View Full Version : Did you go to church over Easter???

natasha
17-04-2006, 21:16
Okay who went to church over the Easter weekend? Or what did you do?
And before anyone says anything, im not putting this in the religion catagory because not that many people go in there and i really want to know how many of us went to church so i can feel less guilty about not going!:o

My MIL thinks it;s terrible i didn't go! But you know what, I dont need to go to be thankful.I Can be thankful from the comfort of my living room!!

mysonroger
17-04-2006, 21:18
i went with my DS. and had a little prang on the way with a family who were on their way back from mass. oops.

porridge
17-04-2006, 21:28
We usually go to church every Sunday, but didn't this weekend - I've been sick with mastitis.

We don't go especially to observe Easter anyway (same with christmas)

Firstly, it's not mentioned in the Bible (we're called to observe the Lord's Day - Sunday) to honour any other day lessens it's significance.

The word Easter is taken from the Canannite goddess Ishtar (the goddess of fertility) whose symbols were the rabbit and the egg. The early Roman Catholic church adopted those symbols and basically took them for their own (ie. the egg represents new birth etc)

I do like to eat chocolate though (elegant rabbits and humpty eggs are my favourite) :o

misskittyfantastico
17-04-2006, 21:39
I'm Catholic, as is Dh, as is DD so we went to Mass for Easter....I reckon it's totally up to the individual.....I didn't go at all (cept Chrissie and Easter) when I was a teenager but now that I've had DD and I've Baptised her, I think I have a responsibility to take her to Mass and give her the opportunity to learn about the church....what she chooses to do with that knowledge is up to her:)

Jackson84
17-04-2006, 22:14
catholics here - i went to thursday, friday and saturady vigil services - all except stations on friday morning. DS went to all except the friday services. DH only went to the saturday vigil.

maydr
17-04-2006, 22:20
family of catholic here too. we all went to mass yesterday and very seldom we dont go to sunday mass.

Jem
17-04-2006, 22:22
nope.... not me :D

mrsrobo
17-04-2006, 22:24
Me and my dh went to his mother church was a lovely day

MissSparkle
17-04-2006, 22:28
Im anglican and I went to church with DS, my parents n my sister (my parents go every sunday).

My DF is Greek Orthodox (DS will be too in 2weeks) and their Easter is this weekend coming so I'll be taking DS to church then too.

DjF
17-04-2006, 22:33
I didnt get to go this easter - and i really missed it too. Was out in the middle of nowhere - just gave my thanks there and then!

WeThree
17-04-2006, 23:02
yup, i went :D
dont feel bad natasha, to be honest i dont really see the point of going once you are a grown up at only easter and christmas, seems almost a bit hypocritical iykwim? although i do understand that for some people it is a bit of a nice family tradition.
if you are a christian, yes it is important to go those days, but it is also all the days in between that count as well;)
btw, maybe you should go and have another squiz at the religion/spirituality section~heaps of people post in there!!!!:)

MonkeyMum05
18-04-2006, 08:27
My hubby, son and I went to church on Good Friday with my mama.
I was brought up going to church, but hadn't been there for years... not since I left home at 15!
... for some reason, I felt like going, and did! It felt kinda good.;)

Chickadee
18-04-2006, 08:50
Natasha, I moved your thread to the religion section anyways. Sorry, but that's where it belongs. Non-religious types are unlikely to reply even if it were in the General Chat section, and anyways I'm not sure how your guilt would be eased by someone who doesn't believe in God telling you that they didnt' go to church either?

Tea Lady
18-04-2006, 09:21
We went too (on Sunday) but got there late as DD had an unexpected sleep :smiliedance:

We go every week though, so we didn't go because it was easter IYKWIM. :)

razzle
18-04-2006, 09:23
We went to the Good Friday service... Eloise had a ball and got a special blessing from Fr Pat...

mysonroger
18-04-2006, 09:39
family of catholic here too. we all went to mass yesterday and very seldom we dont go to sunday mass.

how cute is your baby!!

natasha
18-04-2006, 11:16
Natasha, I moved your thread to the religion section anyways. Sorry, but that's where it belongs. Non-religious types are unlikely to reply even if it were in the General Chat section, and anyways I'm not sure how your guilt would be eased by someone who doesn't believe in God telling you that they didnt' go to church either?

