View Full Version : Adelaide Girls and Mums and Friends MASSIVE meet up, all welcome!

Laine
12-06-2008, 15:53
Hi! After the success of the Morning Tea, and knowing about those who missed out on going we have all decided to do another meet up where all are welcome. It will be more than likely held in the city somewhere as it is more central to everyone.

So we need ideas for locations! I think weather permitting the Botanical Gardens would be nice. Otherwise if anyone knows of any locations perhaps indoors around the city area let us know.

The date will be a Monday the 7th OR 14th of July, still to be decided. The majority will rule in this case and we will organise something else another day for those who cannot make this one too.

Note: THIS WILL BE IN THE SCHOOL HOLIDAYS

I will add a poll so take your pick!

Everybody is welcome, but for now lets get an idea of what day we can all go on and see who is interested :thumbsup:

ETA: Should of made this multiple choice, so if you are ok for either day just let me know in here or pick your absolute best date.

Nan
12-06-2008, 16:06
14th is good for me. :thumbsup:
I was just about to say some people will be ok for both!

mummynow
12-06-2008, 20:21
7th for me :thumbsup:

sshellzp
12-06-2008, 20:26
Have no idea. My due date is the 13th...will have to wait and see if im up to it.

Londonmum
12-06-2008, 20:56
I'm up for either :thumbsup:

DB&O
12-06-2008, 21:31
I'm up for either :thumbsup:

Us too :smiliedance:

caz
13-06-2008, 09:44
I clicked on the 14th but both dates suit me :thumbsup:

cheezelz
13-06-2008, 17:01
Thanks Nat. I picked the 7th but am easy for any.

Cant wait to meet everyone.

mischief79
13-06-2008, 21:45
7th for me. I'll be in Melbourne the 14th

OneNowOneLater
13-06-2008, 22:34
I clicked on the 7th but i'm free pretty much all the time!

danni02
14-06-2008, 15:17
im up for either day! would be nice to meet some people.
wouldnt inside somewhere be better?? just thinking of children out in the cold for several hours.

Londonmum
14-06-2008, 17:55
I agree with Danni, weather like it's been recently then an out door venue might not be so good. Unfortunatly I can't offer any suggestions as I don't know Adelaide nearly so well as you ladies who are born and raised Adelaidians :D

Laine
14-06-2008, 21:33
Yes I agree it should be indoors somewhere, I was just unsure where. I only know of places in the North - North East Suburbs but I was trying to make this meet more central to everyone to come.. So any suggestions from those in the know would be very helpful :D

ETA: It can be wherever you guys want it, doesn't have to be in the city. But as long as everyone is in agreement.

mischief79
17-06-2008, 13:31
Is there a playcafe near town?

Laine
17-06-2008, 15:20
I have two suggestions and only know about these from googling them and old bubhub threads coming up...

Ikea, I think they have a play area for kiddies - near the airport
Wiggly Worms - Glenelg (which I know is quite pricey)

Harbour Town may be another option but it depends on those with mobile kids as it could be boring for them.

Does anyone know anything about the Busy Kids Craft Cafe in Sefton Pk?

vikkiand3boys
17-06-2008, 19:19
Hi girls...im a newbie that was just passing through here.
Just thought I would make a suggestion....but not sure if this is what you were thinking.

At Mcdonalds down on glen osmond road there is a big play area for kids to run around in and a party room thats really big for lots of adults. If you rang them ahead of time and booked it then im sure they would be helpful.
Also another place that isnt as expensive is "Hocus Pocus" playcafe at Westfield marion. They only charge a few dollars for child entry and they do reasonable coffee and cake.

Just thought I would let you know...hope that helps.
luv vikki:flowerz:

mystique01
17-06-2008, 19:48
come on peoplw were are your suggestions

i say maybe wiggly worms if u want indoors
we could go to a outdoors playground that has shelter in north adelaide or something
what do u guys think

nat is trying her best to organise this but i wont work with no suggestions

Laine
17-06-2008, 19:55
Hi girls...im a newbie that was just passing through here.
Just thought I would make a suggestion....but not sure if this is what you were thinking.

At Mcdonalds down on glen osmond road there is a big play area for kids to run around in and a party room thats really big for lots of adults. If you rang them ahead of time and booked it then im sure they would be helpful.
Also another place that isnt as expensive is "Hocus Pocus" playcafe at Westfield marion. They only charge a few dollars for child entry and they do reasonable coffee and cake.

Just thought I would let you know...hope that helps.
luv vikki:flowerz:

Thanks Vikki! Great suggestions there I appreciate it :D However I think Maccas is a bit of a no go zone for some mums, myself included. Basically if I wanna go to Maccas Ill go to the one around the corner if you know what I mean? Other mums vito Maccas for various other reasons too... I really do appreciate you trying to help and I do hope you can come along once we are all decided :thumbsup: Id really like to meet up somewhere new and exciting. Where abouts in Adelaide are you?

Hocus Pocus would be great aswell, if it were in a better location. I know some northern mums won't be prepared to travel that far, which is why im sticking to the city area. With petrol as it is these days, its too far a trip for some of us and a lot more hassle.

cheezelz
17-06-2008, 20:43
I have no ideas. Im happy to go to Wiggly Worms or even Jack in the Box at Klemzig. Im happy to travel a bit further south of the city but dont know what is there.

As you have seen my DD needs to be entertained so just going to Maccas is too difficult for me. Especially now that I will have to chase her around which is hard to do this pregnant.

Laine
17-06-2008, 20:54
Ok so Wiggly Worms then? Everyone happy with that??

danni02
17-06-2008, 21:18
i've never been to wiggle worms before but if its fairly easy to get to via public transport i'm all for it.
jack in the box is great, we go there quite often.
personally i wouldnt like maccas, i see it as a place to eat not take my child to play.
theres a tri-skills place in holden hill. thats another kids play place, but more gymnastics based. i've never been but i've heard great things about it.
maybe bowling? i dont know how old everyones children are but i know you can get small ramps for little children to push the ball down

caz
18-06-2008, 06:54
I'm happy to go with the flow but can I just say that seeing as though it will be school holidays, places like play cafes are going to be swamped with older children who have no concern over the little ones, so the littlies end up getting hurt.

JMO, as I said, happy to go with what everyone else agrees to

Looking forward to it :thumbsup:

mischief79
18-06-2008, 18:41
I'm fine with Wiggly Worms

As for school holidays, we went to Salisbury Playcafe last holodays and it was almost empty for the first few hours. But who knows!

Nat - if we choose a playcafe somewhere, lets make sure its open :laughing:

Laine
18-06-2008, 21:33
:laughing: Thanks Belinda, will do :D I try never to make the same mistake twice lol

Ok, I think we should chance it with Wiggly Worms and if it does get a bit hectic there and the weather is nice maybe we could go down to the bay? I'm not sure, ill make a phone call and reserve a table though (if you can even do that)

The 7th appears to be winning out according to the poll, and I have just picked probably my best day (happy for either but have DS's first bday on the 13th so will probably need that day to catch up on housework!). Never fear though for those who can't make it on what ever date then we will do another one for perhaps the end of July? The poll will be open for another few days to cast your vote.

mummynow
20-06-2008, 20:10
Wiggly Worms sounds ok with me :thumbsup: But I agree with Caz. I went to the Clayson Road one during the holidays last time and it was packed and all the school aged kids really pushed the littlies around DD didn't spend much time playing at all as she got frightened and hung around me whingeing instead. But I'm happy to come along anyway and we'll just hope it's not too busy.

Laine - Did you want us to start a list of who is planning to come or do you have that under control already?

Laine
20-06-2008, 20:54
Wiggly Worms sounds ok with me :thumbsup: But I agree with Caz. I went to the Clayson Road one during the holidays last time and it was packed and all the school aged kids really pushed the littlies around DD didn't spend much time playing at all as she got frightened and hung around me whingeing instead. But I'm happy to come along anyway and we'll just hope it's not too busy.

Laine - Did you want us to start a list of who is planning to come or do you have that under control already?

Once the poll finishes in 6 days ill start one.

mumbron
25-06-2008, 15:59
Hi i clicked on the 7th but i'm not fussed either way:D

Laine
26-06-2008, 16:50
Hi guys, ok so looks like the 7th has won out this time round. So if we can get a guest list happening of who is DEFINITELY coming then that would be great.

For those who could only make the 14th, we will maybe do another meet for early August, late July? Does that sound ok?

Now at least 7 of you said you could make the 7th, so lets see some names here people.

I am sticking with Wiggly Worms as I have received no further suggestions and Wiggly Worms seemed to be winning out, if you do have another suggestion now is your time to tell me! Remember ALL are welcome!! Just chuck your name on the list.

GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine

mummynow
26-06-2008, 17:27
Have you decided on a time yet?

GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow

danni02
26-06-2008, 17:33
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02

Laine
26-06-2008, 18:10
Sorry mummynow feel free to take over organising if you wish, no time is decided yet.

