View Full Version : Septemberries June Chat - Where meltdowns are welcome!!

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

PinkAngel
10-06-2008, 02:21 PM
Awww CONGRATULATIONS on your pink bundle Alison.... how exciting for you! Now I bet you can't wait to meet her :yes:

loz10
10-06-2008, 02:25 PM
Allison

Congratulations!!!

A baby girl, how lovely :yelclap: and a little sister for Sierra :smiliedance::smiliedance::smiliedance:.

They will adore each other in no time as there age gap is close :bee:.

So pleased for you both :).

Mermum
10-06-2008, 02:27 PM
Wonderful news Alison!!!!
Welcome to the Girls Club!!!!! haha:p

smiley80
10-06-2008, 02:29 PM
congrats alison :yelclap:

hayleysmummy
10-06-2008, 02:30 PM
:yelclap: FINALLY :yelclap:
CONGRATULATIONS
ON
YOUR
2ND
PINK
BUNDLE
ALISON
:cloud9::cloud9::cloud9::cloud9:

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
10-06-2008, 02:37 PM
Aww, thanks ladies :D

I hope Sierra and her little sister will be good friends!. It will be nice having the two girls... DH is a little dissapointed about not getting a boy, but has been warming to the idea of two 'daddy's girls' :laughing:

KatieLou
10-06-2008, 02:50 PM
Yay Alison :smiliedance: I t just helps prove that it is the little girls who keep their legs together! Congrats!

cassvanm
10-06-2008, 02:55 PM
Aww, thanks ladies :D

I hope Sierra and her little sister will be good friends!. It will be nice having the two girls... DH is a little dissapointed about not getting a boy, but has been warming to the idea of two 'daddy's girls' :laughing:

Trust me, this is what happens! Sometimes I wonder why I even live in the house - I don't rate a mention most of the time! And unlike other mums, my kids don't even really want me when the fall / are sick, coz they just want daddy. And I'm expecting exactly the same thing with the new bub. Oh well. :o

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
10-06-2008, 03:09 PM
Yay Alison :smiliedance: I t just helps prove that it is the little girls who keep their legs together! Congrats!

Seems to be the case :laughing:, although we got a good picture of her 'bits' finally!.

Cass- Sierra does come to me when shes sick or had a fall, but prefers to play with daddy... So I get all the crying :rolleyes:

JJJ&D'sMum
10-06-2008, 03:15 PM
:hair: I have just caught up on todays posts, typed in a reply and lost it......Don't you just hate that!!! So here goes with what my sleep deprived baby brain can remember (DD cut 2 molars last night so we got NO sleep at all)....

Congrats on your
2nd PINK bundle
Alison
:smiliedance::baby::smiliedance:

Cass it's great to hear Kaidy has settled well now that she has her mummy back. I was a good girl and voted on the other thread for you.

Loz thanks for the giggle. That sounds like something my boys would have done had we had a dog when they were little. hehehe

Sarah :smiliedance: for getting the internet at home. Now you have no excuse not to post on here more often LOL

That's about all I can recall atm.......

Judy

loz10
10-06-2008, 05:00 PM
Jeeeez, I just made dinner and the kids won't eat it :hair:.

Jordan - The jeans I bought were only something like $12 which included postage, can't wait to get them (assuming they fit), I desperately need something new to wear. I looked in Big-W and I really don;t like their clothes much, they are quite frumpy but cheap. K-Mart's maternity is much better :yes:.

Judy - :fingerscrossed: you get more :sleeping: tonight :thumbsup:. Nicholas played up lastnight and ended up in our bed around 3am after waking 3 times. He too, is cutting teeth but he has his 1st molars and is getting his bottom eye teeth.

I really hope this sore throat is gone tomorrow, will have a hot lemon and honey before bed.

Cass - I too the other day took all the toys out of the boys bedroom and have made a toy room/cot/changetable for baby. No nursery this time but I am looking on E-Bay for a new Cot set and matching Nappy stacker so he has is own special corner LOL.

missmilliesmum
10-06-2008, 05:37 PM
Congrats Alison on your little girl! :cloud9:

How exciting!!! Plently of girls in this thread

dantaz
10-06-2008, 06:18 PM
hi guys
congrats alison on your bundle of pink joy
:hugs: to all those whoe need it
katie lou (i hope i have the right person sorry if i dont:o) you will get used to dp not being there i have
here is a pic of me tonight my belly looks HUGE ha ha ha
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/picture.php?albumid=93&pictureid=405
anyway the pram we picked is the STRIDER 3 (Aaron had a heart attack about the price :laughing:)
i really wanted this one so i won in the end yeah for me
i also convinced him to let me get a breast pump
i have my midwife appointment next week @27 weeks and im doing my GC test and having my anti d at the same time
Jordan should we try and book into the same BF class
i also just posted some photos in an album if you want a look
to any i have missed sorry
enough :ecomcity: from me talk soon

magjh
10-06-2008, 07:16 PM
I can't keep up with you lovely ladies in here ... but Alison just a quick hello from me and congratulations on your new little lady - a little sister for Sienna to adore and love. How exciting for you and your day out and about sounds pretty special too. Makes me almost wish we knew what we were having ...:goodvibes:

I'll be away next week so will miss another Monday get together with you and Amy and then its the school holidays ... so I may have to wait to catch up with you again in Term 3 - we will be big by then!

Take care and again, well done on your news. Thats really fantastic and now you can really focus on your names!!

JJJ&D'sMum
10-06-2008, 07:24 PM
Danielle I just had a look at your album and I have to say that Tarrant is a little cutie ! I can't believe how many clothes you have already bought...there is heaps there. Oh btw I have the same monitor as what you bought. I have loved it since I bought it for DD and it'll certainly do the job for Baby Oops. If you happen to drop it on slate tiles, it doesn't smash.......I know cos I've done it a few times LOL

Maghj school holidays don't start here until 27th June so we have a week on you there. Don't you just love school holidays? :laughing:

:hugs: to all who want/need them,
Judy

vanillabean
10-06-2008, 07:43 PM
A busy week here at my place. DD starts preschool tomorrow. She will be going one full day per week. I will not know what to do with myself as I will have no kids for 6 hours. I guess that will only be for another few months!!

Congratulations Alison on your pink news! Very exciting.

Our new house is coming along, but still won't be ready for our new baby. We have a roof, most of our bricks and the electrical was done today, so getting there slowly. It was nearly 2 years ago that we bought the block of land, which basically was a paddock! I am not excited that I have to move with a new baby though.

DS has a treat day at his school tomorrow, so I am busy making a slice to send. I better get back to it if I am to get to bed at a decent hour tonight.

See ya girls.:wave:

Jel
10-06-2008, 08:47 PM
hi girls
we're getting close aren't we!
love hearing what everyone is up to, but haven't had much to write myself!
well, some of us are in the last trimester now - congratulations, not long to go. These next 3 months will fly with all the dr's appoints etc.
I got my GTT/anti-d stuff coming up, probably go in and do that on monday. for my last 2 i've had to fast from 10pm, i can't remember if it's a 1 or 2 hour wait after the initial blood sample. on my form it says 2hours!
still not getting much movement here, she says hello quickly before i go to sleep.
got work again tomorrow&thurs. our accreditation walk-thru was last week so I'm not sure what is in store for me now. i think things will die down a bit. working up to 36 weeks this time.
finally got a list together of things i need to buy/find in cupboard/wash etc. bought the first couple of things today - cot sheets and fluffy growsuit. must get all my old baby clothes out and go through them all to sort them out.

:cloud9:congrats to sierrasmum on finding out you're having a little girl!
vanillabean - you won't know yourself tomorrow ! i'm so glad that this time i'm not moving house at 37weeks as i did with both my other pregnancies! good luck to you, i know how stressful it all is.

hi to everyone else :wave:
must go and wash up etc and get to bed at a decent hour tonight!:shame:

waahoo
10-06-2008, 09:58 PM
Is anyone else swelling up? I can't fit my engagement ring on anymore. I know that some swelling is normal, but I just don't know how much.

Yep, I've finally had to stop wearing my rings this week.:no: The skin under my wedding rings is red and chapped for some reason, too.

I know!!, Its weird cause im probably the last boy/girl announcee :laughing:, but im nearly 28 weeks!.

I hope not! I have a scan tomorrow and am hoping to finally find out!! I hope the u/s tech I get is as nice as yours was! :fingerscrossed:

Well, I am finally back in Canada! We flew in over the weekend and are now struggling with jet lag. I tell you, it's pretty bad on top of the regular pregnancy tiredness! Oh well, only 2 more days or so of it to go. We are both very happy to be home, although it seems strange to think we are staying for good after being overseas for over 9 years!

I have my first appointment with the midwife this morning. I think I'm getting the glucose test and an iron blood test. Not sure what else I'm in for as I've never had an app. with her before. I'm looking forward to it! (That and the scan tomorrow!)

:hugs: to those who have had a rough time lately. I feel for you - with my emotional state, I can't handle very much at the moment. My FIL is having GI tests today as he lost 10 pounds last month and has been feeling lethargic. We are hoping it is not something terrible - he's had a lot of health problems in the last couple of years. I welled up just thinking about the testing...I'll be a lost cause if bad news comes back.

Anyhoo...it's about time to get a start on the day, so I'm off! I may be a little irregular with posting over this month as we are staying with family and friends and are not in a routine. But I'll try to keep up the best I can!

Ang

dannitomplusbub
11-06-2008, 07:49 AM
so i've been mosinging around the forum since i got to work at 6.30 waiting for someone to post. must not be any early birds today.
thought i would just post to wish everyone a great wednesday

LucyB
11-06-2008, 08:06 AM
Morning all - absolutely nothing exciting to contribute (situation normal!).

80 days to go!

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 08:46 AM
Hi Lovelies....

Not much to report here... was 26 weeks yesterday (eek) and had my usual OB appt...that went well...Smudge is breech at the moment so hopefully has a few more weeks to turn it's butt around the right way lol... no wonder my lower abdomen always hurts..Smudge is obviously doing an Irish jig on my bladder and cervix...got my referral for the glucose test so will book in for that....

Waahoo I bet it feels great to be home... even though you are jet-lagged... i have my :fingerscrossed: that everything is ok with FIL... is he in Canada too?

Jel I haven't even made a list yet! You are alot more organised than I am...

Judy :hugs: how are you today?

Loz is your throat ok today? You have been suffering with it on and off haven't you...

:hugs: to everyone that needs them... and :goodvibes: too!

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 09:01 AM
Morning everyone :wave:

Yay to Waahoo for getting back to Canada. Lucky you going into summer while all of us are fighting colds here in winter. Good luck today with the scan in midwife appt - I hope that she's lovely and that you get to find out the sex of your baby. Looking forward to hearing about everything when you can get back on line. I also hope that Your FIL's tests come back ok.

I must say that I'm a bit relieved to hear that there's a few of us who can't wear our rings anymore. I had fears of pre eclampsia (sp?), but now I'm not so worried. Also thanks for the feedback on the GD test. I checked the form last night and it definately says 'non fasting' so I guess that's my answer - I should have looked their 1st! :p

Thanks Dantaz, I'm sure I will cope without my dh and get used to him not being there. How are you going without your dh and a little one to run around after?

