View Full Version : What is it with Nappies?
moonblossom
16-04-2006, 08:35
I really want to understand this nappy craze I really DO lol...BUT.
I've looked at a few of the web sites..even seen them on ebay...but how on earth do you justify paying the outrageous prices they are asking?
I mean...no matter what the nappy is...it gets pee'ed in, s**t in, and covered up, so what is the big deal with them?
I've changed many a nappy over the years, with just plain old square cloth nappies, and could never see myself spending $20 on a designer nappy, just seems extroidinarily extravagant to me...for something they poop in ROFLMAO
moonblossom
16-04-2006, 08:41
LOL Mandy I so know what you mean. I've looked, i've tried to go AWWWW isn't that cute, but ultimately in the end, I know what they end up looking like and that is SO NOT CUTE roflmao
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 08:43
I was looking on ebay last night at them and I thought no WAY and I going to pay some of those prices for something to be crapped in!
But you will keep forking out money every week for disposables. At least you can reuse those nappies.
Moonblossom, I agree with you on the covering up part. It does seem an awful waste.
truelove2
16-04-2006, 08:50
yeah but think of it.. sopolicha. u pay for the cloth pre made ones. then you buy the stuff to wash them, then u buy the pads if u need more insterts.. so in the end. with out the time and effort put in to it. it is probley better getting the disposible ones as they save so much time and effort. and don't cost $20 per nappy plus the cost of the other stuff.
so i my mind, i would rather go dis then premade. i have heaps of premade that i don't use. for the same reasons as what i just said.
(that is just my view) :)
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 08:56
Everyone knows that in the long run cloth nappies still work out cheaper.
How much more effort is it do an extra load of washing every two or three days?
Anything to do with kids is time and effort. But that is just my opinion.
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 09:05
Its a contraversy isnt it LOL
A cousin of mine has a bubby boy 3 mths younger then my son, and we sat down together one nite over a wine, and as u do, (as parent) u end up talking about S*** literally, therefor leading to nappy talk.
She uses cloth, i used disposables
We worked out the $$ side of things and it worked out exactly equal, only difference is that she has time to work with cloth and has help within her DP but im a solo mummy and dont have time to stuff around with them, so all up i find them exactly equal!
16-04-2006, 09:08
Hmmm to those ppl who think that disposables are cheaper, just remember that cloth can be used on more than one baby!;)
Cloth will win hands down every time!:thumbsup:
the_queen
16-04-2006, 09:08
I was like you once. Then I sat down and did the actual sums. Even with the cheapo bulk packs of disposables that I would buy, the cost per year is around the $1000 mark. Per year. So let's say 2 years in nappies - that's $2000. That's without counting disposable wipes.
We're by no means "flush with cash". I buy one nappy per pay packet, and I try not to spend more than $20 on each nappy. Yes it gets shat in - but baby clothes get food and vomit and other bodily waste on them, but we don't dress our babies in paper clothes do we?:p
I have spent around $150 so far on cloth nappies and will probably spend around $500 on a "bulk pack" after bub arrives (it was actually going to be more than that, but I've been shopping around). And that $650 or so will last the entire time this child is in nappies, plus if I buy decent ones and take care of them, they might even do for child number 3! And there won't be the weekly cost of disposables at the supermarket. There's no pins, soaking or folding. I will be using fitted nappies, which go on just like a disposable, and have velcro stuff to do them up with.
Some people also see the environmentally-aware factor as important, the fact that we're not adding to the mountains of rubbish on the earth. Me personally, the thing that convinced me to make the change was the cost factor. I've even switched Vallerie (who isn't night-dry) into cloth training pants - Pull-Ups are around $1 each, and she's been in them every night for 2 years, that's over $700 I have spent on those things!! She's been in the cloth training pants (which cost me around $50 for 2 pairs) for about 4 or 5 weeks now I guess, so in another couple of weeks those training pants have been paid for with the savings I've made!
And the moral of my sermon is, once you get addicted to them, there is no looking back LOL I feel a little embarrassed of how "into it" I am.... my friends and family start out looking interested but by the end of my spiel they've got that "oh my god she's gone crazy, call the white truck!" look on their face :laughing: It truly is a "each to their own" decision.
oh, Happy Easter girls!!! Hope the Easter Bunny brought you plenty of chocolate!!!!! :D :hugs:
moonblossom
16-04-2006, 09:10
I have no problem with cloth or disposables, whatever is easier for each individual person is fine by me...I'm talking about the DESIGNER ones, that cos around 20 dollars each...
