View Full Version : June Char for Oct 2008 Mums - Half way there! Babies we can feel you move n groove!
Ffrenchstar
12-06-2008, 12:36 PM
Hey everyone...havent been around lately as we are staying in Brissie a few days. Wll be back next week.
Hope everyone is well.
I have bee worried on and off about this kidney issue with the baby....I am really praying all turns out to be OK.
How much weight has everyone put on?? I weighed myself at my mums house and I have put on 5 - 6kgs already!:crying: I was 54 - 55kgs before and now closer to 60kg at 20 weeks. How is everyone else going?
Twiglet
12-06-2008, 01:45 PM
Had my scan, bubs had his/her legs closed so we have no idea what it is.
They also couldn't tell us if there's anything wrong, I have to wait to see the ob. Not impressed.
Grrr from what sucks that they wouldn't give you any info.
Thanks everyone for the well-wishes for my scan. Everything seemed to go well, bubs moved too much for me to be able to pick whether its a boy or girl, which is good!
I had a cervical length check as well, and my cervix has shortened to 2.5cm, which is considered short but still in an ok range. My stitch is holding well and is right in the middle of my cervix, so I can still afford to get a little shorter!
Great news about the scan.
Can they put another stitch in the cervix?
Dh rang before He got the job with coke .
Congrats to DH
Well my poor baby kicked his toe and has taken a layer of skin off he was so upset and in so much pain, but he is asleep now poor baby!
Poor darling :hugs:
Really tired today. Can't get to sleep until about 1 last night then kept waking up with really bad dreams. Just want to leave work and go home to bed.
Twiglet
12-06-2008, 01:47 PM
I have bee worried on and off about this kidney issue with the baby....I am really praying all turns out to be OK.
You must have posted while i was typing.
Please don't worry :hugs: am sure your prayers will be answered and it will work out ok.
PrincessT
12-06-2008, 02:55 PM
Frenchie - I'll keep bubs in my prayers. I dont know if you are religious but I find a lot of hope in praying to patron saints when I am in time of need. Below is a list (if you feel inclined) of special saints who are intermissionaries who you can pray to, to keep your baby in their prayers.
Saint Margaret of Antioch - Patron Saint of Childbirth and Pregnancy,
Saint Nicholas of Myra - Patron Saint of Children (a personal favourite, the man Santa is based on and buried in the hometown of my grandparents in Italy)
Saint Monica - Patron Saint of Mothers
I'm feeling really depressed today... There is a family situation on my husbands side thats driving me crazy and making me feel so down. I hope it works out soon.
BazzasMum
12-06-2008, 03:15 PM
Well nikki - aren't you just a talented little chook!!! Your pics are lovely!!! Very impressed.
Teena - hope everything works out soon. Is there anything we can help with? Even if you just need to vent a bit, we're all here to listen and bag the sh!t out of them if necessary!!!:devil6:
Ffrenchie - how long is it till you get another scan? We're thinking of you, and :fingerscrossed: everything works out fine.
twiglet - an early night has been prescribed for you. Drs orders!!! I feel a billion percent on yesterday....
Kirsty :goodvibes:
farmmummy
12-06-2008, 05:35 PM
Kirsty - thanks dear I'm pretty happy with them. It's apart of my nesting this time i think.
Katie - I'll keep your bub in my prayers. If you wanna catch up for a coffe (decafe of course) let me know I'll be here when you get home.
Tina - This visit is going to be fleeting. I've got to drop in and see nan now she is out of ICU. Hopefuly I can con Matt into leting me go back down for the expo.
Okay talked to the bank today and I had to send financials to her to look into. After talking with the broker I think that the vendor will be more inclined to hold the place for us if the other people don't sit right with them. They are big on community and think we'll fit really well. Does any one in NSW know how much to register a 4 cylinder car for a year? Nesting is annoying I already want to organise bags etc but I know it's too early It's got to wait till August. I kind of freaked alittle last night when I looked at my ticker and I'm 16 weeks 6 days. Cr@p where has the time gone :eek: It feels like only yesterday I was 16 weeks time is flying and I'm still in limbo no idea what I'm doing witht he farm etc.
Okay I'm going I'll be back tomorrow. I need an early night tonight after such a late one last night. Heaps to do tomorrow that I didn't do today. Have a good night and chat tomorrow.
PrincessT
12-06-2008, 06:25 PM
Farm mummy - its depends on make, model, added extra's, no claim bonus etc - tonnes of thing... also where the car is housed makes a difference. You can get estimates online for pretty much all insurance companies AAMI, NRMA, GIO, Alliance etc.
I just dinner and feel far too full.
In the midde of huge cleaning spree. Its not even really nexting, just sick of the reno part of our place looking like a war zone. So I am cleaning things up and doing it my way. Tommorrow I am going to bunnings to buy paint for the ensuite (I think its needs re-doing, DH does not!) a french door and a few other million things! I cleaned the laundry today too (even moving the dryer) to clean everywhere.
I also started sorting through the tubs of baby clothing today into piles of more accurate sizing. Can I just say, where did all these clothes come from?? I have enough for triplets LOL I'm starting to soak some things and wash them in small loads so I dont have to over do it. Then I can put them away in her chet, which is already empty in her room.
And then linen - dont get me started. I have a shopping for baby clothes addiction.
BazzasMum
12-06-2008, 07:13 PM
Nikki - I've got a 4cyl Camry. Cost me $262 for rego, and $265 for CTP, plus $28 for the safety check. DH has a 4cyl Surf, CTP was the same, but rego was $322. To get the change of state safety check, costs between $50-60. You can also check how much CTP greenslips will be by going to rta.nsw.gov.au but the rego bit will vary depending on your vehicle. Expect about $600 all up. Comprehensive insurance depends on where your car is kept, etc.
Teena - sounds like you're definitely nesting!!! Going a bit crazy with the cleaning etc is the standard definition, isn't it????
I took the dogs for a huge walk this morning - down to the house DH is working at and took him some lunch. Felt really good, the dogs were puffing more than me, but when I got back....... shattered!! I did a heap of stretches, but still seized up when I sat down. Now I'm ready for bed..... Have to fold the laundry then I can relax, once I get the cat in of course... little bugger has discovered he can open the front screen door if it's not locked. Grrr.
PrincessT
12-06-2008, 07:55 PM
hahahah I just looked back and notices nikki was talking about rego and not insurance - ahhh preggo brain!!!
I painted my toenails YAY.
Ffrenchstar - I've put on 5-6 kilos too. But I started at 84kilos and now I'm 90 kilos :o
Ffrenchstar
12-06-2008, 08:07 PM
Thanks for the thought and prayers everyone:goodvibes: I am sure all will be OK too. Princess, yeah we are Christian so prayer is our biggest comfort....thanks for that:goodvibes: I hope the sitution works out with yor DHs family.....oh, and congrats on the toenails!
Farmummy, we should definatey catch up for coffee....although I am bad, I have been having a cup a day of the real stuff....didnt do that with the other 3. I should really stop :nono:
Thanks Twiglet for the well wishes, I too think it will all be ok, I just have my moments.
Bazzasmum they said around 30 weeks I should have another scan so still another 10 weeks:)
Electric Mumi
12-06-2008, 09:14 PM
FRENCHIE: Of course it is a concern to you...any news that doesnt sound 100% perfect where our bubs are involved is a huge worry..partucularly as its all so unknown. But I totally believe in the power of positive thinking and talking to the universe in a matter of fact mannor. IE: "our bub WILL be born 100% fit and healthy. " Rather than asking for it to happen for you. Say it is happening..etc
It works for me all the time. I got this house 2 weeks b4 my lease ended and it was so totally random! Now i have a min of 4 yr lease!:thumbsup:
Littleyorkshirepudding
13-06-2008, 08:30 AM
Ffrenchstar - I too am a devil and have the real thing with coffee I just love my flat white with 1 sugar nearly every day, I drank one a day through my pregnancy with DD.
Thinking of you and bub I'm sure everything will be ok - my thoughts are with y ou :hugs:
Kirra - wel done Hubby that's great news you must be so so pleased and very exciting for you all.
Farmmummy - You're very talented - it just amazes me how you find time to do it all, they are very good. I would be very proud of them too. And it sounds like good news re the PO fingers crossed for you and your family.
Kas - the question is how much weight has Craig put on? has he "popped out" in sympathy with you :laughing:
Bazzasmum - wow you have a very talented cat there - mine is a sook I have to do everything for her - but she does know how to jump the stair gate to get away from DD
Princess T - it must be exciting going through all your baby clothes, I keep looking at them and thinking oh my was DD really this small but I must go through them properly in the next few weeks as before we know it we'll have those bundles of love and joy safely in our arms
Me - after yesterday thread about putting on weight I'm on a health kick to the end of this pregnancy as I don't want to be huge as it's only more weight to lose after I've had bub - I put on 15kg's with DD starting weight with her was 60kg but I never got back to that when I fell pregnant again so I've still got that to lose too- oh well in it's own time.
Will write more later a little lady wants to go to playgroup - she's put her own reins on and is now crying at the door - hint hint mummy
Till later
LYP x :wave:
BazzasMum
13-06-2008, 09:14 AM
OMG I just realised I forgot to take DS to his swimming lessons on Wed. I can't even get him in today instead as he has a rotten cold now. And the worst bit? I can't even remember what I was doing instead!!! :confused: How bad is that?????
ladies, don't feel guilty about having a coffee everyday. At least you're not having 5 espressos..... then I'd kick your a$$es!!!
Why is it, when you don't sleep well, you wake up feeling all puffy? Wee man kept me awake half the night, freaking that he couldn't breathe properly. Of course he got to sleep ok, but I was awake for over an hour, then about 10-15mins every 2hours.
Well done Teena reaching your toes!! lol
Woke up this morning and my tummy feels so heavy! Anyway, off to forcefeed DS his breakfast. Only been sitting there for ages....
kirsty :goodvibes:
Twiglet
13-06-2008, 09:55 AM
twiglet - an early night has been prescribed for you. Drs orders!!! I feel a billion percent on yesterday....
Thanks for the orders DR Kristy.
Alas I couldn't follow them. It's DH last day at his old work. Was up making them sparkles cheesecake. The girls in the office there are nice so had to send something in.
So still tired. Would like to sleep in tomorrow but the dogs need walking and wash. Housework... blah blah blah. It was so much easier when I wasn't working. Then we're babysitting my 2 fav nephews on Saturday night so I doubt they will let us sleep in on Sunday.
CraigS
13-06-2008, 10:20 AM
Kas - the question is how much weight has Craig put on? has he "popped out" in sympathy with you :laughing:
No worries there. I've been sick the last week with a stomach bug, so the weight has been dropping off me.
Twiglet
13-06-2008, 10:35 AM
No worries there. I've been sick the last week with a stomach bug, so the weight has been dropping off me.
Its nice to know you guys are feeling the effects as well. DH had morning sickness for 3 weeks :laughing::laughing::laughing:, he's popped (more to do with beer i think) and if I'm not mistaken has AAA size manboobs. :laughing::laughing::laughing: The things he does for me. So sweet.
PinkLily
13-06-2008, 10:43 AM
Nikki - Great artwork! Such a beautiful thing to be able to make things for your children. I want to endeavor to make a few things when I stop work.