Lisa - how are you feeling today hon? Any better?

Judy - what monitor is it that you recommend? (The photos aren't coming up for me).

I know I've missed heaps of people but I have already written too much :o

Motivation to work is going to be an issue today I feel....

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 09:13 AM
Morning ladies :wave:
Wahoo - Yay for getting back to Canada, it must be strange after all that time. GL with your scan - i'm sure you'll be able to find out. I hope your fil is ok too.
Kat - I'm feeling a bit blah today as well - you can start the countdown for finishing work though soon?
Lucy :eek: 80 days!!

I'm a zombie today I think Sophia must be getting some more teeth through as she up so many times last night and needed lots of cuddles. DH is away as well so I couldn't even kick him out of bed.
I had to go and have another u/s yesterday as i'm still getting sharp pain all seems well though so not sure. Baby's measurements were all around 31 weeks - long legs, big head just like his big sister which is nice.

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 09:23 AM
Unfortunately work is still going for a while Georgia. I'm working up to Aug 15 - over 2 months to go - far to long IMO! All so I can have the time at the other end though (not go back to work as soon after the baby is born - I'm hoping to take the full 12 months)
31 weeks!?! :eek: That's a big baby! I hope that you are feeling ok and get some sleep tonight.

I have my ob appt tomorrow - hopefully she tells me something interesting. I'm starting to get a sore pelvis but nothing compared to what some of you are getting so i won't complain.

smiley80
11-06-2008, 09:33 AM
morning ladees... i had an ob appoinment this morning.. babys good.. head down... got all the paperwork for the glucose test and anti d injection.. alll the warnings for the anti d are scary (but then again i am a stresshead) i didnt realise it was blood from donors they used... :rolleyes:

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 09:35 AM
Good morning ladies !

So much for a solid night sleep.....DD woke up screaming at 5:30am so that was it for me. I wish there was no such thing as cross-cutting teeth just so DD can go without the discomfort and broken sleep. Luckily I can function on bugger all sleep :D

Ang congrats on hitting Canuck turf. Best of luck with your OB appointment (I hope he/she's lovely) and also your scan. :fingerscrossed: your FIL is ok.

Danni wouldn't it be nice to have a job like yours....going to work so you can browse BH! :laughing: I was awake at 6:30am but I was not getting out of bed lol

Kat the monitor that I have and that Danielle bought is the Fisher Price Sounds n' Lights. It's well under $100 at Big W. There are so many on the market to choose from though so hunt around or google them just in case you want a different one.

Lisa I'm feeling ok today thanks. Hope you are too.

No sore pelvis for me but I think Baby Oops is using my cervix as a trampoline atm. It's a sharp pain that I hope doesn't last long. It happened yesterday too and stopped after a short while so maybe there is a prospective acrobat or footy player in there.

Judy

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 09:46 AM
Kat I'm not too bad thanks, chicka! Still some lower ab pain but I will feel better once I get a urine test done...little bugger that Smudge is already... i'm telling you it has to be a boy with the grief he is causing me :D:p lol

Georgia I get sharp pains every so often but it seems ok... might just be your ligaments supporting that growing uterus of yours!

Smiley glad you had a good appt...got my paperwork for the glucose test too...time is going so quickly for us all isn't it!

Judy you seem to function better on no sleep than I do! Pleased that you are feeling ok...

Has anyone seen the little mat monitor thingy you put under the baby's cot cheet to monitor sounds, movements and breathing... i think it's like a SIDS monitor... does anyone think they are worthwhile getting? There seems to be SO much I still need to get :yes:

AmyLou
11-06-2008, 10:08 AM
Goodmorning ladies!

A little to report on from me! I'm with you ladies that can't wear your rings, i am still wearing them but find it extremely hard to get off, the other day i had to use soap! I think i need to take them off now but i need to put something there to replace them as i feel nude without them. I was thinking that i might put them on a chain and wear them but i'm a little scared that the necklace might break or the chain might cause wearing on them or something.. i don't know, maybe being a little silly!

We started painting bubs room on the weekend and i just LOVE the colour we went with. Because all our furniture is white we have painted it a light brown colour, the white skirtings and the roof just look fantastic with it! Will post a pic when it's finished!

After today i have 4 weeks and 2 days of work left! 2 being Before and After school care and the other 2 will be Vacation Care where i get to take the kiddies on excursions and do fun things! Thought it would be nice to finish off with them doing something fun! My last day we are going to Mini Golf, my mum and hubby joked that i won't be able to see the ball by then! Probably true, but ohwell! haha

i'm so excited for you Alison that you found it! yay, another girl. I said before i read your post that i thought it was a girl! Did you have any feelings?

Well i'm not sure what else has been talked about that i wanted to comment on, damn preg brain!

Hugs to all those that need them!

Amy

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 10:09 AM
Has anyone seen the little mat monitor thingy you put under the baby's cot cheet to monitor sounds, movements and breathing... i think it's like a SIDS monitor... does anyone think they are worthwhile getting?I have seen them but personally, I have never felt the need to purchase one. They're a great idea though. For some people it brings peace of mind knowing that they will be alerted if there is any change in bub's sleeping position etc but I don't like the idea of being woken by an alarm just because bub has moved. I like my sleep when I can get it LOL
As I said, they are a great idea if it brings you peace of mind.

Judy

P.S. Everyone wants/needs different things and I don't want to push my choices on anyone else. Hunt around and work out what is best for you.

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 10:34 AM
Thanks Judy... i only saw the mat in a baby mag yesterday... i'm worried I will be one of those mothers that constantly go into the room to check if bubs is sleeping LOL... and with my coordination I will more than likely trip on a toy and go sailing into the wall and wake bub up anyway :laughing:

missmilliesmum
11-06-2008, 10:39 AM
Morning Girls!

I had a pregnancy moment last night! Have been having some insomnia and couldn't sleep, so thought I would get up and read my book - I got so into it I finished it - but is was sooooo sad and a bit of a shock ending! (Jodi Piccoult's - My Sister's Keeper - Has anyone read it?) Well I just started howling! DH got out of bed and was really concerned thinking something was wrong with me or the baby! When I told him it was just the book - he just gave me a big hug and said "I understand'! Thankgod he supports my pregancy brain/moods! That is the first real cry I've had in ages...think that's why it was such a flood!

Amylou - Like I said yesterday I can't wear my rings - I wear them on a chain. It does feel wierd not having them on, but you get used to it. Better to have them on a chain than to not be able to get them off! It is hard though - you get very attatched to those rings! I have to wear mine on a chain when I am at work for Infection Control reasons normally - so I spose I was kinda used to it - now I just leave them on there all the time. I'm sure the chain won't break. Like I said - I wear mine at work like that and I am constantly running round like a headless chook - as I imagine you are with the kiddies!

Have a nice day everyone!

dannitomplusbub
11-06-2008, 10:41 AM
Danni wouldn't it be nice to have a job like yours....going to work so you can browse BH! :laughing: I was awake at 6:30am but I was not getting out of bed lol

i work in a call centre so in between calls i can do what i want. i guess its a good thing ebay is blocked other wise i'd be broke. and im getting addicted to BH when i get a call i have to minimise BH other wise i get distracted :)

woke up at 4.30 to kick DP outta bed for work so today is DRAGGING. about to go on lunch YEY

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 11:05 AM
Sarah I loved that book! Jodi Picoult is one of my favourite authors... they are making a movie of My Sister's Keeper now with Cameron Diaz as the mum I think... I read that Jodi isn't totally happy as they changed the ending... hopefully the won't stray too far from the original story....

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 11:08 AM
Have been having some insomnia and couldn't sleep, so thought I would get up and read my book - I got so into it I finished it - but is was sooooo sad and a bit of a shock ending! (Jodi Piccoult's - My Sister's Keeper - Has anyone read it?)

I read that book before I was pregnant and balled - I would hate to see me now! :crying: It's such a shock at the end and so sad! I recommend it to all - so moving and thought provoking.

I had a moment on the weekend when dh and I were sitting on the couch watching tv (nothing of substance either), and I turned to him and said 'I think I want to cry but I don't know why' and just started crying for a few mins (mixed with laughter b/c I felt so silly!), then I was ok so I stopped. dh was very supportive but I think he's a bit confused what this baby is doing to me! :p

LucyB
11-06-2008, 11:11 AM
I think reading Jodi Piccoult is akin to self-flagellation - and during pregnancy it can only be worse! I am sure she sits down before starting each book and says "right, what is the most horrible and emotional shock i can deliver to my readers in this book?" and then proceeds to write around that!

What is the one about the child being raped and the DNA? That was another killer - SARAH DON'T READ THIS WHILE PREGNANT!!!!

Ok, so I admit she is a good and engaging author - just likes to wring out the emotions of her readers!!

Mia
11-06-2008, 11:23 AM
I've never used any kind of sound or vision monitor. Unless the baby's room is TOTALLY out of earshot, I just don't think they're necessary? Have some confidence in your baby and in yourself - just my two cents :)

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 11:30 AM
Vision monitor!!?? That sounds a bit scary!
My dh is the vision monitor. He loves to go in and look at her all the time and constantly says "Bring her to bed with us" Co sleeping is so not for me.

On an aside, how did you enjoy Bentley Mia?

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 11:31 AM
ohhh, I think I have that one on the book shelf waiting to read - thanks for the tip Lucy, I'll keep a wide berth until much later. I want to re-read the last Harry Potter to see what I can pick up from it while not trying to race to the end like last time, but it's so full on at times that I don't want the pressure (:laughing: - all this about a kids book). I read the whole of the Anne of Green Gables series (seemed simple enough without any tears), but then balled in the last book about a dog who spent the whole book at the station when his master went to war - he waited with hope everytime a train arrived and got more and more down hearted when the his master wasn't on it - he wouldn't go home to the rest of the family until his master returned. He was there for years! I was balling :crying::o And once again this is a kids book!

11-06-2008, 11:38 AM
:iagree:
We never used one but don't live in a big house or anything.

LucyB
11-06-2008, 11:41 AM
ohhh, I think I have that one on the book shelf waiting to read - thanks for the tip Lucy, I'll keep a wide berth until much later. I want to re-read the last Harry Potter to see what I can pick up from it while not trying to race to the end like last time, but it's so full on at times that I don't want the pressure (:laughing: - all this about a kids book). I read the whole of the Anne of Green Gables series (seemed simple enough without any tears), but then balled in the last book about a dog who spent the whole book at the station when his master went to war - he waited with hope everytime a train arrived and got more and more down hearted when the his master wasn't on it - he wouldn't go home to the rest of the family until his master returned. He was there for years! I was balling :crying::o And once again this is a kids book!

Ohhh - that was Jem's dog Monday huh? And Walter dying... yes even simple old Anne series would be just too much in pregnancy! I really really can't stand anything about animals dying at the best of times.

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 11:59 AM
I have a bit of an addiction to books... ok i'm a nerd :D

I actually read The Last Lecture over the weekend and I expected it to be alot more sad than it was. I found it very uplifting. I was watching a documentary with the author and his attitude in the face of his illness is inspiring! When I go to complain now I think of the book and his life lessons....