Is it a fashion statement? are they more absorbent? Are the materials better quality hence the price?
I'll stick with the ordinary, everyday, garden variety square cloth nappy LOL.
I'm planning on stocking up on Pocket Nappies by Greenkids, they're around $23/e, and they last from 5kg - Toilet Training. The $300ish outlay on those for a starter is going to be better for my wallet in the long run while I'm off work for 6 months.
I put a box of newborn 'sposies on layby yesterday (along with some other stuff) which was $30 on special! My sister in law tells me it'll last me.. maybe a week.. so after 10 weeks of using disposables, I would have spent as much as I will be spending on the green kids pockets.
washing, time :ecomcity: I think it's a worthy investment for something the gets pooped on.
AND I won't have to put out so much much went Nugger v2 comes around.
16-04-2006, 09:17
Is it a fashion statement? are they more absorbent? Are the materials better quality hence the price?
Yes in a way it is a fashion statement.
Yes majority of the time they are more absorbent, harder wearing. (Hemp is obviously the most absorbent!)
Materials are definately better!:thumbsup:
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 09:23
You always get what you pay for. Modern cloth nappies are a much better nappy than disposables anyday.
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 09:36
We worked out the $$ side of things and it worked out exactly equal, only difference is that she has time to work with cloth and has help within her DP but im a solo mummy and dont have time to stuff around with them, so all up i find them exactly equal!
I would love to see those figures..................
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 09:38
Your more then welcome to come over for coffee n see hehehehe
Either way im not fussed about it all - each to their own! :D
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 09:42
Way to far away..........................
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 09:44
Dammit!!!thought i had recruited another friend then ...lol :laughing:
I dunno wat she uses or how she does it but it worked out the same for us. Thats all i know and as far as my care factor went! :D
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 09:45
I should have said that I don't have time as I have to wash my cloth nappies. :laughing:
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 09:51
hahaha i would offered to lend u some disposables whilst here :hugs: HEHEHE i like your humor :D
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 09:51
OH NO - we have taken over this thread and gone way off base, ok, im not going to post any more, sorry for the hijack!!! :o
hmmm (back on track :laughing: ) - I dont know that more money equals a better nappy - but the ones around the $20 mark are really excellent...
they are durable... softer on the skin...beautiful (all different prints and colours!!!) and I find them easier to take out than terries (no folding... therefore cant become UNFOLDED in the bag) - no cover needed 90% of the nappies I have bought have a waterproof outer...
- note - I have spent MAYBE??? $300 total on Jack so far (I didn't pay for my own terries... they were gifts... this is just on fitted and stuffers) - I need about 4 or 5 more and he will be set.. I bought mostly one size nappies - so they will fit till he is at least 2... AND can be used on his next brother / sister..
compare approx $400... to the cost of purchasing disposables every week and I am WAAAAY ahead (not including the 2nd bubs... which will be pretty much free!!!) ... and I DO NOT soak my nappies... so no cost of napisan... I only use a sensitive detergent (1/2 strength) in my machine as usual...
cost is a huge factor for me... as is the environment... as is the cuteness factor with fitted.... I just fell in love.. and once I made my first purchase I was HOOKED!!!!
I know fitteds aren't as cheap as terry flats... but ... I'd spend money on a cute outfit too :laughing: and in summer ... when Jack will be running around in just a singlet and nappy - it is WAY cuter to have rainbow stripes... or frogs.. or dragons or a brightly coloured butt :D
the_queen
16-04-2006, 10:05
ooh ooh I'm getting a rainbow stripe hemp AIO in the mail this week!!! :smiliedance: :smiliedance:
WAAAAAAAIT! A point!
and covered up
This is true...
Until you see the complete dorkiness and cuteness that is...
BabyLegs! (http://www.babylegs.net/)
:laughing: :laughing:
:eek: wow .. seekrit where did you FIND that?????
- ummm.. what is wrong with a BLANKET :laughing:
- I wonder if any aussies use them?? does it get COLD enough here - maybe I could find leg warmers in an op shop - do the same thing :)
Livejournal, where else.
I think they're so cute and yet so dorky (perfect for my child)
it's okay, I wouldn't let Nugget be caught dead in them... unless I succeed in winning them! :smiliedance:
the_queen
16-04-2006, 10:20
:laughing: :laughing:
"FAME! i wanna live forever.... "
(was it that movie they all wore legwarmers???:laughing: )
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 10:26
I like them!!!!
