View Full Version : how do u relax
workin'mumof2
24-06-2008, 13:56
In public when feeding..
I cant do it.. i tence up and feel my face going red, i get all flustered and that effects ruby..
i can do it if dh is with me, but i want to do it by myself. I try and talk to myself in my head. saying other people do it so can u... if that makes sence
How do u relax when feeding in public.. or is it only me with this problem :(
I was fine in the parents room. why cant i be fine on a seat out in public :confused: without my husband
24-06-2008, 14:56
After 3 solid years of breastfeeding I STILL get self conscious while feeding in public. I feel like people are looking at me which in reality they either aren't or they are with admiration :D:D Thats what I tell myself to try to calm myself down lol. Try to ignore them, talk to bubby, smile at bubby, just pretend your at home in your own space :hugs:
AliyahBlake
24-06-2008, 15:13
:D I'm the same as RB - I just do it and pretend I'm in my own little world and try not to stress about it! It hasn't happened yet but I reckon if anyone tried to tell me I couldn't do it or gave me filthy looks while I was feeding in public I'd let 'em have a piece of my mind!! If I can I try and do it at home, in the car or in a parent's room but occassionally I will have to feed bub when we're out somewhere so I just do it. In saying that, I do it as discreetly as possible - you don't see me flopping everything out in full view that's for sure :laughing:
mischief79
24-06-2008, 15:15
I've found that when you are feeding in public, most people will look the other way and make an effort NOT to look at you. I just focus on her ears (!!). They are so little and adorable and I find that when I concentrate on her only the rest just kind of disappears.
My exception to feeding in public is that I don't do it when there are heaps of school age kids around (teenagers). Also at the footy for obvious reasons!
The first time I did it was hard but in reality most people don't want to look like they are actually looking at you because then others will see them looking and think they are wierd :confused:.
Although now I have problems feeding in public cos DD is bigger and stronger and throws her arms and legs around while feeding, pulls herself off to smile at someone walking past, gets milk in her nose and eyes and then decides to pinch me! Lots of fun :laughing:
Good luck with it all. Just remember, you are doing it for your baby, not anyone else.....
Lollie86
24-06-2008, 15:18
At first when DD was a baby I would just pretend that I was the only one in the room and just look down at her beautiful face and forget about everything else.
Nowadays I couldnt care less if someone is staring. You might feel more relaxed later on. Its still early days at the moment for you.
Plus I agree with mischief79 that most people try and look the other way when your feeding.