Teena - I know what you mean about ALL the baby clothes! Only this bub being a girl we won't be able to use most of the clothes from DS :rolleyes: I've started going through DS's baby clothes as a have quite a few unisex outfits, and I'm happy to put new girl bub in boy pjs & play clothes when we're at home if I need to... Seems such a shame to waste them, just incase this our last bubba, especially since DS grew soo fast and some clothes haven't even been worn!
Electricmum - That is fantastic about a 4 yr lease!
LYP - I put on 15kg total with my last pregnancy too.
Last time I was doing yoga, aqua aerobics, walking and was so sure that I would do the same this time, but I'm just soo tired! All I want to do when I get home from work is go to bed, and the weekends have been so busy. But my back has been alot sorer this time, so am going to have to try and fit something in...
I've been getting bad pains in my lower stomach, sometimes quite sharp. Bub is always lying across the bottom, usually on one side, and I think it's been pulling my muscles. My tummy above my belly button is always very soft, but comes out VERY low and hard at the bottom :( Sleeping is uncomfortable with low back & stomach pain, and getting insomnia after I wake during the night to go to the toilet. Doesn't help that this bub is sooo active either - although I do love feeling my baby inside me :bee: Bit of a double edged sword...
FirstTimeMummy
13-06-2008, 11:20 AM
Afternoon Everyone,
I am procrastinating going to the gym at lunchtime.. i really can't be bothered today.. but i know it's good for me, and bub... blah.. must drag myself there... must go...
Hey, i got my hair cut and coloured last night FINALLY! Gee my hair is growing fast, is anyone else experiencing this??
Ffrenchstar - our prayers are also with you and bub. I'm sure you will be blessed with a gorgeous happy healthy little one.
OK... i'm dragging myself....... be back later!
Electric Mumi
13-06-2008, 11:55 AM
FTM: I dont know how u have the energy. Im stuffed all the time and cant be bothered with the whole excercise thing altho I really should be! My hair is super long now too. Love how it grows this fast!:yelclap: Dyes arent lasting tho?
I'm tired all the time now. And so unmotivated. Which is why I'm in here now instead of working :)
mum2ethan
13-06-2008, 01:46 PM
Hello everyone hope you are all well!
As promised here is some of the stuff I've done over the last few days. The laundry bags are almost done, I've just got to go down to the shed and grab the wire to make the frame to hang them off the bedroom doors.
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj273/farmmummy/IMG_0935.jpg
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj273/farmmummy/IMG_0937.jpg
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj273/farmmummy/IMG_0938.jpg
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj273/farmmummy/IMG_0941.jpg
http://i274.photobucket.com/albums/jj273/farmmummy/IMG_0943.jpg
WOW they are amazing!!! I would be so proud!!! Im into the whole crafty thing at the moment, im almost halfway thru my long stitch i want to get a little winnie the pooh one to do for bub.
Hey everyone...havent been around lately as we are staying in Brissie a few days. Wll be back next week.
Hope everyone is well.
How much weight has everyone put on?? I weighed myself at my mums house and I have put on 5 - 6kgs already!:crying: I was 54 - 55kgs before and now closer to 60kg at 20 weeks. How is everyone else going?
:hugs: your baby will always be in my prays! Im sure you will be having a beautiful, happy healthy bub.
Ffrenchstar - I've put on 5-6 kilos too. But I started at 84kilos and now I'm 90 kilos
I started out at 85kg and about a month ago i hoped on the scales and ive put on 6kg im too scared to hop on now :o i was 92kg when i first fell pg with DS and i put on 15kg but lost it all within 3 weeks of having him so i hope its like that this time!!
I am procrastinating going to the gym at lunchtime.. i really can't be bothered today.. but i know it's good for me, and bub... blah.. must drag myself there... must go...
OMG i cant even imagine going to the gym at the moment! im exhausted just thinking about it!!
Well not much to report here my bump has EXPLODED and its just popping out! Im starting to feel uncomfortable and really feeling pregnant!!! I didnt feel like this with DS untill the last month!!!
Anyway just a quick one from me better get back to work.
Take care talk soon
Mel xoxox
FirstTimeMummy
13-06-2008, 03:17 PM
My gym session was probably a waste of time today because i was so lethargic.. all i wanted to do was go and have a snooze somewhere! TGIF!!!
Bub is kicking away as i type. Perhaps telling me to say hello to everyone. :wave:
Kirra - I am going to Cabrini. I haven't heard anything negative about Frankston Hospital.. in fact, my Grandpa was there last year and there were very good to him! Not sure about the Maternity Ward though, i haven't heard any reports.
We are off to the USA on the 27th for 3 weeks which is really exciting! I am a bit concerned about the long flights and the effect on bub but my OB assures me it's fine - has anyone travelled while pregnant before? Any tips?
Bring on the weekend!!!:yelclap:
Electric Mumi
13-06-2008, 03:26 PM
Haha so funny FTM...you went to the gym today and I went to mine too...to cancel my mebership :laughing:
WOW usa. lucky devil, work or play???????? Sure u will be fine if ob says its kool. :yelclap:
FirstTimeMummy
13-06-2008, 03:36 PM
Play!! My Husband is American so we go back every year for 3-4 weeks to visit them.
We are going to take my Step Daughter (who is 6) to Disneyworld Florida... she is going to have a blast!!
I have a 4D scan (27 weeks) booked in for the afternoon that we get back from the USA which will be really good and very reassuring for me just to see that bub is ok after the trip. I have heard mixed reports on the 4D, but i am keen to give it a go... i just can't help myself.. any opportunity that i have to see our little one i'll take it! =)
loulousmum
13-06-2008, 03:36 PM
Sorry I haven't been around for a bit. We are off to Rocky for a few days and I've been busy running errands (it's my day off) and making sure Lou's birthday invites made it in today's post!
I also had an OB appointment today. Everything is fine although he did warn me that feeling fantastic probably won't last - I think he's concerned I'll push it too hard while I feel good and then collapse in a few weeks!! We had a long chat about c-section/v-birth and everything is still up for grabs there. My greatest fear is delivering number one naturally and then needing a c-section for number two....:eek:
Got my Bounty bag though - quite a bit of useful stuff in there - I should have been cheeky and asked for two! Also - because we've reached the medicare safety net we got $900 back out of our $1100 pregnancy management fee!! :smiliedance: So I went and put the cheque straight in the bank and proceeded to visit Cotton On Kids, Myer and Toyworld. Got Lou a fisher price digital camera for her birthday for $110 instead of $150...
Electric - My hair dyes don't seem to be sticking either. Also, I normally use Ego Sebitar shampoo but it is off limits during pregnancy, so I'm using a different one that I'm sure isn't good for coloured hair.
FirstTimeMum - I've been getting lots of movements too, and stronger - I can feel them when I'm walking now, not just when resting. As for travel - I did a lot of air travel from week 26-35 of pregnancy number one. The most important thing is to do your DVT exercises, move around where possible and in airport lounges on transfer, lay down and put your feet up on a chair. It's not to stop DVT but to stop your feet and legs from swelling up!!!
loulousmum
13-06-2008, 03:37 PM
Yay! :smiliedance: Just noticed am 22 weeks on my ticker!!!:D
farmmummy
13-06-2008, 05:26 PM
Hi Girls and Guy hope you are all keeping well. It took me till 3:30pm today to go and do the shopping. Since I sat up the other night and did the BAS for Matt I feel very flat and not motivated in the slightest. All I want to do is go to sleep but that's not going to happen until Matt gets home and Sarah goes to bed. Not mush on this weekend more work on the house not sure if MIL will be over due to SIL home sick with broncitis or some thing (sorry for teh bad spelling to tiered to think). If MIL doesn't come over I don't think I'll be able to paint much if at all. Can't wait till next Wednesday next OB appointment at the hospital so looking forward to it just bummed that I can't get more time to catch up with Tina. I'm hoping that I can con Matt into letting me go to the expo next weekend.
Okay dinner is cooking so I'm going to go and check on it and change into my pj's again. Hope you all have a lovley weekend and will chat again on Monday.
Nikki xx.
CraigS
14-06-2008, 12:13 AM
I was just in bed cuddling Kas when I felt something weird. I waited a bit and it happened again.
I woke Kas up and said, "I think I just felt the baby move".
We waited a little bit longer and I said "There!". She said, "Oh my god, you can feel that?".
Turns out that to Kas they feel like little bubbles and she has been feeling them for the last few days.
We waited a bit longer and were rewarded with several more little kicks. Under our hands they were quite strong.
So we said "Yay!" and Kas went back to sleep and I came in to play on the internet because I'm wide awake now.
Craig.
Electric Mumi
14-06-2008, 04:12 AM
Aww how awsome Craig and Kas!! Thats awsome!!:yelclap:
*Chels*
14-06-2008, 07:59 AM
Morning!
Yay Craig and Kas-its so cool when you start to feel bubs move on the outside.
DH finally felt bubs on Wednesday night and Cletus has been going nuts since then!!!
Not much to report from me,just heaps of movement.I have a middie appointment next Friday,I cant believe its already been a month since i was last there!!!
DH worked till 5am and is now working with his bro so me and Riley are off for a coffee and then to playground.
Have a great weekend!!!:flowerz:
BazzasMum
14-06-2008, 09:54 AM
OMG you lot are early risers!!! The only time you'll catch me up that early is if I'm throwing the cat out for climbing on the blinds!!! Mind you I was awake from 2-3am giving DS nurofen and vallergan so he could breathe and we could sleep. That's what i hate about waking in the night - it takes sooooo long to get back to sleep again. sux!
That's so cool you got to feel bub Craig. freaks my DH out - says it's like an alien in there lol!
I have no news. made banana pancakes for DSs breakfast. Gobbled it right up. So glad. he hardly ate anything yesterday.
Sam - what did you get in your bounty bag? I got 4 useful things and a heap of junk mail. And talk abut downsizing? Last time the pine-o-cleen was a full-sized bottle!!
Nikki - I think bub is finally catching up with you. Don't get sick! A couple of early nights should make you feel better, but be careful not to overdo it again.
Hope we all enjoy our weekends... will check in later.
What is this 'bounty bag' I keep hearing about?? Is it something your hospitals give out?
BazzasMum
14-06-2008, 02:43 PM
its a series of 3 bags - due for bub, bub just born which has a voucher for the 3rd one - a blatant Target advertising brochure!! If your hospy doesn't give them out you can go to the Bounty Bag website and look for a chemist in your area which stocks them. I had to go to the chemist, and ended up getting the due and new bub ones - who needs to go to the chemist as soon as they leave hospital? Silly. The new bub ones have huggies nappy samples in them. I used mine last time to take bub home with (totally spaced on the nappy issue - and they used cloth in hosp). Rather handy. I don't know if they vary what's in them a lot, but I know the one I got was pretty sad compared to last time. There's a lot of paperwork and a couple of mags and a few samples of baby products. Worth the trip if you're going that way, but I wouldn't pay postage on them!!
HTH!
QueensMum
14-06-2008, 04:52 PM
Also - because we've reached the medicare safety net we got $900 back out of our $1100 pregnancy management fee!!
Hey there Loulousmum,
Just a quick question, 'cause I can't remember from last time... Did you have to pay the FULL $1100 and them claim back the $900 or do you just have to pay the difference?
TIA!
