, it's 4 doors, 4 cylinders....but it's not too good on the petrol. It's a bit of a guzzler, but we love it. DH has a Landcruiser ute for work, but we love our Mazda 3, it's just the perfect size for our family - Me (25), DH (28), DD1 (5) and DD2 (on the way).
MamaLlama
19-04-2009, 21:01
LOL We don't have a car! I've lived in Melbourne for 4 years total and have never owned a car. If you live close to the city and on good tram/train/bus routes you really don't need one.
The freedom to just take the pram and walk to everything is amazing! And really, if I couldn't walk to it, its too far for DS to be happy in the car, but then he's not used to a car either.
I know it will be harder with 2 though :-)
MoreKisses
20-04-2009, 09:12
We just upgraded my old car. I used to drive a heavily modified V6 Supercharged Calais that ate a ridiculous amount of fuel. Just bought a 09 Holden Calais, V8. Eats far less fuel then the old car and has a 5 star safety rating as well.
Hubby wants to buy another car soon... he wants to buy a Patrol. He drives a van for work and his 'toy' (another heavily modified Commodore).. well neither of us would put a child in there. So a Disel Patrol is going to be in our garage soon enough... also good to pull the jetski.
6 Cyclinder Ford Territory, costs me $80 to fill up but probably only use $30 a week worth of fuel, so I find it very reasonable and fuel efficient (does close to 600kms a tank). I have 1 DD and am expecting another one in 4 months time, love the space and size of the boot, love the height of the car, it does me fine.
butterflykisses06
20-04-2009, 19:03
Had to laugh (sorry) at this one, but we are in the same boat!! I currently drive a Holden Jackaroo 7 seater, but I'm afraid it's time to trade to a Hiace Commuter (think courtesy bus for the local RSL!) as number 9 between us is due to make their appearance any day now! It costs us a fair bit to fill up, maybe $90, but as we usually walk most places it's not too bad...
(Even funnier considering that I have a broken left leg and a sprained right ankle - can't drive anywhere with that!)
taliistheword
20-04-2009, 19:57
our everyday driver is a xd 1982 with a 302clevo v8 in it, we go through $100 a fortnight
TripleTime
20-04-2009, 23:50
our everyday driver is a xd 1982 with a 302clevo v8 in it, we go through $100 a fortnight
Sounds grumpy:yelclap:
We drive a 6cyl petrol, 7 seat Nissan Patrol.
Gonna need it too, with 4 kids now.
Last year I was looking at the corolla station wagon. A decent second hand one. BUT kind of glad we didn't do it now.
BUT I soooooooo wanted my corolla. :crying:
We were going to keep the patrol, but only for towing, and family trips away.
Later on we will upgrade to an 8 seater. BUT not for a few years yet.
I drive a starwagon which i hate ( no air con and window don't open in nrth qld:hair: ) I want to get a 12 seater Hi ace.
Missbella
22-04-2009, 16:31
Nissan Tiida sedan, 5 seater, 4 cyl, 1.8L. It costs about $60- $70 to fill as it's a 52L tank and it runs on premium fuel. Not too bad, comfy car, not the sexiest model, bit a of a granny car, but it works for me.=)
A Party of Five
28-04-2009, 11:04
We have a Holden Zafira (4 cyclinder) with seven seats.
MUM 2 BUB
19-05-2009, 19:35
Im probably driving one of the smallest cars around lol. I have a 4 cylinder Nissan Micra. The new 2008 model. It has a 1.4l engine and I can get 560km out of 1 tank of petrol (35 litres). It's a beauty, yet might have to upgrade to a bigger car if Im really going to have twins hehehe.
Urban Tumbleweed
19-05-2009, 21:07
We have a 4cyl '06 Suzuki Swift which is SMALL.... we only have the one child and could possibly fit another one. I HAD to buy a P&T's Vibe because it fits in my boot without pulling it all apart (thats what i told DP anyway lol) Its good on fuel i think it costs me $50 to fill and i get 500km out of that (mines the sport model which has a bigger engine so the fuel economy in the others would be better) I would love a bigger car... ive always wanted a mini people mover but thought i would look a bit funny seeings as we only have the one child?? lol :confused:
we have a 6cyl 7 seater grand voyager, only just upgraded from our 4cyl daewoo as it could only hold 2 carseats and we have #3 on the way :D
8isenough
20-05-2009, 10:39
We have a V6 Kia Grand Carnival which seats 8.
