View Full Version : What do we all take for Morning Sickness?

dna13
18-04-2006, 02:22 PM
I went to the health food shop today to see what they had for morning sickness and i came home with Ginger tablets. The brand is Blackmores and they worked for me almost instantly. I just thought i would see what other people were taking as there seems to be a lot out there that i didn't know about.

18-04-2006, 02:24 PM
Nothing worked for me. The only thing that remotely helped was lemonade iceblocks. :o

18-04-2006, 02:26 PM
In my last pg I used the pressure point bands. You put them onto your wrist and I can't say it took away m/s all together but it did make it better!

Sarie
18-04-2006, 02:27 PM
the only thing that really helped me were XXX mints. Peppermint is great for nausea and it worked... to a point for me!

littlepickle
18-04-2006, 02:28 PM
I also used the blackmores mornign sickness tablets and they did help a lot of the time. The best thing for me was the Elevit tablets. They didnt really stop the nausea but they did stop the tiredness. Without them, I was falling aleep by lunchtime and feeling sooo drained!

Ange&Seth
18-04-2006, 02:53 PM
I just nibbled dry biscuits all day, not the sweet ones, they didn't work for me. The savoury ones like salada or savoy. Or just a plain bread roll or a slice of bread was enough for me, although having said that, I didn't have really bad morning sickness.

jmacg
18-04-2006, 04:16 PM
With me helped not getting hungry always had crackers or something for a snack in my bag. Became a joke between me and Dh that I had to keep on snacking! At first drank SO much ginger beer was a bit of a giveaway I was preggers before I told everyone. I don't think I will ever want to drink ginger beer again, until the next pregnancy :laughing:

Jxx

Rell
18-04-2006, 06:01 PM
I tried every natural pill from the chemist, anti nausea bands, acupuncha ( sp?), maxalon ( tablet and injection) but it took 3 stays in hospital before I was given "Zofren" a very strong anti nausea drug which finally stopped the continue vomiting.

*Kimmy*
22-04-2006, 01:53 PM
Unfortunately, I am the same as 'Rell'. I'm almost 18 weeks atm, and still suffering terribly with the ms. Tried everything, including cracker b4 getting out of bed (or even lifting head off pillow), maxalon, sea bands, regular snacks, electrolite iceblocks, etc etc. Only thing that works for me is the Zofran (AKA: Ondansetron). It's very strong, but the only thing that keeps me out of hospital on drips, due to constant dehydration. Otherwise, I vomit continuously from the minute I wake up, till I pass out at night. NO FUN! :eek:
I think this is only necessary in severe cases, as each pg is different, and some of the other remedies I have tried, work for lots of other girls. I'm just one of the unlucky ones!!! :(
:fingerscrossed: It will finish soon, as I only have another 2 weeks left on my Zofran, then it may all start again!
Rell, did you have to stay on the tablets the whole time?

Cian's Mum
22-04-2006, 09:41 PM
Hi everyone.

I'm 10 weeks and a half pregnant and I just started to feel better with M/S . It started at 6 weeks , got really bad at 7 . Could not get up out of bed . Maxalon did not do anything , could not drink or eat . Vit B6 probably helped me a bit ...:confused: .
I lost few kilos in few weeks . I was forcing myself to eat 3 noodles ( that was my lunch and diner ) , just to keep my stomach not empty , that was causing the nausea . I tried the biscuits half an hour before getting up ... that helped a bit too . I cannot stand the smell of Ginger anymore !! Coca Cola diet , no caffeine helps me to get my food down ... Plain biscuit ( not the sugary one but the salty one ) was good to fill up m stomach for an hour . I basically trying to eat ALL THE TIME to stay away from the nausea ...
Just wanted to share my experience ... but some of you have it so bad ... I'm sorry and hope it settles soon .

Take care everyone.

fee's
22-04-2006, 09:44 PM
With me helped not getting hungry always had crackers or something for a snack in my bag. Became a joke between me and Dh that I had to keep on snacking! At first drank SO much ginger beer was a bit of a giveaway I was preggers before I told everyone. I don't think I will ever want to drink ginger beer again, until the next pregnancy :laughing:

Jxx

same - hunger made me feel really really bad (fruit was my saviour) and ginger beer and ginger tablets worked wonders as well and a lot of mylanta for the heart burn.

Suzy32
09-05-2006, 06:48 PM
Yeah help,
I feel sick all the day. My doctor gave me some pills, I think they were Maxolon, but they didn't help. He perscribed me some other after I confessed, that Coca Cola (diet) is helping me. It sure is ugly but the only thing so far that worked. :yes:

Hope my bub won't be a caffeine junkie but I think as far as I only nip a few sips when I feel bad it's better than any tablets. Hope the sickness will go away soon.

Cian's Mum
09-05-2006, 07:59 PM
Suzy32 :

Coca cola was the ONLY thing that helped me . I'm 13 weeks and I'm still drinking it.
The only difference is that I'm drinking the Caffeine free / diet coke one ... probably better :confused:
Juts do what works the best for you ...

Are you on any Vit B6 ? that helped me a lot as well , as Maxalon did not do anything for me ..:banghead:

Good luck.

EskimoMumma
09-05-2006, 08:10 PM
Both mny pregnancies i was hospitalized twice each for dehydration. I have to say i have become the absolute expert on vomitting. Maxalon worked wonders for me. Its my lil magic pill!

(i also vomitted so much DS would copy me!! He would then say, after giving me a demonstration, " See what happens when you smoke mummy"):o

aardvark
09-05-2006, 08:14 PM
I tried Martin and Pleasance Tissue Salts Comb-S for Upset Stomach, from the health food shop and they were like a magic bullet if I crushed them in warm water and drank it.

They are a homeopathic remedy, and state they are suitable for the treatment of morning sickness.

Suzy32
10-05-2006, 09:53 AM
Beatrice:
Unfortunately I HATE Caffeine free Coke. So I have to stay with the other one. But I thinkt it's o.K. 'cause I drink no more Coffee or tea (which make me sick). It's getting better now and I found out that LifeSavers are helping me as well...a little bit.
Maxalon didn't help me as well.

Have a good time
Suzy

Harlequin
11-05-2006, 10:27 PM
Fruit was really good for me too, as were Minties! I found the more I made myself eat (a lot of tiny snacks) the better I felt.

11-05-2006, 11:39 PM
I tried just about anything & everything from herbal remedies like the ginger tablets or pulsatilla to maxalon. I also tried nibbling or eating a cracker before getting out of bed. Nothing worked & the last thing became a bit hard when i lived in my bathroom propped up on pillows or laying on towels because i spent all day & nite in there.
I pretty much vommitted at least 10 times a day sometimes more or less all depended on bubs lol.
I shouldve been in hospital but i kept refusing as i hate them lol so overall my first 6mths i lost 15kgs !!! Better than a diet :rolleyes:
I only had the 8th month off where i ate everything i could lol then went back to m/s the last month & even through my labour :(
I think sometimes bubs is taking so much from you that it makes you sick but they are also not wanting much of what goes into you. Oh who knows lol i reckon cause i had a huge bubs he just wanted the extra room & hated the idea of my stomach being full lol !
But ive heard heaps of mums swear by the sea sickness bands & preggie pops.

Tea Lady
12-05-2006, 11:46 AM
Fresh lemon juice in soda water and strawberry jelly (not at the same time!) are helping me a bit. Also I think the Motilion is doing alot more for me than the maxolon did. :)

pebilz
12-05-2006, 12:00 PM
I've tried ginger tablets and presure bands and they don't work for me. The only thing that would get me by would be to eat small amounts constantly throughout the day. Now the sickness is gone but the metallic taste remains. I hate it but can't seem to get rid of it no matter what!

funnyfarm
12-05-2006, 07:35 PM
The only thing working for me at the moment is Phenergen twice a day. Cannot take Maxalon and tried stemitil but react to this aswell. I have just come out of hospital after a 3 day stay with gastro and getting rehydrated on a drip also makes you feel better (for a little while anyway).

Tried accupuncture a couple of weeks ago but didn't notice any difference.

Janet.

twins+another
13-05-2006, 08:05 AM
I find that icey cold dry ginger ale helps me

mof2bz
14-05-2006, 03:50 PM
I threw up 24/7 for three months with both my pregnancies and believe me I tried everything from pressure bands, ginger tablets, dry crackers, eating before getting up, maxolon ( made me feel extra woozy, spacey and nauseous at the same time:thumbsdown: ), those preggie pops, ginger tea, lemon tea. Nothing helped. Just had to suffer :barf: until it went away.....Just lied down and didn't move for practicly the whole time, couldn't work or leave the house. There was no hope of me ever keeping my preg a secret:o

Kat =^.^=
14-05-2006, 09:22 PM
Had morning sickness for 5 months with first baby - only thing that helped was dry crackers like saladas.

The second stopped at 15 weeks on the dot and I found that Lemonade (- icy cold in a can only!) helped as did salt and vinegar chips... especially b4 getting in a car or bus

Binkstar
15-05-2006, 01:24 PM
My morning sickness is taking over my life!:crying: I cannot stomach much except orange juice and chip buttie sandwiches at lunch. Evening meals are not so bad but the only way to get rid of this feeling is by laying down on my right side and trying to have a nap :sleeping:! I am 7 weeks and 5 days but at least another month seems so far away! I had :barf: with other 2 pregnancies but not to this extent. Gingernut biscuits, snack before getting up just doesn't work. I feel like I am so thirsty sometimes because I cannot drink anything esp. to start in the early weeks. I feel sea-sick as well maybe sea sickness tabs will work!

LYTTE
16-05-2006, 08:18 AM
Binkstar... i agree morking sickness is taking over my life as well... I have assessments just piling up.. and can never stay well enough to do they... thank godness my tafe teachers are understanding and have all given me longggg extentions...

I just got out of hospital for being so sick and what not.... they gave me Pramin to go home with... by as i guessed... its not working... just finished throwing up my apple juice...

So far i've found nothing that I can keep down... i'll keep trying though

Flutter
16-05-2006, 12:44 PM
I am so glad that I am not the only one who is suffering so badly. I am only 7 weeks along and am feeling so awful and miserable from this M/S. Maxalon is not helping at all, neither is Ginger or any food or drink.
I am not actually able to vomit I just feel nonstop nausea, even at night!

Would it be worth it for me to see my GP again and ask for another med? Is there anything else that can be offered to me? Thanks for listening, I just dont know how I am going to get through this...
:confused:

wonkey22
16-05-2006, 02:42 PM
I would like to say that the only thing that has slowed the **** morning sickness feeling is Zofran. At first it completely eliminated the vomiting and **** feeling but two week later it came back but not as intense. I have to remember to drink drink drink so I don't get admitted to hospital again. I pray to god that he won't let me have morning sickness again but he must be really busy because he keeps forgetting about me. Being so sick gets you down so it is really nice just to put it out there and talk about it!!:barf:

Nan
17-05-2006, 09:57 AM
....Are you on any Vit B6 ? that helped me a lot as well

:yelclap: :yelclap: :yelclap:
Hi everyone.
I don't want to be rude or sound like a "know-it-all". I am geuinely trying to help you as this is something I'm passionate about in pregnancy and I have looked into research from as far back as the 1970s. I am surprised that only one person on this thread is taking Vitamin B6. Please do try it if you are experiencing morning sickness as it will help you. I don't want to go into all the biomechanics of how it is used and broken down in the body, but it is an essential vitamin to be taken by the truckload in pregnancy!!!!
Many doctors prescribe drugs and forget to tell us about the benefits of vitamins in higher levels. You should take about 25mgs of B6 per meal MINIMUM. Anywhere up to 300mgs per day for bad vomiting is needed. It is not toxic in high levels as some vitamins are, because if your body has enough of it, it wees it out!!
I use the Nature's Own brand (50mg tablets). As I've said in another thread, it is not a drug so there are no side effects.
Hope this helps.
Love,
Nan. xx
P.S. The more protein you eat, the more B6 you will need as basically your B6 will be used to synthesise the protein first and any left over will go towards your morning sickness if that makes sense. That is why some women take it and don't feel anything or only feel mildly relieved. It is being used on something else first, so there isn't much left to help the morning sickness. This is why you need it in truckloads!! Other reasons, too, but I won't bore you with them!!! :laughing:

Jackson84
17-05-2006, 10:48 AM
well, i only had nausea for which i ate licorice. anniseed is used in herbal form to treat nausea.

later in my pg i started getting it again, if i was hungry, so the best thing to do was not get hungry. :)

Flutter
17-05-2006, 10:59 AM
I am just so down about this M/S, my days are just awful. All I do is sleep and sit by the loo. Am taking B6 & Ginger, have Elevit to take and Maxalon is not helping at all.
Have decide to see my GP again and ask what else I can do. At this rate I have had no chance to even get excited about the baby yet! Now I have started getting a rapid heartbeat too...wonder what that means? Sorry to sound so down all the time.:gloomy:

Rell
17-05-2006, 05:56 PM
Hi Flutter
I know how awful it is to have bad MS, I remember being so down I thought I could not go on with the pregnancy:thumbsdown:
I think you should defenatly go and see your GP, a rapid heart beat can be a sign of dehydration and if you not keeping anything down IV fluids may be needed. Each time I was admitted to hospital with MS I was very dehydrated, my heart beat was extreamly fast and my BP was extreamly low. There are other medications like Zofan wich will stop you from throwing up. I'm not sure if things have changed but when I was taking it (2 yrs ago) it was not on the PBS so the only way I could get it was through the hospital ( after 3 admissions:( ) Otherwise it would have cost $80 per tablet:eek:
Hope you are feeling better soon:hugs:

wonkey22
18-05-2006, 10:21 AM
Hey flutter

You poor chicken!! It is so hard to stay positive and look after everyone else when you get to this point. It is really hard to focus on what it at the end because there is always someone with the comment that it could last the whole way through....something you don't want to hear when you have your head in the bowl for the 10th time that morning. Just work with your doctor and you'll know when your body has had enough and maybe a stay in hospital hooked you to a bag could be the shot of life you need. :fingerscrossed: Even just talking about it sometimes helps and having a good cry.

Stay strong mummy

Wonkey:smiliedance:

babybungee
18-05-2006, 02:49 PM
Hi Flutter :wave:

I hope you start feeling better soon, you poor thing! I hope your GP can help out and you can finally have a chance to get excited about bub!

Good luck hun :hugs:

kiwibird27
18-05-2006, 02:54 PM
Elevit made me feel worse!!! As soon as i stopped taking it I found a huge improvement!!!! More energy and less stomach problems!!

cate
19-05-2006, 06:22 AM
Hi there girls...I'm feeling better just reading this thread. I've had a whole 2 days of m/s; no vomitting but dry wretching and nausea; and i'm completely sick of it. I didn't know there was so much I could try! I'm on my second day off work and am going to head straight the health shop at 9am to get me some ginger tablets, B6 and anything else I can try! Got to get myself back to work!

Thanks all for the great advice! I've stopped crying too!

cordu68
19-05-2006, 09:41 AM

I am 9 weeks + 3 days pregnant.I already thought the worst will be over.
But this morning after eating the usual dry crackers (crispbread) in bed before getting up and taking my morning sickness tablet I could only hug the toilet when I was on my way to the shower.:barf:
Seems it gets stronger from day to day.

I tried morning sickness tablets, eating small amounts, well the usual stuff.

I don't want to take any strong medications and hope it won't get worse.:(

Today I will try some flat coke and lay on the sofa.
When I get up I feel imediately the nausea coming up.

I have an assignment for Uni to do until Sunday after getting already an extension of one week and I 'm not sure how to manage.:crying:

Glad to know that I'm not alone with my m/s.

Cheers,Cordu

Rell
19-05-2006, 03:44 PM
Hi Flutter
Have you been back to see the Dr? Hope you are feeling better soon:fingerscrossed:

sandj
19-05-2006, 05:31 PM
hello
well im almost 7wks and the nausea kicked in this week mainly and also a few weeks ago..

not that bad compared to other stories i have heard on here..but had to have sick day as felt so horrible one morning..i found as soon as i had vegemite on toast i feel better..its vitamin B.

also ginger beer and ice is a help. apple juice, barley sugars. and yeah eating small amounts often. i have found eating big meals makes me feel sick..although i have occassionally done it, have to stop it.

im starting to go off water a bit too which is bad! also been craving pizza and fruit?! i find if i eat what i crave i feel better??

luckily i havent vomitted yet..but i wont say that too soon, got a feeling the next few weeks might be rough :barf:

good luck to you all hope u feel better soon :wave:

Nan
20-05-2006, 01:59 PM
Hope you feel better soon, too, sandj. :yes:
Love,
Nan. xx

Flutter
21-05-2006, 11:33 AM

Thanks to all of you for your messages, I am still feeling so low, am almost beginning to feel as though I cant go on anymore. Have seen he doc 3 times and nothing helps me. This is such a sad time for me, if I could just get at least an hours rest from the sickness!
I dont know what to do next and cant stop thinking- what if this lasts like this all the way through? I am in total despair, why cant I find something that helps? :(

Shelly68
21-05-2006, 05:29 PM
I also suffered bad morning sickness with my last p/g and it's has returned with this one in the last 5 days.

My doctor couldn't help me either as maxalon did not work.

I would take myself to the local ER dept at the local hospital, they will help you out (even if it's only to give you a drip it will make you feel better for a couple of hours).

It's like a vicious cycle, you don't want to eat or drink but you have to because you will end up dehydrating yourself (and this in turn makes you feel worse).

Please go the hospital, it can't hurt and they do have medicines to take which are safe.

Rell
21-05-2006, 06:36 PM
Hi Flutter I have sent you a PM

*Kimmy*
23-05-2006, 09:30 PM
I think most people in this thread are pretty much in the same position, so it is comforting to know that we're not the only one's - though it certainly feels it when you can't get your head out the toilet bowl! :banghead:

To all those ladies who have been vommiting profusely - for more than a day, I really must urge you to get to the hospital, Fast! If you can't even manage to keep a sip of water down, (like I was), then you need some help. It is bad for the baby and even worse for you to ignore it, and think it'll go away, and therefore not have any fluids. Bubs will then start to feed off your body stores, and this makes us feel even worse! If you go a day or more without keeping water down, then chances are you are dehydrated, and need to have a fluid boost via a drip.. I know this sounds scary, and you'd prefer to avoid it (I am terrified of needles!), but I have had to do it every 2 weeks since I was 8 weeks, and I am 22 weeks now! The only reason I survive the 2 weeks in between is the medication I take - Zofran, aka Ondansetron. A few other ladies have mentioned it, and I'm sure would back me up in declaring it a miracle drug, and the only thing that will help you if you have severe MS, aka Hyperemesis Gravidarum (HG). I was diagnosed with HG at about week 12, and was provided Zofran then, however they only supply a limited amount at a time, as it's so strong. So, taking 1 a day, I make it 2 and a half weeks before they run out, and literally the following morning after I finished my last tablet, when I would normally be due to take my next one, if I even turn over in bed, I will vomit before I even reach the toilet. And this will continue every 10 minutes consistently, until I make it to the hospital, where they rehydrate me (through a drip), monitor me for a few hours, and then send me home with another fortnight's supply of Zofran. Every 2 WEEKS! I am due to finish my most recent course this Friday so Sat'd I'll be back at the hospital again. :eek:

Long story, I know, but I just want to stress to those ladies that have it as bad as this, to get to the hospitel, get rehydrated, and seriously consider asking about Zofran. I think someone posted a while back that it could only be supplied at the hospital and this is correct. Hence why I can't just go to my GP the day before my course runs out and get a top up.. The hospital actually need to see me dehydrated, and presenting with the HG each time, before they supply it!

So good luck to all of you girls, I truly commiserate and understand, and I wont say it'll get better soon, cos I'm 22 weeks and still going strong with it!, but there are solutions, if you seek them out. :thumbsup:

xxxxxxx

beebs
25-05-2006, 06:03 PM

I'm only new here, and I'm 31 weeks pregnant.

I suffered really bad morning sickness in the first 4 months as well, in fact now - at 31 weeks I am the exact same weight I was at this time last year, I lost a lot of weight in the begining and there was a time I just thought I couldnt go through with the pregnancy anymore because I felt so awful. I tried it all, eating constantly, preggie pops, vitamins, ginger beer, etc etc. After I started vomiting alot I eventually became too scared to eat. And nothing my husband would say could change my mind.....we got straight onto the doctor and she prescribed me what can only be described as my saviour drug. I was in Canada - and have not heard of this drug since coming back to Australia - its called Diclectin and it worked wonders. I wonder if we have it here? Or if we have an equivilant.

I would not normally go the drug route, but if you are that ill, sometimes its really the only option. It was only after I started taking the medicine that I felt any bit of joy at the though of having a baby. When I was sick I just stayed home all day (going out just meant spewing in public instead of at home) and I just cried and cried. It really is such a horrible feeling, I hope you guys can get it sorted out.
beebs

Natsmummy
28-05-2006, 04:46 PM
I found that nibbling on gingernut biscuits helped with the nausea to a certain extent.

~angel~
31-05-2006, 04:29 PM
Hi, I've heard that eating bananas can help, because they have potassium in them, it helps? apparently??
I only heard of this after my pregnancy, but, I used to suck on crystalised ginger, and used the sickness bands, and it helped!
Hope you feel better soon...

vavavanny
01-06-2006, 05:57 PM
First time around, I had discovered no working cure...

This time - I have been eating fresh ginger - and small amounts of everything.

I had forgotten how bad it could get!!

Nan
02-06-2006, 09:52 PM
I haven't been on this thread for a while.
Hoping you girls are feeling better.
My thoughts are with you.
MS sucks.
Love,
Nan. xx

JATS
11-06-2006, 01:53 PM
I've been getting Nausea like you wouldn't believe, living on homebrand gingernut bickies :o Discovered them at my grandmothers place and they are the only thing that helps

bma_one
23-06-2006, 09:45 AM
I've just started taking the blackmore's morning sickness formula (I'm 12 1/2 weeks) and they are working really well for me. I can't believe I didn't start taking something sooner! :rolleyes:

I should say though I don't think I had really bad m/s, I mean I felt sick all the time but I was only sick a few times iykwim.

25-06-2006, 12:52 PM
Nothing worked for me at all I was sick everyday from 6wks will about 4 1/2 months I hated it. It didn't matter what I ate I would still feel sick!!!! :(

kailensmum
03-07-2006, 01:56 PM
Everything made me sick, but ginger bears (like gummy bears but ginger) would hold it at bay.

Mum2Bug
03-07-2006, 04:08 PM
I lived off frosty fruit icy poles and ginger nut bikkies. only problem i had was stopping my colleagues from stealing them!

JATS
03-07-2006, 05:30 PM
Everything made me sick, but ginger bears (like gummy bears but ginger) would hold it at bay.

I have looked so hard for these! Where do you get them?

Aquamarine
05-07-2006, 12:37 PM
I am over my morning sickness now but suffered terribly with all my pregnancies. I am due in Septmeber with bub #3.

I tried everything and the thing that worked for me was the morningwell cd. I searched the web and purchased it. I didn't think it would work but I was so bad I had to try it just in case it worked and it did.

It is quite expensive and I have no idea how listening to a cd worked but it did.

If you are interested the website is www.morningwell.com.au

Another thing that worked for a little while were the seabands.

I was hospitalised with dehydration and was given some nausea tablets which worked a little but the main thing that worked was definantly the cd.

It may not work for everyone but if you are desperate I would give it a go if you can afford it.

oleander
06-07-2006, 08:12 AM
I found that regular litte snacks throughout the day made me less nauseus.

clarebear1983
06-07-2006, 01:48 PM
I tried every natural pill from the chemist, anti nausea bands, acupuncha ( sp?), maxalon ( tablet and injection) but it took 3 stays in hospital before I was given "Zofren" a very strong anti nausea drug which finally stopped the continue vomiting.

I got given this drug by the hospital after not eatting or drinking for 4 days and it was a GOD SEND!!!! but soooooooooo expensive! I paid $60 for 5 tablets (which gave me 10 usages).............eeekkkkk.......It was expensive cos its a drug for chemo and in WA if your not on chemo its not covered. I also had a bugger of a time trying to get a repeat script from the local dr who kept saying "try maxalon and b6" and i kept saying "I have and they dont work so give me the drugs that do!!" which was a joke.......................finally i got a script but this time could only get 4 single use tablets (But this time it only costed me $6...........go figure the pharmacies over here!!!!)

My OBGYN at the hospital said that when the nausea is so bad your actually vomiting maxalon doesnt usually do diddly squat unless its intravenous!

Thank God the morning sickness decided to take a leave of absense at 13 weeks and has only been back once since then. Now its just mild nausea (mainly when im hungry) with a bit of vomiting occasionally.

jodi
12-07-2006, 01:03 PM
I'm 33 weeks and still got!! I've tried everything and can't get rid of it. And to make it worse when my heartburn gets really bad, that causes me to throw up as well. Oh well, only 7 weeks to go :fingerscrossed:

cutiegirl
13-07-2006, 02:05 PM
with my first daughter i took nothing was sick 24/7 till the day i had her then i was pregnant 5 months later to my horror i was like omg i have vomited 9 months straight i cant do it for another 9 months so the doctor put me on maxalon tablets hmmmm why didnt they give this to me for my first pregnancy i still was sick but instead of my usual 12 times a day went down to 4 times a day [ maxalon] is used for migraine headache but this is what the doctor prescibed and it helped :barf: hehheeh couldnt resist this little man sorry girls..... i tried ginger crystalized but didnt work... for me nothing worked i have my mums genes unfortunately she was very sick wth all 3 of us kids but not so much with my brother but i had 2 girls....

mochridhe
13-07-2006, 02:08 PM
I know someone else mentioned these earlier on, but I was just looking in a pharmacy catalogue & they had sea-sickness bands & the ad also said they were very good for morning sickness.

I went on a cruise several years ago & know quite a few people who had the bands on & swear by them for sea-sickness.

Karina
05-08-2006, 09:53 AM
I have been vomiting every day, with all day sickness, but I tried maxolon and I didnt vomit that day. It was very pleasant to not vomit for once! I dont really like to use "drugs" so I am just trying to bear it and when it gets really bad, I'll use the Maxolon.
I make sure I dont get hungry and I feel so much more gross when I am hungry. I eat plain biscuits which seems to help a bit too, and really avoid spicy and seasoned foods as I spew it up straight away if I eat it.

starstar
27-08-2006, 03:02 PM
I am eight weeks and have been sick every day for the last fortnight, it is absolutely awful. Like an earlier poster, lemonade ice blocks make me feel a bit better temporarily.

Other than that I have a very obliging DH who cooks most of my meals because just to go into the kitchen makes me feel disgusting - and I have to close my eyes when I open the fridge because everything in there makes me feel sick.

jade21887
30-08-2006, 07:12 PM
Im on Zofran and Maxalon

Robyn343
13-11-2006, 04:19 PM
The godsend for me was the MorningWell CD - I was so skeptical that it would work, but was desperate and prepared to try anything.
After only one day, my nausea all but stopped - this after being virtually bedridden for the two weeks previously. I only wish I'd gotten it sooner.

Don;t know the name of the company that sells it, but the website is www.morningwell.com.au (http://www.morningwell.com.au) - hope someone else gets the relief I did!

Robyn x