View Full Version : single mummy looking for friends
Mum of one boy
13-04-2006, 15:48
Hi all, just hoping theres some single mummies out there in similar situation to me, have a gorgeous nearly 2yr old boy and would love to meet others going through the same thing. Was officially divorced as of yesterday and doing fine with that but get a bit lonely sometimes and would just love to have girl friends to do do things with with my son:smiliedance:
would luv to hear from anyone interested, can email to jaimeturland@hotmail.com, ta
believe me you are NOT alone!
I am a single Mum. too. I have a 1 yr old boy.
Would love to chat to you!!
You can best catch me on messenger gri_bel@hotmail.com or email/pm me
Where are you from??
Belinda
Jaime, Belinda is right when she said you are not alone. You'd be amazed how many of us single mums on BH.
We are all here to chat when you want. Sorry to hear you had to go thru a divorce especially with such a young bub. But it's you and DS time now, time to start living :smiliedance: your life.
Belinda I am so sorry I missed Riley's Bday, I'm so bad. How was Riley's 1st bday party. Had a ball I bet.
:bday: Riley sorry I'm late, I'm so bad:devil6:
melindabust
14-04-2006, 13:52
hi there
just thought id introduce myself im melinda and singlemum to two beautiful girls.
For anyone interested i am starting a single parents group please pm if like to chat. Be nice to have a group of friends to relate to.
also to everyone i had a very weird experience last nite think i was asked out bit confused so maybe some can help out with that.
enjoy your day everyone
Hi Melinda,
You'll be amazed on how many single parents on on BH. It's so common these days which is a shame.
I have been a single mum from the day I told DS's father I was pregnant so I think I've had it a little easier than the one's who's DP,DF or DH has left after a few years etc... but it is still very hard to raise kids on your own and i appluade every single one of these parents (including myself)
As for your other question (date) the only thing I can advise is make sure your ready. If you think you can handle going out on a date go for it, if something happens it happens if there is nothing there and all was meant to be, but if you don't go you'll be thinking about the 'what if's' but as I said you must be ready to start dating again because if your not ready and you go out it's like a form of sabotage on yourself. And if your still not sure maybe don't think of ot as a date thnk of it has going out with a friend for a nice meal, drinks and a good time.
I really can't advise anymore on it as I've never been on a date so I suppose I would be the last one to ask. But that's my suggestion.
Femme-Fetale
14-04-2006, 15:03
oooh ooohhh yay there are others like me here too :smiliedance:
Im a solo mummy too
Maybe i should tell u all a bit about myself, considering im new to the site:thumbsup:
Ok well im Roza, im 24, im in Vic, and i have a 10 and half mth old son called Ezekiel.
Im on another forum site too so if any of u know me from over there u may as well skip this, u may get bored, but ill try keep it short and point formed.:D
OK well i was told id never have kids, i sufferd bad Endo and when i found out i was preg it was such a shock to me and my 'then' boyfriend. Kids was not something either of us wanted thats for sure. Now i wouldnt have life any other way tho.
Anyhow the b/friend ran from me while i was preg but came back half way throu, i shouldn't have let him coz i didnt trust him any more and becoz i didnt trust him, the love wasnt the same and there was no way he could repair it coz he just kept lying.
when our son turned 12 weeks old, i had had enough of him and the **** so i walkd into the room one nite and said "when ur ready pls pack your bags and go" and that was that really!
He now see's his son once a mth which im in 2 minds about. Im not impressed for Zeaks sake, but at the same time im happy with it coz i dont have to deal with him IYKWIM.
I have just started seeing another guy who is a solo father to 3 gorgeuos kids, been together for 2 mths so its still a fresh r/ship.
Anyhow thats all i can say for now, my son is going bonkers!
will be back later!
ROZA
HI Roza Welcome to Bubhub.
I love your sons name, if I ever have another boy that would be the name I would have. I started the family tree on my mums side and found a whole generation of Ezekiel's. U know father then son then son then son then all of a sudden it was never used again the last time it was used was in 1900. But I also like Elijah and Ethan don't ask me why the E's, it was like when I was sorting out Xav's name, I have had his name since I was 17 but then I started to toss up between Xavier and Xander again don't ask me why X's. I just like different names and all those are different. Tho Xavier, Elijah and Ethan are getting quite popular now.
Roza I have sent you a pm.
Femme-Fetale
14-04-2006, 18:16
HI girls, yep i can see now im not alone here, thats great!! we should all get to chatting more often! i love having other single mummies to vent or cry with that understand me coz they have been there too!!
Im a maaaaadddd lover of weird names too Loopi. I also tossed up the name Xavier but ended up going with Zeak, just coz i dont know any one else called Zeak, havent herd it in ages!!!