I have just finished Jodi's latest book, Change of Heart.. a little different from her usual style but enjoyed it anyway... her books tend to tug at the emotions and leave the reader wondering 'what would I do in that situation?'

I have a feeling all this reading may come to an end once bubsy comes along...lol... unless I read them to Smudge...although that said I don't think he/she would like my choice of stories :laughing:

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
11-06-2008, 12:07 PM
Thanks to those who congradulated DH and I after I went to bed lol!!.

Books- Havent had any time to read really!, although Im a bit of a kid too and have re-read the harry potter books a couple of times!.

I use a moniter (just a cheap sound one) for Sierra mainly because she was right down the end of the hall way, but when she was newborn we had her in the bassinette in our room, so we have used it from 3 months on ward. I like it cause Im paranoid, and it lets me know when shes up as she no longer cries when she wakes, unless shes sick...
I never bothered with the more techy ones...I think you can get too paranoid about SIDS. Although I still made sure she didn't have anything in the cot, wasn't too hot, no bumpers, no smoking etc (not that I smoked in the first place!).

Cant remember what else I was going to type!!... Umm :hugs: for all those who need them, and even those that dont!.

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 12:11 PM
Yeah Lisa, I found reading books pretty much stopped for the first year. I would get through about 1 para then fall asleep.
I read My sister's keeper and can't even remember what happened at the end :o I have to say i'm not a huge fan of things that are sad just for the sake of it.

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 12:29 PM
I don't think I have chosen books that are sad just for the sake of it...

Thanks for your monitor comments ladies... so much to take in... :yes:

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 12:32 PM
That's just my opinion Lisa, I didn't mean it in a negative way, sorry if it came across like that :)

LucyB
11-06-2008, 12:34 PM
I've just read Chasing Harry Winston (felt like trashy novel when I bought it on Fri) but now I have Cherie Blair's autobiography to start - I don't imagine that will be too sad! or I hope not...

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 12:54 PM
My reading came to sudden halt when DD came along and hasn't recovered yet even though I have tried. I just get into the storyline and then get too tired to read any more. So I've given up all hope for now. Unlike you ladies I love Stephen King books. He writes horror stories and they're so addictive that I have almost every single book he has ever written including the Bachman books which he wrote under an assumed name. Sad huh? :laughing: Now you're all gonna think I'm some kind of freak LOL

Our monitor is used because DD is right down the end of the hall way and also right next door to DS2. We had her in the bassinette in our room until she was 3 months old so the monitor got used from then on in.

I have just over an hour to kill before the school run and I have to spend it doing washing......YUK!

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 12:59 PM
LOL no that's fine Georgia...

Lucy my sister gave me Barack Obama's autobiography... it better not be sad...lol

Judy I'm with you...in the freak club...definitely enjoy Stephen King... am reading Duma Key at the moment.. scariest one for me would be IT... not a big fan of clowns :laughing:

I would read a bus timetable if it had a good plotline :D but I should make the most of it while I can... might have to get books on CD for the car after bubs is born :laughing:

Kat were you saying you had a cry last night for no reason? I can't remember who said it now...but I can relate... i was sitting with DH at the OB's in the waiting room yesterday and i turned to him and said "I feel like I could cry"... he asked me why and I said I have NO idea... i just want to cry LOL

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 01:05 PM
I have Duma Key sitting in the wardrobe waiting for me to read. Regardless of whether or not I can read a book I stil buy all the new ones so I can read them 'ONE DAY'. I reckon I'll be 45 by the time I get to them all LOL

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 01:09 PM
Ohhh - that was Jem's dog Monday huh? And Walter dying... yes even simple old Anne series would be just too much in pregnancy! I really really can't stand anything about animals dying at the best of times.

That's the one! I can't believe that I'm not the only one who reads that sort of thing. They were far too descriptive for me when I was yonger, but after spending time living in Canada I quite enjoyed the descriptiveness and got into them. I was fine with all of them until I got to Rila and then Monday made me loose it. i even handled Walter dying ok, but that dog....

I need to read something again. maybe something trashy? I can't handle too much emotion but am sick of reading stuff about babies :yes:

Kat were you saying you had a cry last night for no reason? I can't remember who said it now...but I can relate... i was sitting with DH at the OB's in the waiting room yesterday and i turned to him and said "I feel like I could cry"... he asked me why and I said I have NO idea... i just want to cry LOL

That's it! What are these babies doing to us?!? :confused:

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 01:11 PM
:laughing: Judy... it will be the same for me!

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 01:18 PM
Kat if you want something a little lighter to read you might like something by Marian Keyes... or I read one a couple of months ago called Shopaholic and Baby which was quite funny...

I just walked passed reception and spied a new bowl of customer lollies... considering another walk-by now :D

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 01:44 PM
lol Lisa, I think Barack had a bit of rough childhood, you might get the triumph over adversity sadness for that one!
What do you girls think will happen in the us election this year? I'm excited, I love a good election and politics! My favourite tv program is The West Wing, how sad is that? Though I found Pride and Prejudice on tv last night, the one with Colin Firth as Mr Darcy - I think I love him, mmm

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 01:51 PM
ohhh, Colin Firth is the best Mr Darcy!! :D I have no idea how he makes a wet white shirt look so good! I keep meaning to buy the dvd but then I forget :(

Yes I've read a few Marian Keyes Lisa - good suggestion. I might pop down to the library at some point. I want to get that book about natural labour Mixy suggested too...

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 02:05 PM
lol Lisa, I think Barack had a bit of rough childhood, you might get the triumph over adversity sadness for that one!

LOL maybe!! how funny... i'm actually enjoying hearing about the American election... I've not been a fan of politics before but have been interested in the Democratic race between Hilary and Barack....

..oh and i HEAR you on Colin Firth... mmmmm

ohhh, Colin Firth is the best Mr Darcy!! :D I have no idea how he makes a wet white shirt look so good!

:iagree: I even asked DH if he would like to name our baby Darcy if it was a boy LOL...

Actually that reminds me of the Good/Quirky/Wrong game... my girlfriends were laughing over some drinkies last year and my SIL said choose a man you find sexy (thats the good because you choose one that most people can understand why you would)...then you choose a quirky (not classically good looking but there is something about him you find attractive)..and then the wrong...a man you find sexy even though its totally wrong and people would think 'oh no way!'.... :laughing: the things we talk about!!

..oh and the point of that story is I think Colin Firth would be my quirky..... (i finally got to the point after ALL that :ecomcity:)

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 02:12 PM
like to name our baby Darcy if it was a boy LOL...

:laughing: I did too! He said no though :no: I'm surprised that there aren't more little baby Darcy's running around though :D

I also asked if we could name him Gilbert after Gilbert Blythe in Anne of Green Gables :laughing: - luckily he said no because I don't think I could call my little boy Gilbert!

LucyB
11-06-2008, 02:15 PM
:laughing: I did too! He said no though :no: I'm surprised that there aren't more little baby Darcy's running around though :D

I also asked if we could name him Gilbert after Gilbert Blythe in Anne of Green Gables :laughing: - luckily he said no because I don't think I could call my little boy Gilbert!

OMG Gil - my first crush...

"I don't want diamond sunbursts and marble halls... I just want you."

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 02:30 PM
:laughing: Lucy - I nearly spat out my milk!!
And that look he gives her - one on undying love and absolute happiness. Ahhh Gil....

LucyB
11-06-2008, 02:42 PM
:laughing: Lucy - I nearly spat out my milk!!
And that look he gives her - one on undying love and absolute happiness. Ahhh Gil....

Not that I want to give the impression I have read the books too many times or anything... or watched the movie (esp the end!) over and over and over...but seriously how much do you want to shake Anne until she finally "reads her book of revelation" and realises Gil is the one for her...?

Dear, sweet, devoted Gil...

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 02:53 PM
:laughing: no, nor I... imagine just watching the movies over and over again (except the 3rd one - that's just silly). How could she not see how wonderful he was!?! And then when he proposes the first time begging her 'please say yes', my heart breaks.

I went to PEI when I was in Canada and I went the Green Gables. It's actually quite sad how touristy it is. I was really glad I went there in the middle of winter when the place was deserted. In summer it would be so busy it would be very disappointing.

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 02:55 PM
Oh, I loved Gilbert as well. Anne was so uppity sometimes though, she used to irritate me a bit.
Ok Lisa, so here's my list:
QUIRKY - Colin Firth (esp. in Pride and Prejudice and Love Actually)
NORMAL - David Beckham (as long as he doesn't open his mouth) I used to like Jude Law as well but he's just a bit icky now yk?
OMG REALLY - John Cusack (esp. in Grosse Point Blank)
Who are yours ladies?

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 03:05 PM
LOL Georgia...love it... ok mine would be

Good - David Beckham (can we share)

Quirky - Colin Firth and sometimes Andrew Lincoln (Both starred in Love Actually)

Wrong - Ben Cousins (I know I know but I'm starting to waver now... maybe my preggy hormones are making me see sense.... i will have to think of a new one I think) :o

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 03:08 PM
lol Ben Cousins, he is a bad boy but he is rather hot.
Which one was Andrew Lincoln?

LucyB
11-06-2008, 03:14 PM
Kat I am jealous you have been to PEI - if I ever go I will remember to go in winter so as to avoid the tourist-y aspects as I don't think I would handle it well!

(and do you remember how he gave up the school for her?!)

Hmmm... I have a thing for Colin Firth and Hugh Grant so Love Actually and BJ's Diary really are stellar movies in my opinion :D

My OMG really people are probably Jeremy Irons and Tom Parker-Bowles...

Mermum
11-06-2008, 03:17 PM
Johnny Depp, ever since I was a teenybopper!

GeorgiaAnne
11-06-2008, 03:22 PM
lol Tom P-B !! my dh is a chef and did a cooking thing with him in NZ and he is actually nice apart from the obvious family issues!
Johnny is hot - I loved him in 21 Jumpstreet.

PinkAngel
11-06-2008, 03:22 PM
:laughing: Lucy, was that tiny font intentional for Mr Parker Bowles...so funny...

Mermum my sister is a HUGE Johnny Depp lover...

In Love Actually, Andrew Lincoln played the guy whose best friend married the girl he was in love with... he holds up picture cards at her door on Christmas Eve...ahhh *swoon*...

...would wrongs be Sean Connery and Pierce Brosnon...I either have a thing for older men or secret agents ;)

LucyB
11-06-2008, 03:28 PM
:laughing: Lucy, was that tiny font intentional for Mr Parker Bowles...so funny...

*looks shiftily from side to side* maybe...

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
11-06-2008, 03:29 PM
:laughing:You ladies are funny!.
I go away for a few hours and your alll drooling over men haha!.

Judy- Im actually with you on the books, DH and I love Stephen King, and we have the Bachman books too!. We got out Desperation the movie last night, going to watch it tonight :laughing:
I actually really a wide veriety of books, and have re-read nearly everything on my bookshelf I dont know how many times!.
My mum gave me The Power of One about 4 years ago (according to the inside cover lol) and I found it about a week ago, so I read it, and actually enjoyed it, and its not something I would have picked up normally, but was bored .