Inlaws bought us a cot today :) My other inlaws (Craig has two sets of parents) have got us a pram. And my folks are buying us the carseat. Between all the grandparents we haven't had to buy anything yet! To top it off, my SIL gave us a stroller and baby bouncer (sorry, not sure of the correct terminology), and my friend has lent us a whole heap of baby clothes, bibs etc. I feel very blessed. Especially since we had a miscarriage last year and I haven't been able to bring myself to buy anything for baby - probably sounds strange, but I keep feeling like I will jinx it or something. I'm just glad I've made it this far - 25 weeks on Monday :smiliedance:
BazzasMum
15-06-2008, 08:21 AM
Kas - aren't parents wonderful?? My PIL bought the cot mattress and car seat last time, parents bought the prm and a heap of linen. We bought the cot 2nd hand and had everything sitting around for months. Sorry to hear about your miscarriage last year. I always worried about getting to 12 weeks, then getting to 24 weeks. You've made it to 25 and every day bub stays in there, they get stronger, but even born tomorrow, they have an excellent chance of survival. What I'm trying to say is, you're past the danger points, so don't stress!! There's plenty of time for that after they're born!!! ;)
DH has a toothache, and is pondering the merits of the dentist as opposed to the old days of just ripping out the tooth. :doh: Have to book him in tomorrow...
DS now has a rotten cough. He's got a cup of tea with honey, but when the chemist opens I'll trot up there see what I can get for him. Poor wee man - his throat must be soooo sore!
Tummy's popping out now Big Time! We went for a walk yesterday, now I'm a bit sore underneath the bump. Oh and I scored some old wood frames, I'm going to turn into a little veggie patch! So excited!! This is the longest I've been without one, might as well do it now while I've got SOME energy! Yum! Fresh tomatoes in the spring!!! Ain't nuthin like em!!!
PrincessT
15-06-2008, 11:01 AM
Some parents are wonderful - My inlaws, even though they are generous with things didnt offer to buy us anything when I was pregnant with Allegra and it really hurt. She was their first grandchild too. When I had her, my mother in law came to the hospital with a bar of chocolate that said 'congratulations' on it. I was shocked and my poor DH was reall upset too. They gave her some money for her Christening but its not the same and its not like they cant afford it because they certainally can :( The managed to get a second hand cot, a car seat and buy a pram for themselves to keep atheir own house.. its just so odd. They so always give Allegra clothes etc but it would hve been nice to have something for her that we could say was from them.
I'm wondering if this pregancy will be the same and what this baby wil recieve - you can bet that because we are hving another girl their attitude will be 'oh well, she has everything from the first baby' and its just unkind.
Now I sound like a whinging spoilt cow dont it?
84zsazsa
15-06-2008, 11:29 AM
Some parents are wonderful - My inlaws, even though they are generous with things didnt offer to buy us anything when I was pregnant with Allegra and it really hurt. She was their first grandchild too. When I had her, my mother in law came to the hospital with a bar of chocolate that said 'congratulations' on it. I was shocked and my poor DH was reall upset too. They gave her some money for her Christening but its not the same and its not like they cant afford it because they certainally can :( The managed to get a second hand cot, a car seat and buy a pram for themselves to keep atheir own house.. its just so odd. They so always give Allegra clothes etc but it would hve been nice to have something for her that we could say was from them.
I'm wondering if this pregancy will be the same and what this baby wil recieve - you can bet that because we are hving another girl their attitude will be 'oh well, she has everything from the first baby' and its just unkind.
Now I sound like a whinging spoilt cow dont it?
:wave: Hi princessT,
You dont sound like a spoilt cow........Neither my family or my hubby's have bought us anything!! Oh sorry...i lie.....MIL has sent me 2 jumpsuits from pumpkin patch but that is it. We have bought everything else. Its kind of sad being that bubba is our first. All my friends said "being your first family will buy you everything", haha. Oh well.
Danni
84zsazsa
15-06-2008, 12:00 PM
Good afternoon all,
Well i have wasted away my Sunday!!! In a good way but. :D
Hubby is pulling another 12hr shift at the Refinary. Thats for the 7th day straight the crazy man and i am yet to surface from our bedroom. I have the 3 cats, a fruit platter, laptop and austar all in here with me!! :o
Bubba has been doing laps all morning. On the left then the right, then the middle, everywhere!! Makes me worry about the cord wrapping around him. Silly i know but makes me wonder with all that movement in there.
Anyways....thought i would just check in for once :laughing:
:wave: to everyone and hope you all have enjoyed your weekend.
((((belly rubs))))
Danni
mum2peanut
15-06-2008, 12:51 PM
Hello everyone :wave:
We were lucky with DD as the only thing we had to buy was the carseat. so we didn't have to spend much at all. This time I just have to get a double pram, so we'll be able to out most of the baby bonus towards the mortgage. We'll still have to buy more clothes and things, but nothing big.
All is well at my end. The ligaments under my belly are hurting a little, which is surprising as I'm not that big yet. Checked back to my 05 diary to compare weight gain, and I'm behind the weight I was at this time last pregnancy. Yay! It's terrible that I worry so much about weight gain, but I can't help it. Saying that I still continue to eat like a pig, but I jump on the scales every morning to monitor my weight. (says the girl who had hot chips for lunch, choc cashews, and chips and dip last night:o)
Need to get myself some dressier mat clothes, everything you find is either too casual or too dressy, there's no in between. Think I'll need to search harder.
Anyway- hope you're all enjoying this cold lazy Sunday.
84zsazsa
15-06-2008, 01:03 PM
:wave: Hi Mum2peanut - Ebay!!! I have found it great for nice maternity ware as i was having the same problem with things either too dressy or too casual. Great prices on there too.
Danni
84zsazsa
16-06-2008, 06:20 AM
Good morning ladies & Craig,
Have i scared you all away?? :(
I'm feeling abit left out at the moment. After a nice day in bed yesterday hubby and I had a group of our friends over for a Sunday roast. Well........the boys happily caught up and the girls just attacked me.
Okay some background needed. Friend #1 - has recently separated from partner is in 30's and is partying again......Friend #2 - married early 20's, has 3 kids, parties quite abit & has quite a lax style of parenting (takes kids too parties raging type ones)........
Well talk as per usual got onto pregnancy and it started. I got told i have turned into a nanna cause i dont party anymore (i thought i was just trying to be healthy for bub - not drinking, smoking, early too bed), im no fun anymore, I will be a over the top parent (because i dont believe in kids having late nites, seeing drinking and partying hard), i have to many rules (I will be a strict parent, thats the way i was raised), i wont cope and my partners a lap dog (we are also best mates and spend alot of time together & he helps me out alot, their partners didnt or dont). I couldnt believe it!! I didnt know whether to rip their f**king heads off or cry.
My friends have never treated me this way. So since last night i have been terribly upset and my confidence is shot too pieces. :(
Sorry to off load on you guys just really hurt about it all and the only other friends i have are you guys. Sad hey.
Well i truely hope you guys all had a good weekend and have some better news today.
((((belly rubs))))
Danni :gloomy:
Ffrenchstar
16-06-2008, 06:47 AM
84 - you are going to be a GREAT mum!! It sounds like your friends are just trying to make themeselves feel better for the choices they have made by putting you down.:hugs: All you have to worry about it your little family....dont worry, once you have bubs, you will meet other likeminded parents:hugs:
84zsazsa
16-06-2008, 07:00 AM
84 - you are going to be a GREAT mum!! It sounds like your friends are just trying to make themeselves feel better for the choices they have made by putting you down.:hugs: All you have to worry about it your little family....dont worry, once you have bubs, you will meet other likeminded parents:hugs:
Thanx Ffrenchstar,
I just feel so god darn hurt. I have never jugded them for their choices and always see the good in them. You sound like my hubby. Not having a big family....my friends are mine and it just knocked me for 6!! Thanx for the kind words, I will pick my lip up now.
Danni
Ffrenchstar
16-06-2008, 07:07 AM
I understand about your friends being your family....I am not all that close to my family - I have a much closer reltaionship with my close friends.....I hope it all gets sorted out:hugs::hugs:
Oh, and Peanut, I agree, try ebay for maternity, I just got the best maternity jeans...the first ever piece of maternity clothing I have ever bought lol!
happyhips
16-06-2008, 07:39 AM
Hi Danni,
Don't stress about your friends. I think that they are just scared that maybe they'll lose you when you have your baby. Whether or not you even want it to, life changes massively when you become a parent. I also think that your relationship with your husband sounds beautiful and the support you get from him when you have your baby will be priceless. Maybe you should think about letting your friends know that their comments really upset you and that if anything you need them more than anything right now - that might put to rest any insecurities they are obviously having. Hope you feel a little happier :)
84zsazsa
16-06-2008, 07:49 AM
Hi Danni,
Don't stress about your friends. I think that they are just scared that maybe they'll lose you when you have your baby. Whether or not you even want it to, life changes massively when you become a parent. I also think that your relationship with your husband sounds beautiful and the support you get from him when you have your baby will be priceless. Maybe you should think about letting your friends know that their comments really upset you and that if anything you need them more than anything right now - that might put to rest any insecurities they are obviously having. Hope you feel a little happier :)
Hi happyhips,
Thanx. I do think you have hit the nail on the head with the "scared of losing me" because the older friend of the 2 (who has no kids) said to me the other day "you were my party partner and now your gone".
Your right too about my partner & I having a priceless relationship. Im never scared of anything when he is around and he will be the greatest person i could ever take the parenthood journey with.
I will have a talk to the girls......I will just let the dust settle first. Some time may make them think and will mean i can talk to them with less anger inside. I dont want to erupt at them.
How have you been going?? saw your thread about your worry for bubba the other day and you were on my mind. I got 4wks til my follow up scan. :fingerscrossed: His cysts are gone and he is growing well.
Danni
farmmummy
16-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Danni - Good idea to calm down before talking with your friends about how hurtful they are. As for you partner being a lapdog ignore it the most important thing is going to be your little family. My hubby is my best friend and he helps all the time and I don't think he's a lapdog at all. Worst case you have us here at DIO.
Tina - Plans have changed will be in Brissy all week from tomorrow when would you like to catch up if you can on short notice?
I didn't do a great deal on Saturday just walked around following Matt until MIL turned up then I helpped set up the box for the concret pad at the back steps but because we ran out of cement we only got the front step done. I ended up being the one to smooth it out etc. Then yesterday while Matt was cleaning my car and his and keeping an eye on Sarah I began putting colour paint on the back wall of the house. it's 3/4 of the way under it's first coat and won't take long to do the second. Then all I have to do is the trim and we can then get on with the front of the house. Yay. Very tiered last night but I cut Matt's hair while cooking dinner and bathing Sarah. Just some house work to do today and get ready for Brissy. Speaking of which plans have changed and I'm going to the expo, so excited. yay. Okay hope you had a reasonably good weekend.
Nikki x
Twiglet
16-06-2008, 10:40 AM
What is this 'bounty bag' I keep hearing about?? Is it something your hospitals give out?
Phew I'm glad someone else asked that.
Yay! :smiliedance: Just noticed am 22 weeks on my ticker!!!:D
:smiliedance:Me too
Well talk as per usual got onto pregnancy and it started. I got told i have turned into a nanna cause i dont party anymore (i thought i was just trying to be healthy for bub - not drinking, smoking, early too bed), im no fun anymore, I will be a over the top parent (because i dont believe in kids having late nites, seeing drinking and partying hard), i have to many rules (I will be a strict parent, thats the way i was raised), i wont cope and my partners a lap dog (we are also best mates and spend alot of time together & he helps me out alot, their partners didnt or dont). I couldnt believe it!! I didnt know whether to rip their f**king heads off or cry.
