View Full Version : January 2009 - June chat
Hels*Bels
16-06-2008, 10:22 AM
Re bleeding after BD'ing, I have heard it is from the cervix due to it being more sensitive (as someone already suggested). I prefer to abstain for the first trimester and I usually feel too sick anyway to worry about "doing it" anyway :laughing:
That pram looks nice and a great buy too :thumbsup:
We picked up our tandem pram yesterday (the one I bought on ebay) and I'm really pleased with it, such a bargain. I have already wheeled DS around in it and he got very excited lol. Too bad we have to put it away for 6 months. However, it would be very handy to take it shopping as I could put all the bags in the newborn section :D
Ok, now it's my turn to ramble about the pram :laughing:
How is everyone with the MS feeling? I am improving but night time is the worse for me still.
muminwaiting
16-06-2008, 10:30 AM
MIW is this the stroller you have???
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320257906695&ih=011&category=150591&ssPageName=WDVW&rd=1
If so may i ask where you got yours from? im looking into getting one of these styles and this one is on the list. Any info would be great.
Thats it!!!!!...I got mine from a shop called Bubs baby shop http://www.bubs.com.au/..
I had a look earlier but I couldn't find it on their site but I just had another look and it is called the Maclaren Caprice..I got it in the Chilli pepper, which looks more red in the picture than what it is..The site has the price at $499.95 but I only paid $255 from their store located at Tuggerah... I got it because it was a great pram but also the whole top bit un-clips so you are only left with the base unit in case you need more room in the boot of your car, then the bassinet can just sit on the back seat. I really loved this one, and it passed dh's rigorous safety test....he turned them all upside down and gave them a real good inspection.:laughing::D
*Bec&Bel*
16-06-2008, 10:57 AM
MIW they have the red one on ebay too for buy now of $209! Is the padding in it removable? Like for when they hit toddler years? If so ill probly get this pram! Thats IF i dont get this one http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/mothers-choice-impulse-layback-stroller-apple/ but in red i can get a shop display (thats all they have left) for $80!!!! My sis is going to see if she can get it as its in sydney.
3already
16-06-2008, 11:02 AM
morning girls,
After feeling pretty good for a couple of days last week i have been terrible again the last few days. Went to work on friday and had to come home after an hour as just standing up was too hard. Had to ring in sick sat and yesterday and spent the weekend laying on the sofa falling asleep every couple of hours. I find i feel ok for the first hour or so of the day and then it just gets progressively worse and by early afternoon i feel so sick and tired. I'm casual so only earn when i work and now i'm worrying about money as DP doesn't earn that much. Am feeling so emotional too and keep crying, am really missing my mum and sister (in the UK) right now and would give anything for mum to drop in for a chat. Am hoping it's just the hormones making me feel so down and that in a few weeks i'll be feeling happy cos right now i just feel a wreck and even the thought of having the baby isn't helping :no:
Sorry for such a down post but that's how i'm feeling at the moment.
Hope you all had a good weekend inbetween the :sleeping: and the :barf: !!
borntobemummy
16-06-2008, 11:04 AM
all this pram talk is making me pram-clucky:laughing: we have to wait until we get our tax money before we can get one. I can't wait because we are getting a tandem (possibly a phil & ted) and I can use it now for DD and DS until the baby is born. It's so hard getting out with both of them by myself now, I can't use the ergo comfortably anymore.
I was feeling pretty sick this morning, I really felt like I was going to vomit, but it didn't happen. My belly is starting to poke out a bit now, I can't wait to have a big pregnant belly!
oh, and speaking of teeth, a big chunk broke off my wisdom tooth last night:crying:
muminwaiting
16-06-2008, 11:40 AM
MIW they have the red one on ebay too for buy now of $209! Is the padding in it removable? Like for when they hit toddler years? If so ill probly get this pram! Thats IF i dont get this one http://www.dealsdirect.com.au/p/mothers-choice-impulse-layback-stroller-apple/ but in red i can get a shop display (thats all they have left) for $80!!!! My sis is going to see if she can get it as its in sydney.
I didn't even think of ebay.....I am pretty sure (99%) all of the padding was removable...(sorry we looked at so many prams) mines still packed in the box, so I can not check for you. But I do remember the sales lady pulling the display one completely apart for dh :laughing:...Ohh I like the mothers choice one as well...$80!!! bargain!!!!!! I like the green....We saw a pink buggaboo I think it was...that I wanted but dh was practical and said a boy would have identity issues using a pink pram..:laughing::laughing:..but it was sooooo cute (pinks my fav colour)....
Borntobemummy - :hugs:I hope you feel better soon.... We only went to look at prams and came home with one..dh was worse than what I was he was picking things out all over the place and had to be restrained..he wanted to buy this swinging cradle which looked like a teepee, which once you got everything than went with it cost nearly $600.....I had to explain to him that it would only be good for 6mths....it did look very comfy..heres the link if you want to take a look at what I mean..(its the Leander one) http://www.bubs.com.au/_products/Nursery/Bassinettes+++Cradles-115.aspx..
3A -:hugs: I am sure it is just the hormones making you feel this way..I know it's hard not to stress about money, just try and remember it will work itself out..you may just need a few days in bed to recharge your batteries. You will be back on top of it before you know it...I felt this way aroung 8-9weeks and it passed..keep your chin up hun:hugs:
Pink73
16-06-2008, 12:53 PM
I swear its harder to pick a pram than it is to pick which school lol.
I second the warm lemon & honey nan used to give it to us when we had sore throats.
3already :hugs: It can be tough when family is so far away our family is also in the UK.
Also :hugs: to all that have MS I hope it passes soon.
I Had an Ob app this morning, all is well there is still a strong heart beat and the sack is growing. She said once you see a heart beat the chance of a MC is very slim, so thats good news. I dont have to see her again for another 6 weeks, But I will have the 12 week scan in 4 weeks, So will see bub then. After having 2 MC its nice to get to have extra peeps to make sure everything is OK.
Lunch today is Jatz cheese and gerkins YUM.
Have a good day everyone.
mrsmamo
16-06-2008, 03:13 PM
Hey everyone - just quickly coming in to update cuz im very excited i had a call from the ultrasound place at lunch time to confirm the NT test tomorrow :D
i cant believe its here already!!! well almost.
im so looking forward to seeing it and actually having something resembling a baby to bond with cuz atm i just do not feel maternal at all... :(
Oh and i confirmed its still all bulk billed which is doubly awesome hehe :)
Also DH has put his resignation in and starts new job in 2 weeks, he is pretty excited, bit less base wage but HEAPS better commission structure. so :fingerscrossed: it all goes well :)
epiphany
16-06-2008, 05:55 PM
Just thought I'd pop in & say hi.
Sorry...haven't caught up with the thread but hope all is well with everyone.
The tiredness has all but gone (yay)...I even cleaned the house from top to bottom yesterday! But my son has decided to turn feral. Constant (& I mean constant...he's even doing it now & judging by the yelling coming from upstairs, I think he just hit my daughter) crying & tantys over nothing. His sleep is quite disturbed as well. I wonder if he's getting his 2 yr molars (nasty nappies the last couple of days).
I have an unhealthy obsession with potato chips. Yuuuumy potato chips....
And have just got over a 5 day migraine.
Sigh.
But I have my NT scan on Wednesday, so that'll be fun.
I dunno...I'm not very excited to be preggies right at the moment. I know that sounds horrible...but still no bonding & I feel very "meh" over the whole thing. Bring on the blimpiness & constant kicking from the inside out! Yeah!
Hope everyone is well :)
Hels*Bels
16-06-2008, 05:56 PM
morning girls,
After feeling pretty good for a couple of days last week i have been terrible again the last few days. Went to work on friday and had to come home after an hour as just standing up was too hard. Had to ring in sick sat and yesterday and spent the weekend laying on the sofa falling asleep every couple of hours. I find i feel ok for the first hour or so of the day and then it just gets progressively worse and by early afternoon i feel so sick and tired. I'm casual so only earn when i work and now i'm worrying about money as DP doesn't earn that much. Am feeling so emotional too and keep crying, am really missing my mum and sister (in the UK) right now and would give anything for mum to drop in for a chat. Am hoping it's just the hormones making me feel so down and that in a few weeks i'll be feeling happy cos right now i just feel a wreck and even the thought of having the baby isn't helping
Sorry for such a down post but that's how i'm feeling at the moment.
Oh dear, I read your post and I could have written it myself. I am really, really missing my family in the UK right now too :(
fugly
16-06-2008, 07:58 PM
:wave: Everyone .... sorry just a quick one tonight
Hope everyone is feeling much better - I have started to feel a little better - not queasy quite as often as before.
Seem like their is quite a few of us away from our families :( It makes it so hard doesnt it...My Mum says I get really clingy when I am pregnant and call her every day/every 2nd day :laughing:..
I cant wait as Mum and Dad are visiting for 3 weeks on Friday (the day I am 12 weeks) so I CANNOT wait - wont see them again until I have already had No 2 and they will come back :)
I cant believe it is only 4 MORE SLEEPS :smiliedance: until I can start to tell everyone.. Have been trying to think of a witty little sentance to put on my facebook page - so any suggestions will be great !!
Take care and although I am not very good at the personnals - I do love reading and catching up with how everyones doing
3already :hugs: call your Mum and have a long chat - it really helps
justmum
16-06-2008, 08:28 PM
Hi all, sorry no personals as I am :sleeping::sleeping:
I am having such a hard time. My 1 yo has turned into a demon and I am NOT COPING.
It is so hard - he's into everything and throws everything particularly at me, bites, pinches, pulls hair, eye gouges, head buts - I don't know if it's a phase or if I am doing something wrong.
My DH and I are really quiet people. And we have birthed this maniac.
How on Earth will I cope with another?
:gloomy::gloomy::gloomy::gloomy:
muminwaiting
17-06-2008, 08:07 AM
Hi all, sorry no personals as I am :sleeping::sleeping:
I am having such a hard time. My 1 yo has turned into a demon and I am NOT COPING.
It is so hard - he's into everything and throws everything particularly at me, bites, pinches, pulls hair, eye gouges, head buts - I don't know if it's a phase or if I am doing something wrong.
My DH and I are really quiet people. And we have birthed this maniac.
How on Earth will I cope with another?
:hugs: x 100....I have nothing but respect for all of you mums who are pg and also having to cope with a little one to look after, as much as I b*tch and moan about how sick I am feeling at least I can just go to bed and close the door and dh can look after himself....
I can not offer you any personal advice because I don't have any kids...but I will tell you what happened to my wonderful neighbour who has 4 kids and the youngest is nearly 15mths.(the other three are school age)...Her little angel suddenly turned into a demon child overnight, was doing everything that you mentioned and more...she was at her wits end and then one of her other friends suggested that she was bored and not being stimulated enough...so she enrolled her into a play group for a just four hours 1 day a week and the change was almost instant, she loves going to play with the other kids and now goes twice a week, at first my friend stayed there with her because she was too scared to leave her there on her own but now after nearly two months of going she now looks forward to her "free" time. She had never experienced this with her other kids because they always had each other to play with because they are all closer in age.
If you don't have a play group in your area, how about a mothers group where you just catch up for a coffee and the kids get to interact together, they are usually free (or a very small donation is made) and you are asked to just bring a plate for morning tea. Our local community centre has one maybe you have one in your area?..
