View Full Version : Due in October C-section Chat
mum2ethan
25-06-2008, 09:25 AM
Hello everyone,
Just thought i would start a thread for the ladies having/had/might have a c-section, to talk about fears, thoughts, info and helpful tips.
Well im having a c-section, this will be my 1st i had a VB with Ethan that ended in a 3rd degree tear, so im a bit nervous about it all. My biggest worry at the moment is the spinal/epi, i had a spinal after i had Ethan, to go to surgery to repair the tear and i didnt feel the needle but im thinking it was because of the whole adrenaline surging thru me! For those who have had an elective c-section before did you feel the needle? I know im such a wuss about it but ive had a sore lower back for a few years now and anything to do with my back makes me cringe!!
Also im worried about how i will cope with the recovery and a 2 year old as well, DP owns his own business so he is the only one employed so he cant take much time off after the baby is born, my mum will be up here but only for a few weeks but i have my sister (altho she has just had a baby herself) and my grandmother who will be able to help out for a while. We are going to send DS to childcare fulltime for 4-6 weeks after ive had bub, just so he can have the attention and playtime he needs, and i can recover from surgery, i feel really bad doing it, but i know he loves it at childcare with his friends and it wont be any different from his regular routine.
Anyway sorry for :ecomcity::ecomcity:
Mel xoxox
Twiglet
25-06-2008, 10:12 AM
I know at the moment I'm having a VB :fingerscrossed: however I still went to the education section at our hospital on C-Sections. Very informative.
Does your hospital have an education program? I'm with St John of God.
Mrs Potts
25-06-2008, 10:21 AM
For those who have had an elective c-section before did you feel the needle?
I'll be having my 3rd c/s in October. 1st was emergency, 2nd planned.
You do feel the spinal needle, but it doesn't hurt. They first give you a local to numb the area, and the hardest part of this is that you need to sit on the edge of the table and lean forward (reach your ankles, they say. yeah right! :laughing:). The local stings but doesn't really hurt (just like any other local). They let that kick in for a while then bring out the big guns and do the spinal. You feel pressure and discomfort but it doesn't hurt.
I'm having the same worries as you regarding coming home. DH has 3 weeks off (so really only 2 once we come home) and we have a 7 yr old and a 2 yr old. My big stress at the moment is getting DS7 to and from school after DH returns to work, since it will be a few more weeks after that before I can drive - and I'm fairly sure I won't be up to walking yet. And also getting the 2 yr old in and out of the car since I won't be able to lift her.
I guess I'm lucky in that I know what I can expect recovery-wise, but I've never done it with a toddler to deal with as well.
I'd be happy to answer any other questions you have about the c/s too, Mel.
mum2ethan
25-06-2008, 10:43 AM
I know at the moment I'm having a VB :fingerscrossed: however I still went to the education section at our hospital on C-Sections. Very informative.
Does your hospital have an education program? I'm with St John of God.
Hope you get the VB you want, but it is always good to be prepared, with my last pg i had researched everything to do with VB and what could go wrong/right etc, but didnt do much on c-sections, i just had the attitude if it happens it happens, its a bit different now knowing im having one! But im very happy to be having one i just need to research it a bit more!
My hospital does antenatal classes, i did them with DS but they didnt do too much on c-sections, just the basic knowledge its major surgery, you could have and emergency one if these things went wrong etc...
I'll be having my 3rd c/s in October. 1st was emergency, 2nd planned.
You do feel the spinal needle, but it doesn't hurt. They first give you a local to numb the area, and the hardest part of this is that you need to sit on the edge of the table and lean forward (reach your ankles, they say. yeah right! :laughing:). The local stings but doesn't really hurt (just like any other local). They let that kick in for a while then bring out the big guns and do the spinal. You feel pressure and discomfort but it doesn't hurt.