I love my car its got great boot space
We have a 4-cylinder Yaris. There's only me, DH & DD and a new baby due any day now. We live fairly close to Sydney's city centre so didn't need anything too big really - in fact, we had survived our first 3 years here in Sydney with no car at all! But we bought it because with the new baby coming and DD now being at school, it makes life just a little bit easier.
I think a full tank of petrol is 40litres and we get about 300km or so out of it - could probably get more if we were doing more long-distance driving but in the 4 months since buying it we've only done 1000km - so about 250km per month, which isn't too bad really.
We still walk or take the bus a lot of the time and I anticipate doing a lot more walking once bubs arrives - at the moment, I am driving the 1.5km to DD's school every afternoon to collect her as I can't physically walk that far (can't even walk the 500m or so from the bus-stop by that time of day)
love2190
14-04-2010, 11:49
I have 4 sylinder Maruti 800 car. I am comfertable with my family in this car. This car is very good for me in terms of cost and conviniency.
BlessedWithBlue
14-04-2010, 13:33
We have a Ford Territory (6 cylinder)
It costs under $80.00 to fill up and that lasts us for the fortnight. That is school both ways, sometimes dh takes it to work and we are out and about usually the whole weekend so suits us just fine.
twins plus
14-04-2010, 18:52
we have a 6 cylinder Kia Carnival but it's a oldish one with 7 seats, we want to up grade to a new one with eight.
TacoFest
14-04-2010, 18:54
I have a brand spanking new land rover discovery :D
I love love love it! It has 5 seats but can be a 7 seater and can comfortably fit 3 car seats in it.
Mum2Mimi
14-04-2010, 19:23
I have a brand spanking new Ford Territory! :bee: looooovvve my car!
we only got the 5seats but can change it to 7seater if need be,but will deffinatley fit 3seats comfortabley in the back :yes:
TacoFest
14-04-2010, 19:24
Haha jess our posts sound the same!
MountainGirl
14-04-2010, 19:43
I have a brand spanking new land rover discovery :D
I love love love it! It has 5 seats but can be a 7 seater and can comfortably fit 3 car seats in it.
I have a 'Disco' too!!! How fabulous are they?!?!?!?!?!!!!:D:yes:
TallisLanesMummy
14-04-2010, 19:47
i have a V6 commodore, i refuse to go anything smaller than a commodore as i have seen the damage that can be done to people in accidents in smaller cars (Holden Appollo my mum had one and t-boned someone not her fault) i want to upgrade to a 4wd
~BEXTER~
14-04-2010, 19:54
I have a 4 cylinder toyota corolla, I love it $40-50 to fill it and I get just over 500ks.
I did have a vl commodore that I really do miss, but it was costing me $70 to fill it and I was doing that twice a week so there was no way I could afford that now.
TacoFest
14-04-2010, 19:56
I have a 'Disco' too!!! How fabulous are they?!?!?!?!?!!!!:D:yes:
Amazing!! I adore my car. What colour is yours :D
Little-Pink-Hen
14-04-2010, 19:59
We have a ford focus , 4 clinder :)
don't think it's necesary to have v6 or v8 if u have a sedan
but we will end up needing a 4x4 by bub 3 as you can't fit in one car seat really in cars these days
but when we get a larger car I'll be getting diesel
Have a tiny hyandi getz & bub #1 on the way
2 door car is not such a great idea for access to bubs capsule and will need to A-chose pram very carefully or B-use baby carrier when car is necessary and walk alot.:smiliedance:hey either way i'll get fit:flowerz:.
MountainGirl
15-04-2010, 13:24
Amazing!! I adore my car. What colour is yours :D
Navy Blue with cream leather,.. how about you?:)
We have a 6 cylinder BMW x5 turbo diesel that cost about $120 to fill up but we get 900kms to a tank
TacoFest
15-04-2010, 13:49
Silver with cream leather :D I love my car! Seriously the best decision we made
TacoFest
15-04-2010, 13:57
Silver with cream leather :D I love my car! Seriously the best decision we made
lemongrass
16-04-2010, 06:35
we have 1.3 lt jazz 2008. only cost around 35 dollars to fill. surprisingly fit my husband. he's 195 cm tall.
I love it!!!:thumbsup::thumbsup:
V8 Holden Commodore VE :yes:
SweetSerenity
16-04-2010, 07:11
Ours is a 09 Nissan X Trail - so 4 cylinder :)
We have a 3ltr Turbo Diesel Hilux Duel Cab Ute.
It's perfect for our needs, as we go out West a fair bit.
We had a V6 Lexcen Wagon when our daughter was born, then sold it to my partners parents when we got the Hilux.
We looked at trading the Hilux in for a V6 VY Commodore Wagon, but decided to stick with the Lux.
With Baby #2 on the way, 2 car seats will fit in the Lux perfectly.
erinrose
16-04-2010, 16:47
We have a Toyota Yaris Sedan, its so awesome on fuel, & as we only have 1 9 yr old its fine. We are currently preganat with no 2 & there's no probs fitting in a car seat & pram in the boot (the boot is huge!- the main reason I choose this car) ... the catch will be will we fit 2 car seats & our daughter comfortably if we decide to go for no 3!? We used to ahev a 6 cylinder Vienta (camry) but as we have a minimum 8 min drive to school, & corner store, 20 mins to sgoppping centre & 1 hr to family, we just couldn't afford the fuel anymore!! I love my Yaris... best car i've ever owned:yelclap:
Blonde Assassin
16-04-2010, 17:09
Well everyone knows what I drive :p
DF has a Honda Legend which has a bit more space, so we usually take his if we're all going out together on the weekends. Very comfy car! But nothing compared to mine! Hehe :yes:
LillyPonds
17-04-2010, 17:10
:wave: Ladies
We have as our family car a Turbo Diesel 4 cylinder Toyota Prado Grande 8 seater.
DH also has a V6 commodore S pac sedan.
We are going to need the extra seats.
cuddlepot
10-05-2010, 12:48
We have a VN commodore atm but will be upgrading sometime this year.
Hubby wants me to get a dual cab ute because of the pony and having to tow a float.
I'm considering a prado or some sort of van. I told him the other night that while we have DD & DS and are TTC #3 that i'm not sure I want to stop at 3 so it would be more practical to buy a large family car now so we don't have to upgrade again :D
We have two cars, one is a nice nissan pulsar love that car to bits, and the other is a duel fuel (gas and unleaded) v8 statesmen, love that car too hehe. We are considering up grading to a bigger car but not sure yet. If we do i want a little wagon thing with the seats right up the back etc.
hsvmum09
11-05-2010, 10:39
We own 2 cars:
FG xr6 Turbo Falcon
Toyota Prado Grande
ETA: I should change my username now that I no longer drive a holden!
I've got a Ford G220 Fairlane (which is a v8)
We also have a v8 tonner and another v8 sedan...... hehe
1CrazyMoose
17-05-2010, 08:45
We have a 2010 Subaru Forrester. Which I love to bits. It costs about $70 to fuel when prices are high, which lasts about 2 weeks and I drive alot. (Also go holidaying alot too) Its only a 4 cylinder with 2 exhausts which apparently is better (not sure why) It has a HUGE boot (which is great for carrying 2 of everything plus shopping plus holiday stuff. Its very good on the road, has all the saftey options installed (7 airbags, etc) 5 seats but extreemly roomy with lots of storage options!!
I love this car!!
We had a forester before this one aswell and found it just as great!! Would definately recomened to every family. EXTREEMLY RELIABLE! :-)
Alastair
18-06-2010, 20:28
We have a wagon of 8 seated.Its big and very comfortable.Its has 8 cylinders.Its working is smooth and its very economical for us. Real time chicago Real Estate (http://www.dwellonerealty.com) listings
listings
V8 power!! I have a VE HSV Clubsport - Its not really that bad on fuel I don't think. Its the car I wanted, I am not going to let fuel prices dictate what car I buy. When you add the difference of fuel savings on something else of similar size it really doesn't add up to much over the year - I waste more money on other crap.
