View Full Version : toys for ONE YR OLD
Femme-Fetale
15-04-2006, 08:27
HI Ladies
Was just after some ideas on what i can get my bubby boy for his 1st birthday, next mth.
Im a avid Ebay shopper when it comes to kids toys but everything either seems too young (non stimulative) or too old (to hard to play with)
What toys did you get your child for their 1st birthday. He already has houses and blow up subs with the balls to climb inside and play around, he also has fisher price activity tables and the likes of. But he has tired of those things already, as he has had them for a while now.
I want something to capture his attention to help him laff, smile and learn but at the same time i dont want to buy something he wont know or understand how to play with, becoz he'll just get frustrated and bored with it IYKWIM.
Any suggestions?
the_queen
15-04-2006, 08:31
LOL if he's anything like my Vallerie, he'll be very happy with a big cardboard box and heaps of screwed up wrapping paper :laughing:
It's hard to advise on this without knowing what things he likes doing - maybe one of those winnie the pooh things that jumps around, so he can jump after it? Tigger I think it is. You push on his head and he says something inane and then jumps around. I've seen my friends 1 yr old with this and she LOVES it, jumping jumping jumping LOL.
Or maybe one of those clam-shell thingos, Vallerie has one of those and still loves it. Put some water in it for a paddling pool, or put sand in it for a sandpit.
Good luck!! I wouldn't spend too much money, because like I said, kids that age are more interested in the decorations and the wrapping paper!!!:D
Femme-Fetale
15-04-2006, 08:39
well he is the exlorive type of kid, not walking solely as yet but gets around well non the less. We have lots of little toys scattered all over our living room and the bogger toys off the sides, around the walls and he usually entertains himself for a while before boring from the same things.
He likes picking things up and checking them out very inquizitivly.
Its getting to cold, wet n windy now for outdoor toys.
I dont know, im lost, and yep, i dont wanna spend much thats why im a ebayer hehe. i dont see the point in spending big $$ on something he will either ruin, loose interest in or outgrow way fast.
Any advice is great
misskittyfantastico
15-04-2006, 10:57
I'm planning on buying my neice some marraccas (sp?) and a tambourine for her first birthday......maybe some bongos as well:D
the_queen
15-04-2006, 11:02
I'm planning on buying my neice some marraccas (sp?) and a tambourine for her first birthday......maybe some bongos as well:D
Perhaps you should also include a present for mum and dad: earplugs :laughing: They'll get you back on Millie's first birthday.......... expect a toy chainsaw or something LOL
misskittyfantastico
15-04-2006, 11:07
Perhaps you should also include a present for mum and dad: earplugs :laughing: They'll get you back on Millie's first birthday.......... expect a toy chainsaw or something LOL
:laughing: :laughing:....I figure we can start some sort of competition....who can give the most annoying pressie!
HI ROZA :p
We went absolutely stupid for Corey's first birthday - Troy and I each spent $100 on him :eek: . We bought him soft plush toys (like a life size elmo), Junior cricket set (was sooo cute until he bonked his father in the nuts with the cricket bat), Tonka Truck (the plastic cement mixer), etc etc. Oh and a fisher and price walker thing that has a clown face on it. Music that comes out of it is very annoying
GOOD LUCK :fingerscrossed:
@homemum
15-04-2006, 11:55
They're not very exciting but my daughter got a few puzzles for her 1st Birthday & loves them, by 15 months she was able to do them by herself.
jessgray
15-04-2006, 12:06
my son turns one on the 25ht of this month and we are not sure waht to get him he loves to play with empty soft drink bottles and paper lmao and empty boxes more then his toys. we were thinking more new macdondalds farm dvds he loves that show.
the_queen
15-04-2006, 12:06
Actually, that is a great idea (LOL sorry, I don't mean like, wow you had a good idea, i'm amazed:p ) Puzzles are a great first birthday gift! The ones with knobs on the pieces, or even the 3D wooden ones with only 2 or 3 pieces.
Great suggestion @homemum!!!:thumbsup:
I definitely agree with the wooden puzzles with the little knobs on them. DS loves his. Some of the gifts that DS received on his birthday were:
Bongo drum
Maraccas
Guitar ( DS LOVES this)
Books
Ride On Train
Trike
Hooded towel (poncho type one)
Clam pool
Little chair (single foam one with Bob the Builder)
Footy jumper
He really wasn't interested in anything on the day until he saw the guitar. Then it was difficult to get it off him. :laughing: (DH is a guitarist so DS has obviously learnt from him.)
Good luck with your decision.
Jakes Mummy
15-04-2006, 15:56
My bubby Jake turns one on the 25.05.06 and I can't wait!! I have decided to get him a Little Tikes car as he got in one at Wiggles World at Dreamworld and loved it!
Similar ones are available at Toys R Us for $79.00 at the moment... There are flasher one's but they are over $100+..
Lots of main family members want to put in so might get a dearer one! I have asked for no little toys this milestone as I am still picking them up from Xmas :eek:
Hope you bubby has a great B'Day
Kathryne and Jake
Femme-Fetale
15-04-2006, 19:22
Kath, my boys bday is on the 20th!!
Baby Girl
15-04-2006, 19:47
I was going to suggest the puzzles with the big wooden pieces with the knobs but I see someone beat me to the punch!!
I bought DD1 a sand and water play table for her first birthday (summer baby) and she still loves it and plays with it like crazy to this day and her 11 mth old sister thinks it is a bit of good fun too :thumbsup: Not ideal for winter but my kids love it so I had to suggest it!! DD2 is not walking yet but stands at the table and digs and splashes for ages!
jembelina
15-04-2006, 19:53
Big hits at our house......
- clam shell filled with sand (this is what we got him for his 1st b'day and he uses it every day!)
- flip out sofa
- books, books and more books!
- blocks (like mega blocks, duplo)
- balls - little soft ones for inside, bigger ones for outside
- hi 5 dvd - never thought he would be watching it so young but mil got it and he LOVES it! It is just one song after another and he stands there bopping along!
Jakes Mummy
16-04-2006, 17:37
Kath, my boys bday is on the 20th!!
Yah for the May bubbies!!! :yelclap:
Kath :)