View Full Version : To late for private health

dearmum
18-06-2008, 09:03 PM
Hi Ladies:wave:Today im 5weeks pregnant,all is good but i wanted to join some sort of private health so i can get some care,but iv been told that i cant join once im pregnant:confused:for me to get any benifit i had to join 3 months before falling pregnant.Gosh i didnt know,so now i have to go public with everything.
Did anyone else have this problem??

funnyfarm
18-06-2008, 09:31 PM
I did know this but went public with both of mine and never had any problem. Great care with both.

You can go private but will have to pay a fortune for out of pocket expenses that the health fund usually covers.

Is there a specific reason why you wanted to go private?

Cordelia
21-06-2008, 12:39 PM
yeah - you have to wait 12 months before you can claim on maternity :/ (unless you want to pay for it all yourself of course :O!)

The public system isn't bad - just do your research about somewhere good to go. You could do shared care with a GP. If you run into any difficulties then you get the best care available anyway.

and....

you don't have to pay a cent.:yelclap:

meggs
21-06-2008, 12:44 PM
yeah - you have to wait 12 months before you can claim on maternity :/ (unless you want to pay for it all yourself of course :O!)

The public system isn't bad - just do your research about somewhere good to go. You could do shared care with a GP. If you run into any difficulties then you get the best care available anyway.

and....

you don't have to pay a cent.:yelclap:

:iagree: This was my problem too and wasnt happy after having private health for yrs to be told I couldnt claim maternity unless 12months covered prior... I went all public and had no problems and didnt pay anything either the whole way through...bub 2 will be private though most likely and Im def covered now hehe....

juzangel
25-06-2008, 06:27 PM

I'm 11 weeks pregnant and will be moving to melbourne in oct.

I havent got any private insurance, reading from your posts, that means i cant get one now as i cant claim from it anyways when i deliver.

If i do go private, how much roughly do i have to pay out after deducting medicare?

also, any stories to share abt public hospitals? i've had friends who gave birth with horror stories eg like babies had no nursery and new mum had to look after baby all by herself after delivery. Is that all true?

if i do choose to go public, everything is free is it? And do i get to have an ob or is the delivery done entirely by a midwife? not too comfortable not having an ob by my side...

Lastly, wat are the good public hospitals that you would recommend?

Expectant
27-06-2008, 03:51 PM
DearMum, yes, unfortunately there is a waiting period with private health funds til it covers having a baby.

I'm having my first baby in a week or two and we are covered by private health insurance. I have opted to go into a public hospital in Sydney (RPA) as a private patient.

When I first was pregnant, I too was very unsure about whether to go private or public (i.e. obstetrician or midwife) and it caused me a great deal of anxiety. However, I have been reassured throughout the pregnancy by my concurrently pregnant friends who have chosen the public system that it's been a great experience for them as Australia has an excellent public health system, and it's all free!

However, just to answer DearMum's and Juzangel's queries about how much out-of-pocket expenses you'd have to pay if you did go private, this is how much we have to pay having a private obstetrician:

Consultations with obstetrician (about 10 in total, but then once you hit the Medicare safety net, you get 80% back from Medicare - note: you have to register at Medicare for the Medicare safety net, it does not automatically apply) - First one $300, then subsequent $100 (x10). It should be noted that private health insurance never covers consultations anyway.
8 week, 12 week and 19 week ultrasounds - $150-350 each, again 80% rebate from Medicare once you reach safety net. Again, private health insurance doesn't cover any of the ultrasounds anyway.
$3,500 - payable to obstetrician halfway through pregnancy, again 80% rebate from Medicare once you reach safety net.
$1,500 - payable to obstetrician three-quarters of way through pregnancy - NOT rebateable from Medicare or private health fund.
$471.65 - payable to obstetrician on delivery of baby (more if twins or ceasarian) - Medicare pays for some, Private Health Fund pays for rest. I'm not sure what the gap would be if you are not covered by Private Health Fund.
If you have a ceasarian and require an anaesthetist, then his fees will be charged separately. I imagine Medicare will pay for some of that.
Hospital Stay - Private health fund and Medicare sort the entirety of this out between them. I think you can opt to go in as a public patient so you won't have to pay for hospital stay in maternity ward at all (if you don't have private health insurance). You will likely have to share a room with another new mum, but I've heard from other mums that this is often a great experience, they meet good friends for life this way.
I hope this helps.

