View Full Version : Oct 06 - It's June chat time!

M~T~J~M
01-06-2008, 19:29
:wave: ladies,

Here we are now in June :eek: Crazy!!

Chat away!

SalTheGal
01-06-2008, 20:37
Hey everyone.

Nothing much to report here, got home from Syd late fri night, Nedd had been a little trouper whilst I was away, and we had a lovely day at home together yesterday while DH played footy.

He fell over yesterday and hit his head- it is quite funny- he has resulting two bumps right where you would expect devil horns to sprout, I have taken a pic for his 21st.

Work meeting was so tiring, 2am in bed thurs after a night out probably didn't help!!!

And got a 7.45am app to start the day tomorrow so will be leaving the house at 6.15- Grrr, and Brrrr, it will be so icy! :rain:

Jack- Goodluck with the pregnancy vibes...can't wait to hear some exciting news.

Michelle- Does Abbey have a comforter? Something she exclusivly associates with sleep that doesn't happen to be attached to your body:p? If not, it may be an option, you might just have to try a few different things till she finds something she clicks with. I was just trying to google for you an idea I read about ages ago- it is a soft cuddle life size arm with a hand that is perfectly shaped for little heads to rest into- designed with NICU kids in mind who are in humidicribs, when I saw it I remember thinking how sweet it looked, but alas I can't find it again.

Beck- Sorry you aren't feeling well:hugs:, we are getting our slab laid this week, so looks like we will be able to compare notes through all our building!!! Hope this week is a better one for you wellness wise.

Kimba- Hope you enjoyed the Wiggles!! I miss doing those kind of mummy things with Nedd, it sucks sometimes being a working mum huh?!? Goodluck with the naughty mat, when Nedd does do something naughty (the only thing we are really consistently disciplining him for is hitting us) we do a similar thing, but instead we leave the room, so he is alone for a minute (or a count to ten) seems to work so far.

Sare- :hugs: :hugs: I don't know how you are doing it my dear! Try to take it easy when you can...any chance of off loading the girls for a day so you can have a break?

OK, I am off- gotta go get organised so I can roll out of bed in the morning, into the shower and into the car in a seamless transition as I will no doubt be still half asleep.

Take care all. :goodvibes:

sare
01-06-2008, 20:41

No brothers and sisters on tonight so I've been stuffing around on here and facebook.

Had a quiet but nice weekend. Finally got to go to the footy. I was so reluctant to go because of Lara and how restless she is. Well boy did she prove me wrong, she was great. Eloise wanted to go home half way through the 3rd quarter, but she was great too. Plus the Pies won by 100 points, so it really was a great afternoon out.

Jackie - Got my :fingerscrossed: for you. How early are you going to test?

Michelle - I wish I could offer you some sleeping advice, but we're back to screaming matches and night-time wake up calls too. I say if you're happy enough to co-sleep, go for it. She's not going to want to share your bed forever, so why not make life easier on yourself?

Beck - :hugs: m/s is the pits. I hope you're feeling better today. Any luck on the pouring of the slab?

Kimba - It's great when the naughty spot works isn't it? We call it time out, but follow the same principles as Supernanny (just a teacher thing where I try to avoid using the word naughty). Eloise took to it really well too and will still stay on time out when I put her on it. Lara...well I've tried once and she just thought it was hilarious and kept on getting off and running up to me. I've put her on time out in her cot, but I want to avoid that because she already has issues with bed. So I sometimes put her in her highchair and turn her towards the wall for a minute :eek: sounds horrible, but works a treat. I always get a kiss and norry (sorry) mummy afterwards. I wish she was as easy as Jet and Eloise.

Well I'm off to bed to do a sudoku or 2 before tiredness hits. Night...

sare
01-06-2008, 20:45
Sal - we posted at the same time.
I have no idea how you do it...and always with a smile on your face!

Poor little Nedd. You'll have to post a link to the photo or put it on facebook.

It must almost be time for another Melb catch up, do you think?

Take care...

~Kimba~
01-06-2008, 21:11

Wiggles was great, Jet was beside himself with excitement, not just the whole Wiggles thing but the crowd and kids and noise in general. He got so overexcited that he went a bit manic and kept trying to run away from us to go wild and explore (and steal Wiggles merchandise from other kids, OMG).

I was resentfully eyeing all the other kids his age who were behaving themselves and staying close by their parents' side and dancing with them, I wanted to be able to do that with Jet but he had other plans! lucky DH was with me because controlling Jet was such hard work, even with his monkey harness, like kicking and screaming if we tried to hold him...how embarrassing LOL. I was thinking 'Oh Sal, if only you could see him now, you'd be so glad of Nedd being so placid...' hahaha.

But he did manage to get in some dancing (so funny), and seemed to have a ball, so it was all worth it. He's been singing and dancing Wiggles stuff all weekend, 'Quack Quack' mostly.

Re: time out/ naughty mat - I was totally surprised that Jet stayed there, I wasn't expecting him to! He got up a couple of times the first time but I told him to go back, sit and stay there - and he did. Couldn't believe it. But now he runs there smiling if he even hears me say 'naughty' or 'sit' so I'm trying to only use the timeout mat for 'serious' things, so that he doesn't think it's just a game.

Anyway since last week I've found that just getting close to his face at eye level with my 'I'm serious/ not impressed' voice is enough to make him realise he's done something unacceptable, he gets upset and hugs me sorry, awww. He never used to care before! must be just the right age now?

Re: falling over, must be the weekend for it because Jet fell and bit right into his tongue yesterday, blood everywhere, poor little bugger!!!!

Oh and here's something funny for you - Jet calls chocolate 'Nice' because I said mmm nice when he had some - so now he thinks that's what it's called :laughing:

Sare - I totally hear you on being reluctant to go anywhere with a restless toddler - it's such hard work and too much drama when they act up! But I'm glad Lara was so good for you.

Sal - Yeah I leave the kitchen when I put Jet on the mat, so it's kind of the same...gosh I don't envy you having such an early start tomorrow. I hope it's not too cold and icy for you!

Beck - hope you feel better soon :)

Michelle - I had similar issues with Jet for a while. When we got back from Indo and he was freaking out about being put down in his cot alone, I was putting him down in our bed but the only way he'd actually go to sleep is if I lay there with him and it took ages (up to an hour) and it drove me nuts! But like you say, at least I was comfortable. That's actually why we got his big bed, so I could lay with him till he went to sleep...but we haven't started that yet because still isn't sleeping in his big bed at night. So what I've been doing is laying on his big bed with him while we read books for as long as he wants, then when he's had enough he goes into his cot - my trick is to put his beloved blanky in there and tell him that it's waiting for him, and he seems glad to go to it when he's ready. Seems to be working - this week at least!

anyway :ecomcity: better go...nigh-night!

Becbabe
02-06-2008, 12:40

Well almost to the 2nd trimester now, and feeling fine. Also I had to tell all my siblings on the weekend, as Dad blabbed to my uncle on the phone (muttered "I dont' remember any instructions about secrecy" when Mum roused on him!) but it was nice to share the news. Even my babywanting sister was really enthused about it - much less awkward than last time. Scan next Friday at 13 weeks. A lady at work today (the only one who knows) gave me a knitted soaker for a newborn today...awww it's so little! First pressie for the new baby too. :goodvibes:

Ella and I had a nice weekend. (DP was a d*ck on Saturday, went out on Friday night and didn't come home til 8 Saturday - is he going to be like this every pregnancy??) She is such a little cutie. We went for a walk in our "new" (free hand me down) stroller to check out the new play equipment in the park. Terrific! stayed there for an hour while she went up and down the "slippy". In actual fact she came up to me and got in the stroller when she'd had enough! She's sleeping so well and waking at about 5.45 which is fine, as I'm an early riser and like not having to rush in the mornings.

Kimba the wiggles sounds great if exhausting. The Dorothy show is coming to Canberra in July, I've been thinking if Ella would get much out of it?

Sare - your team did better than mine on the weekend! Poor Waratahs, they were totally outclassed. I can't WAIT til Ella's old enough to get excited by the footy! I got footage of her going "go Tahs!" on the weekend. So prompted but SO cute. You're a smarty doing Sudoku. I used to do heaps of them when I was pg with Ella and work was less demanding, but now my attention span seems to be sadly lacking!

Sal - I don't know how YOU do it! Just reading your posts makes me tired! Hope your day wasn't too cold a start - it's been really mild here overnight, feels like rain :fingerscrossed:. Actually it's weird - rain puts DP out of work temporarily, but we hope for it to keep all our friends & family in business..

Michelle, can't remember in the haze of when we were all struggling sleep wise, but did you try the No Cry Sleep Solution book for toddlers? It has some helpful stuff about weaning kids off their sleep associations - it was really helpful to me to wean Ella off rocking, then patting, then me being in the room with her. Much patience required, but it did work!

Jackie, good luck!!:fingerscrossed: Wow, imagine if you fell first cycle!

M~T~J~M
02-06-2008, 12:59

I'm still around, I just haven't got too much exciting to say, lol!

Bec - Wow! 2nd Trimester already?? The time is really just flying by this year isn't it? Good to hear that you are feeling well and all is good. So cute that Ella came to you when she'd had enough of the park...I find it so hard to get my boys to leave the park, even if they have been there all day!

Kimba - Wiggles sounds like fun! Jet sounds like he was behaving quite 'normally' compared to the other children, lol! Poor little fella biting his tongue. Hope it doesn't cause him too much 'afterpain' either. :hugs: Had to laugh at Jet calling chocolate 'nice'. Sort of sounds like little J calling any sort of ball 'my ball'. I think it comes from him trying to take the boys balls off them, and they shout "my ball jarvis'. So...all balls are now 'my ball' :laughing:

Sare - Wasn't happy last night when I got myself all cosy to watch my shows and they weren't on....I didn't know that was happening! Anyway, gave me chance to get all nesty again, lol! Good win to the boys over the weekend too!! They've had it good the last couple of weeks - perhaps another Geelong/Collingwood granny this year??

Sal - Big hugs for little Nedd too. My boys always seem to have some sort of bruise/bump/cut on their heads somewhere....we're all just so used to it now, it's sort of weird for them to be injury free now, lol!

I have an afternoon without T & M today. M's at Kinder, and Mum has got T. J is currently having a nap, so I think perhaps it's time for me to share some time with the couch, lol!
Only got a little over 4 weeks left to go now!! DH has decided to take leave from the 18th June, so we're just waiting on that to be approved. Apparently they are all having a meeting today regarding some restructuring, so hope all is still good to go. Will find out tonight when I'm talking to him. He'll be home for 7 weeks if it's all approved, so that will be an enormous help! I think I've also decided to ask my Ob for an induction around the 25th June. He goes on holidays on the 27th June, and it's still not sitting right with me that I will have a different Ob there when bubs is born. I pay all these thousands for him to deliver, the least he could do is be there (or at least pop his head in, iykwim).

Have a nice day

SalTheGal
03-06-2008, 07:05
just a quickie- thought some of you might be interested in a snapshot of what Nedd does in his cot:

http://s117.photobucket.com/albums/o63/lloydsalnedd/Video/?action=view&current=MVI_1373.flv

This is him going to sleep during a day nap, at night he does it to go off to sleep too, and then periodically through the night- only at night it is more intensified and much harder! :hissy:

(Oh and mind the messy room, our rental is feral!)

He has just woken up this morning- so we are running really late, but I thoroughly enjoyed the sleep in, and luckily don't have anything to rush off to. :yelclap:

m_jelly
03-06-2008, 08:09
Sal - he's like a tipped over energizer bunny isn't he? Got to wonder how that can be enjoyable. He gets enough sleep despite doing that all night? Hope once he is on a floor mattress he gives it up and your nights can get back to normal.
At least his injuries are entertaining :laughing:, does he get upset bumping his head like that or just shrug it off because he's used to it?

Sarah - 4 weeks? Eek. Did this time just fly by?

Bec - boo to your dp. Tell him to man up. How did you convince Ella to go on the slide? Abbey will stand next to it and pat it, or run her hand down it, but screams murder if I dare pick her up and put her on it. If she can't climb on something herself then she isn't getting on it. She's been on a slide a couple times against her will, riding on the lap of her child aunty, but never on a swing or bouncy thingy or see-saw cos she's just too wussy.

The daft part is she yells out "weeee!" when she sees a playground though!

Sare - I wouldn't even have considered a football game with a busy toddler, so hats off to you for going and having a good time. I never got into football, in school people asked which team I went for, so I chose one I knew the name of, was informed I was a loser, and I ended up telling them to something not very nice off. Thus ended my football involvement.

Jackie - any results yet?

abbey's sleep - Ive read the no cry book and it helped a little, but not greatly. CC didn't work so I gave that up for a joke. I tried to create a lovey for her, and it sort of worked. She has a few stuffed dogs of various types, and when we go off to bed she looks around for them and takes them with her. She was in bed the other day with 3 dogs and a banana. Kinky.
She also gets a firm bedtime routine, teeth, nappy, books, sleeping bag, cuddle, bed. Lots of warning given, in 3 minutes etc. Trouble is, she is smart. She knows how to keep herself awake, and she loves her mummy. She loves her mummy a lot, and nobody else. She likes a few other people, but makes it clear to them where they stand by showering me with kisses and then looking pointedly at them.

She only has one nap a day now, from 12.30-2.15, then bed at 7.30. It will be better once she has a sibling and can transfer some of her adoration. I just have to build one. I started construction last month but it was wonky and fell over. Mum said I jump around too much, but if it was dodgy then it was dodgy and I will hold out for a more durable version this month.

sare
03-06-2008, 08:42
Sal - OMG that is shocking, I mean I knew it would be distressing, but had no idea how much so. It's so repetitive. How long does it go on for in one session? How can he not end up screaming, esp at night if he does it harder? Poor Nedd.
Yay on the sleep in. I got one too this morning. I ignored Lara crying at 7am and slept in until 8.30. When I went down to check on Lara, she had put herself back to sleep.

