View Full Version : some help please?!!!?

kath5219
02-06-2008, 19:41
hey ladies!

Firstly i have always admired wives/partners of ADF men!! Never thought or to be honest wanted to be one but that looks like it could be about to change!!

My boyfriend began the very first steps in the application process. He hopes to take on a trade aprenticeship through the Army.

I have lots of questions but think my first one should be do you have any advice on what i can help him do to give him the best chance of success through the application process?

Im actually kinda hoping he gets in which is not what i expected would be my reaction when he brought it up last week!

Ill ask my million and one other questions when it looks more like he will def get in-oh one more before i go-how long with the application process take?

K

Kal7
03-06-2008, 09:38
Hey Kath!My boyfriend had his first interview at the start of February, and left for basic training at the start of April! (only 3 1/2 weeks to go :D)But im pretty sure it all depends on what trade there going in for. My boyfriends was a "green light" trade, so thats y he left so soon! (He's doing telecommunications)But i know another guy who has been waiting for about 5months to get in and is leaving for kapooka on 23rd June!I dunno if that helped!!Kal

KJEmum
03-06-2008, 11:13
It think what he needs to think about is .. what trade will benefit him when he/if he gets out. Get the qualifications and certificates for the trade while in. Like my DH (Navy) is in communications which involves networking, computer problem solving and sending signals and stuff. He's gained heaps of certificates in computer stuff and other certs like instructing.

Best of luck cos I too have heard it can take months.

kath5219
03-06-2008, 11:52
Thanks! His first choice is Electrician and second is Mechanics.

Think the main hurdle will just be he was a bit of a bad boy in his past. Total straight arrow now but wonder how muchhis past will affect his chances!

Ill keep you busy with questions im sure!! not like you didnt have enough to do alreayd!!!

woven_wings
03-06-2008, 21:47
Hi Kath,

Welcome to the armed forces!

Its a difficult life at times, challenging at the most, but it also has its rewards and perks. My DP's an actual full-timer though, I dont know really the challenges faced by people doing apprenticeships.

Not sure about the application process, as DP was joined before we were together. But wanted to wish you the best.

If you need support or advice, I will do the best to help you or ask DP.

Only a PM away. :)

Navywife
10-06-2008, 21:18
It is sooooo funny i was only talking to my Hubby about this this arvo. He said if he had his time over again and was doing a trade he would go diesil mechanic in the army first choice because you get great quals for the ourside and you will be working on the same sort of stuff you would on the outside world (cars and trucks) and second choice would be electrician in the navy, Army electricians go away for long periods of time.
good luck have great communication and talk about everything and never hold anything back. Thanks

kath5219
13-06-2008, 20:11
OK so a lil update on our Defence Force situation(wont update you on everything cause a whole lotta craps gone down in my world this week lol!!!)
He is meeting with a group who has been basically given the job of helping ppl interested to walk through the application process as fast as possible cause they are so desperate for tradies so it looks like it should happen fairly quickly.

He is now strongly considering changing from Electrician to Deisle Mechanic(thanks NacyWife appreciate the advice!)

But were pretty excited about it all and hope it happens asap esp now with whats gone down this week with my situation(can read in single parents section if your interested!!!)