View Full Version : 2nd pregnancy after c/s
Kaileysmum
13-04-2006, 10:55
I am not pregnant but Im going to ttc at the end of the year. I had a c/s with dd, I found it quite fine, recovered really well, not much pain etc. What I wanted to know is when you get pregnant with your next baby, when your tummy starts to get bigger, does your scar hurt??? Is there any chance of something happening (ripping open)?? I started thinking about it the other day and it makes me scared to have another one. Im probably being silly, sorry if the questions are stupid!!!
Oh another thing is how long after a c/s can you get pregnant again???
Thanks guys.
Well I had 3 years between mine....no pain, no stretching all was fine! Don't know how long you have to wait..read it somewhere on another thread though maybe someone else can inform you of that one!
You hear alot of stories of women who get preg quite soon after a c/sec, so I am sure that it is fine....the 'rule' I was told by health professionals was to wait at least 2 years (ie, your previous baby to have at least turned 2 around the time or a bit before your next one is due)....
These are all speculation, but they do say that after about 12 months you should be pretty much back to normal. When my next baby is due it will be about 27 months since my previous c/sec, and I have pretty much had this same gap between all my boys (though this is more due to how long it takes me to get clucky again and want to try for another baby, rather than trying to be 'safe' ;) )
You may get a few aches and pains around the scar area, if there are any adhesions within, but not everyone gets this. Generally most women complain of nausea when they have tight clothing around the scar area during pregnancy (again, this is not all women). This is what I get, so as long as nothing is pressing against it I am fine. (when I'm not preg I dont get this nausea).
I dont think you have anything to worry about at all :thumbsup:
samuelboy
13-04-2006, 14:07
Hi ewells1983
I am six months pregnant with my second after a c/s with my son and there will be a 19 month age gap between them. My doctor told me 12 months was good but 18 months was better and that was from cut to cut.
I haven't had any pain or felt anything weird on my scar, it's just been a bit annoying with underbelly clothes that seem to sit right on it so I've been living in daggy tracksuit pants that I can sit above it.
As becca74 has said, I don't think you have anything to worry about. :)
hi i have had 3 csections and am due for my next in 6 weeks.
with the second bub there was only a 23 month age gap when bub was born , with the third bub there was a 11 month age gap and with this bub now between this bub and our third there will be a 3 year gap.
with all of my csections i have never had a problem stretching the scar and no it doesnt hurt it also doesnt cause it to be thinner whilst you are getting bigger the only thing that causes it to be a little thinner is the amount of csections you have had./have.
i am preg with 4th (as i said) and i am heaps bigger this time comapred to all three bubs before and i am supposed to be on weekly checks with my ob but i went today and he is very happy and said i can go two weekly until birth. so i can tell you from experience that no it sdoesnt hurt your scar or alter your scar at all the only thing that alters your scar is the amount of csections you have. although saying that i am allowed to have 2 more if i want. as my scar is perfect. everytime they have used the same line from before so i also have a very neat scar and when you are in for the next csection they will cut out previous scar tissue from the first csection that way you do not have double scar tissue in there.
if you want to know anything else pm and i will gladly help you
zacsmumma
03-05-2006, 21:28
I had a c/section 14mths ago with my son & i am now 5 1/2 mths pregnant with my 2nd & i have had no probs so far. my scar doesn't even bother me. But those thoughts have crossed my mind also.
melbryan
03-05-2006, 21:40
I A DUE IN 14 WEEKS WITH BUB NO. 2. I had a cs with my first son and they are 26 mths apart, there has been no problems I am smaller this time round with no. 2, maybe they sewed my guts up so there's not as much skin there now. But I am sure you will be fine.:wave:
SassyDiva
03-05-2006, 22:23
I was totally paranoid too.. My scar was still numb to touch when I feel preg with DS #2 - but as my belly grew I noticed no sensitivity at all, I loved going in for C.S #2, straight in only thing I felt was the drip going in my arm... the rest bliss:smiliedance:
However 6 months on I still cant stand DF rubbing or touching that area (again prob just too paranoid) but no pain.
My Dr said 12 month in between is enough time for the body to heal:D
03-05-2006, 23:25
I concieved when DD was 12 weeks old therefor 12 month age gap from her birthday to my due date (but will be under 11 month actually age gap) and unlike others I have experienced pain in my scar during my pregnancy. I'm guessing its because they were so close together and I know my scar was certainly not healed properly when I concieved again as parts of it were still open wound (TMI sorry)but this may be why I experience pain in it when others dont :S
Briannabear
04-05-2006, 07:38
Im pregnant with my second and there will be 21 months age difference between them.
I find every now and again if I twist or if Im in an awkward position my scar hurts a little. And i cant stand wearing anything tight over the scar either - thats probably phsycological though!
MamaSage
04-05-2006, 09:45
Is there any chance of something happening (ripping open)?? .
In labour there is a .52% chance of uterine rupture, of spontaneou labour. If you are induced obviously it will be higher.(Taken from Storknet study) Pretty small in my opinion.
Yep, this is very encouraging isnt it....in other words their is a 99.5% chance your scar will stay intact...... :smiliedance: :D :yelclap: :thumbsup:
If I was told that if I entered a certain lottery and that I had a 99.5% chance of winning - I would enter in an instant!!!
Briannabear
04-05-2006, 12:52
Thats a pretty good percentage if you ask me Bec!! :thumbsup: :yes: :smiliedance:
in other words there is a 99.5% chance your scar will stay intact......
I'm ttc#2 and already stressing about vbac :o but reassure myself with stuff like that, focusing on the chance of success rather than the chance of failure. Then again the scar isn't my main worry!:o
MamaSage
04-05-2006, 16:31
I would have to chase it up, but there is still a risk of uterine rupture even if you HAVE NOT had a C/S... It is small, but it does happen. That made me feel a little better! Just keep up the positive affirmations..
Briannabear
04-05-2006, 16:38
Yes thats right, I read that too Carlia. And in actual fact a lot of uterine ruptures (during VBAC's) werent actually on the scar. They were above or to the side of it.
The other important thing to take into consideration with the statistics of VBAC is that they dont only record natural VBAC's. They include women who have had multiple caesars, women with existing medical issues, women who were induced, and also women who had the older style vertical scar (more prone to rupture).
So what happens if you have a uterine rupture?:confused:
Briannabear
04-05-2006, 16:48
It can get pretty scary if it happens. There's a risk of heamorraging resulting in the baby getting distressed, or the baby actually partly 'falling through' the rupture. If it happens there's a chance that you may have to have a hysterectomy. (or worse) Pretty nasty stuff.
That said, the risk is low. And there are also risks (quite equally as bad) in a repeat caesarean too, so either way there could be nasties.
Thanks for that Briannabear!;)
MamaSage
04-05-2006, 16:57
Info re uterine rupture
http://www.vbac.com/uterine.html
And like Briannabear said, you are more likely to have complications from a C/S (elective or emergency) than have your uterus rupture.
Oh I know that, that is why I will be trying for a VBAC not another c-section!;)
MamaSage
04-05-2006, 17:17
Cool, there is going to be a few of us then!
More support in numbers!:thumbsup: :yelclap:
~Cool Mum~
11-05-2006, 01:11
I had c/s with both of my kids. But 2nd c/s more painful - longer healing. Had no choice due to placenta in front with second pregancy. Now its all over. 2nd bub is 8mths old so Im doing well and kicking about. I think everyone is different but I assumed all got through and healed well. I can understand your concern but as soon you see your baby its all forgotten once the baby is in your arms. :)