Misschief
24-06-2010, 20:28
I have a little Nissan Micra (new model). It's very fuel efficient. But when I bought it, I was still under the impression I was sterile, so having to fit a pram and carseat were the last things I was thinking of when receiving the keys to my brandnew car.
Now, 2 years later, Im selling it. Its WAYYYYY too small. Its a fantastic car for people who don't have kids. But I need to get a sedan or stationwagon.
I don't have a car at all we both don't drive :)
headoverfeet
29-07-2010, 17:26
We have a Mitsubishi Magna 4 cylinder, but were trading in for a Land Rover Discovery TD5 so 5 cylinders so I'll vote for 6 :confused:
motheroffour
23-08-2010, 13:30
haha we actually have 4 cars but only drive 2, mine is a 4 cylinder turbo diesel delica,7 seater for our big family and dp drives the little kia rio to work, we have an old ford ute and a sporty toyota supra which we are trying to sell(any one want to buy it:laughing:)
6 seater, 4 cylinder auto...nice and cheap on fuel and rego :D
waterlily
23-08-2010, 13:38
4 cylinder.
JabberJaw
23-08-2010, 13:38
We have 3 cars, all get driven.
The one on the mainland is just a 4 cyl. gets us from a to b while over there, rarely gets driven though as we dont go over there much.
I drive a 6 cyl ford station wagon here and hubby has a v8 clubsports which he drives to work and home. I am not allowed to drive it :laughing: its lowered so he fears i would knock off the sports bumper kit! Especailly round here where there isnt alot of sealed roads, just gravel tracks.
The cost of petrol here is on average at least 40cents extra per litre, often more. So we have been as high as 1.99L many times.
MegaGuts
23-08-2010, 14:01
DP's car is a V8 holden ute (very nice :D) and the family car is a V6 ford sedan and we actually find that both of them are really quite economical on the fuel. I can fill up my car once a fortnight on $60 and it will usually last me till pay day (get paid fortnightly), if not, i'll top up with maybe $20 worth of fuel.
So in a fortnight petrol wil cost me between $60-$80, i don't think that's bad for the size engine it is and that's including me going to work some days, driving to appointments for DS etc.
We wont have to get anything bigger for when this baby comes along, but i think we may have to when we have a second baby in a couple of years time, as i think we may struggle for room in the back with DS and two baby seats. We'll cross that bridge when we get to it though :D
~BEXTER~
23-08-2010, 14:09
I just upgraded my family car, having two kids in a crolla didn't work when we went on holidays, lol
So now we have a Magna V6, not sure I am going to like the petrol bill, but I am loving all the extra space
5 door mazda 323 I think it's a 4 cylinder haha I have no clue
tank if fuel last me about 10 days to and from work 45 minutes each way and around town
oleander
23-08-2010, 14:26
DF and I both have 8 cylinder cars although we also have a spare car (for the dogs) which is a 6 cylinder.
GirlGerms
24-08-2010, 10:25
We have a (4 cylinder) Corolla wagon, which has a nice, big boot. We have no intention of getting a bigger car when #2 comes along. :sunshine:
Bundleoflove
24-08-2010, 11:00
I have a ford territory, RWD only, but it's great on fuel. Am probably spending the same as my last car on fuel, mazda 6 even though it was only a 4 cylinder and the territory is a 6! I have room for the dogs in the boot, and heaps of room for our first bub, and second maybe when that comes along!! Heaps of room when we go on holidays!
It's 2 years old now, and am still as happy as I was day one with it!! I don't think I could change, only to upgrade in a few years maybe :yelclap:
trishalishous
24-08-2010, 11:06
we drive a v6 holden adventra wagon, 7seater (but we use 5 plus extra boot space) on lpg. we have all the luxury extras, and added a roo bar as we are off-road/country driving 90% of the time.
it cost us 400 to drive melbourne-perth, cheaper than flying!
we are looking for another one as a second car.
LightyClan
24-08-2010, 20:16
We drive a Nissan Patrol and it cost us about $140 to fill both tanks which I would go through in a week as we are far from everything but does get good milage because they are highway klms.
coreysmummy
24-08-2010, 23:19
We drive a Holden Apollo which is a good size family care for us with one child also not to expensive to fill about 60-80 dollars depending on the price of petrol of course.
hyundai santa fe, its a 6 but uses the same amount of fuel as my old car, 9.4L per 100km. Plus all the luxurys aww love my car
ATM we have a 04 Mazda Tribute but looking to trade it for a 08 Subaru Tribeca 7 seat in about a years time as I want the extra room and the extras that come with the premium model. (prob won't use the extra seats). Both are 4 cyl although the Tribeca has more L. If i happen to fall pregnant in the mean time than we might have to wait 2 yrs for me to go back to work before getting the Tribeca.
Ffrenchknickers
25-08-2010, 10:53
We have a brand new Hyundai Imax, love, love LOVE it :D 8 seats, big boot, 4 cyl.
25-08-2010, 11:19
6 cylinder.
94 Holden Commedore.
CrackleNPop
07-09-2010, 14:17
We have 6 cylander Toyota Land Cruiser.
Although sometimes the thought of filling a nice little 4 cylander up sonds apealing. The thought of being squished into a little car does not. So im happy with our 6 cylander. (and it is duel fuel so we mainly run it on gas anyway which is much cheaper)
MummysYellowCar
07-09-2010, 20:05
We have a 2006 4 cyl Hyundai Getz. Bought it before I was planning on kids; now it's all paid for which suits us because now I'm a single mummy. Costs me about $40 a month in fuel. Can drive Brisbane - Sydney for under $60.
Angelinas_mummy
08-09-2010, 20:46
I have just traded in my Honda Jazz 4cyl manual and around town would use 5.7L to 100kms = hardly anything. Fits my 6 year old (whose in a car seat) and shopping in really well, so easy to park.
We now have a new Nissan Xtrail 4cyl auto as twins are due next year. Tried carseats in car (all 3) and fits really well and enough space for a large food shop and double pram. Running cost, so far around town about 9.2L per 100km:yelclap:
Juliets Dad
13-09-2010, 19:45
We now have a new Nissan Xtrail 4cyl auto as twins are due next year.
We have an X-trail as well. Great vehicle, and I love the smoothness of the CVT, even if it is a little sluggish at times. I bought it when driving 70+kms through the bush to work and back each day. so it still has the bull-bars and lights (after the Magna got intimate with a big grey 'roo and lost). Juliet however, settles much faster in the noisier, much less well sprung and diesel powered Freelander 1 DW has had for a few years now, and loves :)
Rallymel85
03-02-2011, 13:41
I have a 4cyl 3ltr Turbo Diesel Manual Nissan Patrol.
We're also about to purchase a V8 VT SS Commodore for DF (although i'll be stealing it whenever I can).
vickiw1978
03-02-2011, 13:46
I have a ef falcon....and we have 5 kids and one on the way....o god i so need a van or 4wd
Sent from my GT-I9000T using Bubhub
We have a Hyundai xi35 and we want to downgrade. We have 1 kid and are done. Ge us only 2 so don't have a lot of baggage. When he gets older maybe go back to the big car but for now it seems very expensive for what we use it for.
BMW X5
Cost about $180 to fill...
We have an X5 too but it cost us $120 to fill up sometimes less. We have the turbo diesel maybe that's why
MagicalLeopluradon
02-03-2011, 06:49
We have a Hyundai Sante Fe 4WD V6, we put it 50.00 and it lasts us about a week.
seasidemum
02-03-2011, 08:16
We have a Toyota Kluger older model 2005. Bit expensive to run but it's a fantastic family car :D
BabelFish
02-03-2011, 08:23
We have a Corolla and I love it. Costs $50 to fill and lasts two weeks. Fits my kids, two large dogs, and anything else we need!
becca022
02-03-2011, 08:39
We've got a 95 Ford Station Wagon & we can fill up the gas for about $40.00 & it lasts ages.