Michelle - :fingerscrossed: the more durable version arrives soon.

Sarah - 4 weeks...your pregnancy has flown by. I think I would ask my OB to induce me too if I was in your situation and healthwise it was ok to do so. You pay so much money and build up a rapport with one person, only to find out that they won't be there for the important bit. I hope your dh gets his 7 weeks leave. I bet you'll all love having him around for such a long period of time.

Bec - Wow your pg has seemed to fly too (mine seems to be the only one dragging to me...funny that). Hope you're feeling great and the 2nd trimester happy/energy vibes hit soon :goodvibes:
I've taken the girls to the Dorothy the Dinosaur show a few times and have found them to be great. No Wiggles show, but the kids get to get up nice and close to the characters and can dance and sing along with them. The bonus is that they only go for around half an hour, so just right in terms of kids attention spans (well mine anyway).

Kimba - Glad you enjoyed the Wiggles. I think Jet and Lara sound like kindred spirits. I can picture Jet doing exactly the same thing as Lara. I think the only reason she was so good at the footy on Sat was because I had food, a colouring book and she thought the crowd was clapping her :laughing: You should have seen her face when everyone clapped and cheered when the Pies came out onto the ground. From the look on her face, I swear she thought it was all for her.

Well not much on here. Eloise has a stomach bug, so apart froma quick trip to get Lara vaccinated, it's another day at home for us. She seems a lot better today than yesterday, but don't want to take any chances. Better go an get us all ready...Have a great day.

GeorgiaAnne
03-06-2008, 14:54
Hello my lovelies
We've just been away for 5 days in NZ which wa lovely - dh was doing a dinner at an amazing place so Sophia and I got put up as well - noice!
So just caught up on all your news but don't really have time to do a proper post but to say
Sarah - Your belly looks beautiful in your av :yes: Not long now! Can't wait to hear about your little princess.
Sal - That is heartbreaking to watch Nedd, poor little poppet. What happens when you put kids who do that in beds?
Sare - lol on Lara at the footy, Sophia does the same when we go to sport things, she just loves it.
Michelle - am I reading right that you are ttc?
Bec - Congrats on getting to the 2nd trimester! I'm just about to hit my 3rd :eek: Have I missed any scan news?
Kimba - That's great Jet has taken willingly to the time out mat, I can't even think about trying that Sophia is just too damn stubborn, but maybe that's why I need to try it :rolleyes::o

Happy June everyone - nearly Christmas again!!!

~Kimba~
03-06-2008, 19:45
:hair: Jet is doing this thing (for the last 4 nights) where he wakes up whinging somewhere between 1-3, then stays awake for a couple of hours. It's exhausting!!! He's never been like it before - he's always woken during the night but never STAYED awake. I'm like a zombie during the day at the moment, so hard to function at work especially.

I'm not sure that the timeout mat qualifies as a disciplinary thing if he enjoys it and thinks it's a game? Mind you as long as it distracts him from the behaviour and gets him happy then I guess it's not all bad. I actually think he relishes feeling 'clever' and the 'new' type of attention...and the big cuddle afterwards.

Sal - :hugs: OMG that's so upsetting to watch :( I knew it was bad, but had no idea just how hard he was doing it. Nedd must have a skull of steel - hard to believe that it feels good - also hard to imagine that he can still raise a bump (or 2 bump horns LOL) when he falls. Does he cry when he hits his head from a fall?

Georgia - sounds like you had a lovely trip away, how's your blue bump doing, thought of names yet? Almost the 3rd trimester gosh these pregnancies fly when they're not your own don't they? LOL. You might be surprised if you try the timeout mat with Lara, maybe she's just stubborn enough to turn it into a game like Jet :laughing:

Sare - Lara and Jet DO sound like kindred spirits - I had to laugh at her thinking the crowd was clapping for her, that sounds so much like Jet!!! Imagine if we ever get the two of them together. Hope that Eloise is over her tummy bug soon so that you get a bit of a break from sick kids.

Michelle - Good luck for a more durable one! Abbey always sounds like such a go-getter it surprises me when you talk about her being a wuss at the playground! We can't keep Jet away from the slide, he loves to go down headfirst on his belly *roll eyes*. He's not so keen on the swings, though, hates them actually. Maybe he still remembers being collected when he ran into a kid swinging...I hear you on the sleep issues, I think I have the same problem with Jet - smart enough to know that he wants Mummy's attention, ALL night long.

Sarah - love your belly. I really hope that your DH gets his 7 weeks' leave approved, that would be a godsend. After my experience with Jet I hate the thought of induction myself (and will do my utmost to avoid it next time!) but can totally understand why you're thinking of doing it.

Bec - pooh to your DP what's with these men and their selfish childishness! Don't they realise that having kids means it's time to grow up? Or maybe that's the problem, they don't want to...I reckon Ella would probably love the Dorothy show. Does she like watching the Wiggles on TV? I dream of the day that Jet will play at the park without me hovering to make sure he doesn't kill himself (he fell off some equipment just a couple of weeks ago, flat on his back luckily, it was DH's fault for not hovering close enough!) And even more of a fantasy for me is the day Jet's happy to leave the park on his own! at the moment it's an ordeal dragging him kicking and screaming to the car...:o

m_jelly
04-06-2008, 10:43
You know, I can just imagine Supernanny coming to my house and telling me everything is 'unasseptuble'. How can I expect my child to respect her possessions if the house is always untidy, I spend too much time on the computer, not enough imaginative play, a flexible routine, no timeouts, blah blah blah. Meh, don't care! I'm unasseptuble and proud, I just wish the cleaning fairies would visit. The cooking ones too.

For the tots in a big bed already, do they have a pillow? Abbey seems to really like having a pillow in my bed, I'm going to put it in her cot tonight and see if it helps. Mum's bringing me a single bed next visit, so I'll set that up in her room and we will snuggle there before cot while she gets used to it. Maybe she will be more inclined to sleep if she doesn't feel trapped, I know she certainly naps longer and wakes up happier when unrestrained by bars.

Am I the only parent who hasn't done the peanut test yet? I keep meaning to, but chickening out. We have to visit my SIL in hospital when she has her baby next week, I might pack a sandwich and do it there.

Kimba - when we leave the playground we detour somewhere else nearby first. Usually we are at the beach playgrounds, so we go visit the water. But it means she isn't leaving the playground as such, so no tantrums. Is there a transition area near your playground Jet might be distracted by?
Wonder why he wants to get up while its dark, is he chatty and happy or just grizzly? Maybe his blanky has been whispering to him.
When is the next visit to your parents to catch up on sleep?

Georgia - A NZ holiday sounds lovely. Yerp, I'm ttc, I'd love another girl.

GeorgiaAnne
04-06-2008, 12:14
Oh how exciting Michelle :babydust2: baby dust all round! My dh did the peanut test very early in the piece and didn't tell me, just used to let her chew on his peanut butter toast :rolleyes: Hospital's a good place to go into anaphylactic (sp?) shock though.
:hugs: Kimba on the sleep i've given up on a good night's sleep and figure I might as well let the idea slide for a few years :(:rolleyes:

I've had lots of pain last night and today not labourish just sharp and oweish and the baby has been bouncing around on my cervix, you know when it feels like their foot is pressing right on it. Remember that girls? :eek:

~Kimba~
04-06-2008, 18:53
When is the next visit to your parents to catch up on sleep?

:laughing::laughing::laughing::laughing: you're kidding right? I get less sleep there than I do at home. Jet's even more of an insomniac there than here (if that's possible), and they only have a double bed for us, so Jet and DH hog that and I end up clinging to the side for dear life...

No idea why he's waking up for so long in the night. It starts with him whining in his sleep then gets really restless and tosses and turns but can't get back to sleep. So then he's wide awake - and relatively happy and chatty. Better than screaming I guess...

Georgia - awww you're getting so close now...actually I never had that 'foot through the cervix' feeling, I think because Jet was head down from so early on. The owiest thing for me was the SPD ouchhhhhhh I don't miss that one bit.

Michelle - there's no pink baby dust so here have some blue :babydust2: and good luck! Jet has a flat little pillow but doesn't use it, he mostly sleeps on his tummy/ side. I did the peanut test before we went to Indonesia because so much stuff over there has peanuts I thought it best to check first with a bit of PB at home!

Re: transitional areas leaving the park, I think that's the problem, living in the inner city there's just nothing - we drive or walk to the park and there's nothing to distract him with when we leave. Except a food bribe! (lucky he's obsessed with green apples right now, makes it easy, heh)

SalTheGal
04-06-2008, 19:16
Evening all...

Nothing exciting happening in this neck of the woods, Nedd is same- adorable! He has apparently started asking after me towards the end of the daycare day, which is sweet as he has never really missed me that much!

I also had a good chat to my carer today about Nedd's food (she often sends the fruit home, and everything else it gone)...it was good to get it off my chest as I have been getting pretty frustrated, but I now see her struggle too- it turns out I am the only mum who really sends 'healthy' food :eek: :( such as fruit, cheese, muesli bars (not even that healthy!)- instead they send lots of prepackaged chips, tiny teddies and the like, and cakes/muffins...so she feels sorry for Nedd when he gets his fruit for morning tea and all the others get junk- not to mention the difficulty in getting Nedd to eat said fruit.

I am glad thought that I got the oppurtunity to re-inforce just how important healthy eating is to me, but now i also understand her difficulty- and almost feel guilty for causing Nedd to miss out!

Ah the joys of it all!

He has done a poo a couple of times since the last mention- but I am not really pursuing it, if the house is warm he has a run around in the evenings without nappy on, but doesn't always need to do a poo then, and the mornings are too cold to even bother.

He has only 'banged' a couple of times for the last two nights- consistently midnight and 4am- you can set your clock to it! And has been staying in his own bed till 6.30am so thats been nice....and now atleast you guys understand my difficulty in just ignoring it like all the professionals recommend...I just can't do it!

Interestingly enough- as much as it looks painful it clearly isn't!! :hair: I have been reassured that if he was hurting himself he wouldn't do it! Crazy child.

Peanut test- yep I gave Nedd a taste of peanut butter after twelve months- and all seemed fine, cept he didn't like the taste! That said I am still pretty wary about anything that contains nuts...its hard not to be!

Michelle, I think thats a brilliant idea to test Abbey in the hopsital- you're a thinker!

And re the playground, yep Nedd LOVES the slide, and has actually got it pretty down pat- if there are relatively safe steps to get up, then I can leave him to it, its nice as I can relax a bit! Abbey is perhaps going to be more of an 'academic' than an acrobat...atleast no fear of her running off to join the circus mid teens!

And good luck ttc...how exciting!

Re Nedd getting upset when he bumps his head- aka the devil bump the other day- he seriuosly has a very high pain threshold (thus the lack of hurt during the night) and any accidents get shrugged off very quickly... he will come up to me patting whichever bit he hurt saying "bang" I give it a rub and he is good as gold.

Kimba- poor you on the night wakings! Atelast we only have to go in an re-position Nedd, nothing worse than an awake child when you are exhausted. Just a thought- may or may not be any good, but we have a light and sound star thingty which projects pictures onto the roof- maybe something like that would entertain Jet in the night and soothe him back to sleep- its gold for Nedd. Bring on the long weekend! :hugs::hugs:

Sarah your belly is gorgeous! So exciting!

And melb girls I am going to send a PM for a catch up- its definitely time!!

OK, enough :ecomcity: from me, take care all.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-06-2008, 20:52
will be testing on friday...please send some :babydust2: lol.

no news to report here. we went to the park today, keanu loved it..he has been fabulos...oh, he fell head first over the side of the couch, at the moment we have the couch in the tiled living area as my mum and dad are staying in the carpeted lounge...when he fell he hit his head on the glass door...it was still red and a lump when i put him to bed...expecting it to be bruised tomorrow. was quite a big mark! ouch...he sat on the couch for 20 mins after - dp reckons he was probably concused - eek...his pupils were dilating/contracting fine...poor darling!

SalTheGal
04-06-2008, 21:04
Oh meant to add- happy birthday for yesterday (I think!) Jackie!!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
04-06-2008, 21:10
Thanks Sal :)

sare
05-06-2008, 19:07
Happy belated birthday Jackie. Hope you had a great day.
Any news yet. I hope you get your :bfp: tomorrow :babydust2:
How's Keanu been after his fall yesterday?

Sal - Good on you for speaking to Nedd's carer about his food. It's so hard when other people want to do different and offer cr@p to their kids. At school, well in the junior school anyway, the parents are asked not to send junk foods (most don't) and the kids must eat their fruit/vegies before anything else. I know in the 3/4 class, the tchr lets the kids have a snack whenever they like, as long as it is fruit/veg. It really has changed the attitude of a lot of kids and parents within the school.

Kimba - Do you have to get up to Jet when he wakes during the night? Or is he content enough to stay in his bed? I put some books in Lara's cot which she often looks at before I get to her and it sometimes stops her from crying.

Georgia - Owww. I can't remember that pain either, both girls have been head down faily early. How's the new house?

Michelle - Lara's had a normal pillow for ages (think I gave it to her just before she was 12 months when she had a cold).
I haven't done the peanut test either. I figure she'll be ok, seeing that she eats products containing nuts. Maybe I should do it though.