I'm having the same worries as you regarding coming home. DH has 3 weeks off (so really only 2 once we come home) and we have a 7 yr old and a 2 yr old. My big stress at the moment is getting DS7 to and from school after DH returns to work, since it will be a few more weeks after that before I can drive - and I'm fairly sure I won't be up to walking yet. And also getting the 2 yr old in and out of the car since I won't be able to lift her.
I guess I'm lucky in that I know what I can expect recovery-wise, but I've never done it with a toddler to deal with as well.
I'd be happy to answer any other questions you have about the c/s too, Mel.
Thanks Mrs Potts! Yeah with my last spinal they had someone leaning on me from the front i think that helped me, so might try and see if they will do that again, it just kept me really still and i felt "secure" IYKWIM. At my last appointment, the middy was a surgical nurse before she became a midwife so she went into a bit of detail about what they do during the c-section etc so that did put my mind at ease, she said i would have to be at the hospital at about 6 in the morning and then during the surgery it takes about 10 minutes before they have bub out, about 45 minutes to stitch up, meanwhile they give bub to me or DP while they are doing it, then to recovery for 30 - 45 minutes then to the ward to breastfeed, i forgot to ask if i could have bub in recovery with me.
I am thinking the EXACT same as you about putting DS in the car, about getting him to childcare, and home (DP could drop him off in the morning but i will need help to get him in the arvo, which will be when my sister/grandmother will help out) I guess it will be a matter of 1 day at a time for me.
What was your recovery like, and what was the hardest bit about it? Any tips on the 1st few weeks to make it as smooth as possible? Ive been told to buy big granny knickers, and to hold a pillow against the wound when you get out of bed/laugh/sneeze/cough etc
Oh also i know this probably depends on the hospital etc but did you get to choose if you had an epi or spinal? Thats going to be one of my questions at my next appointment.
Mel xoxox
Mrs Potts
25-06-2008, 11:26 AM
My hospital does antenatal classes, i did them with DS but they didnt do too much on c-sections, just the basic knowledge its major surgery, you could have and emergency one if these things went wrong etc...
What was your recovery like, and what was the hardest bit about it? Any tips on the 1st few weeks to make it as smooth as possible? Ive been told to buy big granny knickers, and to hold a pillow against the wound when you get out of bed/laugh/sneeze/cough etc
Oh also i know this probably depends on the hospital etc but did you get to choose if you had an epi or spinal? Thats going to be one of my questions at my next appointment.
My hospital does a variety of different ante natal classes - first timers, repeat offenders ;), c/sections, etc. Would be worth asking them!
My first c/s took longer to recover from than the second, but that is normal with an emergency. The first thing I can suggest is a 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner. Washing your hair is hard work for the first couple of weeks and the less time you need your arms up there the better.
I agree on the granny knickers. Don't scrimp - get Bonds Cottontails. They are so comfy. Plus they're all cotton so better for the wound to breathe. (a bonus is they hold the flab in a bit too LOL).
Yes also to the pillow for coughing/sneezing/laughing. Unless you can avoid all three for a couple of weeks! Also if you have a small travel pillow (like an airline pillow) to use in the car to put under the seatbelt. I really needed that for my first c/s, but found I was OK without it for the second. You'll also want a pillow on you when you're feeding.
What else? While you're in hospy, while it is important to try to get moving ASAP, don't hesitate to call for help if you need it. Especially in the first couple of days, get the middies to help you with some of the nappy changes, bringing bubs to you for a feed etc. And just because you might feel pretty good, don't go racing up and down the corridors - you will suffer afterwards. Little strolls more frequently are better IMO.
Once you get home, do as little as possible, and only do what you feel you can. Don't lift anything heavier than your newborn. No vac'ing, hanging out washing, etc. Get plenty of rest (well, as much as you can with other kids around). But you will recover better if you get plenty of rest.
With regards to driving, check with your insurer. Some will let you drive earlier than 6 weeks post-op with Drs OK.
