View Full Version : June 08 mums and bubs chat
well it seems im the first one in here to chat but i figured id open a thread to get us started as we have lots of june bubbas now
hey supermum its ok your not alone now! I was wondering where we were going to post when weve all popped :)
Tam-I-Am
13-06-2008, 20:50
Hi guys! I had my bubba on the last day of May but was due in June (and chatted in the June threads a little).
How's everyone doing?
Connor's now 2 weeks old tomorrow, and things are going quite well here. Breastfeeding's off to a great start, although we've all got colds ATM (so he's started feeding 2 hourly around the clock!). I'm exhausted!
hi tam and ingi
tam yeah dylan been feeding 2 hourly since we bought him home too and im exhausted he just starting to last a bit longer now thank god hes up to 3 hours.
has anyone tried boiled water for wind? dylan is really cranky each night from around 8pm till midnight and seems to be having a lot of wind pain, was thinking of trying some boiled water?
Tam-I-Am
14-06-2008, 10:10
Ahhh, witching 'hour' - don't you love it?! (And wouldn't it be nice if it WERE just an hour?! :p)
I haven't tried it - and to be honest, wouldn't. Breastmilk stores are at their lowest at that time of the day, its actually really good for your supply to give unlimited access to the breast - its sort of like the baby putting in their order for the next day, so to speak, so if you give cooled boiled water, they're not going to be stimualting the breast as much, so not telling your breasts to make as much milk as they should. I guess, to me, although that might be a short-term solution in terms of settling tonight - it would create a longer, more ongoing problem in terms of ongoing low supply.
Its frustrating isn't it! I wish babies came with manuals!
yeah i hadnt really thought of that! we are just starting to get the feeding sorted out a bit so i wouldnt want to upset that at this point. it seems like i havent had enough milk so i wouldnt want to make even less, ive been trying to drink heaps of water myself to boost supplies:D
i might wait a few more weeks and see if it doesnt sort itself out first before trying anything else
hi tam and ingi
tam yeah dylan been feeding 2 hourly since we bought him home too and im exhausted he just starting to last a bit longer now thank god hes up to 3 hours.
has anyone tried boiled water for wind? dylan is really cranky each night from around 8pm till midnight and seems to be having a lot of wind pain, was thinking of trying some boiled water?
Hi girls :wave:
Rileys the same 2 hourly feeds some days he sleeps for 4 but then wakes up starving.
Riley has bad wind pains too but i read somewhere that you shouldnt give your baby water unless a doctor suggests it, so i dunno theres so many different opinions out there!
When does their cord stump fall off? Rileys is strting to come off but it looks like it has a bit of pus or something under it do you girls know if this is normal??
lol, Just checking to see what we will all eb talking about once bubs are here...
Ingi: I can answer your question though. The yuky stuff at the bottom of the stump is normal..sometimes smells a bit too. Its just the normal bacteria on his skin, removing the "dead" stump. Its only a worry if the actually good skin around the base of the stump gets red and inflammed. Just give it a good wipe with some water on a cotton bub once or twice a day (you dont need to do itmnore then this or you wipe away too many of the bacteria whose job it is to get rid of it..)....it sounds like it's very close to coming off.
Oh dear 2hrly feeds.... and I think geting up to the loo every 3-4hrs is enough. At lesat I wont have this heavy tummy to negotiate in and out of bed though...
Tam-I-Am
14-06-2008, 23:22
When does their cord stump fall off? Rileys is strting to come off but it looks like it has a bit of pus or something under it do you girls know if this is normal??
Connor's fell off at 11 days. It looked a bit pussy underneath and was quite gross looking, but the midwife assured me it was all normal.
Thanks guys geez id b lost without you girls lol i think id have the midwives on speed dial lol.
