View Full Version : Night nappies
angel_one
03-06-2008, 20:10
ok ladies, i need some assistance
i need some bloody good night nappies for my boys
currently, the oldest one is wetting thru huggies nappies over night! (i didnt think it was possible but at least one of my kids had to be the most difficult - funny enough its him!! :rolleyes:)
i have been using onesize pockets, stuffed with, 6 layers of hemp, and a bamboo insert doubled over (3 layers normally) with a fleee cover on top (which actaully serves 2 main purposes - 1- keeps the nappy on him, and 2 - seals his leg openings (as they are a little gappy after stuffing so much), and of course they ace as a second cover, which on some occasions is wet on the outside as well!
needless to say hes wetting thru this 8 times out of 10!!
so i need something really reallly super absorbant!!!
any ideas?? - perferably one size, as i have a 1 year old and 2 year old in nappies.
ta
Gigglesmum
03-06-2008, 20:16
Krap Katchers, Krap Katchers, Krap Katchers! However, firstly you will probably need to buy a medium and a large for the 2 boys, and secondly Hollie just had a sale on the weekend so you will probably have to wait until next month or so until she makes up more.
mumma bear
03-06-2008, 21:50
You could try all bamboo inserts. I put 9 layers of bamboo fleece and 3 layers of microfibre in my DS and DD2's night nappies and have never had a leak.
I only use the microfibre because it helps the wee to move along the insert instead of ending up with a pee patch that leaks.
There is a large Krap Katcher left, but it's hot pink ;)
I think a combo of bamboo and microfibre is the answer, to wick and then to store.
lunawolfspirit
04-06-2008, 03:57
yeah i hear kk are the best, i dont own one but i want one, im on the mailing list but im not fast enough.
also bbh bamboo are meant to be good to, may wanna try them and im on that mailing list to and they are having a sale for every 2 nappies u buy you get one free, so they my be worth trying for you as they are one sized.
Alot of the WAHM heavy wetter night nappies go so quickly.
Here is a list of some night nappies for heavy wetters that I know/heard of -
- Wild Child Night Plus
- Bubblebubs (GNST for heavy wetter)
- Whizz Kids (this is OSFM)
-Lotus nights
-Honeyboy Bamboo night nappy
-bamboo Sandman
-Abby Gro
These would all need a good cover (wool or good quality fleece:thumbsup:)
AIO's/pockets
-Krap Katchers
-Keester Kovers
-Zada
-Snoozywuns
Don't know if a BBB would last the night unless you boosted it.
You will probably have to try and aim for a nappy that has +12 layers of bamboo. If you can't get a Krap Katcher another great pocket nappy for nights is a bits for bots windpro pocket, but like the KK you would need to buy bamboo inserts.
lilBoofD
04-06-2008, 11:11
I would recommend Zadas, or Krap Katcher, both work brilliantly on my heavy wetter!
Last night I stuffed the Krap Katcher with 2 bamboo trifolds and a microfibre, and the nappy was still quite dry.
goodusernamestaken
04-06-2008, 11:33
Hey, I have the same problem with my 4 month old wetting through huggies. :confused:
Would a rumpster be any good? I've also got some bbh bamboo but only the pul covers.
I'm kinda reluctant to use cloth overnight as I feel it's a long time for his little bottom to be all wet, but now his pj's , bed and OUR bed are all wet so I can probably be convinced.:yes:
GraceUnhearing
04-06-2008, 12:25
wild child dreamy nights!
DS is a super weer and cannot out pee thoughs and wears them for 12 ours a night!
teamed with a wool cover they are unbeatable!
I'm a Baby Beehinds overnight boostered night nappy user. My DS is 18 months and is a bit of a heavy wetter and it works a treat! Mind you I needed to buy a bigger wool cover as the BB didn't fit over the top of it all!
Yeah could be worth a try with the BB sale on at the minute. Let me see .... I think $66 dollars would get you three bamboo nappies and 3 overnight boosters. Not bad!
Bubblebubs GNST heavy wetter, 18 layers of bamboo, and topped with a PUL cover. I can't recommend this nappy enough for a really heavy wetter.
I had similar problem, and knitted up a woolen soaker to put over the huggies (well I use aldi, same thing olnly different) and it has worked a treat - sucks up the excess wee, keeping bub dry - also try going up a size if you want to stick to sposies gives a bit more liquid soaking up room!
I also heard a story from a midwife that said put your 1st sposie on, put a slit in the outside, then put another sposie over the top haven't tried it but if you are desperate in the short term anything is worth a try!
Sparrowgal
04-06-2008, 21:32
I love my Whizzkidz night nappy. I have 2. My 3 month old bub would wee thru a BBH with the long booster, short booster and an extra bamboo booster in 3-4 hours. I have a Sandman as well but the extra boosting makes it hard for me to close the leg holes. And Lotus nappies are excellent also!
:smiliedance:Krap Katcher, Krap Katcher go go go. You're much better than the rest, keep bubs dry and passed the test. :smiliedance:
I use only these at night. I've tried heaps of others, but these are my fave and foolproof.
I stuff with 2 Green Kids bamboo inserts, a Green Kids bamboo booster and a microfibre booster (or microfibre cleaning cloth folded in 3)
Never had a leak through. EVER. Used them on my super heavy wetting twins right up till they night trained at just under 3yrs old, use them on Gabriel every night for the past 10 months.
Never leaked.