Also, Juzangel, I note your concern about no nursery in the maternity ward. This seems to be the way that maternity hospitals are going these days. They like to room the baby in with the mum so you can bond with it, breastfeed it when it needs to. From what I understand, midwives and lactation specialists are on hand whenever you need them to assist and reassure you. Personally, I'm looking forward to waking up with a baby next to my bed instead of having to get out of bed in the middle of the night and walk down the hall to a nursery.

Try to go on hospital tours of various maternity wards before you make your decision --- it will give you a feel for the place.

I wish you all the best with your pregnancies. Such an exciting experience and time of discovery. :sunshine:

Hannahsmumma
01-07-2008, 07:40 PM
this is how much we have to pay having a private obstetrician:

Consultations with obstetrician (about 10 in total, but then once you hit the Medicare safety net, you get 80% back from Medicare - note: you have to register at Medicare for the Medicare safety net, it does not automatically apply) - First one $300, then subsequent $100 (x10). It should be noted that private health insurance never covers consultations anyway.
8 week, 12 week and 19 week ultrasounds - $150-350 each, again 80% rebate from Medicare once you reach safety net. Again, private health insurance doesn't cover any of the ultrasounds anyway.
$3,500 - payable to obstetrician halfway through pregnancy, again 80% rebate from Medicare once you reach safety net.
$1,500 - payable to obstetrician three-quarters of way through pregnancy - NOT rebateable from Medicare or private health fund.
$471.65 - payable to obstetrician on delivery of baby (more if twins or ceasarian) - Medicare pays for some, Private Health Fund pays for rest. I'm not sure what the gap would be if you are not covered by Private Health Fund.
If you have a ceasarian and require an anaesthetist, then his fees will be charged separately. I imagine Medicare will pay for some of that.
Hospital Stay - Private health fund and Medicare sort the entirety of this out between them. I think you can opt to go in as a public patient so you won't have to pay for hospital stay in maternity ward at all (if you don't have private health insurance). You will likely have to share a room with another new mum, but I've heard from other mums that this is often a great experience, they meet good friends for life this way.
I hope this helps.

I went through private and while I had plenty of out of pocket costs (consultations & ultrasounds). I didn't have any of the OB costs, especially the $3,500 or the $1,500 that Expectant had.

Maybe different Private OB's have different cotsts, or different health funds cover different costs. I am with MBF.

chococat
28-07-2008, 12:49 PM
She is talking about private costs if u DONT have private health insurance!!

shed
28-07-2008, 12:59 PM
Give the public system a go, you will be pleasantly surprised. You don't need an OB unless you need surgery, all you need is someone to catch the baby, you give birth to it and all they need to do is make sure bubby is coming out ok. In the public system you will get an OB the second you need one, don't worry.

I just want to set your mind at ease about the public system. Its just as good as the private system and in some ways its actually better. I would never go private, for my own personal reasons that have nothing to do with money.

don't worry, you'll be fine. You can do shared care with a GP or go to the midwives clinic or pay for an OB out of your own pocket, but honestly, you will get one if you need one in the public system for free.

Good luck. It will be okay.

appygal
29-07-2008, 03:43 PM
I had Private cover when I was expecting my twins, I ended up going public because the Angliss had a really good feel about it, and with twins you get your own room and ob anyway. They were fantastic... Am pregnant again, still have private cover and am undecided about going private or not. The only thing that puts me off about public is that they tend to cram 6 women and their babies all in one room, when do you sleep? ..lol. Peter Lee performs wonderful c-sections, I have no scarring at all.. I will no doubt need another c-section.. Any opinions on hospital stay and shared rooms??:flowerz:

sgray
29-07-2008, 05:01 PM
I had a friend who had let her private cover lapse and then found out she was pregnant. They let her back pay so that she could go private...

Not sure if that would work with a brand new member - but wouldn't hurt to ask if you are really keen to go through the private system??

achander
07-08-2008, 03:35 PM
In the public system you will get an OB the second you need one, don't worry.

I recently discovered I'm pregnant with Number Three, but this will be the first birth in Australia (we are PRs). So we are excited, but completely clueless about how to go abt it. In fact, I haven't even seen the doctor yet.

I had two C-sects before and I'm sure I will need one again. Do you mean that if I go via the public system, I will be assigned an OB because I will need one?

I've also checked with Medibank, and they say my health cover provides benefits for in-hospital obstetric services. But as far as possible, I hope there will be little or no out-of-pocket expenses, as we also have a mortgage to deal with, and on my husband's income alone, that might be a little tough on the financial situation...

So I'm still deciding whether to go pte or public? I really would like the privacy of my own room... is there an intermediate option available in Perth -- private in public hospital?

Please advise... thank you! :)

shed
07-08-2008, 03:41 PM
I had two C-sects before and I'm sure I will need one again. Do you mean that if I go via the public system, I will be assigned an OB because I will need one?

Yes, and you can go private in a public hospital if you want to, but there is probably not a lot of advantage to that since you will probably get a private room if you go public anyway, because of the c-section.

achander
07-08-2008, 04:54 PM
Hi Shed,
Thanx for your reply :) I think this has helped me decide (somewhat)... I'll prob go through the public system.

Oh, but does this mean I can't have my choice of an OB? I've heard of some of the great 'stitchwork' of some of the OBs...

MummyGoingMad
07-08-2008, 07:30 PM
Hi Shed,
Thanx for your reply :) I think this has helped me decide (somewhat)... I'll prob go through the public system.

Oh, but does this mean I can't have my choice of an OB? I've heard of some of the great 'stitchwork' of some of the OBs...

I dont know if it differs for ccs and v-births cos both of mine were vaginal births but I went private and we made a profit on HBF that yr heheh:thumbsup: we were hardly out of pocket at all, just a few hundred $$.

quitecontrary
07-08-2008, 08:05 PM
With my first bub we paid upfront to go private as we didn't belong to a health fund. I found my ob really great, and when I ended up needing a caesarean I knew he would do a good job - and he did. It was worth it for us for the peace of mind.
This time we are in a fund, and back with the same Ob.
You don't get to chose your Ob if you go public - even if you have an elective cs. The ob you are assigned won't necessarily be the one that does the job.
Having said all this, I started out at the birth centre and my Ob would've been more than happy to have me deliver there - I had a baby that didn't want to move though.

shed
07-08-2008, 09:07 PM
Hi Shed,

No, you don't get your choice, you get whoever is on. Maybe private is a better option for you.

Although, if you want to go private you might need to get your A into G because I have heard they book out pretty fast.

good luck!

salt water
07-08-2008, 09:14 PM
I just want to set your mind at ease about the public system. Its just as good as the private system

But Shed, it's not always as good.

As you know, I wanted and planned a water birth for C and T, .......no public hospital here within a 200km radius will allow a water birth, only the private hospital, 40 mins from my home.

shed
07-08-2008, 09:31 PM
Noosa, yes, I do agree, not always as good for certain things. I do think that maybe private is a better option for a pre-planned elective caesar. I reckon that's what I would do, and I would look for someone who is known for doing lots of caesareans (aka Dr Knife! :yes::laughing:) definitely!!

Depends what you want really. Private is of no use to me round these parts, but as it turns out public is of no use to me either next time, hopefully :p :laughing: I have a perfectly good bathtub right here in my bathroom :D

Although I am not sure I actually want a waterbirth anyway.

anyway :ecomcity:

salt water
07-08-2008, 09:42 PM
Depends what you want really. :iagree: absolutely!! I wanted a drug free, natural waterbirth so private hospital it was but if I'd wanted an elective c-sect, well I too would be shopping around for Dr Knife :laughing:

4B2L
07-08-2008, 09:44 PM
Give the public system a go, you will be pleasantly surprised. You don't need an OB unless you need surgery, all you need is someone to catch the baby, you give birth to it and all they need to do is make sure bubby is coming out ok. In the public system you will get an OB the second you need one, don't worry.

I just want to set your mind at ease about the public system. Its just as good as the private system and in some ways its actually better. I would never go private, for my own personal reasons that have nothing to do with money.

don't worry, you'll be fine. You can do shared care with a GP or go to the midwives clinic or pay for an OB out of your own pocket, but honestly, you will get one if you need one in the public system for free.

Good luck. It will be okay.

Totally agree....don't be afraid of the public system.:thumbsup:

lianas1stbub
09-08-2008, 04:41 AM
hey just thought id add

Im self funding my ob and hospital stuff and so far it hasnt been that expensive

I do have private cover but I didnt tick the obstetrics box....

I still get the 80% medicare rebate
I paid $2600 for the ob of my choice and got alot of it back (sorry cant remember how much... $1400 possibly) and from now on my ob just bulk bills (medicare pays)

my next bill is the delivery fee think about $600 and 4 days at hospital $280 per day

I have been told that the rest is covered by medicare... anethetist etc...

I have also decided to have my baby at a public hospital...

I also like the fact that the public hospy where I am having my baby has 24hr paed cover and a SCN... where the privated one the paed is on call during the night and the SCN is a lower level

good luck

jojoT1979
09-08-2008, 06:46 PM
We joined private health at the end of April 2007, knowing there is a 12 month wait period for obstetrics. The main reason for joining private health was for obstetrics, as I worry a bit and was concerned about going public if something was wrong with bub. I also joined because we are almost 30, I have optometry needs, and neck issues.
We found out we are pregnant 2 weeks ago tomorrow, and are due at the beginning of April 2008!!! About 20 days before our obstectrics benefits will kick in.
From discussions I've had with friends, and from what I've seen online here I no longer have concerns about public hospitals. I also did not realise that I would be so much out of pocket going private.
All in all, I'm quite happy that bubba will be born in a public hospital. I think we will be going with Mater Public in Brissie.
Good luck!!

Sissy
09-08-2008, 08:24 PM
I went through private and while I had plenty of out of pocket costs (consultations & ultrasounds). I didn't have any of the OB costs, especially the $3,500 or the $1,500 that Expectant had.

Maybe different Private OB's have different cotsts, or different health funds cover different costs. I am with MBF.

Different private ob's do have different costs. I am in a regional Qld city and my ob is $150 initial consult, $55 subsequent consults and none of the $1000's in between. All his fees are claimable from Medicare.

She is talking about private costs if u DONT have private health insurance!!

Private health insurance does not make a difference to the obs fees - that is purely medicare.

Kirstlea
09-08-2008, 09:01 PM
The public system up here is fantastic - yes they are under pressure but if anything goes wrong they are the best people to deal with it.

The private system is a joke really. Yes your hubby can stay the night and they let you go out for dinner before you go home and you get your own room, but that is the only extras.

They don't have specialist midwives on roster the whole time at the private. Found this out when a friend went to ask for a midwife to give her a tour and they said they didn't have any on shift at the moment. What the.

Our public system is mid wife orientated but does have excellent OB's who are there within in minutes if they are required, I know this from experience.

They also do water births if thats what you want. Told us all about it at antenatal classes. The mid wives are very pro the mothers wishes and encourage an active management birth allowing the mother to do it her way. If there are any problems the mid wives will step in and tell you the risks but they will not go against your wishes unless your life is at risk or the babies.

Our public system also only has two beds to a room and where possible will give you a room on your own especially if you have a c/s but thats only if they are not busy. Even if you go private in the public system you are still not guaranteed a room on your own.

This all applies up here in Cairns, could be a totally different story elsewhere.

Hope this helps with your decision to go public or private.