I had another day at home today as Eloise still wasn't 100%. It's been so nice having a schedule-free week, we all slept in until 9am this morning. :eek: I managed to do a stack of housework yesterday, I even cleaned the manky detergent drawer of my washing machine. I paid for it today though , I'm sore and exhausted. Unfortunately, I have to be up early tomorrow. Gotta go to work. At least I won't have to deal with my 2, who have been excessively whiney for the last 2 days.

Anyone doing anything exciting for the long weekend? We're not. Probably just going to the footy on Monday.

~Kimba~
05-06-2008, 19:31
happybirthdayJackie - hope you get your BFP that'd be an awesome birthday pressie, hey?

Jet got bashed in the eye at daycare yesterday with a toy car, by that same bully of a kid who used to bite him and push him around when he was little. GRRRRR. :banghead: so Jet has a black eye at the moment. I'm sure that kid does it because Jet's pretty tough and doesn't cry, so the kid thinks he won't get busted (he always does it when he thinks the carer has her back turned). Also, he's jealous of Jet, I can see it by the way he acts, even when I drop him off/ pick him up. I'm just glad that Jet isn't turning into a bully too...he's apparently still as sweet as ever with all the kids.

On a happier note, there's a little girl at daycare who apparently ADORES Jet, when her mum picks her up and says 'what did you do today, what did you play with' she says 'Jet! Jet! Jet!' :laughing:

Sare - wow a 9am sleepin, I bet that was lovely! you sound like you've been busy though, is that nesting urge kicking in already? We don't have plans for the weekend really, we were hoping to go for a picnic on Sunday but not if the weather stays like this. Oh and no I don't have to get up to Jet because I have him in our bed from his first wakeup (about 10pm), for that very purpose - so I don't have to get up later! If he's going to wake anyway at least I can stay in bed...He's been OK the last 2 nights though :fingerscrossed:

Sal - I'm glad Nedd's banging seems to be lessening a bit I hope that continues! totally understand your frustration with Nedd's food and I'm glad you spoke to the carer about it. I only pack healthy stuff for Jet too because I'm really strict with the additive-free diet we've got him on, I've made it really clear to his carer too. But his carer rarely sends his food home which is good (and it's usually only crackers, never fruit), and I don't think she lets them share. She's told me that she's impressed with Jet's diet and how healthy it is, so maybe that's why! Although she gives them her own biscuits (just Milk Arrowroot thankfully) and I know she gives Jet extra fruit too, if she's having some she'll share it with him. I had to ask her not to give him too much mandarin though, because on top of what he was having at home, he was getting acid poos LOL.

anyway :ecomcity: I better get off this computer and get some stuff done so I can have an early night. Hope you and the kidlets all sleep well!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
05-06-2008, 20:51
sal - glad to hear about nedds banging too :)

keanu has had a pillow for a while too.

um....i caved and tested today and got a :bfn: - in saying that i do not feel as tho AF is coming and with keanu i didn't test positive til the day i was due for AF...so still in for a chance, will just wait and see if AF arrives...if not will test again sunday!

:fingerscrossed:

keanu isnt too bad...been cranky bum today lol...just has a bruise on his head, the poor darl...but all good.

no news to report here...going out tomorrow night for my SIS in law bday....we arent big drinkers and since i may not know if im preg had better not drink lol!

Kimba - poor jet :hugs:

cheerio for now
xo

m_jelly
06-06-2008, 10:42
Big :babydust2: over you and your next test Jackie!

I've got candy. I'm so happy. I haven't had any for nearly 2 weeks, unless you count the home made biscuits I hoovered. Parcel guy just delivered some leopard print gumboots, so now I can be stylish while I binge.

Kimba - so sweet that Jet has a little girlfriend. But does he come home and chant her name? She might go Fatal Attraction on him!

Sare- are you nesting or just felt an urge to clean the detergent drawer? Want to come clean my house?

Sal - do you ask Nedd if he needs to poo or does he just go sit and surprise you?
Glad his banging is reducing, soon he will be down to once then none per night. Maybe your carer could set a rule like the daycare and kindys have that the food must be healthy. Did you resolve your outdoor activities and door opening concerns?

I saw the same thing at playgroup, its snack time and out come the little twisties and tiny teddies. Abbey headed straight over to beg from them of course. She likes to eat everyone else's food before she eats hers, but she does eat all of hers too.

She's been asking for food all day, I think she's having a growth spurt. Or just normal growing and normal hungry and I don't offer enough. She goes to the fridge and asks for cheese, or the freezer to beg for toast, or if she wants to know what else might be on offer she comes to me and asks for 'eat?'.

I got a bit concerned yesterday, she was watching lion king and the scene where Scar gets eaten by the hyenas came on, and she pipes up "EAT!". Fortunately it was a coincidence and she was force feeding dry cereal to Elmo, not enjoying a massacre.

beck75
06-06-2008, 13:38

I have been missing in action for a few days!

Jackie - good luck with a BFP - mine took a while to come and I checked a few times (something to do with my 50+ day cycle though)!

Sal - that is distressing to see Nedd do that. Oh and we FINALLY got our slab poured - yay!! Went past today and our wood has been delivered to site. We had to pay our first HUGE bill!

Sarah - :fingerscrossed: you can get DH home to help out. I can't imagine 3 boys and a baby!!

Michelle - good luck with TTC - so are you doing the donor thing? I probably missed a post somewhere but I remember you talking about it at one stage.

Sare - books in the cot is a good idea. When Kayley wakes up she just stands up in the cot and wells Mum....Mum.....Mum... and it keeps going until I get up!

Well I met with the obs midwife today and all is OK. She checked for bubs heartbeat on a doppler with no luck so she pushed me in with the ob for a quick scan and bubs is in there measuring fine and wriggling away (looks like I have another wriggler here as she foudn it very hard to measure becuase of the wiggling) - so it is all exciting. I am 10 weeks tomorrow - yay! Nuchal scan in 2 weeks then I guess I need to let work know. I have decided on the private ob, public hospital as a private patient combo so I hope that all works OK.

Well I have to run.

Have a great long weekend everyone!

SalTheGal
06-06-2008, 13:47
Super quicky as we walk out the door (DH is literally standing at the door waiting) have a lovely weekend everyone, we are off to the inlaws and bro's home town so should be nice. Mum and Dad have already set off earlier today with Nedd so we even have a 4hr trip plus peak hour drive child free- it will be bliss!!

I may be online sometime, otherwise take care and enjoy the holiday!

~Kimba~
07-06-2008, 18:39
Well, Jet's pretty much slept through (in our bed) from about 9pm-6am the last couple of nights :yelclap: but at a cost - he's gone from a 2 hour nap to only sleeping for an hour or less in the day (then being grumpy all afternoon) and refusing to go to bed at night (takes up to 2 hours to get him to sleep). You just can't win can you? LOL :confused:

Even as I type this he's grizzling in his room chanting Mummy Mummy Mummy and starting to work himself up into a bit of a state. I've already been back in there once to read 3 more books and resettle him in bed, but within 5 minutes he's whinging again...Last time I left him to grizzle like this, he took off his pants and nappy before he eventually went to sleep naked! so by the time I found him like that, he'd peed all over the bed :doh:So now I don't really dare just leave him to whinge himself to sleep any more! LOL.

Sal - hope you have a lovely weekend away - how nice to have the car to yourself!

Beck - glad to hear your bub is wriggling away in there, wow time flies, you're almost ready for the NT scan already!

Michelle - gotta love leopard print gumboots I'm a bit partial to those myself! Jet asks for food all the time, I just offer meals at mealtime and the rest of the time if he wants a snack he'll tell me exactly what he wants. It's so much easier now they can tell us!

Jackie - hope you had a good night out and I've got my fingers crossed for your BFP!

OK better go, he's howling now :( - have a good weekend all!

m_jelly
10-06-2008, 11:29
How was everyone's weekend?

First, bug hugs for Jackie and mega baby dust for next month. We can be July bfp buddies!

I have an extra baby today. My nephew is 4 months younger than Abbey and his mummy and daddy went to hospital at the crack of dawn to have another baby. He and Abbey have been having a great time, Abbey more than anything else. Calling to play hide and seek (which he doesn't understand), calling him to play chasey (which confuses him) and taking everything off him and saying 'no' which makes him sad. 4 months difference is so small, but so big right now! He doesn't go to playgroup or see other bubs much so Abbey takes a little getting used to. But once they acclimatized I got ignored and very bored. Nobody wants to play with me!

They're both napping right now, which I was a bit worried about, juggling 2 tots by myself, but it was easy. Okay, he's no longer napping, he's awake and calling to be released. Darn it. Where are the tranqs?

Super duper speedy post now. I got a great email yesterday telling me I'd won a bunch of toys and stuff for Abbey. Includes disney dress up costumes, dvds, books, $550 of fisher price toys, and a gorgeous hand made kiddy table and chairs from 'left hand make'. I'd post the link to the furniture but I don't want to get my hand smacked. I can't wait for the table in particular, Abbey is just the right age to sit and paint and playdoh and a little table would be perfect.

okay, baby rescue mission away!

sare
11-06-2008, 09:10
:wave: girls,

Not much happening here. We had a nice weekend, just Monday sucked (sore back and earache all day, so I just lay on the couch all afternoon...I was supposed to go to the footy). It was nice to have dh home for 3 days straight though, he was great looking after the girls. Eloise has become a real daddy's girl and Lara is slowly warming to the idea of daddy doing things for her instead of mummy (she better get used to it soon!)

I'm going to jinx myself here, I can see it, but Lara is finally back to sleeping 11+hrs at night. I wish I was sleeping as well, but the pg niggles have already started. At least I'm not having to get up to her during the night.

I'm doing ok. Can't believe I'm over 17 weeks already. I go for my scan in 2.5wks. I'm still planning on having a surprise, but that won't stop me from scrutinising the dvd when I got home. I spotted 3 lines on each of the girls dvds when I watched them later, so who knows.

Michelle - Hope you survived yesterday ok. Good luck getting your :bfp: next month.

Kimba - Lara's day sleeps have gone all haywire too, some days she will only sleep 40 mins other she will sleep 2+hrs. I'm not so fussed if she sleeps well at night. It's not as if I get to rest when she's asleep anyway, because I usually have Eloise at my feet saying do this mummy, can I do that mummy?

Sal - Hope you had a lovely weekend away.

Beck - Wow that's gone fast. Are you planning on finding out whether you've got a girl or boy cooking in there?
Did you try the books in the cot? Still works well for Lara. This morning I went in to her at 8.45am and there she was reading one of her wiggles books.

Jackie - Sorry to hear about your :bfn:. Like Michelle said, I hope you both get BFPs next month :babydust2:

Lara's just learnt the word again. So we're now having to do things time and time again. Even if she sees me doing something with Eloise and she wants to be part of it too, she pipes up with again. It's cute. She's also really start to string words together into phrases. Her lastest are "I broke it' or 'I drop it'. She's a little monkey, she deliberately drops something and then looks at you all innocently and says 'I drop it'. She's just done it with the telephone.

She's also big into drawing at the moment. It's a bit of a worry because she doesn't understand that you're only supposed to draw on paper, so it looks like I'm going to have to invest in those magic cleaning square.

Better go, we're still not showered and Eloise has kinder on later (and I'm on for kinder duty). Take care. Hope you and your families are all well...

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 09:26
Hi chicks
Wow Sare - I can't believe how fast it's going. I'm sure you'll be able to tell from your u/s dvd, you'd better share the news :D Sophia's cheeky too and deliberately drops/breaks stuff then looks up with palms open and wide eyes saying "Oh nooo" all innocence. Her word for broken though is "bider" which I have no idea where it came from but she's been saying it for ages.
Kimba - I'd take the night sleep any day, Sophia is so inconsistent at the moment.

I think i've lost the battle with my pg weight now as it seems i've lost my collarbones :thumbsdown: I've still been getting the sharp pains and had a u/s yesterday which seemed fine 'cept for a big baby 31 weeks head and leg measurements :eek:
Hope you're all well xx

sare
12-06-2008, 09:04
I knew I shouldn't have said anything yesterday. I was on the phone until midnight with a friend. Then went to bed, Eloise came down around 2am and dh was too tired to take her to bed, so let her in ours, so I couldn't get comfortable. Then at 4am Lara woke up screaming, she had a temp of almost 39 deg (a reaction from the chicken pox vacc), but also had shocking diarrhoea and nappy rash. So she had to come to bed with us to settle her. There was no way the 4 of us would fit into our bed so we put Eloise back in her bed. I'm soooooo tired. Luckily it's only kinder and a trip to medicare today, so we can all have a rest.

I hope she's better soon. I hate seeing them sick.

Georgia - I'm hearing you on the weight gain. I'm not eating chocolate or drinking fizzy drinks this time around, but I think I've put onm more weight than I had at the same stage with Lara. Oh well, it will all just have to come off after.
How's it all looking for your VBAC?

Take care...

GeorgiaAnne
12-06-2008, 09:29
Oh you poor thing Sare, it always happens when I brag I then have a shocker:rolleyes:
All is looking good so far for vbac, thanks for asking. I'm booked at the birth centre and am starting to think more about waterbirth now as well. The middies have been great so far and have reminded me that after getting through 16 hours of syntocinon with just gas I can do anything :D I feel the same way and am really trying to feel that I can trust my body iykwim? The OB also told me that low folate levels can cause APH which is why I was induced last time so I am being a bit more careful to remember to take it this time!

m_jelly
13-06-2008, 11:01
Its quietsville in here lately

My darling has been telling me when she poos now, and sometimes before. Pats her crotch and coyly says poo or I did poo. Half the time there's nothing there, so either she is doing farts and has declared anything that comes out of her bottom to be poo, or she is working on one. Still refusing to sit on her potty even for fun, but that will pass. Meantime she can eat meals naked without accident, so its all good.