Hope this helps, hang in there it can only get better.:hugs:
mrsgrumpygills
17-06-2008, 08:55 AM
My DS was a major biter at about 12mths. I was covered in bruises all the time. Such a stressful time, he would throw a tantrum so I'd ignore him then he would bite my legs to get attention. It made me so angry I had to restrain myself from slapping him. I set up two safety gates in the hallway and put him in there for a minute everytime he bit me. This seemed to work best as everytime i yelled at him and told me off he laughed at me :banghead:. I think it is a phase combined with a spirited active child (at least this is what i think the issue with my son was). I agree with muminwaiting, a bit of extra stimulation will probably help as well.
*Bec&Bel*
17-06-2008, 08:57 AM
:hugs: to you justmum and everyone else is feeling down :hugs: , justmum they sure can turn into devils overnight. My little one who is 3 at the moment yes 3 :eek: she is good most the time then all of a sudden she turn into a little devil at times i know my dd went through that face when she was younger. I think its normal for them to act like that when there growing but you might have one that is teething ect too. Hope he settles down a bit for you soon.
Hows every1 else feeling, im also away from my family too! :( but we are moving back down to sydney end of july (thats where they all are including Df's!).
I got my pram:yelclap: $80 a red mothers choice impulse one normally $380 but it didnt come with the bassinette i rang around and found one but its green, im getting it! So ill have green (not my fave colour but there nice and bright) to start with then red for the stroller part. I know i shouldnt go buying stuff for bub yet but i cant help myself.
I got docs next week 26th do all docs have a heart doppler thing so they can check for babys heartrate? Im just a bit worried coz i dont feel pregnant at times.
Well i better stop :ecomcity:
Hope you are all doing well.
justmum
17-06-2008, 09:11 AM
Hi girls thanks so much for your kind words - it means so much.
We do go to playgroup on a Tuesday which he loves and on a Monday he is looked after by a nanny while I work who also has a 1 yo. So he is getting a bit of stimulation.
But I think he is a bit bored on the other 3 days. Particularly the Wednesday when my MIL has him and she won't let him do anything because she is scared he will fall.
Work has asked me to go up from 2 to 3 days and i am thinking about it - I've made a call to book him into day care on a Friday so that might help him get through this stage. He's a very active little boy.
In a lot of ways, being 1 is probably a hard thing - lots of change, lots of teeth, big needles. The last thing you need is a stressed and tired mummy who is too tired to play with you anymore but who lays on your foldout couch and dozes while you play instead of playing crawling chasey like she used to.
I have tried all manner of discipline. The only thing that seems to work for us is ignoring the bad behaviour and as soon as he stops it praising him. But it's so hard when he's throwing food or biting.
Anyway girls enough whining from me. He's not a bad child, you're all right I think he's a bit bored.
missmum05
17-06-2008, 09:33 AM
Hey Girls
How is everyone? Havent been online to much as my nan has been in hospital sick so been at the hospital alot :-( but nan is getting heaps better:yes:
My ms was so bad I couldn't cope at work at all been having alot of time off so I went to the docs and got maxalon tablets and I feel like a new person:smiliedance: No more morning sickness its amazing!
hugs to justmum and hope your feeling better. I know what you mean its harder being pregnant when you already have a little one to care for and when your really sick all they want is you. DD has been pretty good exept she has been doing a few poo's in the potty instead of doing them on the toilet so it been pretty hard cleaning the potty when you have a weak tummy :laughing:
Mummyto3blue
17-06-2008, 09:43 AM
Just mum - my boys werent through that stage too, and thankfully its stopped. Once they learn the difference between when they are being good and being naughty, it does stop. At 12 months they just dont understand much and get frustrated.
My 17 month old still headbuts alot but he just doesnt realise how big and heavy his head is! They have both stopped biting though!!
My DH said the other day when the boys were upset "Well what do you think it'll be like with another one" ARGFFFF I just said that the boys wont be like this in 6-8 months, They change ALL the time and you can never tell what their behaviour will be like.
I got 13 days now till the 12 week scan so heres hoping I will see a gorgeous little almost totally formed baby on the scan.
3already
17-06-2008, 10:05 AM
:wave: all,
MIW, Pink73 and Fugly...thanks for your kind words :)
I've woken up today with full on AF pains in my tummy and back so hope all is ok :confused: I hardly slept last night as i was so anxious for some reason, my heart was racing all night and then i was getting worried cos they reckon stress in pregnancy can cause asthma and allergies in the baby.
I'm 8 weeks today so am hopefully over half way to feeling vaguely human again!
Justmum..you have my sympathies :hugs: I know all too well how hard it is to cope with toddlers while pregnant :eek:!
GoneBatty
17-06-2008, 12:32 PM
HEY LADIES!!!
well ive been away for a while havent had the time to pop in so ive probably missed tonnes of stuff!!
We have been busy looking for rentals to move out of here to get cheaper rent and to be closer to things like my work etc... need to save as much as we can before bub comes along!!
We are just waiting for the owner of a place to get back to the real estate about a place we applied for this morning, the agent said they gave their reccommendation for us to the owners if that makes sense so :fingerscrossed
As with the pregnancy im a few days off 12 weeks and have my NT scan tomorrow which im a tad worried about.
I just dont feel pregnant when i wake up in the morning with a full bladder "baby" bump kinda sits up under my belly button nice and hard but other than that theres no nausea my boobs arnt sore anymore i just feel normal!
So hopefully everythings fine and im just "Lucky" coz i havent had any cramps or bleeding of any sort!
Hope your all doing well ill try and keep up with u all between packing and moving house!!!
mrsmamo
17-06-2008, 01:35 PM
Hellooo ladies!
I hope everyone is doing well - its not fun putting up with a bored 1 year old - my nephew was very much like that - mind you i was only 8 at the time lol.
Well im back from the NT scan - they revised our due date which is now the 29th December! but if you girls dont mind, i'd like to stay in this thread :)
I have a pic here: http://s186.photobucket.com/albums/x275/jermaineandkym/?action=view¤t=bub.jpg
*Bec&Bel*
17-06-2008, 02:16 PM
Hellooo ladies!
I hope everyone is doing well - its not fun putting up with a bored 1 year old - my nephew was very much like that - mind you i was only 8 at the time lol.
Well im back from the NT scan - they revised our due date which is now the 29th December! but if you girls dont mind, i'd like to stay in this thread :)
I have a pic here: http://s186.photobucket.com/albums/x275/jermaineandkym/?action=view¤t=bub.jpg
Hey i noticed you got your scan done at woolongong, where are you having the baby? Im moving to sydney (picton) next month ill probly be having ours at campbelltown. By the way that scan is so cute! I cant wait till my 12 week scan.
mrsmamo
17-06-2008, 02:30 PM
Hi B&B - yep will be having it at Wollongong Hospital. DH family are from Campbelltown!! and picton isnt far at all! maybe we could catch up once they are here for playdates :) im dying to find people in the area so i dont go out of my mind lol!
When are you moving?
Cordelia
17-06-2008, 02:37 PM
oooer I lvoe the early scans (but late enough so you can see them).. they're so precious! You can see their whole body well. My ob had trouble with mine because i hadn't drank enough water!! I was worried because last time I had drunk too much. Gotta find a medium!
I am sick sick sick sick sick. no energy to make anything healthy so eating absolute **** which is probably fueling the nausea. It's a vicious cycle. Really feel like I need someone to spoil me :( DH does his best but that has included going and getting me chocolate, coke or maccas! Not very helpful!!
mrsgrumpygills
17-06-2008, 02:45 PM
Am feeling so emotional too and keep crying, am really missing my mum and sister (in the UK) right now and would give anything for mum to drop in for a chat. Am hoping it's just the hormones making me feel so down and that in a few weeks i'll be feeling happy cos right now i just feel a wreck and even the thought of having the baby isn't helping :no:
Hey, 3already, I completely understand how you feel. I spent Friday crying my eyes out and I couldn't quite explain why. We are also struggling financially and my family is interstate but on Fri it really seemed to get to me. I think as well and I am sick and tired of being sick and tired, it is wearing me down mentally. I have actually heard of pre-natal depression which can be as bad as the post natal depression. I'm not sure what I can say to help but if might comfort you to know that you are not the only one, others understand what you are going through.
On a happier note, I have decided that I needed a me day today and when I dropped my son at day care I came home rather than going to work. I had wonderful notions of getting lots done and cleaning my horrifically messy house, hmmm, to ambitious. I succeeded in at least making broccoli soup, enough for a few serves in the freezer as evenings are the worst for me and I haven't been able to stomach much for dinner. So I figured so nutritious soup my go down well.
I have been in sore need of new jeans and have put of buying them for ages. I decided rather than buying regular jeans that I will only wear for a couple of months I would see if I could get some nice maternity jeans that fit under the belly so I could start wearing them now. I went back to the Richmond pumpkin patch outlet and found a really nice pair for $27!! Plus a comfy pair of cargo pants for $10 :yelclap:. Neither of them look like maternity pants and they look great now even though I only have a very small pot belly. That has made my week.
*Bec&Bel*
17-06-2008, 02:52 PM
Hi B&B - yep will be having it at Wollongong Hospital. DH family are from Campbelltown!! and picton isnt far at all! maybe we could catch up once they are here for playdates :) im dying to find people in the area so i dont go out of my mind lol!
When are you moving?
Hi that would be good, ill have to meet some new mummies when i get down there!
We are moving the last week of july :goodvibes: i cant wait! Theres a woolongong hospital? Is that private? I was thinking of having bubs at bowral (i think thats how u spell it) but c'town ended up being closer.
Ill be in need soon of maternity clothes also.
My house is such a mess at the moment! I think i better go clean it up :sleeping:
fugly
17-06-2008, 02:59 PM
Kym - your little one is so cute !! CONGRATS
I cant wait to get my scan - I put it off a week so that my MUm can come along when she gets here so 1 week from today
I am 99% sure that I will have this bub in Dec but I want to stay in this thread too :yes:
lets hope they dont kick us out :laughing:
justmum
17-06-2008, 03:32 PM
I have my scan in 2 hours time - it's a dating scan. I think I am 7 weeks 5 days so we will see how accurate that is.
Hels*Bels
17-06-2008, 05:31 PM
Great to see scan pics already. Amazing to think that some of us are approaching the 12 week mark, it feels like only yesterday that we were announcing our BFP's lol
3Already - Great to hear you are feeling better. I spoke to my parents on the phone last night as a belated father's day call and it was really nice to chat to them.
I had great plans today but didn't get to do any of it as I felt so tired. I've had one of those days where I could hardly get off the couch.
Having left over pasta bake for dinner but I really don't feel like it. Night times are the worst for me :barf:
Mamalicious
17-06-2008, 05:45 PM
Hey chickies :wave:
11 weeks tomorrow, it's gone so fast!!! My morning sickness is just about gone too, which is great, still tired though!!!
I just want to mooove, I miss my hubby!!! :crying:
Mummy to Mason
17-06-2008, 05:54 PM
Justmum- how did your scan go? I am feeling the same as you at the moment, my son is 2 though. I think 12 months is such a frustrating age for them because there is so much they want to do, but can't do it yet iykwim. My son can do most physical things now, but is getting so frustrated because he can't talk yet. He also headbutts and kicks and punches :( Hopefully they'll be over it by the time our bubs come!
mrsmamo- oooh such a cute little bubba you have there! :cloud9: Thanks for sharing with us!