Tam-I-Am
15-06-2008, 11:27
Oh, believe me - I've called my middie with some fairly strange questions over the last 2 weeks :p
I think she thought I was pretty normal until after Connor came out :laughing:
dylans fell off about a week ago?
glad to hear im not the only one on 2 hourly feeds last night he was awake from 3 till 5 just eating and burping and spewing and pooing. i dont mind getting up and down but i find it sooo hard staying up.
c38 personally i rather getting up with the baby over being heavily pregnant anyday.
well dylan has stacked on over 600grams and 3 cm in length already so he is obviously needing all that milk:D.
he throws up all the time though i mean big projectile ones. my first ds had reflux and im wondering if dylan does too:no:. hope not see paed on wed so ill talk to him about it, but all babies puke a fair bit dont they?:barf:
Hey there mummies
Want you all to know that I plan to come in and be involved in this thread, but so far just havent had the time! We have had heaps of visitors, etc, and days like today I have done nothing aside from entertain DD1, feed DD2 and chat to visitors. Am loving catching up with people but wont be sad when it all dies down so I can work out some kind of routine with my two girls (wow wierd saying 2 daughters!!). All of my family will be here in a few days (parents, 2 sis and a nephew) so expectng to have even LESS time to leisurely browse the net...
Hannah has so far been a model baby, but a bit reluctant to talk about it incase I jinx us and she turns into a horror lol. She is feeding well and my nipples are starting to feel kind of ok (middies reckon it doesnt hurt, I beg to differ) and she is a good sleeper. :fingerscrossed:
DDs cord fell off today (9 days old) but there is still a bit of gunk there.
Anyone else having trouble with heavy handed older siblings? DD1 is quite interested in DD2 but she is so rough!! I feel like my heart is in my mouth every time she is near her, but I dont want to be forever telling her off as I dont want to make it into a contentious issue with her. Please tell me that it gets better...
Good sleep vibes to you all :sleeping:
Daisy Boo
15-06-2008, 20:54
Girls,
might join you in this thread too.
Just a question to those that know about bf. Does it make you really really thirsty or is it just me? I just want to drink everything. DH thinks I'm going nuts.:hair:
Hey Kirrilysmum, yes BF makes you thirsty and hungry, that is very normal! It takes so much out of you, which is why it helps in losing pregnancy weight.
BTW I have forgotten so many things in less than 2 years! I had forgotten how often newborns poo, and how explosive they are, and how many changes of clothes they need! Going to cost a fortune in nappies lol
Tam-I-Am
15-06-2008, 21:48
Girls,
Just a question to those that know about bf. Does it make you really really thirsty or is it just me? I just want to drink everything. DH thinks I'm going nuts.:hair:
Yup, sure does - you're providing ALL the nutrients your baby needs, in liquid form, to your bubba! That's bound to make you thirsty (and hungry!) Drink lots of water - its the best thing you can do :)
BTW I have forgotten so many things in less than 2 years! I had forgotten how often newborns poo, and how explosive they are, and how many changes of clothes they need! Going to cost a fortune in nappies lol
Oooh, I hear ya! I got pooed AND spewed on today (and got rebound spew in my mouth too :barf:). Oh the joys of having a newborn :p But its good isn't it! :)
Hi girls :wave:
dylan is really cranky each night from around 8pm till midnight and seems to be having a lot of wind pain, was thinking of trying some boiled water?
Must be the time of night! Chais is really bad around 8pm-9pm each night too.
well dylan has stacked on over 600grams and 3 cm in length already so he is obviously needing all that milk.
he throws up all the time though i mean big projectile ones. my first ds had reflux and im wondering if dylan does too:no:. hope not see paed on wed so ill talk to him about it, but all babies puke a fair bit dont they?:barf:
I was worried if Chais was getting enough milk as you can't measure it, but he too has put on a heap of weight, so it's obviously ok.
A first he didn't vomit & I thought that was great, but his haemaglobin (sp?) is still really low (bordering on needing to go back in for another transfusion), so he has to have iron twice a day as well as his other medicine, and since I started him on that he too vomits every time. Sometimes heaps & heaps.
Anyone else having trouble with heavy handed older siblings? DD1 is quite interested in DD2 but she is so rough!! I feel like my heart is in my mouth every time she is near her, but I dont want to be forever telling her off as I dont want to make it into a contentious issue with her. Please tell me that it gets better...
Good sleep vibes to you all :sleeping:
When my 2nd was born my DD was 19mths old & she was the same. Always wanting to touch him & help out, it did get better though, so hang in there. I think it's actually a bit worse this time, the older ones are 6 & 4 & have to be involved in everything! This is hard as he is so little, they have to be careful, but they think they're old enough to do things by themselves & hate it when I help them hold him & stuff. They are constantly in his face at the first sign of any sound. I feel I'm forever telling them to just leave him alone, but also don't want them to resent him or anything. The worst thing is they are both sick & being premmie we can't afford for him to get sick at all, so it's even more important for them to stay away at the moment.
Girls,
I totally hear you on this one! I'm also really thirsty & do nothing but eat. I swear I'm hungrier now than when I was pregnant. I'm so glad it's not just me!
Well things are going well for us. He'll be 6 weeks on Thursday. His jaundice is still there, we have weekly blood tests to check it doesn't get high enough to need to go back to hospy as well as his blood levels. He's about 3kgs now & still in 00000. The stay in hospy when he was born put him in a great routine, & I just try & stick with that. He feeds every 4 hours, then during the day after a feed he'll have about 1/2 hour awake time, then I'll put him back to bed awake & he'll go off to sleep. During the night I just put him straight to bed after his feed. Saying that, I think he's having his 6 week growth spurt, as yesterday & last night he was quite unsettled & was feeding every 2 1/2 hours or so. I hope this doesn't last too long as I'm exhausted today!
How many Sydney girls do we have?
:no:well its official dylan has reflux, i knew it. saw the paediatrician today. he has to try taking mylanta for a couple of weeks and if that doesnt help him enough he will go on some medicine called zantac? oh and we have to try and keep him upright. easy peasy ill just grab a roll of duct tape and strap him to my chest, then tape myself to the bedhead so we can both sleep upright:laughing:. speaking of which sleep is non existant round here. i got none last night. none as in zero.dylan was up from 6pm till 3.30 am the whole time. then after that he was dozing for 10 mins here and there till morning. slept all day though while ive been busy running him to the drs and stuff we get home and i think oh great ill have a rest while he is sleeping crawl into bed and right on cue he starts to holler. :fingerscrossed: he is soo exhausted tonight from last night that he crashes out for at least a few hours
Daisy Boo
19-06-2008, 10:09
Supermum of 3- do you have a baby capsule or a bouncer? That will keep Dylan upright. I found the best rest I get is if I leave Michael in the capsule. He will sleep for a few hours in it. I know they don't recommend it for long periods of time but desperate times need desperate measures. And I think a sleep deprived mummy qualifies as a desperate time....
I feel so guilty today. Last night DD tried hitting DS. It's only out of jealousy but I lost my temper and smacked her hand. This morning she was smacking her hand. I feel so so bad. She is at daycare and I just want to hold her and say I'm sorry.:hugs:
Kotakai - I'm a Sydney girl.
yep kirillys mum i have both. he hates the capsule but he likes the rocker so we let him sleep in it sometimes. wehave also put a cushion under his matress to prop him up a bit which im sure is a big no no but like u said desperate times...
dont feel too bad your dd has probably forgotten all about it and is having a great time at school. my ds has had a few attempts at hitting his new brother too and i get so cross with him as he is 4 and a half, i really think he should know better. maybe my expectations are too high?
Daisy Boo
20-06-2008, 10:41
supermumof3 - we have tilted ds mattress as well because he is congested. They do it in hospital so why not at home??
Who knows what goes through their little heads. Just like us they are trying to deal with the changes in our lives and not being the central figure.
Tam-I-Am
20-06-2008, 12:53
We have Connor sleeping in his bouncer ATM because we're pretty certain he has silent reflux - he just refuses to sleep on his back.
I've spoken to both my midwife, and his chiropractor about it and both say its fine to have him sleep on an angle, so long as he's safe.
Do what works! :D
hey girls havnt been online in a few days!
Hows everyone coping?
I was having a few bad nights this week Riley was having problems with wind or something and was screaming then feeding every hour it was the oly thing that would settle him but then i think it just made it worse in the end. Ive propped his matress up as well altho he still doesnt sleep in his own bed much he sleeps on me most nights which im sure is not a good thing!
Anyways time for a feed now so ill be back later!!
Hey girls, well it's been over 24 hours since someone posted in this thread! Wow such a difference from the pregnancy thread, when there were 3 pages to read by lunchtime! Just goes to show how busy we all are with our bubbas.
Things are pretty hectic here, my parents and middle sister are here until Monday, and my little sister and her son are here for another week so we have been out and about every day, seems like the weeks are flying by, Hannah is already over 2 weeks old. DP is back to work on Monday after 2 weeks off and I;m a bit sad about that, its been nice having him around.
Had a bit of a meltdown earlier in the week as I was so worried about how to manage a newborn and my nearly 2 DD without DP around. But DD1 has really improved, she is still fascinated by DD2 but the jealousy and rough treatment has really reduced, which I am so relieved about. So I am feeling ready to start our new life as a family of 4 instead of 3! In a way I;m actually lookng forward to DP going to work, so we can establish a new kind of normal.
Am feeling lucky so far, DD2 is a good little girl, feeding and sleeping well, but early days yet, plenty of time for things to fall in a heap lol.
Hoping your nipples arent sore and you're getting lots of sleep girlies.
Kotakai - I'm a Sydney girl.
I think there are a few others too. Once everyone is settled we should try & organise a meet.
I think this thread is a bit neglected as people are still posting in the other one. Maybe once everyone's had their babies this will be just as busy.
Hope everyone is going well.
Chais went through his 6 week growth spurt last week, so we had a few nightmare days, but :fingerscrossed: he's getting back to normal.
Daisy Boo
24-06-2008, 13:29
Kotakai - I think we are posting everywhere. It will sort itself out once everyone has had their bub.
How is Chais doing? Are you getting much rest?
Just found this thread girls!
Totally with you on the 2 hourly feeds. Mind you DS2 put on 620g in 7 days!!!! Putting some meat on his little chicken legs. Wow, 620g is 21oz, and It hink there's 16oz in pound, so he put on 1lb 5oz in a week!!! At least I know my milk is full of all goodies!:p
He's got a cold at the moment, actually so have I too, so we are both miserable. I'm very tired too, which I know I'm not alone when I say that!!! I've pretty much lost my voice and so has he, he tries to cry but there is no noise, poor little kiddo.:(
Things might pick up here once everyone does have bubs, new place to hang out!
Well better get the other two monsters some lunch and see if they will go and have a sleep, and wake up DS2 to ahve antoher feed and maybe I'll get a couple of minutes of sleep too!
Hi :)
Just remembered to check this thread :) Looking forward to chatting more soon.
I get too tired typing with one hand.
I'm a Sydney girl too.
Jack is really well behaved, good sleeper. He's sleeping in his pram at the moment as he doesn't like the cot (Too big I think). Not sure if i should buy him a basinett or maybe a snuggle bed to go in the cot.
Anyway it's probably food time for him again.
Chat more soon :)
oh wow i only just found this thread...
Hey Kirrilysmum, yes BF makes you thirsty and hungry, that is very normal! It takes so much out of you, which is why it helps in losing pregnancy weight.
lol charlotte makes soo much noise when messing herself. and talk aboutexplosive... two days in a row she did this explosion that came out the TOP of her nappy all on clothes.. lol out the legs i could understand, but the top.. thats one power poop
How is Chais doing? Are you getting much rest?
He's going great, thanks. Last week was a bit of a nightmare, he was going through his 6 week growth spurt & very unsettled, wanting to feed all the time etc, but much better now. He feeds every 4 hours, so a typical night will be 6pm feed, (only has 10 minutes on each side but takes forever to burp, has really bad wind), nappy change & then into bed around 7pm. Will wake up around 10pm & do the same over again & will then sleep until about 2am. Some nights he doesn't settle well after this feed, so he sometimes comes into our bed.
