View Full Version : Discounts

Singlemama
19-06-2008, 21:37
I was wondering if what you can get cheaper when your on the pension, ie: electricity, internet ??

Chunkydunks
19-06-2008, 21:44
My sis gets a discount on rego and electricity. There may be more but I only ask if it comes up.

onemummmy
19-06-2008, 21:44
yes, i was just trying to find you a list but it was the wrong list ill keep looking

Eboniesmum
19-06-2008, 21:47

you get a discount on your telstra home fone, think it's around $11 or $12 a month aswell as a payment from centrelink every 3 months for your phone, i think that's around $30, you get free car rego, just the bit u pay at the RTA. You get discount on electricity, i think that's 10%, i think centrelink are now also going to start giving you money towards internet. you will get cheap medicine and dr's bills, you may get bulk billed if your dr does bulk billing. also admission fee's into places are discounted for pensioners and so is public transport. I think if you get on centrelinks website there will b a list of pension benefits.

Hope that helps.

Amberlea
20-06-2008, 06:51
The first post HERE (http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=112168) links you to most concessions in each state.

Other companies and services offer discounts, but you have to ask - they wont offer them to you.

You get a phone and elec discount, Telstra offers half price connection and line rental, some other phone companies offer one, but its only a couple of dollars.
Most elec companies give you a winter discount.
Centrelink also gives you $20 every three months or something as a phone allowance.

MummaBear03
20-06-2008, 07:42
I'm in Qld and it's different in each state. I've just found out you can get a discount on car rego (after paying the full amount until now! :doh:) and also the ambulance levy part of the power bill is free, there's discounts on phone and power. I don't get a concession rate on gas as it only applies to natural gas and we don't have that up this way. I'm a member of Reef HQ and Billabong Sanctuary up this way (until my daughter's old enough that I have to pay for her lol) and there's a concession rate with that. Things like internet aren't cheaper, there's not a concession rate for that. Prescription meds are cheaper. Some doctors bulk bill concession card holders, one doctor we used to go to only charges the gap fee if you are a concession card holder, rather than pay it in full then claim it back.

Issey
20-06-2008, 15:48
queenlanders dont get free rego, you save about $100 per year so it still costs over $400 for a 4 cycl.

MummaBear03
20-06-2008, 16:02
queenlanders dont get free rego, you save about $100 per year so it still costs over $400 for a 4 cycl.
Rego is due again next month and it's still better than what I was paying which is over $500 for 12 months for a 4 cylinder. I only paid 6 months in January to get it away from Christmas because the car was bought in July last year and came with 6 months rego but normally pay 12 months and have paid full price until now. No one ever told me there was a discount on it and it doesn't say it on the form either. But I know now :goodvibes: Thanks Bub Hub!

Issey
20-06-2008, 16:07
print the form off of the qld transport site, and fill it out before you go, just hand it over the counter with your rego form, saves you time, the line is bad enough as it is. :)

u can get your refund payment for concession if you ask for it and show your pension card :-) thats what i did as i didn't know about it until after i paid it.

LeighC
21-06-2008, 21:41
I notice you are in Far North Qld so thought I'd mention the train discounts. You can have 4 one way trips a year on the long distance trains for $20 a trip. The $20 covers you and the kids in their own seats. Cool huh.

scorpio83
22-06-2008, 10:00
I'm not sure if everyone knows yet, but if you receive a telephone allowance, you can update it to include Internet and get a little extra with your family tax benefit money. I updated my details and get an extra $20 or so per fortnight.

MummaBear03
22-06-2008, 10:15
I'm not sure if everyone knows yet, but if you receive a telephone allowance, you can update it to include Interenet and get a little extra with your family tax benefit money. I updated my details and get an extra $20 or so per fortnight.

What state is that? I'll call them Monday.

scorpio83
22-06-2008, 10:20
I'm in vic...I noticed the little ad on the centrelink website when I went to log onto change some details. Check out the website....I'm pretty sure it'll be for all states.

tyler's mum
22-06-2008, 10:43
You can get cheaper movie tickets i not long found that out:yes:

MummaBear03
22-06-2008, 10:50
You can get cheaper movie tickets i not long found that out:yes:

That depends on where you go. I found out the hard way that the one here has no concessions so I paid full price for me and my daughter to see Water Horse last year. That's why we don't go. We had 2 free tickets the year before so we went to see Happy Feet but neither of us liked that movie lol. The one in my mum's town charges children's prices for people with concession cards so it just depends on where you go and what they offer.

tyler's mum
22-06-2008, 11:00
Its only if the movies is on the no deal list whatever its called so just check before you go. If the movie you want to see is not on the no special list

MummaBear03
22-06-2008, 11:03
Its only if the movies is on the no deal list whatever its called so just check before you go. If the movie you want to see is not on the no special list

The one here has no concession rate at all. They sometimes have deals in the paper but you can't use those if it says "no free tix" next to it but they don't use concession cards at all. Oh, they have a pension day but it's for aged pensioners only and they aren't showing kids movies then, more the movies like Saving Private Ryan and so on that would appeal to the older generations. That's our cinema anyway but they are all different.