Remember that conversation when you friends kids are kicking up becuase they have no structure to thier lives. Sounds to me like you will be the better parent. Not saying that when you have a child you have to hide away but you do need to take them and thier needs into consideration.
Just had the best sunday. It was pouring with rain here in Perth. DH went and got the paper and we slobbed around the house until about 12:30 in our PJ's drinking tea and eating muffins. Bliss. Then he said "go have a shower I'm taking you to lunch"????? Who was this man and what have you done with my Husband :laughing::laughing::laughing: Had a great lunch then meet up with friends.
MIL gave us some stuff this weekend as well. An activity centre and blankets. Very nice of her
PrincessT
16-06-2008, 11:28 AM
Danni babe - dont worry about friends like that (can I call them friends? they dont sound very supportive of you and DH) I used to know people like that and they are the ones who suffer in the long term because their children become unstructured and are often unruly and the woman who is without children but in her 30's will one day turn around and see that the people around her at the party are young enough to be her children!!
You sound like you know how you would like your family life to be and I think thats a fantastic basis for parenthood. I too am pretty strict with Allegra. I dont like being out late, I like her home in bed for her usual routine and its such a blessing. She is a very calm child and is able to be left on her own where she will read or play in her playroom etc. She goes to bed without complaint and its all due to being consitant.
I know a lot of people who let their children run around to 11pm and essentially rule their lives and they cannot understand why the next day their children do not function well, dont want to get up for kindy and school and create havoc in the home!
Stick to your guns!! and the comment about your DH is pain jealousy. My DH is fabulous and is able to do anything for our child as I am and I think that is the basis of a great father. He is solid, loving and helpful and it sound like your DH is the same.
OK - ive had my break, now back to cleaning the storage room!!!!
Littleyorkshirepudding
16-06-2008, 11:51 AM
Danni - Sorry to hear you're friends were horrible to you it's not nice is it, but don't let their comments ever stop you from being the mum you want to be. I totally agree with what the others have said to you it's very good advice - don't let it get you down honey you're going to be a fabulous mum.
I'd forgotten all about the bounty bag can't wait to get that.
EM - have you moved? do I recall it was this weekend just gone you were moving? if so I hope it all went well and you didn't do too much and that you're now enjoying making it into a home.
I've just been to see the Ob at the hospital - my appointment was at 9.20am didn't get seen till after 10.30am (remembered why I went private last time :laughing:) and of course I forgot to pack some toys/books for Ruby to play with, but luckily a very nice lady with a DD a little bit older than mine was well prepared and not only shared her crayons and paper with Ruby but her morning snack too how sweet.
Any way all is well, heard baby's heartbeat, my blood pressure was good and they listened to my heart and lungs and I got a breast examination too - never had someone do this for me before but all was good.
The only thing not so good was they found another fibroid but aren't too concerned about that, but they are concerned about the larger one sat right on my cervix which could prevent my cervix from dilating fully, as I mentioned I was determined to achieve a VBAC we have agreed for me to have a scan at 36 weeks to check the fibroid has moved out of the way like it did last time here's hoping.
Craig - I 'm so pleased you got to feel your baby kicking how magically is it, but just wait till you see an actually foot or heel poking out of the belly now that is surreal if not a little alien.
We had a very spooky thing happen to us last night in bed I was telling my Hubby (Craig) that there is no point with him coming up with any girls names at all, because she's going to be called Maisie, end of story, Maisie it is and he'd better start getting use to the name (obviously I didn't sound that bad when I told him and I certainly wouldn't call her that if he really hated it, I was joking but not joking with him, if you get my drift) anyway he said no way she's going to be called Daisy, Lilly etc so I said, I tell you what, lets let the baby pick her own name, so you shout out the names we like and when she kicks that'll be the name she likes and we'll call her (ok my plan here was to tell him she kicked at Maisie) but a very strange thing happened he said the names out loud, and she kicked between the name Daisy and our other favourite name (the only one we both agree on but we're not divulging the name yet) so I said oh how spooky she just kicked right when you paused between those 2 names so he said Daisy again no response then he said the name we both like again and she kicked, I was like ok this is weird but funny, so Craig said it again with the middle name we like to go with her name and not only did I get kicked I got punched at the same time too, now Craig got extremely excited and decided it was meant to be and that'll be her name as she had picked it, then he said it again with his hand on my belly and she kicked again, and he felt the kick which was beautiful as he hasn't felt her move yet and I was so happy too as it looks like our little girl has a name, yes I'm sad it's not Maisie (but I'm still holding out hope for this name) but am pleased with name, told Craig no 3 is definitely going to be Maisie :laughing:
Ok I've waffled on enough about me so I hope you are all having a lovely stress free day and am looking forward to hearing your news soon.
Off to do some cleaning now - it never ends does it
Till later
Lunar
16-06-2008, 12:18 PM
:wave: ladies, remember me?
Sorry I don't get online much anymore. Just so busy trying to organise everything. We are renovating DD1's room so she can share it with DD2. Our back fence fell down in a storm. I've been sick and feeling lousy. Had regular contraction on the w/end! VERY scary! It's just one thing after another in the house!!
I had an appointment with my OB this morning. She says my fundal height is 26 weeks.... I'm 23 weeks tomorrow! She says bub is a 'healthy' size... in other words, another hippo on the way!:rolleyes:
She said she will keep an eye on the size to make sure bub doesn't get as big as the last one... she will most likely induce me early:smiliedance:
I am to see her again in 4 weeks then I'm on fortnightly visits! OMG!!! I can't believe fortnightly visits already!!! Have to have the formal diabetes test as my Mum has diabetes. She wants to make sure that I don't have it and that bub is just growing big on her own like last time.
I have not had time to catch up on how everyone is. But I will try and make more of an effort to pop in every couple of days to check up on everyone.
Is anyone else measuring big???
Hope every one is well.
K xx
CraigS
16-06-2008, 01:29 PM
Wow. I can't believe how fast the baby has started moving.
We went 24 weeks without a murmer. Felt first movements on Friday night.
By Sunday it was kicking hard enough to make Kas jump. You can even see the area on her belly move when it kicks.
Craig.
loulousmum
16-06-2008, 01:48 PM
Hi Everyone! I've just returned from a lovely weekend with lots of family in Rockhampton. Everyone is very excited about the twins and Lou and Archie had a lovely time getting to know lots of my cousins' kids (who are all around the same age).
They were a dream on the plane (only 55 minutes - but it was heaps better than I'd imagined!).
Bazza's Mum - My bag had a number of samples in it and two magazines, it just happens that all of the samples are things I've been using lately! There's a new one around called the Hello Baby bag or something to that effect. I'm going to find out where to get one and will let everyone know.
QueensMum - I had to pay the full amount and claim it back. This is the first time we've reached the safefty net before making this payment - so I was a bit shocked to get so much of it back. It will make total out of pocket for a private hospital/OB experience only about $500 all up if you count the gap between the OB fee per visit and the medicare payment!
PrincessT - I know what you mean about the in-laws. Mine offer to get barely anything and yet they are in a position to buy whatever they want. My mum and dad have always bought lots of stuff for us and they aren't well off in any way. Funny thing is, I just think that mine don't think about it. My mum suggested last time around that we choose something and ask them if they would like to put some money towards it. They of course said yes and offered to pay the full amount. It saved us being bitter about them not offering and meant that we dropped a pretty big but harmless hint!!
Mum2Peanut - I bought a 'miracle top' from Egg Maternity (I bought online but they also sell on the net). It can be worn in a number of ways and looks just as good with jeans as with black pants/skirt etc. Everyone comments on it when I wear it. We've just found out we are going to the Brisbane Lions Gala Charity Ball in August. I will be 32 weeks with the twins and I've already resigned myself to running up some sort of sack to wear (if only I had Angelina's stylist and budget...)
ZsaZsa - I firmly believe that your friends reactions are more a reflection on themselves than on you. But I copped it a bit in Rocky on the weekend, when all the kids were running wild late into the night, little Archie got put in his sleeping bag, given his bottle and dummy and put in a cot at this normal bed time! People commented that he is still such a 'baby' - well, he isn't even two yet - so shoot me!!!
Princess T - I am sooo with you on routine! Archie is one happy little baby and he has been in a routine since about 6 weeks. It gives us the freedom to plan our days and evenings and is the only reason I feel like I'll be able to cope with 4 kids 4 and under!! I read a 'natural parenting' column the other day that said routines are more about 'happy mothers' than 'happy babies' and it made my blood boil. I mean show me a happy mum and I'll show you a happy baby...we all choose our parenting style from a place of love, and it would be nice to be supported no matter what we choose!!
Lunar - will you please take it easy? As for measuring big - well as you can imagine, with the twins, I am measuring 27 weeks at 22 weeks. He's told me that by 32 weeks I will be size of full term and to be prepared to do limited activty from that point. Sounds like you might be the same?
Now - as for me...had my OB appointment on Friday (as I think I've already reported) and the whole birth planning issue has occupied my mind ever since. Dr is happy for me to leave it all open and see what happens, but I'm a bit of a control freak and I think if there's any doubt about VB or C-Sect come 32 weeks I'd rather book a c-section and start preparing a detailed birth plan based on this. On the weekend I spent time with an aunt who is a midwife and a cousin who is my age and is also a midwife. Both of them are natural birth advocates (where it is possible) BUT both of them indicated to me that if they were having twins they would be planning for a c-section. My cousin tells me that she routinely sees women with twins trying for a natural birth and either labouring for hours and ending up with a c-section or having one naturally only for the cervix to close and the second one to be c-section (my greatest fear). So, I never thought I'd say it, but I think I will be planning for a c-section. Just to be able to put the 'unknown' out of the picture and get on with visualising the birth and early days....
Any thoughts or advice - I promise I won't feel any of you are judging me....:)
Twiglet
16-06-2008, 02:33 PM
Now - as for me...had my OB appointment on Friday (as I think I've already reported) and the whole birth planning issue has occupied my mind ever since. Dr is happy for me to leave it all open and see what happens, but I'm a bit of a control freak and I think if there's any doubt about VB or C-Sect come 32 weeks I'd rather book a c-section and start preparing a detailed birth plan based on this. On the weekend I spent time with an aunt who is a midwife and a cousin who is my age and is also a midwife. Both of them are natural birth advocates (where it is possible) BUT both of them indicated to me that if they were having twins they would be planning for a c-section. My cousin tells me that she routinely sees women with twins trying for a natural birth and either labouring for hours and ending up with a c-section or having one naturally only for the cervix to close and the second one to be c-section (my greatest fear). So, I never thought I'd say it, but I think I will be planning for a c-section. Just to be able to put the 'unknown' out of the picture and get on with visualising the birth and early days....
Any thoughts or advice - I promise I won't feel any of you are judging me....:)
No judging from my end. You have to do what you feel is right for you.
LYP - What a great way to pick the name. I love it.
84zsazsa
16-06-2008, 02:40 PM
:wave: Just quickly........
Thanks for the replies ladies. Im feeling alot better this arvo thanx to you bunch.
LYP - Have to agree with Twiglet, what a great way to pick names.
Also 24wks today!! Bubby has been moving like a mad man. :party: Having a party for 24wks me thinks.
Danni
BazzasMum
16-06-2008, 02:53 PM
Eek after a quiet weekend on here, there's a mountain of new posts to answer!!
Danni - :hugs: your friends are obviously jealous. Don't stress. The one with the kids will wonder why they're feral teenagers. We've got frinds like that. Drinking, smoking, having sex at 13 and they can't figure out what went wrong. Umm, maybe you have to be a parent, and not try to be a friend?? They've got plenty of friends, but only 1 set of parents. You do what you feel is right, and don't worry about them. They'll come around eventually. If they don't, they're not real friends.
Sam - let me know if you get the Happy Babe bag. I can't get them here, but it's $15 postage. I'll get it if it's worth it!!! And hun, do what you feel is best for your babies. Maybe see how long you can leave the section tho - Obs seem to want a section at 37 weeks, see if you can get it for 38 weeks, and if you go into labour beforehand, emergency section is still available. It's not like it's your first bub - how long were your other labours?
LYP - way to pick a name! How cute!! Wish I knew what sex we had - would make this so much easier..... *sigh* And hey, another scan is just another excuse to see bub! ;)
Lunar - take it easy!! Can't have you becoming a June mummy - far too early for that!!!
twiglet - I didn't get out of my jammies at all yesterday!! Spent the afternoon chatting to my sis on MSN! Was fun!!!
The boys are asleep. After DH woke up the mornign "dying" after catching DSs cold (he's not remotely sick!!) I had to ring about 8 dentists till I found one who could fit him in this morning. he got in - they took 2 xrays and couldn't find the hole he was complaining about. They sealed over the sensitive spot, and gave him some super fluoride toothpaste for him to use. Said to throw out that hippy natural cr@p - will cost more in the long run!! he smokes and drinks, but won't use fluoride toothpaste.... go figure!! Me, I might get some funky disease, but I won't need falsies!!! :D
Teena - sorry your in-laws are so scabby with the babies..... what are they waiting for? A boy?? We were just really lucky. We were struggling a bit, and our parents know what that was like. Both of them say, that they like to spend money on the kids as they weren't in a position to do it before, might as well do it now!
nikki -isn't it funny the amount of stuff you live with until you decide to sell up? take it easy and don't get too worn out.
I just know that if I go try to lie down, DS will wake up. it's really overcast and dull today. Totally a sleepy winter day. Might go read for a while......
farmmummy
16-06-2008, 03:19 PM
Kirsty - easy what is that? okay so I've been ever so lazy today. About all I've done is eat, dishes 2 loads of washing and packed my bag for my week in Brissy.
LYP - I had a smiliar thing with Sarah when we stopped overnight on our way to Bourke we were all laying on the bed watching Narnia when Sarah pipes up and asked "Where is Thomas?" Matt and I looked at each other really puzzled so I asked "I don't know sweetie where is Thomas?" she then pointed to my tummy and put her face against my tummy. So sweet so I guess she's already named bub just have to pick a middle name now.
Craig & Kas - Congratulations on feeling bub moving and grooving.:yelclap:
Luna - Get better soon and take it easy. Hold on for a bit longer. Although it's one of my big fears at the moment is having bub now
Danni - Like I said earlier we're always around :hugs:
Monique - Hope you had an easy move over the weekend.
Tina - If you want to catch up during the week send me a sms. I'll be offline until the weekend.
Sam - You need to do what you think is best for your little bundles baking away there.
Teena - I agree routine is the soul of our life with Sarah. We have friends with a 5 1/2 month old and she keeps them up till all hours of the night because she doesn't have the structure that Sarah did at her age.
*Chels*
16-06-2008, 03:50 PM
I am absolutely stuffed!We had an assessment at work today so I was there 10 hours yesterday cleaning the whole place,back again at 6am for a 9 hour day.
I am sooooo over it!DH is pressuring work for more hours so I can cut down.
Danni- Stuff your friends.They sound a little jealous and insecure to me.All they are worried about is losing a drinking buddy?How supportive-NOT!Oh Well,you have US:hugs:
LYP-That is very cool about your name!Your lil bubs obviously knows what she wants LOL
I chose bubbas name-DH hated it at first but I put my foot down and its grown on him now!:smiliedance:
Loulousmum-Good luck with whatever path you chose,whatever gets your babies in your arms safely is the right choice!:goodvibes:
Big belly rubs to us all and our fiesty lil kicking babes:flowerz:
Lunar
16-06-2008, 04:21 PM
Thanks girls. I AM trying to take it easy! It's a bit hard with 2 little ones to run around after, but I have been warned, so now I know i MUST take it easy.
I have to put in for my maternity leave this week. I'm a little scared about that actually, I don't know why.
They ask for 10 weeks notice. So... I figure that if I leave at 32-33 weeks, and baby continues to grow like she has (and the others did) I will really only have 5-6 weeks left of the pregnancy. That's enough time to get everything ready for baby and relax a little too. I just can't believe that, that will mean I will only have 10 weeks left of work!:eek: As much as I hate work atm, it's keeping me sane! It's time for me! It's time out of my home and family life. But it will go fast I'm sure.
Twiglet
16-06-2008, 05:22 PM
twiglet - I didn't get out of my jammies at all yesterday!! Spent the afternoon chatting to my sis on MSN! Was fun!!!
Kristy
I couldn't get to my computer. Sat I tipped everything from the desk and craft section onto the floor to sort out ready for the room to be decorated for the baby. Needless to say its still there. :laughing:
They ask for 10 weeks notice.
:eek: 10 Weeks notice!! That's a lot. I've told work that they will know when I do but at the moment plan for the 26th of Sept being my last day.
loulousmum
16-06-2008, 06:58 PM
Thanks for the thoughts about c-section etc. ladies! BazzasMum - you've hit the nail on the head - one of the reasons I want to know my plan ahead of time is that I had quick labours with the other two - was fully dilated by the time I got to the hospital both times. There won't be a whole lot of time to muck around and assess things when I get to the hospital if they are going to do a c-section iykwim!:eek:
I've just been sitting down to read the info pack I was sent from the Aust Multiple Births Association. Now I'm freaking out about premature birth as well!! I've passed it all to DH to read as most of the stuff about avoiding prem birth is about resting, doing very little - one bit of advice is even to have three 1 hour rests on your left hand side throughout the day!! Lucky the kids are staying in childcare 4 days a week until twins are home and under control!!!
Lunar - 10 weeks does seem like a long time but I guess it's not really a problem if you've already decided when you want to finish up. I've only got 4 weeks left at work!! I'll be counting down the days soon....I know what you mean about it keeping you sane though! I'm lucky because with kids in childcare my leave really will be a break for me - but I'm sure time will start to crawl by once I'm on leave....
Shera
16-06-2008, 07:25 PM
Hello everyone :wave:
We are so lucky to have such a lovely, supportive group of due in Oct mummies, your kind words regarding DF's friend who died were so lovely. I'm very sorry for those of you who have also lost family members and friends to suicide, it's scary how common it is.
Well, we are all now only a few weeks away from our third trimesters! I can't believe how fast it has gone. I feel like I'm already in my third trimester though, as I'm carrying bub really high - probably just because I have a short waist! My tummy & breasts seem massive in comparison to the rest of me, so I'm finding it difficult to breathe & my back is suffering under all the extra frontal weight. Although I don't know exactly how much weight I've gained as I haven't been weighed since my last middwife appointment at 18 weeks & had to estimate my pre pregnancy weight (we don't own a set of scales & since DS's birth, I only weigh myself once a year - at Xmas when we visit my parents :D
It's so good to hear how everyone is feeling their babies move now, but for those of you who are super mummies (farmummy!) - take it easy ;) I'm just jealous because I wish that I could accomplish everything that you all manage, there are so many multi talented/skilled/tasking mummies on here.
Sorry for not doing personals - there are so many threads to catch up on. I will pop back again sooner next time.
Enjoy your week :) Emily.
happyhips
17-06-2008, 07:39 AM
Morning everyone!!! Another beautiful winter day in Brisbane :) Everything is going a bit slowly for me this week. All of you sound so busy - I sometimes do wish that I was still working for the sanity side.
I've enrolled Jasper into daycare two days a week from next year. He will have turned 3 so I think it is the right time. My nephew's confirmation was on Sunday so I put Jasper into the Sunday school and he cried and screamed like he was being killed. Not a good sign so I hope I'm doing the right thing.
Hi Danni, yeah I've got my scan on Thursday and am feeling soooooo nervous. My anxiety levels are through the roof. I'm just terrified that they'll find something else :no: . I'm going to the qld ultrasound for women as I just couldn't face so+gi again. Anyway, I think the worst possible outcome is a child with Down syndrome which really isn't so bad. I do wish now that I had had the amnio though so that I could be more prepared for what the future holds but then I have been told that people who do get one grieve twice - one when they get the result and the other when the baby arrives. Anyway I could go on like this forever.... Keep me up to date with how you go. Will let you know what they say on Thursday.
Have a great day ladies.
Annette.
84zsazsa
17-06-2008, 07:56 AM
Morning everyone!!! Another beautiful winter day in Brisbane :) Everything is going a bit slowly for me this week. All of you sound so busy - I sometimes do wish that I was still working for the sanity side.
I've enrolled Jasper into daycare two days a week from next year. He will have turned 3 so I think it is the right time. My nephew's confirmation was on Sunday so I put Jasper into the Sunday school and he cried and screamed like he was being killed. Not a good sign so I hope I'm doing the right thing.
Hi Danni, yeah I've got my scan on Thursday and am feeling soooooo nervous. My anxiety levels are through the roof. I'm just terrified that they'll find something else :no: . I'm going to the qld ultrasound for women as I just couldn't face so+gi again. Anyway, I think the worst possible outcome is a child with Down syndrome which really isn't so bad. I do wish now that I had had the amnio though so that I could be more prepared for what the future holds but then I have been told that people who do get one grieve twice - one when they get the result and the other when the baby arrives. Anyway I could go on like this forever.... Keep me up to date with how you go. Will let you know what they say on Thursday.
Have a great day ladies.
Annette.
Hi Annette,
I just sent you a Pm.
Danni
loulousmum
17-06-2008, 10:55 AM
Annette - you are totally doing the right thing to ease him into a couple of days a week. Imagine putting it off until Prep starts!! This way you might be the only one crying when he finally starts school!:laughing:
Twiglet
17-06-2008, 11:34 AM
Have a great day ladies.
Annette.
Good luck on Thursday :hugs: am sure it will turn out ok
Out of interest do any of you know if its safe to have Reflexology when your pregnant?
Ffrenchstar
17-06-2008, 11:40 AM
Good luck with your scan Annette.
Well, we are having a great day today:) Got up early and got the house in order and Toby has already finished most of his schoolwork today and it is only lunchtime:smiliedance: Tayla is having a sleep and the boys are having an extended lunch break out the back...I just found Toby on the shed roof:o:laughing: I will make dinner in a sec when I have had my cuppa tea. Toby has scouts tonight and DH takes him and then goes to play music with a friend so it will be an early night for me and the two little ones.
I need to start thinking about getting organised to go to Germany - it is only 5 weeks away now!!
This baby is becoming more and more active by the day which is nice. I am pretty sure we have decided this baby will be called Kaelan James:) We normally decide once and for all shortly after the first scan. Anyone else decided yet?
PrincessT
17-06-2008, 12:18 PM
Hey everyone... having a bit of a sad day. A friend of mine, who is in a volotile unstable relationship (I think I may have mentioned this friend before) just told me that they and their partner are pregnant. I am always happy for pregnant people but in this case I feel sad because just last week they wanted to break up (for the 15th or so time in 6 months) and now they are having a baby. I just pray for the childs sake things work out between them. I hate to see a child being bought into this world as a band aid to a failing relationship.