As for spinal v epi, I've only had spinals, but it probably depends on the hospital/Ob/anethestist (sp?). Also, ask your OB what his method of closure is. I've only ever had dissolvable stitches with water proof tape over the top and it's great. Before you go home they'll remove the tape and that's the end of it, no going back to have staples or stitches removed. Also, my scar is almost invisible if I ever decided to pursue my dream of being a nudie model ;):laughing:
kamb1403
25-06-2008, 05:40 PM
I am having another cesearean - first was emergency and the second was planned. Both have been under a general. My doctor wants me to have an epidural or spinal this time but I am petrified of needles - can't even be told that they are about to put it in. So it looks like I will go under another general.
I recovered alot better after the second cesearean than the first.
I am lucky that we live right behind the school so the twins (10) can walk to school.
My 22 month old will still be going to daycare a few days a week - don't want him to get out of his routine.
Mrs Potts
25-06-2008, 06:13 PM
kamb, I just noticed you're in Gowrie (ACT, I presume? me too, ACT that is, not Gowrie) and our due dates are the same too :)
hi guys... as mel knows... I'm still deciding whether to go for a c/s or not... no medical reason, just personal preference at this point... to be honest, I think I'm avoiding thinking about it because it does my head in! I'm lucky I have an ob who'll support me either way, but I'm not comfortable talking about my reasons with him... feel quite stupid talking to people about my fears in real life... thank god for BH! I know I'll have to talk about it at some point, but all my logically thought out reasons go straight out my head in these situations and I feel like I'm going to cry. And I usually do. I hate people thinking I'm a basket case. Whoa. Just realised I'm rambling. Sorry!
Mrs Potts
25-06-2008, 07:48 PM
kas, maybe if you write down your thoughts for your Ob it will be easier for you to discuss it?
And hey, you're pregnant - you're allowed be a basket case :D :hugs:
loulousmum
25-06-2008, 07:52 PM
As previously reported in BubHub, I am holding out hope for a VB but have slowly begun to accept the reality of a C-section for the delivery of the twins. I am very lucky in that I've had two wonderful experiences of natural birth, so if I miss out this time I guess I won't feel like I've really missed out (IYKWIM)
I was really worried about recovery with the two little ones at home as well as the new babies but the DVD they showed us the other night at the Multiple Births night as set my mind at ease - they interviewed mums who had c-sections at home after a week and they all looked to be getting around!!
Our kids are staying in childcare 4 days a week until Christmas (so I can really get a head start on breastfeeding and routine for the twins) and luckily for me, I will have DH for the first 6 weeks and then my mum for the second 6 weeks. It would drive me crazy, but the reality is, if I have to, I won't need to leave the house for 3 months!!!
At the moment I'm just focused on getting more comfortable with the inevitable c-section. I'm not afraid of needles, have an excellent Dr (and his group are great too) and just think it might be better to have a more predictable birth experience for twin 2 - as I've said before, I'm really terrified of having #1 naturally and then needing an emergency c-section for #2...
No Kas, you weren't rambling. What I've just done was rambling!!!:ecomcity:
Thank god for Bub Hub and you ladies!
kamb1403
25-06-2008, 08:15 PM
kamb, I just noticed you're in Gowrie (ACT, I presume? me too, ACT that is, not Gowrie) and our due dates are the same too :)
I am in Gowrie ACT. :yelclap:
I am going to the Ante Natal Clinic at Canberra Hospital. Dr Kinght was my OB when I was pregnant with the twins in Sydney and then I found out he was down here when I was pregnant with m youngest. He is looking after me again.
mum2ethan
25-06-2008, 08:39 PM
My hospital does a variety of different ante natal classes - first timers, repeat offenders ;), c/sections, etc. Would be worth asking them!
My first c/s took longer to recover from than the second, but that is normal with an emergency. The first thing I can suggest is a 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner. Washing your hair is hard work for the first couple of weeks and the less time you need your arms up there the better.
I agree on the granny knickers. Don't scrimp - get Bonds Cottontails. They are so comfy. Plus they're all cotton so better for the wound to breathe. (a bonus is they hold the flab in a bit too LOL).
Yes also to the pillow for coughing/sneezing/laughing. Unless you can avoid all three for a couple of weeks! Also if you have a small travel pillow (like an airline pillow) to use in the car to put under the seatbelt. I really needed that for my first c/s, but found I was OK without it for the second. You'll also want a pillow on you when you're feeding.
What else? While you're in hospy, while it is important to try to get moving ASAP, don't hesitate to call for help if you need it. Especially in the first couple of days, get the middies to help you with some of the nappy changes, bringing bubs to you for a feed etc. And just because you might feel pretty good, don't go racing up and down the corridors - you will suffer afterwards. Little strolls more frequently are better IMO.
Once you get home, do as little as possible, and only do what you feel you can. Don't lift anything heavier than your newborn. No vac'ing, hanging out washing, etc. Get plenty of rest (well, as much as you can with other kids around). But you will recover better if you get plenty of rest.
With regards to driving, check with your insurer. Some will let you drive earlier than 6 weeks post-op with Drs OK.
As for spinal v epi, I've only had spinals, but it probably depends on the hospital/Ob/anethestist (sp?). Also, ask your OB what his method of closure is. I've only ever had dissolvable stitches with water proof tape over the top and it's great. Before you go home they'll remove the tape and that's the end of it, no going back to have staples or stitches removed. Also, my scar is almost invisible if I ever decided to pursue my dream of being a nudie model ;):laughing:
Thanks for all of that Mrs Potts, i will definately be asking my hospital if they have different classes! Some great tips in there as well, i didnt even think of having a pillow for on the way home/the seatbelt! The middy at my last appointment said the sooner you are moving around the better, but not to over do it. Wow there are a lot of questions i will be asking at my next appointment now!
As for not doing any house work when i get home, well i could get use to that!! :laughing: Yep ive been warned about the car insurance and driving before 6 weeks i will have to get that checked out. LOL well i hope your dream career comes true for you!!!
I am having another cesearean - first was emergency and the second was planned. Both have been under a general. My doctor wants me to have an epidural or spinal this time but I am petrified of needles - can't even be told that they are about to put it in. So it looks like I will go under another general.
I recovered alot better after the second cesearean than the first.
I am lucky that we live right behind the school so the twins (10) can walk to school.
My 22 month old will still be going to daycare a few days a week - don't want him to get out of his routine.
Wow you are lucky to live right behind the school!!! What was it like to go under a general for the c-sections?
hi guys... as mel knows... I'm still deciding whether to go for a c/s or not... no medical reason, just personal preference at this point... to be honest, I think I'm avoiding thinking about it because it does my head in! I'm lucky I have an ob who'll support me either way, but I'm not comfortable talking about my reasons with him... feel quite stupid talking to people about my fears in real life... thank god for BH! I know I'll have to talk about it at some point, but all my logically thought out reasons go straight out my head in these situations and I feel like I'm going to cry. And I usually do. I hate people thinking I'm a basket case. Whoa. Just realised I'm rambling. Sorry!
I was wondering if you had come to a decision on your labour plans, its such a hard choice, all you want is whats best for bub and yourself! You shouldnt feel silly for your thoughts at all! thats why i started this thread so we could all talk about our thoughts without feeling silly or being judged. BH is great! i dont know how i got thru my first pregnancy without these lovely ladies! And you arent a basket case!!!
As previously reported in BubHub, I am holding out hope for a VB but have slowly begun to accept the reality of a C-section for the delivery of the twins. I am very lucky in that I've had two wonderful experiences of natural birth, so if I miss out this time I guess I won't feel like I've really missed out (IYKWIM)
I was really worried about recovery with the two little ones at home as well as the new babies but the DVD they showed us the other night at the Multiple Births night as set my mind at ease - they interviewed mums who had c-sections at home after a week and they all looked to be getting around!!
