View Full Version : April, May & June Bubba's
Every one kinda sticks to their own thread and i figure we all have the same journey's and problems so we should have a combined thread and introduce ourselves...
Hi I'm Melissa, 29, married with 11yr DD, 5yr DS and 11wk old DS
My problems extend much further at this point with my 11yr old!! LOL!!! Nah nah, just jokes, good idea though because we are also being the April mum's have just been through some things that we might be able to help the May and June mums with too!!
My little one is getting better but not the most settled baby. I'm 100% bfeeding which I've had to perservere with but soooo glad that I did but he's not sleeping through the night by all means but some nights Im only up to him once at 2-3am and then at around 5.30-6ish so I'm not complaining!!! He has suffered from reflux a bit but not all the time.
So that's the basics and that's a great idea so thanks and I look forward to getting to know some other mums out there too!
workin'mumof2
23-06-2008, 15:25
what a fantastic idea. all the close age mums together:yes:
My names rosie, 22 with a 20.5month old boy and a 2.5month old girl. married.
hope to get to know everyone. have u told ur may mums about this thread.
Love is all you need
23-06-2008, 15:32
This is a great idea
I'm Jess, 22 with Evie who is 12 weeks and living with my DP in Vic
I've been pretty lucky with my girl she just has an insationable appeitite (sp?) and is teething but I've been having more trouble with my body and AFs being back and a million times worse lol.....sorry if TMI
Can't wait to get to know everyone
Im Megan, 31, Dh is also 31 and DD is 10 weeks... we live in far north qld...
I love ur DS's name Bel....
My gorgeous girl suffers badly from what appears to be colic, she gets terrible pains from wind and we have had a tough time easing it.. she has been bottle fed from 4 weeks due to my low supply...
Im looking forward to getting to know other mums too....
Theboys&me
23-06-2008, 15:54
Hi there:wave:
My name is Hayley and I am 25, my DH is 27 and my little boy who's name is London is 8 weeks old!!
London is doing quite well. He is sleeping for 6 - 8 hours a night but not much at all during the day. He has eczema on his little face but apart from that all is well.
Cheers :D
Theboys&me
23-06-2008, 15:55
Wowsa Bel - your bubbys are nice and close!!
Hi there:wave:
My name is Nic. I'm 24 and DH is 27. We have a little girl called Charlotte who is 14weeks this Thursday.
Charlotte is a pretty settled baby now (she never used to be). She sleeps anywhere between 6-9 hours a night. Charlotte has been bottle fed since day 3 as I couldnt breastfeed (I didnt make any milk).
Looking forward to getting to know all the mummies :flowerz:
Count me in!!!:yelclap:
My name is Renee and I'm 33 (& feeling really old in here with you young gals:laughing:) my DH is 38 and we have DD1 Mackenzie 6, DD2 Ava 3 and DS Lawson who is 10 1/2 weeks.
We currently live in Adelaide but have recently found out that we will be moving to NSW at the end of the year with DH's work - he's in the Army.
Lawson is by far the most unsettled of my babies. I thought it was meant to get easier the more babies you had, but apparently not. Nothing in particular is his problem, just the usual, doesn't like to be put down, lots of wind pain, only likes to sleep on me and the list goes on and on and on, but I wouldn't give him back for the world.
I'm looking forward to getting to know some more mums (not that there's anything wrong with our little April group) the more the merrier.:yes:
Renee...im old too!! almost 32 here!!! But at least our bubs share the same birthday...where in nsw are you going? Get posted up here......
Great idea!
Im Mel, 24, married to Daniel (23)
we have a cheeky 2.5yr old, Brayden, and our latest gorgeous boy Harlan, 7 weeks.
Harlan is breastfed, topped up with formula, 3 hourly during the day, 4 hrly at night. Hes a dream baby!! :D
happybunnypony
23-06-2008, 20:14
Hey Bel, and Hey April and June mummies!
My name is Kat, and I can't even believe i'm 30, it happened two weeks after my DS was born and was such a non event :( i haven't even been shopping for a pressie for myself yet.
ANyhoos i have one son Tyler Jasper who is currently 7 weeks old!
Just wondering myQTBoys, what made you do the top up feeds with formula? Is it because your sons weight was low? Did the DR suggest it?
I am wondering if i need to do it or not, my Dr wasn't impressed with Tylers weight gain at 4 weeks but didn't suggest anything so i'm not sure if i should do more. He doesn't have those fatty cheeks that so many bubs have and i'm worried about that!
Sorry totally raved too much in this thread...
Look forward to getting to know the other mummies xox
Just a run down i see you all saying 12 mth age gap..
I lost 3 bubba's before sienna.. due to my blood being too thick basically so i was on blood thining needles every day over 200 per bub.. All of our parents died of cancer quite young so DH and i agredd incase it took too long again to try right away...
So we had sienna 6lb 4-5oz 1st then Jarvis 8lb 4oz 12mths 12 days later..
They were both born naturally no stiches :D Jarvis was my quickest labour 2.5hrs i had problems BF both i told the staff every day with J that i had a problem but no one helped they gave him formula a few times and when i left i was told i had to comp feed after every BF it got too hard with a 12mth old as well.. but our tubba bubba at 4 weeks weighed in at 5.4kg you cant see it but you can feel it..
He is now on medication for reflux and changed to S26 LF to see if it helps.... lets hope so as i have only slept in my bed once since coming home
Just wondering myQTBoys, what made you do the top up feeds with formula? Is it because your sons weight was low? Did the DR suggest it?
I am wondering if i need to do it or not, my Dr wasn't impressed with Tylers weight gain at 4 weeks but didn't suggest anything so i'm not sure if i should do more. He doesn't have those fatty cheeks that so many bubs have and i'm worried about that!
I was desperate to suceed in breastfeeding this time around, after failing with brayden due to him aving a milk protein allergy. i ended up with PND and soooo didnt want to go there again.
Harlan lost 200g after birth (totally normal) but then at 3 wks old had only gained 20gms, then at 4 weeks had again another 30gms.. so was still 150gms under birth weight. i knew i had plenty of milk (i was leakin allll the time, he was having lots of wet and pooy nappies etc) so the dr wanted the hospital to check him out. he got addmitted to hospital for 3 days, and they found his tummy was still tiny, where it should have been bigger. so he was filling up, and getting enough milk to survive, poo, wee & gain a tiny bit of weight, but not enough to really live on. the pead at the hospital suggested we force feed him formula to expand his tummy.. so we did for 2 days, then he would happily take it, witout us having to force it... but then my supply wasnt enough to satisfy his bigger tummy, so iv been topping up since and trying to build my supply :) oh, and after being on formula top ups for 2 wks, he gained 1kg and has gorgeous cubby cheeks now :D so as much as i didnt want to have to give formula, he needed it and im just happy i can still breastfeed him!
ok, end of my novel :D
:wave::thumbsup: Idea.
I'm Jen 19 Year's Old I'm A Stay At Home Mum & Student. I Live On Brisbane's North side With My Df Who Is 21 Who Is A Automotive Spray Painter.
I Was A April Mummy That Had A March Baby My DD Abrianna Metzger Was Born Via Emergency
C- Section On March 19th @ 11.33 Am She Was 7 Pound 12 .49 Cm Long.
She Is Currently Bf With Top Up 's Of S26 But Due To Supply Issue's We May Have To Stop The Bf Soon.She Is A Content Little Baby With Lot's Of Smile's Giggle 's And Hug 's To Give Even Though She Is Teething It Hasn't Effected Her Mood.
So Far It's Been Pretty Smooth Sailing For Us With One Little Hiccup This Week Of Her Starting To Feed Every 2 - 3 Hours Instead Of 4 After Talking To Child Health Nurse's And Doctor's The Only Reason We Can See Why She Is Doing This Is To Stock Up For The Night As She Sleep's Frpm 7 pm To 7 am
So Thats Pretty Much Us In A Nutshell At The Moment.