When i was a little girl i always thought If i had a girl i wanted to call her Ameerah, which means princess, and if i had a boy, i wanted to call him Thorn (just so i could yell out "come here u lil prick" LOL )
Ive just started dating some one, been together 2 mths and his nick name is jamaizing. so we talk about if i ever was to have his child, we would call a boy JAMAIZEN (say it like amazing) and if we have a girl i do like Vanessa, not that thats a weird name but it means butterfly and that is a very special song to us both (by delta) I would still love a girl called Ameerah but i really dont think ill be having more kids ever. Its just fun looking at names and talking them:ecomcity: On and On and On i go hey hehehe
If I had a girl her name was going to be Amelia.
I do like unusal names but not silly one's like Gwenyth with her DD, Apple but it's her choice like all our kids name are our choices. Maybe because I haven't heard as a childs name.
How are all of you single mummies spending your Easter?
Imogensmum
14-04-2006, 20:16
hi girls- I'm shannan and I am also a single mum! DD has no father IYKWIM he left the day he found out i was preg!
So loopi i understand what you mean when you say it is "easier"- you never had to rely on anyone but us... so it wasn't like i had to adjust after he left.
I am nearly 25 and DD is 9mths!
I wasn't planning on having a bub yet but i trully wouldn't channge it for theworld- my girl is my life!
On the dating thing- i am going out for "cofee" next week--- eeeek. Met him through my Bestfriends family (long story) and i took the first step and texted him- he agreed so hear goes nothing! I am actually very scared as i haven't been with anyone now for almost 18mths... any advise ladies?
Hi Shannan,
The only advise I can give you is to relax and be yourself. Take the moment as it comes don't expect anything from it or you'll end up trying to hard. Just take it as if you've done it before and its nothing new.
Sorry to hear Imogen's dad did a runner, yes I know all about it and even tho it has been a little easier it still hurts. These guys who want the fun but not the responsibility really make me angry but I have lost to much time and effort to be bothered with him anymore so my DS and I just make the most out of us and what we have.
Hope your coffee goes well, let us know how you went
Take Care
Femme-Fetale
15-04-2006, 11:28
Hi Shann
I was recently dabbling in the dating scene too, but as u have most likely just read, found a catch so am back of the scene now :D
All i would suggest is be yourself and make sure u let it be known that your daughter will always come 1st. You really need to show ur limitations, so that they cant turn around later and say they couldnt handle this that or the other. One thing i found that peeved guys off is the inablity to do dinners or movies at night (out) or just be able to get up and go at any time of day or nite. Also wat peeved one guy off the most which i thought was just disgusting was when my DS fell ill, and we did have plans for that weekend. I had to tell him the plans were off and seeing as it was his first holiday in 2 yrs or something he took it personal and cr@pped on about it and how its not fair etc. I was like Um hello, i told u my child comes first, before you or i but now i see you dont fully understand that type of commitment so im out here, and that was the end of that!
Enjoy your date, be strait up and honest and im sure he will respect u for that if nothing else!
GOOD LUCK
Mum of one boy
15-04-2006, 20:30
Wow, didn't check the site since I posted my call for friends and was really happy to see so many of you girls had responded. It really does make me feel so not alone....so thanks. Lochie, my son and I had such a lovely easter day today, he met the easter bunny but it was hard not having anyone to share it with. I mean it's been a yr now since my ex and I separated so u think I"d be used to it by now but to be honest it gets harder not easier.
Melinda I tried to send you a pm but apparently it said you had so many stored messages that you couln't accept my pm until you had deleted some of your messages. Would luv to send it to u if you wanna do that.
Jaime
mum to Lochie (nearly 2 YAY!!)
maybe1more
16-04-2006, 14:08
I just wanted to say, you ladies amaze me:yelclap: From reading your posts you are all doing such an amazing job, and i hope you are all so very proud of yourselfs, Its hard enought to rasie a child let anlone on your own:kiss:
Femme-Fetale
16-04-2006, 14:12
Thankyou Jenny, there is nothing quiet as nice as the recognition u have just given. Sometimes the solo mummys can feel quiet low and that we dont do enough (well i know sometimes i feel i fail my son even tho my logical brain knows im not) but it is great to see we are thought of and are doing JUST FINE!
thankyou for your kid words , it will mean alot to the others as it does to me im sure!