What do you think would be better early morning or afternoon? I have not been there before so no idea when the peak period times are. I assume during the holidays it may be busy all day. Up to you guys what you prefer, I have set the day aside.

mummynow
26-06-2008, 18:22
Sorry mummynow feel free to take over organising if you wish, no time is decided yet.

What do you think would be better early morning or afternoon? I have not been there before so no idea when the peak period times are. I assume during the holidays it may be busy all day. Up to you guys what you prefer, I have set the day aside.

:no: Sorry, I already have way to much on my plate at the moment... no chance I could squeeze in organising something too, sorry. You are doing a wonderful job though :thumbsup:

I haven't had a chance to fill everyone in yet and will do that as soon as I possibly get the chance.

I don't think I will be able to make 'early' morning from this side of town but I'll happily come mid morning or later. I have set the whole day aside too :D

Londonmum
26-06-2008, 19:35
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum

Might be a good idea to find out when they open and for some of us to turn up then, most play cafes wont reserve tables during hols (don't know if that includes Wiggly worms) so it'll fill up really quick in the hols.

Just a suggestion.

cheezelz
26-06-2008, 19:39
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum
Cheezelz

My DD as with many toddlers nap in the afternoon so the morning is better for us.

Laine
26-06-2008, 20:27
Might be a good idea to find out when they open and for some of us to turn up then, most play cafes wont reserve tables during hols (don't know if that includes Wiggly worms) so it'll fill up really quick in the hols.

Just a suggestion.

:thumbsup: Yep will call them up tomorrow. Will be great to meet you!

danni02
27-06-2008, 08:45
is there an alternative place just in case its too busy for the little ones?? im guessing during school holidays it will be packed with older kids who dont watch out for the younger ones around them.

mummynow
27-06-2008, 09:12
is there an alternative place just in case its too busy for the little ones?? im guessing during school holidays it will be packed with older kids who dont watch out for the younger ones around them.

I don't know if this helps ease your mind or not danni02 but there is a completely seperate section or play ground for 3 years and under. If the bigger kids go in there you can report them to the counter and they get told to get off.

caz
27-06-2008, 10:10
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum
Cheezelz
caz

mystique01
27-06-2008, 11:11
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum
Cheezelz
caz
mystique01

Nan
27-06-2008, 12:25
Sounds like it will be fun, but we're away interstate that week. I'd love to come to the next one for sure. It will be good to put faces to names!! Hope you ladies enjoy yourselves. :yes:

danni02
27-06-2008, 12:41
I don't know if this helps ease your mind or not danni02 but there is a completely seperate section or play ground for 3 years and under. If the bigger kids go in there you can report them to the counter and they get told to get off.

oh thanks mama thats good to know!! :goodvibes:

mischief79
27-06-2008, 15:16
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum
Cheezelz
caz
mystique01
mischief79

Bex
27-06-2008, 17:26
I just moved here so would love to jion u guys

OneNowOneLater
29-06-2008, 21:45
GUEST LIST 7th July

Laine
Mummynow
Danni02
Londonmum
Cheezelz
caz
mystique01
mischief79
specksmum (if J is better by then)

cheezelz
30-06-2008, 20:01
Hi Bex. The more the merrier. Feel free to come along.

vikkiand3boys
01-07-2008, 10:47
Hi everyone...ive just looked at the prices of Wiggly Worms entry and I dont think I can afford that with my 3 kids.

Admission Fees Wiggly Worms
Children 1 to 2 years $7 each
Children 3 to 12 years $10 each
Children under 12 months $2

That would mean $30 entry fee for my boys and then add another $20 for some food and drink. They dont allow you to bring any food of your own. So $50 is a bit much for me at the moment.
Thanks anyway...maybe the next meet.:flowerz:

Laine
01-07-2008, 11:01
No problem Vikki, as mentioned we will organise another meet towards end of July/Early Aug. Perhaps that one can be held elsewhere.

Well I gave Wiggly Worms a call this morning, they weren't much help. Apparently to book a table of a bigger party you need to give a 20% deposit. Which I am not going to do. Even with a guest list its possible certain people won't turn up or will back out last minute.
She did however say that the first day of the school holidays isn't too busy so we should be ok. I think we will arrange to meet there perhaps around 10:30am? How does that suit?

Bex, as Cheezelz says the more the merrier!! Let us know if you can make it :thumbsup:

danni02
01-07-2008, 12:38
unfortunetly i dont think i am going to be able to make this now. we spent yesterday in the hospital with joshua. he has another bout of bronchilitus. i dont really want to take him to that kind of enviroment when hes just recovering.
have fun!!

mummynow
01-07-2008, 20:22
I think we will arrange to meet there perhaps around 10:30am? How does that suit?

:yes: Suits us just fine :thumbsup:

cheezelz
01-07-2008, 20:57
10.30 suits me too.

Laine
06-07-2008, 15:58
To those of you still going tomorrow!

I unfortunately won't be able to get there, sorry guys to do this last minute but due to things going on here at the moment I can't go (long story).

For those making the trip, have a great time (no doubt you will!) and will see you at the next meet.

cheezelz
07-07-2008, 13:13
Can I thank Mischief79 for meeting me at Wiggly Worms today. I dont know where everyone else got to or we just couldnt find you :no:. Funny how we were debating if we should make the trip from Salisbury and Pt Noarlunga...and then were the only ones there anyway!

Being 36 weeks pregnant this was my last chance to catch up with everyone :crying: before the baby and maybe for some time after.

Hope everyone is cosy and warm in their homes.

Londonmum
07-07-2008, 13:21
Well I don't know who if anyone went today but for me it was a waste of time. The only mums I know couldn't come so I was left not knowing who were the Bubhub mums and who were just there for the day. It was packed when I arrived at about 10:20hrs and DD was very clingy (not fully rested after our trip back from Brissy last night) so I couldn't go round and ask who were BH mums.

Called Sharai who passed my details to Mummynow who was coming but by 12:15hrs and not having managed to do anything cause of DD refusing to get off my lap and whinging.....I left.

Might be a good idea for future meets to have a 'BH mums meet' sign or something on the table so those of us who don't know anyone will know who we are meeting.

Anyway, I hope to meet some of you at the next one.

mischief79
07-07-2008, 13:25
Lou - Lisa and I were looking around for other BubHub ribbons and couldn't see any! We were sitting near the window as you walk in. Yep, next time we need to write on the sign on sheet "Bub Hub table *".

Where was everyone else that was supposed to be there? Were we all sitting at different tables!?!?!

Laine
07-07-2008, 15:13
Ok again sorry that I couldn't make it. I would however like to know why people put their names on the list and never show up.

Sorry but I have in the past organised meets, and had the same problem. I am getting quite sick of it. I was hoping that those who said they were going would, therefore my absense would not really be noticed. If people can't make it, the least they can do is let us know in the thread.

This is why I am going to bow out gracefully organising them. It has really become a waste of my time. Those of you who know I organised a mums and bubs movie session weeks in advance to have everyone back out the day before. I try to do it, then at least one person seems to have a problem with the date, or the destination or something! Yet no one suggests any thing else.

I am now going on a BH break, can't think of a better time to do it.

Thanks to all those who make the effort to attend the meets.
I will however let anyone who wants to know the next date I will be going to the Salisbury East playcafe.

Cheers.

P.S. Lisa, sorry couldn't catch up before bub is due!! Wishing you a very safe, quick and easy delivery!!

ETA : If you did show up and couldn't find the group, this is not directed at you then. A sign perhaps would be a good idea in future.

cheezelz
07-07-2008, 15:56
Well I don't know who if anyone went today but for me it was a waste of time. The only mums I know couldn't come so I was left not knowing who were the Bubhub mums and who were just there for the day. It was packed when I arrived at about 10:20hrs and DD was very clingy (not fully rested after our trip back from Brissy last night) so I couldn't go round and ask who were BH mums.

Called Sharai who passed my details to Mummynow who was coming but by 12:15hrs and not having managed to do anything cause of DD refusing to get off my lap and whinging.....I left.

Might be a good idea for future meets to have a 'BH mums meet' sign or something on the table so those of us who don't know anyone will know who we are meeting.

Anyway, I hope to meet some of you at the next one.

We're you sitting next to the bouncy play thingy? Belinda and I were sitting next to the windows near the Thomas Ride. I was a big fat preggo wearing a purple top and my DH was in the little kids part with my DD.

I agree it was a bit crazy. Sorry we didnt meet.

Londonmum
07-07-2008, 19:56
mischief79 - The bubhub ribbons are ok but can be easily missed, a sign on the table even if it's just a piece of bright pink cloth would be good esp if we all knew in advance what to look out for.

cheezelz - Yep, that was me :D Stuck between the bouncy thingy and the big slides pinned to the chair by my whingy/clingy 2.4yr old. I did see you guys by the window but as I said I couldn't really get up and go round to ask people. It was all I could do to get a cup of tea in that 2 hrs, DD would only let me go to counter if I carried her and she had an icy pole :rolleyes:
Still probably for the best as she ended up having a 3 hr sleep (normally only as 2hrs) and would have slept longer but I had to go to physio.