Renee...im old too!! almost 32 here!!! But at least our bubs share the same birthday...where in nsw are you going? Get posted up here......
We're being posted to Singleton, in the Hunter Valley. Townsville was an option but I'm just not to keen to be that close to my in-laws just yet. Singleton is only a couple of hours from my mum and dad so I'm really looking forward to that.
Daviegirl
24-06-2008, 09:10
Great idea Bel1978,
Hi Ladies, my name is Chloe 26, married hubby 36 and recently moved from Brisbane to Melbourne.
We have a 5 week old girl also named London who we just love. Having similar problems to a few of you, we have an unsettling period that starts at 10pm every night and doesn't finish until 2am. She is breastfed and we think her issues are due to wind as she goes bright red in the face and kicks her legs out and cries even when on the boob. It only happens this time of day so not sure if its due to too much stimulation. It can get quite full on, she actually thrashes herself around if we just try and hold her through it and calms momentarily if placed back on the breast but then it starts again!!!
CHN suggested spreading out feeds to 3 hrly as she was demand fed and that did seem to help a bit (and gave my boobs a much needed break). At her 3-4 week check up she had put on double the average amount so CHN figured she is feeding too much hence the wind problems...Very frustrating but I do think about all the others going through the same think when I feel like my head is going to drop off at 1am... he he
Look forward to chatting with you all:flowerz:
hi Girls,
My name is Angela, im 29 (omg, 30 this year!) married to Rocco 32 and live in Springwood in Brissie. Our daughter Poppy was born on 21/04/08 and weighed 3.1kg. I am BF full time and at the moment after a pretty unsettled week last week after needles is only waking once a night at about 2.30am after going down between 7 and 8pm. She is full of smiles and loves to watch me blow dry my hair and squeals with excitement when she hears the hair dryer, typical girly girl lol! Poppy is also right on the 50th percentile for everything. Good girl! DH and I have also given Poppy the nickname of Monkey which she now responds to, I guess we should get out of the habit of calling her that ;)
Seeing everyone chat about af, I realised that I havent seen her for over 12mths now! Happy dance! Sorry to those of you who are having troubles with af. I am just sooo excited not to have it after all of the probs, pain and operations I have had over the last 10 years :)
We're being posted to Singleton, in the Hunter Valley. Townsville was an option but I'm just not to keen to be that close to my in-laws just yet. Singleton is only a couple of hours from my mum and dad so I'm really looking forward to that.
Renee my Df is from Jerry's Plains just near Singleton ( In laws just moved to Qld from there ) Apparntly its a really nice place What work does your Dh do ?
Hi I’m Kristy, 27, married with 11week old Noah
Great idea join us girls together.. I started Noah on Farax at 10 weeks and 2days and he loves it, he is now sleeping 8-10hrs feeding between 2-3am and then again around 6.30-7am sometimes 8am if I’m lucky… I have just been told Noah to has reflux he is on reflux formula and Zantac twice a day to help with his throat
Renee my Df is from Jerry's Plains just near Singleton ( In laws just moved to Qld from there ) Apparntly its a really nice place What work does your Dh do ?
He's a medic in the Army. Quite alot of people say it's a nice area so :fingerscrossed:.
EmsMum72
24-06-2008, 16:20
Just stumbled across this thread, great idea Bel :thumbsup:
:wave: everyone. Im another Mel, and it looks like Im the nanna of the group :laughing:, at 35. I have a 4.5yr old daughter Emily, and a 4 week old son Lincoln. My DH is 30 and we live in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.
Lincoln suffers from wind and we find it very hard to get any burps out of him. He usually does 1 then falls asleep and we cant get anything else out of him so put him to bed, then he wakes up about 1 hour later with pains and more burps. Its so frustrating as it appears to build up over the day (he sleeps well during the day, usually) so by the night time he is full of wind and the past few nights has been awake from about 6pm until 10pm or midnight. Im feeling very frazzled, especially seeing as I thought this baby would just be perfect and everything would be smooth sailing 2nd time around. We are seeing an osteopath, who works with babies and treats my hubby, next week so hopefully that will improve things.
DD is wonderful with him, often singing him lullabys (you are my sunshine, or twinkle twinkle) when he is upset and she brags all the time about the fact that he is her brother. We had a few issues when we first came home, jealousy, not being the centre of attention, back chat, being rude etc., but seem to have ironed them out for the time being and hopefully it stays that way :fingerscrossed:. She tends to cop the brunt of my moodiness when Ive only had 4 hours sleep during the night, the poor love, and I feel awful about that and seem to be constantly apologising to her or cuddling her, and really make the most of any Emily & mummy time that I can get.
Well thats enough rambling from me, better go and get some tea ready.
sillysideup
24-06-2008, 19:49
Up and challenging for the title of 'group granny' I'm 37 and had my 3rd baby girl 10 weeks ago tomorrow. My other two are 4 and 2. My life is pretty insane atm - I can't remember the last time I sat still for more than a few minutes - let alone went to the toilet on my own:o. My little Georgie is a wonderful baby. She is a content little Sleep, feed, play baby most of the time and only complains when she has wind (which seem to happen every 2 - 3 days and she screams like there is no tomorrow!!). The past few nights she has slept from 7.00pm to 5.00am - so I'm one happy granny aged groupie!!
Mel (EmsMum72) - Harlan was realllly bad for wind too, but i found a FANTASTIC natural remedy that works sooo sooo well... Brauers Colic stuff... i give it to Harlan straight before a feed, burp him half way thru the feed, then again after! that stuff has been my lifesaver!!
Eternity
24-06-2008, 20:13
Hey there
My name is Brooke Im 23, Married to Luke and we have two children, Sophia (20 mths) and Lincoln (10 weeks)
Lincoln is going really well, He is meeting all his milestones and smiling more and more everyday:) He feeds 3 hrly during the day and 4 hourly at night 8.00 12.00 and 4.00am but settles straight back to sleep so I am only up for 20 mins max which is pretty good but I am looking forward to a full nights sleep again
Look forward to getting to know you
BTW-Emsmum72- you have great taste in names;)
hehe Brooke I was thinking the same thing to say to Emsmum too.... Emsmum I have the opp problem wind all day then Emmy sleeps at night...weird huh?
For those with wind probs I started using Dr Browns bottles and they seem to help they slow feeding down and less air gets through too..Mel (qtb) I couldnt find the bottles you suggested IGA didnt have them? unfortunately brauers doesnt work for us but im glad it does for other people....
Renee - bummer about not coming here but great about Singleton...promise me you will enjoy the wine there???
KristyD - where do you get farax? Glad Noah is sleeping well!!
Davegirl - :wave: I know what you mean about thrashing around!! My DD does it with her wind she is so strong....
EmsMum72
24-06-2008, 20:39
Up and challenging for the title of 'group granny' I'm 37 and had my 3rd baby girl 10 weeks ago tomorrow. !
:laughing: ok, you win!
Mel (EmsMum72) - Harlan was realllly bad for wind too, but i found a FANTASTIC natural remedy that works sooo sooo well... Brauers Colic stuff... i give it to Harlan straight before a feed, burp him half way thru the feed, then again after! that stuff has been my lifesaver!!