We would never go without gas again.
millsmum
03-03-2011, 07:45
We are very lucky and dont have to pay for fuel, my husband work provides us with a fuel card for our nissan x trail which is our family car and my husband has a work car.
billieboo
03-03-2011, 21:35
4 cylinders, but only when its raining and I can't pedal!!
BA Falcon and a Mitsi Lancer here!
happymum81
04-03-2011, 17:09
We have a Prado for myself and an old Mitsubish Magna on LPG for DH. So about $140 a fortnight on petrol combined between the 2, which I dont find too offensive for the amount of driving we do :)
ladybug73
11-03-2011, 10:09
We have a big blue transit van, a 12 seater, 4 cylinder and a 8 seater commodore (dicky seat in the back) a 6 cylinder. We still need to take both vehicles when we all go out though as we can't fit the third baby seat in the bus as it's rear facing at the moment. Once J is forward facing we can all go in the bus.
HeldAtRansom
11-03-2011, 10:12
WH statesman international standard 5 seater. It's perfect with it's massive bootspace. We only have DS2 every other weekend so when bubba comes we still won't have to upgrade both car seats and DS1 booster fit very nicely along the back.
Eta it cost 81 on premium fuel to fill pw
chopchop
27-03-2011, 10:22
nissan navara dual cab for bikes and moving and hyundai elantra for runabout/work car
chopchop
27-03-2011, 10:22
WH statesman international standard 5 seater. It's perfect with it's massive bootspace. We only have DS2 every other weekend so when bubba comes we still won't have to upgrade both car seats and DS1 booster fit very nicely along the back.
Eta it cost 81 on premium fuel to fill pw
80 on premium thats not bad hey.
HeldAtRansom
27-03-2011, 10:27
80 on premium thats not bad hey.
Yeah pretty happy with it considering it's a heavyish car
We have a XC70 Volvo diesel wagon. Love, love, love it. It is really economical on fuel, and so far, so good, nothing has gone wrong. Would highly recommend it. Costs about $90-$95 to fill and for that we get between 850 to 1200 kms (depending on how many traffic jams we get stuck in).
Had a Mazda 6 diesel wagon till a few months ago and while nice to drive, had heaps go wrong with it so we decided to ditch it 10 weeks before the warranty expired and it started to cost us. Would not recommend a Mazda 6 in diesel at all (people I know with the petrol versions seem to love them and have little problems).
Sent from my iPhone using Bub Hub
I have an old diesel Hi Ace. I love it. It is a 11 seater with a metre boot. It is just perfect for us.
Monster & Boof
27-03-2011, 11:42
We have a ford territory bought it brand new the last week of December 09 (silly really coz now I have rego due the same time as Christmas) but I love it, it's got 7 seats (with them up there is no room in the back though) but as there is only the 2 boys there is still plenty of room :) costs about $90 to fill and can be thirsty depending in the drives your doing and how you drive it?! It would probably last me a week and a half - 2 weeks, lately I've just been putting $50 in a week.. and DF has an 80s series landcruiser maybe 1997? It's on Gas so makes it cheap especially coz he only drives it if he is going camping or what not as he has a work car for work..
jamikels
30-03-2011, 16:41
Hubby and I picked up our new 2010 Subaru Forester the day before we had bub! We did have a new Impreza, but the boot space was not great once the pram was in seeming as though the ancor point was right through the middle... The Forester is still 4cyl and uses roughly 9.2L per 100kms, which was very similar to the Impreza anyway. It's a 2.5L engine compared to 2L in most 4cyls, but we honestly cannot split the fuel consumption between the bigger and smaller engines, it's fabulous and just has more guts. It costs about $70 to fill, but it lasts a couple of weeks with our daily driving. We now just have much more boot and interior space, plus the safer feeling of being in a bigger car.