Jack is really well behaved, good sleeper. He's sleeping in his pram at the moment as he doesn't like the cot (Too big I think). Not sure if i should buy him a basinett or maybe a snuggle bed to go in the cot.
We have Chais in his basinett inside his cot (if that makes sense), as I also thought his cot was way too big for him. The basinett I got was on special at toys r us for around $80 & it's fantastic. It has a light (which is extremely useful in the middle of the night), music, & vibration. The best thing about all these is they turn themself off after a while.
lol charlotte makes soo much noise when messing herself. and talk aboutexplosive... two days in a row she did this explosion that came out the TOP of her nappy all on clothes.. lol out the legs i could understand, but the top.. thats one power poop
When I was taking DD to school the other day DP was left with instructions to bath & dress Chais. I get a call when I'm about 10 minutes from returning home, that Chais has done a huge poo, it's gone everywhere & he was all frazzled about what to do! I said just undress him, wipe most off & chuck him in the bath. But he was too flustered & I had to go home & help.
Hi all, just found you over here today! I am also very thirsty when BF. Find myself gulping down huge glasses of water or pots of tea.
[quote=kotakai;2761255]
I totally hear you on this one! I'm also really thirsty & do nothing but eat. I swear I'm hungrier now than when I was pregnant. I'm so glad it's not just me!
I never stop eating either! No big change there;)
This happens with Liam too. Ive been thinking its due to my lack of nappy changing skills. Drives me mad when it happens in the middle of the night and I have to change his bot, change his clothes, and change his bedding, and then put everything in to soak. :hair:
My little boy I swear does an explosive poo and a great big fountain of a wee every single time I take his nappy off, I usually end up changing MY clothes as well as his! I've seriously had to change after changing him about 7 times!!!!! (which is fantastic at 2am and again at 5am) I can even stand there and hold the open nappy shut for a while just to be sure, but as soon as I whip it off and put the new one on, BINGO!! He's got my mum twice and the maternal child health nurse once and both my sisters once too, LOL. So it's not just me!:D
LOL Fra99le, they can time it perfectly can't they!?:laughing::hair:
Mum of Midgeys
04-07-2008, 10:43
Hehehe, finally found my way to this thread. Oh yeah, I'm quick off the mark :p
Daisy Boo
10-07-2008, 09:42
where has everyone gone. We dropped off the page. Hello:raspberry::ecomcity::wave:
lol Igamble not to get pood or weed on too much.
I finally lost yesterday when I was changing her on my lap in the back of the car.
When as soon as the nappy was off, I was officially initiated into motherhood by being piddled on - all over my jeans. Needless to say that shopping trip was cut short.:laughing:
shereejoy
10-07-2008, 13:21
Hi all, just thought I would touch base with you all.
Been so busy with our business and end of financial year stuff, so I apologise for not getting on here sooner.
Congrats to all the new arrivals. Thinking of you all. xoxo
Well as you all know, Riley did not come early and we made it to our C-section date of the 27th June.
His details were:
Born at 8.08am, 3.475kgs / 7lb 10oz, 53cm long and HC of 35cm
He has a slight tongue tie, and a hernia under his belly button. He also has fluid in his right testie (hydraseal) which they expect to dissapear by the time he is 1, otherwise a minor operation will be required. Otherwise he is full of health and just beautiful. As a newborn he is so similar to Lachlan it is like dayjaveu (sp?)
He is such a good baby, just feeds and sleeps. So different to my first son who fed for 5 mins and had 20min cat naps right from birth (but I guess this was all associated to his severe reflux issues). I didn't know babies could be this good! Although we have had a few wind issues the last couple of nights and he does have his days and nights mixed up too! Until these wind issues he would sleep 22 hours a day and go 5-7 hours between feeds, which the CHN has recently told me to wake him 3 hourly thru the day (which is a challenge) But we will get there! Hardly know I have a baby thru the day. Getting use to nightly feeds again is a challenge esp with the wind pain lately. He is so content on his belly, so out of dire desperation he slept on his tummy beside us last night. Only seems to be nights he is upset. I guess that is always the way though! So I am in a dilema of what to do about this tummy situation and SIDS. I guess that is why I only want him in bed with us if he is on his tummy atm, but what to do on a more permanent basis, atm I am not sure! Might have to look into some wind drops, something I will start to investigate soon.