Your a angel! :thumbsup:
tyler's mum
16-04-2006, 18:18
i'm also a single mummy,,, free for a chat anytime you can add me to msn on
ziggy21au@hotmail.com,,, oh yeah welcome to bub hub
anyone else who wants to chat feel free to adde aswell:thumbsup:
MissBrightside
19-04-2006, 14:46
Hello another single mum here. Ive been single just over 2 months now. Still get down sometimes but no way near as much as I did when we first split. I am starting to find a whole new world out there for me and my boys.
Id love to chat to other single parents to so if anyone wants to say hi my msn addy is stmc78@hotmail.com
mum2littleman
19-04-2006, 15:11
hey,
another single mummy here, ive been single since 1 day before i found out i was preg, once i told him and asked if he wanted to try again i was told to stay out of his life and he didnt want a child so get rid of it-- lets just say he didnt get sum very nice words back{ how dare he tell me to get rid of my bub }
anyways so it just me and little lucas and i love being a single mum:smiliedance: i dont have to share with anyone :)
anyone ever want to chat u can normaly catch me on msn
ur_good_girl16@hotmail.com
Hi I'm a single mum to a 1 year old boy and I have Just Joined tonight.Hope to see you around the boards!
A BIG Hello to all the new BH single mums.
BH is fantastic to chat to other mums including us single ones. It's amazing and a bit of a shame there is so many of us single mums around. But it just goes to prove that women don't need a man to enrich this planet with new world leaders or doctors and scientists.
Ok maybe at the Very beginning but us single mummas do the rest.
Welcome to you all and hope BH is as informative and fun for you as it has for me.
yummymummy
24-04-2006, 12:46
Hello out there to all the single girls in the house...............:smiliedance: We all have our moments and it s nice to know that there are so many other girls like us around, doing such a great job 4 our babies.:yelclap: My daughters father is a UK resident and wants nothing to do with her, he does not even want to see photos of her, we all have our reasons ................but what we are going through daily is making us stronger people. Hugs to all ;)
Baybijojo
24-04-2006, 14:18
HI I just want to let you all know that my dad died when i was little and My mum raised us on her own and we have one of the closest loving families.. dont get me wrong there has and always been bickering but at the end of the day we are there for each other. My Mum is a champ and we cant thank her enough for the wonderful life she gave us. So girls hold your head up and be sooo proud of yourselves because it is a tough job and their are a lot of people out there who could not do what your doing. Just remember as long as you do the best that you can your children will love and appreciate you for ( eventually lol)
xxxxx
Femme-Fetale
24-04-2006, 19:29
I have a similar family story to yours baybijojo, and my mother had 5 of us, while also on the run!! Im amazed at what she got us throu, all together, with love and in one peice!! If i can be half the woman she was back then, im a very lucky gal!!
I have a 2yr old and a 1yr old and am about to separate from my husband....am utterly devastated/terrified....
Need some friends and support, can't turn to family for help and have very few people I can turn to for support...(middle of nowhere)
Want to curl into a ball and cry/scream/die but can't as I have little bitty people to take care of....
Any advice ?
:gloomy:
:wave: Giselle
I am so sorry to hear of your split from DH but am mortified that your best friend isn't supportive of you, that's what friends are for. Did she not get that memo from best friend world or what???????
Well all us Bubhubbers with be your best friend from now on, you can tell us anything and we will listen.
I don't know what to say to you to make things better as I've been a single mum right from the start, but all I can say is that you can do it. Every mum can raise kids on their own, it may not look or feel like it now but things happen for a reason and things always work out and just beleive in Karma...:yelclap:
Right at this moment you need time 'grieve' always(try) be happy around the kids though. Go to centrelink and find out all your options, register at CSA etc...
Chin up mate I know easier said then down and what would I know but as you said you have to littlies to look after and to wollow away isn't going to help them, besides if you let him see how much it hurts he wins. :crying: in your room at night if it makes things feel better.
Shame you are so far away.
Take Care
imayoungmommy
18-05-2006, 19:23
HELLO HI!!! :smiliedance:
WELL YEP IM IN THAT BOAT WITH ALL U BEAUTIFUL MOMMIES 2!!!
WELL RIGHT NOW ALL I CAN SAY IS THE SAME AS EVERYONE ELSE AND THAT IS "NO" WE REALLY RNT ALONE...
ALTHOUGH SOME OF THE TIME WE REALLY FEEL LIKE IT... BUT THAT SOME OF THE TIME I GUESS ITS A TIME FOR A WALK, A COFFEE, OR TEA, OR HITTIN THIS GREAT SITE 2 GET YRSELF SOME GREAT FEEDBACK AND UNDERSTANDING!
;)
OK WELL FOR ANYONE WHO HAS MSN PLEASE LOG ON AND I WOULD LOVE 2 CHAT!
kristalpink69@hotmail.com
Bye
Kristal