View Full Version : Cairns, Townsville, Mackay???

BecH
04-06-2008, 08:54

I'm having to choose with DH where to go for his intern year next year. We have 10 month old twins and a nearly 3 year old, so I'd love to know how child friendly these places are. For Cairns and Townsville, we are looking at living at the Esplanade or the Strand so I can take the kids out each day. But any other advice would be fabulous.

Bec

84zsazsa
04-06-2008, 09:03

I'm having to choose with DH where to go for his intern year next year. We have 10 month old twins and a nearly 3 year old, so I'd love to know how child friendly these places are. For Cairns and Townsville, we are looking at living at the Esplanade or the Strand so I can take the kids out each day. But any other advice would be fabulous.

Bec

:wave: Hi BecH,

This is a hard one.........I'm from Cairns (great creeks if you like swimming, beautiful and green, places ppl pay lots of money to visit only a drive away on the weekends), I live in Townsville (great for families-lots to do, very laid back lifestyle and big enough to get the entertaiment, live NRL if you like the footy) and i have family in Mackay (great shopping, great untouched beaches and has fast paced or laid back).

All fantastic choices.....with their own perks :D

Good luck, Danni

rinny2007
04-06-2008, 09:04
Townsville and mackay are more child friendly. Live near the strand not on it. or you will be awake all night with the hoons that nobody stops.

There are some gorgeous areas around mackay near the beach and parks.

Ive never lived in cairns, but when i do go and visit I find it really isnt very child friendly and the esplanade not really good fro young bubs.

But you will enjoy the weather in any city you choose.

Baldie's Mum
04-06-2008, 09:04
:sunshine:TOWNSVILLE:sunshine:

It is full of wonderful bubhub mummies! :D

new_mummy82
04-06-2008, 12:06
Cairns is pretty child friendly as far as I know. I have a 16 month old and another on the way and have no trouble finding things to do! As for living on the Esplanade the only thing against it is it will be pricey! There is lots of grassy, shady areas you can take bub and just sit and enjoy the breeze, there is also Muddy's (a water play area for kids) and a lil further along there is a great playground that has just been done up!

Hope you and your family are happy wherever you choose to go :D

Pina Colada
04-06-2008, 12:12
Cairns is pretty child friendly as far as I know. I have a 16 month old and another on the way and have no trouble finding things to do! As for living on the Esplanade the only thing against it is it will be pricey! There is lots of grassy, shady areas you can take bub and just sit and enjoy the breeze, there is also Muddy's (a water play area for kids) and a lil further along there is a great playground that has just been done up!

:iagree:
Yes, the lagoon area of the esplanade probably not entirely child friendly as it is unfenched (but so is the ocean :p) and backpackers with their boobs out, but Muddies! The kids love it, there is a cafe and a playground and water play area on each side of it, and one is perfect for under 3's.

conorexnz
04-06-2008, 12:30
Hi Bec,

I'm new to Townsville and absolutely love it - there is soooo much to do with children (check out some of the other threads in the NQ forum)... there's heaps of play groups, lots of Bub Hub get togethers, heaps of free options and cheaper options.

Living on the Strand is a place to avoid, it's expensive, not really family friendly and lots of hoons, there are some good suburbs near it and some not so good so you need to investigate them a bit further. On the plus side, the Strand is great to go to with its shade, parks, pools and of course the ocean (it's not stinger season anymore (so they say)). It's always pretty busy.

Most of the families I've met live out in the suburbs, Kirwan is VERY popular, so is Riverside Gardens and Annandale and the suburbs near those suburbs. Townsville is growing at a rapid place so there's always new areas being developed and opening up.

Cairns is usually greener. Cairns is more touristy whereas Townsville is more industry. Cairns is smaller than Townsville too (although I don't think it's a great difference).

Well, good luck with your decision, such a hard one to make.

Conor

samsgirls
04-06-2008, 12:30

:iagree:Totally. I live in Cairns too, and have two young children. They love Muddy's too. it is pretty awesome. There is a man made lagoon up the other end of the esplanade too. And it is all free! :laughing: