View Full Version : Karicare Users

Miss Tazar
17-04-2006, 12:06
Anyone out there using Karicare? I would like some opinions:
Do you use the normal or gold/sensicare type?
Do you have any problems with constipation?
Did anyone switch from S26 because of constipation and found this one better?
Any info would be helpful as I am thinking about switching
Thanks Roxi

tyler's mum
17-04-2006, 12:15
tyler started on kericare then when to S26 then S26 AR then when to infosoy now she is back on the but the kericare AR:rolleyes:

the reason i have change her so much is from birth she has been a spewy baby,, i change her milk she go's good for a while about 6 tins worth and then she go's back to her old ways:barf: .... so far i have found the kericare AR the best but she is starting to spew a bit again....

she never has problem's doin poo or wee's

hope i kinda answer some of your questions:confused:

Rell
17-04-2006, 12:15
with DD I swiched from S26 to Karecare because S26 was causing her constipation. she used Karecare Ar ( the thickened formula for reflux)
With DS I switched from Hinze to Karecare because Hinze was causeing him to be constipated. he used the normal Karecare as he refused to drink the thickned one.

samuelboy
17-04-2006, 12:31
I don't use formula anymore but used Karicare with my boy. I tried S26 and he didn't like the taste so used Karicare instead. I never had any problems with constipation and I used the normal as my MCHN told me there wasn't all that much difference with Gold (don't know if this is true or not).

kmac77
17-04-2006, 12:41
I have used Karicare with both of my children. I used the normal with my DS and the Gold with my DD but I haven't found any difference. If you look at the nutrional information, you will see that there isn't much of a difference. My DD is a very spewy baby even at nearly 9 months but she was a very spewy baby even breast feeding so I haven't worried about changing the formula.

Most people I know who bottle feed use Karicare. I find S26 more expensive with little difference.

Lunar
17-04-2006, 13:17
The reason why so many people caomplain of constipation with S26 is because of it's high iron content.

I used Karicare with Em but then had to switch to Karicare soy due to her being lactose intolerant.

I did however try her once on infasoy(cos I couldn't get karicare and needed formula) and found that made her constipated.

There is no great difference between the gold and regular and any formula really, except for S26 having more iron.

I use Heinz for Kailah now, it's no different from the others and I pay 10.95 a tin, half the price of others.

If you were to ask any of the health nurses they will tell you the same thing, they're all basically the same (except S26) the only real difference is the price tag!

Ange&Seth
17-04-2006, 14:42
Hi Roxi

we put DS on Karicare Gold Starter when he was 2 wks old and the poor lil man got so badly constipated we had to give him enema's to soften his poos so that he didn't bleed trying to do one. Needless to say, we changed formulas as soon as it got that bad (we gave him Karicare for a week thinking that his body needed time to get adjusted to formula after having breastmilk). Anyway, after a week on Karicare, we changed him to S26 and he was fine after that. We've now just started him on Heinz Nurture Starter which is only $12.60 a tin compared to S26 which can be $22, and he doesn't seem any different on this new one.

Hope this helps!

mysonroger
17-04-2006, 14:58
i use bog standard karicare and report no problems. i wouldn't buy the gold one because i thought it was unnecessary

StormAngel
17-04-2006, 15:16
Hi, I used the standard Karicare one, bub hated the taste of S26

17-04-2006, 19:06
My boy had a bad reaction to S26 he had the opposite reaction to constipation :eek:
So we had him on the Heinz which was great until going to the toddler as for whatever reason he didnt like it then again had that same reaction as i said earlier YUCK ! He refuses cows milk so this is why i went to the karicare toddler gold with no dramas & we get it from a local chemist for $14 so isnt much more than the Heinz we used to buy for $12.

tammac77
18-04-2006, 13:21

I started with Karicare Gold and immediately had problems - my son seemed to always be in pain when he was feeding. It was a constant struggle and we began to think he had "silent" reflux as you could hear noises as if he was bringing up milk but it never actually came out his mouth.

When then tried the Thickened - which was better for awhile but he still seemed to have a lot of wind and tummy pain.

Now we're using the Goat's milk formula and it is heaps better. It doesn't smell as sickly as cow's milk formula and the goats milk doesn't form as solid a curd as the cows milk one so it doesn't sit in their tummies and is easier to digest. We've noticed he spits up a little more, but not much and definitely not every feed.:barf:

Only problem is that it is a lot dearer. We used to buy Gold from Target for $18 and the Goats milk is about $23-25 and I've only seen it at chemists. I find that it is worth it though - he's a lot happier.:p

mof2bz
18-04-2006, 16:01

We put our first son on karicare gold at 2 weeks and he stayed on it until 12 months old and only had one episode of constipation throughout this time. He's now almost 3. We now have our 13 week old son on karicare gold starter also and he's also been on this since week 2 and we haven't had any problems with constipation at all. Both of them took to the formula straight away with no problems

Lisa.:smiliedance:

Lunar
18-04-2006, 17:36
tamacc77 I have seen the goats formula in woolies. Don't know where you are located tho so maybe you can't get it in your local supermarket. Just thought you should know, maybe worth a look if you don't shop there, might be a little cheaper than the chemist.

Miss Tazar
18-04-2006, 21:18
thanks for the info everyone, it has helped me immensely