I need a whinge... I've felt a bit down the last couple of days, I think it's because the tiredness is still there and if I don't take my maxolon the sickness creeps back. I HATE relying on medication to get through the day. We recently sold our house and are renting whilst we build again but we are having trouble getting the land we wanted and I don't feel at home where we are living at the moment. I'm sure it's just my pregnancy hormones making me feel this way, but I keep getting upset when I think about it all. I so desperately hope we are in the new house before the baby comes because I really don't want to be living here but I can't see that happening unless we sort something out with getting a block of land soon. Settlement on our old house was last week and the money still hasn't cleared in our bank account yet, despite the bank assuring our solicitor it would be cleared instantly for us. We are relying on the money as we have other committments and we're just sick of being stuffed around.
Anyway, sorry for the whinge! It all sounds so petty in the big scheme of things but being pregnant seems to be blowing it all out of proportion :o
justmum
17-06-2008, 06:34 PM
Hi chix,
Scan went fine - it put me 6 days back to 5 Feb, BUT I don't go on scan dates anymore. DS came on his LMP due date so I am pretty sure this one will be the same, small but timely :laughing: Such a relief to see the little beating heart and only one at that - I had the night terrors the last few days worrying it would be twins.
M2M I hear you hun. I think it must be frustration. Thanks to the great advice I got on here I have made inquiries about 1 day per week of childcare. Would you consider it? I must say I hate the idea but if it means DS and I getting along well, I'll do it.
3A, I am feeling emotional too :crying: The only thing that helps me is Rescue Remedy spray. It's heaven sent that stuff.
It's so great to see the pics already - I forgot to get one!!
MGG great bargains - I really love PP for maternity clothes.
Cordelia and everyone else suffering, I hope you feel better soon.
Thanks again to everyone for your support - I felt pretty low last night. Today was a better day. :smiliedance:
Sassi
17-06-2008, 07:40 PM
HI Ladies,
Wow... can't believe that scans are coming around so quickly. With 13 days until my NT scan I am so happy for those of you getting scans, and a little bit jealous.
Justmum - I really feel for you, as I have had similar difficulties with my 16 month old. No suggestions here, just hang in there!!! It is just a phase that they go in and out of I think.
Grumpy: Your me days sounded so good... I want one.
Me: Feeling better more or less, completely exhausted, but other than that very little nausea now. I do have a very very definate belly... I look like I did when I was about 20weeks with no 1. Still doing my best to hide it.
Hope everyone is okay.
earthfairy
18-06-2008, 10:08 AM
Immmmm Baaaaccckkkk!!!!!
Anyone Miss Me?:D
muminwaiting
18-06-2008, 10:27 AM
Immmmm Baaaaccckkkk!!!!!
Anyone Miss Me?:D
Hey Welcome back....I have been sending up smoke signals for you all week...about time you got back on here.:laughing::p
How are you, How was the move??????
earthfairy
18-06-2008, 11:18 AM
He he he:laughing:
I am doing good - much better than i was when we were leaving Perth that's for sure!
Havent had a chance to read through all the posts but my my you ladies have been busy!!!!:ecomcity:
Hope you are all well & those bubbas are sticky & healthy :babydust2::goodvibes::babydust2:
GoneBatty
18-06-2008, 11:38 AM
Hey KirstyB welcome back.... hope the move went well. Glad to hear your feeling better!!
Well my scan went well bubs was fine and jumping around and waving lol very cute!!
im 12 weeks now so time to start relaxing and enjoying it!!:yelclap:
Mummy to Mason
18-06-2008, 12:24 PM
Congrats on your scan results justmum & happilyinlove :smiliedance:
Kirsty B- welcome back!!!! I've wondered how you were going. How have you been feeling?
fugly
18-06-2008, 12:44 PM
Kirsty B - WELCOME BACK ..... Was wondering when you would show up..
So do tell - how was the move?
Yep - everyone here is still chatting like crazy and looking forward to hitting 12 weeks
I cant hide it anymore though - my stomach is HUGE.. I am embarrassed by it.:no: I know i will hopefully grow into it but as I am only 3 months - i look HUGE
My cat is still following me around like crazy and meows at me allt he time. When I sit down she tries to get on my tummy (Love the cuddles but the meowing is driving me insane)
2 more sleeps til my parents get here :smiliedance: then I have to start in the 'tourist' trail. It is the first time thye have come to visit us since we moved here
I am so excited
Incy Wincy
18-06-2008, 01:45 PM
Anyone heard from TheMamma?
muminwaiting
18-06-2008, 01:53 PM
Nope I haven't heard from her..but she was moving house on the 12th June..so maybe she hasn't got the internet connected up yet?? I hope she is trying to take it easy...hard to do with packing & unpacking to be done.
justmum
18-06-2008, 01:56 PM
Yep, she's currently moving house and is offline for a week. :fingerscrossed: she's Ok and trying to take as easy as you can whilst moving house with a 1 yo.
I am not sure if I am being paranoid but I feel like everyone is staring at my stomach today at work. I am definitely huge but still, it's a little disconcerting! Only one of my bosses knows as I haven't told the other yet. Hopefully the cat isn't too far out of the bag yet.
Congrats on your result HIL - I can't wait for my 12 week scan :yes: They look like a real formed baby then - it's so cute.
I hope everyone is feeling as well as can be expected.
mrsmamo
18-06-2008, 02:37 PM
Hi LAdies - i hope you are all going well - sorry im not doing personals - im trying to fit in reading up on here between annoying damn phone calls at work lol.
I do have a question tho - i have been wanting to drink a 'V' lately - i havent though because im not sure if im 'allowed' too. whats everyone else's thoughts?
Ta
Kym
muminwaiting
18-06-2008, 02:47 PM
Hi LAdies - i hope you are all going well - sorry im not doing personals - im trying to fit in reading up on here between annoying damn phone calls at work lol.
I do have a question tho - i have been wanting to drink a 'V' lately - i havent though because im not sure if im 'allowed' too. whats everyone else's thoughts?
Ta
Kym
I think it is just the caffeine content you need to worry about and I think it is high in sugar..Too much Caffeine can disturb your sleeping patterns, and god knows we all need it at the moment...I think it all really depends on how much coffee you drink in a day as well...
I don't think caffeine can actually harm the baby....does anyone know???.........mmmmmm maybe I will go google it...
Mummyto3blue
18-06-2008, 03:01 PM
I dont think it can harm your baby but if u have toomuch throughout pregnancy it can be born with a caffiene addiction - thats what ive been told.
justmum
18-06-2008, 03:07 PM
There was a study a few years ago linking excessive caffeine consumption in the first trimester with increased risk of miscarriage, but I had the feeling this might have been discredited?
*Bec&Bel*
18-06-2008, 03:19 PM
Hi i wouldnt be drinking V's i think it says on the back no suitable for pregnant women. I think its because the guarana (SP) in it and high caffeine.
OMG i just came home.... :eek: ill tell a little story, Well today i had to go take a load of washing to my sisters house (i sold our ****ty one as we are moving interstate and buying a new one anyway) anyway as i took the washing out it was raining so i put DD in the car. Becasue the car was reversed in the driveway i drove off . When i came home (Almost 3 hrs later!) the screen and wooden door wide open! I left the stupid doors open! I swear i have a REALLY DUMB pregnancy brain!
I cant beleive i did that. Ilet our dog in the house and checked all rooms (thinking sum1 might b in here) luckily no1 is , i dont think so anyway.Im lucky no1 came in here, i had the navigation sittin on the bench n everything. Ahh well theres my fright for the day!
Hope you are all doing well....
epiphany
18-06-2008, 03:22 PM
Hello everyone.
I had two scans today! Had an ob appointment this morning & he did a scan then...bubs was jumping round & nice strong heartbeat. Then I had my NT scan this afternoon...got some great pictures & a DVD, which I'll upload to the web later. Bubs has very low risk of T21, which is great news but I'll get the official results in a day or two.
My ob also gave me a rough date as to when I'll be having my elective. At this stage, it looks like bubs will be born sometime between 22-24 Dec, depending on when he can book me in. He wanted to do the 29th but that's my son's birthday, so definately not then! So it's going to be a Dec baby but I'm going to stay in the Jan thread, if you don't mind :)
Re caffeine in pregnancy - my understanding was too much can lead to more anxious & "hyper" children.
Hope everyone is well. Sorry - haven't had a chance to read everything. Will do a catch up later.
*Bec&Bel*
18-06-2008, 03:29 PM
reguarding the V-drinks i found this:
Caffeine and guarana
There is some evidence that caffeine can reduce fertility. Caffeine has also been linked with miscarriage; so it may be a good idea to limit yourself to a moderate' intake - about two weak cups of coffee or five cups of tea per day.
Remember that caffeine is also present in Coke and energy drinks like V and Red Bull. Guarana, a caffeine substance used in some of these drinks, is not recommended in pregnancy.
That info can be read here : http://www.thewomens.org.au/Preparingyourbodyforchildbirth
Hope that helps
Hels*Bels
18-06-2008, 05:13 PM
Congrats to those of you who had scans :yelclap: I still have a little over a week to wait.
I am feeling very, very nauseous today. I think it is my worst day so far :(
I still managed to get out of the house this arvo to run some errands and I'm going to try and force some dinner down shortly.
I have some maxalon in the cupboard but I'm not sure if it will help. Anyone know if it's best to take it on an empty or full stomach? or does it not matter?
Mummy to Mason
18-06-2008, 05:31 PM
Hels I usually take the maxolon just before eating. Sorry to hear you are feeling so sick today :hugs:
ephiphany- yay on getting a rough date that bub will be born! Does that mean you will possibly be in hospy on christmas day? I'm hoping at my appointment with my FS/OB in a couple of weeks that I can get a rough idea of when my c/s will be :fingerscrossed:
I hope TheMamma is taking it easy with her unpacking.
I have booked my NT scan for the 14th July in Brisbane, and am getting the blood taken the wednesday beforehand. It's all seeming so real now! Today at Target I bought a tiny pink and a tiny blue summer jumpsuit :cloud9: Its good to be buying little summer suits this time instead of big bulky winter clothes like I did for Mason.
Hels*Bels
18-06-2008, 07:01 PM
Hels I usually take the maxolon just before eating. Sorry to hear you are feeling so sick today :hugs:
ephiphany- yay on getting a rough date that bub will be born! Does that mean you will possibly be in hospy on christmas day? I'm hoping at my appointment with my FS/OB in a couple of weeks that I can get a rough idea of when my c/s will be :fingerscrossed:
I hope TheMamma is taking it easy with her unpacking.
I have booked my NT scan for the 14th July in Brisbane, and am getting the blood taken the wednesday beforehand. It's all seeming so real now! Today at Target I bought a tiny pink and a tiny blue summer jumpsuit :cloud9: Its good to be buying little summer suits this time instead of big bulky winter clothes like I did for Mason.
Thanks, I took the maxalon about 30 mins before dinner and then I managed to eat something small. Early night for me tonight...
Yay on getting the scan booked and the baby clothes. I have a clothing wholesaler that I go to as they sell alot of the disney stuff that you can buy from Target. It's usually last season but vey cute all the same lol.
I'm going to wait until we know the sex and then I will pay them a visit. I will buy a new summer wardrobe for DS at the same time.
I am hoping my CS will be around 27th - 29th Dec as I've already requested the week between xmas and NY and not before xmas, so we will see. My OB doesn't book anything until after the 20 week scan.