:iagree:on Mr Darcy... hes so yummy.

Hmmm, my list...
Good- Jensen Ackles

That will do lol, Not sure who I would put in the other two spots !

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
11-06-2008, 03:32 PM
OMG, I love Johnny Depp.... what was I thinking forgeting him!!.

Yeah my weird would prob be the guy that plays Gregory House :laughing:, I just love his eyes.... but I think that might be a pregnancy thing!
Dont Judge me!!

hayleysmummy
11-06-2008, 04:27 PM
OK OK I confess I've been lurking all day but didnt want to interrupt the whole book saga going on :laughing: I'm not a reader anymore the only thing I read is preg and baby magazines so I couldnt contribute

I cant wait til the weekend DP has said that if I let ;) him out to watch footy tonight he will get DS the playmat I was going to buy so of course I agreed as long as he's home before 10pm as he has to get up for work before 5am. I told him he will need to buy something for bub every week because I want everything done before he arrives (he's slack when it comes to buying for others):rolleyes:

26 weeks for me today too :thumbsup: and I'm sure bub is kicking me under the ribs already its hard to get comfy at night.

KatieLou
11-06-2008, 04:32 PM
Lucy - in winter on PEI everything is closed (even Matthews hayrides and Bossom Buddies B&B - see how commercial it is?!?), but that was enough for me, just seeing it. 'drinking it in' as Anne would say.

Colin Firth would be my quirky (with Gilbert Blythe a close 2nd but only because he's a character not a real person).
Vince Vaughn (the break up movie with Jen Aniston) would be my wrong (I'm a sucker for cuddly funny guys). The guy who plays Benjamin in 7 brides for 7 brothers is up there 2, but as he's probably about 90 now that seems to too wrong.....
Still working on the normal - so many to choose from. I have a soft spot for Pat Rafter, but I think I can come up with better (sorry Pat if you're reading :laughing:)

aimsy
11-06-2008, 04:45 PM
:laughing:You ladies are funny!.
I go away for a few hours and your alll drooling over men haha!.

Judy- Im actually with you on the books, DH and I love Stephen King, and we have the Bachman books too!. We got out Desperation the movie last night, going to watch it tonight :laughing:
I actually really a wide veriety of books, and have re-read nearly everything on my bookshelf I dont know how many times!.
My mum gave me The Power of One about 4 years ago (according to the inside cover lol) and I found it about a week ago, so I read it, and actually enjoyed it, and its not something I would have picked up normally, but was bored .

:iagree:on Mr Darcy... hes so yummy.

Hmmm, my list...
Good- Jensen Ackles

That will do lol, Not sure who I would put in the other two spots !

Desperation is my favourite book ever! i've read it over 20 times, i bought the movie on DVD on ebay a few weeks ago, i didnt even know it was on dvd i was very excited - let me know what you think of it tho compared to the book!

hope everyones well today :flowerz:

aims

loz10
11-06-2008, 05:42 PM
Good evening, couldn't really log on today as DH was resting for night shift and the boys always follow me to the computer which is next door to his room :no:. We did have the laptop up and running some weeks back in the loungeroom but has been out of action and should be working again this weekend.

I LOVE to read but haven't read a book this year :thumbsdown:. I have reall all of Di Morrisey's books and have them all stashed away. I enjoyed her last book called The Valley as it was based around the area I live.

I need to find a new author. I'm going to the Library tomorrow to return my overdue books/mags and will browse then.

James was so naught this arvo, I had to pick him up and carry him in the carpark at the shops as he refused to hold my hand plus he weighs 15kgs...little rascal!

My sore throat is feeling better but :fingerscrossed: it is heaps better tomorrow...

Nicholas stinks so I better go and has snot in his mouth :smiliedance::smiliedance:.

missmilliesmum
11-06-2008, 05:54 PM
So funny....I have been out all day, then log on to find that my post bout a book has started a whole days worth of conversation! Well done girls!

I used to be a big reader, but just don't have the time anymore...but if this whole insomnia thing during pregnancy keeps up, that might change! I am planning on doing a fair bit of reading while I'm on my 8 wks Mat leave before bubs is born. I am a bit of a sucker for books that make you cry/think, so it's my own fault really! I love Jodi Picoult, but I also love autobiographies. Real stories just seem to resinate and stay with you for longer.

As for the 3 guys thing....how funny! You girls crack me up!

I love Colin Firth, but Lisa - I love Andrew Lincoln! Have you seen the series "This Life"? It is one of my favourites! Of course he is now in 'Teachers' as well, but 'This Life' was an awesome show.

I'm not too sure what to do bout this monitor thing either. Some of my friends have the one's with the sensor pads, but I don't really know if that's neccessary. It's all a bit confusing really. Do those who have the Fisher Price monitor highly recommend???

loz10
11-06-2008, 06:32 PM
I used a baby monitor for my 1st and felt I needed it as I/we were constantly checking over bubs bed for breathing. I ended up buying a Roger Armstrong as it had less static, I can't stand a static noise when trying to sleep. However, James somehow lost 1/2 the set and I never bothered buying another one for Nicholas.

I have a Uniden phone set in the house which doubles as a room monitor and is Excellent, so if I want to go outside and garden or something then I take a phone with me and leave one in the bedroom. Plus, the reception is great but does flatten the phone so needs to be kept on the handset after using it as a monitor to allow it to re-charge.

Seriously though, I initially was so worried about SIDS as I just loved my new bundle so much and did not want anything to happen. I followed all the bedding guidelines and only used cotton cellular blankets which are breathable and eventually got used to it all.

hayleysmummy
11-06-2008, 06:49 PM
I bought a Fisher price monitor for DD and while it was excellent, never any static or interference plus it had about 6 different channels incase that did happen I just never ended up using it as we co-sleep then sold it on ebay so I will buy another less expensive fisher price one for this bub cause there is no way there is enough room for 4 in our bed :laughing:

LOZ- A friend of mine has the phone that doubles as a monitor and it's great I'd highly reccomend it too

Hmm footy tonight :rolleyes: I despise sport so I think I'll stay here for a while

ETA- LOZ I have trouble picking up my 10kg child you poor thing I hope he's behaving for you tonight

vanillabean
11-06-2008, 06:50 PM
Hi girls, so many pages to keep up with! I have Jodi Picoult's "My Sisters Keeper" to read. I just never seem to feel like reading these days though.

I am pretty tired tonight. My day without the kids didn't turn out as expected. I was on-call last night for work until 10pm and got a call out at 9pm:hair: I didn't get home until 3am as the ward was very busy. I had to get up at 7am to get some more stuff ready for DD for preschool, so I took her (she had a great day, but was really tired and cranky this arvo) and came home to bed. I spent 10-1 in bed and got nothing done, but it felt like the days before kids! I am stuffed tonight and will have to get off here soon as I am working again tomorrow morning at 7am:hair: All this work this week comes after I haven't had a shift in about a month:hair: I will not be doing anything this weekend.

Hope you all had a good day.

cassvanm
11-06-2008, 07:22 PM
I'm working up to Aug 15
Me too Kat - I now have 27 work days left - woo hoo!!!

We started painting bubs room on the weekend and i just LOVE the colour we went with. Because all our furniture is white we have painted it a light brown colour, the white skirtings and the roof just look fantastic with it! Will post a pic when it's finished!

Amy
Amy - that sounds awesome. I can't wait to see the before and after pics - bring it on!

I have a bit of an addiction to books... ok i'm a nerd

I have a feeling all this reading may come to an end once bubsy comes along...lol... unless I read them to Smudge...although that said I don't think he/she would like my choice of stories

You think you are a nerd? I am the person who reads even when she is very drunk (of course not pregnant!), then has to re-read the following night coz she can't remember what was said last time! I read daily, everynight before I go to sleep. I have made sure I kept my reading up, because I just love it.
I just finished Mao's Last Dancer by Li Cunxin - autobiagraphy - was fabulous. Now reading Barefoot by some chick )can't remember)

. Unlike you ladies I love Stephen King books. He writes horror stories and they're so addictive that I have almost every single book he has ever written including the Bachman books which he wrote under an assumed name.

I'm with you CC - I used to read a lot of Stephen King, and also the Bachman books. Also really liked Dean Koontz. I recommend you read his stuff. Now, I just buy / borrow a book coz it looks interesting, not for a particular genre though. I am soooo happy that you guys are also nerds!!!

Hi girls, so many pages to keep up with! I have Jodi Picoult's "My Sisters Keeper" to read. I just never seem to feel like reading these days though.

I'm so disappointed I haven't read anyof the Jodi Picoult stuff - must get onto that.

Also, my guys:

NORMAL: David Cook, Johnny Depp, Colin Farrel

QUIRKY: Colin Firth (hes been labelled the thinking womans sex-symbol)

JUST PLAIN WRONG: There's no-one wracking my brains for 10 mins, and can't come up with any! WIll let you know if I think of someone.

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 07:34 PM
Wow I didn't realise there could be so much talk stemming from books. And you lot have been flat out dreaming about men :shame: LOL

Aimsy I've seen Desperation and as usual the movie is good but nothing compares to the book. I find that books are always more dramatic and intense when compared to the movies as you can't 'see' the emotions in their entirity. It's well worth watching though....Enjoy !

Loz it must have been the day for it....My DD was an angel until she woke from her nap at 1pm and became the devil reincarnated. She was defiant, stubborn and smacked everyone continually for no reason. She even bit DS2 tonight :hair: Glad you're beginning to feel better too !

Sarah I love the Fisher Price monitor. I found that when I had it near the cordless phone it had a bit of static but since it was moved over to the dresser on the other side of the room it has been fine.....no static unless you turn it up full volume and that's not needed anyway.

:hugs: to all !
Judy

loz10
11-06-2008, 07:46 PM
I think the boys are nearly asleep :smiliedance:.

I am still trying to hunt down baby manchester on Ebay and keep missing stuff or changing my mind. I think I will not look again for a few days, it is doing my head in, so much choice :(.

Has anyone test driven the Graco Quattro Tour Duo Pram, I can't seem to find it's weight anywhere, one site said 21kg, I doubt it could weigh that :confused:. We don't have any major baby stores and I would love to check one over, it looks more compact for a tandem.

Vanilla and Cass - I can't wait for you both to 'break-up', you both deserve a well earned rest, you will love your new freedom soon of not having to go to work.

Judy - It has been the day for it, actuall the week for defiant, cheeky kids. I always say tomorrow will be a better day and we will all start a new day, well, try anyway :).

JJJ&D'sMum
11-06-2008, 08:00 PM
I have also bought and read a few Dean Koontz books Cass. Definitely agree with you that he's a writer to be recommended. I'd love to be able to borrow a book but I'm so slack at reading lately that I'd end up with a bill from the library way before I even finish reading LOL

Loz I love your faith and persistance :laughing: Fortunately DD isn't often the devil reincarnated so I don't have to convince myself that tomorrow will be a better day....it usually is anyway.