Beck - good choice on the private/public combo, it should go well and save you a bunch of money too.

Sare - "On the paper!" is an ongoing chant around here. Abbey loves drawing inside, but she always tries to sneak off and decorate something else, like the fridge, walls, toys or me. I just say "on the paper" and she goes back to it. It gets confusing I'm sure, as outside with chalk she can draw on whatever she wants, including me. If she's outside with chalk, and can reach it, she's allowed to draw on it. The only thing I don't like is that she sometimes puts her chalk in a bucket of water to watch it fizz, and it takes days to dry.

My brother had a baby boy, 4kilos, 50cm long, via c-sec. They took an hour of poking to fail at the epi and she had it under general instead. Baby wasn't particularly impressed by this, and was in the humidicrib for most of the day. I know its incredibly controversial but why would any woman choose that over vaginal birth? I just don't get it. :confused: Oh, they named him Lucas. We haven't been to see them yet, so I don't know how Abbey will react to mummy holding a newborn. Probably won't care and will be too busy stickybeaking!

Nothing much else happening around here, lots of playing, reading and squealing for fun.

One question though - when your bubs run around for say 10 minutes do they start coughing? Abbey does, and its not because she's unfit, as that's completely impossible, I was thinking it might be an asthma thing. She doesn't wheeze, but maybe only because I declare coughing time as game over time. My sibs and I nearly all have asthma to some degree so I wouldn't be surprised.

~Kimba~
13-06-2008, 12:54

Jet's had a bit of a cold and ongoing cough for weeks now but scared the bejeezus out of us on Wed afternoon, he came home hot and 'unwell' from daycare then spiked a fever of 40.4 :eek:. Had a really rough night, then the fever just disappeared again yesterday. Doc says it's 'just a virus' (as usual) - scary to see Jet's temp leap up like that though! He's given us Ventolin syrup to try to ease the cough so Jet can sleep, otherwise he coughs all night...

Jet's new obsession is to take off his pants and nappy. Also he tells me when he's pooed, and even sometimes when he's 'wet', but then runs away because he doesn't want me to change him. Which I really don't get, given that he's usually hellbent on trying to get his pants and nappy off? So I'm thinking maybe he's just sick of nappies full stop? Which would be great for TT IF I could get him to sit on the potty at the right time (he currently uses it as a ride-on to scoot around on the hard floors, or as a toybox LOL), but it seems that part of the equation just hasn't dropped. And winter is a bad time to let him run around with a bare bum so I can catch him in the act...

Michelle - congrats on the latest addition to your family. Having had an emerg c-sect I definitely wouldn't opt for a c-sect over vaginal birth unless it was necessary, the recovery is tough and I firmly believe the drugs adversely impact breastfeeding. But hey, her choice, she must have her reasons.

Re: Abbey coughing, no Jet doesn't cough from running around, but he does cough all night long at the moment! You could be right about the asthma though, because coughing is a sign isn't it. Also, does Abbey eat lots of sultanas & dried fruit? Sulphur dioxide can aggravate coughing and asthma symptoms, esp if she's genetically predisposed to asthma...worth looking into maybe? some info here (http://www.fedupwithfoodadditives.info/factsheets/Factdriedfruit.htm)

Georgia - LOL at the disappearing collarbones and yowza on the big bouncing boy you're cooking in there. Good to hear your VBAC is coming along well, and go the waterbirth - that's what I really wanted with Jet, until it all went pearshaped - maybe next time!

Sare - Hope Lara is OK. If there's no room in your bed I'd be leaving DH with the girls and sneaking off to have a rest on my own. Although, that would never happen here - Jet needs 'mummy' not daddy :rolleyes:. I had to laugh at Lara and her 'i drop it', Jet's like that with breaking things, he'll deliberately rip his book so he can bring it to me and say 'I broke it' and then ask 'mummy fix it?' :laughing:

SalTheGal
13-06-2008, 13:02
Hi all, reading but not posting, too blah to write anything! Got a cold and just over things atm...nothing major just a case of the winter blues I think (ajd a seriously major case of hormonal "I want a baby now" meltdowns!)

Hopefully will get a chance to sit and have a proper catch up with a glass of wine tonight- was trying to lay off the grog but think I need it!!

GeorgiaAnne
16-06-2008, 15:06
Hi luvs
We're all a bit quiet atm aren't we? I'm pretty boring at the moment also, not much to report.
Sophia is great - sleep is still erratic. Her talking is getting a bit better and tt is going pretty well when she's at home but day care haven't done much which is a bit annoying. She is obsessed with brushing her teeth and using the potty and just says all the time "I wanna poo" and gets all screechy if I don't put her on the potty immediately (even if I know she doesn't need to go :rolleyes:)
Time for a phot update girls, I must get onto flickr. Have you guys got any new ones for us to see?
Love your belly Sarah - how gorgeous!
Sare - You popping out yet?

sare
16-06-2008, 18:31

Not much to report here either.

Lara is finally better, but boy did she cop it bad. Eloise is being good and helpful most of the time. So at the moment life is good.

The baby is moving heaps, just no kicks yet, but I have an anterior placenta (for the 3rd time!), so it still may be a few more weeks until I feel a kick. I had an appointment with my OB today and he couldn't find the heartbeat with the doppler again, so I got to see the baby on the ultrasound machine. It's looking so much bigger. Only 2 weeks to go until I get my 20 wk u/s :smiliedance:

Georgia - I certainly have popped out. I'll be massive come November.
That's fantastic that Sophia is wanting to use the potty. That was half the battle with Eloise, she just didn't want to sit on the loo.

Sal - :hugs: At least the shortest day of the year is coming soon, so it won't be so dark early. I know that's one thing that used to get to me when I was working full time, dark when I left for work, dark when I got home.
Have you got a ttc timeframe going yet? I hope it happens super quick for you.

Kimba - Hope Jet's feeling tonnes better. I would have freaked at a temp of 40.4.

Michelle - Lara's started telling us when she's pooed too. But she says pop off. She can't tell the difference between a fart and a poo. Well she can but calls them both pop offs. She giggles whenever she or anyone else farts...potty mind already!
Oh and no-one can discretly fart, she yells out pop off at the top of her lungs, no matter who is around :laughing:

Sarah - Any news on the induction? You must be so excited. Or maybe, as you haven't posted in the last few days, you've had your little girl already.
Better go and have my dinner. The girls have eaten already. Take care...hope you are all well.

m_jelly
16-06-2008, 20:02
Sarah wasn't due yet was she? That's just mind blowing.

Sare - are you going to find out the sex? Does your ob just do a quick there it is scan each visit, not the actual measuring and counting organs?

Georgia - That's great on the I wanna poo all day, I'm sure Abbey means that when she says poo and it doesn't eventuate all day. Too many bananas!

Sal - are you over the winter blues yet? Move to QLD, we don't get the blues, its too sunny. Although I have been spending some time each day sitting on sunshine patches. I just find it really nice to be able to bask in winter sunshine without immediately burning.
Any news on the ttc timeline?

Kimba - wow that's a scary fever. Least he didn't go into febrile convulsion, I know I would absolutely freak if Abbey did that. Does Jet run away from nappy changes as a game? I have no solution for that one, I always have to catch my stinker by cornering and pouncing.

Re the sulphites, yep I avoid them in the house anyway as they set me off. Sultanas are usually safe, its the other fruits that have them. I'm starting to think I might be celiac which means she would probably be too, so I'll have to overhaul our diets for a trial period anyway.

Well things aren't boring around here, not boring to me anyway. I won't be getting a bfp this cycle as I missed the magic window so next time. We got 2 boxes of toys as part of the prize package today and Abbey spent all day playing with the 2 I let her have (the rest are put away for birthday and xmas). She got a Little People playhouse and an Ernie doll. Ernie came shopping with us and told me everything he wanted to eat, and her Little People had a very busy day flushing their toilet and answering the phone.
I LOVE the imaginative play they come up with!

SalTheGal
17-06-2008, 09:38
Hey all..boring day here. I have new product training in syd thurs/fri this week, so I am working from home pre-reading learning materials in preperation this week...it is so boring, I am reading about schizophrenia and anti-pyschotics, which would be interested cept it is all technical ****, finding it really hard not to drift off into BH land for hours on end!

Nedd is great, touch wood he has been healthy for ages now, I am sure he is going to get hit with something nasty sooner or later, we have just had too good a run so far. He is advancing in leaps and bounds at the moment, just in the last week is starting to put together sentences, and OMG he can count- to 6!!! :eek: I have no idea how he leant to six, we do to 3 or 4 all the time...but now once we get to three he shouts out four.five.six, very clever! Not that he knows what he is actually doing- its all just words to him.

I am finally starting to see him as a little boy- not a baby, anyone else have trouble with this transition? I would often look at bubs his age- mostly all your lot, and think Nedd seemed so much less mature than them all, and more babyish in his features (doesn't help that he has no hair!), but I have really been trying to look at him from outside eyes more- specially at his pics and videos, and am finally accepting that he is acting his age, and he is growing up! :crying: I want my baby back!!

Speaking of babies...after much angst and strife between DH and I we have finally decided that next month all going smoothly with the building we will start TTC...he has been avoiding the conversation with me, so I brought it up in counselling (perfect way to corner him!) and we finally managed to have a semi civil talk about what we both want...so Michelle and Jackie, we might be having April babies all together next year!

I haven't been charting- to lazy and just too much else going on to add one more thing to the mix. I really wanted to try for another boy, but I also really want to fall pregnant again as soon as possible, so don't want to diminish my chances by only BDing at a certian time when the window is small if that makes sense.. I figure we will just go at it like rabbits when we start so that we give it our best shot!! I have been checking my cervical opening though each day and thats been really interesting to see how it changes over the month (sorry it TMI)!

Michelle- ok, I have to ask, and feel free to keep your privacy if you wish, but how are you TTC? I am just so curious...and I never was one not to ask the burning q's! I am presuming turkey baster- but could be way wrong...and how have you decided who will be the sperm donor? Good luck, I would be so excited if we had bubbies together again!!

And DH would move to QLD in a flash- so would I TBH, I love it up there, cept I am just to darn attached to my family...I'd get homesick. :o

Enjoy your prizes lucky thing- how awesome is that!!!:smiliedance:

Nedd calls out whenever he, or anyone else for that matter does a pop too- it is hilarious, and burps....plus DH has been teaching him to do fake burps, so if you ask him he will make this gutteral noise down in his throat- it is so cute!!

We have also unbeknowingly taught him to say 'sexy legs'- in the car he pulls up his pants to show off his legs, and we would call them his sexy legs, so now any legs on show are sexy legs....not such a great idea!! I think we need to remember we now have a parrot in the house.

When it comes to things such as drawing Nedd's predictable nature and lack of adventure come into play- he has a chalkboard which we stick paper onto- and yanno- I don't think it has even crossed his mind that he could draw elsewhere! Daft child he is! :p

Glad to hear Sare you have been having a relatively easy time of it, and that Eloise is being good...fingers crossed it continues!

And hope everyone else is well...my cold is nearly gone, I just have the rotten asthma cough when the night air comes in, which since our bedroom is an icebox continues late into the night, so I am not getting much sleep.

Kinda looking forward to Syd so I can get a break in the weather, and a properly heated room to sleep in. :goodvibes:

M~T~J~M
17-06-2008, 12:26
Love your belly Sarah - how gorgeous!

Lara is finally better, but boy did she cop it bad. Eloise is being good and helpful most of the time. So at the moment life is good.

The baby is moving heaps, just no kicks yet, but I have an anterior placenta (for the 3rd time!), so it still may be a few more weeks until I feel a kick. I had an appointment with my OB today and he couldn't find the heartbeat with the doppler again, so I got to see the baby on the ultrasound machine. It's looking so much bigger. Only 2 weeks to go until I get my 20 wk u/s :smiliedance:

Sarah - Any news on the induction? You must be so excited. Or maybe, as you haven't posted in the last few days, you've had your little girl already.
Better go and have my dinner. The girls have eaten already. Take care...hope you are all well.

Hi Sare, Good to hear Lara is feeling better! Touch wood here, my boys haven't been sick for a long time either. Good to hear the Eloise is being a good girl too...perhaps we could get her to teach M how to be good?? He is being a real little handful atm, I'm almost at my wits end!
YAY, getting to see your little baby on ultrasound! How exciting that in 2 weeks, you'll have your 20 week scan. These pregnancise sure do fly when chatting on the net, don't they??

I had an acupuncture appoint last night, to prepare my body for labour, and will start the natural induction acupuncture treatments on Monday (If I last that long, lol). I've been getting some pretty bad BH's, each day now, and there is also plenty of pressure on the cervix now too...stops me in my tracks! I'm looking forward to having our new baby, but I think I'm feeling a little flat at the same time. Just how am I going to do it with 4 children under 5?? I guess I am lucky that DH will be here for 7 weeks, but it's still a little daunting right now!
Also, my cousin went into premature labour (21 weeks) on Saturday, and gave birth to twin girls, both stillborn. It's a very upsetting time for us all, and is taking the focus off our new baby (without wanting to sound selfish). Even my Mum's excitement about our new arrival has partly disappeared due to their loss. It's a hard time right now, that's for sure.

Sarah wasn't due yet was she? That's just mind blowing.

Well things aren't boring around here, not boring to me anyway. I won't be getting a bfp this cycle as I missed the magic window so next time.

:yes: pretty much due Michelle!! I'm 38 weeks this week, but am starting natural induction treatments next week due to my OB going on holidays next Friday...so hopefully, next week I'll be announcing the arrival of our new baby :bee:
Bummer about the BFN for this month. Sending lots of good 'magic window vibes' for next month!!

and OMG he can count- to 6!!! :eek: I have no idea how he leant to six, we do to 3 or 4 all the time...but now once we get to three he shouts out four.five.six, very clever! Not that he knows what he is actually doing- its all just words to him.

Speaking of babies...after much angst and strife between DH and I we have finally decided that next month all going smoothly with the building we will start TTC...he has been avoiding the conversation with me, so I brought it up in counselling (perfect way to corner him!) and we finally managed to have a semi civil talk about what we both want...so Michelle and Jackie, we might be having April babies all together next year!

What a clever little boy NEDD!! YAY!!
That's exciting news Sal!! Here's hoping the BFP you've been dreaming of arrives really quickly!!

Not much else here.....J is being an absolute poo head lately. Just so grumpy! I have no idea what the problem is....perhaps he's tired or something?? He sleeps a good coupld of hours during the day, and has his 12 - 13 hours at night, but he's still being so grumpy. He's not unwell either, so it really has me stumped!! M is being a real little terror too, and it's driving me crazy! I seem to have to repeat myself over and over, and over again before he'll even listen to one word that I say, Grrrr. Bring on next year when he goes to school I say, lol!! Hopefully he'll settle down a little whilst DH is home on leave. T is just as adorable as ever, and is really only misbehaving when prompted by M. Boys!!

Anyway, best be off to do the load of washing that's just finished. I'm taking the boys to get their hair cut this afternoon - in the moods they're in, you'd better wish me luck, lol!! Hope all is good!!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
17-06-2008, 12:49
Aww Sal, hopefully we all get BFP's and have our bubs at the same time...that would be awesum lol.

not much to report here, it is wet and raining! argh!

GeorgiaAnne
17-06-2008, 15:07
Sarah - I'm so sorry about your cousin's loss, that is just tragic :hugs:
As for you dealing with 4 under 5 - I have no idea, I think you're superwoman so i'm sure you'll be fine! I would say we're all here for you but I doubt you'll have time to muck around on the computer!

M~T~J~M
17-06-2008, 19:37
Sarah - I'm so sorry about your cousin's loss, that is just tragic :hugs:
As for you dealing with 4 under 5 - I have no idea, I think you're superwoman so i'm sure you'll be fine! I would say we're all here for you but I doubt you'll have time to muck around on the computer!

It is, just tragic. The funeral is on Thursday, and is for family and friends. It's in the afternoon, so it looks like I'll be able to go. It's going to be a really hard one, let me tell you.

Time for the computer?? :laughing: I'll make time!! If it's the only time I get to myself, I'll make sure I can fit it in somewhere, lol!! Apologies in advance if I'm not posting monthly though, lol!!

m_jelly
17-06-2008, 20:14
I'm feeling guilty. I have finally weaned Abbey. Or been too slack to give her the only boobie feed left for the past 3 days. I didn't make a conscious decision to cut out the boob, I just got sick of the 5am pawing and stopped doing it. She doesn't miss it, doesn't come looking for it, hasn't for ages. I was using it as an early morning sedative. She now snuggles into me and goes back to sleep anyway.

Question - how long before my boobs dry up? She hasn't had a feed from the right boob in at least 2 months and its still juicy and leaks a bit.

Sarah - that is truly heartbreaking about your cousin. I hope the funeral isn't too stressful for you though.

Sal - I'm always looking at Abbey and seeing her in a new light. She really is no longer a baby. She's working on facial expressions at the moment apparently, she really does remind me of a very small 6 year old sometimes!
As to my ttc - I'm an international woman of mystery. I'll state that I am not a hermaphrodite and that I have not put out a red light. :laughing:

SalTheGal
17-06-2008, 20:37
Sarah- so sorry to hear bout your cousin...lots of hugs to you all.

Take care of yourself, and don't put too much strain on yourself during the funeral. :hugs: :hugs:

That little bubby girl of yours is going to be here in no time!

Michelle- You so should not feel guilty- you have given Abbey such a wonderful start with feeding, and she is obviously a big grown up girl now who doesn't need it...are you enjoying the snuggles instead of the feed?

I adore my early morning snuggles with Nedd. He now consistently comes into our bed bout 6.20am, but knows it isn't up time till 7am, so cuddles into me and whispers sweet nothings in my ear, sometimes snoozes again sometimes not, but always is quiet and calm. And when he does chat it is always a whisper- it amazes me that he even knows how to whisper, let alone that it is what is required at that time of the day. He will often grope for my face in the dark and give me gorgeous early morning sloppy kisses, then wraps his arms around my neck for cuddles. aww love him much? Me thinks! :yes:

And atleast you've answered my concerns bout being a hermaphrodite- I had thought bout it...could have been a possibility, but glad to hear your not that abnormal! :laughing:

However it happens, :fingerscrossed: it happens and you have a wonderful little brother or sister for Abbey to play with!

sare
18-06-2008, 13:34
Sarah - I just wanted to say how sorry I am for your cousin's loss.
Sorry to hear that M has been a bit of a pain for you. If it's any consoliation (which I am sure it won't be...) Eloise was a right royal PITA yesterday. I should learn to never post when good things happen because I just jinx myself :p
Got my :fingerscrossed: that things start happening soon for you. And I agree with Georgia, you're a supermum and have done so well in raising 3 gorgeous boys by yourself a lot of the time.

Michelle - You deserve to be applauded not feel guilty. I think you've lasted the longest out of all of us breastfeeders. Well done. Congrats on having your boobs back to yourself :laughing:
Nope we're not going to find out the sex this time either, I like having a surprise. My OB has only done a quick scan the last couple of times because he couldn't detect the heartbeat on the doppler. He said that's he's been having a bit of trouble with it and needs to buy a new one, but I am more than happy for him to check on bubs with the ultrasound machine.

Sal - Great news about ttc. Probably a good way to deal with the converstaion at the counsellors too. I hope there's 3 :bfp: announcements in the next month.
lol at Nedd and his fake burps...boys will be boys.
Oh and you'd appreciate this dh decided on Sunday after the Blues win that #3 will be a Carlton supporter. Over my dead body...he has no hope, this baby will be signed up as a Collingwood member as soon as we get home from hospital :laughing:

I better go...Eloise is at kinder and Lara is asleep, so I really should make the most of this time and clean at least one room of my messy house. Lounge room here I come...

~Kimba~
18-06-2008, 19:57
:crying: Oh Sarah I'm so sorry for your cousin's tragic loss. That's such a sad, sad thing to happen. Lots of hugs to all and I hope the funeral isn't too hard on you.

Not much else to say except a quick Hello to everyone - I'm reading just don't have much to say (for a change! LOL). Hope you and the kids are all well :wave:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
18-06-2008, 20:50
:hugs: sarah, so so sorry to hear about your cousin. :crying:

not much to report here, taking keanu shopping tomorrow.

Oh a question - i am looking at getting him a trike (the ones with the handle on the back and the harness)...has anyone got one? was thinking it would be good for his 2nd birthday - am i leaving it too late? or do u think its a good idea?

jackie

sare
19-06-2008, 07:14
Jackie, Lara got one for Christmas. She hasn't used it heaps, but does enjoy it.

Eloise for the Christmas after she turned 2 (so she would have been 2 and 3 months) was bought a small bike with a handle and training wheels. She has gotten so much use out of it and will get quite a bit more. Check out bike stores and see what you think. We opted for the bike, just because at 2, she was not going to get a lot of use out of the trike.

Have fun shopping today.

GeorgiaAnne
19-06-2008, 09:07
Hi chicks
How are we - Mary-Anne - how are you going, love? we haven't heard from you in a while!:wave:
Sare - Thanks for the tip with the bike, we want to get Sophia something as she gets really ratty at the park watching the other kids on theirs and doesn't understand why she can't use theirs. I guess she's used to day care where everyone shares everything?
Kimba - Shall we try for a cuppa tomorrow? I'll txt you in a sec....
Sarah - Thinking of you at the funeral today:gloomy: Big hugs
Michelle - Good on you for going 'til now, you've done an amazing job to get this far!
Sal - What a cutie Nedd is, I can never get Sophia to lie still with us in bed unless she has a doddle (bottle) which I only give to her to bribe a cuddle (bad mummy :p)

All is well here i'm 29 weeks today so I really need to start sorting out things or this baby, i'm not nearly as organised as I was last time. I was all set and ready at 24 weeks with Sophia!

~Kimba~
19-06-2008, 12:05
Working from home today...Jet had a fever again last night, poor bubba, so neither of us got much sleep. But he was fine again by this morning :confused:

Jet's carer just told me she's 'worried' about Jet because he's really changed in the last few weeks, has become really quiet and withdrawn, not talking as much as he was, hanging back from the other kids, and will now sit and play by himself for longer periods (which I would have thought was age appropriate?) - and that he generally seems 'sad' :(

We haven't noticed a change in him at home though - he never shuts up, has new words and sentences every day, and seems as happy and active as ever. Except when I drop him at daycare - then he seems anxious, goes silent and super clingy, wraps himself around my neck and doesn't want me to go - but I thought that was just normal separation anxiety for his age?

So now I'm worried that Jet is unhappy at daycare or that something there is bothering him. I wish he could tell me what was wrong :crying: What do you guys reckon?

It was a few weeks ago that he got bashed in the face with a toy car by the resident bully, I wonder if that's part of the problem, maybe he's intimidated? Or maybe it's just him getting older and more aware and realising he doesn't want to be there, he wants to be with us? My poor little man, I just want him to be happy, I already feel guilty enough about him being in daycare at all...

Georgia - 29 weeks already!!! if you need any boys stuff let me know, I have a garage full! LOL. Tomorrow should be OK if Jet is well and I go to the office - I'll let you know.

Jackie - Jet got a trike with handle for Xmas and he loves it. I take him to the park on it, and (finally) we rarely have dramas leaving the park now because he's so happy to get back on his bike! who knew it would be that easy! LOL. And DH takes him for walks on it too which is great because he rarely used to take him out in the stroller (not 'manly' enough I guess!? LOL). I think he'll still get a lot more use out of it because he's not even pedalling himself yet, probably at least another year or two, and then #2 can have it. Ours is a Berchet, if you want a brand recommendation!

Sarah :hugs: thinking of you at the funeral today

Sare - if I had some me time and I was pg I'd be grabbing a nanna nap, not cleaning!

Sal - Nedd is so clever with his counting! And so good that he comes into your bed and is quiet and cuddly. Jet is usually awake at 6 and noisy and up for the day, wanting me to go put on the TV or a DVD (so I can get 30min more sleep LOL)

beck75
19-06-2008, 12:38

Congrats Sal for finally getting to TTC - hope it happens quickly for you!

Sare - you are so good going for a surprise! I already know I will find out.

Well 12wk scan tomorrow. I am a little nervous as I had a bit of an accident last weekend. We have a fisher price swing hanging in the garage which is quite high up and Kayley was getting put in it then freaked and just jumped. So I lunged to catch her which was fine but I ran into the top of one of the outdoor chairs (wooden) and the corner hit me hard in the pelvis. I had a bit of a meltdown but have had no bleeding or anythign so hope it is all OK. Well only another day to wait!

Kayley has been good and everything going well here. Ihave noticed she seesm to have got even better and her talking lately and has turned into a little chatterbox. She is starting to count and pick out colours (not always correctly) which is cute. She can count to 10 when she concentrates but often misses 2 and 5!

Sarah - a new baby soon - must be nervous - I am worried about having 2!!

Sare - it is great when you can feel them. I actually have thought I have felt a few things recently which is very early but not impossible. I was feeling Kayley clearly at 15weeks so maybe? I had the same issue with no H/B on the doppler so had a quick scan at 9weeks and I already had a wiggler!

Kimba - I hope Jet is better soon. Maybe getting hit has made him a bit scared. He may be a bit of a loner too. I don't think Kayley plays much with others at childcare and is usually off by herself but I am not too worried about it (if only she spent more time by herself here!!).

Georgia - I can't believe you are 29 weeks already - time is flying!

Anyway I have to run so hello to everyone else I missed and have a good weekend!

m_jelly
19-06-2008, 12:50
Hooley dooley. I just got a cheque from the child support agency for $400. I've never gotten one of them before. I'm reeling that Owen has been paying the bills they send him, or having his pay docked, and all without complaining to me. He's not even mentioned it! Wonder if I will hear about it next weekend or if we're going to ignore the elephant in the room.
Its going to come in really handy. Mum brought over a bed for Abbey today, its super ugly hot pink tubular steel bunk beds that we are leaving the top bunk off, but it will suffice until I clean it up and repaint it. I just have to buy a mattress and bedding for it. Mum had a nicer bed for her but my brother lost his job and needed a bed to free up the cot for the new baby, and a pink bed wouldn't be quite right for a little boy. I'll also be able to get her new car seat a little bit earlier than my budget planned.

sorry, complete and utter shock has me rambling

Kimba - if Jet is fine and alert with you I wouldn't worry medically, but you might be right that he is laying low having learned from experience. Hopefully it will pass and he will join in with the other kids again. Can the carer coax him into playing and having fun?

Georgia - nothing wrong with bribing cuddles, they last longer than spontaneous ones!

Sal - That's so cute with the whispers. Abbey went through a whispering phase but is back to touching me nose to nose and giggling to wake me up. I can only ignore such cuteness if the sun isn't up yet.

Abbey spent yesterday dressed as Tigger, and a short stint today as Eeyore. The kids are here and encourage her to dress up and dance. Ah..its good to have stuff to shame them about when they are older!

She slept in until 9am yesterday so I skipped her lunchtime nap, she played with kids instead. When they left I put play school on for her, went to check on her when it finished and found her fast asleep on the floor, head down, bum up. She must have been so exhausted to just lie and down and nod off! Hadn't complained at all though. She must be getting big.

sare
19-06-2008, 13:56

I thought I'd share my bargain with you in case any of you guys are interested.