Lachlan is adapting well. Too busy most of the time, but doesn't appear jealous or ratty like he was prior to us coming home. So just hope that continues.
As for my caesar wound, all appears to be going well this time (ie: no bleeding from the wound so far so good), so the gyno did a fab job of which I am so grateful, after my drama recovery last time. I nearly pulled out of my caesar due to sheer nervousness of the last recovery being so bad. I was shaking like u have never seen anyone shake before. Just so glad it is all over really.
Anyway back to the paperwork, hope you are all well xoxo
15-07-2008, 14:36
OMG Riley just put on 510grams in 1 week. So in 2 weeks 4 days he has gained 900 grams. Omg so different to my first child who barely put on every week, maybe averged about 60-80 grams a week!
wow, that's awesome shereejoy! :yelclap:
Today I packed away the 00000 outfits and un-packed the 0000 ones. :)
Butterflies&Hurricanes
15-07-2008, 15:29
OMG Riley just put on 510grams in 1 week. So in 2 weeks 4 days he has gained 900 grams. Omg so different to my first child who barely put on every week, maybe averged about 60-80 grams a week!
Wow and I thought my little porker had done well. Jasper put on 360g in the last week :yelclap:
kelectable
16-07-2008, 11:34
Those weight gains are massive. Hunter put on 300g in 3 days then has only put on another 40g in 10 days the nurse made me another app for next week and wants him to put on atleast another 120g by then if not we have to go to the DRs and get something to boost my milk supply which scares me a little since i feel like i have so much milk and he makes the hugest gulp noises while feeding and the look of content and fullness on his face when he finishes feeding makes me wonder why he isnt putting on much weight.
Does anyones mini have a 3rd nipple? When we gave him is first bath in hospital we noticed it and two weeks later it is still there. Next time he is nakey ill take a pic.
shereejoy
16-07-2008, 11:40
Kelectable - my first son has a third nipple. We didn't know what it was at first, but the paed picked it up at his 6 week check. It is nothing to worry about apparently. Lachlan's is still there and he is 2. Don't think they ever disappear.
kelectable
16-07-2008, 12:02
Yea iam hoping it stays there i think its totally cute. The midwife said its meant to be lucky so ill just agree with her. Least when he is older he can have a party trick up his sleeve well up his shirt :laughing:
shereejoy
16-07-2008, 13:06
Ohhh it is gl huh! Didn't know that! Is your bubs fully formed? Lachlan's doesn't even look like a nipple it is just like an indent in his chest below his left nipple.
kelectable
17-07-2008, 11:18
Nah its not fully formed just the size of his actual nipple mebe a little smaller but the same colour aswell. Its on his right size about 3 cm under his real one
shereejoy
17-07-2008, 11:43
Did you have alot of dairy when pregnant? I am just wondering if this is why????
shereejoy, I went through 3 litres of milk every 2 days while pregnant and my son only has the two nipples... my little sister was born with 3 but the third was just like a little dimple. You can't see it now anyway as it would now be UNDER her boob IYKWIM?
shereejoy
17-07-2008, 13:06
Yeah Lachlan's is like an indent too! But I see wonder if Dairy is related for us, as I ate and drank copious amounts of Dairy when pregnant with my first, hence the huge weight gain. I was more careful this time. Ohhh well that is just my theory! who knows really.
kelectable
17-07-2008, 16:24
It is quite common Ive read that 1 in 10 babies have 3.
I didnt have a heap of dairy but that made me laugh thinking about it liek that.
I will take a pic tonight of it after bath time so you can see it.