View Full Version : Where in Tas do you live?

12-04-2006, 17:23
I'm from Hobart way.

flower
12-04-2006, 17:44
I'm in the Midlands when 'in residence'.:eek:

Kaileysmum
13-04-2006, 11:12
I live in northern tassie.....Wynyard

Ange&Seth
13-04-2006, 11:21
Hi guys, I live in Shearwater (near Devonport) for about 2 to 3 weeks out of every year, does that count? :laughing:

DoulaFelicity
13-04-2006, 16:32
I live in Hobart, on the Eastern Shore. :)

poppet
13-04-2006, 17:25
I live in Lauderdale (15 min from Hobart)

15-04-2006, 19:21
I live down Kingston way - Southern Tas! :)

LoopyLyndaLou
16-04-2006, 17:57

I live in Sandy Bay, southern Hobart.

Lynda x

luckie_me
17-04-2006, 10:37
i used to live in burnie but have relocated to the gold coast!! but HELLO anyway

17-04-2006, 12:35
Im in Huntingfield! Down near Kat ;)

porridge
19-04-2006, 18:39
I'm in Riverside - just north of Launceston

spinky
04-05-2006, 18:16
I used to live in Kingston...Huntingfield! It is a small world!

07-05-2006, 14:04
Very small!! hehe!! Which st did you live on?

bessa78
08-05-2006, 16:47
Hi tassie mums

my name is ammi and i also live in tassie. I only just discovered the site so thought i would post. I am a mum of 3, 2 girls and a boy. Would love to chat to you guys some time. Dont get out much with all the kids talk soon i hope ammi

luckie_me
08-05-2006, 16:53
Hey Ammi! welcome to bub hub! I dont live In tassie anymore but lookin to move back sometime next year! Back to the Burnie / Wynyard area i think!!
Have funn! :wave:

08-05-2006, 17:40
Hello Ammi :wave:
Where in Tas are you?

bessa78
09-05-2006, 17:30
hi guys

im originally from devonport and then moved to sydney for 7 years where i had my 2 girls then separated from my now ex hubby and moved back to tassie. Met my current partner had my son and am now living in Meander, about 20 minutes out of deloraine. Would love to chat with you all soon bye ammi

GoneBatty
13-05-2006, 20:50
Hey everyone
Im from Tyenna....(where?!? is what ull be thinking....) Its in the bush lol like 1 hour from hobart out past new norfolk and Mt Field National Park (if uve ever heard of that) Only staying up here an my mums place while we get another house closer to town tho YAY!!!
Hope to chat to you all :)

spinky
14-05-2006, 09:26
My house was 1 Glory pl Huntingfield. Which st are you in?

15-05-2006, 12:54
Hi Young 1.

I live in Mariner Circle!

amme
15-05-2006, 13:03
I'm in Otago. Been here for about 6 months.

15-05-2006, 16:58
Welcome :smiliedance:

neans74
25-05-2006, 14:37
WOW so many Tassie mums! :yelclap: this is great! I live in Ranelagh (southern Tassie)

25-05-2006, 19:47
Welcome Neans!!!

Anyone interested in a Tassie Mums Meet?

GoneBatty
25-05-2006, 23:48
Yes I would be! :smiliedance:
Id love to meet all you gals n ur bubs!
I think its definaltly worth looking into. See what other tassie mums reckon.

28-05-2006, 16:20
I'd love to meet up!! :yes:

DoulaFelicity
28-05-2006, 17:54
There is a birth/parenting group in Hobart, maybe Tassie Mums would be interested in gathering there? Good way to meet lots of Tassie Mums. :D

Birth and Beyond
Monday fortnightly from March 27 at 9:30 for 10 am start until 1 pm .

Women considering pregnancy, who are already pregnant, those with babies and young children, and midwives are invited and encouraged to attend this group session to share and learn more about birthing and mothering experiences. Phone Rashelle on 6267 4740.

I also run the Hobart Joyous Birth parenting/birth group; we meet regularly, with the next gathering due in June. If anyone is interested in meeting at my place at the JB Parent's Group just let me know. :D

Mary1979
11-06-2006, 11:47
Hi....

I live in howrah, originally from Lauderdale (trying to convince DH to move back soon). I have two sons, and i am 10 weeks pregnant with our final child...

11-06-2006, 14:33
Welcome Mary! :) Please to meet you!

14-06-2006, 12:33
Welcome Mary!!

2boys<5
16-06-2006, 23:50
Hi there i have just joined this site so i haven't filled out my profile yet.... I have a 4uold son and am due to give birth to my second son in a couple of weeks (mid july) I am looking to get to know some other parents to spend some time with. it has been a little difficult meeting friends in Tas (moved here from Qld) so please drop me a line
Cheers 2boys<2 :wave:

2boys<5
17-06-2006, 00:00
hey there kit kat and doula felicity i'd love to meet up with mums and bubs. felicity i'll be giving you a call first thing tomorrow........ and kitkat please let me know if you do organise a meeting.
if anyone is interested in chatting direct to me please just drop me an email or add me to your msn list elisaytsc2000europe@hotmail.com
haave a fantastic evening everyone
cheers Elisa aka 2boys<5:smiliedance:

DoulaFelicity
17-06-2006, 17:33
I'm not sure if you mean calling my Doula Service, contacting me about the Joyous Birth gatherings, calling Birth and Beyond (which I don't run), or just contacting me to chat - but whichever option you meant, I'm happy to chat/help, Elisa. :D I've added you to MSN.

Tassie can be a bit isolating until you get into the swing of things - especially as a parent with young children. It is a beautiful place to live though. A bit colder than QLD, I would imagine! ;)

Just reiterating that I will be holding a Joyous Birth gathering at my place in late June/early July, so if anyone wants to come along, feel free to PM me. Might be an easy way to meet up for those interested, rather than planning separate gatherings in our small island community. :)

setina
20-06-2006, 14:19
WOWWWWWWWY so many tassie mums in here thats great.

Of course i am a tassie mum as well i live in ringarooma outside of scottsdale.
If you would like to see the introduction i have introduced myself in there.
Anyways catch you all later.

Thanx:)

22-06-2006, 13:22
Welcome Elisa! Where in Tassie are you? Where in QLD are you from? We moved from QLD at the beginning of the year!

22-06-2006, 13:23
And welcome Setina!

porridge
22-06-2006, 16:14
wow setina! Another mum in north Tas... everybody else seems to be in the south :(

proud_mama
26-06-2006, 15:35
Hello all,

I am a tassie mum aswell. I live in Launceston. i have one little boy Levi who is just over 6 months. and who is a chatterbox:D :ecomcity:

26-06-2006, 17:53
Hellloooo
Remember me ;)

porridge
29-06-2006, 21:43
hey proud mama... I have a 3 month old and live in Launceston too!!

Lillynix
01-07-2006, 16:59
Hi girls! I'm fairly new to bubHUB and just thought i'd see if there was any action happening in the Tassie forum...and low and behold there is!

DH and I have just bought our first home in Claremont, were married in Feb '06 and are expecting bubs #1 on Sept 1st...although I fear she may come early :eek:

I look forward to chatting with you all :)

GoneBatty
01-07-2006, 22:59
hey,

welcome to bubhub. im sure u'll love it as much as the rest of us.

Congats On buying ur new house and good luck with bubs :)

03-07-2006, 15:27
Welcome dragonfly!! :smiliedance:

LoopyLyndaLou
04-07-2006, 11:33
sorry I have not been about much recently, we decided SAndy Bay was not the area for us, too built up and not helped by the fact someone broke in to our car and stole our bag whilst the car was all the way down our drive and in our carport so we moved.

We have moved up to Tolmans Hill which is great although my ears do pop when we drive up from the city!