I have just been to the identity direct website and they have personalised disney clocks on special for $4.95 :eek: I just ordered 3 for the boys from Mothers Group for Christmas. Plus if you go through to the checkout and then click on the cross to close the page a chat box pops up offering you a code for free postage. Too good for me to not get.

Anyhow, enjoy the rest of your day. I really must get my Maths lesson for the preps planned.

GeorgiaAnne
19-06-2008, 14:07
Nice one on the cheque Michelle, that's fab! You're a better person than me - I would def. be kicking up a fuss if I were you to get the child support :o
Kimba - Sophia went through a stage like that. They said "she didn't smile all day" and that sort of thing. It passed and she is happy again. As long as you trust the day care lady and you know all is well at home you can only think it is just a phase he is going through :hugs: though, it is hard to think of them being unhappy. re: tomorrow, let's be in touch then. I'll come down your way this time.
Beck - Ouch on your accident :no: I look forward to hearing about your scan!

SalTheGal
19-06-2008, 14:38
Hey all, on tea break from training, and reading.

Kimba- Just read your post and thinking maybe it is an age thing? Spoke to DH this morning, and for the first time ever Nedd was in hysterics last night wanting me...about 1am he is in tears screaming and pushing DH away asking for Mama :no: :rain: He has never done that before so I thinking maybe they are just getting to that age where they are more aware of the fact that we aren't there when they want us to be?

I feel terrible :( but alas not much I can do bout it, will see how he went today and how he goes tonight....so I sympathise totally, isn't it horrible when they are sad.

So maybe its just Jet putting it all together with you being at work, and him wanting to be with you? Sorry not much help, but hopefully it will pass.

Yay Michelle on the cheque- what are you going to spend it on?? :smiliedance:

OK, best get back into it!

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
19-06-2008, 15:22
awww por Jet - i would say maybe something has happened at daycare (maybe the hitting incident)...i mean you said he seems fine at home...i would think something likned to daycare...maybe he is going thru a phase of having alone time..nothing wrong with that, just keep communicating with the daycare, it should pass. If not then go from there....

had fun today, bought ke a thomas jumper and a nice shirt - kmart have some bargains!

thanks for the bike reccomendations :) think ill layby it over the weekend...or maybe even buy it as i think hed love it, he loves getting on the trike at my brothers, he cant yet peddle tho...but loves bening pushed around on it!

michelle - yay on the cheque, hope it comes in handy!!
gotta run
xoxox

M~T~J~M
19-06-2008, 21:24
:wave: everyone,

Just a quick one from me as I've had a very emotionally draining day with the funeral.... :gloomy:
I broke down before the service even started, and didn't think I was able to get through it. I pulled myself back together, but had many more moments like it during the service, and whilst at the burial. It was so, so hard, especially seeing my cousin and her husband in the state they were in. It was really lovely though at the same time. Pink and white balloons were let go at the end of the burial, and we all watched as they made they're way off into the distance, and as we all said goodbye. Heart renching stuff, that's for sure.

Re: Bikes/Trikes - J has a Smart Trike. He absolutely loves it, and is always asking me to take him for a walk! He even loves being pushed around in it inside, lol!! Highly recommend getting one!

Off to bed for me. I've been getting some serious pressure and shooting pains down my legs today, as well as a huge increase in discharge (I know, I know, TMI!! Lol) I don't know if I'll last out the weekend!! Now I've said that, I'll probably still be waiting at the end of next week!!
Take it easy all,

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
20-06-2008, 09:45

we are taking keanu down to the marina today, when DP wakes up as he was on night shift! Have brunch and keanu can play on the park by the water!

then we are going to get a smart trike from toys r us...they have them for $79 :) i think keanu will LOVE it!

beck75
20-06-2008, 12:58

Just a very quick one to let you know that the scan went fine and baby is alive and kicking - a lot! I don't have results yet but the sonographer siad the measurement was very small so hopefully all good!!

Sorry no personals I have to run - Miss Kayley monster is refusing to go to sleep which is really not fair after a 2.30 - 4.30 wake up last night - very hard to cope with when you are not used to it! Oh and I am trying to cook some soup.

Have a great weekend all!

m_jelly
21-06-2008, 13:16
David Attenborough should study toddlers - they are an alien species among us!

I asked Abbey if she was finished her lunch and tried to take the bowl away, but she growled and said NO, even though she isn't eating it. I called out from another room are you finished and heard a clang and a thud. She had gotten up and ran to hide behind the curtain with her bowl, just in case that mean mummy took her food!

She surprises me with the most bizarre things too. Reading Diary of a Wombat she touches the various wombat poses and says 'seep', 'gars' and last night added 'scatch' and scratched her bum just like the wombat.

She drives me bonkers, but its so obvious I'm besotted with my little entertainment puppet. :cloud9:

Beck - glad the scan showed all was well. Wrap yourself up in bubble wrap for the remaining time to keep it that way!

Jackie - I was walking through target today and a toddler was riding one while his parents shopped. I have no idea if they were planning on buying it or just relocating it through the store, but it sure did look fun.

Sal - you and kimba must be right about them knowing what they want (you). My nephew spends most of his time telling me sadly something is 'all gone' and I realised it was his parents! They had left him here and were 'all gone'. Such a delicate child!

And now I've just come back in from poking an ant nest with a stick and pouring boiling hot water over it :devil: and realised I didn't click post.

~Kimba~
22-06-2008, 14:07
Quick update from me - Jet has tonsillitis on top of his other virus/ cold, which explains the high fever coming and going for a week (hit 40 again on Friday) and his general misery. I KNEW it was more than just a cold! He's on antibiotics now so hopefully he'll be over it soon :fingerscrossed: He's so cranky today though - has had 3 massive freakout tantrums at nothing we could work out, which he hasn't done for ages. Not sure if it's a reaction to the new meds, or just being ill and sore.

Michelle - yes they are an alien species - so entertaining but phew they can be exasperating at times! LOL at Abbey growling No - Jet says no to just about anything he's asked, even when he means yes. The doc we saw yesterday (not our usual one) asked me 'is he talking?' and Jet said 'No?' :laughing:

Beck - glad to hear all was good at your scan, must have been scary to bump yourself like that I bet you're going to be super careful now.

Sarah - oooh sounds like you're getting so close now - I hope we hear some pink sparkly good news from you soon!

Oops better go - wee monster is cranky again and attacking the laptop - hope everyone else is well.

~Kimba~
23-06-2008, 13:44
:smiliedance:Yippee! Congrats Sarah DH and family on the speedy arrival of your pink bundle, and welcome little lady! :cloud9: Hope Mum and Bub are doing well and can't wait to hear all about it.

Antibiotics have helped Jet immensely, he's heaps better today, no more fever but VERY irritable so I guess he still feels cr@ppy. Doc had a look today and said the tonsillitis is almost cleared up, which is good. Still got his other virus (cough runny nose etc) though - I think that'll probably be perpetual now till the end of winter!

Funny story - at the doc today there were 2 gorgeous African kids in the waiting room with us. The boy had super-short almost shaved hair in teeny curls all over his scalp, and the girl had her hair done in heaps of fine braids. Jet was amazed by their hair and kept staring and going over to touch/ stroke their heads, then look at me like 'WOW mum' :laughing::o Was rather embarrassing - the things these kids notice, huh?

GeorgiaAnne
23-06-2008, 14:50
:flowerz::cloud9::smiliedance: Congratulations Sarah - can't wait to hear your news.

Kimba - Your new av is lovely, that's a great photo! I'm glad that Jet is getting better now poor little man :hugs:

SalTheGal
23-06-2008, 14:59
Woohoo
Congrats Sarah and Family!!
Welcome to the world little girl- you are going to be soooo spoilt by your big brothers!
Can't wait to hear all the exciting details.
:cloud9: :goodvibes: :cloud9: :goodvibes: :cloud9:

Becbabe
23-06-2008, 15:24
Ooooooohhh how exciting!! Congratulations Sarah and family, aww a pink bundle at last :D:smiliedance: so glad to hear.

I feel like I've been away from the Hub for aaaages, I compose posts to you guys all the time, especially when Ella does something cute/impressive/particularly annoying! :D

We have been scarily flat out at work and I have had this rotten cold virus that I can't seem to throw, so have been feeling really run down. Other than that all's well, pregnancy very quiet (I remember this stage from last time - don't feel like it's real!) I can't wait to feel the movements.

Just popped on for 5 mins while I wait for someone to get off the phone here, but hopefully will BBS for some decent personals (bad friend!!)

sare
23-06-2008, 16:41
:flowerz: Congratulations Sarah and family:flowerz:
Looking forward to hearing all about your little princess. Can't wait to see some photos!

Kimba - Poor Jet. I'm glad that the antibiotics are starting to work though.
How cute on Jet being mesmorised by the little girl's hair. I can understand why, I think that African children have the most gorgeous hair.

Bec- Good to hear from you. Glad to hear that the pregnancy is progressing well. Hope your cold goes soon. Does Ella understand that you're having a baby? Eloise did when I was pregnant with Lara and was really interested in all things baby. Lara is the same age as Eloise was, but has absolutely no idea. Thankfully one of my closest friends is due in just over a month, so she will soon develop a concept of what a baby is and I can start getting her used to the idea that we're going to be getting one of those :laughing:

Beck - Glad to hear that your scan went well. How's the building of your house progressing?

Michelle - I love Diary of a Wombat...it has to be one of the funniest kids books around. Great news about the check...here's hoping it's the start of more to come for you :fingerscrossed:

Georgia - I'll definitely have to pop back on to flickr and go and check out your photos. I haven't been on there in ages...I've just been putting photos up on facebook. Can't believe you're almost 30 weeks. Pretty soon we'll be reading all about the arrival of your little boy.

Nothing new here. I was ready to pop Eloise on e-bay yesterday (she knows it's an empty threat)...you'll never believe what she did...spat in the holy water at Church. I can only imagine what all the old Italian ladies at Mass were saying about her and me.:eek:

Well I better go and organise for the troops. Take care...

SalTheGal
23-06-2008, 17:19
you'll never believe what she did...spat in the holy water at Church. I can only imagine what all the old Italian ladies at Mass were saying about her and me.:eek:

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:
Oh good god Sare- I nearly spat out my coffee, that is priceless....sorry I shouldn't laugh at your expense- I would have been devastated! :o

I will be back later to post properly, monday night DH is at footy training, so I am getting Nedd organised on my own, I shouldn't really be here now, he is currently playing with rubber bands.:eek: Bad mummy, only a matter of time before he loses an eye!

SalTheGal
23-06-2008, 17:22
e8 ,,,mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm hhh nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnneghhhhhhefcddd

:wave: from Nedd :)ggggggggggggggggggcf

:chef::chef: this his chiocemoticon :flowerz: flower mama flower!'

diesal444
23-06-2008, 18:20
:yelclap:CONGRATULATIONS SARAH AND FAMILY!!!:yelclap:

Cant wait to hear all about her !
You all must be so over the moon
ENJOY!!!!!!!:)

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
23-06-2008, 19:02
Congrats Sarah and Family. :smiliedance::cloud9:

kimba - love the new Av!

diesal444
24-06-2008, 06:27
Morning ladies :)

Feels like ages since I have posted on here, but as per usual there is nothing exciting happening really.
Congratulations again to Sarah and family on the arrival of the new pink bundle!

I wont try with pesonals but will try to make it on here more often to post.
I am pretty miserable with work ATM. Our hours changed again and it now means I dont get up at 1am but it does mean that I start work at 7am and I know thats pretty normal for most workers but I dont like it at all.
One of the reasons I made the decision to go back to the same job was the early starts and that meant I had the day with my daughter and was working when she was sleeping.
I have the option of sometimes being able to work from 11pm till 7am and even though its hard to do that shift its worth it to be with Darcy IYKWIM?? To makes things worse I am kinda locked in to keep working for another 2 years, so its kinda depressing.
Sorry about that vent just had to get it off my chest.

On a positive note, the house is coming along wonderfully, The bricks getting finished by this week hopefully, insulation is all done and hopefully the plasterer will start next week:fingerscrossed:

My friends are trying to get me to go to Thailand with them in october for 4-5 days. DP tells me he will be fine with Darcy and I do trust him 100%, its just I dont know if i can leave her for that long.

Well I best head off and give my chook some breakie...
Take care :)

m_jelly
24-06-2008, 07:18
Can I type one handed with my finger in my ear? Yes, yes I can.

Abbey is sitting in her chair next to me having a bad day. She's been a little grump-head since she opened her eyes at 5am. I tingled her back to sleep but she woke up again just as grumpy. Perhaps she didn't sleep well from the cold and mummy was too toasty and snoozing to notice. Silly bugger gets mad when I put my blanket on her though, because blanket means sleep and sleep is no fun. She refused to wear socks last night, she wanted to hug them instead.

Oh well, I'll just keep poking her with a stick until she explodes or giggles.

Congrats to Sarah on her little pink bundle, and hooray for the speedy labour too!

When bubs comes into your bed - do they insist on grabbing the toys they went to sleep with too? Abbey cries so I go to transfer her to my bed, and she refuses to be picked up until she is holding every item she had when she went to sleep. Including giant pointy corner books. She then ignores them once in bed with me until she wakes up again. I just think its fascinating that she can remember she had 3 stuffed toys, a book and a spoon, and even knows when I have removed something before she woke up.

Maryanne - don't you get exhausted staying awake all day after working nights?