Sassi
18-06-2008, 07:19 PM
Congrats to those who have had their scans today!!!
Re: Caffeine - "Small amounts of caffiene are safe during pregnancy but excessive volumes may increase the risk of miscarriage and premature birth. Caffeine is in coffee, tea, chocolate and cola. NSW health recommends that pregnant women limit themselves to 200mg of caffeine daily. That is 2C ground coffee (or 2.5C instant coffee), 4 cups medium strength tea, 4C hot chocolate or 6 cups of cola" - NSW food Authority http://www.foodauthority.nsw.gov.au/consumer/pregnancy.asp#whattoavoid
Hope that helps.
justmum
18-06-2008, 08:44 PM
Ladies I feel so bad posting about what a hassle my little man has been the last week or so - turns out he has a really bad ear infection - his little ear drum is on the verge of bursting.
Poor mite had a temp of 40 degrees today - so took him to the after hours clinic tonight and the doctor almost yelled when she saw it it was so red.
I feel bad calling him the devil now :o I would play up too if my ear was that infected. I am in for a rough night here no doubt, but for some reason when you know they are sick it's manageable.
epiphany
19-06-2008, 01:05 AM
Yep, it sure does. My ob asked if that was ok with me. I told him it was just fine - it's a good excuse not to have to cook chrissy dinner. My parents & inlaws will all be over - I figure they can have some fun time with the kids, then come over to the hospital to unwrap presents later on.
My mum was in hospital over Christmas with both my brothers. She said she always enjoyed it - the food was always really nice & it was good to have a bit of time out. Hehe.
Hope you get your dates at the next appointment! I actually had to ask mine when he thought it'd be - they book it closer to the time & he hadn't really thought about it too much until I asked.
Justmum...sorry to hear about your wee man. Mine has had an ear & throat infection recently too. It's so sad to see them in obvious pain :( Mine is still acting odd, though...crying constantly, lots of tantys, etc...I wonder if he's actually teething or if the infection hasn't entirely gone. Normally he's so placid & easy going.
trooouble
19-06-2008, 06:33 AM
Morning ladies,
Well I woke up this morning and my big flobby tummy is now smaller,rounder and firm! Is that suppossed to happen over night? It still hasn't popped out over my pubic bone but I can feel it pushing everything up into my ribs. DH and I completely spun out over it :laughing: M/S is still with me :smiliedance:But unfortunately I am just used to it now. If it only occurs 3-4 times a day it has been a good one, I am loving reading about everyones 12 week scans, I am booked in for this Wednesday, I gaurentee though that my bub will be asleep and not moving around like all of yours he he.
I am 11weeks 6 days today and a little nervous about that. So far I have had a major bleed at 6w, 8w and at 10w, If I am right I am due for my 12 week one tomorrow. Everything is so close and I am worried about this one being the last one, we have come so far and are just so close. I suppose stressing about it wouldn't be helping either.
Sorry I just realised how long I have been rambling. I will go and leave some space for others LOL. Good luck to you all!:fingerscrossed:
Mummyto3blue
19-06-2008, 08:26 AM
Hello everyone.
I had two scans today! Had an ob appointment this morning & he did a scan then...bubs was jumping round & nice strong heartbeat. Then I had my NT scan this afternoon...got some great pictures & a DVD, which I'll upload to the web later. Bubs has very low risk of T21, which is great news but I'll get the official results in a day or two.
My ob also gave me a rough date as to when I'll be having my elective. At this stage, it looks like bubs will be born sometime between 22-24 Dec, depending on when he can book me in. He wanted to do the 29th but that's my son's birthday, so definately not then! So it's going to be a Dec baby but I'm going to stay in the Jan thread, if you don't mind :)
Re caffeine in pregnancy - my understanding was too much can lead to more anxious & "hyper" children.
Hope everyone is well. Sorry - haven't had a chance to read everything. Will do a catch up later.
Did u have a previous c/s??
epiphany
19-06-2008, 10:21 AM
Did u have a previous c/s??
I've had two - one was an emergency c-section & I guess the 2nd became an elective after a failed VBAC.
The first was after a 26 hour labour & I only ever got to 5cms. Turns out my daughter was presenting face first & would never have come out normally anyway - she was well & truly stuck. If I had got to 10cms & tried to push, she would have broken her neck (just with the way she was presenting). That particular pregnancy & delivery was a nightmare & I wasn't well cared for - I was 19 & really was treated like a brainless little kid...my midwife - in NZ you have the same one throughout the pregnancy & she stays right through the birth...went home! I ended up with someone I'd never met who was heaps better & made the call for the c-section after I started complaining of sudden leg & back pain & asked for an epidural. They never checked bubs & it wasn't until after the delivery that they realised what had happened.
2nd was a failed VBAC/trial of scar & only after 6 hours but I started getting unbearable, shooting pains running down my legs, couldn't stand properly & was asking for an epidural (sound familiar?! But this was way worse than last time...a million times worse). I hadn't dilated at all, so it was suggested maybe I have a c-section as I simply wasn't progressing at all. The labour was very intense (contractions had started at 1 1/2 mins apart) & by the time the pain changed for the worse (& no, it wasn't transition or anything...lol...I wish), I simply couldn't cope. Something wasn't "right" - yes, labour is painful but this was different...you know those silly programs you see where women scream all through the labour? I felt like doing that, it was just unbearable (& far worse than last time). So I had the c-section.
I'm having an elective this time because, to be frank, I don't think I can go through labour again. Neither time has worked for me...I've been advised that I may have trouble dilating again...& I really don't want to have to go through yet another failed trial of scar. It probably sounds like I'm sort of giving up but I've come to terms with my decision to have an elective & I like the idea of having a good night's rest beforehand, going in knowing what is going to happen & being less befuddled afterwards (last time, I was so exhausted after the op that I couldn't keep my eyes open when my parents came in to see me). Yes, recovery is going to be sore & there are more complications compared to a vaginal birth...but I know what I'm in for ;)
Well, that turned into a longer post than I was expecting. Hope I haven't scared any 1st time mums off - my experience isn't the norm & you ladies will be just fine :yes: And I would still recommend VBACs (but do your research & stick to your guns about what you want to happen during labour).
Mummyto3blue
19-06-2008, 10:33 AM
LOL! I had a c/s with the boys. Im in 2 minds as to whether I will VBAC or not.
I had a 22.5 hour labour with the boys and I didnt get past 2.5 cms. My BP rose to extrememly high levels.
The thing with me is that I couldnt go through another needle in my back. I would want a general, and from what I have heard its not good for bubby? I just remember the pain after the c/s and I was a zombie for days after the op, I dont want that either...
If I had two c/s I would be doing exactly what you are hun!
earthfairy
19-06-2008, 10:50 AM
:wave:Good morning ladies!
Well, i am finally relieved that i manged to get in with a private OB at the private hospy here in Darwin! Phew! Was getting a bit stressed!:hair:
Have my first app with him on wednesday - so excited - do you reckon he will do a scan? I'll be 13wks & 2 days by then....suppose he'll do the nuchal testing huh?
Getting oh so real now. My belly too had popped - bought my first few little things on monday - some little bonds singlets & summer jumpsuits.
I wont be needing ANY winter clothes up here - actually im going to be my biggest in the Build Up which is the most hottest, stickiest time of year up here - oh ma ma:crying:
Better go - im off for a few hours at the hairdressers...ah bliss:goodvibes:
Have a beautiful day ladies:hugs:
mrsmamo
19-06-2008, 11:04 AM
Hi everyone! how exciting i cant wait to hear all about your scans and hopefully see images :)
Justmum - sorry to hear about your little soldier - poor thing. Its not pleasant at all - my neice had one - still the last little bit lingering and they had to try and clear it up before my sis and the kids flew home last week from N/Z so it didnt burst her eardrum.
To everyone that posted about the 'V/Energy Drink' question - thanks so much :) i usually only have 1 coffee every few days (it was 1/day) but have cut right back and only have one when i really really really feel like it. So the caffeine im not so worried about, it was the guarana (sp?) that i didnt know if it was damaging - i could only imagine my little buba in there flipping around like it was on something lol. That image has made my decision for me :) No energy drinks for me! :)
Thanks ladies.
epiphany
19-06-2008, 11:38 AM
melly_bel...generals aren't good for bubs. It puts them to sleep too & can effect their breathing. Most obs are also pretty reluctant to do a general unless there's a good medical reason to do it (eg my cousin had one because she has birth defects & problems with her spine - she can't lie on her back, has a heart problem + various organ defects from birth & was delivering triplets - it was felt it'd be safer for her to have a general because of her spine problems) or it's an extreme emergency & they don't have time to do a spinal or epidural.
Did you have a spinal or epidural last time? I've had both - the spinal was definately better (the epi didn't work properly to start with) & recovery seemed to be better. The whole needle thing is a bit squicky but if you have a good anesthetist, it doesn't hurt & doesn't take long to do (last one was less than a minute to get in & spinal administered!).
Recovery is also pretty nasty in comparison to a vaginal birth...but it's major surgery! So to be expected...but there are things you can do to help, like walking as soon as possible (otherwise you sort of freeze up) & not being lax about telling the nurse you need pain relief. I had morphine with #1 - horrible stuff & I was quite spaced out. Only had Panadeine Forte & panadol with #2 & felt heaps better - no spaciness & the pain was under control (they also inserted pain relief during the op & this probably helped a lot).
I would *highly* recommend a VBAC if you're a good candidate, have a supportive ob & do your research. It's so much better for you & bubs. I do regret not being able to have one...but it wasn't to be.
Kirsty...congrats on finding an ob. Not all obs do scans & if they do, they're usually just to check things like heartbeat, position, etc. They also don't normally do diagnostic scanning like the NT scans or 20 week scans - they're done by a sonographer at a specilist clinic. He might refer you for one if you want one or are at risk...although 13 wks 2 days is getting to the end of being able to have an NT scan & I'd have thought it unlikely you'd be referred at that late stage (plus you might have trouble getting into somewhere to have it done - I had to book mine as soon as I found out I was pregnant!!!).
Have you had any scans at all? If he does scanning, he might have a quick look to check all is well (heartbeat, number of babies, etc) then refer you for the 20 week scan. Good luck for Wed!!
Hels*Bels
19-06-2008, 11:47 AM
Justmum - I hope you little one is feeling better soon :hugs:
I will be in hospital on News Year Eve this time, but that's ok with me :)
I'm feeling very sad today, I just found out that the story of the twins who died is alot closer to home than I ever realised :(
RIP little Lily and Zaide.
borntobemummy
19-06-2008, 11:55 AM
hey everyone:wave:
sorry I've been a bit MIA, we've had an emotional week. I don't know if anyone has seen my thread about it, but basically I went to the doctor on Monday to get a referral for a dating scan and he told me I must've had an early miscarriage, he said he was 99% sure of it. And the only thing he based that on was that my first hcg level was at 36, I knew it would be low, I tested early, I had really faint hpts at the time:rolleyes:
We ended up going to another doctor across the road and basically started again, I said I think I'm pregnant and then he sent me to do a blood test. I got the result yesterday and the hcg is up to 71 420!!! So much for that first doctor and being '99% sure':rolleyes: I'm thinking of making a complaint against him, you just don't say things like that to patients unless you have a lot of evidence to believe so, it really freaked DH out and it did put some doubt in my head to which was ridiculous.
