View Full Version : April babies- What time do they go to bed?

Pinkarella
09-06-2008, 13:28
Hi, :wave: I'm a newbie in this thread, I got a beautiful April baby, her name is Evie and she was born on the 19th. I also got a 2 year old toddler.

Evie is not doing too bad, she has days when sleeps well during the day and days when she only cat naps and has more awake periods. She loves being in arms or in the sling and going for walks in the pram and there are also times when she stays in her playmat just gazing happily around. But I never can put her down for the night before 10.30-11pm and that means that we are all exhausted! Once she is down, she can go up to 5 or 6am, has a bottle and keeps sleeping until 9 or 10 am but I wouldn't mind getting up once in the night for a feed if that means that I get an hour for myself in the evenings! I have tried putting her down at 8 or 9, baths, making her sleep in the sling, putting her in the cradle and me sitting next to her rocking for ages, keeping her asleep in my arms but nothing works, she always wakes 1 hour later and won't go down again until late.

To make her sleep I normally wait until she is sleepy in my arms and then put her in the cradle and pat her until she is asleep, sometimes she wakes again but goes to sleep on her own after 1 or 2 minutes, if she cries longer than that I come in a pat her again. Putting her awake in her cot to fall asleep on her own doesn't work yet, she just gets very upset.

Are babies this age like this? do they go down for the night early in the evening? Do they eventually settle into an early bed time or do I have a night owl?! :laughing:

workin'mumof2
09-06-2008, 13:39
my dd goes down at 8pm sometimes if im more organised i can get her to sleep at 7.30. my ds is in bed at 7pm. but i get up heaps during the night coz shes breastfeeding. not sure if ive helped at all.. :laughing:

you should join our april chat

Elmofan
09-06-2008, 14:40
Welcome.

for the last 6 week's my DD has gone down to bed at 7 pm and sleep's threw til 7 am

2 Cherubs
09-06-2008, 15:09
My 9 week old tomorrow, goes to sleep between 9.30 and 10.30 and is pretty much unsettled and im my arms from about 8.30.
I know what you mean having "You" time at night, Im missing it too!
Hopefully in the next few weeks they go down earlier for us :hugs:

melaniec
09-06-2008, 15:29
My DD doesnt usually get down til about midnight at the moment :( And I usually have to hold her from about 9pm because this seems to be her very unsettled time.

Good luck and well done to those getting their bubs down earlier!

hailsntwang
09-06-2008, 15:47

My son goes to bed between 8:00pm and 9:00pm.

He is a self settler so all I need to do is put him in his cot and he puts himself to sleep without any fuss what so ever.

I have been really lucky in that way.

mmalt
09-06-2008, 16:13
My DS goes down between 7.30 and 9! He might feed at 7.30 but not go to sleep til 9 but most nights will stir at 10ish and want a small feed but I'm only getting 3-4hrs at a time at night! I've had 2 nights so far with more than 4 hours! All babies are definately different though and you'll eventually work out what/how to get bubs to sleep I suppose. I can get him to self settle sometimes, I give it a good go anyway but I find that he wakes quicker if he self settles so I normally rock him to sleep!

Good luck with it all anyway.

Love is all you need
09-06-2008, 18:39
Hi Pinkarella....

GREAT NAME :D I have an Evie too that was due in April :D.....my little one goes down about 8ish, and then wakes up for a last feed at 11pm (which is good, DP and I don't go to bed any earlier than that) and she wakes up anywhere between 7.30 - 9am :D Don't know how we got so lucky...

sparkleymum
09-06-2008, 20:18
Aimee, my toddler has always gone to bed at 7pm and so does Myles. He starts his last bottle of the day at 6.30pm and bed straight after it which is usually around 7pm.
Its really hard to get them to settle early but I put him down at 7pm in a dark room with a musical mobile thing from the day he was born and I persevered with it so he eventually knew it was his bedtime and now he just goes straight to sleep.

QTB
09-06-2008, 20:27
Harlan is a bit younger than the rest of the bubs... but

he goes down usually around 7.30-9pm then wakes at 11.30-12.30 (depend on what time he went to sleep) then wakes about 2am,5am,8am

it works great for us cos i go to bed after his 11.30 feed, then sleep til 6.30am (giving feeds during the night but i sleep thru them lol)

it means i can get up have a shower, get washing on, bottles ready for day, get clothes etc ready for boys, then brayds gets up and i get him dressed/fed then spend the rest of the time with him until harlan wakes at 8am

but it doesnt always go to plan! lol

Pinkarella
10-06-2008, 08:11
How great for you ladies with bubbas that go to bed early.

I would love a little bit of child-free time, but I believe we'll get there eventually, just have to keep going for a few more weeks :sleeping:

And how much do your babies sleep during the day? The ones that go down at 7pm, do they sleep much in the late afternoon?

Pinkarella
10-06-2008, 08:14
Hi Pinkarella....

GREAT NAME :D I have an Evie too that was due in April :D.

Oh yes, Evie is such a sweet name and I get lots of "what a beautiful name"from people! When was your Evie born?

HugsAndKisses
10-06-2008, 09:22
my bub does down anywhere between 7:30-9pm but usually 7:30pm is the main time...if i stay home during the day then she has 2 big naps one in the morning time for about 2hrs and on in the arvo around 1pm or 2pm and again its for 2-3hrs

if im out for the day the routine is out the door and she naps whenever for however long she likes but still goes down at a resonable hour...i really think its just a difference in baby's some sleep early some sleep late but im sure you will get her down earlier in time she may still just be adjusting to night and day:yes:

best of luck xx