Please tell me am I being totally awful in feeling this way?
I feel awful for just mentioning my feelings.
Lunar
17-06-2008, 12:47 PM
Hey everyone... having a bit of a sad day. A friend of mine, who is in a volotile unstable relationship (I think I may have mentioned this friend before) just told me that they and their partner are pregnant. I am always happy for pregnant people but in this case I feel sad because just last week they wanted to break up (for the 15th or so time in 6 months) and now they are having a baby. I just pray for the childs sake things work out between them. I hate to see a child being bought into this world as a band aid to a failing relationship.
I don't think it's awful.
Ideally, it would be nice if all children were brought into the world within a loving family. But it doesn't always work that way.
They may not be together in the future but I'm sure they will both love this child and support each other in caring for the child.
(does that make sense, I'm awfully fuzzy in the head today.)
Twiglet
17-06-2008, 12:59 PM
that's not awful. We all want to see the best for those new bundles of joy entering the world
PrincessT
17-06-2008, 01:00 PM
Yep, it does make sense. I can understand that not all children are born into perfect relationships but to give you more of a background of why I feel this way....
He and his first wife divorced because he did not want children (not just with her but at all) and she desperately wanted them. She is overly demanding and insanely jealous of everything he does (even wanting him not to work but be one of her own employees as she owns her own business). I feel this may be a planned 'surprise' pregnancy to get him to commit to a more solid relationship. (as I mentioned they have broken up many times in a short period)
They have been together 7 or so months.
I was scared that even if they dont stay together, they may be hateful towards each other in the long term and that can reflect on their child rearing.
I pray I am wrong and I appreciate that i can be bias because one is my friend and one I know only through the other.
BazzasMum
17-06-2008, 01:18 PM
Twiglet - I booked in for a Reflexology session but she wouldn't do it. I got a relaxing massage instead. Could've got DH to do that and saved my money.....
Teena - it's nice that you're worried about your friends. There really isn't much you can do about their relationship, but hope it works out, or be there if it breaks down.
Ffrenchi - that's a lovely name. We haven't really discussed any, but I keep rolling a few around in my head, see what sounds right. This might be an unnamed bub for a few days.....
Annette - putting my DS into day care was the best thing for him! He'd just turned 3 and desperately needed the extra interaction, especially as I was pretty well knackered! He had a few teary days when I left, but I'd rather him get used to it now than straight 5 days a week into school. That would have been a killer! he's still a bit funny. Since he came hom on thurs he's been saying he wants to go back, but when we drove into the driveway he changed his mind again. He still gets a bit anxious but he goes through the daily routine with his teachers and he's cool again.
Dramas with my inlaws. Huge long story..... PIL own 40 acres in the States. they put a rental house on part. An older Dr moves in, they all get along. MIL starts to fancy him...... now she's moved in!!! FIL has been miserable for about 6 yrs since his BFs wife left him, all depressed etc. Since MIL moved out (still not sure of the details, only had a couple of emails) he's now on anti-depressants, but too late. the new guy (75 ish!!) talks to her, wants to go out to the movies, catch up with friends, come visit us. All the stuff FIL wouldn't do. She's already been to the lawyers! Anyway, this is the happiest she's been in years (and nothing to do with the fact her new man has his own supply of viagra... ;)) and they're BOTH going to visit next year. Making my brain hurt, thinking of all the stuff she has to get rid of etc.
Off to watch Desp Hswives before I pick up DS.
Hope I didn't bore you...
PinkLily
17-06-2008, 01:31 PM
Annette - Good luck for Thursday. Try not to worry - the power of positive thinking can be amazing... Thinking of you :hugs:
My DS goes to daycare most days I work, and he loves it. He does have days where he doesn't want to go, but whenever we pick him up he's always happy - sometimes doesn't want to come home! He loves playing with other kids & doing craft, and it will be good preparation for kindy & school.
Teena - You should not feel awful for caring for others :hugs: Hopefully all will work out in the best interests of the child...
Twiglet - Reflexology is safe during pregnancy ONLY if the person doing it has been trained to do it on a pregnant lady. There is a certain spot that should be avoided during pregnancy...
Katie - Kaelan is a beautiful name :thumbsup: That was on our list when we were pregnant with DS. We have a short list of names and will choose when we meet our baby :cloud9:
Kirsty - It's very hard when we watch our parents/inlaws lives fall apart, particularly when one is so happy and the other is miserable. I'm going through similiar situations with both our parents. Hugs to you and family.
Bub has been fairly quiet this last few days. I got worried last night so I patted and lightly prodded my tummy until bub moved! I grumble when bub moves soo much it hurts, but then when bub is quiet I worry :rolleyes:
84zsazsa
17-06-2008, 03:33 PM
:wave: Hi Ladies,
Well the news i have is so cute i just had too share........
Bubba has found the back/inside of my belly button and has been drawing circles around it all day!! :goodvibes:
:D <<< picture of my face. Arhhhhh this is beautiful!!
Hope you all had a great day.
((((Bellyrubs)))), Danni
*Chels*
17-06-2008, 03:44 PM
I am soooo over work,I am getting soo tired I dont think I can do it anymore.Luckily I only have about 7 weeks left:D
Bubs is going nuts,I had a bath last night and I could see him jumping round!
I got up at 4am to pee and stood up to wash my hands,and in the mirror saw a HUGE huntsman spider!:barf:
DH killed it for me LOL.Now I am freaking out,god I HATE HATE HATE them!!
Ffrenchie-I love the name you have picked!!
Annette-Good luck for your scan:goodvibes:
PrincessT- I get where you are coming from!I have a friend of a friend having unprotected sex with her pyscho,drug addict boyfriend,and I am praying they dont fall preg.
Big hugs for you:hugs:
Not much to report with me,I am just too tired to do anything:sleeping:
loulousmum
17-06-2008, 07:32 PM
Good evening all! Wow - only four more weeks of work for me - I can't wait! All the little milestones I had on my journey to the end of work are getting crossed off and it feels fantastic!
I'm feeling much bigger but will have to a get a photo taken and upload it to do a comparison!
We are off to an 'expectant parent's evening' run by the Multiple Births Association tomorrow night! They run them every two months, but I thought we should go to this one just in case the bubs come really early - or I need to be lifted out of the house with a crane by the time 31 weeks comes around!
Twiglet - I have to agree - I'm pretty sure reflexology is a no go until after 36 weeks. My Dr is funny, he says he doesn't believe in the stuff about raspberry leaf tea bringing on labour and reflexology etc. but then he says - I recommend you don't do it!! Can't have it both ways I say!!:no:
Teena - There's nothing wrong with your sentiments - but in some ways the kids who never knew both parents together have it easier than the ones who have to deal with a separation when they are old enough to comprehend it all - doesn't make it better, but just offering another perspective.
I just ate a Krispy Kreme doughnut - DH bought a box at a fundraiser. I'm sending the box back to work with him tomorrow....
FYI - sweetlillymaternity.com.au are having a special deal on Hot Milk (NZ maternity bra brand). If you buy two bra/undies sets in any of three different styles, they will throw in a free pair or pjs or sexy nightie or something else (have forgotten - I chose the PJs). They don't have all sizes left - but if you are in the market, it might be worth checking out...they certainly don't look like maternity bras!! I also bought a gorgeous dress - a bit exxy but I have a number of events coming up and it looks like something that will get me through the Summer months this year when I will be more comfy in a long and flowing number...
Sorry for raving on - must be the sugar hit.:laughing:
FirstTimeMummy
17-06-2008, 09:20 PM
I'm soooo tired this week.. i have 3 big presentations to do this week, one tomorrow morning and 2 on Thursday... blah.. i was at work until 8.30pm tonight and am just really exhausted. Sorry for the whinge, but i don't have much left in the tank to write tonight..
Chels - I too HATE spiders!!! They freak me out completely!!! Lucky you had already been to the loo otherwise you may have wet your pants!!!
PrincessT - Hopefully your friends pregnancy will be a blessing on both her and her partner.. a child is a gift and i hope he/she will be loved and cherished the way every child deserves regardless of how they were brought into the world..
LouLousMum - Krispy Kremes...... YUM!!!!
Annette - Thought and prayers are with you for Thursday.. I hope it all goes well.
Sorry to anyone I've missed... I have to head off to shower and bed before i fall asleep on the keyboard =)
Night Mummy's, Daddy's, and Little Angels xx
happyhips
18-06-2008, 07:54 AM
Morning all,
Thanks Danni and Lunar - have PM'd you.
Thanks ladies regarding the daycare issue. You are all so right!! I couldn't imagine putting him into prep without any preparation :laughing: (was that a bit sad?). Anyway my hubby is a teacher so we will stick him in early Jan while he is still on holidays and that way hubby can spend the first couple of days settling him in. I'm kind of glad I'll have the baby so I get out of it. Jasper will like it eventually :fingerscrossed: and yes the interaction will be priceless.
Also thanks for the well wishers for my scan tomorrow. It will be awesome to have a sticky beak at the baby.
loulousmum - I'll be checking out sweetlilly maternity. I noticed that they also have 25% off when you purchase some preggers mag. Pregnancy and birth I think?
I've invested in some seraphine jeans and cords and 5 2chix t-shirts from queenbee. You just enter the promo code MYCHILD and you get 20% off. I'm determined to do this pregnancy with some style.
PrincessT - My sil has a friend who had a baby 3 weeks ago and her husband has just walked out on her. They only got married a year ago and everyone knew that it was probably going to end in disaster. She and the baby will be better off without him I think.
Anyway, enough space taken up. Will let you know how scan goes tomorrow.
Annette.
Twiglet
18-06-2008, 09:57 AM
I just ate a Krispy Kreme doughnut - DH bought a box at a fundraiser. I'm sending the box back to work with him tomorrow....
Groan now you have made me want one. Have to head upto the canteen to see what they have.
Got an OB appointment tomorrow. Don't know why but am worried. I know my placenta is at the front so I'm not going to feel much but at the same time I'm worried.
PinkLily
18-06-2008, 12:18 PM
:smiliedance: 24 Weeks today :smiliedance: Another milestone passed ;)
Lousmum - Oh gee, it was very cruel to say that you just had a Krispy Kreme, as we don't have their stores in WA :p They are pretty darn good!
Danni - That sounds gorgeous! Would have been great to have a video camera on hand to record that.
Twiglet
18-06-2008, 02:14 PM
:smiliedance: 24 Weeks today :smiliedance: Another milestone passed ;)
Congratulations
PrincessT
18-06-2008, 03:50 PM
Kas - I sent you a huge PM and it didnt send! I'll resend something tommorrow!
Well, I got a dreaded invite in the mail today to a wedding. I was so hoping to avoid buying another dress but I dont have anything that will fit me in the first week of September. Looks like I need to do some online shopping LOL.
Will come on tommorrow. DD is with my mum, so I am going to enjoy a nice shower!!!!
Teena x
farmmummy
18-06-2008, 05:09 PM
Hi guys and girls
Thought I would give you something to laugh at. First of all so excited about the expo until one of my Bubhubber friends sent me a sms to tell me it's next week damn brain just wont work any more. So I'm home early. Was going to visit Nan but she has been let out of the hospital yesterday and is home. So I did my thing at the hospital (all is good and gotta love the new hospital plus even tho I am public I get to see the same OB) and I traveled home. So tiered no personals tonight it's off early to bed for me. Nothing like sleeping in your own bed anyway.
Night
Nikki x
Kas - I sent you a huge PM and it didnt send! I'll resend something tommorrow!