So, after all that, I know I'm pregnant and I ended up getting the referral for a scan, so I will find out on Monday what my EDD is:D
justmum - sorry to hear about your little boy's ear infection, that sounds really nasty. Try not to feel bad about complaining about his behaviour, how could you have known? And it was behaviour that must've been hard to handle and not like him.:hugs:
It seems there are a few of us with previous c/s' I've had two and we are planning to have a home birth VBA2C this time, I can't wait!!
krixly
19-06-2008, 11:57 AM
Hi ladies :wave: I hope everyone is doing well and that the little bubbas are baking away nicely.
I am feeling SO much better over the last week and have had pretty much no nausea anymore. Also not quite so tired and feel like i am coping much better too.
I have my first ob appointment on Monday and will be the first scan too. I am very excited!!! :D
anyway, just wanted to say hi coz I don't post very often in here. until next time......
Pink73
19-06-2008, 12:00 PM
Hi :wave: Everyone.
I cant belive some of us are already getting the 12 week scan time flys when your head is in the toilet bowl lol.
Question Has anyone elses skin gone crazy, I have always had oily skin/hair but at the moment it is out of control, I swear green peace will turn up soon, with the amount of oil that goes down the drain when I wash my face and hair, also the pimples are like I am 16 again I havent had a pimple for years.
To the mums that no thay are having a Cs from all my friends that have a an emergency Cs then an elective thay have all said the recovery is much quicker after an elective. :fingerscrossed: the same will be for you to.
Have a great day
Pink73
19-06-2008, 12:08 PM
Hels bels :hugs: & for those 2 little:angel:
Just mum It is so much easier to deal with a bub when you no there is a prob and there not just growing horns lol.
justmum
19-06-2008, 12:21 PM
Hi everyone thanks for your support. You're just a lovely bunch of women :goodvibes:
Pink sorry I don't know about the oily stuff - I did get a few pimples before I tested this time so it's probably hormonal. Maybe get a lighter moisturiser? I use Active Moist by Dermologica that is a no oil moisturiser. It's expensive but lasts ages.
Krixly :wave: glad you are feeling well.
H*B living it up in hospy for NYe eh? :laughing: Bummer, not sure if you can sneak in a bottle of champers.... If this little bundle comes on his due date, it will also be my b'day so I kind of know what you mean.
MrsMamo lucky your niece didn't burst her ear drum. It's so horrible for them isn't it? So painful.
Melly_bel, I have heard (not sure if this is true???) that recovery from an elective caesar is much better than an emergency. Generals are not great for bubs - and it can stop your milk coming in for as much as a week to 10 days or not at all in extreme cases.
Ep, there is no shame in having an elective caesar. After what you've been through I would too. You know your body. You know how hard it is to recover - do what is best for you.
BTBM, that first doc what a moron. :footinmouth:
Hello to everyone else - sorry my brain isn't retaining much these days so I have forgotten anyone not on the last page! Hope all is well with everyone.
krixly
19-06-2008, 12:26 PM
Oh, also with the c/s, I had one with ds and plan to have one again with #2. I do really regret not having a vaginal delivery, but due to a long labour and no dilation and no progression with contractions (with ds) i ended up with an emergency c/s. I am in 2 minds about it, but think I have made the decision to go with an elective c/s. My ob is also not keen on vbac and I do really like him and the hospital i am going to, so i just have to decide what is the most important to me. I guess I just want a healthy bub and healthy mumma!!! :)
Mum2BinJan
19-06-2008, 12:26 PM
Hi there, I'm new to this site - and new to pregnancy :) due on 14 Jan 09 and am a bit nervous about this whole thing - want to do things naturally but not looking forward to the pain :no: Just want to talk to different mums and have someone to talk to when the little one is here :)
krixly
19-06-2008, 12:31 PM
Question Has anyone elses skin gone crazy, I have always had oily skin/hair but at the moment it is out of control, I swear green peace will turn up soon, with the amount of oil that goes down the drain when I wash my face and hair, also the pimples are like I am 16 again I havent had a pimple for years.
Pink - my skin has gone crazy! not so much oily, but i have been getting really dry skin on my face,arms and legs, but also breakouts all down my arms and legs!!! It is really gross. I have pimples on my arms. I hate it!! Didn't have it with ds1, but it is crazy with this bub! Feel quite the feral with my expanding (fat looking) belly and horrible skin. :(
beck75
19-06-2008, 12:50 PM
Haven't been on for a few days and I haven't got a chance to catch up on all the posts.
I have my scan tomorrow but am a little nervous as I ran hard into a chair on Sunday and hit my pelvis but no bleeding or anythign so will have a better idea tomorrow.
I will try to get on in the arvo to let everyone know how I went!
My M/S is getting much better now too which is nice (I was sick for most of the pregnancy last time) - so I am prediciting a boy!
Well I have to run - talk to you all later and take care!
BubblyMum
19-06-2008, 12:54 PM
Hello Chickadees!
just thought i'd pop in and say hello and let all the spotty mum to be's know they are definatly not alone. I am very scared my face is going to be covered in red spots. My cheeks are completly covered. I found out i have a chronich skin condition that cant be treated while pregnant as treatment consists of topical creams and antibiotics. It is called Rosacea. it is so embarrasing! on a lighter note... I am feeling great! not feeling sick not toooo tired and getting a bit of a bump.. not that it is that visible. it just pushes my "extra baggage" out a bit. it can definatly feel it though.
I had a c/s with my little one because i had gestational diabetes and they thought miss mia was too big. I am a bit worried about a VBAC.. i would love to experience a natural delivery but i am also worried that things will go wrong and it will end up being an emergancy c/s and i wont be awake for it at all. Does anyone know if u can elect for a c/s as a public patient or only as a private?
Hope everyone is starting to feel better!
Keep Safe!
xo :wave:
muminwaiting
19-06-2008, 01:54 PM
Afternoon ladies:wave:...
Justmum - I am sorry to hear your little one is sick, nothing worse when they cant tell you what the problem is, I am glad you now know what turned your little angel in to the devil..
Hels* - :hugs: I was so saddend by this story when I heard it on the news, I can not imagine how you must feel having known them..:hugs:.
KirstyB - Goodluck on Wednesday with your OB appointment.
Borntobemummy - OMG report him, or at the very least march in there and tell him off for putting you through h*ll. What an a**...I am so glad you got a second opinion and everything is ok...
Pink- I have had to switch shampoo because my hair went oily, but my face is suddenly going a bit dry..I am trying to drink alot more water to help balance everything out.
Mum2BinJan - Welcome and congratulations on your pregnancy, you will find everyone in here a fountain of knoweledge especially for all of us first time mums.
Beck - Goodluck tomorrow with you scan..I am sure everthing is fine.
As for me I think I have finally turned the corner :fingerscrossed: I have had no m/s or nausea for 2 days :smiliedance::smiliedance: after feeling so sick for nearly 6weeks I am jumping for joy...I have managed to lose 3kilos when I didn't want to (typical) but today I am starving and I had a chicken burger for lunch and enjoyed every last mouthfull.
I have my NT scan booked for Monday and I am a little nervous about it....but also excited to see bub again...
Sorry if I missed anyone.
Hels*Bels
19-06-2008, 02:03 PM
Mum2BinJan - Congrats and welcome :wave:
BTBM - I saw your post about the incompetent doctor, what an idiot!
MIW - That's great the M/S is subsiding, what a big relief for you hun. Let's hope it stays away now and you can enjoy the rest of your pregnancy :fingerscrossed:
My skin is oily and bad too, so is my hair. Last time it improved after about 4 mths and went lovely so I am hoping that will be the case again lol.
Good luck to those having scans.
Hels*Bels
19-06-2008, 02:06 PM
I had a c/s with my little one because i had gestational diabetes and they thought miss mia was too big. I am a bit worried about a VBAC.. i would love to experience a natural delivery but i am also worried that things will go wrong and it will end up being an emergancy c/s and i wont be awake for it at all. Does anyone know if u can elect for a c/s as a public patient or only as a private?
I think it depends on the hospital/doctor. I know someone who is public and had an emergency CS last time and is having an elective one this time. Check with your hospital as it could most likely be done.
muminwaiting
19-06-2008, 02:12 PM
Thanks Hels, I am so glad the m/s has passed (i hope) I was starting to get really down and just not enjoying being pregnant and having second thoughts about it all (terrible I know) but after :barf: for nearly six weeks I was so over being pregnant...Today I feel on top of the world, although a little tired but I can handle tired....:D
Hows your m/s going?.
Hels*Bels
19-06-2008, 02:36 PM
Hi MIW - I have good days and bad days still. It's mostly nausea for me and I feel very sick at nights. Last time around it lasted until about 4 mths so that seems to be the magical stage for me :D
I just tried my DS with some egg again and I tried to hide it inside a cheese sandwich (which he loves). Well, he wasn't having a bar of it and most of it ended up on the floor... quite funny! I think it's now very apparent that he doesn't like eggs lol.
mrsmamo
19-06-2008, 02:57 PM
hi ladies - i have to say, i am breaking out in pimples also. Its pretty bad. I never got pimples when i was a teen and going thru puberty, i was pretty lucky but i think its all catching up with me - all over my face, chest and shoulders! YUK!
Im now washign my face every morning and night usig a soft face wash to try and curb them.
doesnt help that im a picker too :o
muminwaiting
19-06-2008, 02:58 PM
Hels* I hope you feel better soon....
Oh well you tried, if you want him to have the benefit off eggs try hiding them in his milk..when I think back on the things my mums says I used to love when I was a baby (like brains) I nearly :barf:.. I think I would be hurling even trying to just feed them to my baby..:laughing::D....
sorry to anyone with m/s who I just sent rushing to the porcelain bowl.
Mummy to Mason
19-06-2008, 06:31 PM
Hi girls! So much chatter in here today, I love it!
Justmum- your poor little man :hugs: Don't feel guilty, you weren't to know. I hope you have a good night and DS isn't too restless.
epiphany- wow you have been through a lot with your 2 births. I am having a c/s because Mason's birth went horribly wrong towards the end (he was fine, I wasn't) but I won't go into too much detail as I don't want to scare all the first time mums! My bladder was also badly damaged and my GP (also an OB), gyno & FS all say a c/s is the best option for me to prevent more damage to my bladder. So I feel confident I'm making the right choice. The recovery of a c/s doesn't bother me at all because my recovery from the VB was far worse.
troouble- hopefully you won't have a bleed at 12 weeks :fingerscrossed: By now your bub will be nice and comfy and will have no more housekeeping to do!
Hels- did you know those twins? It's so terribly sad, I can't believe a parent could neglect their child so badly :(
borntobemummy- oh my goodness what a terrible Dr!!! A level of 36 is quite good I would have thought, its higher than my first hcg test anyway!
Pink- my skin is actually the best it's been in ages :laughing: When I was pregnant with Mason I got pimples all over my chin and my face was bad the whole way through. This time I had a break out early on but now it's great!
Welcome Mum2BinJan!!! Looking forward to getting to know you more!
beck75- good luck for your scan tomorrow!