The kids have settled well in to Aussie life inon the whole, they have times when they miss their dogs and friends in the Uk as do I. Right now I am feeling very homesick as back in the UK the kids would be breaking up for their long summer hols, it would mean lots of days outs, picnics and paddling pools with friends. I miss the horses trotting down our road and seeing the tractors busy working in the firelds around our house and the sounds of cows and cockerels in the morning.

My husband seems oblivious to all of this as he misses nothing in the UK (mind you he did commute 5 hours a day to and from the city!) and doesn't allow me to feel down which frustrates me as he gets cross if I say I miss anything.

All the kids are now in swimming, gymanstics, I have joined a gm and have made loits of friends so life is pretty good. Our heating is broekn at the moment and has been for over two weeks, it should be repaired tomorrow which will e a relief as it is hard to keep cheerful when your kitchen is only 6 degrees in the morning!

Take care all

Lynda xx

05-07-2006, 08:49
Which gym did you join Lynda?
Sorry to hear you miss your home, but it is normal. :hugs:
You are not too far from me now then. Bout a 15 minute drive :yes:

Jayden,s_Mum
09-07-2006, 01:58
Im new to this fourm,My name is Jacqui and I have a four monthe old son named Jayden and a dp named Trevor..We live in Tasmania in hobart area..hope to get to know you all
Take Care Jacqui

09-07-2006, 08:56
Welcome!! :D
Where in Hobart do you live?

GoneBatty
09-07-2006, 15:43
Hi Jacqui! :wave:

Welcome to bubhub.

Jayden,s_Mum
09-07-2006, 19:05
I live in Gagebrook.

Moorish
10-07-2006, 11:51
Hi everyone!!

WOW! I know it's been a while since I've been on bubhub, but LOOK at how many Tassie mums there are - both north and south!

I also can't believe how many are from Lauderdale (that's where I am) I think I counted 3! How come I don't know you guys??!! And there are so many other mums close by - (that includes Kingston/Tollmans/Claremont etc!) In comparison to a place like Melb/Syd for example, half an hour to a friend's place is close!:D

I'm SOO keen to do a mums meet sometime, Tassie is such a beautiful place!
I went to Melb in Jan - and again in March, and caught up with the Melb mums meet and it was great just to relax in a park with the kids and mums.

So what's everyones situation? Who works? Who's a SAHM? Who does a little of both? When/where would be a good place to meet up? I'm easy - I wouldn't even mind driving to Campbell Town if it meant meeting some of the northern-ers!!

Lillynix
10-07-2006, 16:33
Wow it's nice to see i'm not the only new one around! It's great to see so many Tassie mums, see we're not totally disconnected from the rest of the world :p

I was working in Hospitality as wait/bar staff I have worked at Moonah Cafe Bar Bistro, Maypole Hotel and Nelsons Tavern. I had stop work fairly early in my pregnancy as all the physical work was just putting too much strain on my poor body. I plan to be a SAHM for the first 6months of bubs little life, would love to be a SAHM until bubs starts school but finances wont allow for it :(
So after that it's back off to work for me! Hoping to avoid childcare by only working nightshifts so while i'm at work DH will be home and vice versa :)

porridge
10-07-2006, 16:56
I'm a SAHM for at least the next 9 months... I've got 12 months leave (am a teacher). Will probably not go back to work though - DH wants more babies!! :p

I must admit I'm a little envious of all the bubhub meets that seem to be happening... i've got a pink ribbon on my nappy bag, but haven't seen anyone else with one here :(

GoneBatty
11-07-2006, 14:26
Ok ladies help me out a bit here...
Last week had a major fight with bubs dad (we were together but im now classing it as we arnt after what happened)
Anyways im currently at my mums up the bush and wanting to move somewhere a bit closer to civilisation!
So... my question for u is where is an alright area to rent for $180 and under and not to far away from everything for lil ol me who only has her L's (hopefully that will change on 14th of august tho:fingerscrossed: )

Ok well hope i get some ideas thanks :)

11-07-2006, 16:16
Jacqui, your little man is just too cute!!

