View Full Version : Hi to other ACT mums!
blissfulbabes
16-06-2008, 09:49
Good morning all,
Thought I'd introduce myself. I am a mum to 3 beautiful children (DD1 8, DD2 6, DS 3) and I am also a birthworker and a breastfeeding educator.
I am passionate about respectful parenting (attachment/connection/natural parenting - whatever you want to call it!), and about nutrition and natural therapies such as herbs and homeopathy - and I have my own chooks. :D
I love being outdoors, even when its cold. I devour books, mainly non-fiction (mainly because fiction just completely distracts me and keeps me up reading until ridiculous hours :laughing:). I am extremely clucky for another little bub, but DH is not keen at all :gloomy:. I am a bit of a sling/baby carrier and nappy nerd too. I love reading recipe books and magazines - and occasionally I might even cook something!
I attend a couple of natural parenting playgroups/meet-ups here with like-minded mums in ACT and love that they keep me sane! It's good to know that there are ACT meet-ups through Bub Hub too.
What else?...My little boy has epilepsy (only fairly recently) and that's pretty stressful atm. He is not on medication (yet) so it makes life very unpredictable. It'd be really great to meet up or chat to any other mums who are dealing with similar issues. It's hard to find support for that.
I haven't had much of a look around at threads here yet, so not sure if most of you have babies, or toddlers or older children.
Anyway, just thought I'd pop in and say g'day so I'm not 'lurking'.
Have a lovely day! :wave:
mummybunny
16-06-2008, 10:15
hello and welcome..
im Kim from Tuggeranong and i have a 16 month old DS
hope to see you around :D
HoopDeeDoo
16-06-2008, 10:33
I'm Emma, mum to 2 boys aged 3/12 and 2
My husband had to go to the USA for a few months so we are here for the next few weeks, but I usually live in the tugg side of town.
There are a few nappy addicts in the ACT section and a few we are trying to convert :devil6: so we are always up for a chat about MCN.
We have pretty regular meet ups too so hopefully you'll be able to join us some time
mummybunny
16-06-2008, 10:39
so we are always up for a chat about MCN.
:iagree::iagree:
I live on the north side of Canberra and I suppose you could say I am one of the ones they will be trying to convert. It won't take much persuasion I am sure because I was so close to using them anyway, just saw the disposables on offer and thought I would use them for a short while to see how we go and then may convert to cloths when the baby is a little older.
Hope to see you at one of the meets, our first is due in 5 weeks so we shall see how many I make before then.
Jenna
Isaac's Mummy
17-06-2008, 12:12
Hi blissfulbabes and welcome :smiliedance:
I'm another MCN addict :laughing: There are quite a few of us in the ACT thread!! I'm also a bit of a sling/baby carrier addict too - so it's great to know I'm not the only one!!
Would love to get together with you and meet up in person. you'll have to come along to a meet when we organise another one. I'd also love any info you have on natural parenting playgroups/meet ups - it would be great to meet some other mums who still breastfeed/baby carry/co-sleep, etc.
Hope to see you around :wave:
cinnamonbear
18-06-2008, 21:26
welcome blissfulbabe
id also love some info on these playgroups
i have a 9 month old i BF,co-sleep, an a MCN freak
attachment parenting is very much my style.. would love to get together with some other mothers with similar parenting styles
blissfulbabes
22-06-2008, 20:06
Thanks all! What a lovely welcome :).
So it sounds like I should get along to a meet-up so I can put faces to names for you all :). And we can talk natural parenting, nappies, co-sleeping etc till the cows come home... ;).
It sounds like many of you are southsiders too - I am also in Tugg.
I look forward to seeing you soon! :smiliedance:
We look forward to seeing you at one of the meets, I have only been to two but plan on going to a lot more.
I am one of the few living on the North side, I think there may be a couple of us though.
See you soon. Jenna
Just delurking momentarily to ask if someone can please tell me too where the AP-friendly playgroups etc are...
I think everyone in Canberra knows who I am by now... back to lurking...
jaxlayva
24-06-2008, 07:37
Hi and welcome,
I am new here and will be new to Canberra in a few weeks.I have 3 kids.7,5 and 6 months.
I dont know anyone at all.
We are moving to Gungahlin,Harrison.