I had my GP appt today and he was cranky that my FS/OB hadn't sent any copies of reports to him. He made me feel quite bad about it and said he had been left out of the loop :( Anyway, he got over it and then was really good. I have low blood pressure which explains the heart palpatations and dizziness, and it could also in part be a bit of anxiety causing it. I have lost a few KG's which was a nice surprise! Couldn't hear the heartbeat on the doppler but 9 weeks is often too early. Everything else is fine :thumbsup:
missmum05
19-06-2008, 07:17 PM
Hey Girls
I also had an ultraound today. very exiting to see the little bubby on the screen and to see the heartbeat:)
I am feeling 100% better since taking maxalon for ms:yes:
I also had a emergency cs with my first after a very long labour and not dialating so I am definatly thinking about an elective this time:yes:
I am scared of the epidural again tho..lol
fugly
19-06-2008, 07:23 PM
12 WEEKS FINALLY
Why does it feel like it took so long to get here??
I could not wait nay longer so have moved my NT test to tomorrow..so 11.30am I am in and :fingerscrossed:HOPEFULLY:fingerscrossed: looking at a healthy happy little blob.
Hope everyone is doing better on the M/S side. Not long to go now :)
Mummy to Mason
19-06-2008, 08:13 PM
Congrats missmum05 on your scan results and congrats Fugly for reaching 12 weeks!!
Has anyone heard from giveitago? I hope all is ok :hugs:
giveitago
19-06-2008, 09:05 PM
Congrats missmum05 on your scan results and congrats Fugly for reaching 12 weeks!!
Has anyone heard from giveitago? I hope all is ok :hugs:
I'm here M2M havent been round a computer much as it was making me feel cr@ppy. but all is well now :)
Have been keeping track of everyones progress though.
Have updated the scans page too :)
Cordelia
19-06-2008, 09:51 PM
MAN! Talk about pregnancy brain - I just wrote a huge post and then instead of pressing "submit reply" I closed the (#* window!!!!
Well, my main question was: those of you experiencing/experienced morning sickness, do you find that one day you can be happy as larry and then the next vomitting all day and can't get off the couch? I've had a really wierd week and it's really unsettling.
giveitago: glad to see you :wave:
12 week people!!! How exciting!!! I wish my dates were the same as before and I'd nearly be there. Frustrating!!!
epiphany
19-06-2008, 11:29 PM
I'm feeling very sad today, I just found out that the story of the twins who died is alot closer to home than I ever realised :(
RIP little Lily and Zaide.
Big big hugs :hugs:
I've been really cut up about this story...those poor babies. It just defies belief, really. There is so much more I could say...but I won't. Rest in peace, angels.
Another one that really effected me was the one that happened a couple of weeks ago with the mum & her 18 month old found dead at Westgate Bridge here in Melbourne - she'd committed suicide by jumping off the bridge with her wee boy. All I kept thinking was what an awful place she must have been in in her life that she felt the need to take her life & her son's as well.
I guess it all comes home in a very poignent way because I have a nearly 18 month old boy myself (2 days younger than the twins, actually) & I look at him & wonder how anyone could get to the point where they neglect their child in such a terrible way or what that wee boy must have felt as he fell off the bridge. There have also been some terrible cases in NZ in the last year or two & every time I think about any of these many, many wee angels, I cry...I'm even crying now :crying: How could anyone not?
I hope they at least got to experience some love & happiness in their short lives.
SurpriseBubba
20-06-2008, 08:18 AM
:wave: girls...
Another one here with the terrible m/s stuff that boy oh boy I wish was only MORNING! :laughing: not this all day and night stuff I seem to be coping. Dizzy spells have started to! :dizzy:
YAY for all those who are approaching or have made the 12 weeks mark! :smiliedance::cloud9: I know I am dying to get there!
I get my BT results back today from my GP so he can give me a guesstimate of how far along I am... and then the dating scan is next Thursday. I am sooooo nervous about the scan! I am dying to see bubs... just absolutely petrified there won't be a heartbeat! :(
I'm going to express my fears to my Doc today.... is it too early for him to pick up bub's heartbeat on a doppler?.... I'm about 8-9 weeks guesstimated....
Mummyto3blue
20-06-2008, 11:49 AM
I guess it all comes home in a very poignent way because I have a nearly 18 month old boy myself (2 days younger than the twins, actually) & I look at him & wonder how anyone could get to the point where they neglect their child in such a terrible way or what that wee boy must have felt as he fell off the bridge. There have also been some terrible cases in NZ in the last year or two & every time I think about any of these many, many wee angels, I cry...I'm even crying now How could anyone not?
I hope they at least got to experience some love & happiness in their short lives.
I feel the same. It hits home because i have twins too and less than a month in age difference, and I think of mine as the biggest blessing...My DH is so cut up about it too, its just heartbreaking. :crying:
Bexta
20-06-2008, 12:12 PM
Hi everyone!!! :wave:
Sorry it's been awhile. A big wave of gastro swept through our house... a whole week of all of us with the runs & vomiting... NOT PRETTY!!! :o
Hope you all are going well... WOW some of you already 12 weeks!!! Can't wait!!!
XO
TheMamma
20-06-2008, 12:45 PM
HI ladies,
have been AWOL as moved house.
Had more bleeding and the M/S is so bad. Gone on to medication (similar to Maxalon) but it doesn't seem to be doing too much...makes me very drowsy.
Feeling very depressed and down as not coping well at all. Spend my days in a ball onthe bathroom floor. Poor DD is neglected..... I just feel ****.
Hope evryone is doing okay.
Mamalicious
20-06-2008, 01:22 PM
Pink73 I was the same, all pimply, it's going away now tho, slowly!!! And I've recently started taking fish oil capsules and I really think they're helping it along. :yes:
Morning sickness is going away, still tired but not as much...
I've decided not to read about what happened to those twins, I want to know, but I think it's best if I don't, if that makes sense...I don't deal with things like that very well at the best of times so I'm not going to try right now.
Good to hear everyone is doing well!!!! :yelclap::smiliedance:
I'm having a garage sale tomorrow, should be organising the stuff but it's too cold to move from my spot in front of the heater, looks like it'll be another late night tonight!
Argh, and just before, some goober was prank calling me and woke up Ali TWICE, who got so furious at being woken up that he cried inconsolably for about 20 minutes. :(:hair:
beck75
20-06-2008, 03:11 PM
Scan went well today and re-confirmed my dates so I am 11w6d today and still on track.
Looks like another hyperactive child on the way as it was doing cartwheels when the sonographer was trying to take measurements.
So exciting now - finally feels real. I have to run my 19mth is summoning me and we are about to cook a carrot cake to go with the vege soup for tea (I know a bit of a wierd combo but I am pregnant afterall)!
*Bec&Bel*
20-06-2008, 03:20 PM
HI ladies,
Had more bleeding and the M/S is so bad. Gone on to medication (similar to Maxalon) but it doesn't seem to be doing too much...makes me very drowsy.
Feeling very depressed and down as not coping well at all. Spend my days in a ball onthe bathroom floor. Poor DD is neglected..... I just feel ****.
:hugs: im sorry your feeling this way, do you think its maybe the medication giving you these down side affects? If you need to talk im here. Maybe head to the doctor :hugs: hope your feeling better soon.
Do any of you not feel pregnant? I dont feel pregnant at times and im worried. Also i've been getting pimples too but with dry skin aswell! lol beck that is sure a weird combo for dinner!
TheMamma
20-06-2008, 03:31 PM
Thanks B&B. :hugs:
No - it isn't the medication as I felt like this before I went on it. I'm just down because I am so sick and really cannot function at all. I just don't know what to do, I feel like I am being a terrible mum to my DD, who just wants to play the whole time and I cannot. I am always throwing up or on the verge of it and I just want to lie in bed and sob for the next 9 weeks (had MS until about 17 weeks last time).
I really don't know what to do......
*Bec&Bel*
20-06-2008, 03:41 PM
themamma sorry you have bad morning sickness :hugs: i wouldn't know how u feel as i dont have it now and didnt get it with DD either. Sorry your going through this, hopefuly the m/s eases off soon :wizard: Hope you feel better soon.
Shebes
20-06-2008, 04:09 PM
I haven't posted for sooo long... I have been reading all the posts but by the time I finish reading them all I don't have time to write anything..... So this may be a long one - sorry in advance.
First of B&B: I don't feel pregnant at all either. Although I've never been pg before so I don't know what it suppose to feel like. I too have pimples with dry skin. My (.)(.) are bigger and quite sore at the moment and I do feel a bit queasy every now and then, but it's usually because I need to eat something. And talk about eating... I haven't stopped eating since I found out. And I only want to eat bad stuff - only salty fatty foods like chips. I'm not that keen on sweet foods though. I promised myself i'd eat healthy so I don't put on too much weight. Not looking good, I've already put on 2-3kg. So I guess when you look at all those symptoms I am feeling pregnant.
I had my first scan on Monday night. Everything looked good. Nice fast heartbeat. As with many others it bought a tear to my eye. It certainly makes it feel more real. The ob dated my due date as the 26th Jan not the 20th, but it was a little vague, so we'll see what he says at the 12 week scan on the 14th July. Can't wait :yelclap:
Just a tip for anyone in the market for cheap maternity wear.. I have pretty much got my whole maternity wardrobe (i know it's early but couldn't resist for the price) from Pumpkin Patch. I spent in total around $200 and got about $600 worth of stuff. They have all of their last summer stock on sale at their factory outlets. I got some from Sydney (Birkenhead point) and the rest from the Gold Coast (Harbour town).
Anyway I hope all is well and those of you suffering bad m/s that it is over soon.
best wishes
Hels*Bels
20-06-2008, 05:27 PM
Congrats to those who have had healthy scans :yelclap:
The nausea has got worse this week so I bought some blackmores M/S tablets today and took one when I got home. I am not feeling too bad right now so I shall attempt to eat dinner.
Sorry no personals, I will catch up later as DS is demanding my attention.
Mummyto3blue
21-06-2008, 08:29 AM
hey girls
I booked my NT scan in for 12 weeks - the 30th of June. SOOOO excited.
I told DH and he goes what this month? Arent u only 9 weeks? Dumba$$!! Yes I was almost 2 weeks ago LOL!!!
*Bec&Bel*
21-06-2008, 09:30 AM
yay for your 12 week scan coming up! My DF said to me the other day he thought i was only 8 weeks!!! I swear some men are so silly. Hes got a worse brain then me at the moment, and trust me this pregnancy brain of mine is so forgetful at times.
Hows everyone doing?? Hope the ones with m/s are feeling a bit better.
Im feeling great besides these horror dreams im having and waking up a few times in the night from them plus my toilet wakes too.
I got a really good deal yesterday, a nice bag and wallet at a gret price i get it tomorrow :smiliedance:
My removalist is all booked now ONLY costing $710 from North of brissy to about 1.5hrs out of sydney! Near Picton is where we are moving. It's all getting alot closer but this house is still so unorganised.
Im off anyway as i have to get ready, im off to BigW to get some luggage bags!
take care all
Bec :flowerz:
justmum
21-06-2008, 10:34 AM
HI ladies,
Poor Mamma, I hope you feel better soon. I don't think there is much you can do but ride it out and pray the MS settles sooner than 17 weeks.
Your DD won't mind too much if you are not up to playing - can you lie on the couch while she plays so you are there? Sometimes that's all they want.
Lord I am sick - but not with MS although that is still around a bit - I have the worst cold from my DS. So I am just laying on the couch while he plays near me.
