View Full Version : really severe nappy rash...
baylees mummy
03-06-2008, 09:14
hi, my son has really severe nappy rash at the moment and i have tried everything to help it... i have tried powder, zink cream (sudocream), steroid cream, bepanthem, anti fungal cream, vasoline and tried using no cream at all... his poor bottom is red raw and bleeding... we had to wipe the poop off this morning and it was just bleeding everywhere and he was screaming.... it was one of the most horrible things i have had to do to him. he is now in no nappy at all cuz i am trying to scab up the cuts so they arnt so sore. he cant even sit down the poor thing. i just have no idea what to do for it. is there anything else out there to try? i am taking him to the drs this avo for it but just wanted to see if any of you ladies have any advice for me..? :(
BTW it is not from not changing his nappy, his poop is really really acidic at the moment from his gi problems.
conveen cream from your GI nurse is the best napy cream its used around stomas to stop fecal burn its by far the best, we use it on miki and i know stacey uses it on megan to it really works well
baylees mummy
03-06-2008, 09:20
thanks amy i will ask about that one today! can a gp prescribe it? :confused:
MustangMumma
03-06-2008, 09:23
I used zinc and castor cream when ds had severe nappy rash the doc told me to use it it worked it took around 2 days.
Goodluck poor little mite
2sweetgirls
03-06-2008, 09:28
conveen is awsome:thumbsup:
I got some samples from my pead. its like grey mud... like a face mask :laughing:
no script needed either just ask for it at the chemist
Mum2Lucas
03-06-2008, 09:28
we use pawpaw ointment here. you can get it in supermarkets. clear's DS's up nearly overnight and his used to get to the point where it would bleed and all that.
baylees mummy
03-06-2008, 09:48
cool thanks... might try the conveen cream first and if that doesnt work i might try the paw paw cream. :yes:
0BleSseD0
03-06-2008, 12:17
I have something called "Corams Nappy rash Paste" and it is exactly that. Its a thick but silky soft paste and it stays on for a while too.
DD once had a rash and I put it on her and the next morning gave her a bath and it still didnt come off. :laughing:
Got rid of the rash though.
I can't recommend it enough. :D
If you put a smooth layer of that on and a little dust of powder (to 'seal' it up a bit) it will do wonders. :yes:
As will some nappy free time if that's possible.
I got it at Woolies and it was about $4 for the pot and it lasts a while.
~Temet Nosce~
03-06-2008, 12:30
I usualy use palmers cocoa butter/bottom butter as its the only one that works for my dd, it works really well. But Id give that conveen a shot first :yes: sounds pretty severe.
try leaving a nappy off for as long as you can... letting the fresh air to get to his bottom can help heaps!!! drying it up...
i would conitur using a nappy rash cream... i use Penaten cream... my mum used it on me when i had really bad nappy rash... mine was like your sons... she said its the only thing that worked... i use on ly dd now it works wonders... you can get it at most chemists... its in a blue tin. it isnt cheap though... for a small tin its about $18, and a large tin is around $23 i think...
along with that if you cant keep your sons bottom 'free' frequent nappy changes would be best too... keep his bottom dry.
hope that helps!!! if you need any more help jsut pm me!!!
SalTheGal
03-06-2008, 12:46
Pawpaw all the way here- I cannot recommend it highly enough!!! It has been a saviour many times over in the house, it works so quickly.
My ds used to get horrid nappy rash if we used scented wipes - if you are using the scented ones, try swapping to a plain wipes - the J&J blue pack work best for us. Even the allergy ones are bad for him.
Leave the nappy off for as long as possible. Lay out a picknick blanket or something on the floor to protect your carpets and let him play on that if you're worried.
We found taking him out and letting him wave his bare bottom around in the sun for 10 to 15 mintues helped heal up any bleeding sores - that might help you too.
We tried all different types of creams for him, but none worked - I hope you find one that works for you! :fingerscrossed:
TeganRheana
03-06-2008, 13:22
When my first had gastro (he had it about 6 times before he hit 12months) i was constantly in the chemist asking them what I could use - his rash looked identical to what your describing.....the things that were recommended to me and that actually worked were the anti-fungal creams: Canestan and Daktarin!!! I would use either one of those, then put a layer of plain zinc cream (in the sunscreen tube because it had no oil in it and kept the his bottom "waterproof"). I would also try to leave him without a nappy for at least 1hr a day. Rash was gone each time within a few days!!! Goodluck!! I know its horrible!
mumma sienna
03-06-2008, 13:41
we use pawpaw ointment here. you can get it in supermarkets. clear's DS's up nearly overnight and his used to get to the point where it would bleed and all that.
paw paw ointment is always my saviour!! it is fantastic and because it is quite thick it acts as a barrier, which means the poo isn't touching his raw skin. it is also very soothing and as a bonus... it is totally natural.
good luck with it... i feel horrible for your son and it must be so hard for you seeing him like that! stay strong!:hugs:
twinmum73
03-06-2008, 14:19
i use Penaten cream[
:yes: DS had shocking nappy rash in the hospital, so they recommended Penaten cream, comes in a tin like boot polish. Don't be shy when you use it, but it works for sure.
Otherwise, use an anti-fungal, and then use a barrier cream to keep it dry.
And the usual, nappy free time etc, good luck, it's a horrible thing to go through.