No hassles Teena :)
*Chels*
18-06-2008, 07:25 PM
Hello
The dreaded heartburn has started for me!Yuck,I hate it!
Was having dinner before and Riley was trying to feed bubs garlic bread thru my bellybutton:laughing:
So cute,he was rubbing my tummy and chatting away and bubs was kicking away!:bee:Aaaww brotherly love!
In a couple of weeks we will be entering our 3rd trimesters!!!How scary is that?????!!!!
Ffrenchstar
18-06-2008, 07:30 PM
lol! That's cute Chels!
loulousmum
18-06-2008, 08:52 PM
Princess T - love any excuse to shop online - the courier guy even knows my kids names. Check out sweetlillymaternity.com.au - I bought a gorgeous dress from their 'international collection' the other night.
Farmmummy - HA! That's funny, because I've been planning a trip to the expo this weekend based on your comment about it being this weekend! I even moved a trip to Seaworld to next weeked....
Well, we have just come home from our Multiple Births information night. They showed a video with a natural birth and a c-section which was good. They also said that even if you go natural, you'll probably have an epidural anyway just in case they have to do an emergency c-section. I hadn't really thought that far so it was useful just for that. Other than that, it was nice to meet some other parents expecting twins but I didn't glean any bits of amazing advice that are going to make the next few weeks and months any easier!!! I guess that will come once I join the playgroup etc.
Well, I found out today I put the wrong date down to start my leave - so I now start in 3 weeks instead of 4!!! THREE WEEKS of work to go!:smiliedance: My colleagues reckon it wasn't a mistake and that I planned it all along - I wish I'd been that clever, I could have secretly known I was nearly finished for all this time.....
Sorry for no extra personals - am about to fall asleep as I type....see you tomorrow.:flowerz:
farmmummy
19-06-2008, 09:05 AM
Sam - Now I feel bad and twice as stupid. At least the expo is Friday Saturday and Sunday.
Chels - Sarah came in this morning and pulled back the doona so she could talk with "Thomas" isn't it amazing how they go for your navel every time?
Katie - Did you want to catch up for a coffee next week? I'm free Tuesday onwards.
I finally caought up on a decent night sleep and feel so much better for it.
I had a chook who was just sitting in the one spot in the shed, I thought she was crook because she just sits there and lets us pat her till with help I figured out she isn't sick just clucky sitting on a dozen eggs. I kind of expect her to be sick because she is getting long in the tooth for a chook.
I got some more material the other day so I can make a cot quilt for bub (even tho I just brought one) I want some thing special for him to use on his babies.
I have a friend (guy I use to work with) who broke up with is partner over something "in his past" didn't go into much depth until the other night he sent me a sms saying its been over him fathering a baby (who was born in January this year) about to do a DNA test to double check but his mum says it looks like him. Gee he is painful he basicly cheated on his partner after everything that has happened on the upside I know he will be a good dad. Not much today just some phone calls and might start cutting out material for the blanket.
Sorry again for leading every one astray about the expo, just can't keep my thoughts straight at the moment.
Talk again later.
Nikki x
Littleyorkshirepudding
19-06-2008, 12:12 PM
Nikki - at least you can blame it on pregnant brain I blame everything silly I do or forget to do on that, my hubby even told me to be careful last week on Friday the 13th cos he knows what I'm like.
That is such a nice idea to make a quilt for "Thomas" I wish i could do that and even though I have a sewing machine I just know I'll start it and finish it when my children have kids :laughing:
Loulousmum - 3 weeks to go you must be so excited, and it sounds like the Multiple Birth Info night was a success - has this helped make your mind up about the delivery? It must be a very hard decision to take - is there anyone you can get in touch with ie a mum who has had a natural birth with twins and a mum who has had a c-section to compare their experiences to feel which one you'd prefer - nothing better than advice from the horses mouth as they say.
Chels - I am with you with the heartburn I have it terrible some days Rennie is my saviour (sp?) and how cute is Riley that is so sweet, when I ask Ruby where is mummy's baby she lifts my top and finds it hilarious to poke my belly button
Happyhips - I'm thinking of you today, I hope everything goes well and you get a really good sticky beak at the little bub :hugs:
I hope everyone else is well and are having a lovely day and the bubba's are wriggling away and making you smile.
Ok must go as I'm not into the topic Oprah is talking about today so I guess I'll get started on the housework
Have fun
loulousmum
19-06-2008, 12:54 PM
Nikki - Don't feel bad!! I had the capacity to look it up on the web but was lazy enough to take your word for it. So, now I am making Plan B!
LittlePudding - It was a good night - though DH says he didn't sleep very well, kept thinking about the families on the DVD and worrying about how we are going to get through the first 12 weeks! I am still no closer to a decision on the birth but it was good to see some women in the DVD coping well 5 days after a C-section.
I am eating a freddo and preparing for an early exit from work this afternoon so I can go to the Physio. Although ever since I made the appointment, my leg seems to be back in working order - isn't it always the way!
Electric Mumi
19-06-2008, 03:16 PM
EM - have you moved? do I recall it was this weekend just gone you were moving? if so I hope it all went well and you didn't do too much and that you're now enjoying making it into a home.
Yeppers All MOVED! Yay..getting carpets cleaned tomorrow at old place then Im done with that joint! New house is really feeling homely...so great to be in there. Thanks for the thought!!!
Monique - Hope you had an easy move over the weekend.
Thanks for the support hun xoxox
Had my last scan on Tuesday. ALL is so very well with our lil girl and me!! 25 weeks this Sunday so Im on safe ground now..well safe meaning that baby can be saved if need be! SHe is 1lb 6oz already!!! Cant wait to get the new pad in order so that I can make a start on her nursery!!!
Im at mums at the moment so better get off...I was just dying to check in. Having dramas trying to connect fone and net at new place! Hope you are all well..miss you guys.
LOVE MONIQUE xoxoxoxoxoxox
FirstTimeMummy
19-06-2008, 03:26 PM
23 weeks today!! Yay!! :smiliedance:
I weighed myself this morning and I have managed to pork on 2kg in one week!! That is the same amount i had put on the entire pregnancy until 22 weeks! Wow... am now up to 4kg and quite proud of myself, was starting to think i was undersized.
Bub obviously had a growth spurt this week too because the pants i am wearing to work today (my normal size 8 suit pants) fitted me perfectly only 6 days ago... and now today i am struggling to do them up at all!! :laughing:
Well, it's been back to back meetings for me this week and I'm beyond exhausted... but only 7 sleeps to go until our 3 week holiday to the USA!! Very exciting.
How is everyone else going??
I'm soooo glad it's Friday tomorrow.... bring it on!
Caitlin
BazzasMum
19-06-2008, 03:48 PM
Afternoon all!
Good to have you back Monique - glad the move went well. Bub's a good size already! What have you been feeding her??
Nikki - a dozen eggs from one chook! She has been busy!!! Not time for the soup pot yet obviously!!! (sorry, hope I didn't offend)
happyhips - how did the scan go?
Chels & LYP - how cute are your little kids??? I let mine listen to bub in the monitor last night. I think he got a boot as he took the headset off pretty quick. It's really loud when it happens!
Gave MIL a serve this morning. Emailed her asking if she'd be moving out as it wasn't fair to FIL. she came back "what's this poor FIL, what about poor me??He started it..." Told her it was one thing to move out, quite another to jump into another man's bed. Haven't heard back yet. She's behaving so childishly, I feel like the parent. DH shrugs and says this is why he would never marry an American chick. Bunch of selfish drama queens!!! 61 year old teenager.........
Went shopping - bought 2 sheet sets for the hammock at Big W. Then they had a heap of blockout blinds at half price. Daft me forgot to measure the windows before I went. Glad I didn't buy them tho - I've got odd sized windows..... typical!! I'll figure something out - got plenty of time.... The came home and cleaned the house. Pooped now, and it's nearly time to make dinner. Tortellini and garlic rolls I think. Something easy.
Oh and I need some suggestions. DH will be having 2 wisdom teeth out on Monday. What can I feed him????? It's a long time since I had mine done, and although expecting to be out of action for ages, I was able to eat potato chips 2 days later. So much for the great surgical diet.......
FirstTimeMummy
19-06-2008, 04:14 PM
BazzasMum - soup, baked beans, soft pasta, jelly, custard, yoghurt, bananas anything that is soft as he wont be able to chew for the first day or two and also things that don't get stuck in the wounds. After a day or two (depending on if they need to remove any bone etc) he should be ok to eat soft sandwiches... shouldn't take longer than a week to be back to eating normally.
farmmummy
19-06-2008, 05:21 PM
Sam - I still feel bad.
Monique - Glad to hear your going well.
Danni and Monique - I need to ask...I take it the avatars are ink on yourselves? Puts my little ank to shame, after I have bub I am having 4 butterflys done one for each of my babies.
Well did my phone calls like dh asked and then I started cutting out fabric and pinning together my patch work quilt for bub with help (not) from Sarah. Now I need to sew all the little patches together, pad it and sew it all together.
Got the okay from the bank and the accountant to put an offer on the PO so we'll just wait and see now.
Will chat again later.
Nikki x
84zsazsa
19-06-2008, 08:33 PM
Danni and Monique - I need to ask...I take it the avatars are ink on yourselves? Puts my little ank to shame, after I have bub I am having 4 butterflys done one for each of my babies.
Nikki x
Hi Nicki,
Yep the avatar pic is my back ink. It goes right over that left shoulder and down to my left forearm. It is a work in progress. Too many hrs and $$$ :D But thanx for noticing. Its always nice to get a comment on the pain endured. I love tatts big or small their all a work of art. The 4 butterflies sound great. I had a friend do that but with dragonflies and let the kids pick the colour they wanted theirs.
To all you other lovely ladies......good to see the chatter still going, I do read and keep up to date. I have a raging cold coming on and want to get to bed and shake it as quick as possible. Will do personals when a bit better.
Happyhips - Hope all has gone well today. I am thinking of you. :hugs:
Have a good evening and day 2morro all and keep growing those beautiful bubs.
Danni :wave:
Well, I've been up since 4am. Just couldn't sleep. Very weird for me LOL. Things are going well. I have my folks and my ILs up at the moment. And they're doing all these cool things around the house. Even cleaned out our garage! We are very lucky :) Monday I have my glucose test. Then the following Monday we get the results and :fingerscrossed: we find out if we're having a "blue" or "pink" package. By then, I'll be 27 weeks, so hopefully my ob will be able to tell...
84zsazsa
20-06-2008, 05:55 AM
Well, I've been up since 4am. Just couldn't sleep. Very weird for me LOL. Things are going well. I have my folks and my ILs up at the moment. And they're doing all these cool things around the house. Even cleaned out our garage! We are very lucky :) Monday I have my glucose test. Then the following Monday we get the results and :fingerscrossed: we find out if we're having a "blue" or "pink" package. By then, I'll be 27 weeks, so hopefully my ob will be able to tell...
Hey Kas,
I thought i was the only one on at this time of the morn. Great to here the rellies our helping out at home, really lovely of them. I got my glucose test that week too but towards the end. So what are you and Craig hoping for?? Pink or Blue??
Just think.......27wks....you will be 1wk away from the last trimester by then.