Can someone tell me where some of the meets are.I am keen to meet all of you.:flowerz: :shakehands:
cinnamonbear
24-06-2008, 08:45
We usally do a post this thread when there is a meet on
me and jenna(lahri) are planing on going to teh city this week to meet for coffee and have a little shop your more than welcome to join us
im also going to try to organise a meet next wed at manuka ..thought we could all go and watch kung fu panda in teh mums and bub movie session then all have coffee after.
a few of teh mummies have just had babies so tehy might not make it and there alot of mummies here ready to pop hehe
me im neither i have a dd who is just 9 months old..full of beans and loves to get out and about hence why i love meets:yelclap:
hope we can catch up soon
oh yeah my name is kieren:p
Good morning Jaxlayva and welcome to the ACT group,
We would love to meet you and as Kieren has said we have regular get togethers in a variety of places so hopefully you will get to make one of them.
You are welcome to join Kieren and I on our little shopping/coffee meet this week if you are here and available.
I have 4 weeks to go until we have our little one (first baby) so I should be around for a bit longer. I live in Nicholls which is not far from Gungahlin/Harrison and I do my shopping there once a week, it is a lovely area and I am sure you will be very happy there.
Look forward to meeting you soon.
Jenna
redMaple
24-06-2008, 12:15
:wave: blissfulbabes, emd & jaxlayva
I'm Karen, SAH mummy of 2.. check out my sig lol
just wanted to say hi and welcome
Just delurking momentarily to ask if someone can please tell me too where the AP-friendly playgroups etc are...
I think everyone in Canberra knows who I am by now... back to lurking...emd - lol umm I'm not sure I know who u r but I think there is a AP type parent/play group at Isabella Plains.. its a community/family centre its at the same carpark as the IP shops. Anyway they run a few different playgroups I inquired a few yrs back and one of them sounds much like what u r talking about.. just thought I'd let u know if ur on this side of town!
Thanks redMaple, will check out that place.
I know a few of the names here from other forums and community groups. I live in Woden area, 3 kids under school age, WAHM (eco-friendly & fair trade baby gear), member of too many community groups to count.
blissfulbabes
24-06-2008, 14:40
I think there is a AP type parent/play group at Isabella Plains.. its a community/family centre its at the same carpark as the IP shops
You are right redmaple, that is one of the groups I attend each week. emd let me know if you want further info on this.
The other one I attend alternates between members homes on the southside/northside and one member who moved out to Bungendore and is still a member (until she moves to Vic soon! - a little too far away to drop in).
I would describe the former group (at Isabella Plains) to be more child-centred in its activities (craft activities, story time, singing etc), although they have a lovely community built up and sometimes do evening get-togethers without kids and sometimes a weekend camping or something with all the families too.
The latter group is more like a mother's group for want of a better way to describe it (ie its more for the mums than being very stimulating for the kids, although they enjoy each other's company - most of the time!). The majority have babies/toddlers, with a few 3 yos and some with older children who also come along during school holidays.
So it depends what you're looking for I guess!
RazaMaJizza
03-07-2008, 17:44
Hi Blissful Babes
I'm Nadya and have 2 babies who r 20 months apart and live in Tuggeranong.
I moved here from London about nearly 5 yrs back and still trying to adjust to Canberra believe it or not, but hey, its a nice place.
I'm also a great fan of homepathic medicine and use them on my self and children. I have a whole stack of remedies for all purposes. They are great!
I have started attending some groups at the Tugg Health Centre which is very handy as you can get alot of info on many things and the community nurses are helpful and make u feel welcome.
They have a play area too so the children can play with others.
If you want to meet up there sometime or go out for a coffee etc just let me know I love meeting new ppl as Canberra can get a lonely at times.
Nadya
I'm Nadya and have 2 babies who r 20 months apart and live in Tuggeranong.
I have started attending some groups at the Tugg Health Centre which is very handy as you can get alot of info on many things and the community nurses are helpful and make u feel welcome.
They have a play area too so the children can play with others.
If you want to meet up there sometime or go out for a coffee etc just let me know I love meeting new ppl as Canberra can get a lonely at times.
Nadya
hi there :wave:
As you can probably see from my sig, my two are 18 months apart. I also live in tugg and would love someone close to meet up with. How old are your littlies?? The playgroup you mentioned sounds good as well. I have gone to one at Isabella Preschool, but always looking for other ones.... look forward to hearing from you
theresa