I reckon they would be handy for toilet training, don't have to take your pants right off.
aardvark
16-04-2006, 10:26
I have no problem with cloth or disposables, whatever is easier for each individual person is fine by me...I'm talking about the DESIGNER ones, that cos around 20 dollars each...
I'll stick with the ordinary, everyday, garden variety square cloth nappy LOL.
I'm on the old fashioned cloth nappies with a Fluffy pilcher, and it worked for #1, it worked for #2, and it's working fine for #3, at no huge expense. I can't justify the expense of the new fangled nappies, having done old fashioned flat nappies twice before.
That said, though, I am going to buy myself half a dozen hemp boosters for night time use.
I like them!!!!
I reckon they would be handy for toilet training, don't have to take your pants right off.
Yes! With their extreme dorkness comes ease of toilet training and changing too!
And you can show off your fashionable clothies! :D
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 10:34
The more I think about them, the more I like them.
I am not afraid of dorkiness.
:o nor am I.
I admit.. I admit.. I'm such a conformist I have to dip my toes in the water before I'll say I like something different ;)
I want the cow ones.
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 11:05
This is what happens when you get old. You just don't care what anyone else thinks anymore.
I am not afraid of dorkiness.
I've noticed that :laughing:
- actually you're munchkins aren't dorky at all?!! (thye might be in those leg warmers though... )
- they might be good in nursing homes though ???keep the oldies legs warm!?
moonblossom
16-04-2006, 11:32
OMG you guys crack me up..
go ahead, hi jack the threat, this is more fun :D
:rolleyes: sorry MB... I tried so hard to stay on topic!!! honest!!!
moonblossom
16-04-2006, 11:44
LOL its all good Veve, look what happens when i fall back to sleep for a couple of hours, the thread goes to rack and ruin ROFLMAO
Ummm sorta sounds like my house...ahh oh well LOL :yelclap:
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 11:47
im not old and I don't care what anyone else thinks :thumbsup:
No you just think you don't. I now know that I really don't.
How much more effort is it do an extra load of washing every two or three days? OMG, LOL, how many nappies would you need if you only washed them every 2nd or 3rd day... then theres drying time too.
When I was using cloth nappies I would go through 10-15 a day (and that was just in the day time)
But true, I havent used the 'new style' cloth nappies with inserts etc. Are they still bulky looking and all. I never liked cloth becuase of that, and you put your kids/babies/toddlers in car seats and I never liked how their back arched out that little bit more from the bulkiness of the cloth nappy... iykwim??
And no matter what I have washed the nappies in, and how often I changed my kids, they always seemed to get a rash, where with disposables, I have never had that problem with the kids.
Cloth, designer cloth, disposables, all personal choice :D
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 12:24
I don't think the newer cloth nappies are too bulky at all. Some are rather trim.
I have around 18 - 20 nappies and live in sunny Brisbane. So no hassle with the drying.
My daughter gets a rash if you put her in disposals, I have only tried Huggies. As soon as the cloth goes back on the rash goes.
aardvark
16-04-2006, 12:57
Both my girls used to get rashes from disposables. We only ever used them while on holidays, but by the time we had used disposables for 24 hours, there was always a reaction. They would even get a reaction before the nappy was wet or dirty.
I had 3 dozen nappies with #1, my mum gave me another dozen she found in the linen cupboard when she was cleaning out, and then I decided that I didn't like washing them unless the machine was full, so I bought another dozen, for the grand cost of just under $40 for good flannelette ones.
I wash nappies about every 4 days.
samuelboy
16-04-2006, 13:31
I use pocket nappies I made by myself, I bought most of my fabric from the US and I have 48 including inserts for all of these. All up everything has cost me about $500 to set myself up. I don't soak and use half normal detergent in each load and have never had trouble with clothes fitting over the top of these. A lot of the time I wash before bed, hang them on the clothes horse and they are dry in the morning (I live in Vic).
I use half of these on my 16mth old and wash every three days as he only goes through about 6-7 a day, the other half I'll use when #2 arrives as they are smaller and know I'll probably be washing every second day.
I definitely think it's personal choice but for me it's a cheaper option. Most of the cheaper brands of disposables I have tried have resulted in rashes so Huggies is the only option for us and at the moment we are still using these at night until I get a few fitteds.
