View Full Version : Home Brand / Aldi Mamia - the same product

elissas
19-04-2006, 19:16
I've just bought a pack of Safeway's (Woollies in some states) Home Brand nappies - 20 medium nappies for $5.50, and have found they are almost identical to the Aldi Mamia nappies I've been using. Looks like the same manufacturer, just a different picture on the front.

Has anyone else used Home Brand? Aldi's nappies are the only one's that haven't leaked or discarded crystals - Huggies and Babylove being the worst offenders.

I'm hoping they're exactly the same, as they appear to be. Time will tell I guess.

Thought it might be interesting for those who don't have an Aldi nearby. :)

Cheeky Little Monkey
19-04-2006, 19:33
I thought the Aldi Nappies were manufactured in Germany? It would be good to know if they are the same or at least perform the same. I look forward to hearing :D

TwoBlue
19-04-2006, 20:52
Lis !!

I am excited !! This would save me travelling to Aldi every time i need more nappies as i have found nothing as good as Mamia !!

Let us know how you go

rynosmum
19-04-2006, 21:03
What type of packaging are the home brand ones in ? (What colour etc) For that price, they are definitely worth a shot.

I use Huggies pretty much exclusively but the cost is killing me ! I tried Snugglers but after bubs had a 3 hour nap, he stood in the lounge room, his pants were wet and it was running down his leg ! I'm still trying to finish the Snugglers but with a change every 2 hours, it is really just too frustrating.:thumbsdown:

What about the Woolies Select - has anyone tried them ?

maddysmama
19-04-2006, 21:13
I have been using woolies select and have found them to be good, not one leak yet incl overnight. I don't think they work out cheaper than huggies though, as they aren't avail in a jumbo box. I had to start buying them as they are more generous for a chubby thigh and bubs had started leaking with the huggies as they were'nt fitting well around the waist.

MrsScatterbrain
19-04-2006, 21:13
I'm with Tracey - would love to know how you go! :)

The checkouts at Aldi can get a bit 'challenging' at times!! (especially with an impatient baby!).

TwoBlue
19-04-2006, 21:15
The checkouts at Aldi can get a bit 'challenging' at times!! (especially with an impatient baby!).

Amen to that !!!

Rockett
19-04-2006, 21:15
I use the Aldi ones all the time,and I have used the home brand before,and I think they are different....I find the Mamia ones to be thicker and softer,and can hold a lot more liquid than the woolies ones.:thumbsup:

TwoBlue
19-04-2006, 21:17
oh bummer... well there goes that idea then :thumbsdown:

elissas
19-04-2006, 21:18
The packaging is the plain Home Brand - white with black print and red Home Brand logo.

They're looking pretty good. It's like I was putting on a Mamia nappy - the only difference beside the print being that the sizing is 5-10kg instead of 4-9kg for the medium nappies. But that's actually better sizing than Aldi's!

Everything's the same, even the shape of the tabs etc.

No leaks so far, but I only got them today. But then, Snugglers, Huggies and Babylove all leaked straight away (3 out of 5 times on average for Huggies).

TwoBlue
19-04-2006, 21:19
ok well let us know how you go i a few days and i'll make my call from your opinion

cwsmum
19-04-2006, 21:29
I use the woolies homebrand nappies, white pack with black writting. I leave DD in one from about 6pm til she wakes up in the morning which sometimes has been as late as 7:30-8am if she has had a bottle thru the night. I don't change her if she wakes thru the night unless she seems really wet :o I've never had a problem with crystals or leaks, I also used them on DS overnight when he was toilet training and he would get up some mornings with the nappy so full it was falling off him, but it wouldn't leak and I never noticed any crystals.
I haven't tried the Aldi ones yet...too lazy to drive all that way...but they are opening closer sometime this year so I might have to try them, especially if they are thicker and softer like Emerald said :D

Briswegian
20-04-2006, 10:38
Is there much of a price difference between the mamia and the homebrand?

jessgray
20-04-2006, 11:06
i havent tried the woolies brand but aldis is manufactued in germany and are a smaller fit then many other brands. my DS leaked really bad in them and we never brought them again.

TwoBlue
20-04-2006, 12:37
i havent tried the woolies brand but aldis is manufactued in germany and are a smaller fit then many other brands. my DS leaked really bad in them and we never brought them again.

wow first bad word i have heard against them yet !
everyone i know who uses them is thrilled, just goes to show you have to give different brands a go to know what works for your bubs

jonesso
20-04-2006, 16:28
I too am keen to know... how does the pricing compare between Mamia and Homebrand Woolies??

Mamia are $15.99 for 50 I think... (10-15kg)
How much are homebrand?

My parents accidentally bought the super cheap Aldi ones and despite the fact that they feel very plastic on the outside seem to work really well, no leaks. I don't use them as I prefer either the Mamia ones or Snugglers, but the grandparents use them when DS is at their place and have had no probs.

As someone said, you have to try different nappies for different babies. But Aldi Mamia nappies rock, that's for sure!

Lunar
20-04-2006, 16:34
I used h/brand for DD#1 and they're great! Very cheap and don't leak or put those horrible crystals on her bum! :thumbsup:

jkate
20-04-2006, 16:39

I find the aldi nappies larger which I need for my big boys!! Aden (who is being stubborn about toilet training :banghead: - but thats for another thread) has never fitted into the huggies ones properly, and even though he is 15.5 kg, the largest huggies dont fit properly, thank goodness for Aldi.

The brand that Aldi use to sell before Mamma Mia, were similar to a noname brand. I have heard that sometimes noname brands are made in the same factory has popular brands (for anything), but this could just be a urban myth.

jessgray
22-04-2006, 10:14
wow first bad word i have heard against them yet !
everyone i know who uses them is thrilled, just goes to show you have to give different brands a go to know what works for your bubs
yep my DS has a big bum and is a heavy wetter so they werent that good for him. i know of lots of other people who use them and havent had the problem i had

elissas
22-04-2006, 22:16
Hi everyone.

They're not bad but they're not the same. Not quite as absorbant or as thick (as someone mentioned). But they're okay for daytime, just need to keep an eye on them.

I got 2 leaks out of the pack of 20, which isn't bad. And I think it's partly because DS has been on a boob frenzy lately and is piddling like you wouldn't believe - about 10 heavy wet nappies a day.

I also think he's ready for the next size up, which is why I've had a few more leaks than usual lately. Time for Walker size in the Aldi nappies (scary since he's only 4mths), but he's nearly 8kgs and very long in the body, so i need the high waist in the Aldi nappies.

The Home Brand ones aren't quite as high in the waist.

But they are definitely worth a try, especially for girls or for smaller boys.

TwoBlue
22-04-2006, 22:58
Thanks Lis !!

I think i will stick with Aldi for now, My DS is also a big boy and we are about to move up to the walker size ... he turns 5 months in a couple of days.
I like that i can trust the Aldi nappies and they are cheap !! :smiliedance:

wattle
23-04-2006, 07:13
I haven't tried the Aldi ones yet, but the home brand have been great. We use them during the day and huggies for night time/going out.

I reckon they're worth a try at $5.50 a packet, it's not expensive. And handy to have some in the cupboard in case you run out when you're snuggled up in your pj's and can't be bothered driving to aldi. :D

(That's about 27c each)

mummyv
23-04-2006, 13:23

I just stumbled upon your thread and am very excited about the discoveries re the Home Brand nappies.
I had to change my DS 3 times last night because he was absolutely saturated (wearing the Huggies Walkers). It's a giant pain as my DH and I reckon that DS would sleep through the night if not for the wetting through...

Has anybody tried any home brand nappies from Coles? Unfortunately, we don't have an Aldi here in SA. We've only just gotten IKEA :))

What are the Woolies nappies called exactly?

elissas
23-04-2006, 15:10
The Woollies ones are called Home Brand.

The Coles/Bi-Lo "Savings" brand are pretty good. I've had a lot less leaks with them than with Huggies. They are second best to Aldi IMO. They don't have grip tabs (still use sticky ones), but when they go in the bin who cares, really? And I think they're around $8 for 32 Medium. They're in a white pack with blue print, and the blue and yellow Savings logo.

Good luck.

Ponyboy
23-04-2006, 17:36
Decided to give the Woolies homebrand ones a go and they seem to do just as good as Babylove (which is what I normally use). Went to an IGA today and they had VIPs on special for $5 for 22 so bought a pack of them and will see how they go.

I only use disposables when out and at night. Use Fluffies fitted during the day when at home and find them quite good too.

cookie
23-04-2006, 23:14
I have tried a few different kinds of nappies now , I am finding that I am sticking to huggies and woolies select (they are supprisingly good).
I started to use vips as well from IGA but what do you know there was a sign up saying discontinued line so I acctually phoned kimberly clark and they said that it is correct they have disconntinued them for good:thumbsdown:
we dont have an aldi here , but they sound like a nice nappy

mummyv
24-04-2006, 12:35
OK Ladies I'm having trouble again! We tried the Woolies Select last night and had exactly the same drama as with the Huggies- Wet through twice :thumbsdown:

My DS is 8 months over 10 kilos and has chubby thighs and a big butt, so am thinking that may be the problem. Although the Woolies Select Toddler says 11- 18 kilos, one would think they would fit well....and I have tried the next Huggies size up (Junior), but they are too big

Can anybody tell me if the Savings brand or Woolies Home Brand (not select) is a bigger fit butt and legwise?

Maybe I should just stick DS on the potty and be done with it!!!!

tanni_83
24-04-2006, 13:05
i have to say i only now use the home brand nappies.
i found huggies and snugglers to be sh!t. always leaked and left crystals everywhere!
ill never use an expensive nappy again! i cant wait till elise is big enough to fit into the bigger sizes u get more in a pack then! :thumbsup: GO THE HOME BRAND!!

blessedmummy
01-08-2006, 15:21
wondering if anyone has used homebrand nappies from woolworths.. (im trying, and not having much luck at all:no: to find a cheap, but really good disposable nappy for night time) have used huggies, yes, they are great, but rather expensive!! anyone got any ideas???? HELP!!!:idea::banghead: (usually only shope at either coles or woolworths because they are the main shopping centres here besides IGA) ive run out of ideas!!:(

~Emmylou~
02-08-2006, 09:53
I didn't think they were the same...I've used both and I found the Homebrand were absolutely saturated first thing in the morning. Never had that with the Aldi ones though.

blessedmummy
02-08-2006, 17:55
cool...maybe ill try and see.... hmmm interesting...dont have a aldi near me, only have woolworths, coles and IGA thats it, so, i have only the usual brands to choose from.. bummer.. but better then nothin! anyhow... let me know if they are any good... might look into it...

03-08-2006, 19:23
Nope... woolies ones are no comparison to Aldi. :no: I wouldn't dream of putting CJ in a homebrand one at night time, but Aldi are great!!

rynosmum
03-08-2006, 19:33
I LOVE ALDI Mammia Nappies.

I travel about 20 minutes each way to get to ALDI and stock up every few weeks. They are half the price of Huggies and at least as good.:thumbsup:

03-08-2006, 19:51
I LOVE ALDI Mammia Nappies.

I travel about 20 minutes each way to get to ALDI and stock up every few weeks. They are half the price of Huggies and at least as good.:thumbsup:
They are great aren't they !!!!

We make a special train trip to get ours. Cj thinks it's wonderful!!! Bit tricky to get all those nappies & 2 kids & a pram on the train though!! LOL Connor really loves it though. So much cheaper than Huggies. We get a whole months worth at once!!

joe
03-08-2006, 20:44
I haven't tried the Aldi ones but love the Home Brand ones. I find that Huggies don't fit DS properly and the Babylove ones are too crystally but no problems with the Home Brand ones.:thumbsup:

AquaDevil78
03-08-2006, 21:48
Wouldnt it be good if there where such things a trial nappies, so you could try before you buy.. or is there? Would save a lot of money and heartache :yes:

blessedmummy
05-08-2006, 15:48
just curious..anyone know who manufactors mybear nappies.. if anyone is interested.. would be great to know.. thanks