View Full Version : 30+ Have a Natter

Kirstlea
14-04-2006, 16:02

:ecomcity: Thought maybe we should have a place to just natter to our hearts content about anything.:ecomcity:

So anyone around for :ecomcity:

Kirsten;)

M O P
14-04-2006, 16:15
Wow Kristen, :eek: I've always looked at your avatar and never your signature- I didn't know you were in the 30+ group, but you're 37! I've seen your pic and always thought you to be quiet young, ie mid 20s. :)

Anyway, yes I'll fess up and join in 30+ chat! Only just though, since I only turned 30 in December I'm still having trouble remembering I am in this group!:laughing:

Kirstlea
14-04-2006, 16:40
Wow Kirsten, I've always looked at your avatar and never your signature- I didn't know you were in the 30+ group, but you're 37! I've seen your pic and always thought you to be quiet young, ie mid 20s.

Oh Kazza you are a sweet soul :kiss:

I still feel like I'm in my twentys sometimes, not so much these days, my soon to be 3 year old is testing me something chronic and I am in the first trimester for #2 so feeling very tired.

Its funny isn't it how you perceive people on here. I mean that people surprise you. I look at avaiators and read the threads and am surprised at the wisdom of some especially when I realise they are only in their early 20's. Then I think good grief I was never that clever at that age:laughing:

My 30th birthday was so wild, I partied for 4 days straight and just made a mess of my self lol. Those were the days of loving being single and confident. I am sure thats when I found my confidence.

I am an average person have always been size 14 and atheletic so quite solid from netball. Anyway when I found this confidence that I so often heard about I could wear anything and felt sexy. I had people saying to me what have you been doing you look great. I had so much attention it used to blow me away, and it all came down to believing in myself.

So thirty is a great age and I'm sure when I turn 40 I'll realise something else:laughing:

M O P
14-04-2006, 16:51
I look at avaiators and read the threads and am surprised at the wisdom of some especially when I realise they are only in their early 20's. Then I think good grief I was never that clever at that age:laughing:

My 30th birthday was so wild, I partied for 4 days straight and just made a mess of my self lol.

I am surprised a lot too by some girl's maturity and wisdom and their age! I really should stop thinking of age=wisdom! Bubhub has definately proven that theory wrong. I'm learning heaps off women on here who are 10 years younger than me!

I was very much up the duff for my 30th! Not very well planned, wasn't my fault it didn't take as long as we thought ttc! I did have a good birthday and it will be nice to look back and think I did achieve something the year I turned 30!

Funkychicken
14-04-2006, 16:54
Oh Kazza you are a sweet soul :kiss:

I still feel like I'm in my twentys sometimes, not so much these days, my soon to be 3 year old is testing me something chronic and I am in the first trimester for #2 so feeling very tired.

Its funny isn't it how you perceive people on here. I mean that people surprise you. I look at avaiators and read the threads and am surprised at the wisdom of some especially when I realise they are only in their early 20's. Then I think good grief I was never that clever at that age:laughing:

My 30th birthday was so wild, I partied for 4 days straight and just made a mess of my self lol. Those were the days of loving being single and confident. I am sure thats when I found my confidence.

I am an average person have always been size 14 and atheletic so quite solid from netball. Anyway when I found this confidence that I so often heard about I could wear anything and felt sexy. I had people saying to me what have you been doing you look great. I had so much attention it used to blow me away, and it all came down to believing in myself.

So thirty is a great age and I'm sure when I turn 40 I'll realise something else:laughing:
That is so true. Iam often surprised by the actual age of some bubhubbers. And I totally agree about not being anywhere near as wise as some of them when I was that age.
I can't say my 30th was wild though-not the kind of 21st wild that I had (actually I lived my life like every day was my 21st then). My 30th I was 7.5 months pregnant with no.2 and felt so past raging! I think having no.1 put me in that growing up catergory.

Funkychicken
14-04-2006, 16:56
OOhhhh.I forgot to mention.....I'm................................... .35.5!!:D
And I wouldn't trade my life for all the youth in the world. In fact I am a deep believer in the saying "Youth is wasted on the young!";)

Maghan
14-04-2006, 17:11
I actually realised recently that I don't mind getting older. 36ish is the best I ever looked and felt. I have far more wrinkles and cellulite and am not fit - go figure!

Kirstlea
14-04-2006, 17:12
I did have a good birthday and it will be nice to look back and think I did achieve something the year I turned 30!

Its a nice figure to remember you get to 60 :laughing:

I think having no.1 put me in that growing up catergory.

I concur - Certainly don't have the party gene anymore:rolleyes:

In fact I am a deep believer in the saying "Youth is wasted on the young!"