Thanks QT, Ive actually just started using that stuff and it definately helps him burp. I was giving it to him between sides, so feed and then change nappy/give medicine, then another feed and bed but tonight I tried something different, I gave it to him before I fed him and while having the first side he did about 8 massive farts, then burped twice. I then gave him a bath and the other side and he did 2 more good burps afterwards. I put him to bed at 8am as he fell asleep on my shoulder and he woke up so I picked him up and he burped again, twice, then I put him back to bed. He is fighting sleep, but at least he is quiet. Its 9.30pm now and I can still hear him making little noises, but at least he is relatively quiet. Hopefully he will drift off to sleep :fingerscrossed: although knowing my luck he will want another feed soon :thumbsdown:. Thanks for the tip though :D
BTW-Emsmum72- you have great taste in names;)
Right back at ya ;)
EmsMum72
24-06-2008, 20:44
meggs, great name your daughter has there! :D
24-06-2008, 21:28
Hi girls, I'm one tired mum to Mr 2 (who likes to climb!) and Miss 11 weeks, who loves to sleep when its not convenient :laughing:.
We are fully breastfeeding - (gosh Tam, giving up dairy, hardcore!) cloth nappying and baby wearing:). Keeps me pretty busy!
NAK but look forward to chatting.
I was told by the hospital on both occasions that i couldnt BF which i wanted too.. the 1st being sienna she was 1 week old when she went to emergency and they told me she had to be bottle feed.. and recently Jarvis i was told i had to comp after every feed but with a 12mth old it was too hard i eithe BF or BF not both..
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
25-06-2008, 09:01
Hi Girls...
What a great thread :yelclap:...
My name is Kristi I am 26 and married to Daryll who is 32 and is in the RAAF and we currently live in Townsville.
Miss Eloise is 2.5 and Master Charlie is 10 weeks old today.
So far for us things have been pretty good..DH works away alot so I am on my own with the kidddlets a far bit but managing really well so far.
Charlie is 5.7 kg and is averaging 350gms weight gain a fortnight.
I full time formular feed as i have a medical condition that stops my body producing hormones that trigger the production of breast milk... I had a rough time with my DD cause of this but it has made the transistion for this baby so much easier having the prior warning and I have had plenty of time to get over the whole sence of failure feeling...
Charlie laughed for the very first time yesterday and is sleeping 12 hours a night with the help of a dream feed before I go to bed at about 9.30-10 pm each night..with out this feed he wake like clock work at 3 am.
Look forward to chatting to you all more and getting to know your bubs :wave:
reading how so many of u with bubs a bit older than mine are getting some sleep is reassuring. feel like i have matchsticks holding my eyelids up:laughing:. dylan is not a big sleeper he has reflux and wind pain so he is pretty cranky. poor kid.
tam i am what is silent reflux?
its awesome to think he might start smiling soon, i cant wait.
EmsMum72
25-06-2008, 09:53
:wave:hi Kristi,
Nice to be in another thread with you. Hard to believe we finally got our 2nd miracles after being in the TTC threads for so long isnt it?
Charlie sounds like a champion sleeper, you must be supermum coping on your own alot of the time. I wish my son would take a leaf out of Charlies book. All in good time, I hope :fingerscrossed: Is Eloise loving being a big sister? My DD, Emily, loves it - she is so proud and loves showing Lincoln off to everyone she can :yes:, she is always trying to help (gets the nappy & wipes ready), grabs her music box and turns it on if Linc is unhappy, tries to burp him if he has wind :laughing: too cute!
Looking forward to chatting to you more about our babies, because I always found you to be so helpful, supportive and uplifting in the other threads.
Tam-I-Am
25-06-2008, 10:10
Its when the child has stomach acid comes only part-way back up the oesophagus, which, as you can imagine, is quite painful. Unlike 'standard' reflux babies, silent refluxers don't tend to vomit a great deal, and it can be quite hard to diagnose - a lot of silent refluxers are just labelled 'fussy' :( when they're actually in pain :(
reading how so many of u with bubs a bit older than mine are getting some sleep is reassuring. feel like i have matchsticks holding my eyelids up:laughing:. dylan is not a big sleeper he has reflux and wind pain so he is pretty cranky. poor kid.
its awesome to think he might start smiling soon, i cant wait.
Jarvis wont sleep for more then 20 or so mins at a time he is on prescribed meds for reflux and LF formula... im really hoping it works itself out my DD never had it... I have slept in my bed once since being home as i have said as if he screams he wakes our 13mth old up and we have 2 crying...
Im hoping some one tells me they grow out of reflux too...
Where is every one from??? Im from Sydney
You will get to see a trend when i put the kids to bed for a nap i tend to stay upstairs for a while on the computer... rather then walking down stairs and back up again when they wont settle!
EmsMum72
25-06-2008, 12:07
Melbourne here, eastern suburbs :D
sparkleymum
25-06-2008, 13:11
I'm Cora, 31, married for 7 years, together for 10. I have a daughter called Aimee whos 3 years old in August and Myles who is 14 weeks.
He is formula fed and sleeps 12 - 13 hours a night. We dropped the dream feed a few weeks ago and he just slept right through. I love having my nights back again.
The only issue I have is sometimes he is wet in the mornings cause the nappy is about to explode, so I've changed up a size to crawler so we'll see how we get on with them.
He has also been on baby rice for about a week now due to being so hungry all the time and he is such a different baby now. SO happy, what a change. The paed, GP and health nurse all advised that this was the best course of action in my situation, although he is only 14 weeks he was 7.7kilos last week and 67cm, so he is the size of a 6 month old.
All is going well so far, loving being a mum of 2.
Bel - where in sydney are you?
TamIAm - :wave:How did you work out it was silent reflux and not colic? Im still trying to work out whether DD is colicky or refluxy so hard to tell the diff especially when she doesnt spew... the drs say colic but maybe they cant be bothered thinking anything else????
I'm Leanne & was a june mummy, but my DS Chais was born 7 weeks early at the start of May, so he's now 7 weeks (actually was due yesterday). I also have a 6 yr old DD Dakotah & an almost 5 yr old DS Makkai.
Did anyone else have a premmy?
I'm from Sydney & a very happy SAHM.
Chais is doing pretty well, was born 2.4kgs, dropped to 2.2kgs & is now back up to 3.3kgs. He is full time breastfed, which I'm actually enjoying. (Didn't breastfeed my other 2).
He was feeding every 4 hours, but that went out the window last week when he went through his 6 week growth spurt. What a nightmare few days that was! Thankfully I think we're back on track as he seems to be feeding every 4 hours again. He also has really bad wind & I also use the Brauer colic drops & think they're wonderful. Took a couple of days for me to notice them working, but very happy with the results now.
Look forward to chatting with everyone.
Daviegirl
25-06-2008, 14:30
Finally able to jump on, had a shocker night last night, finally had her down at 9.30pm but sure enough like clock work when it hit 10pm she stirs than wakes and the screaming starts, every night......its killing me. Lucky hubby is on arvo shift and gets home at 10.30pm so he can help out.
Bel, did the meds helps with Jarvis's reflux??? I think that London may have bouts of it at night as she appears in pain when she is upset. My brother had reflux and mum said once they are able to move around a bit it seemed to disappear. He was the same as Jarvis though, mum only ever got 20mins sleeps out of him at a time. Poor little things, it must be horrible for them.
Well done to all those of you getting more than 4hrs sleep a night! My little tacker used to at least sleep well during the day but lately wont go down unless I put her in the Hug-a-bub sling and I have to wear her until she finishes her nap. I hope this is just a growth spurt thing as I used to use this time to have a shower or something to eat. You know how they say breast feeding helps you lose weight, I reckon this is because you have no bloody time to eat!!!
Meggs - Hey meggs, you can get farax from any supermarket or big W
Kotakai - YAY your from Sydney where abouts? I’m from the April thread and the only one from Sydney..
Hey lovely mums :D
I'm Vee, have a 2.5 year old boy Josh and a 5.5 week old Cameron. Cameron is breastfeed, co-sleeps, and is generally pretty cruisy. He does like to be held a lot though and as soon as i put him to sleep he will wake up. So that's a bit hard, but luckily DH is here all day too to take him so i can do stuff.
Nice to chat to other mummies especially as i met quite a few of you lovely April mummies :wave:
Kayangel
25-06-2008, 15:24
Hey April, May and June mums :wave:!
Im Kayla, 18 years old and a single mummy to my little boy Jaylen Isaac who was born on May 3rd weighing 5 pounds 10 oz. Jaylens father wants nothing to do with him :rolleyes: and his family treats me like im not even alive but Jaylen gets so much love from my family and will never miss out on anything.
My little boy is breastfed, he has had a couple of days where i have had to give him a bottle due to my supply lacking but things are back on track now!
I live with my mum and 2 brothers, my mum is a great help and my brothers adore Jaylen. I have been studying childrens services for the last 12mths and will return to study when bubs is 12mths.
I become a great aunty on the 10th June so thats pretty cool.
Here is a pic of Jaylen:
3 days old
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w183/kayangel69/jjj.jpg
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w183/kayangel69/jay-1.jpg
and a recent pic-
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w183/kayangel69/DSC00137.jpg
http://i176.photobucket.com/albums/w183/kayangel69/jj.jpg
yeah tam i am i was wondering how u work it out that they have silent reflux too?
bel i think reflux can last till up to 1yr unfortunately. my other ds had it too but he never seemed to be in as much pain as dylan is. im jealous reading of some of u having big all night sleepers. dylan usually misery guts from 6pm till 12 or 1 am pretty much not sleeping at all. then he will sleep for maybe 2 hours often only if im holding him upright. then he is up for another 2 hours:hair:. through the day he cat naps. 10 mins here half an hour there same thing often if im holding him. i found giving him a dummy helped a bit and letting him sleep in his rocker with the vibrations left on
Kotakai - YAY your from Sydney where abouts? I’m from the April thread and the only one from Sydney..
I'm at Glenwood. (near Parklea Markets) There are a couple of Sydney girls in the June thread.
Tam-I-Am
25-06-2008, 22:04
TamIAm - :wave:How did you work out it was silent reflux and not colic? Im still trying to work out whether DD is colicky or refluxy so hard to tell the diff especially when she doesnt spew... the drs say colic but maybe they cant be bothered thinking anything else????
Have a look at the RISA (Reflux Infants Support Association) website on it - here (http://www.reflux.org.au/characteristics.php)....It was pretty clear that it's silent reflux after I read that...especially as I can hear him refluxing after a feed, I can see it happening too - the way he swallows and gags is pretty clear...He's fussy on the breast and pulls on and off, screaming and pulling off, arching his back....He refuses to sleep flat on his back - he must be upright...that sort of thing.
Connor's dad and I both have cow's milk protein intolerances and so does his older sister, and all the medical and chiropractic people we've consulted think that he does too and that's why he's refluxing. I'm now on an elimination diet (I can tolerate it in small amounts - but he doesn't seem to be able to...so I'll have to cut it all out).
HTH :)
SpottySocks
26-06-2008, 08:33
I'm fairly new to BH but finding it a great resource! Sillysideup - looks like you just beat me for the granny title, I'm 36. But my hubby probably wins the grandad award as he is 45! We have 3 lovely girls aged 6 (7 in July) and 4.5 and our latest Evelyn (known as Evie) who will be 4 weeks on Friday. She is our little surprise and was known as lucky during my pregnancy as she was "lucky to have been conceived" because I had the Mirena IUD in.
She also surprised us with her weight - 4.7 kilos (10lbs 5oz). I knew I was bigger than the other 2 but not that much. My first 2 weighed 8lb 7oz which I think is abut 3.6 kilos. However she is slowing down and last Wed (at 2 weeks 5 days) had 50 grams to get back to her birth weight.
She has trouble with wind and the late afternoon/early evening period can be a bit rough - she just wants to be carried or sleep in my arms all the time. My cousin lent me her Hug-a-Bub sling and it is fanatastic. I used a Baby Bjorn carrier for the other 2 but it was never very comfortable, and you had to watch their heads didn't flop around too much when they where little. The Hug-a-Bub is much more comfortable and holds them firmly against your chest so you can bend over and move around easier. She often spends a couple of hours in it in the evenings and it means I can carry her and bath my 4 year old and get dinner ready etc.
Anyway, I look forward to being part of this group & getting to know everyone. Am feeling a bit isolated as all our friends are working and are not at home during the day. I noticed our Child Health Association has a pram walking group that meets on Tuesdays (when my 4yr old is at kinder) so I think I will have to make the effort to join so I get out of the house a bit more.
Hope everyone had a reasonable nights sleep and goodluck for a settled and calm day!!
My little bub was born in Feb but I still lurk around the April area since that's when she was due.
Kotakai - my little girl was also 7 weeks early weighing 2.1 kilos.
I haven't posted much recently, feel like I've been pulling my hair out at times from tiredness. DD has cow's milk intolerance, had a bout of rotavirus, silent reflux which has bouts of projectiling too. We have started meds a weeks ago for the reflux, but the poor little thing still screams in pain so much of the day... She'll do a couple of one hour sleeps during the day but always wakes up tired... Nights are fairly good she's exhausted by 6 and settles within half hour mist nights, has dream feed around 10 from dad then I'm up to her around 5 times between 12 and 6.
Amongst all that I am loving being a mum and seeing that new little thing she can do everyday.
Can't remember who said about giving the Braurers colic drops before the feed to help with burps, i'll have to give that a go, I was giving it after and didn't seem to help that much. Infacol worked but seemed a bit harsh at times.
Hey guys just a quick one the house is quiet do you know how rare it is having a 1 mth and 13mth old with a quiet house...
ok the reflux meds seem to be working not 100% but a big improvement... for those who asked i live at Glenmore Park... would love to meet any sydney mummies ...... oh parklea isnt too far
Just PM me!!
Just got told about this thread today, so thought I'd join in!
My name is Michelle I'm married and I have DS1 Riley who is 3, DD Tehya who is 2 and DS2 Ethan who is 18 days old today, born on 8th June.
It is VERY busy with 3, and very TIRING at the moment with DS2 doing the 2 hourly feeds, but he's got a cold at the moment, (as have I and DH) so he's allowed to do that. Keep thinking he should be sleeping longer, but considering he's not even 3 weeks old yet, can't expect too much:D
hey guys.
I have a 2 1/2 year old a 17 month old and a 3 month old.
Is there any Adelaide mummas here. I just moved here.
Bex
melaniec
27-06-2008, 18:57
Hi Girls! I'm Mel, 25, single Mum from Perth. My babys Dad is 24 and is still a part of our lives, usually visiting every weekend.
I have a very unsettled little baby girl, Lily, born on the 2nd of May (8 days overdue, induced). We have tried Lactose Free formula, Losec reflux medication, Infacol, Brauers Colic Relief and I have also cut out all chocolate and dairy products! Also tried to thicken the bottle feeds with Guarcol liquid thickener. Lily seemed to be getting less cranky and then she came down with a cold and everything just went out the window :( So we're back to square 1 again. Been to the physio this week so I am hoping that will give some relief. The physio said she seemed to have 3 pinched nerves in her back from the traumatic delivery.
I am BFing and comping with formula because my supply doesnt seem to keep up (as much as I try). Lily is a very spewy baby and doesnt seem to keep much down.
Anyway! Still hoping for a light at the end of the tunnel! But to the Mums with little to no sleep - I FEEL YOUR PAIN!
ah .....yes... cranky,spewy baby here too. and absolutely no sleeping allowed. Dylans strict orders, there shall be no sleep in his house whatsoever.
growingbelly
29-06-2008, 11:59
I would like to join in this thread too. I am 23 and i have just had my first bubba.My little girl was due on the 7th of June but was born (via induction) on the 23rd of May.