All of my boys were/are incredibly heavy wetting tummy sleepers.
mummeeto2
04-06-2008, 22:23
Sandman's are good with a knitted cover. We haven't had a leak yet & she sleeps all night
Just quick question as I've been watching out for what are good night nappies. With them being so bulky are you able to fit a grosuit over them? Or at least PJ's my 13 month old has PJs but the new bub I'll be using the grosuits.
cherrybaby
05-06-2008, 07:46
Just quick question as I've been watching out for what are good night nappies. With them being so bulky are you able to fit a grosuit over them? Or at least PJ's my 13 month old has PJs but the new bub I'll be using the grosuits.
I find that I can fit jumpsuits/pj pants over the krap katchers but I used to struggle over the heavily boosted baby beehinds, the Krap katcher stuffing just seems to sit better and not bulk up so much. When we used the beehinds I bought some extra stretchy pj pants for him. You can get around it. I guess if you were using woollen longies they would double as a PJ pant.
Last night I stuffed the Krap Katcher with 2 bamboo trifolds and a microfibre, and the nappy was still quite dry.
Krap Katcher, Krap Katcher go go go. You're much better than the rest, keep bubs dry and passed the test.
I use only these at night. I've tried heaps of others, but these are my fave and foolproof.
I stuff with 2 Green Kids bamboo inserts, a Green Kids bamboo booster and a microfibre booster (or microfibre cleaning cloth folded in 3)
Never had a leak through. EVER. Used them on my super heavy wetting twins right up till they night trained at just under 3yrs old, use them on Gabriel every night for the past 10 months.
Never leaked.
All of my boys were/are incredibly heavy wetting tummy sleepers.
I'm a bit baffled.... :confused:
I've heard everyone rave on about how good KrapKatchers are... But if I was stuffing my BBH with that much, I'd have no leaks either.
Is it the fact that the KrapKatchers are so massive, & that they fit heaps of stuffing that makes them so good? :confused:
I'm not sure if they're worth the money. Do you even get any inserts with them?
I reckon buying a large sized pocket & stuffing it with the same would be just as good.... And cheaper!
cherrybaby
05-06-2008, 09:06
Ziggie- No you don't get stuffing with them. But in my opinion they are worth the money as they never leak! Why I like them soooo much:
-Double leak protection with malden mills fleece plus a layer of PUL.
-heaps of room to stuff
-fleece inner means bub still feels dry in the morning.
They are the main reasons, plus they look cute!
But as you say you may have no leaks if you used the same stuffing/boosting with another nappy... I just personally found that the boosting of the beehinds didn't sit so well and Oli's butt was raised way off the mattress, and with the krap katcher it just fits better.
You could try getting a large pocket and stuffing that with the same stuff but I guess it comes down to how much you can fit in the pocket and how well it fits around the legs and waist.
There is nothing wrong with all the other alternatives that are out there such as the beehinds, it is just that so many people are having such success with the krap katchers that their name keeps getting mentioned here, IYKWIM!
I find that I can fit jumpsuits/pj pants over the krap katchers but I used to struggle over the heavily boosted baby beehinds, the Krap katcher stuffing just seems to sit better and not bulk up so much. When we used the beehinds I bought some extra stretchy pj pants for him. You can get around it. I guess if you were using woollen longies they would double as a PJ pant.
Thanks Cherrybaby.:thumbsup: Just what I wanted to know.
Whether there's leaks - doesn't it sometimes depend on WHERE you place the boosting for tummy sleepers doesn't it?
It's probably that extra layer of PUL in the Krap Katchers that does it yeah?
I'm not so keen on PUL overnight - breathability factor. But that's me...
Whether there's leaks - doesn't it sometimes depend on WHERE you place the boosting for tummy sleepers doesn't it?
It's probably that extra layer of PUL in the Krap Katchers that does it yeah?
I'm not so keen on PUL overnight - breathability factor. But that's me...
:iagree:
I gave up on pockets for night, cause of my tummy sleepers, I personally prefer a fitted with wool soaker/longies, works great, never had a leak with those :)
Ziggie- No you don't get stuffing with them. But in my opinion they are worth the money as they never leak! Why I like them soooo much:
-Double leak protection with malden mills fleece plus a layer of PUL.
-heaps of room to stuff
-fleece inner means bub still feels dry in the morning.
They are the main reasons, plus they look cute!
I worry about the AMOUNT of waterproofing protection that is offered in a KKatcher??? .. I dont know if I like the idea of two layers of fleece AND a layer of pul ??? surely that is about as breathable as mutiple layers of pul ??
I do like the room to stuff .. and the tightness of the pocket opening .. in a Kkatcher ..
but I personally prefer the breathability of a good ol solidly made fleece pocket .. I just stuff it with more for night time :D
JEn
I worry about the AMOUNT of waterproofing protection that is offered in a KKatcher??? .. I dont know if I like the idea of two layers of fleece AND a layer of pul ??? surely that is about as breathable as mutiple layers of pul ??
So I wonder how a night nappy would go if you put on 3 PUL covers. Would it be sort of the same?
I love the science of it all!:yelclap:
So I wonder how a night nappy would go if you put on 3 PUL covers. Would it be sort of the same?
I love the science of it all!:yelclap:
ooher three covers??? :laughing: thats keen ..
I would rather use layers of fleece .. they occasionally have issues with pressure leaking .. but if you boost and stuff it should all be good .. I was given a fleece cover .. that is awesome .. NOTHING could get through that .. :laughing: just goes on like a pair of pull ups would .. over a nappy - ANY nappy .. even a sposie - if needed for a desperate sposie user ..
I used to hate fleece .. now I love it .. and I love AIOs and AI2s .. as much as my pockets .. its funny how you go through phases..