Ain't that the truth - goes along with the word hindsight :laughing:

The funny thing is when we are in our forties we look at the thirties and realise more. I wonder what the people in their sixties think of us youngs things?

CJJHRA
14-04-2006, 17:15
me, me, me I am 33

I really should be spending less time online and more time organising this house.

I am a total computer addict! I would rather be online on forums or playing games than cooking/cleaning.. :shame:

Kirstlea
14-04-2006, 17:23
Mel who wouldn't prefer to be doing anything else besides cleaning.:laughing:

Speaking of which I must put my responsiblity hat on and start cooking dinner.:chef:

DH and DD will be home soon. They went up to my parents place last night to do some work for dad and I got to stay home and do some bookkeeping work for a few clients. Still its been nice and quiet today and I must get prepared for the chaos again.

Maghan I wonder if you would have felt that way if you were 20ish lol.

Talk to you all later.

Funkychicken
14-04-2006, 17:25
The funny thing is when we are in our forties we look at the thirties and realise more. I wonder what the people in their sixties think of us youngs things?
I thought I was the only person who had thoughts like these! If I think about people younger than me and compare that to myself at that age, then surely people older than me are doing the same! I spend valuable time pondering odd things sometimes.:rolleyes:

samuelboy
14-04-2006, 19:29

Another 30+ here, 32 in a few months. My 30th was very boring, I was pregnant and long ago lost the party gene. Oh well, I think I did enough partying in my 20's to more than make up for it.

I love the "youth is wasted on the young" saying, but we're still young anyway!

Ruby Slippers
15-04-2006, 01:47
I'm 30 I don't mind my age it's still young i think i will always feel young well lets hope :fingerscrossed: ,
well i make sure i laugh , so that does it for me ,
and i love running after my girls,
and i still dance around the house and sing , with my Country Music up loud ,
my poor neighbour's eye's and ears LOL ,
I don't have any friends other than my family ,

no coffee friends to chat with , but i have Bub Hub , and i love to read posts i have had many laughs and tears it's a great place ,
well i'm up late due to it's been raining really loud and my little girl woke me up as she was scared :eek: and i love the sound of rain when i'm in my warm bed ,

but this rain was very hard on the roof , and i was scared but i have to be brave for her LOL, i hope i'm making sence due to you should never post when you are very sleepy :laughing: oh well i will read it back in the morning , well it is morning well when i get up from my sexy sleep and i need that. :D

Funkychicken
15-04-2006, 07:51
That rain last night was amazing! I looove the sound of it on the roof in the night. I t makes me snuggle deeper into the doona. Last night though I was feeding Hamish at about 2 am and remembered that I had left the mower outside on the lawn:eek: . I ran out and put it under the verandah but I'm not game to try to start it yet. :fingerscrossed: that it isn't buggered.

Kirstlea
18-04-2006, 15:46
Hi everyone :D

Rain rain go away come back another day

We have had one rain free day since 20th March, can you believe it. Now theres another cyclone on its way so we can expect tonnes more rain. Grump Grump Grump.

The ground is so wet the water just sits there no matter how many channels and drains we dig.

Hi Ruby Slippers you are a laugh, bad things are not supposed to happen to people who live in paintings, it should be sunny in yours. :p

Hi Sal your lawn mower should be safe. I have to hose ours down when the grass is wet to get the grass clippings out and it goes straight away with no problems.

Hi Alannahsmum you have to let the responsiblity hat go sometimes just for sanity I reckon.

Hi Samuelboy I missed out on partying in my 20's so made up for it in my late 20's early 30's. :smiliedance:

I had an embarrasing 2 moments today. Popped into Coles to get a couple of things and somehow my dd managed to open the honey and proceed to pour it on herself. Lucky I had some wipes off the shelf so ripped them open and cleaned her up. The 2nd moment was in checkout, dd was standing at the end of the checkout on that little shelf and says wee wee mum, I asked her could she hold on for a minute. She said yes, which normally she means. NOT THIS TIME, good grief she wet all the shelf and the floor. God I was so embarrased, to top it off she ripped her shorts and undies of and proceeded to toddle off with the trolley down the shopping centre with only a t-shirt on. Lucky I always have a spare set of clothes on hand.:o

The staff were very nice about it and helped me clean it up but I still felt awful.

Kirstlea
19-04-2006, 21:17
Hey!! where is everyone:detective:

:p

Funkychicken
20-04-2006, 06:46
I'm here-well for another two minutes then it's off to take the children to school. I'll pop in here later!:D

Peaceangels
20-04-2006, 11:37
Hello fellow oldies (just jokes! :D ).................

