View Full Version : Itchy, Itchy Legs And Back

QueensMum
11-06-2008, 06:18
Someone HHEEELLPPP MMMEEEEE!!!!!

I'm 21wks pregnant and have developed the itchiest legs and back!!!

It started a couple of weeks ago with some small patches of itching but now it seems to have spread. My legs / back only get itchy at night (from 5pm onwards but normally in early morning hours).

There is no rash but as soon as I start scratching I get all these tiny little lumps under the skin (sorta look like insect bites). Once I stop scratching, the lumps disappear.

I've heard of a few pregnancy related itchy problems but they all seem to appear either on your abdomen or they start quite late in pregnancy.

Has anyone else had anything similar?

It's waking me up at night and is extremely uncomfortable. I've even drawn blood whilst scratching it's so bad....I certainly don't want this for the next 4.5 months!! :hair:

HHHHEEELLLPPPP MMMEEEEE!!!!!

BazzasMum
12-06-2008, 09:47
I've got 2 spots like that - one on each arm just below the shoulder. DH came home yesterday to find me scratching madly and bawling! It has kept me up for hours at night. The only thing that helped was an ice pack.

I don't know how to get rid of it. Feels like a pinched nerve..... Maybe bub is putting pressure on a nerve somewhere - the other thing that helped was a good hard massage, to loosen off all the muscles around it.

I hope you get some relief. It would have to be the most awful feeling.

Kirsty :goodvibes:

QueensMum
12-06-2008, 12:05
Thanks for your reply BazzasMum,

I have noticed that when I cool the area down the itching subsides abit.

I've got a doctor's appt this arvo to see what she thinks...I'll let you know what the verdict is..

I don't think mine is a pinched nerve, just because of all the little lumps and bumps that come up when I start scratching...it's so strange..

QueensMum
12-06-2008, 18:11
Well...went to the Doctor and she thought it could be PUPP (pruritic urticarial papules and plaques of pregnancy). From what I've read the only real "cure" is childbirth but they can try things to help with the itching. I also had to get a Blood Test for Liver Function or something like that as it could be something to do with Bile Production (another fun side effect of pregnancy!)

She's prescribed the following to see if they work or not:

Claryntyne Tablets (Antihistamine)
Don't use Soap (I got Cetaphil Body Wash)
Moisturise, Moisturise, Moisturise

I also got a special moisturises (prescription) to put on before I go to bed which may stop the itch

I really hope this all works 'cause I'm sick of scratching!!

chicky2lala
12-06-2008, 18:18
Moisturisng made mine worse, i had to take antihistimines in the end....(havent got spellcheck sorry!!!)

QueensMum
12-06-2008, 18:34
Chicky2lala - Did the Antihistamines work for you in the end?

chicky2lala
12-06-2008, 18:38
Chicky2lala - Did the Antihistamines work for you in the end?
Yep, I took one Zyrtec tablet for the rest of my pregnancy, worked a treat.....i'd know if i missed it one day as the itchiness would come straight back..:yes:

QueensMum
13-06-2008, 05:51
Well...I'm not sure if it was the Antihistimines or the Prescription cream but I didn't scratch at all last night!!! I can't believe it!!! BLISS!!

chicky2lala
13-06-2008, 06:01
Well...I'm not sure if it was the Antihistimines or the Prescription cream but I didn't scratch at all last night!!! I can't believe it!!! BLISS!!
Did you go out and buy some??:yelclap: It's heaven isn't it!!! Your'e waiting for the itchiness to start all night, and it doesn't!:yelclap:

QueensMum
13-06-2008, 06:21
Yeah...I got some Claryntyne tablets (only 10 though just to see if they worked)...but they seem to be doing the trick!!

God Bless Those Antihistimines!!!!!! :smiliedance:

When, in your pregnancy, did you start taking one tablet a day? I'm only 21wks pregnant now.

chicky2lala
13-06-2008, 11:54
Yeah...I got some Claryntyne tablets (only 10 though just to see if they worked)...but they seem to be doing the trick!!

God Bless Those Antihistimines!!!!!! :smiliedance:

When, in your pregnancy, did you start taking one tablet a day? I'm only 21wks pregnant now.
:yes:About half way through

13-06-2008, 12:02
I was going to say it could be pupp...

preciousbabyboy
13-06-2008, 12:08
I have itchiness to, its really bad on my tummy and legs. I hadnt thought about going to the doctor but read this thread and might go for a check as my next ante natal appt i not for a week. its driving me nuts....

QueensMum
13-06-2008, 16:17
I thought PUPP only happened quite late in pregnancy but apparently it can start this early.

I think it normally does start on your tummy and then spread, but it also could just be stretching skin ...there are so many things with similar symptoms in pregnancy! :hair:

I've had my Antihistamine tablet but I thought I'd skip the medicated cream tonight to see it's the tablets that have worked...

Wish me well! :fingerscrossed:

mum2four
16-06-2008, 22:45
Oh I've got the itches too and I hate it :mad:
Mine is pretty much everywhere, no rash that I know of, tends to bring out pimples though :laughing: on my legs.
I am itching on legs, back arms, shoulders feet, boobs even pubes :(...everywhere...it drives me crazy! I had it worse with DD2 though, would be awake in tears in the wee hours of the morning hitting myself with a hairbrush, mind you i'm only 27 weeks right now. I can't wear anything on my legs after about 5pm, clothing just makes it worse. Have to put special blankets on the bed cause the sheets just irritate it and so does my legs touching each other. Right now my fingers and legs and underarms are itching...grrrrr.....I have a feeling it's cholesatis but havn't had the test done. I have had it every pregnancy :(
Really was horrible at hospital on machines when all I wanted to do was get off their rough sheets which just made it worse.
Phenergan didn't work either, neither did pinetarsil or moisturiser.

chicky2lala
17-06-2008, 08:07
I thought PUPP only happened quite late in pregnancy but apparently it can start this early.