Each to their own I figure. :)
Just a little observation, have you noticed that most babies clothes arent made to go over a cloth nappy?? Like pants, have you noticed that they balloon (cant think of another word, and I know its not to that extreme) and then the tops of the pants arent high enough to cover tha nappy?? (same though with disposables)
Thank goodness we are just about past the nappy stage for ever!!!... until grand kiddies come along, but I wont be the one washing/paying for them, so it doesnt count LOL ;)
sopolicha
16-04-2006, 15:32
I can honestly say I have never had a problem with clothes fitting over a cloth nappy, even under Bonds Wondersuits. Everyone I spoke to, complained about Pumpkin Patch clothes being small to fit over cloth nappies, so far I have found them to be okay. I have other complaints about Pumpkin Patch clothes :thumbsdown: .
But true, I havent used the 'new style' cloth nappies with inserts etc. Are they still bulky looking and all. I never liked cloth becuase of that, and you put your kids/babies/toddlers in car seats and I never liked how their back arched out that little bit more from the bulkiness of the cloth nappy... iykwim??
I've corresponded with Kidsafe on this issue and they've made a very reassuring statement which they've allowed us to republish here:
http://www.ozclothnappies.org/info#carseat
The only problem they anticipate is if you had a two terries folded together in a fold very thick at the lumbar spine, not with everyday cloth nappies folded in any other fold (like Jo or Maria or kite, etc), or with modern cloth nappies. I wouldn't put Luke in a rear facing seat in his usual night pocket nappy (it's stuffed with a thick pad folded terry AND a trifolded prefold!), but since there's no need for him to be in a carseat for ten+ hours without stopping, this is a non-issue.
Lara
I really want to understand this nappy craze I really DO lol...BUT.
I've looked at a few of the web sites..even seen them on ebay...but how on earth do you justify paying the outrageous prices they are asking?
Fair enough moonblossom, modern versions of cloth nappies with cute prints and tie dyed pattersn and the like aren't for everyone... As someone said earlier, each to their own... I don't like many cutsey prints myself, but I have friends who adore them. For some, even though you cover up the nappy with a cover (which can be equally cute, themed, coloured, soft, patterned, etc...), the fact that there is a fun nappy on the baby to change can make the nappy changing process that much more enjoyable! I don't have lots of printed nappies, in fact I have 2 dozen terry squares which do us fine when I want to use them - can be quite therapeutic to fold and stack. My fitted ones are generally natural colours of the fabric: hemp, cotton and bamboo and they cost the same amount as the 'designer' ones you speak of. And I still save so so much money!
My take on this whole discussion is (I know this thread has gone down a more amusing track, but I wanted to go back to the reason for it, and my comments are not directed at anyone in particular, but just if you are interested)
The reason I added fitted nappies to my collection - and I paid $25 (roughly) for them, is because I cannot sew adequately to make a nappy that does the same job that my fitted nappies do. I possibly could use terry squares exclusively, but the amount I would need to boost for my heavy wee-ing son would be excessive! Hemp and bamboo options are very trim, absorbent and environmentally friendly fabrics.
On the other hand, I don't generally buy covers now, as I can knit and I knit my own. It's very rewarding and cost effective. I don't use PVC and other pilchers from the supermarket because they either don't breath or they leak, modern options don't leak and do breathe... And wool is a fantastic option that is traditional, great value, breathes, is leak proof and you can even make covers out of old woolen jumpers!
But at the end of the day, modern cloth nappies are an incredibly feasible option that are returning disposable users to cloth because of their convenience, absorbancy, great value, healthiness, eco-friendliness, and yes, their cuteness. Lots of people who do choose modern cloth options have given up on terry squares because they found them harder than disposables. I love that there is now a choice out there that people find competes with the 'expected' disposable option. I think lots of cloth nappy users feel empowered by their abilty to choose something, to find some system option that works for them.
I don't think there's anything controversial about it at all, though I have seen several cloth v disposable debates, and even a cloth v cloth debate start. I'm not interested in cloth v cloth, By all means use terry squares and nappy wash services, and 'traditional' cloth nappy options, but be aware that there are alternatives available to solve the problems that some people encounter using traditional cloth nappies. And no matter what cloth nappies you use, you will save money, even if you do buy 24 'designer' nappies and wash every 2-3 days.