I am a 36 y.o sahm of two boys aged 3 and a bit and just 2yrs (on 17apr). I've only just had my birthday and to me it was just another day, i'm not really worried about my age.

So, should we be talking about all grown up sensible things or can we be a bit silly here :laughing:

Looking forward to chatting more with you all. xx

AngelHope
20-04-2006, 11:54
Still ok to be silly when you're 30+ I hope!!! :D

I wanted to throw a question to you guys... I'm currently TTC # 3 but am finding I'm getting 'odd' looks whenever I tell anyone. Is there a general concensus out there that 35 is too old to conceive?

I had my first bub at 20, my second at 30, and I feel ready for my next, isn't that all that matters? Or am I missing something, and really am just being selfish? :confused:

M O P
20-04-2006, 12:01
Don't think you're missing anything Angel. I'm 30 now soon to have my first so I imagine I might be trying for my #3 at about that age- see how this one goes first!!

My maternal Grandmother had my uncle at 39 years of age (9 years after my Mum)and my paternal Granmother had my Dad at 42 (18!! years after my Aunty).

AngelHope
20-04-2006, 12:14
Hi Kaz!

Hope everything goes well with your no.1! Personally I felt being 30 was a great age to have a bub, as I was far more settled in life at 30.

I have a friend who's 42 and pregnant, and she was greeted with nothing but 'shock-horror' by all she told about her impending motherhood. I was stoked for her though, she's really inspired me.

I've just been a little down about the 'looks' that I've been getting particularly from family when I talk about having another... Then there's the "ARE YOU MAD?" comments I've gotten from friends who seem to think the sooner their kids are off their hands, the better... but I don't feel that way? I love having my kids around, and when it's school holidays I think it's great! They're good kids, and they're good company, and they make me feel like I've achieved something with my life.

OK I've blabbed too much, sorry about that LOL. It is good to find other 30+ mums though.

Kat

M O P
20-04-2006, 12:28
If you feel you're young enough to care and provide for another why not?

Peaceangels
20-04-2006, 12:28
I had my first bub at 20, my second at 30, and I feel ready for my next, isn't that all that matters?

I think you hit the nail on the head Angelhope, you feel ready, so everyone else can take their opinions elsewhere and just mind their own business!!

You go for it girl! :thumbsup:

AngelHope
20-04-2006, 12:44
:laughing: Thanks peaceangels, you got me giggling with that one! (Just as well my boss is in Thailand) LOL

Thanks Kaz, that's how I feel.

Peaceangel - would you consider having another one, or are you done now? And did you come across any opposition when having your last?

Funkychicken
20-04-2006, 19:19
Hi Kaz!

Hope everything goes well with your no.1! Personally I felt being 30 was a great age to have a bub, as I was far more settled in life at 30.

I have a friend who's 42 and pregnant, and she was greeted with nothing but 'shock-horror' by all she told about her impending motherhood. I was stoked for her though, she's really inspired me.

I've just been a little down about the 'looks' that I've been getting particularly from family when I talk about having another... Then there's the "ARE YOU MAD?" comments I've gotten from friends who seem to think the sooner their kids are off their hands, the better... but I don't feel that way? I love having my kids around, and when it's school holidays I think it's great! They're good kids, and they're good company, and they make me feel like I've achieved something with my life.

OK I've blabbed too much, sorry about that LOL. It is good to find other 30+ mums though.

Kat

It's strange how different circles of people view having more babies. I was surrounded by people who, as you said, can't wait to get them off their hands but I always found this a bit sad. Since my DS#1 started school though we have found a whole group of people who love having them with them and are still having more (yes, some of them are late 30's). It's so lovely to associate with people who outwardly show love and affection to their children, not just their babies, and who also love the school hol's too. I have always loved having my children around me and it's doubly nice to share this experience with like-minded people.:)

draught
20-04-2006, 19:37
Still ok to be silly when you're 30+ I hope!!! :D

I wanted to throw a question to you guys... I'm currently TTC # 3 but am finding I'm getting 'odd' looks whenever I tell anyone. Is there a general concensus out there that 35 is too old to conceive?

I had my first bub at 20, my second at 30, and I feel ready for my next, isn't that all that matters? Or am I missing something, and really am just being selfish?

Forget a general consensus - I am 37 and will be 38 when I have #3. I was 34 for DD1, turned 36 2 days before I had DD2 and will have just turned 38 when #3 arrives. I worried about my age for a short moment then remembered my grandmother who had 12 pregnancies (10 survived). She was still having babies at 40 and no one thought that was odd (although come to think of it maybe it was the number of babies that took people's minds off the age:rolleyes: ).

Anyway - if you feel ready then you are. Go for it I say!!:ecomcity:

peterpan
20-04-2006, 20:13
Yep I'm another 30+ Just had my 36 birthday and had my first DS last year and ttc#2...
age is just a number:smiliedance:
hope to chat more later:ecomcity:

Peaceangels
20-04-2006, 20:14
Peaceangel - would you consider having another one, or are you done now? And did you come across any opposition when having your last?

In answer to Q.1 - yes absolutely, but DH & I have decided two complete's our family.

Q.2 No opposition with #2, just sheer shock - we took almost 6yrs to fall pg with #1 then fell with #2 by accident when #1 was 6mths old. On the other hand though, everyone was saying we were crazy having them so close together - heellooo - we didn't choose to !! (but we were glad not to have to go through another 6yrs of hell).

Kirstlea
24-04-2006, 16:02
Hi :D

Haven't been around for a while as I've been busy with work, one more week to go.

Just wanted to say hello:D

Angel I had #1 at 34yrs and only just got #2 on its way at 37yrs. For me personally I wish it could have been sooner but only because my body is slowing down. Hindsight is a wonderful thing as they say.

I have alot of problems with sports injuries which I guess I will be really paying the price for in a few more years. Nevermind how bad it feels now:laughing:

I also felt that I was emotionally ready for children by the age of 30, though I know many people have them younger I just couldn't have done it any younger.

Gotta go for now, catch up with you all later

Kirsten

Funkychicken
24-04-2006, 17:58
Hi Kirsten, is this the first you have posted about your new pregnancy? How exciting! Sending you a huge

CONGRATULATIONS

Keep us posted on your progress!:D

Kirstlea
24-04-2006, 22:41
Hi Sal :D

Gosh I get confused as to which threads I have mentioned being pregnant in. lol.

Must be because I am always in the Due in November thread.

Thanks and yes I will keep you posted. We have been trying for a while so finally we are on the move. I'm having a NT Scan next Tuesday so that will reassure me.

Talk to you soon and thanks for the congrats.

Kirsten

Jules16
24-04-2006, 22:57
Hi Kirstlea

It is an inspiration to read this thread. I am 35.5 and am trying for no ttc#1. And for some reason have been feeling a bit anxious lately about my age. I started trying over a year ago and am hopeful we will have a BFP soon. I never met my hubby until I was 30 and we weren't in a position to start trying straight away as we wanted to have time to get to know each other, and we had to get hubby's residency sorted out etc. I spent too many years in my 20s travelling and partying. My grandmothers both had their four bub in their early 40s so if they can do it then I guess I can do it too.

Hope you're having a nice evening.

Julie

Kirstlea
24-04-2006, 23:05
Hi Julie

It is obviously harder to get pregnant for some women than others. Sorry to see you unfortunately had an m/c just recently, that doesn't make it any easier to try and relax when ttc.

We lost one last year and I was almost ready to give up on the idea when I discovered a medical problem which I thought was stopping me from getting pregnant. Lo and behold 2 days before my appointment with the specialist I find out I am pregnant.

Stopped thinking about it see:D

Stay optimistic, remember you are only as old as you feel, years don't always matter.

GOOD LUCK and keep us posted.

Kirsten

Jules16
24-04-2006, 23:08
Thanks Kirsten. What would we do without bubhub to inspire us. As others have said, reading through the forum and seeing how young of the Mums are just amazes me. They are just so mature. As you say, hindsight is a wonderful thing. Time to look forward and be positve though. Congratulations on your pg. I hope all goes well. :yelclap:

Kirstlea
25-04-2006, 14:45
Sal if you are out there, I have just realised that you and I are doubling up on threads:laughing:

You are pregnant too:yelclap: Congratulations.

Julie we are doing the same. I replied to a your post in the welcome thread a week ago and then again in the natter thread yesterday.

What a dufous I am.

Shall we stick to the natter thread:detective:

Talk to you soon, Kirsten

charlach
25-04-2006, 14:48
hello, I couldnt help but notice that there is some older girls out there. Im turning 38 in a couple of weeks and my second bub is due this coming Sunday. You are only as old as you feel. Good luck to you all.

Kirstlea
28-04-2006, 21:28
Charlach

Couldn't agree with you more:D

Goodluck for Sunday, hope it all goes well.

Kirsten

charlach
09-05-2006, 12:04
Hi all you gals over 30. I had my little boy last Wednesday. I started labour on Sunday night and didnt go into hospital until Wednesday and had him wednesday afternoon. Charlie Ross 8.9lb. He is so gorgeous, with a full head of hair.

M O P
09-05-2006, 12:07
Congratulations and welcome to the world
Charlie Ross!!

Jules16
28-06-2006, 14:33
Congratulations Charlach! Is he your first?