I think it normally does start on your tummy and then spread, but it also could just be stretching skin ...there are so many things with similar symptoms in pregnancy! :hair:

I've had my Antihistamine tablet but I thought I'd skip the medicated cream tonight to see it's the tablets that have worked...

Wish me well! :fingerscrossed:

How did it go???

Oh I've got the itches too and I hate it :mad:
Mine is pretty much everywhere, no rash that I know of, tends to bring out pimples though :laughing: on my legs.
I am itching on legs, back arms, shoulders feet, boobs even pubes :(...everywhere...it drives me crazy! I had it worse with DD2 though, would be awake in tears in the wee hours of the morning hitting myself with a hairbrush, mind you i'm only 27 weeks right now. I can't wear anything on my legs after about 5pm, clothing just makes it worse. Have to put special blankets on the bed cause the sheets just irritate it and so does my legs touching each other. Right now my fingers and legs and underarms are itching...grrrrr......
Yup, I could never wear pants in the evening, and I dreaded going to bed as the slightest brush against the covers would set my legs/stomach/arms/hands itching all night! Same with if my legs touched eachother! I'd have to get into bed without brushing against the sheets, slide gently onto my back and sleep with my legs and arms apart not touching anything, no covers......:rolleyes:
Have you tried Zyrtec???

QueensMum
17-06-2008, 08:43
chicky2lala,

I didn't take the moisturiser and there was very minimal itching so I thought..OK. I'll stop taking the Antihistamine to see if that makes a difference. The first night without the tablets (but WITH the moisturiser) was fine but the second night was an ABSOLUTE NIGHTMARE!! Both legs just flared up around 12.30am and drove me crazy!! So I've decided that you're right and that the Antihistamines is definately the goer!! I'll definately be stocking up on my supply.

Mum2four,

It definately sounds like I've got what you've got (except you've got it EVERYWHERE!!) Poor Lady!!! When I went to the GP last week she suggested that I go out and have a Blood Test that picks up Liver Function so it'll be interesting to see how that comes back. I had a BT in April and my Liver Function was fine then, but we'll just wait and see..

Yeah..like chicky2lala said..Have you tried Zyrtec or Claratyne? (Claratyne has worked like a treat for me).

mum2four
19-06-2008, 10:13
Went to my OB on Tuesday, he was ordering a full blood count ans antibody count anyway so told him 'while your at it, i've started itching' so he added the liver test my blood test form is chockers :laughing: I recon they will need to take a few vials thats for sure!testing for bile salts or acids or something. Had a bad night last night, even my fluffy blankets didn't help....just have to force myself not to scratch cause then it just gets worse!

My sympathies to us all going through it!

MountainGirl
20-06-2008, 11:37
Oohhhhhh,.. I have had this too! A patch on my shoulder drives me bonkers,... the only non-medicinal thing tht helps is an icepack,..numbing the area takes the itch away instantly.:yes:

N.L.H
20-06-2008, 13:51
I suffered from obstetric cholestasis in both my pregnancies. My symptoms started really early so being diagnosed the first time was hard as the doctors said it couldn't be cholestasis as it was too early. So if you are itchy please, please tell your doctor and if you feel like something is wrong persist with it until you are listened to. The doctors at the Logan Hospital Qld have now told me that they are diagnosing more women due to my experience.

I had to go to be monitored 3-4 days a week and also have weekly ultrasounds. There are risks of stillbirth and miscarriage and babies have to be induced by 38 weeks at the latest. My two babies 22 months and 9 months are both healthy babies so I am grateful for that.

There is not much information regarding OC in Australia so I found it difficult answering my questions 1st time around but I now know alot more. I am looking to start a support group for women who have and are suffering from it so if you would like to talk to someone who has experienced it then I would be glad to help.

Lisa

QueensMum
20-06-2008, 20:10
Lisa,

How did they diagnose your OC? Via blood tests?

My doctor sent me for a blood test that tested Liver Function and it came back normal....If I had OC would the blood test come back abnormally?

N.L.H
21-06-2008, 17:02
Hi Queens Mum,

Cholestasis means there is a reduced flow of bile in the bile ducts in your liver. My liver function test was only slightly off. To get a true diagnosis your obstetrician needs to test your blood after fasting and test specifically for a bile salts count. If your doctor is not very helpful I would mention this to your doctor at your antenatal visit.

I found my GP had no idea what it was even after I had it. I had to explain it to him! Not to mention all of the midwives at the hospital, I think only one of them knew of cholestasis. It is quite rare 1% off all pregnancies. And the incidence of having it in the next pregnancy is 60%.

If you would like to chat some more my msn address is rlgrund@hotmail.com

I hope this helps. And remember you know your body better than anyone. If it dosen't feel right push until they listen.

Lisa

QueensMum
22-06-2008, 06:23
Heya Lisa,

Thanks for that info!.

I've got an Obstetrician's appt this week so I'll definately be bringing it up with her and mention the Bile Salts test. It's definately better to be safe than sorry so I'll chase it up!