View Full Version : What not to do with MCN
lunawolfspirit
08-06-2008, 02:54
i have been reading around on this site and every one says not to use zink creams and some other products with MCN
well i am a mum to be for the first time who will be using mcn and this never even occurred to me
so at the risk of sounding stupid i would like people to tell me what not to do and use with MCN and tell me what to do instead
i think if we made a really great and usefull list it should be made a sticky.
i checked google and couldn't find much so im going to the MCN experts, the mothers on bub hub lol
to you guys i guess this may be common sense but to me its all new, and i have a lot to learn.
so shower me in you're Nappie wisdom
tell me what i should and shouldn't be doing
lunawolfspirit
08-06-2008, 02:56
oh bugger i posted this in the wrong section can a mod please move it for me :o i blame my pregnancy brain :rolleyes:
lotsakids
08-06-2008, 07:35
i've been using mcn for 5 babies almost 17 years now and i'd never heard that about not using creams until i came on this site i always use zinc and caster oil nappy rash cream or paw paw cream dont know what the deal is but i never had a prob but alot of people use fitted ones maybe they get ruined by creams? i use the old fashioned ones you fold yourself and i also use liners to stop the nappies staining so thats something you could do
08-06-2008, 08:19
MCN stands for Modern Cloth Nappies.......terry/flannalette flats are not MCN's.
The creams I believe create a barrier & stop anything absorbing through it......I could be wrong though :p
Will move the thread now for you :)
punkbaby
08-06-2008, 08:21
Lotsakids you can wash flats with anything i was using them till i found bubhub too :)
Lunawolfspirit paw paw is ok to use :)
Dont use nappysan or fabric softer or zinc cream and dont soak.
I pretty much use a tiny amount of detergent with my nappies a teaspoon is generally enough :)
There is more there is a sticky somewhere though around here will see if i can find it
squiglet
08-06-2008, 12:41
I use zink cream on DD's bum. I have to or she gets bad nappy rash.
I have not had any cream go onto a nappy as I use a fleecy liner.
I actully thought all MCN users were using liners?
Cut up strips of Polare fleec type cloth to catch the poo and keep creams off?
punkbaby
08-06-2008, 12:52
Yep we use liners too squiglet, i always use liners anyhow just either fleece or flanelette offcuts, i guess my first choice is paw paw though then zinc if its really bad but the liners do stop if hitting the nappy
Sparrowgal
08-06-2008, 12:57
My problem is, how do you stop the liners getting all scrunched? Then i feel like they're not stopping anything from hitting the nappy itself...
Though I am using flushable liners. And if I cut fleecy ones do I cut them to the size of the nappy itself?
I have used desitin on my DS3 whilst using a fleece liner in his nappy. It did get onto the nappy, as the liner must of scrunched up when I did up his nappy. It took forever for it come off, and did 'damage' the nappy until I eventually washed the nappy so many times that it had come off.
I'd personally suggest not using any creams that may damage the nappy, liner or no liner ;)
Here's a list of things you CAN use with MCN's for nappy rash.
- paw paw ointment
- cornflour
- Brauer's Nappy Rash cream (no zinc)
- Milton's infacare cleanser (no zinc, no colour, no fragrance)
- ummm can't think of any other's right now.
Here's my basic list of 'shouldn't's with MCN's
- don't use zinc based nappy rash creams (can effect absorbancy)
- don't use fabric softener (can effect absorbancy)
- don't dry on high heat (it can melt the snaps)
- Don't wash in vinegar, napisan or other 'disinfectants' (can corrode the PUL and deteriorate the elastic... though a very occasional disinfectant/dettol/vinegar wash is 'okay' when you have really smelly nappies, or have had gastro bugs etc.)
- don't use washing powders with 'blue bits' or softeners in them (can corrode the PUL and effect absorbancy)
- don't use more than 1/3 -1/2 reccomended detergent dosage (can effect absorbancy, and leave residue which can cause rashes and build up smells)
I think basically that's about it... I think..
08-06-2008, 20:57
I really wouldn't even use the Lucus' Paw Paw ointment. Fermented paw paw is good stuff but the Lucas' ointment is 98% greasy old petroleum jelly- bad for MCNs.
I use fleece liners I cut up myself for terry flats and bamboo fitteds, but I figure that it all gets washed together anyway- so oily residue on the liners becomes oily residue on the nappies! So I found out when I was starting out with MCN's anyway:yes:
It's been a very long time since I had to strip wash DD's pocket and AIO nappies or liners and I think that it's because the only stuff I use of DD's butt is cornflour... it's great and cheap to boot :thumbsup:
Also- don't use more then just the littlest bit of detergent. A quick cold pre-rinse makes sure that the load of washing is rid of most of the wee before the detergent goes in- this means cleaner nappies and whatever else is included in the load.
:iagree: I always do a pre-rinse.
Actually... I add the detergent to my pre-rinse cycle and then just let the normal cycle run through on time-save without any detergent, so I can be sure it's all rinsed out. :yes:
lunawolfspirit
08-06-2008, 23:37
Thanks guys, i mean a big thank you.
i knew about the washing but i wasn't sure about the creams and nappy rash treatment, you have helped me out alot. now i will stock up on the safe list so im all ready for when bubs comes. :thumbsup:
I just noticed that Johnsons BP is now cornstarch and aloe and vitaminE. Although buying plain cornstarch is cheaper:D
lunawolfspirit
09-06-2008, 19:22
i didnt know you can buy just normal cornstarch, man i feel silly, is it in the baby area at woolies? and is it like a powder like talc or something different.
boy wrangler
09-06-2008, 19:34
I don't want to hijack this thread, but it's got me thinking.
We are using both MCNs and terry flats. I soak the flats in napisan, but dry pail the MCNs. When I wash I wring out the flats, liners, etc (everything that was soaking) and then chuck everything (soaked stuff and MCNs) in the wash together.
Would there still be too much residue of napisan in the flats? Will this affect my MCNs?
Also, how do you put the cornstarch on their bottom? Do you put it into a shaker?
Thanks heaps! :flowerz:
missie_mack
09-06-2008, 19:38
Luna TBH it would be pretty rare we ever need to use nappy cream anyhow. We bathe DS in a bath with bicarb when he has a rash and give him airtime..... Not every kid regularly uses nappy creams :no: It really can vary dramatically from kid to kid
just buy the cornstarch/cornflour in the general 'flour' section of the supermarket.
You can put it in a shaker.. if you happen to have a spare one.. although a jar with holes punched in the lid, or a plastic container with holes punched in the lid works just as well..
Just powder bum (when looking red), and Bobs your uncle. :yes:
I wouldn't ever use talc though....... :no:
Elsmum...
I don't 'think' it would compromise your MCN's... but maybe you could just give your flats a quick fresh water swish around in their bucket or a short 'rinse and spin' cycle before adding your MCN's..
Or if you wash like me... pre-rinse then cycle on time-save.. just add your detergent to the pre-rinse cycle... and add about 1/4 less that you usually would, as the napisan in your flats would also act as a detergent... then let your normal cycle run through with no detergent. That will make sure there's no residue. :yes:
Elsmum Thanks for asking those questions they were both on my mind.
lunawolfspirit
10-06-2008, 01:22
i was always told the silly question is the one not asked so i dont mind coming off a bit clueless
thanks for you're help guys
yeah im not going to use a nappy cream if its not needed, and i dont like talc as im an age care nurse and i know what it can do to the oldies frail skin and i wouldn't risk that on my bubs, ive seen some nasty rashes and sores from nurses using to much cream and powder on patients. i am used to changing older peoples nappys (we call them pads) now i just have to learn how to do my baby's, im sure i will be a baby cloth nappy changer expert in no time lol
i just want to make sure im doing the right things
jayisa02
10-06-2008, 01:27
i just bought a container of talc and tipped it in the bin, took the lid off and filled it with corn flour. Then you can shake it on like powder without all the yukky chemicals. Works great on DD.:)
lunawolfspirit
11-06-2008, 01:47
i just bought a container of talc and tipped it in the bin, took the lid off and filled it with corn flour. Then you can shake it on like powder without all the yukky chemicals. Works great on DD.:)
Great tip thankyou :D