Time to go ring my sister and end up with a red ear from being on the phone for so long.

loz10
11-06-2008, 08:01 PM
Don't worry about the pram query, I just found it, it weighs 39lb which converts to 17.7kg which is alot for pram...I think I will just keep what I have, it looked good though.

vanillabean
11-06-2008, 08:30 PM
I am just about to climb into bed but I forgot to mention, I have bought the first thing for our baby on ebay. It is a leather oi oi nappy bag, brand new and this season for nearly half the price retail. Yeah! I should have it Friday or Monday.

Mermum
11-06-2008, 08:46 PM
[quote=GeorgiaAnne;2747171
Ok Lisa, so here's my list:
QUIRKY - Colin Firth (esp. in Pride and Prejudice and Love Actually)
NORMAL - David Beckham (as long as he doesn't open his mouth) I used to like Jude Law as well but he's just a bit icky now yk?
OMG REALLY - John Cusack (esp. in Grosse Point Blank)
Who are yours ladies?[/quote]

Sorry I am still thinking about my answers...
QUIRKY-The Chaser boys!
OMG REALLY- umm.. Robert Carlyle, Joaquin Phoenix and Sam Rockwell
Gorgeous:thumbsup:

hayleysmummy
11-06-2008, 09:01 PM
:laughing: Vanilla that sounds like the bag I was watching but then I decided it would be a little small actually the one I was watching wasnt leather you'll have to take a pic and show us

I am bidding on a 9pce cot set from over seas I hope I get it its absoloutley gorgeous bidding ends tomorrow :fingerscrossed:

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
11-06-2008, 09:13 PM
Desperation is my favourite book ever! i've read it over 20 times, i bought the movie on DVD on ebay a few weeks ago, i didnt even know it was on dvd i was very excited - let me know what you think of it tho compared to the book!

hope everyones well today :flowerz:

aims

Just watched the movie... hmm, not nearly as good as the book I felt. Dh agrees, and we think its cause theres no inner monologe :laughing: which there is plenty of in the books!.
I think some books just translate to movies better than others.

Did you see Dreamcatcher?, now that was a wacky film, but I still havent gotten around to reading the book.

Oh, and re the monitors.. have to agree about the static, ours is very noisy and annoying!!, and thats on the lowest setting, but we have learnt to sleep through it :laughing:, During the day Its not such a problem as the other daytime noises mask the static a little bit.

missmilliesmum
11-06-2008, 09:17 PM
I see we are all addicted to ebay! Hope we are not bidding against eachother!!! My DH is strating to get mad @ me for buying too much stuff on ebay for bubs......but I keep telling him I'm saving money! In the last 2 weeks I have bought... a BURP Nappy bag for $30.00 - RRP $ 99.95, and 2 Grobags for $35.00 each - RRP $75.00 each! The nappy bag has arrived. but still waiting on the grobags!

dantaz
12-06-2008, 05:31 AM
oooh im sooooooooo jealous of you ladies that only have 20 or soays of work left i wish that was me i still have 11weeks:hair: but what can you do
loz thats REALLY heavy for a pram have you looked at the love n care similar to a phil and teds but cheaper the baby superstore has them online
well just getting ready for work ( those kids wont wait :laughing:) so i might jump on later
talk soon

loz10
12-06-2008, 06:34 AM
Jordan - I bet I have looked at the same set, does it have aeroplanes? I think it said it was from Los Angeles?

Dantaz - I will definitely check out that website,thanks :).

dmplus3
12-06-2008, 07:08 AM
Ladies, a few people have mentioned (a while ago...) wanting the Kids Line Construction Zone nursery manchester. I have the six piece set, hamper, throw cushion, lamp and possibly (still packed in a box somewhere) the photo frame.

DH wants me to sell it (may discourage me wanting #4), so if anyone is interested in buying it, PM me. The offer's out there, may be easier than bidding on ebay etc...

MandaMommy
12-06-2008, 07:35 AM
dantaz, i checked out the love'n'care pram like the phil and ted in a shop last week..... i decided if thats the option i pick the phil and ted is heaps better. The main issue i had with the love'n'care pram is that the area in the back for newborn (when toddler is on top) is tiny... yes i know newborns are tiny about they aren't always so tiny at 4-5 months and i would be concerned they wouldn't have room to move they little legs.... you should go shopping and check them out before buying one off ebay. I have changed my mind about a few since trying that out and now i don't know what i want :laughing::laughing::laughing:

LucyB
12-06-2008, 07:36 AM
Ooo speaking of ebay - any breast pump recommendations before I start seriously bidding??

hayleysmummy
12-06-2008, 07:42 AM
I have an avent isis manual breast pump and it was excellent.

I'm considering joing the australian breastfeeding association and hiring a automatic one with the 2 pumps so I can pump both at the same time. I just found I couldnt get much milk out with the manual one

I've also heard Medala is really good

JJJ&D'sMum
12-06-2008, 09:14 AM
Good morning!

Nothing much to report here....today has been boring so far aside from DD spitting Vita Brits all over the place.

Loz the Valco Double Take pram that I have is only 13kg and has a fair bit of room for a newborn as well as a reclining front seat for a toddler. I don't know what else you're after in a pram but I found it quite easy to manouvre for a tandem pram. Just a suggestion.

Lucy I also have an Avent Isis manual breast pump as well as a Nuk electric pump. I prefer the Nuk as it does all the work and I seem to be able to get more BM out and into the bottle with less mess and in less time. I didn't buy the Nuk, it was given to me. I have also heard that the Medala pumps are great......I used one while we were in the Special Care Nursery last year and they worked well.

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 09:29 AM
Morning Judy and all the other Septemberries!

Nothing much to report here... after topics ranging from books to men yesterday I wonder what today will bring ;)

Bubsy is having a quiet day again... and no amount of my poking is getting him/her karate kicking around... maybe bubs can sense when I'm at work and we are both miserable LOL

Think I'm getting the beginnings of heartburn now... oh and I think I'm having my glucose test tomorrow afternoon... hope its not too yucky...

KatieLou
12-06-2008, 10:22 AM
Morning all :wave:

I just got back from my GD test and OB appt.

The GD test didn't taste that bad, just like really sweet flat lemonade. What I wasn't expecting was how lethargic I felt almost immediately afterwards, and still do. I couldn't stand up for a while there! I have been trying to stuff heaps of carbs in since to soak up the sugar but still feel a bit iffy. So Pink have a big pkt of chips in the car for afterwards.

My bubs is apparently going well and my bump is measuring bigger than 28 weeks which is interesting. My OB doesn't think that I'll make it to 37 weeks at work but I will still try - then again when she saw me I probably wasn't looking the best after just having had drunk the GD drink.

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 10:30 AM
I'm glad it didn't taste too bad Kat! I bet you are glad to have it over with... I will remember to have a pk of chippes with me or a slice of bread in a zip lock bag...

Why doesn't the OB think you will make it to 37 weeks at work?

KatieLou
12-06-2008, 10:36 AM
Yes I'm glad to have it over with, but I'm also glad i don't have much on for the next few hours - I feel so woozy! I had the anti-D injection at the same time so maybe it's just a combination of everything...

She just said that looking at the way I had changed in the last 4 weeks she didn't think I would be able to cope getting up in the mornings and having to be somewhere. I'll try though, and work is willing to be flexible if it means that I can stay longer (they don't expect to have a replacement for me by then so every hour I can give them the better).

GeorgiaAnne
12-06-2008, 10:37 AM
I don't think the gd drink is that bad - just hold your nose and scull!

JJJ&D'sMum
12-06-2008, 10:38 AM
What I wasn't expecting was how lethargic I felt almost immediately afterwards, and still do. I couldn't stand up for a while there!YUK thanks for the reminder Kat. I had forgotten about that lethargic dizzy feeling till you mentioned it. Now I'm going to dread it even more and I think I'll be getting the referral tomorrow for it.....euwwwwwwwwwwww

GeorgiaAnne
12-06-2008, 10:42 AM
I didn't get any yucky feeling at all, aren't I lucky. I quite liked just having to sit and do nothing for an hour - what a luxury :cloud9:

missmilliesmum
12-06-2008, 10:42 AM
Morning Girls!

Well, I am having the day off work today...absolutely buggared up my back somehow yesterday (Slept funny??)...went to the physio but she couldn't do much. Trying to get in for a massage this arvo...will see how we go there! I have always had back problems, but this is the first real issue since bubs has come along. Luckily my boss is great and really understanding. Plus in my job, there's really no point in turning up if you can't work properly, we need all hands on deck at all times.

Breast Pumps - My plan is to hire one from the hospital after bubs is born, but if that doesn't work out, I will ask which one the MW's reccommend and buy one when I get D/C. I have just heard so many different opinions from so many different ppl!

Well done to all the ladies who have their Glucose test today! I have mine tomorrow. The Carbo test drink isn't too bad, we use it to treat diabetics in hospital when their blood sugar gets too low and they love it....spose cause they can't normally drink the sweet stuff!

I only have 5 weeks and 1 day of work left!!! I can't believe it! Where has the tiome gone?? It looks great to see it written like that!

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 10:46 AM
Hold my nose and scull.... I will do that...but hope I don't have an audience :D

LucyB
12-06-2008, 10:48 AM
I actually quite enjoyed the GD drink - it was milder than i was expecting, but boy was I in a FOUL mood that night and I could feel the sugar affecting me! And I am normally such a sweet tooth... chips would have been a good idea I think:D

I am planning on working until 39 weeks although the last few weeks I can do from home and I am hoping that most of it will be done by the person I am handing over to as part of her "training" hehe!

12-06-2008, 10:53 AM
I only have eyes for my husband. :D Poor dude! Doesn't get a break.

Coming up to 28 weeks. Its going so fast. I am so enjoying the unassisted pregnancy.

KatieLou
12-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Sorry Judy for the reminder, but I'm also kind of glad to hear that it's not only me that reacted that way as I wasn't expecting it at all.

I'm about to sit down for a long career planning session which should hopefully be really useful - I just hope I can concentrate and stay awake for it!

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 11:37 AM
Kat what did your baby think of the big hit of sugar?

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
12-06-2008, 11:46 AM
Im going to have my Glucose test dealy next week, probably Monday. I didnt find it too bad last time, although felt a bit queasy :p
I also have to book my pre-admission app with one of the hospital midwives, which I think they do at 30+ weeks.

hayleysmummy
12-06-2008, 12:22 PM
:wave: Afternoon Ladies

I typed out a huge post this mornng then lost it because I tried to quote and delete the smiley so it went haywire :geek:

I must be wierd I quite liked the drink for the GD test with DD, but I wont be having it this pregnancy I was asked by the midwife but declined

This is the set I won on ebay except it doesnt come with the lamp and 3 pictures or mobile but everything else I get all up incl postage it was $97 http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=280234706729&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=018

Hmm SARAH I had no idea you could hire from the hospy I will ask my midwife about that next appt

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
12-06-2008, 12:45 PM
Jordan, that set is gorgeous!!, I love it.

missmilliesmum
12-06-2008, 12:51 PM
Jordan, What a beautiful set! So gorgeous....If I have a boy I am going to go with the pale blue/chocolate colour scheme - It looks so great!

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 12:53 PM
That is a gorgeous set... great colours together!!!

hayleysmummy
12-06-2008, 01:05 PM
Thanks girls not many people like the grown up look to baby bedding but I thought it was beautiful they also have it in pink with the brown

I love anything with brown :bee:

KatieLou
12-06-2008, 01:17 PM
Kat what did your baby think of the big hit of sugar?

Hmmm, I didn't really pay much attention honestly! I was too busy trying to work out what was going on with me! I know it was kicking the dopler and that the heart rate was higher than normal, but I was there during a time of day that it is usually quite active so it was nothing new. I was just in a meeting for 1.5 hrs and although it kicked I was preoccupied so didn't pay much attention to how psycho it was going...

PinkAngel
12-06-2008, 01:36 PM
LOL if it was a long meeting both the baby and me would have been asleep ;)

Are you feeling better now after some lunch and time to settle?

Jordan I love the brown and coffee colours too... i would love either the pink and brown or blue and brown....

Now all the chocolate colours are in I wonder if we will look back in 20 years and go 'what was I thinking' :)

Mermum
12-06-2008, 02:36 PM
:yes:they are gorgeous and I love those cots!

KatieLou
12-06-2008, 03:06 PM
Yes thanks Lisa, I'm nearly back to normal - still a bit weird though. I am amazed at how it's shaken me!

Luckily the meeting was more of a conversation about my career direction, so I was kind of interested. I did preface the meeting though saying that I was very interested and if I started falling asleep please don't take it personally! :D

I can't believe that tomorrow is Friday! It's really good b/c it will then be Friday - but I haven't achieved much this week! :eek:

Jordan - that bedding is just gorgeous! I am very envious!

loz10
12-06-2008, 05:27 PM
Well, today was a flop again, James was quite naught (yes, again) and I feel completely challenged by them.

The boys are always better behaved at home, go near shops with both and it is usually a disaster, I can't control them :no:.

I am now watching a massive lot of Duplo (lego) on Ebay and can pick-up, will have to drive 1 hr each way but what a huge lot. It dosen't finish for 2 days but it is mine! Duplo keeps the house and myself sane, James love to build and is very good at it, so bring it on.

Tonight I felt bad about not enjoying my pg and will try to appreciate it more :yes:.

Mia
12-06-2008, 06:58 PM
My DS can be a handful too, I ended up in tears yesterday, so that's my MELTDOWN for June. Today was a lot better!

vanillabean
12-06-2008, 07:03 PM
My DD is also being incredibly difficult lately. I don't know about terrible 2's, I think is is the 3's. The slightest thing will set her off and that is it, she can last up to an hour whinging. I am crying quite often at the moment. DH does not help, he gives in to her and tells me I am being mean:hair: I am the one that has read the parenting books and trying to do what they suggest. Makes me cranky.

I have been at work today-was sooo busy. My feet are killing! I am tired but my fav show "The Amazing Race" is back on tonight. I think I am going to have to stay up and watch it.

loz10
12-06-2008, 07:08 PM
There is an online shop JKonline.com.au that has mainly kids and some babies clothing on sale...anyway, I have a code for free postage anywhere in Australia. I haven't used the code myself but cut it out of a mag recently so should still work (Promo Code CPS2) and is applicable to first orders only. For those of you with older girls in single beds they have doona sets for $20 from $45, sounds good.

Mia
12-06-2008, 07:10 PM
Oooh, I watched the first couple of seasons of The Amazing Race and liked it!

Stick to your guns, the firm but gentle discipline is best all round for the little ones - giving in just teaches them to continue the unwanted behaviours. Our favourite books are Secrets of the Baby Whisperer, and Secrets of the Baby Whisperer for Toddlers...!

vanillabean
12-06-2008, 07:50 PM
Stick to your guns, the firm but gentle discipline is best all round for the little ones - giving in just teaches them to continue the unwanted behaviours. Our favourite books are Secrets of the Baby Whisperer, and Secrets of the Baby Whisperer for Toddlers...!

Yep, trying tell my DH that. I try to be firm, not yell, not smack etc., but he does the opposite to me and DD knows she will get away with it, because her whining gets on DH's nerves.

loz10
12-06-2008, 07:53 PM
Just found another site with some really good buys on cot linen and other stuff for the home.

If you click on the Garage sale button and browse from there, the price is actually cheaper when you open the item in most cases, there are pages and pages....

Just received the email below. I have bought from them a few times before and delivery is always quick.

Comeinside Garage Sale (http://www.comeinside.com.au/2004/index.php?o=20&utm_campaign=Stocktake%20Sale%20On%20Now%20-%20Everything%20is%20reduced%21&utm_content=FSD&utm_medium=Email&utm_source=VerticalResponse&utm_term=Take%20me%20to%20the%20bargains)

IT'S STOCKTAKE TIME AGAIN!

We have negotiated some fantastic bargains with our suppliers to bring you some of the best online steals! $99 quilt covers now $29.99*, novelty cushions were $19.95 now $5.99*, floor rugs $169.95 now $50.99*.
*selected designs only

25% - 70% Off Mylc
15% - 40% Off Hiccups
15% - 50% Off Freckles
15% - 40% Off Linen House
10% - 40% Off Aura Lifestyle
Every item in every room has been reduced by at least 10%!

Spend $150 or more online and use voucher code STOCKTAKE during checkout to deduct $10 off your order. Valid for online purchases made during June 2008. Cannot be used with any other offer.

cassvanm
12-06-2008, 09:38 PM
Hi guys.
Just popping in to say hi. Working today, am winding down for the weekend, however i have a nutrimetics party and a chefs toolbox party to go to - won't be relaxing.
Kids going well, as is the baby.
Loz, thanks for the website - this is what I've just bought with the free postage - total $50 for these items:

For Kaidy from bub when born:
https://www.jkonline.com.au/49/price/5/page/99999999/style/93113S07

For Baylee from bub when born:
https://www.jkonline.com.au/49/price/5/page/99999999/style/93097W07

For Kaidy coz she's growing out of her togs:
https://www.jkonline.com.au/49/group/561/page/1/style/62180W07

Have a lovely day tomorrow girls, will pop on then.
Cass

loz10
13-06-2008, 07:23 AM
Cass - Glad to hear u were able to use the free postage code, I hadn't tried it yet.

DH informed me this morning that we only have 500M of usage left till the 20th. We used to be on ISDN with unlimted usage but a very slow speed and now we have NextG with a monthly usage of 3G which isn't much. We can't even get broadband and can only use Telstra :no:.

I just bought up my coffee, this sick thing keeps hanging around, so annoying, teamed with lack of sleep it is not a good combination.

However, when bub is born the sickness will be gone :smiliedance:.

LucyB
13-06-2008, 08:00 AM
Oh Loz like I need another excuse to shop online!!!! But of course if there are bargain to be had then I guess it is only responsible of me to do it....:D

13-06-2008, 09:00 AM
Oh Loz like I need another excuse to shop online!!!! But of course if there are bargain to be had then I guess it is only responsible of me to do it....:D
:iagree:

But I really need to stop buying. Have to clear out Av's stuff for room.

loz10
13-06-2008, 09:02 AM
After going to the shops yesterday with the boys I now definitely prefer online shopping and there is more selection that we have being a Regional Town.

I am really hoping I have something arrive in the post today, I have 4 parcels yet to arrive :yes:.

Lucy - :iagree: It is your responsibility as a new mum to check out EVERY bargain LOL.

mummaslove
13-06-2008, 09:10 AM
:wave: Hi y'all, I'm back

I've been staying at my parents since last Friday, and now I am home again, and here to say hello, although, I haven't caught up on all the posts yet, so I will do that soon.

Well, last night was our best night EVER! :smiliedance: DD and DS both in bed at 6.15pm and BOTH OF THEM SLEPT THROUGH :eek: DD up at 5.30am and DS up at 5.45am. Believe me, that is AWESOME (can you tell I'm excited?). And, shock horror, they have both been happier this morning! Amazing what a bit of sleep will do for them :rolleyes:

I feel like I am starting to nest? I want to clean and reorganise the entire world. I will start with DD's room, as I went to a mega garage sale last weekend (fundraiser for a school) and came away with an entire garbage bag of clothes for $5.

I have my obs appointment in Cairns on the 25th, so will be buying DS a bed, then I can reorganise his room, and move all the toys out of the toyroom and do the nursery :yelclap: Very exciting.

Thought I would have a new neice/nephew this morning, my SIL went to hospy last night thinking her waters had broken, but turns out it was forewaters, not hindwaters, so they sent her home. Maybe soon though :fingerscrossed:

Anyway, hope you are all well, and look forward to catching up.

hayleysmummy
13-06-2008, 09:11 AM
LOZ- Stop it I have an adiction to online shopping :o but I am so broke but the nursery stuff is so beautiful I might have to get bub a nice little set for his bassinet next week

DD is being terrible aswell she has cut 4 teeth at once (the vampier ones) not sure what they are called so I'm changing 6 pooey napppies every day and the nappy rash is terrible the poor little girl paw paw ointment has done well though

CASS- The girls will love their gifts from bub and how cheap are they if I didnt co-sleep I'd get some sets for DD hmmm should I get one and pput it away :laughing:

LOZ- Have you got your maternity jeans yet mine arrived yesterday and they are the best jeans I have bought I'm so happy with them and a size 6 is still a little big but they have the buttons and elastic on the inside so I can tighten them they are more like a size 8-10 so you always shold go a size or 2 smaller in maternity I think they are the YIM ones they have some on ebay :thumbsup:

LucyB
13-06-2008, 09:48 AM
29 weeks tomorrow! If this little one is keen to get out early and arrives at 38 weeks that means less than 10 weeks to go! Eeek!

mummaslove
13-06-2008, 09:52 AM
29 weeks tomorrow! If this little one is keen to get out early and arrives at 38 weeks that means less than 10 weeks to go! Eeek!

Wow :eek: I know - I am 28 weeks on Sunday, and DS was 3 weeks early (I know this one mighten be though), but if it is only 9 weeks to go!

LucyB
13-06-2008, 10:15 AM
it's scary huh? Although it does make me feel less of a freak with my 'nesting' starting to kick in - have cleaned my office and desk and it is more organised than it has ever been and have massive plans to once again reorganise my clothes and our bedroom at home!!

KatieLou
13-06-2008, 10:36 AM
I think I have the opposite to nesting. Everything is an unorganised mess and I just can't be bothered....

loz10
13-06-2008, 10:36 AM
:wave: Sissy and welcome back! The kids slept through and are being good, how exciting:smiliedance:. It makes you feel you can have a tonne of kids when they behave and sleep then it back fires and you realise what reality is :laughing:. I have been nesting too, the boys are in a new room which has been painted, still have a few things to buy but not much.

Jordan - No jeans yet, :crying:, so glad to hear yours fit good and u like them, I hope mine arrive on Monday, I am so desperate for something new to wear.