Anna, I would love a meet up too :thumbsup: All the other states have them, so why can't we! ;)

I am a SAHM, I don't drive, I have just finished my Teacher Aide Cert. II and wanted to look for work but Bella has not adjusted to day care at all :(

I also do scrapbooking by party plan as it is my hobby!

I do not drive, have my l's but need to get lessons!!

Claire, sorry to hear your bummer news :hugs:
MMM what about renting down MY way haha

Lillynix
11-07-2006, 16:37
Ok ladies help me out a bit here...
Last week had a major fight with bubs dad (we were together but im now classing it as we arnt after what happened)
Anyways im currently at my mums up the bush and wanting to move somewhere a bit closer to civilisation!
So... my question for u is where is an alright area to rent for $180 and under and not to far away from everything for lil ol me who only has her L's (hopefully that will change on 14th of august tho:fingerscrossed: )

Ok well hope i get some ideas thanks :)

Sorry to hear what happened with bubs dad!

As for your rental situation, you could always try areas such as Claremont (where I am, it's not as bad as people seem to think, our neighbours are fantastic, and it's quiet up where we are) Moonah is a good area too, and reasonably priced! (DH and I were renting a 3bedroom mansion for $190pw before we bought this place) umm where else? Lutana has some nicely priced places too, just be sure to stay away from the zinc works LoL
there's always Glenorchy, some areas are worse than others when it comes to the people who live there, MIL is in Glenorchy and it's a beautiful area where she is that's all I can think of at the moment for areas in your price range. All these areas are close to busses aswell. I know how you feel about needed to get around, I currently still have my L's too. Have a test booked for 7th August, i'll be 36weeks pregnant...hope bubs doesn't decide to come early!

11-07-2006, 16:46
What is it with us Tassie Mum's who only have our L's :rolleyes: :laughing:
I only just got mine at the beginning of the year :o

GoneBatty
11-07-2006, 16:59
Thanks ladies!
Will have a browse about on the net.
Ive had my L's sice i left school 1 1/2 years ago! mum wouldnt let me drive when i was preg!
Ah well better head off things to do (mor like house to clean hehe)

Lillynix
12-07-2006, 11:38
I think it's just a case of "everything is pretty close so we don't need to drive" I've had my L's for 5years now and have never really needed to drive anywhere in that time...although it would have been handy when I was doing nightshifts and not finishing work until 2am!

13-07-2006, 17:33
Yeah when I just had Olivia I did not need a car, now with two kids, one being in school and me looking for work it makes it quite hard at times.

poppet
21-07-2006, 10:36
Wow look at all the Tassie mums now, you don't read a thread 4 a little while and it just goes off:laughing:

I'd definately be up for a meet, we should get onto it soon it seems that there are quite a few of us who want to meet up:D

21-07-2006, 13:23
I'm up for that! :yelclap:

Lillynix
21-07-2006, 21:03
I'd definately be up for a meet aswell! Provided I can give birth first! It's hard enough struggling from the lounge to the kitchen at the moment (which is all of about 8metres LoL) 34weeks today! Only 6more to go!

beljay
22-07-2006, 01:22
Hi :wave: all you tassie mums. I'm a newy at this and seems alot of tassie mums here are from southern tassie. Well im up in Ulverstone (North-west)bit hard to meet other mums if you all live down south:( ahh well can always browse on this site to see whats goin on:smiliedance: By the way im a mum of 2 girls 8 months and 22 months aaahhhhh

22-07-2006, 08:41
Hi Beljay and welcome!!
Wow that sure is close, how do you cope! Mine are 4 years apart and I find that difficult at times!

DragonFly not long to go now almost on the home stretch!! Have you picked out names yet?