Our kids are staying in childcare 4 days a week until Christmas (so I can really get a head start on breastfeeding and routine for the twins) and luckily for me, I will have DH for the first 6 weeks and then my mum for the second 6 weeks. It would drive me crazy, but the reality is, if I have to, I won't need to leave the house for 3 months!!!
At the moment I'm just focused on getting more comfortable with the inevitable c-section. I'm not afraid of needles, have an excellent Dr (and his group are great too) and just think it might be better to have a more predictable birth experience for twin 2 - as I've said before, I'm really terrified of having #1 naturally and then needing an emergency c-section for #2...
No Kas, you weren't rambling. What I've just done was rambling!!!:ecomcity:
Thank god for Bub Hub and you ladies!
I really hope you get to have a VB with the twins!!! Thats great that you are getting so much help im so jealous!! but i think you will need it A LOT more than what i will!!! At first i was fine knowing im having a c-section but now that its getting closer im starting to get a bit nervous... im really funny with needles i dread it a lot but then when i get one (including bloodtest) i dont feel a thing!! LOL so i freak out for nothing!
kamb1403
26-06-2008, 05:52 PM
Wow you are lucky to live right behind the school!!! What was it like to go under a general for the c-sections?
The first one I came out of badly and spent the first 24 hours in ICU. The second time, I was a lot more relaxed and came out of it alot better. I was in my room 2 hours after the c-section.
mum2ethan
27-06-2008, 08:14 PM
The first one I came out of badly and spent the first 24 hours in ICU. The second time, I was a lot more relaxed and came out of it alot better. I was in my room 2 hours after the c-section.
Oh my that would have been so scary being in ICU, so glad the second time was a better experience!
kamb1403
27-06-2008, 08:56 PM
Oh my that would have been so scary being in ICU, so glad the second time was a better experience!
I think the reason I freaked out the first time was I had never been in hospital before - no broken bones or anything growing up.
Also, they started by breaking my waters and leaving me in the birthing suite for about an hour before making the decision that I had to have an emergency c-section. I also had high blood pressure and even though they gave me something to bring my blood pressure down, it didn't work.
Second time around, the c-section was planned from the beginning. This is how it is this time aswell. My doctor told me from the start that I had to have another c-section so I know what I am in for.
I also think that because there is 9 years difference between the twins and Ryan, generals anestethics (sp?) have changed.
mum2peanut
27-06-2008, 09:59 PM
I'm due n Oct too, and I got the go ahead for a caesar yest.
DD was an emergency caesar. After 6 hours of labour, pushing, forcepts and vacuum her heart rate dropped to 80 so I was rushed to surgery. The cord ended up being wrapped around her head, neck and hands.
I think back to how scary it was, and the fact that I did all that work for nothing. So i've opted for the caesar. My main issue is it will be hard with DD as she's only 2, but DH is taking LSL for a few weeks following so that will be a big help, plus he can drive us around.
My Dr lets patients drive after 3wks. So that's not too bad.
loulousmum
30-06-2008, 06:51 AM
Hello ladies
My weekend of severe back pain (complete inability to get off the bed) has made me feel much better about recovery from C-section! The kids were able to hop up on the bed with me and I read them stories etc. But I imagine that as long as I can actually walk - it will have to be better!
DH has been amazing all weekend doing all the lifting and nappy changing etc. He also commented that 'this is what life will be like after the ceasar'!!
So, I'm beginning to feel better about the surgery. Actually, given the pain I'm in, an epidural right now would be nice!!:laughing:
matildajade
11-07-2008, 09:54 PM
Im due with number three on 30th Oct but looks like i'll be heading for early c-section.
Bubs is transverse has been the whole time, hasnt budged once...ob seems to think it cant go head down as head is too big for my pelvis (both my other bubbas had boofy heads thanks to their daddy!!) Also at my 20wk scan was diagnosed with 4 x the normal amniotic fluid (there is a proper name for it but cant member it) so the chance of cord prolapse when my waters break is very high
Due to having my first at 35wks, second was 39 ob thinks i will go in for c/s about 37wks....probably my biggest worry as i dont want bubs to have breathing probs ect....also recovery as our lil girl will be right on three and our boy will be 13 months (yes was planned we are just crazy!!)
I am due on 3 Nov but will be having an elective C anywhare around 23 October. With my first I laboured for 13 hours and then had an emergency. I am glad that this time around things are more planned. I am a little worried about the recovery as I was in extreme pain first time around. This is week 25, I am counting down until the end!!
KGB
mum2ethan
17-07-2008, 01:41 PM
So has anyone been told a date yet? I wont find out till my 36 weeks appointment... but im not telling anyone the date anyway :p my SMS buddies are going to get a msg of when i "go into labour" on the day.
Well i forgot to ask at my last appointment if i will be having an epi or a spinal... ive written it down but then i forgot to take the paper out to ask my questions!! oh well theres alway next appointment, or my 36 week one, which im sure will be talking all about it.
I have been having sooooooooo many c-section dreams lately the latest was they were explaining to me where they were gonna cut etc and then when it happened the baby was sitting YES SITTING up so they cut the whole top off my belly and lifted it out (it was a pretty graphical dream) and then they let DP staple my tummy back together :eek: but it wasnt a bad dream, it had a good feeling to it IYKWIM... i know weird hey, and they said it was a girl but when i looked in the nappy it was a boy and DP was saying yes its a boy and i was like so that means its a Drew? (name we have picked out for a boy) :laughing: i know im weird!
Mel xoxox
Mrs Potts
17-07-2008, 02:12 PM
Hi KGB! I just wanted to say I had an emergency with my first, and an elective with my 2nd and the recoveries were world's apart. Not that the first was a "bad" recovery, but the second was so much easier. Because the Dr could take his time, and everything was carefully planned, it's much gentler on your body. So I wasn't as sore afterwards, and was up and about much sooner the 2nd time than the first. I found I also needed less pain killers.
Mel - I've kind of been given a date, but haven't actually booked in yet. My Ob only does surgery 2 days per week, so based on my EDD he has said it will be Oct 1 or 2. The 1st is a public holiday here so I'm guessing it will be the 2nd. My next appt is in 3 weeks and I'll be 31 weeks so I'm assuming we'll make it official then.
QueensMum
17-07-2008, 02:25 PM
Hi there :wave:
I'm booked in for my 2nd c-section on 14th October at 9am.
I had a c-section when I had the girls. My Obstetrician at the time just told me that it was going to be a c-section and there didn't seem to be any room for discussion, I just thought it was normal to have a c-section if you were having twins, but now I think it was more HIS preference that anything else.
I am a big sook when it comes to pain so I wasn't really that unhappy to being having the c-section and it all went ahead without a hitch.
The hardest part for me (being absolutely HUGE) was bending over enough for them to find the spot to insert the epidural. They lay me on the very, very narrow operating table and then somehow expected me to be able to bring my knees up to my chest...
I didn't need any pain relief from when I came home and don't really remember it hindering me very much (besides the obvious not driving, not lifting any really heavy etc).
I was considering having VBAC this time around but my new Obstetrician told me it was my choice but would recommend another c-section because of chance of scar rupturing etc so I've gone with what I know I guess.
My friend has just had her 2nd c-section and also said that the recoveries were totally different. She said the second one was ALOT easier than the first (even though she seemed pretty good with the first). My Obstetrician also said that second c-sections are easier..
loulousmum
17-07-2008, 02:45 PM
I'm still hanging in there hoping for a natural birth but totally prepared for a c-section. Dr tells me that I'll need to have a epidural inserted even for a vaginal birth in case he needs to reach in and reposition the second twin. So in either case it will be totally different to my other two birth experiences.