If you are wondering how all this 'modern stuff' warrants a big advocacy campaign, What is it with (modern cloth) nappies - it is getting people to consider them again. Getting people to talk about them, to think about their options, to consider an alternative, to raise their awareness... Obviously we are doing that! ;)
MammaMia
16-04-2006, 19:54
I must admit that for a while I read the posts about cloth nappies and sat back thinking that these women were Earth Mother Goddess types - all this talk of hemp and cloth nappies had me thinking we were living in different worlds.
But then I took more notice of what was actually being said, and for some reason, I wanted to know more.
Then when I knew more I decided to take the plunge and buy them... believe me, completely out of character for me to create more washing.
I have had my little girl on the cloth fitted nappies for 1 week and I love them, particularly the hemp and bamboo Baby Beehinds. I love their easy fit, their absorbancy, their cuteness, how lovely they feel for my little girl. And I have convinced my sister and friend to give them a go. I'd say it is adding 10 minutes per day to my chores because I am choosing to wash each day.
I tried regular cloth nappies with my DS - and hated them. He was sooo wet and smelly and they were bulky and awkward. So, for me, even though the items costs $25 each or thereabouts, I think the investment is worth it. I feel it is a superior product with long term benefits for my daughter, my hip pocket and the environment. I didn't see the merit in the old style because I didn't like the measurables: comfort, absorption etc.
I will admit that I read all of the threads about people buying more & more nappies and wonder about the efficacy of the reduced costs arguments.
Whilst I agree they are cute, I have resolved only to buy on an as needs basis, otherwise I think I will be artificially inflating the costs and defeating one of the purpose of switching in the first place.
I have appreciated the willingness of other fitted cloth users to share their knowledge and help me make an informed decision.
So far, I am pleased I made the switch. Even DH is holding up to it!
I had 3 dozen nappies with #1, my mum gave me another dozen she found in the linen cupboard when she was cleaning out, and then I decided that I didn't like washing them unless the machine was full, so I bought another dozen, for the grand cost of just under $40 for good flannelette ones.
I didn't know anyone else used flannelette flats anymore, I thought I was the only one :o
melbryan
16-04-2006, 21:06
I have read all the posts and have had second thoughts but just can't bring myself to change. I say everyone to their own. What ever works for the individual person's family is fine by me. Most of my friends use cloth ( for financial reasons) but I just can't do it good on them if it works for them. I think I like the convenience.
Maybe I'm just a lazy mum who works full time and can't be bothered. I do one load of washing a week for my son, and one each for my husband and I and an extra for towels/sheets etc. I only wash on the weekends and would rather spend time on outings at the park and doing things with my family as I work full time(and love it) and have little time as it is. I think it's just a way of managing time in our busy lives. I think having a balanced work and home life works for me.
I do search for the cheapest nappies and found huggies for 34 cents each. We are in about 3 a day and will be toilet training soon just after my next is born so the cost doesn't last forever I suppose.
Was bought 60 cloth nappies when my son was born but gave them away.
If expense was a factor I would probably change but until then, disposables for me. Feel like I have waited till I have more money ( 30 yrs) so I can afford to splurge a little on my children, I do think disposables are a bit of a luxury but I am happy with my personal choice.:D
BlessedWithBlue
17-04-2006, 09:58
I do certainly agree on the cost issue!! they are expensive and we definately don't have money to spare ;) i use plain old terry flats and am perfectly happy with them, i have only just entered the fitted nappy craze and recently purchased 10 fitted nappies from a lovely lady on Bub Hub. They aren't the "designer" ones i have been hearing about but they seem fine for my ds so far though with no leaks.
moonblossom
17-04-2006, 10:09
MANY MANY years ago there was a seconds factory outlet here in Adelaide and for the life of me I cant remember what it was called or where it is.
Anybody know if its still open and operating?
MamaSage
17-04-2006, 11:13
It may seem expensive, but I would rather spend $500 on good fitted cloth nappies than the estimated $3500 on huggies. :D :eek:
Tea Lady
17-04-2006, 15:24
I mean...no matter what the nappy is...it gets pee'ed in, s**t in, and covered up, so what is the big deal with them?
Moonblossom, you're talking my language!! ;) :)
I like my terry flats (that I didn't pay a cent for since they were all 2nd hand!) and i quite like folding them too - although I timed myself one day and it took a minute and 9 seconds to fold and stack more than enough for one day, so I'm not sure why people are so worried about the folding........ :confused:
I do have a few fitteds, but I made them myself so they were relatively cheap - but still have trouble justifying paying the approx $10 for the materials!
Ah well, I guess I'll never be trendy. I might as well get used to it :o
moonblossom
17-04-2006, 15:33
Well I have heard a lot for and a lot against, and I'm still going to stick with the ordinary ones. I hear ya Tea Lady, I just realised I'm old, and sticking to the OLD ways LOL, Poor Alexander isn't going to have an ultra trendy bum ROFLMAO
Thanks everyone for your input...its been interesting :kiss:
moonblossom
17-04-2006, 15:35
Oh by the way Tea Lady...
Other people's children are like cold snot............<<<That absolutely cracks me up :yelclap:
moonblossom
17-04-2006, 15:56
Oh found the factory outlet here in Adelaide if anyone is interested...
http://www.fluffies.com.au
They have lots more than just nappies too...OH OH and seconds :thumbsup:
I've heard that fluffies fitted are get-what-you-pay-for... $5 from Big W :p
I have to say, as far as the trendy goes, this will probably be the only time in my kids life that she'll be trendy! I refuse to buy Bratz ****, and the fashion targeted to little girls these days? NO WAY!
The only time she'll be the trendiest thing on the block is when she's in her little care-bears clothies!
Ok...to be completely naive.....(and I have read all this thread :o )....what are the 'inserts??'. With my DD I had the fitted ones (yes, the $5 fluffies :D ) but what's all this about hemp and inserts? How does this work? Obviously it makes them more absorbent??
Sorry to be so :confused: - but this is all a bit new to me..Can someone please explain the basics?
Thanks,
As a happy user of Fluffies both terry towelling fitted and flannelette fitted, I can not bring myself to pay $15-$25 a nappy. I find Fluffies quite good. yes they absorb quite well and yes you have to change more frequently than disposables but I had to change frequently when using square terry towelling (could never get the folds, my daughter was premmie and the nappy just looks so huge and bulky on her and no clothes fit and don't suggest a different fold because I had a look at folds on a web page and stuffed if I could work out how to do it - find the fitted much more easier and very much like putting a disposable on and clothes fit over them). And besides don't they suggest frequent changing to stop nappy rash?!?
I just say do what works for you. I use the fluffies fitted during the day and babylove disposables at night and when I go out.:)
If Fluffies work for you, more power to you! Your lucky stars are smiling :)
I think the warnings from many modern cloth advocates about mass-market polyester-wadding-filled cheap-velcro fitted nappies and acrylic or PVC covers lies in this problem: that some people labour under the impression that they must be "just as good" as other fitted nappies, because they sorta look the same on the outside.
Then if the cheapo nappies happen to not fasten securely and leak and stink and fail to absorb well and cause a rash-producing sauna effect for their baby, they just assume (and promptly tell all their friends) that "oh I tried modern fitted cloth nappies, they were no good, we were "forced" to go back to disposables".
When they've never begun to look at the amazing premium range of modern cloth out there as a possible solution to whatever their problem may be.
Lara
Jackson84
17-04-2006, 22:38
when it comes to nappies, you get what you paid for - the more expensive, the better the fit, absorbancy, quality, life span etc.
but i love my terry squares. :D
covers, on the other hand - give me mother ease at $20 a pop any day!!! saves me about 4 loads of washing a week! LOL
I think the warnings from many modern cloth advocates about mass-market polyester-wadding-filled cheap-velcro fitted nappies and acrylic or PVC covers lies in this problem: that some people labour under the impression that they must be "just as good" as other fitted nappies, because they sorta look the same on the outside.
Then if the cheapo nappies happen to not fasten securely and leak and stink and fail to absorb well and cause a rash-producing sauna effect for their baby, they just assume (and promptly tell all their friends) that "oh I tried modern fitted cloth nappies, they were no good, we were "forced" to go back to disposables".
Totally understand where you are coming from and when I bought Fluffies I knew not to expect the same quality as the dearer modern cloth nappies. However, after trying them and finding them just as good as folded square nappies without the hassel of folding etc, then I went and bought more. I certainly am aware that there are probably better ones out there, but for what I want a nappy to do they are certainly performing for me. I know others have not had that success.
Perhaps if I'd been aware of the modern cloth nappies before Anaki was born, I would've forked out on a starter pack instead of buying square nappies that my mother and sister used. But as I've said, Fluffies are working for me!! :)