princessmummy
01-04-2011, 19:39
We have just bought a new car today at the moment we have a suzuki grand vitara which is excellent but just not enough room when the kids have friends over,
We have bought a Nissan Dualis +2 they are 7 seater & look really good only problem is we have to wait untill may for it to get delivered :(
1CrazyMoose
01-04-2011, 19:46
Hubby and I picked up our new 2010 Subaru Forester the day before we had bub! We did have a new Impreza, but the boot space was not great once the pram was in seeming as though the ancor point was right through the middle... The Forester is still 4cyl and uses roughly 9.2L per 100kms, which was very similar to the Impreza anyway. It's a 2.5L engine compared to 2L in most 4cyls, but we honestly cannot split the fuel consumption between the bigger and smaller engines, it's fabulous and just has more guts. It costs about $70 to fill, but it lasts a couple of weeks with our daily driving. We now just have much more boot and interior space, plus the safer feeling of being in a bigger car.
I have a 2010 forester too!! I just love love love it!
ronniewilliams
13-04-2011, 09:55
We have 4 cylinder hatch its pretty good and economically its very easy and affordable.
babyspice
30-04-2011, 22:17
i have a corolla sedan, its 4 cylinder (i think)
its just me & my 2 year old though :yelclap:
DaniiLawson
09-05-2011, 17:04
We have just 6cyl mazda van, keeps us going and my husband has a work car thats all paid for..:cheerleader2:
topicyang
28-07-2011, 19:01
4 cyclinder I love it very much
Littlemissmetal
28-07-2011, 19:35
We have a Toyota hilux, i'm in 2 minds about it, it's great when it is just dp,ds1,ds2 and I but when we have dss it's very crammed in the back seat. it suits our lifestyle though which consists of alot of camping, fishing and 4wding. And we want to extend our family so looking at getting a landcruiser prado :D
scarymarygoldfish
29-07-2011, 11:38
6cyl station wagon. We got it converted to gas which saves a bomb.
Hubby rides a motorbike to work and if I can't walk somewhere, I'll bus it. If I can't bus it, I'll drive. I get in the car 3 times a week absolute tops.
proudmama
30-07-2011, 00:25
I've posted previously that we have a Mazda 3 and back then it was great with just one kid but we are now onto no.3 and yes all three kids will fit it the back but it's a squash with the new car seat laws so we'll be looking to upgrade to a little more space plus off road so we can get to more camping spots
sent from my SENSATIONAL HTC sensation
lesley76
02-08-2011, 18:55
We have a ford territory. I love it!
There is so much room and it's super comfy. It can be a bit heavy on the fuel though. I drive like a bit of a nanna though so it's not too bad.
tazfitz4
09-08-2011, 13:17
Since deciding to TTC, i sold my much loved V8 Holden Ute :crying: but my hubby bought me a Subaru WRX Impreza, so im happy again! Plentyyyyy of room for just the one, plus the boot is huge! Fuel also good, only costs me $60 to fill up and that lasts me nearly 2 weeks (bout 500 kms city driving) :)
We also had a V8 commodore ute which we swapped DH''s dad for his Falcon sedan. Now we got a VU ute and I get the Hilux back so we're selling the Falcon. Feel safer driving the Hilux. And i'm not a fan of driving autos (Falcon's auto$
lil miss
28-08-2011, 09:54
I dont have a licence yet (still on my learners). We have never actually owned a car, as neither of us have had a licence until now. But we are getting for 7 seat Ford Territory. I was looking at a Honda Jazz, but then realised... we will need a 7 seater as we will have DD1 and DD2, plus number 3, plus my 14 year sister in law who we have become guardians of. We went for the Territory because we found it was the only 7 seater that actually had a fair bit of boot space with all 7 seats up- enough to fit the pram, shopping etc in. Its not my first choice in car (I would rather a small little car like the Jazz or Getz), but oh well lol
hopefully2
28-08-2011, 16:56
I have a seven seater Mazda CX9
CallaLilly
16-11-2011, 12:24
We had a 6 cylinder Ford Fairmont that my husband loved but had to upgrade because of car seats, so we have a Toyota Tarago which has SO MUCH ROOM compared to the other one- 8 seater which can fold into a double bed in back. But he misses the grr of the other
kezanazz
26-02-2012, 10:10
I have a 2010 forester too!! I just love love love it!