LoopyLyndaLou
22-07-2006, 20:05
Hi Tassie mums,

long time no type!

Everything seems to have got really busy on here at the moment - I knew there would be a lot of us eventually!

I ave been AWOL as during the last school holidays we moved very quickly and did not have internet for a few weeks and then one child after another seems to have been sick so computer time has been limited.

We have moved from Sandy Bay as I didn't like it there, too built up and the house was too small for us so we have moved out of town to a less built up place and more space. It is nice up here although was very cold intially as we had no heating for almost 3 weeks - it was bl**dy freezing I can tell you and I was NOT a happy bunny!

I am still settlng in to Aussie/Tassie living, feeling a ittle homesick as not only am I missing friends and family I am missing my summer, England has a heat wave at the moment and I have been living in Winter since October last year - getting fed up with it now!

Take care all

Lynda xx

mummy to 3 boys 8yrs, 5 1/2 yrs and 21 mths

CodSop
24-07-2006, 18:08
Hello everyone :wave: .Wow so many tassie mums . I am new to bubhub but am totally loving it. I live in New Norfolk and i love it cause its a small quite town where no ones in a hurry. :p I have given up work to be a stay at home mum so am finding it a bit lonely :crying: . It would be awesome to catch up with some other mums :D .

GoneBatty
24-07-2006, 21:29
Hey codysmum! :wave:

im out your way! (kinda out bush tho hehe)

welcome to the hub, hope u enjoy :)

25-07-2006, 14:13
Welcome Gail :wave:

LoopyLyndaLou
26-07-2006, 08:54
Just checked back through the thread and found I have been repeating myself - forgot I had posted about our move already - its because I am getting old - sorry!

Kristy, the gym I joined is All Aerobics on Collins Street, it is owned by the parents of one of my sons school friends. I ahven't been able to get there in almost three weeks with one thing and another but hopefully next week I shall get back in to it.

Lynda xx

Hannahsma
27-07-2006, 21:41
Hi Tassie Mums,
My name is Sam & I am new to this site. I am glad to see that there a few Tasmanians here.
I am the proud & harrassed mum of Maddie 10, Nic 9 & Hannah almost 15 months old. Together with my partner Shane, we live in beautiful Deloraine.
I would love to chat with other mums from around our lovely state & who knows???? Maybe get together for coffee someday
Love to chat soon
Sam:smiliedance:

porridge
28-07-2006, 10:08
Hi Hannahsma!

Welcome to bubub :wave:

I live in Launceston - not too far away! and would love to chat! I have a 4 month old son.

28-07-2006, 10:38
Hi Sam! :)

Porridge, I didnt realise you were Tassie too, that makes 3 of us in the April thread! :D

porridge
28-07-2006, 11:02
I know!! fancy living all the way down there though! ;)

28-07-2006, 17:09
Kristy, the gym I joined is All Aerobics on Collins Street, it is owned by the parents of one of my sons school friends. I ahven't been able to get there in almost three weeks with one thing and another but hopefully next week I shall get back in to it.

Lynda xx

Yes I have not been in 2 weeks either! I go to FeelGood.

Xavier's Mumma
01-08-2006, 13:30
Hi everyone, Im new to this site joined yesterday lol already addicted.
Im from launceston

01-08-2006, 14:07
Hi Alicia :wave:

porridge
04-08-2006, 15:30
Hi Alicia :wave: I'm from Launceston too!!!

does anyone know the numbers of north and south?? :detective:

05-08-2006, 17:38
Welcome Angela :wave:

CodSop
11-08-2006, 14:21
New Norfolk, great place for the kids:smiliedance:

Hi angela :wave: i live in new norfolk aswell!!

Lillynix
16-08-2006, 14:13
OoOOOo OoOooO OoOOo so many new Tassie girls! Welcome to everyone, I hope you enjoy it here!

I've been very slack lately and haven't posted in a long time, due to me being slack and in pain.

Just a quick rundown on what's been happening...

I'm now 37weeks5days pregnant (and the time is passing way too slowly for my likings!)

I'm over being pregnant, i'm in constant pain and discomfort, I haven't slept in gawd knows how long (I never sleep longer than 2 hours at a time) bubs will NOT stop moving about, she's taken to moving her head and her feet at THE SAME TIME!!! So I get headbutted in my pelvis which hurts like hell, aswell as being booted in the ribs! (despite the fact that she has engaged quite low in my pelvis, her feet can still reach my ribs http://www.birth.com.au/forum/images/smilies/mad.gif )
Fluid retention is getting worse in my legs, nothing helps. I'm just mentally and phsyically drained and want it all to be over but have decided that the world is against me and I will go over my due date. Pre-labour signs seem to make an appearence, then they vanish into thin air the following day. Ahh well enough of my whinging, it's someone elses turn now! LoL

So there you have, that is the world of me at the moment! :o
But on the good side, I had my driving test on Monday 7th of August...and to my absoloute shock horror...I PASSED!!! :D
Not that i've been driving, it's too painful, was in pain the whole 45mins of my test :(

Anyways, this is enough from me girls, I'll pop back in soon hopefully!

16-08-2006, 18:08
:fingerscrossed: OHHH Hang in there, not long now. :yelclap:

GoneBatty
16-08-2006, 21:17
Oh, wishing you all the best of luck xxxDragonFlyxxx!!!

Hope this last little bit hurrys along a bit more for you!

Keep us posted :smiliedance:

angelfriend87
25-08-2006, 19:12
Im from Claremont. :smiliedance:

27-08-2006, 15:14
Welcome angelfriend87 :smiliedance:

chloes_mum
29-08-2006, 01:01
I'm in Melbourne but have family in New Norfolk and only just came back from holidays over there. You guys are so lucky it is such a lovely place!!!

29-08-2006, 11:27
Hi there Brionhey :wave:

Lillynix
04-09-2006, 09:41
Well it's been a few weeks since I last posted, but now here I am with a beautiful baby girl!!! Holly Jade born 25th August via emergency c-section weighing in at 8lb1oz.

To cut a long story short...I was booked in to be induced on Aug 24th due to high blood pressure, they broke my waters around 11:30am and put me on a syntocinin drip after hours of nothing happening, they did another internal around 4:30pm to break my waters some more, and BAM the contractions hit hard and fast, no break inbetween them, they were constant one after the other. I asked for an epidural, it didn't work properly only numbing my left side, finally it came time to push around 5:30am, after two hours of pushing Holly wasn't budging, she'd turned prosterior and was stuck in my pelvis, off I went to theatre, they topped up my epidural, it numbed my legs and my back but NOT my stomach, they offered me a spinal or a general, I chose the general simply because of the amount of pain I was in, I honestly couldn't take it any more, so although it meant that both myself and my husband missed the birth of our first baby, I (and the doctors) thought it was best to go the general. So at 7:37am 25th Aug Holly was born!

poppet
04-09-2006, 10:01
oh how exciting sorry to hear about the complicated birth,

:smiliedance: Welcome Holly Jade:smiliedance:

what a pretty name

04-09-2006, 11:03
Congratulations and welcome Holly Jade!

GoneBatty
04-09-2006, 15:58
:smiliedance: YAY! Welcome Little HOLLY JADE!!!:smiliedance:

Congrats DragonFly!

diva-n-dan
04-09-2006, 16:15
Howdy everyone and Welcome to this wonderful world Holly Jade!!!!

I live in Burnie region and whilst not pregnant yet (not through lack of trying!) I'd love to meet up with other bubhub posters in the north of Tassie.... any takers?

porridge
04-09-2006, 17:32
hey diva-n-dan :wave:

I'm in Launceston... is that north enough for you? :D

WELCOME HOLLY!!

05-09-2006, 15:46
Welcome Diva!! :wave: