View Full Version : want to try mcn's but no nothing plz help!

Static_Cat
28-05-2008, 10:20
as it says i want to use mcn's fro bub due in oct ds is using disposibles. i know its bad i only had the flat cloth nappies and wasnt keen on that so i didnt know about mcn's. so any help would be good types and pros and cons and wot u think. im restricted here as far as i know all ive seen is pea pods and bum gunius and its still over my head. so plz help me out cause i want try and get them b4 bub arrives. and i want to save money where i can. and im not sure about adding pilchers to it. as u can see i know nothing so go easy on me and plz plz help! and bring it down to baby talk for me. lol.

Student of Life
28-05-2008, 10:55
Hi SpudBoy, I honestly don't have the world of experience either but if you look through the stickies up the top that will help HEAPS! That would be your best bet to start with and then if you have any specific questions after that then the ladies here are super with some great advice. Good luck.

Static_Cat
28-05-2008, 11:40
Hi SpudBoy, I honestly don't have the world of experience either but if you look through the stickies up the top that will help HEAPS! That would be your best bet to start with and then if you have any specific questions after that then the ladies here are super with some great advice. Good luck.
mega ty!:hugs:

only1mica
30-05-2008, 11:10
TBH I really like flat nappies during the day at home...I put them on my 22 month old.

As for the pilchers u will need either PUL (baby Beehinds do a good quality cheap one) or wool that can be hand knitted and treated to make waterproof.

But saying all that...mcn are great when you are out! we have osfa pockets...greenkids, kangas.

Oh and we use baby beehinds Bamboo overnight with a hand knitted wool cover - works great :yes:

Sparrowgal
30-05-2008, 13:48
Hi Spudboy,

I was like you, I wanted to use cloth nappies but didn't know there was anything other than flat terries. Then I read some baby magazines and there were nappies there that I'd never seen before and lots of research later... now I'm so into cloth nappies, it's very addictive as I'm sure most of the people here will tell you!

Yep, read the stickies, they are very very helpful and answer almost every question except... what's the best nappy? Well there are so many different brands out there, it's hard to know what's good, coz what works for some doesn't work for others etc...

I'd say the most "popular" brands of cloth nappies are:

Baby beehinds
Bum Genius
Green Kids

Not saying they're the best but I RARELY see anybody saying bad things about these. So it's best to go with what the majority reckon are good IMO!

Peapods are cheap and lots of people use them but there are also lots of people who HATE them, so I wouldn't recommend them (though I use peapods and they're OK, not my favourite nappy but functional if they don't leak!)

Since you've got a 22 month old, I think maybe you could try a one size fits most brand and see how that goes if you want to give it a try? baby beehinds bamboo fitted ones are a good first nappy I think, easy to use and I love them. Then after you try it on your toddler, you can then feel more confident using it on your newborn!

Static_Cat
01-06-2008, 08:57
TBH I really like flat nappies during the day at home...I put them on my 22 month old.

As for the pilchers u will need either PUL (baby Beehinds do a good quality cheap one) or wool that can be hand knitted and treated to make waterproof.

But saying all that...mcn are great when you are out! we have osfa pockets...greenkids, kangas.

Oh and we use baby beehinds Bamboo overnight with a hand knitted wool cover - works great :yes:
gee ty hun i will take ur info on board and add it to the list i have and run it by dh. ty! :hugs:

Hi Spudboy,

I was like you, I wanted to use cloth nappies but didn't know there was anything other than flat terries. Then I read some baby magazines and there were nappies there that I'd never seen before and lots of research later... now I'm so into cloth nappies, it's very addictive as I'm sure most of the people here will tell you!

Yep, read the stickies, they are very very helpful and answer almost every question except... what's the best nappy? Well there are so many different brands out there, it's hard to know what's good, coz what works for some doesn't work for others etc...

I'd say the most "popular" brands of cloth nappies are:

Baby beehinds
Bum Genius
Green Kids

Not saying they're the best but I RARELY see anybody saying bad things about these. So it's best to go with what the majority reckon are good IMO!

Peapods are cheap and lots of people use them but there are also lots of people who HATE them, so I wouldn't recommend them (though I use peapods and they're OK, not my favourite nappy but functional if they don't leak!)

Since you've got a 22 month old, I think maybe you could try a one size fits most brand and see how that goes if you want to give it a try? baby beehinds bamboo fitted ones are a good first nappy I think, easy to use and I love them. Then after you try it on your toddler, you can then feel more confident using it on your newborn!
ty to hun for all ur info i will take it and suss it all out. and let u know if any of u think of anything else do let me know. :hugs::hugs: