View Full Version : April 08 mums weight loss support thread
29-05-2008, 20:22
Is anyone else stacking on the kilos rather than losing? I would like to lose 10kg....
Im in the same boat:o
I lost a heap of weight after the birth. Having Matilda in SCN for three weeks didnt give me alot of time to eat. Its actually the first time I havent stacked on the weight when I have been stressed. I thought I was doing really well, but we have just moved out to the country, and Im feeling a bit lonely and sorry for myself, and there is a cake shop at the end of my street:o
I definately need some motivation!
ETA - I would like to lose 20 Kilos, but I would be happy with 15!
I still want to lose another 5-8 Kilos.
I just dont seem to be able to get rid of them. I walk everyday and have been trying to eat at least a bit better but they seem to be stuck. I do need some more motivation to really make the effort to lose a bit more weight though.
I blame Milky Bars...they are my new addiction:devil:
30-05-2008, 07:53
cake shop? milky bars? yummy!
I lost a lot in the week after birth - but now I just want to eat and eat. And I can't stop at one biscuit. I've had to ban anything yummy from the house because I would eat the entire lot.
sillysideup
30-05-2008, 08:22
I'm with you to CK. My weight has just stayed the same post birth. While I was BF I was ravenous! Now I'm just struggling because I'm really tired by night time and so I sit down with DH and eat for comfort myself!! Wish I new how to stop doing that! I have 15 - 20kgs of weight to drop. 10 of this I put on before I even started having kids and the other 5 - 10 is the result of being tired from continual get-upsies with the kids. Until now I've been pretty easy on myself - but thinking it's time to start getting serious about it all. I just want to be more healthy and have some more energy.
30-05-2008, 08:30
I hear you on the tiredness. I'm having so much caffeine to get through the day. I'm sick of feeling like this.
Anyway, I brought the wii fit yesterday and ditched the full cream milk, and my precious kitkats for low fat and rice crackers. Sigh! I am not allowing myself to bake biscuits or cakes either because Liam and I are the only ones who eat them.
DP wants me to go back to weight watchers but I don't know - it would mean attempt #4. I'm going to track calories and stuff at home first (and you guys here are my support network :goodvibes: )
Eternity
30-05-2008, 09:01
Great idea CK
I gained way too much weight while pregnant with both my children, about 30 kilos each time:(
Lost all of it 1st time around by the time Sophia was 3 mths, so yet again I am on the weight loss wagon * Sigh*
So far so good I guess...I have lost 20.5 in 6 weeks so about 7 kilos to my pre baby #2 weight and 13 kilos to what I was before I had any babies as I gained a few kilos just before and while TTC Lincoln
I have been really good and been walking since 1 week post c sect and eating really well, limiting my portions and sugar, I drink way too much Coke Zero though, need to drink more water too, although the last week I have done no exersise and am feeling scared I wont loose the rest and be stuck a fat mummy forever:hissy:
so I am so glad you opened this thread Ck, we can all support each other through our weight loss journeys :flowerz::smiliedance:
Hopefully I will have some good news next week for you
I have my :fingerscrossed:for at least 1 kilo loss
newmumagain
30-05-2008, 13:48
Yay! So glad I'm not the only one struggling along with the extra weight at the moment!!
I got married the first week of August last year & trained my butt off for 6 months prior to that & finally felt great in my tight white dress on the big day... we went skiing in NZ for a gorgeous honeymoon & was so happy to be able to wear nice jeans and boots & all that good stuff.... I then fell pregnant with Lachie straight away (though it would take ages - it didn't!) and that was the end of "good me"... all my bad habits returned & the exercise went out the door for the next 9 months... I ended up putting on 19 kilos and have only dropped 7 since the birth.. :no:
Some days I feel like I'm actually getting fatter by the minute! It's so depressing! Anyway, I've tried every diet throughout my life & now am on another bit of a fad at the moment & have cut out Carbs... I know this is only a short term fix, but I felt that I wanted to do something kind of drastic to just lose a quick few kilos.. if only to make myself feel a little better before going back to a normal healthy eating & exercising plan..? Anyway - great to have others in the same situation - I hope I can share some weight loss success with you all over the next month or two...
Eternity - you've done so well! I remember reading about how great you've been going in the other thread & was dying to find out how you have managed it all so quickly... keep up the good work :thumbsup:
great idea ck
Well here 's me so far
I gained some where between 25 - 30 kg 's while pregnant which was rather werid as normally I struggle to gain weigh at all .
At the moment I have no clue what I currently weigh I think I may of only lost 10 kg's but my pre pregnancy Jean's are fitting they are just a little bit more snug then before ( mind you before being pregnant they were 2 sizes 2 big)
I 'am breast feeding with top up 's of forumla I alway 's seem to be hungry ( which Im guessing is cause I bf) but never make the healthy choice with food's I drink way to much coke and at the moment I am addicted to these little rum and raisen choc thing's
I try to do daily walk 's but sometimes I just can't be stuffed to go.
I don't really want to ever be my pre pregnancy weigh again as I was a little under weigh but just the right / healthy weigh for my height would be nice :)
Eternity
30-05-2008, 21:04
Yay! So glad I'm not the only one struggling along with the extra weight at the moment!!
I got married the first week of August last year & trained my butt off for 6 months prior to that & finally felt great in my tight white dress on the big day... we went skiing in NZ for a gorgeous honeymoon & was so happy to be able to wear nice jeans and boots & all that good stuff.... I then fell pregnant with Lachie straight away (though it would take ages - it didn't!) and that was the end of "good me"... all my bad habits returned & the exercise went out the door for the next 9 months... I ended up putting on 19 kilos and have only dropped 7 since the birth.. :no:
Some days I feel like I'm actually getting fatter by the minute! It's so depressing! Anyway, I've tried every diet throughout my life & now am on another bit of a fad at the moment & have cut out Carbs... I know this is only a short term fix, but I felt that I wanted to do something kind of drastic to just lose a quick few kilos.. if only to make myself feel a little better before going back to a normal healthy eating & exercising plan..? Anyway - great to have others in the same situation - I hope I can share some weight loss success with you all over the next month or two...
Eternity - you've done so well! I remember reading about how great you've been going in the other thread & was dying to find out how you have managed it all so quickly... keep up the good work :thumbsup:
I think I had allot of fluid at the end of my pregnancy and that would be why I lost alot of weight pretty quickly both times, but all I have been doing is eating Breaky, Lunch, arvo tea and dinner. Making sure they are low fat and the portions are right, I actually eat alot of carbs, Toast for breakie, Sandwiches for lunch and pasta for tea, I could not live without them but I have to say Im pretty sure that breastfeeding really helps me drop the kilos too, I dont feel overly hungry either while I am BF so thats a bonus!! I have been doing 30 mins on the exersise bike everyday, except this week as I do it at night and Lincoln has been a little unsettled leaving me no time, I havent really done anything special, I am still fat as a house though cant wait to loose the last 13 kilos
31-05-2008, 11:47
Damn the Twix! I keep winning free bars...yum!
I am so bad at this :o
Hey girls, Count me In!!!
Go the WiiFit! We got it a few weeks ago, and I love it. I've almost unlocked all the games, and aerobic exercises. Its so much fun, my mum is going to get one too. another two weeks, and I can go back to the gym too!! just have to find the time for that. It should be easy monday and tuesday, as my DH has his days off then, but will need to find a third day too.... and wii fit on the other days
Now just need to work on that whole eating healthy thing! Hmm, guess I shouldn't have brought those cookies at the shops:laughing:
I need to lose at least 30kg. Only about 10 from the pregnancy, but 20 from before that before I can get my BMI to an almost helathy level...
Good luck to us all!
sillysideup
31-05-2008, 18:26
Well I've done really well over the past two days - but just had to eat a peanut butter sandwich as an evening snack - no idea why :confused:.
Our family of 5 went grocery shopping today and I even asked DH not to get chocolate - as I can't resist it at the moment due to being so tired. If it's there I eat if after the kids go to bed :o.
I've also started doing the post pregnancy mummy tummy exercises. Can't wait to get my tummy back into some kind of shape. I'm just doing the core strengthening ones atm. Done them three times and nothings change yet!!!
31-05-2008, 18:53
I did a run on the wii fit to redeem myself...I'm exhausted.
DP brought home freddos and iced coffee :( (havent touched them yet though)
Eternity
31-05-2008, 19:12
Ck- I think you might have to have a chat to your dh about bringing home freddos:laughing: I would have no hope if I was teased like that
actually girls I forgot to mention, I signed up to calorie King, it really helped me work out how many calories I could eat and come up with a meal plan at first, I dont do the meal plans anymore as I know roughly what I can eat now, but I love watching my weight and BMI go down on the weight graphs, it helps keep me motivated
Hey girls, I'm on this weight loss plan too!! I'm actually doing weight watchers after having success with it previously!!
I've got 20kg to lose, 10kg from post pregnancy and then another 10kg I put on while trying to fall pregnant!!! I know that i can do it as I've lost more than 20kg's before!! Bring on the size 10 again I say!! I've got a full wardrobe of clothing that I want to fit back into and some really nice stuff and I refuse to get rid of it or buy bigger sizes for now!!
My biggest challenge is butter and chocolate! My fav chocolate is Lindt balls!! I've got a box, yep open in my pantry and I haven't touched it since starting my program on Tuesday! I'm not even tempted to eat it and that's when I know that I'm in the right frame of mind to lose this weight! I haven't been tempted to use butter at all either! I'm probably having too much sugar at the moment, i love sugar on my porridge and I had low fat pancakes this morning with sugar and lemon! it's really hard to eat the right amount of points, for those who know the points system, i need to eat 28points!! Because of breastfeeding! I couldn't even eat 20points last time I was on it so I'm just having slightly bigger portions etc!!
So, i haven't actually weighed myself at the beginning of this week, are we going to do a weigh in like every week or something???????
Good luck to you all!
sillysideup
01-06-2008, 15:29
I finally got out and walked. Did the 4kms trek to the local shop and back with DH and the three kids. A couple of times I had bubs in the pram, DD 2 in the toddler seat and DD4 on the skateboard. It surely gave the arms a work out - 35kgs plus the pram!! And then I came home and did the tummy excercises too!! If only I can keep it up. :laughing:
:( Ive been eating really bad the last 2 day's and done no physical activity * blames mil * it will all be better tomorrow
I
DP wants me to go back to weight watchers but I don't know - it would mean attempt #4. I'm going to track calories and stuff at home first (and you guys here are my support network :goodvibes: )
Im considering weight watchers too, but would be attempt #3 for me! I dont know if I can face it.
DH really wants to get the Wiifit as well. How are you finding it?
I have to write this weekend off... it was Jakes 3rd birthday and Matilda's baptism, so I didnt have much of a chance. But tomorrow is a new day.. im pretty determined!
Eloise&Charlie'sMum
02-06-2008, 12:27
Hi girls...
COUNT ME IN PLEASE !!!!!
I am doing the biggest looser online club thing to try and get back to my wedding weight...
I have 23 kgs to go to be back at my smallest which is where i was the happiest i have ever been so thats what I am aiming for.
So far i have lost 18 kgs in 6.5 weeks and hoping that by 24th August which is my kiddlets Christening in Canberra that i will be small enough to fit into my funky as "hot mumma" levi jeans with my new red heels and stunning white silk knit jumper...this is my goal !!!!
Help me pleeeeeeeeeeeeeasssssssssse I want this so bad...I need this so bad.....I want to like what I see in the miror again.
PS I have little to no will power with food but I am changing that LOL by not having naughties in the house to be tempted with.
I am walking everyday or at least every second day.
Eternity
02-06-2008, 13:26
I have just done 40 mins of riding on my exercise bike while Oprah was on:laughing: Its a great distraction actually
Feeling Good:yelclap:
sillysideup
03-06-2008, 08:27
Oh it's so nice to hear how well everyone it doing. Eternity and Kristi - you guys win the prize!! Fantastic work. I had a bad night last night and went back to my evening snacking routine. Just couldn't stop myself. I really admire you girls with will power. Still doing my tummy exercises. I did them with the two big girls yesterday - it was such a hoot!
03-06-2008, 08:29
You girls are doing so well. Hurrah! :smiliedance:
today i will not go to the fridge every 10 minutes to graze
I just dropped Liam off to "uni" (kindy :p ) and immediately went to eat. Why would I do that? I'm not even hungry.
sillysideup
03-06-2008, 10:28
You girls are doing so well. Hurrah! :smiliedance:
today i will not go to the fridge every 10 minutes to graze
I just dropped Liam off to "uni" (kindy :p ) and immediately went to eat. Why would I do that? I'm not even hungry.
You and I seem to be running the same race at the moment!! I do the same thing - it's like a habbit!! We'll get there - I'm determined to make some changes.
newmumagain
03-06-2008, 12:12
I got on the scales yesterday & lost .8kg... which for me is actually not bad - I never lose any weight in the first week or 3 of a diet!
I really have to start exercising though as it's the only thing that works for me... I just can't get myself out that door though!! Will really try this afternoon when Riley gets home from school - we'll take the dog & the pram out for a walk - even if it's just for 15 mins!!
No carb thing is hard (as it always is).. so many easy foods are not allowed! I so just want some toast in the mornings.. oh well - I'm only doing it for a month or two to do some quick shifting (it better work)...
03-06-2008, 19:24
well done NMA! I think the first few days are tough.
So how did everyone ele go?
I've done 45 minutes of step on the wii fit (step plus and free step) and will do a run before bed. I had a few naughties (like a spoonful of very very bad cookies n cream icecream) but have written it all down and still under calories for the day.
Mum brought a cake made from flour, fruit and nut chocolate, coffee and mixed fruit - it was surprisingly good and low in fat apparently.
Bellas_mummy
04-06-2008, 08:49
hi girls,i am a may mummy but would love to join you all.Annabella was born on 7/5 so is 4 weeks old today. I lost and put on all preg and when i gave birth was the weight i started at. i was big then so would love to lose quite a bit. i have lost 10kg so far. here are my goals:- lose 2kg- then 5kg- then 20kg.If i can do this i will be my dream weight.you are all doing so well. like many of you i am finding bf makes me sooooo hungry.off for a walk now.
I fell off the wagon a bit today. I couldnt resist hot chips for lunch:o I did walk twenty minutes to get them though... does that count?!!!
I have decided to join weight watchers on Thursday night, so the big weigh in will be then. Wish me luck:o
Eternity
07-06-2008, 19:37
Hey Girls
How are you all going????
Still going strong here, Havent given into temptation yet:D And happy to announce I lost another Kilo this week:yelclap:
So thats a 21.3 kilo loss since I gave birth 8 weeks tomorrow, I gained a whopping 30 kilos though, I have about 12ish kilos to get back to what I was before any babies lived in my womb lol....I can do it...seriously though I am so focused, I just couldnt imagine life at this weight permanently so there is no other option than to push myself and make these horried kilos dissapear...I cant wait to go and buy new clothes in a size 12 and get my acyrlic nails back on and feel good about myself again....and then guess what time it is....GIRLS NIGHT OUT!!!:laughing: Brissy mums are you with me:smiliedance:
newmumagain
07-06-2008, 20:51
Percy - good luck with the weigh in - it's a bit daunting for anyone getting on those scales in front of people for the first time.... It's such a good program though & I think weighing in each week is great for motivation.. I may end up there myself once I've (hopefully) dropped a few kilos on this stupid thing I'm trying at the moment!
Eternity - your a champion!! I can't believe how much you've lost so far... sure, you put a bit on during pregnancy, but who didn't! Well done!! I too am longing for the chance to go out & buy some new size 12 pants! I have some nice ones in my cupboard from last year when I got in shape for my wedding & honeymoon - it's so sad that all I can really fit into at the moment is my maternity cargo's ick! I don't want to buy any "fat" clothes either, but it's getting to the point where I just don't have anything to wear now, so I might have to :no:
Anyway, I don't feel like much is happening weight wise with me at the moment, but I'm going to stick to this & remain positive for at least another 3 weeks! I must, must, must start walking again - that is the key I think!!
Count me in for a girls night out when we're all looking hot - may have to "wait" for me (pardon the pun), but I think it would be a great idea!!
sillysideup
18-06-2008, 12:31
Ohh this thread has been forgotten - is that a bad sign??? I know I'm struggling a bit with my weight loss motivation - think it's harder in winter because I want to eat yummy warm comfort food. Never mind - I'm determined to do it slowly and without getting involved in the hideous weight loss industry. (no offense to anyone - just think it's all a bit much that people make money out or it). So I'll carry on day to day just trying to make healthy lifestyle choices and trying to get exercise. I'm finding it really hard on that front!! Still doing the tummy ones - but getting out to walk is hard with 3 kids. Can't go faster than a four year old!!
I must admit, I did forget about this thread!!
Well, with me, I've got 5 walks in a week out of 7 days, I've lost 2.5kg in 2 weeks, 1.2kg the first week and just this week 1.3kg!
I definately think that for ME walking is the key for sure!! I've put on so much weight in my legs since being preggers that I think that a lot of kgs will go just from my legs alone!! Pushing the pram up hills is great for the upper arms and shoulders too so I'm hoping to get rid of this weight pretty quickly!!