TIME is flying ladies. Hubby was so cute last night (yes instead of a cute kiddy story i have dear old hubby!! :laughing:). He was talking to my belly and he looked up at me, had a nervous laugh and said......"OMG not long now and 2 will be 3". His grin was priceless. Like fear and excitement all wrapped up in one. :goodvibes:
Well i feel worse this morning hence the early rise. I had an Asthma attack upon waking.....my first in over a year. Off to have a hot shower,
Hope you all have a great day......
((((Bellyrubs)))), Danni
loulousmum
20-06-2008, 06:10 AM
Danni, you are right, time is flying! It's only going to go faster from here too!
Saw Sex and the City movie last night and ate lots of chocolate from the candy bar! Loved the movie - it was the first one I've seen in about a year!!
I hope there's some good movies on once I start my leave, my idea of a relaxing day would be a movie in the morning and a sleep in the afternoon!!
Physio suggested I start wearing a back support belt. I came home and put it on and can't believe what a difference it makes. I thought it was too early and that I wasn't big enough to get any benefit but she was right - ah, sweet relief!! It's not very attractive, so until later on I'll probably only wear it at home, but even that should make a difference.
*Chels*
20-06-2008, 07:06 AM
Morning girls
Aaaaww Danni-your hubby sounds like a total sweetie:bee:
Nikki-great minds think alike-i am comtemplating getting 2 lil butterflies for my babies!!I LOVE butterflies!But I dont think you can get them while BFing?So that probably rules me out for another 2 years or so:laughing:
Loulousmum-lucky you off to the movies!My firends and I hav been trying to go for the last few weeks!Everyone is always busy or working!Hopefully next week,I really want to see it!!!
Well last night I had a teary moment.DS and I were cuddling in bed and I couldnt stop thinking about those poor twins and all the other abused kids out there,that just need love.
I hugged my DS soooo tight.It needs to stop,what to do??I hate the way this world is turning into pure evil:crying:I cant think about it right now because it gets me so worked up,especially because my siblings and I came from an abusive home:(
On a happier note,I have my middie appointment today,hopefully I will get to hear bubbas heartbeat!I think I have to do a bloodtest to check my iron!
Then we are going out for chinese for dinner YUM!
happyhips
20-06-2008, 07:09 AM
Morning Ladies,
I just thought that I would let you know that my scan went well yesterday :). They couldn't find any evidence of the EIF and they even doubted that it was even there in the first place. He was measuring quite large so I guess that is a good sign. I have a few questions for my ob on Monday so hopefully he can put any other worries to rest.
Thanks Danni & Lunar for the pm's. I'm so glad that scan is over and I can relax again for a while. Phewwww.
Have a great day everyone.
Annette.
84zsazsa
20-06-2008, 07:18 AM
:smiliedance: Thats aursome news Annette!!!
Danni
*Chels*
20-06-2008, 07:21 AM
Morning Ladies,
I just thought that I would let you know that my scan went well yesterday :). They couldn't find any evidence of the EIF and they even doubted that it was even there in the first place. He was measuring quite large so I guess that is a good sign. I have a few questions for my ob on Monday so hopefully he can put any other worries to rest.
Thanks Danni & Lunar for the pm's. I'm so glad that scan is over and I can relax again for a while. Phewwww.
Have a great day everyone.
Annette.
:smiliedance:That is awesome news!!!!!:smiliedance:
Sorry,just had to come back and have a whinge.
My mum is totally drivin me nuts!!She still lives in NZ,my bro and sis moved here after me.
Anyways,My stepdad is a w@nker,and when my Mum came over for my wedding he rung her every 5 mins and told her "If you ever go to OZ to see your kids again,I will leave you"
So anyways,we all said we would pay for her airfare to come over when bubs is born,everyone would take time off work so would could hang together.Mum was keen,but NOW her friends that live in Brissie have invited her to stay,So she is planning on going there with my stepdad.
I know if she does,she will pop down to coast for like an hour and that is it.He has soooo much control,it sh!ts me to tears.
I would think she would want to spend time with her kids and grandkids!!
I havent talked to her for a month or so,shes emailed me once,even that takes forever after I sent her scan pic.
I keep trying to organise a time to call her and shes always busy!
It just drives me nuts shes not making any effort for us,or his grandkids:mad:
Sorry,I just got a text from her so I got grumpy and had to vent!!!!
BazzasMum
20-06-2008, 07:42 AM
Great news Annette. Must be a huge relief...
Oh Nikki - don't you love it when the kids "help"? Mine likes to put away the laundry, that was once nicely folded ends up in a scrunched heap on the floor, having never actually made it to the drawers.....
Chels - :hugs: Is your mum scared of her partner? Has she always been like that?? Maybe he's a really jealous man who thinks he'll lose her to you guys. Pretty sad, but vent away!
Kas - does yor OB do his own U/S in rooms? Hope you get to find out who's in there!! Oh and expect to feel pretty crappy in the glucose test. It's really gross!!
Sam - it doesn't matter what you look like, as long as you're comfortable! Can you hide the brace under a jacket or something??
Danni - take it easy please!! You don't want another asthma attack. Hope you feel better now. DH has gone to work today for the first time this week. He slept most of yesterday, so that's probably what you need to do. I order you NOT to get out of bed this weekend and kick this cold's butt!
Taking DS to swimming lessons this morning (haven't forgotten this time!) it's a lovely day, and the pool will be warm. Then I have to repot some of my plants. Bought more soil yesterday, just have to do it!
loulousmum
20-06-2008, 07:50 AM
Great news Happy Hips!
Chels - you know you can always vent in here!! I know what you mean about those little twins. I've been thinking about a career move into child protection (not front line, but keen to help the bureaucracy move faster) once I return to work.
BUT - although it is devastating and just unimaginable - remember that it is an extreme case and that the vast majority of kids are loved and cared for by their parents in the best way they know how. I worked in a reallly tough school in a pretty rough area for a while and I had to remind myself of this every now and then when I started to get a bit down about the state of the world...
Was just wondering how to get through the day (didn't sleep well and DH working till 10pm tonight) and in the past half hour a girl who had her baby at the same time I had Louella rang to see if she could drop in around lunch and we've been invited to go and see a new puppy that one of Lou's childcare friends just got. Thank goodness for Lou's social life!!!:laughing:
Lunar
20-06-2008, 09:03 AM
Annette~ GREAT news! Hope everything is smooth sailing from here.
Chels~ I'm sorry you're having a hard time with your mum atm. Her partner does sound like a very controlling, demanding w@nker! I hope she wakes up and sees just how much she is hurting you and the rest of her family.
I got the paper work for my formal GT test yesterday and OMG!!!:eek: All the stuff I have to eat for the 3 days before!!! I have to eat my usual amount of food, PLUS I have to eat all this other stuff! I don't know how I'm going to fit it in!!! I'll probably put on 4 kilos in that week!:eek: It's a rediculous amount of food! LOADS of carbs!:thumbsdown:
Anyways.... I'm sick with a cold again. I can't cop a break this pregnancy! I want my immune system back!!!!
Littleyorkshirepudding
20-06-2008, 01:31 PM
Way to go Happyhips - I am so pleased for you the scan went well - that's great news.
EM - Glad to here the move went well, happy settling in to your new home and I hope it isn't long till you get your internet access - it's horrible being away from it isn't it
Chels - I felt the same way about those twins and I look at my beautiful happy daughter and wonder why anyone could do that - it is so sad I just can't cope with hearing about the abuse of babies/children it's so devasting :no: but Loulousmum is so right.
And sorry to hear about your mum but you vent all you like it helps and we're here to listen well read about it.
Danni - your Hubby sounds like a dream you lucky girl
Kas - enjoy your rellies it's great to hear they are helping out you lucky girl
Does anyone have any exciting plans for the weekend - I would love to go to the Sydney Food and Wine show but don't think I'll get chance as we're scouring the Inner West suburbs of Sydney looking for a 3 bedroomed house probably along with 100's of others oh well the sooner we start......I'm really not looking forward to it. Then I'm at work on Subday and that's my weekend, hubby is out tonight so I think I'll treat myself to a pizza, a glass of wine and a great girlie dvd to watch bring on 7.30pm.
Have a lovely weekend all.
PinkLily
20-06-2008, 02:55 PM
Chels - sorry to hear that about your mum :hugs
Annette - That is fantastic news about your scan!
Kirsty - Have a great time at swimming! My DS loves his swimming lessons.
Kas - Got my :fingerscrossed: that bub cooperates this scan!
Danni - Hope your feeling better now. Take it easy :hugs:
So so sad hearing the details of those poor twins... :crying: Seen them on tv last night - Such beautiful babies.
Hopefully the positive that may come from this tragedy is that people may be a bit more aware of someone else who may need help...
Had my 24 week checkup this morning and my uterus in the middle of my tummy was only measuring 20 weeks, but I had mentioned that bub is ALWAYS laying to one side, so midwife measured the side bub lays and it was size of 23 weeks! (was very obvious which side when I layed down as my tum is so much bigger on that side!). Not sure why this bub is so much to one side or why my uterus seems to have tilted, but midwife said not to be too worried about it (ha yeah right, try telling a pregnant lady not to worry:rolleyes:)
Not too much exciting happening this weekend. Got a 2 year olds birthday which DS will enjoy. Oh and me too as they'll be party food! :p
PrincessT
20-06-2008, 04:52 PM
Great news about the scan Annette!!
Chels - you poor thing re: your mum. I wish I could comfort you in saying something wise but it sounds like your mum is controlled and has forgotten how wonderful her daughter is!
Kas - Good luck with the scan! Hope you find out the sex :)
I went to the OB yesterday. Everything is looking great. We talked about the birth and discussed a few things that I had been thinking about such as spinal v epidural etc. Also asked who will be assisting him and if I could choose Paediatrician etc and he is so wonderful. We had a chat about his wife who sadly died a few years back - poor thing but wonderfully he has found a new partner and they look happy in all the photos in his office which is great.
Got no formal plans this weekend. The house is spotless so hopefully we will be going out and it stays clean until Monday!!! I doubt it. Only thing on my agenda for the morning is to pick up a new TV my mum purchased today with DH's ute and buy myself some flowers.
I also found a great silk smock on sale that I might wear to the weddng. It was $60 and is a normal dress not even maternity, so hopefully it fits me for the wedding in Sept (it is pretty voluminous) and it has a belt, so after bubs is born I could still wear it. I just need to put some fake tan on my legs and I can wear my kick **** Manolo's!!!! Even though I probably wont be able to balance with my big belly LOL
Have a good night ladies!
84zsazsa
21-06-2008, 06:58 AM
:wave: Good morning,
Thanx for all the well wishes with my cold ladies. I havent been this crook in a long time. Not feeling better this morning but i'm not 10 times worse either.....just alittle more congested. I havent run a Temp or had another Asthma attack which is great. Oh and i have my first offical stretch mark on my belly *Boo Hoo*. Just below my belly button to the left is 3 cheeky thin purple lines. My mum got none so i was soooo hoping genetics would rub off!! Oh well as hubby said think of what you get at the end for all your trouble (bubba). Too true.
Still no personals.....just too sick at the moment but still reading.
Just a quick mention for you Chels - :hugs: Chic......I think a mums effect and understanding is truely a very important thing whether we are little or grown. Its a slack effort but love makes so people do silly things. Chin up....:hugs:
Keep well and growing them bubba's ladies.
((((Bellyrubs))))..........Danni
kamb1403
21-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Hi, I'm new to the forum. I am pregnant with my 4th and due on 10th October. With my previous 2 pregancies (twins and then a singleton) I had cesearean sections and will be having another cesearean this time.