No worries. Who doesn't believe in God though?? Many of the people in General do.

limlib
18-04-2006, 11:38
Yes, my Dh, Ds and I went to church Friday and Sunday. We are Anglican. There are lots of younger people there and lots of babies for our ds to wave at! Ds loves to call out "baby" and point whenever he sees another baby so he has lots of fun in church! On a more serious note, We never miss Easter. Most important church day of the year really.

wattle
18-04-2006, 12:13
Such a shame that guilt and religion seem to be so bound up together.

Let go of that guilt and be glad that you had a lovely Easter. You can pray or give thanks just the same at home as in a church. God is everywhere, so he hears you just the same. I really don't think he wants you to feel guilty anyway, just happy.

shinebrite
18-04-2006, 12:44
Yeah we went but we kinda go everyweek! I think its great to have a special weekend that is about Jesus and what he did for us, even though it has taken up the pagan traditions..but if u kinda look past those and remeber what he did for us then I think that is nice...

I dont think u should EVER feel guilty about not going to church! With God its all about whats in the heart! If u just go to church cause U want ppl to "see" u there or cause u want the approval from a family member why bother!?

"Man looks at the outward apperance but God looks at the heart" proverbs

18-04-2006, 12:48
Such a shame that guilt and religion seem to be so bound up together.

Let go of that guilt and be glad that you had a lovely Easter. You can pray or give thanks just the same at home as in a church. God is everywhere, so he hears you just the same. I really don't think he wants you to feel guilty anyway, just happy.

We went. We always go though. :D

Chickadee
18-04-2006, 14:40
No worries. Who doesn't believe in God though?? Many of the people in General do.
I don't believe in God. Many other members don't either. Which is why there is a seperate section for religious discussions.

natasha
18-04-2006, 16:41
I don't believe in God. Many other members don't either. Which is why there is a seperate section for religious discussions.

Ah getcha. Sorry about being defensive. Will post in the right sections from now on!:thumbsup:

Chickadee
18-04-2006, 16:54
Thanks for understanding :)

Here's a snippet of a story for you... someone mentioned that they don't see the point of adults going to church only at Easter and Christmas. I went one year to a Christmas eve service at my parents church. The church was packed. The minister actually made a bit of a nasty comment at the start of the service about how nice it was to see so many people back again, but what a shame that they didn't come more often (or words to that effect). I remember sitting there thinking that if were actually a member of the congregation I'd be offended and wouldn't be back. Even though the minister may have been entirely right in what he was saying, you'd think he'd be above getting petty in his service about it?

Pixie
18-04-2006, 16:58
Well I haven't been to easter Vigil for like hmm maybe 10 or more years....I do find it very long! And I am not a patient person lol

and this year we had a week old baby so it wasn't happening either way lol
+I am catholic and DP is Christian so which church do we go to:eek: lol

shinebrite
18-04-2006, 17:00
Thanks for understanding :)

Here's a snippet of a story for you... someone mentioned that they don't see the point of adults going to church only at Easter and Christmas. I went one year to a Christmas eve service at my parents church. The church was packed. The minister actually made a bit of a nasty comment at the start of the service about how nice it was to see so many people back again, but what a shame that they didn't come more often (or words to that effect). I remember sitting there thinking that if were actually a member of the congregation I'd be offended and wouldn't be back. Even though the minister may have been entirely right in what he was saying, you'd think he'd be above getting petty in his service about it?

MAN there are TOO many ministers like this!!!! they are human though and some of them dig themselves TOO deep...sad to hear!

Nan
18-04-2006, 18:08
"Man looks at the outward apperance but God looks at the heart" proverbs

Not meaning to be rude shine, but I think your proverb comes from 1 Samuel!!
I love that verse and I totally agree. God doesn't mind if we don't go to church on Easter. We used to go away every Easter, so we didn't go. This year I found our church services quite refreshing, though.
Love,
Nan. xx

P.S. DM - Eliza is gorgeous! You must be very proud!

19-04-2006, 10:16
I go to Church every sunday
but not Easter
we were in Sydney for a family holiday:shame:

shinebrite
19-04-2006, 12:19
Not meaning to be rude shine, but I think your proverb comes from 1 Samuel!!
I love that verse and I totally agree. God doesn't mind if we don't go to church on Easter. We used to go away every Easter, so we didn't go. This year I found our church services quite refreshing, though.
Love,
Nan. xx

P.S. DM - Eliza is gorgeous! You must be very proud!

thanks... :o where is Katie when u need her.....??? I was SO sure it was proverbs... PREGNANT BRAINS I TELL YA!!!!