I was lurking a bit in the due in may and june threads during my pregnancy (sorry about lurking, i was too shy to post :rolleyes:). My dd is going well in general, after a lot of problems feeding she is now 100% bottle fed. She is a very sleepy baby and we are going to the paediatrician this week to have her checked out again, the gp and chn think all is ok but we are seing the paed just for reassurance.
I look forward to getting to know you all :D
Jen
mirandaj
29-06-2008, 19:16
Hi, My name is Miranda and I am 25. My baby boy Liam (1st baby) is now 8 weeks old. Was born 2nd May via emergency c-section.
He was feeding every 2 hours up until a week ago. The early childhood nurses think I may be feeding him when he is unsettled for other reasons, so I have been trying to stretch it out and settle him other ways. He seems to have wind and reflux and be in quite a bit of pain. Am looking forward to me paediatritian appointment in a week and a half to talk about it (I was naughty and didn't book him in for a 6 week check on time).
becskids
29-06-2008, 19:40
Great thread, I'm Bec 27, married to Darren 30, 4 children Lockie close to 8, Braydon close to 5 Jasmine 3.5 and Nathaniel 5weeks. Finally have things under control. Nathaneil gave us a few problems to do with his birth weight but finally at 4.5 weeks he is back to birth weight. He is a great baby can't complain. He is feeding and sleeping well i thinkl.
Must go put others to bed but will post again later.
BEC
Hi guys Jarvis is on Zantac.. is losec better or does it work?
HazyDazeinMay
30-06-2008, 09:57
I am finally back on board after a bit of a break from hub-bub and delighted to see this thread and realise I am not alone.
Emily was born 3.5 weeks ago, 8 days late after being induced and resulting in emer c-sect. due to a few complications with me, we did not get out of hospital for a week, and then myself, DP and Emily took off for a "holiday" from all the well-wishers and visitors in Sydney. We are just back to base and DP back to work today for the first time:confused: Think panic is setting in.
I am intruiged by all the notes on reflux - how do you know your baby has this? Emily has taken to spewing recently, possibly due to the speed at which she feeds. She seems to overeat - though hard to tell as she is BF - and this results in spewing once a day, but this is becoming more frequent. Is this normal, or is this a sign of reflux? She is generally good, though like most of your little ones does not like to sleep unless in someones arms, making it very difficult to get anything done:o She was 4.51k at birth, though lost nearly 10% in the first 5 days and has not been weighed since.
Oh dear, shes awake again, better dash.
Look forward to getting to know you all better and share in your experiences in advice as our little ones grow:yelclap:
Hi Hazydaz - Congratulations of the birth of your bubba!! Wow, 4.5kg, what's that in pounds, great size bubba!! lol My son was diagnosed with Reflux by my Paediatrician. When your baby does feed and spew, does she cry/scream when it's happening??? That generally is a good sign that it's burning on it's way up. How is she getting her wind up? Maybe if your milk is coming too fast also, I was recommended to lye down and feed as it slows the flow down so that they have to suck to get the milk rather than it just pouring down their throat. Not sure on the overheating thing but one of our April mum's is just mentioning that her baby was sweating when she woke this morning and was crying through the night which was unlike her. So not sure on that one. Maybe take your bubs to the GP and ask about the reflux.
I had no idea Noah had reflux until we were seeing the doctor and Noah spewed (about 40mins after having a bottle) he told me Noah had reflux and put him on Zantac to help his little throat and reflux formula but didn’t tell me how long so far it’s been 2 weeks
Kay angle - Jaylen is just gorgeous
Kotaki - Ok I’m about 40mins from you!
Bel1978 - I’m from Sydney to I’m not sure where Glenmore Park is but I’m about 40mins from Parklea
Hazy - Wow 4.5kgs my little boy was 4kgs and only lost 200gms when we left hospital, I haven’t had him weighed in 2 weeks but last time he was weighed he was 7kgs and he is now 12weeks old my little piggy
Hi ladies, :wave:
I am 28 years old, live in the Parramatta area in Sydney and just had my first child, Samuel (AKA Sam) 3 weeks ago. We moved back to Sydney after spending 2 and a half years in Noosa and were back only a week before I went into labour 2 weeks early. The labour was amazing and very fast. Just an hour and a half after I was told I really WAS in labour (yes you can curse me now!).
Since then, Sam has fed well and slept when not feeding - OK curse me again as he is the perfect baby. I am not holding my breath that this will last but am a little hopeful!
I moved in with my in-laws while we figure out what we're going to be doing (buy another place, move back into our investment property or sponge off the in-laws for the rest of our lives - OK that last one WAS a joke!). You will no doubt hear how painful my in laws are the more I chat, as I tend to whinge about them a fair bit.
I am not working for as long as I can handle it - have worked since I was old enough to and don't really know what I'll do with myself. So if anyone is local and wants to catch up, I am well and truly IN. My in laws retired just before we moved in (told us AFTER we got here!) and so once DH starts work, I will be looking for ANY opportunity to get out of the house during the days!
I think that just about sums me up. Hope I didn't ramble too much. Looking forward to getting to know some more new mummies.:yes:
Hi all.. J went back to the doctor.. he had an ultrasound done tonight for a hernia... gee what else do they think is wrong???
We have a 5 week old girl also named London who we just love. Having similar problems to a few of you, we have an unsettling period that starts at 10pm every night and doesn't finish until 2am. She is breastfed and we think her issues are due to wind as she goes bright red in the face and kicks her legs out and cries even when on the boob. It only happens this time of day so not sure if its due to too much stimulation. It can get quite full on, she actually thrashes herself around if we just try and hold her through it and calms momentarily if placed back on the breast but then it starts again!!!
Daviegirl, this sounds exactly like what we are experiencing with Liam (12 days old). We thought it may have to do with being over stimulated during the day too. Its so frustrating that it happens at night. I think if it was during the day, it wouldn't seem half as bad. Anyway, good luck to us both and:fingerscrossed: that our bubs settle down soon.
Hi all!:wave: Im Kylie and my bub is Liam. He's 12 days old and totally gorgeous, apart from at night when he's unsettled. DH and I are drifting through the fog of sleeplessness, and loving every moment. I cannot imagine what I did with myself before Liam came along. He has taken over my life, my heart and my house!!
Hope to get to know you all really soon:flowerz:
Liam sounds like a dream.. come and help us, we have a 13mth old who doesnt usually sleep through and a 1 mth old that no one knows what wrong so he keeps getting ultrasounds and tests done!
Bel - Sounds like you're going through a rough time!! What's the symptoms with Jarvis?? why is he getting lots of tests done, if you don't mind me asking!! you don't need to answer of course!!
I dont mind ask away maybe some one can help..
He has been screaming now for up to 6 hours a day... legs up, vomiting etc.. he is in a lot of pain.. My 13mth old was just a whinger when we had J you could tell the difference..
So his paed put him on formula.. S26 LF and Zantac.. kind of helped but not alot the community nurse claims he has some thing wrong with his hips.. the paed said no but get a ultrasound done any way.. booking soon..
Called the paed back he said take him to the GP for his oppinion as we dont see the paed for another 3 weeks.. GP said he had a hernia and we got him in last night for an ultrasound.. Getting results back today...
But overall i had a bad time at the private hospital which made the whole situation worse.. i was afraid of not bonding with him with such a young baby already...
Oh ok then. When my DS did a similar thing, I took him to the chiropractor! 6 sessions and was all fixed, was amazing. I know that some people aren't a fan of doing things like that but it's not like when you go as an adult. I'm sure with all the scans and testing you'll get some answers. My Pead has put my little man who was 6weeks old at the time on Losac which is for reflux so maybe you need something a bit stronger than Zantac if that's the case. Maybe it's colic, have you tried some natural colic relief?? You can get some good stuff from the health food shops. Brauer I think that's how you spell it, colic relief is quite good. Not sure, it might be a hernia too or maybe his hips are out!!