I have a 2009 forester and I looove it, I traded in my 2004 forester to get it :)
Auntyamber
26-02-2012, 11:56
We have an 2006 XR8 (so a v8) and a 2008 Nissan Patrol (4 cylinder diesel) and one child. We get better economy out of the XR8 averaging 11l/100k on the highway and around 14L/100km out of the patrol
Missy2579
26-02-2012, 11:58
We have a Hilux as our family car and I have a Nissan pulsar for the 'running around' car... Kids to sport, school etc.
avenew05
26-02-2012, 15:41
We have a 6 cylinder Toyota Kluger which we upgraded to from a tiny Mazda 2 hatch just before DS was born 10 weeks ago. This car gets driven occasionally through the week and on weekends. DH car is 4 cylinder Subaru Liberty which he drives to work. We will not be downgrading as the Subaru is very economical anyway and we will not upgrade as we don't need anything bigger than the Kluger, if we buy a newer vehicle, it will be the same size as the Kluger as we will be having another child. We have one of each type of vehicle I guess and we try to use them the most efficiently ie DH wouldn't use the Kluger to drive to work cause it would use more fuel, but it's good for me to use to duck 5 mins down the road to the shops with DS.
We have a Holden Astra for our family of 5- with 3 car seats in the back row (professionally fitted). We hardly use our car (15000 km in almost 5 yrs) so the idea that we'd need to upsize when pregnant with #3 seemed crazy.
Down the track I'd love to be driving a Mazda cx-9
Teresa Rutherford
26-02-2012, 17:43
With gas prices on the rise, subcompact cars are our choice. We specifically have a manual Honda Jazz/Fit to help us with gas costs. Not only is it great with fuel efficiency, it also is great with safety as Honda has this G-Force technology that helps absorb the impact energy on collision while protecting the passengers inside.
Honda Jazz/Fit is the car of the future!
Goblin Queen
26-02-2012, 18:01
I'm currently waiting for a tow truck for my crappy 2008 Holden Viva. I will be upgrading to Rav4 very soon, I would imagine. Definitely before the baby's born and also before the crap becomes even more worthless and we get zip for the trade-in!
Our family car is a Mazda CX9 we need the 7 seats as we have 4 in carseats
Turk EnJayDee
26-02-2012, 18:10
We've just upgraded from my tiny little corolla sedan to a mitsubishi ASX. I will have plenty of room for 3 seats should I need it in the future. Also lots of room for shopping and the pram. We will also be getting a Prado in about 5 years for family road trips 4WDing & camping etc.
Kimberleygal1
26-02-2012, 18:34
Living in the northwest wa we pay even more than anywhere else, price of petrol is about 20-30 cents more than city prices. It's absurd but nothing we can do about it unfortunately. I have a 6 cylinder xr6 and dh has v8 deisel landcruiser. We can't really downgrade, we do a lot of travelling with 2 kids so need the room.
Our family car is a Mazda CX9 we need the 7 seats as we have 4 in carseats
Are there anchor points in the third row of the cx-9?
Kimberleygal1
26-02-2012, 19:01
Living in the northwest wa we pay even more than anywhere else, price of petrol is about 20-30 cents more than city prices. It's absurd but nothing we can do about it unfortunately. I have a 6 cylinder xr6 and dh has v8 deisel landcruiser. We can't really downgrade, we do a lot of travelling with 2 kids so need the room.
Oh forgot to mention due to lifestyle such as towing the boat, towing camper, fishing, going bush and 4wding are other reasons we can't downgrade.
And we recently upgraded to a 7 seater Honda odessey for extra space.
I have a mitsubishi pajero 7 seater!!
Is a heavy car and goes through $90 of fuel before the week is out!!
4th bub was born 10 days ago and have discovered that its not that great with space! The Dickie seats in the back take up most of the boot space so next to no room for pram and shopping!
We are considering selling and getting a mini bus like a Kia carnival
Are there anchor points in the third row of the cx-9?
:no: Which is why we bought a Territory. On a few other points I would have preferred the CX-9, but we needed more anchors.
I believe you can have them installed, however I was told we would have to install a bar in the boot to do so.