Sare - that is HILARIOUS! I wonder why she thought it was spittable water. I'm sure she's not the first to do it. Come to think of it, its just plain water and many people don't wash their hands after the loo, add in general germ touching, a little spit wouldn't stand out.
Does she cross herself with it? Have you taught Lara to yet? That would be so cute.

Kimba - Glad Jet is feeling better, pity about the runny nose hanging around though. Just wait until Jet starts vocalising his fascination with such things. I see toddlers in the supermarket pointing to large women, hairy women etc, and saying things like 'you look like a man'. Their poor mortified mummies. Abbey hasn't explored anything new like african hair yet, she probably wouldn't notice and would just try and take their toys away instead.

Grumpy bear has been lured away by cartoons so I'd best get some puter work done while I can.

GeorgiaAnne
24-06-2008, 16:54
:laughing::laughing: pmsl Sare, thanks for that!!!
Sorry just a quickie because i'm at work but Hi all - don't bother with my flickr thing though bc I haven't updated yet :o

Becbabe
25-06-2008, 14:45
Hi again,

Mary-ann, when do you sleep?! You are one devoted mumma. I also have to go away for work for a week in September, I've never been away from Ella for that long and am wondering how I'll go! She always seems to look different when I come back, even if I'm only away for 2 days.:confused:

Michelle - Ella is a grump if she wakes up at 5am too. It's funny but that seems to make me grumpy too... I wonder why:p She is also onto the sock trick. ie: pull your socks off then cry "socks, mummy, socks" in your saddest voice til someone comes in and puts them back on...Re other toys in bed - I'm a meanie and make her put all her toys away before she goes into her room for bedtime - keep telling DP the more toys she takes to bed, the more trauma there'll be when I inevitably lose one! BTW I love your new avatar - what a cutie.

Hi Sare - Eloise must be a good shot, those fonts are usually teeny! :laughing: Did she tell you why? I haven't told Ella about the baby yet, first I was waiting til the 2nd trimester and now I just haven't. I better get onto it though in case someone asks her about it at daycare! Also it might explain why I keep saying "be careful of mummy's tummy" when she's jumping all over me.

Kimba, I hope Jet's nearly all better. Poor little fella, tonsils can be so painful. I'm a bit resigned to Ella having a runny nose all winter too - in fact I'll be happy if that's all she has!

m_jelly
25-06-2008, 15:06
I'm having a day. A pms day where the housework can get stuffed and I want to nap, but I can't because Abbey didn't nap today. Which was my fault as she was 99.9% asleep and I had to leave the room.

I had a huge scare yesterday. Well, Abbey did too, but she forgets easier. She was playing on the step outside the door and had stuck her chalk between the mesh and the grill. I opened the door to help her, at the same time she either lost her balance and grabbed on to it or intentionally pulled it. Either way, somehow she pulled it out of the wall runners and got pinned under it. I watched it happen and I have no idea how it happened! One second she was all eh eh my chalk, the next she was on all fours with a huge door pinning her. I jumped out and flipped it off her, doing my supermummy thing, checked her out, gave her hugs...she was over it within a couple minutes and back to wanting her damn chalk!
Mummy needed a bit more reassuring of course.

I didn't realise security screens could come out like that. Its not particularly secure is it? Just lucky she went on autopilot and turned her back to it as it came down, otherwise it would have knocked her flat and caused a nasty injury on the concrete.

Whoops, I just checked on her and she saw me. Now I have to play some more.

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
25-06-2008, 16:20
hi :wave:
still been busy with mum and dad here...ke loves it! so do we...will kinda be nice tho to have the house back and just be the 3 of us again...(and im not being ungrateful..i love having them here)...

keanu i think is cutting a bottom eye tooth...he has very red cheeks and woke upset....just gave him some twisites - naughty mum i am - a treat for him and he is happy as larry lol.

not much to report here...keanu has been really good...

mind u he head buts the wall and floor at time when having a tanty - anyone elses bubbas do this?

Abbey - :hugs: and :hugs: to mum!

hmmmm....no personals...

oh i dyed my hair mahogany...just an 8 wash one..it actually looks alright lol. certainly different to my blonde!

SalTheGal
25-06-2008, 19:06
Hi everyone, been a slacker with my posting again! I read, but nothing really to report here.

Nedd is going well...he is starting to throw more tantrums- however we find them quite amusing. Today he was crying in the car- then spotted a truck "waaa" "truck truck" "waaa"...he wasn't sure if he wanted to tanty or look at the truck, poor thing!

He is getting fussy with his eating, and we are not sure what to do. We packed away the high chair ages ago as he eats so well at his table- but lately he just wont sit still...maybe we should drag it out again. So, when you offer a new meal and they don't eat it do you offer an old staple on the chance that they genuinely don't like it? ie, tonight we had chowmein, he had one or two mouthfuls then refused to eat any more, should I have given him something else that I know he will eat? I didn't and he went to bed on an empty tummy...now I feel bad!

Michelle- you mentioned your having a day- well I am having a WEEK!!! :D I went to Dr's on monday and got a certificate for the week off, I am such a sook that I burst into tears as soon as I walked through the door- so she had no hesitations in giving me the time off....mostly cause Nedd doesn't sleep it is a chance for me to catch up and recouperate a bit- she is a brilliant GP!

Mind you I hate having to explain to my boss that I am having time off...he immediatly thinks I am about to have a melt down, he is extremely understanding, but now I feel like I will be treated with cotton wool for a while.

Our house is coming along nicely- framing started today, I went out this arvo and they already had it half up so i could walk through one end of the house....it is awesome!! Bigger than what I was expecting, which of course means more to clean. :rolleyes:

Michelle what a fright you must have got! I would have sh!t myself if that happened...nice to know the security door is going to hold up really well if someone wanted to yank it! Glad to hear Abbey is ok. Oh and can you PM your password to have apeek at abbeys pics- if thats ok! :p

Jack- Enjoy your parents, but I know what you mean about having the house to yourself.

Bec- I am a stickler for putting toys away too, so much so that Nedd won't go to bed until everything is in its place....he can occasionally take a small book to bed with him if he is particularly rowdy. Otherwise its blankie only.

Caught up with Maryanne yesterday for a cuppa, it was lovely cept Nedd is becoming a bit of a bully and kept pushing Darcy over :banghead: Any suggestion of how to deal with it? At the moment, I verbally tell him off and move him away, but don't really want to resort to smacking if I can help it.

Well thats pretty much it in this house- DH is in a foul mood so I am going to head to bed after the dishes are done to avoid having to talk to him.:mad:

~Kristin~
25-06-2008, 20:38
:yelclap: Congrats Sarah and family!!! :smiliedance:

So ladies, its been over 2 months since I made the journey to Bubhubland, and I have to admit I'm not even going to try and read the thousands of posts I have missed while I have been 'off-air', so you will have to all excuse me while I try and catch up and find my feet again!

Well our world is great! Miss Bella is still completely besotted with 'her' baby Isla. She has become such a little girl in the last month or 2, talking heaps and spinning us out on a daily basis at all the little grown up things she is up to! She even had her first night in her big girls bed last night, in her new bedroom which she thinks is very special (all new paint, curtains, furniture, flowers on the wall...... etc).

Little Isla is a real little tubba-bubba, an absolute clone of Bella to look at except for huge blue eyes instead of brown, and a WHOLE lot more chub than Bella ever had! She is a great little bub, very placid and easy going and the only problem we have had has been some chronic colic but we have her on med's for that now so all is good. I'd nearly take Bella's reflux over colic, Isla get soooooooo upset. Isla has started self settling off to sleep in the last week which is great, I guess all that training and hardwork that Bella put us through has finally paid off - in another baby!!!:thumbsup:

Righto, best be off to bed now before Isla wakes for a feed in the early hours of the morning. Its good to be back, and I can't wait to hear all your latest news! xxoo

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
25-06-2008, 20:58
hi kristin...bella sounds gorgeous...yes they are growing so quick aren't they...

Isla sounds gorgeous too....oh i can't wait to conceive....clucky!!!

ke woke at 3pm crying and crying so i snuggled him...he had red cheeks...then about 30 mins later he did a very loud fart...and it was diahorea...hopefully it is just teeth and not coming own with something...he has been fine since, ate tea and i did our normal routine and he went to bed fine...so who knows

re eating - some nights keanu wont eat something, and some nights i try something else and he wont eat it...i always offer a yoghurt as i know 99.9% of the time he will eat it and at least it is something in his belly (he usually has his main meal and then a yoghurt - or tin fruit with yoghurt - he will not eat any fruit really...only banana so this is the only way i can give him fruit...better than nothing lol)....but yes keanu has his fussy days - seems to only be at tea time tho :confused: weird!

and his tanties are full on..he sometimes, of late even head butts the wall....

diesal444
25-06-2008, 21:02
Evening ladies....:wave:

Just a quick one before I head off to bed.

Have had a lovely 2 days off work but honestly it just goes way too fast for my liking.
We have a bit of a tantrum thrower on our hands recently.
Darcy has been for the last couple of weeks dropping to the floor of the kitchen and crying if I dont let her into the kitchen drawers. I have now learned to walk away into another room and sure enough she races after me and all is good. BUT..... Today in the supermarket, silly mummy decided not to use the stroller or trolley and we walked. Just needed milk and bread. Well she wanted to stay in the lollie section and pull all the lollies of their racks. When I tried to take her hand and walk her away she bl00dy drops to the floor on her back ( not crying ) and wouldnt get up. I didnt know whether to laugh or be disgusted at her laying on that germ infested floor!!!
I couldnt just walk off like I would have at home, so we kinda had a stand off and that little bugger would not cave.:banghead:
I felt like doing what the lady in the ad does and throw myself on the floor as well to see what she does.....:laughing:

All is pretty peaceful here at the moment, just really trying to come to terms with my new work hours etc.
Havent made a decision on Thailand as yet, but its a few months off anyway.
The house is coming along nicely which is fantastic, coz I hate this house we are living in right now.
Okies nighty night all.....:sleeping:

beck75
25-06-2008, 21:42

Just a quick hello from me before I am off to bed too.

Sal & Maryanne - glad to hear your houses are going well. Ours is doing pretty well now with the frame done and the roof going up today. All our windows are in too.

Jackie - Kayley is teething too - she is getting her 2yo molars. Problem is it has turned her poo into acidy runny stuff and she has really bad nappy rash. Went to the doc on Monday night and he gave us this expensive cream which just made it worse so she was off with DH today while I was at work and I think is starting to get better.

Bec/Mary-Anne - I don't think I could go away for long at the moment. Iwas gone before Kayley got up and home late as we had a farewell dinner and haven't seen her all day and just want to go in there and say hello!! Quite sad really!

Sarah - congratulations, congratulations, congratulations on your little girl and quick childbirth!

Sare - that is funny about Eloise! Sorry about the footy on the weekend but I was barracking for the dogs!

Kristen - Kayley had colic and silent reflux and I think I founf the colic harder because she was so young and nothing would work to comfort her. Lucky she grew out of it pretty early though.

Bec - glad your pregnance is progressing well - are you looking pregnant now? I am. I told work today so now it is all official and I don't have to worry so much about hiding my pot! But I will be out of most of my work clothes soon unless I can find my old belly belt!

Michelle - very scary about the door - glad there was no real damage done. I think Kayley would have freaked!!

Well I better run.

Take care everyone.

sare
26-06-2008, 20:11

Just a quick post before the Footy Show and I still need to do a bit of work for tomorrow (that I'll do in front of the tv)

Beck, Sal and Mary-Anne - Great news about your houses. Have you got dates for when you'll all be likely to move in?

re refusing food - I normally go to a staple Sal if Lara (or Eloise for that matter) refuse a new food. Lara is a fussy eater, always has been. We resort to clapping and high fiving when she's really fussy. Eloise has been told that she has to try something 10 times before she can say that she doesn't like it. By the 10th mouthful she's usually ok. Scrambled eggs on toast is usually the back up food or yoghurt like Jackie said.

Michelle - What a horrible thing for you both to have to go through. Hope you're both ok now.

Mary-Anne - I don't know how you do it. Your work sounds like a real pain how they keep on shifting your hours around.
Which way are you leaning towards with going to Thailand?

Kristin - Good to hear from you. Great news about getting Isla to self settle already. Any tips? I'm still struggling with Lara :laughing:

Nothing much happening here. The most exciting thing is that dh and I are having our first night away from the girls (The only time I've been away from Eloise was when I was in hospital having Lara). We're having a night in a 5 star hotel in the city, going to see a non-kids movie (and no, I don't mean an adult film :p, just something that's not animated) and out for dinner. Then on Monday I have my ultrasound. Still planning on resisting the temptation and having a November surprise.

Speaking of surprises...Beck are you finding out what you're having? For some reason I'm getting this really strong feeling that you're having a boy this time. What about you Bec?

Well so much for being quick. Take care girls...

M~T~J~M
26-06-2008, 20:11
:wave: everyone,

Just a really quick post as I thought I should you put you all out of your misery and give you some details, lol!!

We got home yesterday, but I've been too busy with everything else to post. The little glimpse I've had since being home of life with 4 children is really quite daunting!! Thank god DH is home for another 6 weeks. He has been really fabulous, except for this morning when he decided that HE was going to stay in bed and let me get up the children
The boys are coping well with their arrival with the arrival of their new sister, although DS1 really seems to be struggling. I thought it would be him that would cope the best, but he's really having issues. He won't go to bed, then won't go to sleep, etc. Last night, he was still awake at 1.30am....not what I need at all, especially with a newborn.

Anyway, all is going great apart from that!!

Our beautiful little princess,

"MONET CECILIA"

was born on Monday 23rd June, 2008 at 1.02pm, after a very quick and intense 3 hr 20 min labour. I gave in about 20 mins before she was born and had a shot of pethidine (which wouldn't have done anything anyway!!) as my back pain was so bad. I was lucky to avoid any stitches or tears, and am feeling terrific, although absolutely exhausted.