The house looks like a bomb and I keep dreaming that DOCS knock on my door for an inspection and take DS away from me because I can't keep the place tidy :o
Very helpfully my DH has gone out to buy himself some new golf clubs (:rolleyes:) so he's no help with the house work. Men eh? Can't live with them, cant shoot them.
Hope everyone has a great day.
Pink73
21-06-2008, 02:42 PM
Thanks for the replys re crazy skin, it seems to be getting a little better better to have oily I suppose rather than dry.
Hels neither of my boys will eat egg DS#1 has about 10 things he will eat and that it, he can be a pain somtimes.
Bexta I hope everyone is feeling better now.
The mamma Dont feel bad you are doing the best you can, I try to get through one day at a time until Saturday then I crash and DH takes the boys for the morning and I just sleep until lunch time.
Mamalicious I am with you if I think about those poor babies I just get MAD and upset. I turn our phone off when Alex goes for a nap, thay can just leave a message.
shebes I put on all my weight in the first half than the lsat half dont put on any. (still end up with 4kg babies though)
justmum Dont worry DOCS are to busy at my bomb site to worry about you lol
Everyone that is still suffering with MS I hope it eases real soon life is hard enough.
We are having a quite weekend just the way I like it through the winter we seems to hybernate (sp) like bears. I am just trying to work out my new HDD camcorder I need a teenager lol, I am sure its not that hard.
Pices_79
21-06-2008, 07:56 PM
Sorry I havent posted for quite a while...I have been feeling :barf: & :sleeping: Cant wait for the MS to pass - yukko!!!
Is anyone else feeling really frumpy?? I feel depressed as I feel chunky - I dont look preggo - just like I have eaten too many donuts lately! I am going to have to buy some new Maternity Jeans too!
I have been wearing my maternity bras from last time this week - however I think my (.)(.)s are bigger again :eek: I think instead of being my normal C cup - I am now an E! Might go get fitted tomorrow!
I saw my Ob last week who has dated me 26th january - instead of 30th January - great way to see half a week fly past :) lol Wont be taking DD again - she pulled the Ob's room apart...My Ob wasnt too worried as she 2 toddlers herself!
The twin tragedy really hit home with me too! My DD is just over 17 months and is such a darling (as well as being VERY hard work!)...It truly is very tragic :(
Am i right thinking that the NT scan is 12w not 11w? Or doesn't it make any difference? I need to book one this week for a few weeks time.
Good luck moving Bec!!
I havent bought anything yet put bub - only a box of newborn nappies, a couple of dummies and some facewashers. I dont need to buy very much this time - which is fantastic!
I also decided during the week that i am going to hire a capsule this time around instead of the convertible car seat...I think this might be easier for me in the first few months - with a baby and toddler in tow!
How is everyone else going??
epiphany
21-06-2008, 08:04 PM
Am i right thinking that the NT scan is 12w not 11w? Or doesn't it make any difference? I need to book one this week for a few weeks time.
NT scan is ideally done at 12 weeks but can be done from 11wk 4 days, I think (at least - I was 11 wks 4 days & was told this was the earliest I could have it)...I think the latest is early 13 wks somewhere?
If you have the blood test, it needs to be done sometime during the 10th week.
fugly
21-06-2008, 08:41 PM
I had my NT scan today and all is OK (obviously the bloods will take a while to get back)
Little Wriggler was non stop and took a long time to get measurments.
The doctor even did a 4D scan for soem of it - it was quite amazing.
I think it is crazy that I can see 5 fingers on something that is about 5cm long......
Now it is just :fingerscrossed: until the bloods come back ...
Next visit we get to find out what sex it is - still convinced it is a boy.
To those with morning sickness - :hugs: - I hope it goes soon. It really is not very pleasant when you are sick all the time
To every one else - hope you are having a FANTASTIC weekend and relaxing lots
hi everyone :wave: i am a newbie to this site, i live south of perth and hubby and i are expecting our first on 01/01/09. we experienced an ectopic pregnancy last year so finding out we were pregnant again was just so precious :valentine: i have not yet seen an obstitrician nor have i decided to go public or private (i am insured). these are things i am going to look into this week.:detective: i am looking at attadale private hospital- if anyone has any advice on obstitricians or attadale for that matter, i would absolutely appreciate it. i look forward to meeting and getting to know everyone.:thumbsup:
Cordelia
22-06-2008, 12:44 AM
Hope everyone is having a good weekend! Esp. those not feeling so well :hugs:
welcome mjb! :) Congratulations! my friend swears with dr. molloy who delivers at attadale. he's not for everyone - bit of a crude mouth, gives it to you straight but you either love him or hate him. Get onto it soon! Because altho i'm going to st john of god murdoch i had trouble finding an ob at all.
NT scan is at 12 weeks but you have a blood test at 11 weeks. (I think!)
have a great sunday :)
Mamalicious
22-06-2008, 08:03 AM
I think it is crazy that I can see 5 fingers on something that is about 5cm long......
I can't believe that they're that big already :o I keep thinking they're the size of a raspberry or something, but then I read it's more like a plum, or a big lime!!!
hi cordelia! thanks for your advice-i will jump on it asap. i have had my nt scan and blood last week as my gp refered. do you have any recommendations for good websites (apart from this one) to check out about pregnancy and birth?
mrsgrumpygills
22-06-2008, 06:44 PM
hi cordelia! thanks for your advice-i will jump on it asap. i have had my nt scan and blood last week as my gp refered. do you have any recommendations for good websites (apart from this one) to check out about pregnancy and birth?
My fav websites are:
http://www.safefetus.com
http://3dpregnancy.com
http://quicksilverscreen.com/watch?video=45525 (the business of being born)
and of course I am always checking out bubhub
Hopefully I am allowed to post those sites, I'm not entirely sure of the rules, they are not selling anything so I assume it is alright. Welcome to the chat mjb, congrats on the pregnancy especially after the trauma of an eptopic
Mummy to Mason
22-06-2008, 06:59 PM
Welcome mjb!! :wave:
Hi everyone else, I hope you are all doing well.
I thought my m/s had passed but yesterday it came back with a vengence :barf: Today I felt slightly better so hopefully I am getting over the worst of it :fingerscrossed:
muminwaiting
22-06-2008, 07:12 PM
Welcome mjb and congratulations....
I am still m/s free...:smiliedance: but I have caught a rotten cold off my step daughter (19) who came to visit...I tried to sweat it out of me today and I did some major housework,or does that only work for the flu ??? It didn't make me feel any better, although the house looks great:p
I have my NT booked for 9am tomorrow I will be 11w 4days and I think they told me between 11-13 wks was ok.....I had my blood test done last week....I am really nervous about the scan...
I hope everyone had a great weekend :D
Welcome to the chat mjb, congrats on the pregnancy especially after the trauma of an eptopic
thanks mrsgg-for me personally, the ectopic pregnancy was something that really changed my life. it was a traumatic experience, not just the chemo injection sideaffects, but the way i was treated by some of the hospital staff. hard to explain, but in the end, allowing myself to grieve was the biggest thing for me. i am so lucky to have such awesome hubby, family and friends that were there during the hard times. i know everyone says this, because for everyone, it is true! but this pregnancy is even more special to us because of where we have been in the past. we feel so prevelidged and lucky. :valentine:
3already
23-06-2008, 11:37 AM
just when i think i can't possibly feel any more sick and tired it just gets worse!
My boobs are absolute agony the last few days too and all my glands in my armpits are up and really sore too. Will be 9 weeks tomorrow and am counting down the days to 12/13 weeks!
Hope all are well, i'm crawling back to bed now :sleeping:
I am new to this and have no friends with babies to discuss things with.
I feel so very bloated even though I am 9 1/2 weeks due on the 24/1/09.
I am trying to exercise but feel a bit ill still so will have to take it easy.
It is great to read different stories and I am glad I am not alone in sickness and tiredness.
We are living in a house half renovated which will need to be finished before baby arrives so that just makes it better and better
Have a great day
:sleeping:
Hels*Bels
23-06-2008, 01:31 PM
:wave: Hi to the new ladies and welcome to the group.
I've had a good weekend, I am feeling alot better and less sick now. I have been taking the blackmores sickness tablets on and off and I am getting my appetite back :smiliedance:
I did heaps of bookwork yesterday which I am really pleased about (DH and I both have our own businesses). I want to be really organised for tax time this year.
I have my scan this thursday, I can't believe I am almost 12 weeks too.
3A - I hope you feel better soon hun. I found weeks 9 and 10 were the worst for me and as I said above, it is just starting to get better so hang in there hun.
How's everyone else doing? :)
Cordelia
23-06-2008, 02:39 PM
Afternoon everyone,
welcoem tkav - I feel the same. so bloated and this week like i've been run over by a truck. no energy and bones ache. i'm wonderinf if it's the flu? dunno - looking forward to 12 weeks! I'm nearly 11.
I think the babies are supposed to be around the size of an orange at this stage? I can really start to feel it growing down there. Beautiful!
TheMamma
23-06-2008, 03:27 PM
OOOH - i am so jealous of all you ladies who are reaching the 12 week stage. I feel so cr@ppy at 8 1/2 weeks.....I really am wishing this pregnancy away......
Hope you are all doing well. To those who feel sick - I totally feel you. To those who are well.... I am going to live my pregnancy vicariously through you!
giveitago
23-06-2008, 03:56 PM
I'm one of the lucky ones who at 10 1/2 weeks has yet to experience any form of morning sickness.
Sometimes I get nauseas, and my god someone should have warned me about the burping, but no projectile vomiting as yet.
The problem I have with feeling so 'normal' ( not counting the waves of tiredness), is that I dont feel pregnant, i even forget I'm pregnant, and when you throw yourself around in the middle of the night trying to get comfortable..... the sharp pain rippling through your uterus quickly reminds you that...hang on.... oh yeah you're pregnant.
I guess the fact that I already have a belly makes it hard for me to forget too much though :)
I still wish I had some sort of sickness, as I think it would make me feel less stressed. But fingers crossed that all is well at my NT scan next week.
readytotry
23-06-2008, 05:34 PM
Welcome all the newbies :)
I have had the WORST skin! I feel like a 15 year old girl with acne! It is so embarassing and I really wish people knew I am pregnant, then they would know why my skin is so bad! M/S is still hanging around, I am 9w 5d today :yelclap: It really is taking so long to get to 12 weeks! Sorry for those with shocking m/s, hopefully it will subside soon :fingerscrossed: . I just found out today our receptionist at work has just had a miscarriage, so sad :( Work doesn't know I am pg yet. Also my one of my best friends sister recently had a miscarriage at 12 weeks. Once again, this friend doesn't know I am pg either and I feel so sad for them :( All I can say is, "BRING ON 12 WEEKS PLEASE!"
mrsgrumpygills
23-06-2008, 06:20 PM
readtytotry + others - I hate pregnancy skin. I have broken out all down my chest and back and not to mention my face. I actually almost have cleavage again and can not show it off before it becomes way to obvious that I am pregnant.
I have feeling very positive tonight. It is the first evening without m/s!!! Happy day, I hope it continues. Normally I start feeling queasy at five and by six I am a wreck. I just manage to get DS to bed at 7:30 and generally spend the rest of my evening rocking and moaning on the couch before praying that I pass out as soon as I go to bad so morning will come quicker. But not tonight! I'm sorry if I am raving but this is a really big deal for me.
muminwaiting
23-06-2008, 06:44 PM
Welcome Tkav and congratulations...
