View Full Version : Side-by-Side - tell me the lot!
26-05-2008, 22:04
I'm considering the First Wheels City Twi (http://www.firstwheels.nl/en/city_twin/)n pram... but am REALLY worried about it being so WIDE! So ladies - tell me your experiences with side-by-side prams. Are they really THAT annoying while shopping?
Tell me everything - the good, the bad and the ugly!!!
It's hard to tell how wide that one is from the pic. I have a Childcare side-by-side stroller which is actually fine around the shops. It fits down most aisles and is pretty easy to steer.
It is really a very compact stroller though compared to some side-by-sides. Downside is it's pretty heavy to lift into the boot of the car but I guess most doubles would be.
26-05-2008, 23:03
This one is quite wide! It wasn't too heavy though - must be alloy frame or something. I tested it today to make sure it would fit in my car lol!
Well light is good! But you might want to check it feels stable going round corners etc.
Maybe you could borrow an extra bub to test it out with 2 kids in it?
Not sure about the width. Hopefully someone who has used it will post their experiences for you!
sorry - i cant help... but that is one funky pram!! i want one :D (just a pity i dnt need one :laughing:))
26-05-2008, 23:13
sorry - i cant help... but that is one funky pram!! i want one :D (just a pity i dnt need one :laughing:))
Ain't it HOT! Now all I have to decide is what colour to get lol. I think I'll stick with black though and just dress it up with some cute funky pram liners :)
I'll have the bassinette option with the seat to begin with - though I'm sure bub will end up in the sling for the first few months anyway...
Whispers
26-05-2008, 23:21
Ive had both. And yes the side by side ones are so annoying to shop with. it wouldnt be so bad if shops were designed better shopping in coles or woolies is ok except for when yopur finished and you only fit out one exit and that one happens to be the longest line but shopping in kmart or clothing stores its just so hard to find places where you actualy fit. But saying that they are a hell of a lot easier to push then the other one IMO
26-05-2008, 23:30
Ive had both. And yes the side by side ones are so annoying to shop with. it wouldnt be so bad if shops were designed better shopping in coles or woolies is ok except for when yopur finished and you only fit out one exit and that one happens to be the longest line but shopping in kmart or clothing stores its just so hard to find places where you actualy fit. But saying that they are a hell of a lot easier to push then the other one IMO
Thanks for that MB. The other pram I was considering is the i-Candy pear which is a tandem of a sort... its not a long limo-style one though, but its not sold in Australia and would virtually cost the same as TWO of the other prams...
http://www.icandyuk.com/pear-features.htm
Its very NOICE and lovely and all that - and would fit through shops better... but I'm worried about it costing so much (cause of shipping) and then being unable to use the warranty.
Whispers
26-05-2008, 23:34
Thanks for that MB. The other pram I was considering is the i-Candy pear which is a tandem of a sort... its not a long limo-style one though, but its not sold in Australia and would virtually cost the same as TWO of the other prams...
Its very NOICE and lovely and all that - and would fit through shops better... but I'm worried about it costing so much (cause of shipping) and then being unable to use the warranty.
That one looks nice i had the big bus thing lol it was a pain in the bum to push becasue you couldnt steer it from the front i so should of shopped better :p
andrewsmum
26-05-2008, 23:35
I LOVE the look of the pram!! I think it's very funky! Looks like a double bugaboo...
I've just looked at the pram's measurements - I think 78cm would be quite tight if you are trying to go through a standard sized door (80cm wide) even though these are the ones that SHOULD fit a wheelchair through. Mind you, with our pram at 75 cm wide, it's a tight squeeze through some doors but mostly I can get in (may need an engineering degree though).
I can't get through the doors at our local doctor's, or at DS1's preschool. There are shops I absolutely won't go into - simply cos there's no way I can navigate a double pram in there.
My pram (Peg Perego Aria Twin) is great for 2 newborns but now my boys are bigger at 11-12kgs each it's getting really hard to steer. You need to consider how the pram would steer if you had one say, 15kg bub on one side and a 3kg newborn on the other.
I can recommend you a tandem stroller - I saw this at the expo and will get delivery of it in the next few days... It's a BabyDaze Marco Sky L tandem stroller. If you're so worried about getting around then this may be an alternative? (sure, it doesn't look quite funky, but I hope it's practical) It doesn't feel like a big loooonng pram, and is only as wide as a single pram. Seems much easier to handle than my current pram also...
But hey, don't get me wrong I DO think the Firstwheels pram is very cool!! I actually wish my twins were born now instead of 18months earlier LOL... I would SOOO love a pram like that!
You may be limited as to where you can go - cafes/cotton on 4 kids/some toy stores/ or even some major department stores if they have their promo stuff in the middle of the aisle... but for the most part, you CAN get around with a side-by-side pram. Just needs some tricky manouevering through tight, small doors.
Not sure if any of this helps... but good luck...
Chunkydunks
26-05-2008, 23:39
I would personally go with something that will last the whole time. The first one your looking at is great but how long is Jedd going to be in it for? And how long past him growing out of it is bub2 going to be in a pram. With the icandy one it looks like when Jedd's out of the needing to be pushed around stage you can just have the one seat attatched to it. Am I making any sense?:laughing:
27-05-2008, 07:57
I can recommend you a tandem stroller - I saw this at the expo and will get delivery of it in the next few days... It's a BabyDaze Marco Sky L tandem stroller. If you're so worried about getting around then this may be an alternative? (sure, it doesn't look quite funky, but I hope it's practical) It doesn't feel like a big loooonng pram, and is only as wide as a single pram. Seems much easier to handle than my current pram also...
You may be limited as to where you can go - cafes/cotton on 4 kids/some toy stores/ or even some major department stores if they have their promo stuff in the middle of the aisle... but for the most part, you CAN get around with a side-by-side pram. Just needs some tricky manouevering through tight, small doors.
Not sure if any of this helps... but good luck...
Thanks - that has helped heaps! I just googled the Marco Sky and its very cute! I actually dont mind it. One of the bonuses with the FWCT though is that the toddler seat reclines as well - and Jedd love his pram naps... I think going for something that both seats recline is important.
I think I might have to hijack a friends child to give it a whirl and see how it goes as far as weight distribution... any volunteers?? :laughing:
I would personally go with something that will last the whole time. The first one your looking at is great but how long is Jedd going to be in it for? And how long past him growing out of it is bub2 going to be in a pram. With the icandy one it looks like when Jedd's out of the needing to be pushed around stage you can just have the one seat attatched to it. Am I making any sense?
Yeah - definitely makes sense - but I have 2 one-seater pram that I use now, so when he outgrows the use of the pram I already have another two prams ready to go. Plus I'll sell it and be able to buy another lol. Not so worried about that side of things - more the fitting-through-tight-spaces.
Also, the price is a big difference. The FWCT can be purchased down the road for $970 (including bassinette). Cause its sold in Australia the warranty will still be useable. The Pear though is only sold in the UK and will cost me around $1500 plus accessories which I'll need to buy at the same time to avoid paying too much more on shipping. I love the look of the Pear and think it'll be more practical - but to have a pram without a warranty scares me! I've had probs with prams before and the warranty was a lifesaver - I'm a bit scared of it happening again.
27-05-2008, 08:03
I just checked the specs on the Marco Sky - and it wont fit in my car :( That said I would have to try first though - cause the specs of the FWCT say that it wouldn't fit either - but after doing some maneuvering yesterday I managed to squeeze it in nicely :D
GummyBear
27-05-2008, 09:47
That is one gorgeous pram! Did you get a quote for it? Do you mind me asking how much? I'm almost TTC #2 and I would love a tandem that isn't as long as the traditional ones.
27-05-2008, 10:16
That is one gorgeous pram! Did you get a quote for it? Do you mind me asking how much? I'm almost TTC #2 and I would love a tandem that isn't as long as the traditional ones.
Isn't it just!
Yes I did get a quote. The only way to buy this pram is from a baby shop in the UK. It is not sold outside of the UK, nor is it sold online. Its very exclusive :p
This is the email from the cheapest of the two baby shops who were willing to sell it to me (I contacted about 10 shops but they all said No because of their contracts with the manufacturer).
We are able to supply you an iCandy Pear with Lower Carrycot. The total cost including VAT is £484.98 so less VAT this is £412.75. However, the shipping costs are quite high at £260.00. Total price = £672.00
So thats the price for the pram with the two normal seats, the Lower Carrycot convertor (one of the seats actually converts to a Carrycot rather than having a third seat) plus the convertor to change it from being a single to a tandem. Its not including other accessories, like suncovers, raincovers, cushiony pram liner inserts etc.
onemummmy
27-05-2008, 10:24
if you have the money I think the peg perego duette sw would be great, you can move the seats directions and even use a capsule for ur newborn on it!
here is a link http://www.pegperego.com/page.php?sid=b0d37cec97b592f954756e3f609e8b38&pageid=IJVNL001&idf=05&idp=0000000150&cl=N
if I had twins or 2 close together I think I would get it!
ooh the icandy one is cool! (cant use the capsules here yet though :()
onemummmy
27-05-2008, 10:36
ok I just used an online calculator, thats $1386.43, alot of money! I would just get a phil & teds. Whats VAT?
biscotti
27-05-2008, 10:37
I came this close to buying the First Wheels when they first came out in Australia (had my own thread and all :D) but was put off at the last second by the UK reviews, I'll see if I can find one to show you.
I have a P&T and also now a Peg Pergeo Twin Aria and both are great for different reasons. I have a 21mth old and a6 mth old btw.
biscotti
27-05-2008, 10:58
This is actually a great review (http://strollersandprams.com/strollers/526/First-Wheels-City-Twin/review-1.html), I wish I'd seen this one before I changed my mind :yes: Most of the UK reviews mention that it doesn't fit through a lot of doors, including many people's own front doors and that put me off, a lot.
GummyBear
27-05-2008, 16:39
Isn't it just!
Yes I did get a quote. The only way to buy this pram is from a baby shop in the UK. It is not sold outside of the UK, nor is it sold online. Its very exclusive :p
This is the email from the cheapest of the two baby shops who were willing to sell it to me (I contacted about 10 shops but they all said No because of their contracts with the manufacturer).
So thats the price for the pram with the two normal seats, the Lower Carrycot convertor (one of the seats actually converts to a Carrycot rather than having a third seat) plus the convertor to change it from being a single to a tandem. Its not including other accessories, like suncovers, raincovers, cushiony pram liner inserts etc.
Thanks for that. With the conversion from pounds and the added fear that things could get damaged/lost in the mail, I guess it's a bit risky.
I think I'll end up with a (probably second hand) mountain buggy side-by-side. A friend has one and they are amazingly easy to steer and you have no trouble fitting them through standard doors.
I love the First Wheels but it's wider than a standard door, so I figure it would end up causing all kinds of problems.
28-05-2008, 08:42
ok I just used an online calculator, thats $1386.43, alot of money! I would just get a phil & teds. Whats VAT?
VAT is the UK version of our GST. I think its 17 or 18% If you buy it from Australia the VAT component can be removed.
Thanks for that. With the conversion from pounds and the added fear that things could get damaged/lost in the mail, I guess it's a bit risky.
I think I'll end up with a (probably second hand) mountain buggy side-by-side. A friend has one and they are amazingly easy to steer and you have no trouble fitting them through standard doors.
I love the First Wheels but it's wider than a standard door, so I figure it would end up causing all kinds of problems.
This is my biggest concern. I wouldn't be bringing it inside though - it would live in the car. The only doorways it would have to fit through are those of the shopping centre, doctors and health nurse (on the rare occasion I decide to visit lol). I can only think of one entrance we may have problems with and thats at my local library - but I know how we can get around it as well.
I had a twin pram that was apparently one of the more narrow ones for door ways and still found it a real hassle. If I had my time again I would definitely have got a Phil and Teds.
Snazzy prams:) They do look bulky though. For compactability (is that a word??:rolleyes:) the P&T is great, just like pushing a single pram, I cant tell much difference from having one in there to two.
Good luck deciding!
biscotti
28-05-2008, 09:10
If I had my time again I would definitely have got a Phil and Teds.
For compactability (is that a word??:rolleyes:) the P&T is great, just like pushing a single pram, I cant tell much difference from having one in there to two.
I agree, for whizzing in and out of the shops, the P&T has been great for my two little ones, it's just like a single pram. Whereas the Peg Perego Twin Aria that we have in my husbands car is nice too, but its much wider (a side by side) so we have to be a lot choosier about which doorways/checkouts we can go through. The First Wheels is even wider again which is why I didn't buy it. Best of luck! I love pram shopping :yes: :D :o
borntobemummy
28-05-2008, 09:21
hey MoT, I'll go pram shopping with you!!:D I need to have a look for what we can use too plus I have both my kids that can test them out;)
28-05-2008, 10:19
hey MoT, I'll go pram shopping with you!!:D I need to have a look for what we can use too plus I have both my kids that can test them out;)
Hey Its a date!!!
I've checked out the P&T but I dont really like it. Few reasons. I tried Jedd in the toddler seat when it was in toddler/baby mode and he just looked uncomfortable - like he was about to slide off! It had no thigh support, just bum support.
The dash and vibe version of the P&T have toddler seat attachments that do recline slightly, but Jedd is still going to need to recline a lot more than what it offers.
When it was in toddler/toddler mode I found my shins kept on kicking against the bottom seat. I'm sure I would 'learn' to walk with it - but it just bothered me.
Also when its in toddler/toddler mode, the seat at the bottom is virtually a shelf that hangs off the back of the pram with very little support. I dont feel comfortable with my baby sitting on a shelf.
Every time I have bought a pram I've ummed and ahhhed over the P&T - but always found a reason not to buy it. I have heard lots of good reviews on it - but I just dont think its the pram for us :)
felixandparis
12-06-2010, 08:10
I can't rate the ICandy Pear high enough!.
I have a Quinny Buzz and Mutsy Spider which I used when I just had one child. Purchased an ICandy Pear direct from the UK for my newborn and my 31 month old.
Brilliant!. Don't like the P&T how the baby is under the toddler seat - definately prefer the Pear.
Find a retailer....in Aussie - http://www.icandyworld.com/au/en/stockists
The Peach will come out later in the year here - and will be even lighter with additional features if you can hold out for that!