As for a date, he tells me that he'd like to go as close to 5 October as possibly (that's about 38 weeks) but that the minute I have any sign of labour I must get to the hospital. The multiple births association advises to have hospital bag packed from 28 weeks - :eek: #1 came at 36 weeks so I lived out of hospital bag from 34 weeks for #2 and he came at 39 weeks!!! I can just see myself living out of hospital bag for 10 weeks this time...maybe I'll just have to buy two of some things so I can live a normal existence!!!
I'm worried about recovery as well, but I guess you just do what you have to do and put up with it. I know a c-section scar will hurt, but so do episiotomy stitches and haemorriods from pushing, and you just stick an ice pack down there and live with it!!!:laughing:
QueensMum
17-07-2008, 03:21 PM
loulousMum - Yeah, my Obstetrician booked me in for 38 weeks too when I had the girls. I was grateful 'cause by then I was just so totally over it!! It was the middle of summer and I was a huge, hot whale! :D
I was totally house bound from 24 weeks onwards (my Obstetrician was SUPER paranoid!). There was no medical reason for me to do this but I guess it's just the way he did things 'cause I know a few twin mothers now and none of them had to do anything like that..
I'm sure your recovery will be fine. Will you have family (besides DH) around to help out when you first come home?
loulousmum
17-07-2008, 07:45 PM
Thanks QueensMum - I know you've been there before so it is good to hear from you! Housebound doesn't sound fun but if it's what the Dr orders, I'll be doing it. I'm determined to do all the things like pram purchase etc. prior to 34 weeks just in case I end up on bedrest - or with early babies!
My Mum will be around the place and is taking the second 6 weeks off after DH goes back to work. But, we are lucky to be able to afford to keep both kids in childcare 4 days a week initially (so I can rest - otherwise I may as well stay at work!) and then for three days a week until we see what life will be like with 4 at home.
I hope that like you I can make it to 38 weeks!!!
I am so glad to hear second time around the pain is much better.
I can't wait for that initial period to be over, and that it will be Spring. I would hate to have a baby during winter and have to get up all the time during the cold night.
My daughter (she is 4) is so excited about having a sister, having a ceaser is easy to explain to her as I say the Dr will cut mumies tummy and take out baby.
Does anyone find they are having scary dreams lately. I keep on dreaming of horrible things.
KGB
Just a quick post to say "hi again" as it looks like I will be having a c/s. I haven't got a date yet - ob said we'll book it in at a later appt - but I'd say it will be around 22 September. Baby will be full-term on 29 September and I believe they like to do elective c/s at 39 weeks (?).
kamb1403
03-08-2008, 02:02 PM
My doctor is still trying to convince me to have a spinal instead of a general anethestic for my c-section. We are booking my c-section at my next appointment.
melissajayne
04-08-2008, 06:20 PM
Hi ladies! Im due on the 7th October and have been told Ill be having my c-section in my 38 week on the 24th September. I decided I would have a elective this time as I was induced with DS at 38 weeks and my last labour was terrible and it ended in a emergency c-section which had complications. I didnt want to have to go through all that again, so I thought Id have an elective to make sure it doesnt happen again. I will be having a spinal.
mum2ethan
06-08-2008, 03:49 PM
Well i found out today that i will be having a spinal rather than an epi (i would rather a spinal :yelclap:) and i also found out i have GD, if i cant keep it under control by diet then i will be having a c-section at 37 weeks, which is in 5 weeks time :eek:, which is only a week after i go on maternity leave :eek:, i will find out more in 2 weeks time.
Mel xoxox
erikel
25-08-2008, 12:42 PM
Hi Mum to Ethan,
I know your sister, she is a lovely lady and i know she will be thrilled to help out whenever needed.:angel:
Erikel
mum2ethan
25-08-2008, 06:09 PM
Hi Erikel,
A lovely lady??? you sure your talking about MY sister??? :p :laughing:yeah i know she will help me out whenever i need it, she is an angel!!!
Mel xoxox
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.