I am broke to, I have found a bassinet/cradle set I quite like on that shopping site I posted, it is $44 which includes the quilt and sheet set. There is also a cot quilt and nappy stacker I am going to buy from them @ 70% off! I would like something else but really like it and at that price I will be happy with it.

Lucy - 29 Weeks :eek:, 10 weeks to go sounds like nothing, where has the time gone! Looks like you might be first in line :yes:.

PinkAngel
13-06-2008, 10:48 AM
Hi Ladies :)

Where has the morning gone!

Having my glucose test at 2.30 today so that should be fun :rolleyes:

Have had to elevate my legs a little at my desk because am getting a bit of swelling at night now...

Hope everyone is having a good day... :yes:

mixy
13-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Ok so hi to everyone!!!!

It has been a while since i was last able to post, my silly computer:geek:

Any way, i am glad to hear that most of you seem to be going well.

I have my GTT (glucose tolerance test) on wednesday, i have to have the more indeapth one (i have to fast for 12 hours and they take three tests over two hours) becasue i am at high risk of GD. not fun and i have to be there at 9:00, so i have had to ask one of the mums from school to watch tenysha for half an hour before school.... I really hope it comes back fine, cause i will have a lot of trouble with tte drs if i have it...... fingers crossed.

And hubby is talking about going on afternoon shift for three weeks, i hate that idea, but if he needs to i guess he needs to.

Is any one else experiencing extream tiredness? It has been insane i am getting close to 10 hours sleep at night, but i still cant funtion throughout the day... and by about 7:30 at night i cant even sit in front of the tv....

well i will try to fight my comp again and hope on again over the weekend....

GeorgiaAnne
13-06-2008, 11:54 AM
Hi chicks
Nice to see you back Mixy, you sound very tired, perhaps you should get them to check your iron levels too? Hope it all goes well for gd though.
Lucy - Crikey :eek:- do you think you may go early?
Lisa - Good luck with your test as well. Don't have any lollies beforehand! My feet are getting a bit swollen after work now as well - I could hardly get my shoes on the other day.
Loz - That sounds like a good price for a bassinette, well done!
KL - lol on your lack of nesting, i'm a bit the same. I just walk into the new baby boy room, look at an empty space with an old chest of drawers and a few toys and think hmm, i'll deal with that later. Maybe when the weeks get into single figures :fingerscrossed: Happy 28 weeks to us as well, forgot about that yesterday! Who do ya reckon will come first? I'm convinced I will be late again. I hope i'm not early as there's an event I really want to go to on the 1st September.

JJJ&D'sMum
13-06-2008, 12:16 PM
LOL @ nesting. That's something I never seem to get the urge to do until I'm at least 35 weeks....and then I run out of time :laughing: Fortunately we only have a 3 bedroom house so Baby Oops will have to share with DD once he/she is too big for the bassinet. If it's definitely a boy, he's going to have to contend with pastelly lilac/pink walls with a violet feature wall. Hopefully he won't be traumatised from it hehehe

Happy Friday everyone....the weekend is almost here :smiliedance:

Judy

13-06-2008, 01:07 PM
Wow!
Its not long now.
I am sure I will go over so will be at least 12 weeks for me.

mixy
13-06-2008, 01:15 PM
just the thought of coming early is seriously a joke in my house, we joke about it all the time!! hubby will finish work the day after i am due, so he is home from then on, but if i went into labour before that no-one would know what to do!! lol- have a baby i guess!

and nesting, well i have started but only with the babys stuff. not interested in doing any thing to do with rest of the house, it could have a tornato hit it and i would still just fix up the babys room! a couple of times i have gone in there and just pull stuff out so i could re pack it into its space again. I tell you it is the only thing i can find any energy for!
Even shopping, im not interested unless it is for the baby, yesterday i managed to go and put the drawers and the linen for the babys room on layby, but was so tired after i was worried about driving to pick up tenysha!

loz10
13-06-2008, 01:31 PM
How's everyone's day, it is Friday :smiliedance:. I always think of you pg ladies at work who are busting for the weekend.

The boys have been good today, they are always happier at home. We have quite a lot to do inside and out and hope to buy a trampoline with the net sides soon. Waiting for Big-W Toy Sale to get one then :yes:. They hate shopping, I honestly believe it is because they are boys LOL.

dannitomplusbub
13-06-2008, 02:00 PM
i've been itching to 'nest' for weeks now. and as we moved out last week i have finally been able to. im working full time yet when i get home ill do washing tidy up EVERYTHING make dinner and still feel like i can do more. DP helped all day monday (setting up babys room) but when it came to 9.30pm he told me to sit down cause he felt lazy. :raspberry:

CJay
13-06-2008, 02:04 PM

I'm really looking forward to the weekend & dreading it at the same time.

My week turned from bad to worse, my mother has been a right b*tch & causing some serious grief. She looks after my daughter before & after school as she lives near the school (it's of course paid) given all the rubbish she just decided that everyone was too sick & i'd have to deal with it & hung up on me! so for the last few days DD has been picked up by DH & I & our works are thankfully been good enough to let us leave work 3 hours earlier, of course then we have to go home & work for an additional 3-4 hours to catch up. I get home last night after taking DD to a work meeting to return home to work at 5 to work for another 4 hours & have a message from her asking to take my car... hmm & how was I was going to pick up DD today? fair to say I'm really stressed about it, work is really cr*ppy too with staff issues, I'm due to leave in a few weeks & have months worth of work. I'm trying to make arrangements for a carer in replace & well mum will just need to figure out how she will survive without the money... as we need our jobs to pay our mortgages & can't keep leaving work & cancelling meetings. Tell me if you think I'm over reacting (as sometimes I do need to hear it)

To be honest I think I'm risking myself for an early labour :no: anyway I'm hoping my venting (thanks for letting me again) will help calm me down.

I promise one day I'll stop complaining... it must have something to do with the title of this chat... meltdowns welcome...

hayleysmummy
13-06-2008, 02:20 PM
CJAY- :hugs: For your mum to hang up on you is rude so I dont think you are overeacting at all.

NESTING- Its been going on for a few weeks I vacuum 2-3 times a day beforehand I'd be lucky to do it once a week :o But no nursery setting up yet the place is a mess but when everything is done I will start and set up a little space in our room for bub I cant wait

I dont know about going early I was 10 days early with DD but every pregnancy is different so it's anywhere from 12-16 weeks away for me 13 wks and 5 days away going by my EDD. Scary huh I have no idea who will go first though maybe Starmummy

Where is Starmummy I havent seen her post for a while I hope everythings ok

LOZ- I saw a boys bass set on that site too I thinkits the same one your looking at but I think I'll just stick to cot bedding I have a few fitted sheets then bub will more than likley just be wrapped with a lil blanky over the top I'd love to get it though

KatieLou
13-06-2008, 02:45 PM
Happy 28 weeks to us as well, forgot about that yesterday! Who do ya reckon will come first? I'm convinced I will be late again. I hope i'm not early as there's an event I really want to go to on the 1st September.

Yay for us Georgia! :yelclap: If you're going to be late then I hope that I am 1st ;) Dh is hoping that I am about 2 weeks early as he's really busy at work in Sept and ideally would rather take time off earlier. i don't know what he'll do if the baby is late. The baby is more important, but he's in charge and there are strict deadlines to meet, so we'll see. I think I'll be late though as my sister was late for both of hers. In other peoples experiences have they found that they are early/late similar to their sisters or mum?

CJay :hugs: to you. You are not being unreasonable, just trying to be responsible. Your mum shouldn't have just dropped her committment like that and you have the right to be upset.

mixy
13-06-2008, 03:01 PM
I dont think that your births are anything like your mums unless you want them to be ;) remember you have your dads genetics in there to, and the baby, s/he has there own ideas on possitioning etc.

CJay, it does not sound to me like you are over reacting.

missmilliesmum
13-06-2008, 03:55 PM
Afternoon Ladies!

Had my Glucose Challenge Test today! All went well, just have to wait for the results now.

Had an hour long massage today! It hurt, but was bliss afterwards! The lady I see only charges $40 for a little over an hour and she has a pregnancy pillow and massage table! It was so wierd lying on my stomach for an hour - I heve never felt bubs like that before! S/he came right to the front and I could feel feet and hands pushing all over the place - It was worth it just for that!

CJay - Hope your Mum calms down and apologises to you. I know it can be difficult - my Mum is very highly strung and I have been hung up on many times, but remember you are the better person if you don't buy in to it, and just get on with it until she realises how unreasonable she's being. It must be so tough with both of you working full time! Chin Up!

I have to go back to work tomorrow after a few days off with my back being bad - One of the girls from work just called and told me not to bother cause it's heavy and busy and ferral! Yay - I can hardly wait for tomorrow now! :(

Hope you all enjoy your weekends!

vanillabean
13-06-2008, 05:26 PM
I got my nappy bag that I nought brand new on ebay today. It is awesome, I am so happy with it:yelclap:

loz10
13-06-2008, 06:38 PM
Cjay - Here's hoping things sort themselves out soon, it can be very upsetting to argue with your mother or someone close to you :hugs:.

Vanilla - :smiliedance: for the baby bag, this is a mothers crutch! I ended up using a really small one when Nicholas arrived as I used to stuff it at the end of the 2nd seat in my tandem pram to stop him slipping under the seat. Definitely getting a new one this time around.

Jordan - I too was thinking I don't really need a comforter set for the cradle as bub will be wrapped and the best blankets to use is a cotton cellular blanket doubled up or a something layered that is breathable. I have some polar fleece wraps that are nice and snug, teamed with a bonds suit that usually is sufficient. However, the set is adorable and not to pricey as it includes the sheets so I will see if I can afford it next week :confused:. I haven 't even set up the cradle (a friend gave it to me) as I have no linen whatsover.

Sarah - I think you nurses do such a wonderful job, you are truly amazing at what you do. Are you in Brisbane? My SIL is a nurse at Brisbane Hospital.

Oh, I have been getting the biggest kicks, especially when the boys are wrestling it's like he wants to join in :bee:.

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
13-06-2008, 07:31 PM
Well I didn't get to mothers group today as Sierra is full of a cold... so instead I thought I would go get the Clucose Challenge (lol, what the form said) over and done with as im 28 weeks tomorrow anyway :).
The drink made me feel sick as it did last time and I got a bad headache from it too for somereason :confused:. While I was waiting for my hour to be up I went down to book in for my pre-admission app with the hospi midwife and the lady at the desk told me that they only do that if your having a c-section :confused:, I said that the doctor told me I needed to book it and she was adament that I only had to do it if I was going to have a c-section and that if I had already booked into hospi (which I have) then I only need to call them when I go into labour... so Im confused. I had the pre-admission app with Sierra, so I dont know why not this time.
I think I will call the OB on Monday and see what he thinks, cause if I am supposed to have the app I need to book it soon!.

Anyway, enough about me.

C-Jay, Hope everything works out with you and your mum :hugs:, I think these things are always more stressfull when its family as you cant just fire them then not have to see them again!. Keep us up to date on what happens... and dont worry about complaining, its good to let it all out!.

Sarah, Im soooo jealous.. that massage sounds awesome!. I want one!!.

I cant believe that if some of us go early it could be more like 9/10 weeks away!!. This preg is going so much faster this time round!!.
I have a feeling I will be going early too, but then I was a week over with Sierra so who knows!.

Friday the 13th today, DH just informed me... I hadn't even noticed!.

:hugs:TO those that need them, and great to hear some of you are getting some nice bargains!!!. Thinking Im going to get some nesting done this weekend and clean the house, as well as sort out Sierras old clothes as now we know we can recycle some of them!.

Have a great weekend all!

Mia
13-06-2008, 07:40 PM
DH reckons I will go early this time but I don't know. A tiny bit early would be fine but that's all!

Nesting, well...I finally sorted through all DS's old clothes the other day and threw some out and gave some to St Vinnies and bagged the good ones into four bags (newborn, 3 months, 6 months, 12 months) and I have been wanting to do that for AGES so I am pleased about that.

I've also organised for a new lovely Roman blind for the guest room (which might end up the kids room (kids? OMG!) as it's bigger than the current baby room) and we are getting a few rooms painted too. I think paint is not very good for pregnant women but I really want it done so I'll just try to keep fresh air circulating.

StarMummy
13-06-2008, 07:58 PM

Jordan ME first :eek: you realise there is like 22 people due before my yep i counted them in the due in thread LOL.
Although you may be right been in and out of labour again. My husband and mother just seem to be stressing me out majorly :mad:
It was atually strange i was having braxton hicks and i swear some were more painful than my labour contrax???

Well besides hubby being a complete ***hole and my mother adding fuel to the fire and labour, what else has been happening.

OH how could even nearly forget my baby girl has been in a big single bed for the last two nights :smiliedance: only getting up once each night! Daysleeps though well any ideas on how to keep her in there for day sleeps lol. I am so proud of her she didnt even fall out once :goodvibes: Mind $819 later whoops but included really cute manchester.

Have painted the first coat of the babies room...ice mint and a blue that is called baby toes- looks so cute.

HMM NESTING IS HAPPENING HERE BIG TIME (actually what sent me into labour in the first plae was moving furniture i shouldnt have).

Oh i also actually know now my baby shower is on the 7th July my friend did it then because she said i better still be pregnant then, i said i hope so not big enough to come out and i wont have everything ready.

You all sound to be going great...we are all getting so close.

Oh and my guess on who will go first is mmmmmmm SIERRASMUM

Jel
13-06-2008, 08:11 PM
hi girls
got my gtt tomorrow morning. it's funny how they're all different. where i go it's a 10 hour fast and a 2 hour wait..

Here's my June meltdown...

Grandpa's day of rest came yesterday. He was 89 years of age.
He'd been battling with Parkinson's for a number of years. He lived in his own house until he was 87, and has spent his last 2 years in a nursing hostel where he became frail quite quickly.
Recently he'd had increasing falls, his last was on Monday which resulted in a fractured rib, hospitalisation and a very quick passing.
We'd heard of his quickly ailing health on Tuesday night, got up the next day at 5.30 to go out and see him, but unfortunately he'd passed away yesterday morning 2 hours before we got there.
It's only been a matter of time, and I'm glad that he wasn't in too much pain/or prolonged state of being very unwell.
His funeral is next Wednesday.
I love you Grandpa.

StarMummy
13-06-2008, 08:27 PM
OH huge :hugs: Jel....

I read that and am bawling for you :crying:

Oh hope you are ok sweety, thinking of you and here are some more

HUGE :hugs::hugs::hugs:

vanillabean
13-06-2008, 09:33 PM
Jel, some of these for you:hugs::hugs:

cassvanm
14-06-2008, 07:53 AM
Jel, I really understand how you feel - 2 months ago I lost my gorgeous grandmother. Even though i don't really believe in God (or maybe I do, I don't know!), I like to think her soul is out there somewhere waiting to catch a glimpse of our bub, just as I'm sure your grandpa's soul is too. :hugs: for you and your family.

cassvanm
14-06-2008, 08:07 AM
Star: Yay for Tarleha :smiliedance:What a big girl! Just keep persisting with the day sleeps and possibly get the whole reward/sticker chart thing happening. That's an option for you and a bit of motivation for her.
Star, my babyshower is on the 6th - I'm so looking forward to it. Haven't had one before, I don't much like being the centre of attention, but I do like prezzies! :o

Vanilla: yay about the ebay purchase. I am going to post some links to what I've recently purchased. Let me know if they don't work.

This was $9.60 incl postage. All Pumpkin patch stuff, and in really good nick:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=280223499923

This was $7 total - light weight, so great for the chilly evenings
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=320247442738

This was $6.25 incl. postage: will go with top in next item
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=330234213928

This was $13 incl. postage: very cute
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160238600678

CJay: I really dont' understand some people's actions. Just let it slide with your mum, coz if you get into an arguement with her, you are somewhat rewarding her (iykwim). Just let it go, and be the grownup about the situation. And NO, I don't think you are overreacting or being unreasonable.

Me: weird dreams again - I had to write a fake "suicide letter" to go to a really dodgy theme park thing, just so my parents to go to a movie thing with my kids for free???? Bizarre, I know.
Today I'm going with the girls to swimming, then going to a nutrimetics party this arvo. Haven't been to one of those for literally 12 years.
Tomorrow I've got a combined Chefs Toolbox, Body shop party to go to - should be interesting.
Have a day off work on Friday, so will have my GTT then. Not looking forward to it.
I hope you all have a wonderful weekend, and will be popping on as the days progress
Cass

Mermum
14-06-2008, 10:43 AM
hi girls
Grandpa's day of rest came yesterday. He was 89 years of age.
I love you Grandpa.
:bee::hugs::bee::hugs::bee:thinking of you take care xo

PinkAngel
14-06-2008, 02:01 PM
Oh Jel.... :hugs: your Grandpa will be at peace... he will always be around you... sometimes it helps to light a candle when you think of loved ones that have passed... its a nice way to remember them...

loz10
14-06-2008, 02:17 PM
Jel, so sorry to hear about the passing of your grandpa. He sounds amazing how he lived in his own house for as long as he did, what a determined man. I can only hope one day I can be so self sufficient at that age. :hugs::hugs:

hayleysmummy
14-06-2008, 03:46 PM
JEL- :hugs: Your grandpa will be up there watching over you and your little one I can assure you and he wont be in pain anymore my thoughts are with you and your family

I lost my grandmother (we were very close) coming up 2 yrs on October 20 to lung cancer at 70yrs old and I was there when she passed DD was also only 13 days old I like to think she's up there watching over us and her great granchildren/ GG to be the memories of her are still as fresh as if she were here yesterday and I think Cass could agree with me there. I also like to think that when she passed it wouldnt be the last time I'd see her because when my time is up we'll be together again :hugs:

CASS- You got some great bargains the dress and top is absoloutley adorable I like the flower jeans too. Girls clothes are so much cuter than boys arent they :D

My sister and I have been out shopping all day at Robina town centre and I got the Fisher price Rainforest playmat for $89.99 it was one of the best I'd seen really colourful and music plays for 20 mins straight it also has a little mobile in the middle that turns for bub to look at. My sister bought me the fisher price sounds and lights monitor on special rom toyworld for $57 so a bargain I think! and she got DS an outfit from best and less. I got a bonds bumps breastfeeding singlet and bubs terry towelling bath support from david jones as theyre having a sale too (there was lots of pumpkin patch stuff) but my wallett was starting to get very light :laughing: and I have too many clothes for him already

Oh and the last thing I bought was the baby bag Its just a shoulder bag from a cheap bag shop that will be great for hospital and for our everyday things for the 2 kids at $40

And DD is fast asleep on the couch it's been a big day for her so now its my quite time :smiliedance:

14-06-2008, 04:57 PM
:hugs: Jel. I lost my Pop a few years ago and he was close to 90 and was battling diabetes. It was not good.

28 weeks today.

I started to go through some clothes today. Gave a few to a friend.

Mum2Sierra&Caelyn
14-06-2008, 06:07 PM
:hugs:To you Jel, We are all thinking of you and your family :hugs:

Star- Thanks for jinxing me and saying I'll be first ;) Actually I think I have a good chance of it anyway being at the start of the month.

Me- Will be going through Sierras Newborn things tomorrow to see what I can re-use for baby girl 2!, I still havent bought anything new for this bubs, but hopefully next week :fingerscrossed:

loz10
14-06-2008, 06:37 PM
Jordan - Sounds like you had a good day shopping :), wish I went shopping today.

No matter what we are all going for a drive somewhere tomorrow, the boys have been bouncing of the walls tonight and still are.

I would love to go to David Jones as I have a store card there. Have had it for years but never use it as the closest store is 2 hours away, I guess that isn't a bad thing ;).

We are waiting for a full sized Target to open in November (they closed down the old K-Mart store) with some more specialty shops, shopping locally is quite boring at the moment, we have Best & Less, Big W and Spotlight.

I am going to drive to Forster tomorrow (40mins) and buy nappies in Aldi, they are really good and great value, they hold heaps of liquid and don't leave the skin wet.

Hope everyone is enjoying their Sat night, we just had Pizza and it was nice to not cook for a change.

waahoo
14-06-2008, 07:50 PM

I must get on more often! I'm only up to page 35 on my reading, but will post now and catch up on the rest tomorrow!

DH and I have had an incredibly busy week, on the move from morning to night. We only are here in Calgary for this 1 week and then are off to visit family in another province for the rest of June. We are sorting out reno's for our house so that all the work can start July 2nd after the renters vacate.

My midwife is lovely. She is joining a team of two other midwives so I will be meeting them all - 2 out of the 3 of them will be at my birth. The first appointment was about an hour and I have my next one at the beginning of July and then one every week after that to 'catch up', as she put it. The Birth Partnership office is very woman-centred. Soft music playing, really friendly staff. The first thing you do at every appointment is test your own urine for glucose and proteins using a little strip and report the results. They also allow you to do your own swab for Group B Strep which I thought was awesome! Anyway, I had the basic prenatal blood work and the glucose test. For mine, I had to eat a healthy meal and then report to the lab exactly 2 hours later to have blood drawn. It was great - not only did I not have to chug syrup, but I got moved right to the front of the line at the ridiculously overcrowded lab!

And we had the ultrasound...all healthy and measuring on dates but we still have a baby surprise as the little bugger wouldn't move it's foot out of the way to get a clear picture!!!!!! The u/s tech was lovely and tried hard - I laid on both sides, she jiggled my tummy, I went to the bathroom and she tried again...nothing. She did say she was leaning toward it being a boy, but really couldn't see much. Oh well, I guess we're not meant to know yet!

My FIL's tests came back normal...thanks to those of you who asked! However, that means they still aren't sure what's going on. He's on medication for a thyroid imbalance that seems to be helping, so that might be it. We'll see him in a couple of days.

Re: the books... I will have to remember the author Jodi Picoult you all are talking about as I haven't read anything of hers. Now is so not the time, though, I cry enough without reading sad books! I read Jenny McCarthy's book on pregnancy the other day (Belly Laughs, I think it's called) and I had trouble controlling the crying reflex because I was laughing! I'm also reading the Hypnobirthing