Best wishes and let us know what the scan results say anyway, I hope that you get some answers soon!
Daviegirl
01-07-2008, 15:39
Daviegirl, this sounds exactly like what we are experiencing with Liam (12 days old). We thought it may have to do with being over stimulated during the day too. Its so frustrating that it happens at night. I think if it was during the day, it wouldn't seem half as bad. Anyway, good luck to us both and:fingerscrossed: that our bubs settle down soon.
Hi all!:wave: Im Kylie and my bub is Liam. He's 12 days old and totally gorgeous, apart from at night when he's unsettled. DH and I are drifting through the fog of sleeplessness, and loving every moment. I cannot imagine what I did with myself before Liam came along. He has taken over my life, my heart and my house!!
Hope to get to know you all really soon:flowerz:
Hi Kylie:wave:, its funny, the three week mark was when it all started with London and yes your right, I have noticed its a lot worse when she hasn't slept as much during the day or we had a lot on i.e. relo's/friends visiting!! Fingers crossed it all gets better.....
I dont mind ask away maybe some one can help..
He has been screaming now for up to 6 hours a day... legs up, vomiting etc.. he is in a lot of pain.. My 13mth old was just a whinger when we had J you could tell the difference..
So his paed put him on formula.. S26 LF and Zantac.. kind of helped but not alot the community nurse claims he has some thing wrong with his hips.. the paed said no but get a ultrasound done any way.. booking soon..
Called the paed back he said take him to the GP for his oppinion as we dont see the paed for another 3 weeks.. GP said he had a hernia and we got him in last night for an ultrasound.. Getting results back today...
But overall i had a bad time at the private hospital which made the whole situation worse.. i was afraid of not bonding with him with such a young baby already...
Oh Bel, all I can says is hugs to you :hugs:. Poor little man, what ever is bugging im is really giving him the run through. The CHN said the same with with me about London and her hips however I went to the Doc who said they seem fine. I hope so???:confused: I hope you get some relief soon!
Hey Girls,
Bel how awful...I was also going to suggest a chiro or osteopath..they may have some solutions too... Emmy is almost 12 weeks and is starting to get better so hopefully Jarvis will soon too... did I mention that Jarvis is my surname? Such a great name hehe...
Daviesgirl and Kyles - :hugs: just keep trying things til you find something that works well makes it somewhat better... thats what we did..:)
EmsMum72
01-07-2008, 16:08
Hey Bel, have you thought about taking Jarvis to an osteopath/chiropractor? Not everyones cuppa tea, I know, and I have always been sceptical but I know many people who have taken their babies and it has done them the world of good. Many of the ladies at my daughters kinder have taken their babies and raved about it. Often a baby can get traumatised by its birth and just needs a re-alignment (or something :confused:). Im taking Linc tomorrow for his tummy/wind/pains/lack of burping/reflux?/colic? etc. issues :rolleyes:. My friend took her 1 week old son to an osteopath because he hurt his neck during delivery and a week later he turned into this wonderful little boy and from 4 weeks of age has been sleeping from 6.30pm until 7.30am :yes:.
Just an idea cause I can only imagine how frazzled you must be.
Hope everyone else is enjoying their babies. My son and I are getting along much better these days as his sleeping, especially at night, has improved and we now get a 4.5/5 hour stint, followed by a 3 hour one so its good. I seem to be the only one who can settle him though, and he always wants to be held, which makes getting anything done almost impossible. My 4 year old daughter thinks she is his mother (well not really, she knows she is his sister) but she is trying to take over my job, LOL!
P.S. that will teach me for only briefly skimming through the last lot of posts, someone else has already mentioned osteopaths etc, sorry about that. Oh well, great minds think alike!
Sorry to crash your thread ladies...
but....
i just wanted to congratulate you all on your new bubbas....
I have been off the air for a while with my precious little Benjamin.. and failed to be around to congratulate you guys... especially the lovely ladies that were so supportive when we were TTC together..
EmsMum, Kristi H.. A special mention for you two..... I am soooo pleased you both got your little miracle bubs...
Well done
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
03-07-2008, 07:33
Hey there girls...
Emsmum and Brasha :hugs::hugs::hugs: Hi there and a huge congratulations to you both aswell... YAY another thread we can be in together..I missed our chats when we all moved on from the TTC threads :goodvibes:...
At our house at the moment things are organised caos LOL !!!! DH is on 9 days leave after being away for 6 weeks so Miss Eloise is over stimulated and excited cause daddy is home LOL !!!
Charlie on the other hand just takes everything in his stride and comes along for the ride...he is my relaxed little man... sleeps, eats smile and giggles and then reapts the process all over again LOL !!!
I am guess he is about 6kg now at 11 weeks or just under..he was 5.7 kg last week when I got him weighed but I think he has had a bit of a growth spurt since then.
He is drinking 150mls every bottle now :smiliedance:...5 times a day so i know he isnt lacking in anything..he is a little chubber LOL...but no way is he ready to start drinking 200ml bottle just yet. He is also sleeping really well about 12 hours straight at night and 2-3 naps during the day with his arvo one being a massive 3-4 hour sleep...I get soooooo much done in the arvo LOL !!!
I notice a few of the new bubs have some bad reflux..poor little things.. I had the same problems with my DD, she improved alot when she hit around that 16 week mark when her digestive system had developed a bit more. Its such a hard thing to try and work out cause what works for one baby can do nothing for the next but I strongly agree with visiting a chiro or physio, I took my DD to see both and they worked a miricle with her, 5-6 sessions later she was a completely different baby, a dream !!!
I know we all love to chat about our bubs but I was wondering how YOU are all doing since the arrival of your little bundles.
First, second, thrid or fourth baby we all recover differently each time we introduce a new family member into the house.... so how are you ??? (((((((HUGS)))))
Me..I am good, a few body image issues to work on that when fixed will boost my self esteem...I need to remember Rome wasnt built in a day an neither will I be back to my pre baby weight in a day either LOL.
I think we as mums get so caught up in how are family is doing we forget about ourselves aswell...just remeber you are just as important (((((HUGS)))).
Chat soon girls xoxoxo
Hey Girls,
Bel how awful...I was also going to suggest a chiro or osteopath..they may have some solutions too... Emmy is almost 12 weeks and is starting to get better so hopefully Jarvis will soon too... did I mention that Jarvis is my surname? Such a great name hehe...
Every one asks where the name Jarvis came from.. i think they were waiting for an explanation about a family member or some thing... actually my Ob's receptionist named him as we didnt have a name we liked the reaction i get is "Oh"..
Mel his Paed said no to chiro... he did ok last night slept on sienna's baby lounge woke at 2am and 5am not sure what time he fell asleep as DH put him there i was watching football and missed the end.. my team won and i missed it i needed the sleep... he joined me on the lounge at 5am which is a big improvement he is in his cot now lets see if he gets used to it..
SpottySocks
03-07-2008, 09:49
I was wondering if anyone uses a baby swing? I have been offerred a 2nd hand Fisher Price swing for $50. It is in as new condition and is the 3 in 1 Ages & Stages swing that converts to a rocker and a toddler seat, looks like great value because I think they sell for over $150 new.
Anyway was just wondering if your bubs like it and do you find it useful? My hubby thinks we wouldn't use it much but I think it would be really helpful as my little Evie loves to be carried and held and with 2 other children this is not always possible - mornings getting ready for school are particulary hectic so I think it would come in handy.
I think I will most likely get it anyway - for $50 it's a bargain & I'm sure I could sell it on for the same price if we don't use it.
Hope everyone is doing well. We are going ok - Evie is still feeding every 2 to 3 hours which is really hard work. The good thing is she will take a bottle so I can express and my husband can do the last evening shift & I can get a couple of extra hours sleep. My older 2 girls would not take a bottle, but they were much better sleepers and fed 4 hourly so it wasn't that much of an issue. Evie also suffers from really bad wind, we have tried Braurs Colic Relief & Gripe water but they made no difference. Am going to get some Infacol Wind Drops today to see if they help. She does the biggest burps and farts, it just takes a while for her to get them out and she cries herself horse in the process.
The best thing is that she has started smiling, she'll be 5 weeks tomorrow. She was from 3 weeks, but they were not really when she was focused on your face. Probably what some call wind - but usually when she was content so I like to think they were smiles. The past day or 2 she will focus on our faces and smile, very cute!
Hope those who were struggling with feeding are getting things under control. Kayangel don't feel guilty about bottle feeding, sounds like you have lots going on and as long as your baby is happy & thriving then you are doing a good job. My sister bottle fed her bubs at night from a couple of weeks old, she always BF during the day but the last one at night was always formula. She found that this way they slept for longer and she was able to cope with the frequent daytime feeding much better if she had also had a rest. When they reached 6 months and she introduced solids she dropped the evening bottle and said that with a full tummy of food they continued to sleep through the night. Formula is digested much slower than breast milk which is why BF bubs often feed more frequently than formula fed bubs. Anyway, i think you just have to do what is right for you and don't listen to those who try & make you feel guilty.
Sounds like Miss Evelyn is awake - best go. hope everyone has a good day without too much stress!
Nevjay - I use a rocker/swing for Noah and he loves it, I can put him in while I’m getting ready put the rocker on and music and most of the time he will drift off to sleep.. $50 is a great price considering what this one does
EmsMum72
03-07-2008, 13:24
:wave: Brasha, lovely to hear from you. How is Benjamin going, and how is motherhood 4th time around (with a gap between 3 & 4), I'm sure you're loving every minute of it. It's funny how you, Kristi & I all had boys :yes:
I know we all love to chat about our bubs but I was wondering how YOU are all doing since the arrival of your little bundles.
Kristi, sounds like Charlie is a wonderful cruizy baby, and his sleeping patterns are wonderful. Hopefully when we get to the 10/11 week mark Lincoln's sleeping alot more through the night. My son weighed almost as much at 4 weeks (5.3kgs) as Charlie did at 10 weeks :laughing:
Apart from the obvious (being tired) I'm pretty good. I feel quite good, but my hair looks feral (wonder when I'll get to the hairdresser for a full head of foils now :rolleyes:). I tend to think I can do everything though and often don't ask for help, so I end up paying the price a few days later when I'm just exhausted and my body is sore! Hubby thinks I do it just so I can turn around and get grumpy with him for not helping me. He says I should just tell him what I need done, rather than racing around like a headless chook trying to do everything myself, and then getting grumpy with him for not offering to help.
I must admit it's nice that it's school holidays atm and we don't have to be anywhere at a certain time, but in a week or so the madness will begin again with kinder drops offs/pick ups, swimming lessons and gymnastics. :sleeping:
But thanks for asking Kristi, we do tend to worry about the wellbeing of our family and put ourselves last, but that's just a typical 'mum' thing to do isn't it? Good on you for losing 20kgs so far, that's wonderful. I put on 10kgs with Linc and have lost 15kgs so far, another 10 to go :yelclap:
nevjay, the swing sounds awesome. I seriously need something like that because my DS is the same, loves to be held and hates it when I put him down.
Bel, I like the name Jarvis, wasn't sure about it when you first mentioned it but really like it now. Shame that your paed said no to chiro!
Nevjay - I use a rocker/swing for Noah and he loves it, I can put him in while I’m getting ready put the rocker on and music and most of the time he will drift off to sleep.. $50 is a great price considering what this one does
Your sig is the pic of siennas she fell out of it when she was 6 weeks old so DH doesnt like it...
Mel.. the name has grown on me too!
SpottySocks
04-07-2008, 13:06
Your sig is the pic of siennas she fell out of it when she was 6 weeks old so DH doesnt like it...
Ouch - how did she fall out of it? We have a rocker seat which is great - as long as some one can give her a push to keep it rocking. I use it a lot at meal times, sit her at my feet and keep her rocking while I eat. Also handy when I'm bathing the older girls. I am a bit paranoid about it as I know of a little boy whose mum picked up the rocker using the carry handles and somehow it tilted backwards and he slid out and ended up with a fractured skull! He was fine, no long term brain damage, he was only 6 weeks old and apparently bubs skulls are soft and mend well at that age, but still, the guilt would be awful. My 4 year old is under strict instructions not to try and lift it up with Evie in it, and my almost 7 year old is in a wheelchair so no chance of her picking it up.
I have said yes to the swing and will pick it up on the weekend. I'm getting it from a friend of my sisters, she said she also has a couple of bags of baby clothes I can have :smiliedance: as her daughter is nearly 2 and will be an only child, she is always well dressed in the latest designer labels so I'm feeling pretty lucky!
Hope everyone is having a good day.
Hi Nevjay:wave:
I was going to suggest maybe you could try Dr Browns bottles for the wind thats what we use now and I wish I had started sooner..they have a funnel that traps the air and they drink much slower it seems to have made a huge difference for us...the only place I have seen them is at Toys R Us...
EmsMum - Hows things going? Any improvement?
Bel - I love the name as a first name Damien Leith has his son Jarvis too... i might be biases but think its fantastic hehe....
Brasha - Thanks for your message so thoughtful...
Kristi :wave: stranger havent seen you in like forever!!!! Glad everything is going well I hope to see you soon!!!
KristyD/Noahsmum - Did you head back to the sales today? Come up here ours a great!!! Hope Noah is having a good day....
Serious!!!!!!!!!!!!! i thought Jarvis was unique... shannon noll i heard from some one has sienna too!
Sienna was placed by my over cleaning husband on the lounge.. which she was place a couple of times no problem the rocker fell off onto the tiles... she was fine but since then he hates it.. my 2 year old nephew stood on it the other day and now has a big bruise
Kotakai - my little girl was also 7 weeks early weighing 2.1 kilos.
How is she going now? Can you remember how old she was when she started smiling at you?
Can I ask, what she weighs & what size clothing is she in now?
shereejoy
12-07-2008, 13:15
I was desperate to suceed in breastfeeding this time around, after failing with brayden due to him aving a milk protein allergy. i ended up with PND and soooo didnt want to go there again.
Harlan lost 200g after birth (totally normal) but then at 3 wks old had only gained 20gms, then at 4 weeks had again another 30gms.. so was still 150gms under birth weight. i knew i had plenty of milk (i was leakin allll the time, he was having lots of wet and pooy nappies etc) so the dr wanted the hospital to check him out. he got addmitted to hospital for 3 days, and they found his tummy was still tiny, where it should have been bigger. so he was filling up, and getting enough milk to survive, poo, wee & gain a tiny bit of weight, but not enough to really live on. the pead at the hospital suggested we force feed him formula to expand his tummy.. so we did for 2 days, then he would happily take it, witout us having to force it... but then my supply wasnt enough to satisfy his bigger tummy, so iv been topping up since and trying to build my supply :) oh, and after being on formula top ups for 2 wks, he gained 1kg and has gorgeous cubby cheeks now :D so as much as i didnt want to have to give formula, he needed it and im just happy i can still breastfeed him!
ok, end of my novel :D
I just wanted to say well done. You are doing a gr8 job!
shereejoy
12-07-2008, 13:24
Great idea Bel1978,
Hi Ladies, my name is Chloe 26, married hubby 36 and recently moved from Brisbane to Melbourne.
CHN suggested spreading out feeds to 3 hrly as she was demand fed and that did seem to help a bit (and gave my boobs a much needed break). At her 3-4 week check up she had put on double the average amount so CHN figured she is feeding too much hence the wind problems...Very frustrating but I do think about all the others going through the same think when I feel like my head is going to drop off at 1am... he he
Look forward to chatting with you all:flowerz:
This sooo sounds like us. A dream baby during the day and then wind issues at night. Last night he fed from 8.45pm to 11.45pm and sometimes it can be longer. Won't go down in his cot at night, only lay on his belly in bed with us. Such a different baby at night. Def has his nights and days mixed up. We have also had issues of over feeding, hence the tummy upsets, now I am just not sure. I think he just loves his tummy so much that during the day he is so sleepy and doesn't care if I lay him on his back, at night he comes alive and does not want a bar of his back!!! Agggghhhh it is is all trial and error. Still a much more settled and contented baby then my first though. 250% better then him!
Daviegirl
12-07-2008, 19:04
This sooo sounds like us. A dream baby during the day and then wind issues at night. Last night he fed from 8.45pm to 11.45pm and sometimes it can be longer. Won't go down in his cot at night, only lay on his belly in bed with us. Such a different baby at night. Def has his nights and days mixed up. We have also had issues of over feeding, hence the tummy upsets, now I am just not sure. I think he just loves his tummy so much that during the day he is so sleepy and doesn't care if I lay him on his back, at night he comes alive and does not want a bar of his back!!! Agggghhhh it is is all trial and error. Still a much more settled and contented baby then my first though. 250% better then him!
Its horrible isn't it??? Right now hubby has her in the hug-a-bub and is dancing around the lounge room trying to get her off to sleep. She's now been up for 4 hrs...aaaahhhhhhhh. She has been sleeping longer ONCE she goes down for the night, but its always around midnight now. Have you ruled out silent reflux? A mothercraft nurse thought London may have it but she has been on the meds now for a few days and no difference to behaviour so it must just be normal old colic. They say it comes good after 3 months? Is this true ladies???? They are so peaceful during the day and become possesed by the devil after 7pm.............even with co-sleepig and baby wearing for 8 hrs a day in my case.....
First, second, thrid or fourth baby we all recover differently each time we introduce a new family member into the house.... so how are you ??? (((((((HUGS)))))
Me..I am good, a few body image issues to work on that when fixed will boost my self esteem...I need to remember Rome wasnt built in a day an neither will I be back to my pre baby weight in a day either LOL.
I think we as mums get so caught up in how are family is doing we forget about ourselves aswell...just remeber you are just as important (((((HUGS)))).
Chat soon girls xoxoxo
Hey Kristi, you're such a sweetie. Just wanted to see if others had this problem but when DS2 was 2 weeks old or thereabouts i went back on the mini pill, my moods went downhill i was really flat not completely depressed but just not right and also really short with DH and really not in the mood to do much, now i've been off the mini-pill for a week and the little dark cloud has lifted and i'm back to myself and don't want to divorce my hubby! :laughing: So yeah, wondering if anyone else has had this prob with the pill, bit annoying though never had this prob with the regular pill and don't know what my options are re contraception.
Bubs is going well, he's 8 weeks old today, he has no issues with anything, doesn't want a dummy, doesn't get wrapped, doesn't scream for hours, he's generally pretty content and just wants boobies, we co-sleep and he probably wakes 3-4 times a night but will generally only take one side and then fall back to sleep which is lovely, nothing like his big bro who we definately did the hard yards with him, so it's nice to have a much cruisier easier baby. He is really lovely, loves looking around and just stares for ages at things, he goo's and gaa's and has started laughing, it's just too precious. I'm pretty sure he weighs 5.9kgs, (got DH to weigh with and without him to gauge what his weight is), which is fantastic, he's put on nearly 2kilos since birth, so i'm stoked with that as DS1 was a very slow weight gain, i think cause of all the screaming he used to do and he only ever snack-fed.
Anywho, bubs is crying so better feed him.
Hope everyone is going well. :D :wave:
To those i have shared my story about Jarvis screaming for 7 weeks... we got a call from his paed on saturday which i thought was odd.. telling me to take him to emergency that he had an infection. He was placed on a drip in the childrens ward.... more tests done....
Discharged today we can treat him at home on antibiotics.. have to get a hip and renal ultrasound next tuesday then see the paed on the friday.. works out well as my post natal check up is next tuesday....
SpottySocks
14-07-2008, 14:25
To those i have shared my story about Jarvis screaming for 7 weeks... we got a call from his paed on saturday which i thought was odd.. telling me to take him to emergency that he had an infection. He was placed on a drip in the childrens ward.... more tests done....
Discharged today we can treat him at home on antibiotics.. have to get a hip and renal ultrasound next tuesday then see the paed on the friday.. works out well as my post natal check up is next tuesday....
How scary for you all! But still it must be a relief to have an answer as to why he has been screaming so much. I hope he's crying less now you've started on the antibiotics, poor little man!:(
Goodluck with all the tests. :hugs:
Back at the hospital again today.. more tests...
the guy could see a problem but have to wait for the actual doc report..
Hey Bel,
Just wondering if any updates? how is Jarvis? and you of course....
Hey....
He now needs to go to Westmead Childrens for more tests and more scans at Nepean it never ends...
Looking for kidney/bladder reflux.. he also had reflux and his hip test only just scraped in so more tests incase he needs a brace..... :(
I feel like im always telling people about Jarvis it never ends here as i said...
I need some good news whats every one else's bubs up to??
Can some one teach sienna to walk!!!
Heya!
Sorry I missed your reply...you poor thing! Sounds neverending I bet you cant wait til you have some answers and a way forward...
We are going well had a couple of sleepless nights but Em is back to normal last night...Teething is soooo not fun!
How is everyone else?
Teething???
My DD is teething she only has 6 teeth and she was 15 mths on the weekend.... so close to walking!!! i bet Jarvis will walk 1st
growingbelly
10-08-2008, 22:56
it has been ages since i have been in here:no: hope everyone is well and all the babies are letting you get some sleep :laughing:
[quote=meggs;2926108]Heya!
Teething is soooo not fun!
quote]
gosh, what age can teething start from? I am not looking forward to that!
Bel - Poor Jarvis (great name BTW), i hope you get some answers soon :hugs:
Yeah Emmy is 4 months (today!!!) and she has had the buds for a couple of weeks but yeh who knows til it cuts through....
All kids develop at different rates hehe...all part of the joy!!!!
Bel How is Jarvis??
Hi :wave: Growing Belly!
tietanyan
03-09-2008, 18:08
hi all
im a 29 yr old mum of 3. James is 8, josie is 25 1/2 months, and jethro is 15 weeks. yes we are all j's!!! My name is jessica and my husband is Jarra!!! i kno it gets very confusing! we live on the nsw south coast in Bega (yes its where the cheese comes from). Cant wait to get to know you all. Jethro sleeps from about 5pm till about 3am, i ended up putting him on the bottle after he was failing to put on weight, i was doing both, but was finding it very stressful, i miss breast feeding majorly, but just enjoy him as much. we are having trouble getting Josie to stay in her own bed, and giving up the dummy and bottle, and james, well he is just a typical 8 yr old who likes to argue!!!!
Lydia - as for the colic, if you are breast and formula feeding, it will just be her body getting used to it, jethro did the same thing, it will settle down, just try and breast feed as much as you are able. good luck
Anyway, i will stop :ecomcity: now
look forward to getting to know you all
Jess
DH 29 :geek:
Me 29 :sleeping:
DS 8 :devil:
DD 2 :sunshine:
DS 15wks :angel:
SpottySocks
04-09-2008, 08:23
Welcome Jess,
lovely name, my oldest is also Jessica - I'm a "J" name too and we find it confusing with just 2 :laughing:.
I've found lots of great advice on this site - wish I had access to it with my first bub! You might get some suggestions for keeping Josie in her bed etc.
Anyway, just wanted to say a quick welcome.