Laine - I can sympathise how you must feel, I did appreciate what you did with all the organising. I do much the same for myself and a few mums and I too get annoyed when people bail at the last minute, but I just think to myself "well it's them who are missing out".
I hope you'll come to other meets even if your taking a BH time out. :hugs:

mummynow
07-07-2008, 20:51
I did make it there eventually. I got there about 12.30 but had already received the text from Sharai that Londonmum had left (sorry I took so long Lou). We are moving this weekend and I ended up having a bunch of jobs to do down that way today (such as get a booster seat for DD from Just Kidding & a couple of things from IKEA for the new place then a stop at medicare & centrelink on the way home.)

We didn't get away from home til about 10am due to typical 3 year old's issues. Ended up going to Just Kidding on the way and was there for a while longer than expected as I ended up getting some nursery stuff for the new bubs too & then they sent me up the road to their warehouse to pick up the seat i bought anyway.

Then came up to Wiggly Worms. I knew Londonmum had left so that's why I didn't ring you, sorry Lou. I remembered Cheezelz, Mischief, Specksmum, Mystique & Laine were going (sorry Nat, hadn't seen your message from last night).

So when I got there I knew Lou hadn't found anyone, so before I paid to go in I asked at the counter if I could poke my nose in to see if my friends were still here. It was really busy and she wouldn't let me go right in and look around so I had to stay by the front and look from there. I honestly couldn't see anyone I recognised, so after a few minutes I decided to leave and went back to Ikea & let DD play there while I got what I needed.

I'm sorry today turned out the way it did. I really wish I had nothing else to do and could have caught up with everyone before we move away this weekend. Good luck with the baby Cheezelz! And once I get back on-line I'll try and pop back in and see how everyones going :thumbsup:

Sharai
07-07-2008, 21:30
Unfortunately I work Mondays and for the rare occassion I'm not working is cos one of the kids are sick or I am. But would love to catch up with some mums again. I will be a bit lonely and looking at an opportunity to get out and meet and become friends.
During school holidays time factors dont worry me too much as I don't have to rush back to pick up Hayden by 3pm.
But happy to meet centrally.
Keep me in the loop and will do my best to get to some meet ups.

caz
08-07-2008, 09:36
I AM SO SORRY :o

I totally forgot about yesterday and had made plans to catch up with a girlfriend and her kids.

I'm sorry the day didn't turn out the way it should've. Sounds like Wiggly Worms was quite busy.

Nat - Sorry you feel like that hun, I also know what it's like to organise a meet and have only a few turn up. Hope to see you around here soon

I will put my hand up to organise the next meet if everyone is happy with that??????

OneNowOneLater
08-07-2008, 12:31
I'm sorry i didnt end up making it yesterday. Not only was Jennifer still sick (only just a really nasty cough that sounds worse than it actually is) i had a rotten fever, and felt like curling up and dying. Only prob was, if i did go lay down, Jennifer would wake up from her nap and then my chance at relaxing was gone.

Got my new timetable for tafe, the only days i can make meets are Monday, Tuesday and Thursdays. (got classes all day Wednesday and Fridays)

Londonmum
08-07-2008, 13:08
Mummynow - No probs, your moving takes priority. Shame I didn't get to meet you before you left, will chat to you on the Nov due thread.

Caz - I have no probs with you organising the next meet.

specksmum - Hope your feeling better now. Got a cold myself, nose running half a mile :laughing:
Like you I can't do Wednesdays or Fridays, those are the days I work.

danni02
10-07-2008, 16:12
well it sounds like we didnt miss much at all. josh ended up with rsv, we only just got out of hospital this afternoon after spending 8 nights.
im sorry that people who put their names down didnt turn up.
maybe we could organise something that doesnt cost so much to go to, like a picnic in the park? or a trip to the muesum with a picnic lunch outside after or before.

Laine
10-07-2008, 16:41
Londonmum and caz, great to see you have both put your hands up to organise the next one :yelclap: thanks!!

Danni - Sorry to hear you have been in hospital, hope your son is feeling better soon :hugs:
As for the meet being outdoors, I originally intended for this one to be outdoors but you were one of those who said you prefered it indoors?? :confused: As bubs would get cold, fair enough I agreed but now you are saying you want a picnic in the park?? A little confused as that was my intention if it was held at the botanical gardens... Aside from having it at someones house I had no idea where in Adelaide we could go that was central to people and indoors that didn't cost money to get in (maccas aside) .. Forgive me if I am wrong :detective:

Going to ask for this thread to be closed now, thanks guys..