:hugs::hugs::hugs: to everyone with m/s I know how you feel...I hope you all start feeling better soon.
As for me I had my NT scan today.....got to see bub which was so exciting...We counted arms, hands, legs & feet and everything was where it should be..I am still due the 8th Jan so bub is progressing as he/she should be..The lady doing the scan had a hard time trying to do the measurements because everytime she got in place bub would tuck his/her legs up and cover their face with their hands, it was so funny, at one stage he/she kind of mooned us and she had to keep bumping my belly to get him/her to turn around...but overall it was amazing...I wish it was in 3d so we could get an even better picture, I can not wait until our 20wk scan.....On the other side I didn't get my NT results because my BT results hadn't been sent over I have to wait until tomorrow for the all clear, I couldn't get the lady to give me an idea if everything was ok...But Dh says that when she was measuring the neck on the screen the measurment showed 1.2 -1.3 so I think that is good, I think I read anything under 2.0 was ok??????
Sorry I am rambling....:o
krixly
23-06-2008, 07:17 PM
Just wanted to pop in and let you know that I had my 12 week scan today!!! Bub is growing beautifully and has a strong heartbeat of 160. It was so nice to see him/her and made the pregnancy actually feel real. :D My EDC is still 6th Jan, but the ob said because I will be having an elective c-section, it will probably be during the week starting 27th December.
Hope all is going well with all of you other mummies. Hope your m/s ends soon!!!
Mummy to Mason
23-06-2008, 07:45 PM
Congrats on the scan results everyone! I can't wait for my scan in a few weeks :smiliedance:
Welcome to the new members :wave:
Hels*Bels
23-06-2008, 08:20 PM
YAY! to those who had scans today. This has made me even more excited but I have to wait until thurs for mine lol
Incy Wincy
24-06-2008, 09:50 AM
Good to hear you are enjoying your scans. I've got my NT tomorrow morning & I'm really looking forward to seeing my bean looking like a baby at last.
Enjoy yours on Thurs Hels.
Quick question: Now I'm 12wks 3days do I stop taking the folic acid?
Enjoy your days.
Incy x :)
Hels*Bels
24-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Good to hear you are enjoying your scans. I've got my NT tomorrow morning & I'm really looking forward to seeing my bean looking like a baby at last.
Enjoy yours on Thurs Hels.
Quick question: Now I'm 12wks 3days do I stop taking the folic acid?
Enjoy your days.
Incy x :)
Good luck for your scan tomorrow. I'm not sure about the folic acid, I took preggy vitamins (Elevit) for the whole pregnancy last time around and they have the folic acid included. Maybe check with your OB?
BubblyMum
24-06-2008, 01:10 PM
Hello Ladies, it is so exciting to hear everyones stories about how amazing it was to see their baby at 12 weeks. I have a couple more weeks to wait til mine.
Incy- with my last pregnancy i took a pregnancy vitamin tablet. its blackmores pregnancy and breastfeeding formula. I think you are surposed to keep taking it thoughout your prgnancy and if u breastfeed. I stopped for about a month when i was pregnant with DD but i felt very run down when i stopped so i started taking it again.
Cant wait for the emotional rosllercoaster to calm down. I have been a ball of tears all morning this morning.:crying: I have the flu and things are just really getting to me. Hopefully the hormones will calm down at 12 weeks!
Hope everyone is well and not suffering morning sickness too much!
xo
muminwaiting
24-06-2008, 01:31 PM
Hi everyone.....
I just got my NT results back and as my luck would have it my Doc is away today...
The result says Adjusted risk of trisomy 21(downs) = 1:4794...Does that mean I have a 1 in 4794 chance of having a baby with downs....I did the google thing but it wasn't much help..but the number sounds good.:confused:
borntobemummy
24-06-2008, 05:00 PM
hey everyone,
looks like I will be leaving you:( we had our dating scan yesterday and they put my EDD at the 2nd of February, so I will be moving into the Feb group.:wave: Thank you for sharing your journeys with me so far, I hope I can still come back in to visit every now and then and see how you are all going, all the best for the rest of your pregnancies/births and parenthood.....but I'm sure I'll still see you all around Bubhub;)
Mummyto3blue
24-06-2008, 06:31 PM
As for me I had my NT scan today.....got to see bub which was so exciting...We counted arms, hands, legs & feet and everything was where it should be..I am still due the 8th Jan so bub is progressing as he/she should be..The lady doing the scan had a hard time trying to do the measurements because everytime she got in place bub would tuck his/her legs up and cover their face with their hands, it was so funny, at one stage he/she kind of mooned us and she had to keep bumping my belly to get him/her to turn around...but overall it was amazing...I wish it was in 3d so we could get an even better picture, I can not wait until our 20wk scan.....On the other side I didn't get my NT results because my BT results hadn't been sent over I have to wait until tomorrow for the all clear, I couldn't get the lady to give me an idea if everything was ok...But Dh says that when she was measuring the neck on the screen the measurment showed 1.2 -1.3 so I think that is good, I think I read anything under 2.0 was ok??????
Sorry I am rambling....:o
Anything under 3mm is perfect :) So 1.3 is just great!!!
Cordelia
24-06-2008, 07:12 PM
I love hearing about all your NT scans - its' great!!! how exciting!
I didn't realise that folic acid was a part of the breastfeeding multivitamin i was taking. So i've been taking doubel the dosage!! (which is a big no no according to the jar.) oh well... cant' do much about it now...
muminwaiting - sounds pretty good to me!!! mine was 1 in 15 000 but i'm nearly 10 years younger so that would be the difference.
borntobemummy - what a shame!! Good luckwith the rest of your pregnancy and make sure you drop in and tell us yoru news. :)
I have a playgroup committee meeting tonight that is bound to go to 1am/2am. Then i have work tomorrow which I'm dreading. last week i slept for hours afterwards and I had got a good nights' sleep the night before. I really hope this fatigue stops soon.
Mummy to Mason
24-06-2008, 07:39 PM
borntobemummy- good luck with everything! We'll miss you in here :hugs:
Folic Acid- my FS told me to take it to 12 weeks but since it's in my pregnancy multivitamin I will continue taking it throughout my pregnancy and during BFing.
MIW- that's a great result, congrats!
I'm soooo tired :sleeping: I had a 2 hour nap today while Mason slept and I still feel like I haven't slept in days. I'm 9.5 weeks so hopefully only a couple more weeks of the tiredness & m/s :fingerscrossed:
Pices_79
24-06-2008, 08:02 PM
Borntobemummy - Sorry to see you go! All the best with your bub!
I am still feeling yukky - hoping it will go away soon. I am over 9w now so fingers crossed it disappears in the next few weeks!
Great to hear of all the positive NT scan results!!!!!
mrsmamo
25-06-2008, 03:42 PM
hi girls!
how are you all???
I have been MIA the last few days - our stupid internet was down from Friday night to Monday lunch time and my darling husband decided to share with me, his cold - so i spent all day yesterday trying to sleep it off- seems to have worked a bit although im very tired now.
I cant believe we are now 13 wks its crazy!
Oh my boss came back from holiday today so back in the office tomorrow. Im so nervous about telling him - i have no idea how too! Anyone got any suggestions? Its a very small company, Him (director) me (fulltime) and a part time guy.
So im very very nervous at his reaction - i thin khe was hoping we would wait until he retired LOL.
On another note - we laybuyed the carseat and other bits n pieces which is v. exciting! im pretty happy the one we chose came in the same colours as my interior so it will match perfectly LOL (not that its a big issue) but pretty cool i reckon.
Been pretty busy also - one of our cats died on monday :( very sad indeed - he will be sadly missed.
and my aunty (close friend we call aunty) had a fall last night and she is now in a coma in ICU with bleeding on the brain. I can only pray she will be ok.
Well girls - thats it from me - i have some overtime to do tonight so im gonna get going to finish all the typing i have - hopefully ill get on a bit more over the next few days to catchup.
Mummy to Mason
25-06-2008, 07:08 PM
mrsmamo- wow you've had a big few days! Sorry to hear about your cat, and I hope your aunty makes a full recovery. How exciting getting your carseat! What brand is it? I love everything to match as well :yes: Try not to stress about telling your boss. When I was pregnant with Mason I was soooo nervous to tell my boss, I actually burst into tears as I was trying to tell her :o But it all worked out and everyone was over the moon. Good luck!
How is everyone else going?
Still feeling quite yuck today but hoping it passes soon. We have booked Mason into daycare one day a week starting tuesday! He is going to love it so much. We had a look at the centre today and he didn't want to leave :laughing:
giveitago
25-06-2008, 07:57 PM
just got out of hospital after some very light bleeding.
am left unsure if I have miscarried or not as their ultrasound machine is 'lazy' and due for retirement, therefore 'unfortunately we cant really tell you if there is a heartbeat or not as the whole screen is flickering and we cant distinguish that seperately from a heartbeat'. there is definitely something in my uterus but they cant tell me anymore.
how the hell am I supposed to sleep tonight????? I am going to my regukar ultrasound place tomorrow who said they would fit me in no matter what.
guess I have a loooooooong night ahead of me.
hospital is going to give me my current hcg levels at 10.00pm.
Mummy to Mason
25-06-2008, 08:02 PM
Oh giag I'm so sorry you are going through this :hugs: If it is very light bleeding it is hopefully nothing to worry about. Is there another hospital you can go to tonight save stressing all night? I'll be thinking of you until tomorrow :hugs:
giveitago
25-06-2008, 08:11 PM
Oh giag I'm so sorry you are going through this :hugs: If it is very light bleeding it is hopefully nothing to worry about. Is there another hospital you can go to tonight save stressing all night? I'll be thinking of you until tomorrow :hugs:
thanks m2m, but from all the hassle i went through in hospital i'm just happy to be home and will wait til tomorrow.
at least the new u/s clinic wont tell me that their machines are 'lazy'.
the dr even wrote on the referral that the machine is lazy. not impressed lol
justmum
25-06-2008, 08:17 PM
Oh GIAG that's appalling :hugs::hugs:
Good news there is something there. I hope you get good news tonight.
I know it's hard, but you will do the best by you and bubs if you *try* to relax (yeah I know, shoot me now) and try and get some sleep.
:hugs::hugs:
Mummy to Mason
25-06-2008, 08:20 PM
If their machine is lazy they should get a new one to save pregnant women going through all this stress! :geek: Very frustrating for you I can imagine. Let us know what your hcg is. I'm sure all is fine, it is so so common to have bleeding in early pregnancy. I know that doesn't stop you feeling anxious and worried though :hugs:
giveitago
25-06-2008, 08:21 PM
Oh GIAG that's appalling :hugs::hugs:
Good news there is something there. I hope you get good news tonight.
I know it's hard, but you will do the best by you and bubs if you *try* to relax (yeah I know, shoot me now) and try and get some sleep.
:hugs::hugs:
I had a heartbeat at 5 weeks and 5 days, so am hoping for the best.
OB had said previously that there is a lesser chance of miscarriage once a heartbeat has been detected.
As much as I want my baby I'm ok with a miscarriage, I know that they happen because something is not right. But I just wish Iknew NOW!!!!
Hmmmm guess this is a lesson in patience that will come in handy when I become a mummy, hopefully that is sooner rather than later!!!!
Thanks for your support guys.
giveitago
25-06-2008, 08:23 PM
If their machine is lazy they should get a new one to save pregnant women going through all this stress! :geek: Very f