View Full Version : So this is summer?

Lastcenturymum
26-06-2008, 18:25
As I sit here the rain is belting on the windows, I need the light on and it's about the 8th day in a row it's rained!! I think it's going to be another record wet summer. :( (and another day on the computer!)

I was going into the city to meet my hubby for lunch, but don't want to drown, it's a pain.

No wonder this part of the world is referred to as the 'soggy isles'

first time theo
06-08-2008, 08:41
:wave: Hi! You must be here in the UK...i've just returned from France where it was a 27 degreees in Paris....and it was tipping it down here in the UK - I couldn't have been more miserable!

When are you due? I'm due 24/12 - I have my scan next week and can't wait !

....whoops! Just noticed how out of date your message is!

Does anyone still want to chat? I'm living thru another sporadic English summer, missing fanily and friends in Oz without anyone to chat about pregnancy stuff with...

(it's not all that bad...but is there anyone else in a similar situation?)

Lastcenturymum
07-08-2008, 00:00
Due? :eek: Is that why I have gained weight? :p

Nah I'm even worse - in Ireland!! Last two mornings have poured and now the sun is out. It's like Melbourne weather but on steriods!!

UK is better and warmer than here. I'm off to Warwick for a week (running round like a headless chook at a conference) and back for a week before heading home for a few weeks..hoping to get some Spring sunshine in September there!

I figure you take the good with the bad. And I think I prefer this to the 38's we were having in Melbourne in summer.

hope your scan goes well and a Christmas bub, eh? All the best

Pixie
07-08-2008, 00:23
ahh Bless Eire for catching all the rain before it hits the UK lol

London is/has been hot so very humid it rains but this summer has been awesome. I am British but do have to say the Brits moan when it rains then they complain when its hot I tell you, you can't win me well I am out whatever the weather :D

Lastcenturymum
07-08-2008, 00:26
:laughing: True! We had it rather humid last week. Hard when it rains too..what do you wear...

Met a friend for coffee today - it was about 14 degrees and pouring and she turns up in jeans, t-shirt and birkenstocks and here is me in 3/4 pants long sleeved cotton top and mary janes and a trenchcoat (oh and I had an umbrella too!)

yes aren't we good to you!! we just can't stop the wind as we are so low to the ground :laughing:

MamaLlama
07-08-2008, 01:39
Well here I am in humid NYC and I feel like it is Brisbane - ugh. I'd love a drop of rain if you can push it back across the Atlantic!

I really like northern hemisphere weather, seems to have more seasons than anywhere I can think of in the southern hemisphere (well there's less land in the south which is part of it).

Makes me feel like I'm back in my Queensland childhood being here. Without the pool in the backyard though!

Pixie
07-08-2008, 01:45
Tassie has similar conditions!

Yeah my GF was in NYC last week said it was hot, another friend heading there next week. I went to NYC in Feb years ago my ******* god it was cold!!!

LCM I live in birkenstocks whatever the weather lol was around 23C in London today but it feels way hotter.

Lastcenturymum
07-08-2008, 02:41
I agree about it feeling warmer. 22 at home is 'meh', just nice if the sun shines. Here it is quite warmer feeling and when we had 26 and what felt like a north wind at home they were calling it 'rock spliting heat' I was calling it 'more like a summers day'! I know people who have lived in UK saying it feels a lot warmer (closer to the sun eh? :rolleyes:) and buildings are equipped for the cold, not heat. Lucky we have a sliding door as the sun is pouring in now and it's really hot in here..and just managing a cross draught from the bedrooms, but the windows only open about 15cm if that!

Need 'highrise' birkenstocks here to keep out of what they quaintly call 'surface water' :D

Pixie
07-08-2008, 05:51
3/4 pants or as we refer to them in our household "flood pants"

Yeah well London is a concrete jungle so it is very hot. Last week every day was in the late 20's and sunny and hot. I actually got burnt at the zoo today.

ahhhh well rain tomorrow whatever lol I'm going shoe shopping :D