So I started at 80.5kg and now I'm 78 so I'll try and remember to log onto this thread each week to update and I've got some Weight Watcher recipes typed out if anyone is interested, pm me and i"ll attatch them for you!! They are really yummy!
I hadn't forgotten about the thread, I've just been ignoring it!!!
Finally started back at the gym on Monday. Have been twice, and was supposed to go again this morning, but Thomas woke at 3.30, and didn't really go back to sleep after that until 7, so thought sleep would be better for my health. will try and go tomorrow, if he sleeps until 6ish!!
We did however manage to go for a walk today instead, so that was my half hour workout. put him to sleep too, so all good!
Hoping the exercise will kick start my healthy eating regime, as I now have about 7/8 weeks before I am a bridesmaid... scary!!
May have to Wii fit it up today too!!
newmumagain
19-06-2008, 17:03
I was all set to post in here early in the week too, but have felt pretty blah since, so I have also been "ignoring" the thread a bit he he...
I thought I'd lost a total of 2.2kg (in around 3 weeks) but stupidly, I got on the scales this morning (after already having my cup of tea) and it shows I'm still only only 1.1kg lost - oh dear! I'm at a loss really... I know I need to exercise but I don't have the motivation at the moment.. other than to walk around the shops for an hour or so, but that's not really the same!
The no carb thing is getting me down - especially without my chef at home to make my meals interesting - I'm too lazy in the kitchen to make the nice meat & salad or vege dishes, so usually end up not eating much at all, which is not helping the weight loss even though it sounds as if it should... sigh... oh well, I will try to get it happening again tomorrow - will check the scales again in the hope that it was just a bad time to get on today & make myself go for a walk up the hills around home...
Hubby is home next Tuesday & I bet he's lost heaps of weight (as men do) and that's going to make me feel so guilty about my effort... oh well.. trying to stay positive! :yes:
Hey girls - Well, I only lost 500g this week! It's ok, it's still a loss though so that's ok!!
I had a 18g piece of caramel slice yesterday, whoa, guilty or what!! I looked it up in my book though, for a 37g piece it was 3 and half points!! so for this piddly little piece (which i thoroughly enjoyed I must add) was worth like 1 and half points!! For you that don't know the point system, I'm allowed to have 28 points per day! I can't even make 20 points at the moment unless I eat caramel slice!! LOL
so I've only had 2 walks this week so far!! I would normally go yesterday and today and of course tomorrow but today I've got my DS home sick today, yesterday I had an enjo party to go to and didn't get home til late and tomorrow I'll try and get out early before having to take Lachlan to get weighed!! I'll have to make an effort to go on the weekend!!
We'll all get there!!
How are you all going??"
Eternity
26-06-2008, 18:46
after 2 weeks of staying the same...I am loosing again now:yelclap: stopping BF has really slowed the weight loss down though......exercise is the key for me, as long as I do at least 30 mins the weight comes off...as far as my eating, its going really well...I have gone without for so long that I dont miss junk at all.
I'm weighing in again tomorrow, this thread is very quiet!! Where is the support ladies!! LOL!!! Nah nah, we are all so busy it's hard enough keeping up with the other threads let alone this one!
I just hope you are all keeping happy and healthy!!
April Mummies I need your help. :hissy:Why oh why cant I find the motivation to lose these last few kilos? I'm not happy with my current weight yet I still stuff my face with foods I know I shouldnt be eating.
:ecomcity:Ok rant and rave over.
How is everyone else going with their baby weight loss?
Love is all you need
09-07-2008, 14:06
Oh Nic...:hugs: those stubborn last few kilos.......I'm the same though I am trying to loose them from my boobs (anyone want bigger ones) and my thighs and hips, I can't complain though cause I was back to pre-baby weight very quickly just these last couple oh and the stretch marks.....
I'm about 4 kilos off my pre-baby weight and I would like to lose another 2 after that. Oh I'm also handing out bigger boobs to anyone who wants them. I dont like them and am giving them away. :laughing: I'm pretty lucky that I didnt get any stretchies but did get the cursed flabby belly. :rolleyes:
Love is all you need
09-07-2008, 14:20
Oh yes maybe we should start a boobie trade on her I want my nice 12C's back please not these 14DDs :laughing:
Oh i got a bit of a flubby belly and still apart muscles oh and the stretchies i'll take some pics and show you girls i'm stuck as to how to make them better!!!