Talking about exhaustion, I'm off to bed while I can get there!!
Take care,

sare
26-06-2008, 20:19
Congratulations again Sarah. Glad to hear that you are doing well. Monet looks adorable.
lol at your dh...needing a sleep in already. I bet you are the one getting up for the night feeds too!?!

Take care of yourself...

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
26-06-2008, 20:21
aww congrats sarah! sounds like you did a fantastic job and the name is gorgeous!!! :) AND so is She!

GeorgiaAnne
26-06-2008, 20:42
Welcome to the world Monet :goodvibes: She looks beautiful (cluck, cluck, cluck) I can't imagine 4 kids Sarah, but i'm sure after a few weeks you'll have it all down pat:)

SalTheGal
26-06-2008, 20:58
Ooh WOW Sarah, Monet Cecilia, what a beautiful name, for a GORGEOUS girl, in your av pic she looks stunning. Congrats again. :hugs: :hugs:

Boring boring here, I spent today going through 6mnths of work expense claims today that I had let get away from me- over $8000 :eek: in money that I have forked out so far this year from my own pocket...and I should have been claiming it back monthly (just been a slacker)- so it will be a nice little nest egg to get back, though it has all come out of our house acc so I won't be seeing any of it!!

Got the inlaws down tomorrow for the weekend, and my mum and dad are having my two oldest neice and nephew as the youngest one is in hospital with Pneumonia :no: poor thing, they can't wean him off oxygen- he has been in hospy now since mon and not really improving, so it is quite worrying....and poor bro and SIL they had DD2 in hospy two weeks ago with an unknown infection, it just hasn't stopped for them.:dizzy:

So it will be a busy weekend here, and fingers crossed bro/sil get some very much needed rest.

~Kristin~
26-06-2008, 21:28
OMG Sarah - I just LOVE the name - Monet - so beautiful!!!!! Very calm and gentle sounding name, lets hope she is as serene as her name sounds, with 3 big bro's she will have plenty of rough anad tumble ahead of her I'm sure!

Bella is getting her 2 yr molars too. Has been on and off for about a month now. Its so bad that she won't chew anything and will only eat really soft food like pasta and egg, oh and yoghurt and custard always goes down a treat. She has started asking for 'block block' which is when pointing at the freezer an ice cube to suck on so it must make her feel better.

Well so much for my computer time tonight.... DP just went for a shower and now Isla is awake in the basinette in our room, can't wait to move her into the nursery!!! Now Bella is in her new room and big bed Isla will be moved into the cot on the weekend hopefully!!!

Night all!

m_jelly
27-06-2008, 08:27
Congrats Sarah - That is a lovely name! She looks adorable. I see you've started dressing her up girly already!

Sal - that's quite a hunk of change! My old bosses would be spitting if I did that though, and then deny my request. They were such tightwads. Only gave me a $20/day meal allowance when away and said I should eat toast instead of dinner. I got around that by ordering room service on the company cc and denying I knew about their limits.
Hope your niece and nephew get better, that would be scary.

Sare - have fun on your big night away. Try not to spend it sleeping.

Maryanne - tantrums are fun aren't they. She just lay on the supermarket floor not making a noise? Been researching peaceful protest methods huh? I'm mean, if the shop tantrum has started and she's walking I just sling Abbey over my shoulder in fireman hold and finish as much as I can. If she's building up to a tanty I pretend we are off on a grand adventure and wow look at that and can you find me this and okay ready set go. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.
At least in the shop her tanties make sense. At home she has them for bizarre reasons like I'm standing on my feet and won't let her wave one around.

Jackie - headbutting the wall doesn't sound good. We've got big red cheeks here too, and the sore bum.

Re fussy meals - If she doesn't eat her dinner she doesn't eat dinner. I rarely give her anything new, just the same menu items swapped around, prepared differently, served differently etc. If I've prepared something I know she absolutely doesn't like I will give her something else instead, but also a spoonful of the dreaded food to try with it.
Generally if she is refusing to eat her dinner and hanging out for something tastier I will leave the room. She always eats better if I'm not there to complain to or react to her dropped food and intentional mess.
She only gets dessert if she's eaten her dinner and asks for it. And isn't making those 'I'm so full I will burst at the seam' burps.

I can't believe some of you keep a clean house. How do you do it? Abbey never puts her toys away, and I only pick up every few days to vacuum. I picked up yesterday but I still can't find my shoe. I haven't seen it in 4 days. Its done a runner. Or a hopper.

My floor is usually so cluttered with toys I call them Abbey's booby traps. I step over things without thinking, but guests find it a little difficult if they stay long enough for the mess to arise. The good part is if a burglar breaks in he will trip and break his neck.

~Kimba~
27-06-2008, 20:25
:wave:Hello Monet gorgeous girl, welcome to the world! You are going to be soooooo loved and spoiled :cloud9:

Sarah, love the name - classy and beautiful - and she's such a cutie! Well done! :yelclap:

2 yo Molars - yes
Toys everywhere, messy house - yes
Fussy with food - yes (vegies, mostly)
Headbanging the floor - yes, at times
Irrational tantrums - yes

Sounds like a bunch of normal 'approaching 2' toddlers to me :yes:

MoOaNdLiTtLePoPpEt
27-06-2008, 20:52
you took the words from my mouth kimba :p

beck75
29-06-2008, 14:12

Yes yes yes - Kayley is such a 2 yr temper girl. Hoefully starting early means finishing early too??? Ihave a feeling Miss Stubhorn is goingto make it tough on us for a long time to come!

Well I thought I posted a day ago but nothing there....but congrats Sarah - I love the name too - so different and nice.

Sare - I have the feeling I am having a boy too - no real sweet cravings like last time (just my usual savoury) and m/s has improved so much earlier than last time. Only time will see. We will be finding out at 20 wks though - I am too impatient!!

Anyway - all well here. 13 weeks now. M/S is improving but am still really tired. Oh and I am really looking pregnant now - much bigger than last time at the same stage.

I am definately feeling real movements now a few times a day - the same as what I was feeling at 15 wks last time. Not so much bubbles anymore more wiggles and soft kicks - it is quite reassuring!

Anyway I have to run - Ihope everyone had a great weekend!

m_jelly
30-06-2008, 10:38
I bought Abbey some play-doh last weekend, and now all week she's been going to the cupboard where I keep it and asking for "ah-doh", playing with it a bit (press press press) and then leaving it out or crumbling it and leaving. So now my house is scattered with crunchy doh. Least its colourful!
This morning she surprised me, press press, and then telling mummy she made a dinosaur. And a car. And something I have no idea what she meant. But she did it without cutters, just constructed some blobs and used her imagination to say what they could have been.

Add that to her doing bollywood dancing last night and she's such a strange little human now. I had Bride & Prejudice on before she went to bed and she liked it so much she ran around the room waving her arms in the air like they do, shouting "I dance!"

All is quiet in this deep dark wood, apart from the sound of giggling and tantrums of course.

Beck - glad the ms is improving, and its great you can feel the baby earlier!

No 2yo molars here yet. She's still working on her vampire teeth. If she's this ratbaggy now, SO not looking forward to the molars!

sare
30-06-2008, 17:41

Just going to do a quick me post. I'm really tired. Bit of a pain as we had our night away last night and I had a shocking night's sleep...nightmares, too hot, souldn't get comfortable. I missed my bed. I've figured next time we ship the girls off to a relos house and have a good night's sleep at our own house. :laughing: The hotel was nice and we went to see Get Smart, which I enjoyed, and went to Chinatown for dinner. Then today I had my scan and I am having a....

SURPRISE!!!
I stuck to my guns, even though dh was tempted to find out. I watched the dvd when I got home, but couldn't see any signs of a boy or a girl. So I'll just have to wait until November now. The baby was wriggling around everywhere, but looked perfect according to the sonographer, so we're blessed with whatever we get.
Well I'm going to go and rest now. Dh is getting the girls ready for bed and I think I'll just put my feet up and do a few sudokus.

Take care...

M~T~J~M
30-06-2008, 19:47
Oh Sare, I got so excited to find out what you were having, and then got so let down!! Glad to hear all went well though, and that things are progressing well.

Michelle - Abbey sounds so cute with her play doh!! J has played with it a few times, but he'd rather just steal it off the boys and run off and hide it somewhere, lol!!

Thanks all for the congrats!! We are all so stoked with our little girl! She is just the sweetest little girl. Just feeds, poos/wees and sleeps...perfect!! Only cries, well screams, when she's hungry, hasn't had any wind problems (yet), only wakes me once during the night. I'm sure the good run will end soon enough, and now that I've said how good she is, I bet it all turns to cr@p tonight :laughing:
She really is just perfect!! Last night, DH was having a hug with her, and just looking at her. I sat down beside him, and started gazing at her also. He then tells me to stop looking at her cos it was his turn to look! So cute, lol! He asked me today if we could take her to get her ears pierced....I was like WTF!! She's only a week old!! Give her a little while yet!!

Not much else to report...I think I'm too high up in the clouds in baby land to concentrate on much else!

Off to bed for me now, after feeding little miss of course!!

GeorgiaAnne
01-07-2008, 14:15
:shame: Sare, you're a very cheeky lady!!! I still reckon you're having a boy... Glad to hear all is well though.
Sarah - What an angel you have, you lucky thing :yes:
re: tantrums, yes, yes and yes. The food thing is also an issue and she rarely eats anything for dinner other than a few mouthfuls, even her favs like roast chix. It is starting to bug me now though, not that I let her get the satisfaction of my disapproval ;)

sare
01-07-2008, 14:38
Sorry...couldn't resist. Dh is certain he saw something down below (like half an egg shape) when she took the measurement of the stomach. So who knows?

Sarah - Monet sounds like a treasure. I hope she stays that way for you.

Georgia - lol at not letting Sophia see you frustration...think that's half the problem I have with Eloise. She loves to rile me.

Better go. Eloise and I have made some choc chip cookies that are just about ready. Smell yummy too...pity I'm STILL off chocolate.

~Kristin~
01-07-2008, 20:46
Sare - You did well not to ask- I couldn't help myself 2nd time around so you are very strong 3rd time about!

Bella is sounding just like the rest of our Oct kids. Lots of attitude starting to show up. Molar movement. Picky eating. Speaking incredibly well, forming sentences and having real conversations and trying to make deals with us to get her own way - already!!!

Her fav past times are singing, dancing and then 'falling' over, play-doh and drawing drawing drawing.

Oh and during my recent near 3 mth absence from the Hub Bella decided to start using the toilet. So she started doing wee's on potty at 16mths and by 18 mths poops and since then I can honestly happily say we haven't had a single dirty nappy since!! She still has wee accidents, usually when she is busy and preoccupied, but never poo's - she has even hung on a few hours to go to the toilet while we were down at the river skiing. She waited til we got home then went inside, pulled off her pants and climbed on the loo and yelled out for us to come in "Guys, Guys, Mummy, Daddy, bye-bye poo poo" - nutter!!!!!!!

Hmmm poop talk, this is my life now I guess! And loving it!!

C-ya!

PS - Just added a few pic's of Isla to my Zoint page if you want to check out the new chubba bubba!

Becbabe
02-07-2008, 11:00
Hello loves,

So excited - I just won a book prize off Monkeysundies and it's the first time I've used the site! I bought Ella some (probably her last) fluffy mail, as well as some for the new bub.

Kristin, :laughing: Ella does the singing & dancing followed by "hilarious" falling down! It's classic slapstick, she has her own comedy routine so Mummy & Daddy can laugh at the appropriate places. Good work on the potty training. We are still SO far off that. The only way I know Ella's done a poo is if I smell it... and she still runs away rather than have it changed.

re toddlerisms - Ella's pretty good with food etc, there are only a few things she doesn't like, but she eats meat and most vegies, and LOVES pasta & rice, so I'm not worried. Plus Daycare have to provide 50% of her RDM of dietary stuff every day.... so I can't do too badly on top of that! She is getting a bit naughty with disobeying me (drives DP nuts) but she's pretty good.

Oh I almost forgot - she's in a big bed!! We stayed in a motel over the weekend in a family room, and decided to try her in the single bed rather than set up the cot. It went so well we set up the bed at home and moved the cot into our room - and it has gone totally smoothly. :smiliedance: She looks such a tiny bump in the big bed...awww...

Sare, you're a meanie! Your night out sounds lovely. Yes I will be finding out again, I reckon I'm having a boy (for no particular reason) but having a girl is so lovely, I wouldn't mind another one!

Michelle, that's some impressive imagination Abbey's got! And that is SO cute about the Bollywood dancing.

Beck that's great you are feeling the movements. Me too - heaps earlier than last time! Also I'm in the last of my "fat day" pants and will have to move to full on belly belt or maternity pants wearing soon, as even my big pants are not quite stretchy enough anymore...

Hi Sarah! :wave: Boy you must be busy. Cecilia is so pretty & old fashioned, good combo with Monet! I was thinking - with that many protective brothers she is going to have NO chance of a boyfriend later on! :D

Good god Sal, that's a lot of petty cash!!:eek: I usually leave it for a year or so, by which time I've usually racked up about $100!

We are house hunting now so I can see where all our money is going to go from now on. Must be mad embarking on a mortgage right before I go on half pay for a year, but the landlord just put the rent up another $25/week (on top of a $10/week in October!) and we're jack of it. :mad:

Well I'd better finish this now or it could go on for another 1000 words... I just need to get on here more often!

Becbabe
02-07-2008, 11:03
Hey - it's July!

Let's go talk over here (//http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?t=188498)