View Full Version : Short Stories Snippets and Funny Things

sammykat
12-04-2006, 12:39 PM
Calling all mums and pregnant ladies!!!
I am collecting little stories and amusing incidents for a book I am compiling on being a mum and the reality behind it!
I am interested in any stories on pregnancy, birth, breast feeding raising children anything amusing or any questions that you think would be useful to have covered.
Id appreciate anything you can give me. Even tips and hints.
I will keep you posted on my progress.

Funkychicken
12-04-2006, 12:51 PM
I can imagine that you won't be short of stories here! I'll share a little story from when I had DS#1.
Tristan was only about 6 weeks old and we were still adjusting to the broken sleep etc... many nights I would cradle him in my arm while I slept as once asleep after a feed I was too scared to move him in case he woke. One night I spent hours just dozing with him in the crook of my arm.. I fidgeted with utmost care so as not to disturb him. After a few hours of this, I woke up to discover I had been cradling our cat all that time. I was so sleep deprived I didn't notice the difference. Tristan was in fact deep in sleep in his bassinette. I missed what could have been a decent sleep! The cat was very quickly deposited outside with no invitation to return soon!:p

sammykat
15-04-2006, 09:04 PM
LOL! :D
That is so funny!
That one is definetly going in! :hugs:
If you dont mind, I havent got all the legal stuff sorted its all just drafts upon drafts at the moment, but I will get back to everyone!
Thankyou so much for posting that its made my day! LOL!

Funkychicken
16-04-2006, 12:03 PM
Hi Sam,

I think I have to eat my words though. I was sure you would get a big response to this thread. Come on mums and dads, tell us your funnies!:)

CJJHRA
16-04-2006, 01:11 PM
honestly, I think some people might be a little reluctant if its going to be in a book, as theres nothing in it for them kinda thing..

I cant really think of anything right of the top of my head

veve
16-04-2006, 01:40 PM
hmmm Jack was a few weeks old... and I was SERIOUSLY sleep deprived.... I woke up one night to realise that I was actually breastfeeding my doona (in the lying down position) - I only woke when I went to move the doona... to switch breasts ... :rolleyes: :laughing:

Funkychicken
16-04-2006, 04:01 PM
honestly, I think some people might be a little reluctant if its going to be in a book, as theres nothing in it for them kinda thing..

I find that really sad. I kind of hope people will do things like this to help out another person with a project or even just for the heck of it. No need for personal details so no privacy issues.

Now it's sounding like my thread! :o Sorry, I was just thinking about what a funny read it would be when it is finished.:p

Taylahsmum
16-04-2006, 04:16 PM
Sammykat i think its a great idea !!! :thumbsup:

Sorry i dont really have any funny stories as yet. I would have loved 2 have read such a book while i was pg... and i would still enjoy a great read in the small amounts of free time i get.

xkwzit
16-04-2006, 07:49 PM
I'm sorta with Allannah's Mum, maybe we'll write books one day hey AM? :thumbsup: .

But if it makes you happy to share - go for it :D

sammykat
16-04-2006, 08:18 PM
Im not after peoples stories for my profit, I will fill most the book with my own info and stories, I just wanted to add some funny bits to lighten the whole thing.
Hopefully Ill get a few thankyou to those who have added they are great

sugar n spice
16-04-2006, 08:31 PM
I think this is a great idea, each to their own though. Ok um i know i have heaps of funny things but more along the lines of raising kids and the funny things they do not so much when i was pregnant as i was soooo sick but hey you said raising kids right? ok well let me think

oh heres one from last week
My ds was about to have lunch before kindy and i said to him it'd have to be noodles as im out of bread being food shopping day the house was empty anyway he went to school and the teacher told them not to forget their lunch for tomorrow. after school my ds said to me " Mum i told my teacher i wont have sandwhiches tomorrow, she asked me why and i said because there is no food in the house" hmmmm well i hope the teacher doesn't think i starve my poor kid:laughing: . Bet she was surprised when he went to school with sandwhiches the next day and a lunch box fall:laughing: .

It was my sons first birthday and my oldest had an accident on the floor, i thought id got it all but well must of missed a tiny bit as yep you guessed it i yelled out to dh had he given ds some chocolate but before the words had come out of my mouth I quickly realised hed eaten his brothers ****. well that will be a story for his 21st:laughing: . Anyway as you could imagine we ran to the bathroom and washed that mouth out. omg im roflmao remembering this one.

If i can think of some more i will post again though remeber no names if using this info. Goodluck with your book

sugar n spice
18-04-2006, 11:43 AM
Let us know when you do that book. I hope you got what you were looking for here:hugs: :fingerscrossed:

sammykat
18-04-2006, 03:17 PM
If, and heres hoping, I do get it published. Everyone who contributed I will give a free copy of the book.:smiliedance:
Everything that Ive gotten so far is great.
Thanks again guys! :thumbsup:

rachdent
20-04-2006, 09:15 PM
Hey there

Just wanted to say good on ya for giving this a go - I too have written a book on breastfeeding and am currently in the process of finding a publisher! I'm surprised at the response you've found on here as I got nothing (well mostly) but positive feedback and wonderful stories/photos.

Don't give up - if you believe in something you should go for it!

Also, I'd love to contribute but can't think of anything at this time (pregnant and knackered, should go to bed), however if I do think of anything I'll definately let ya know!

Good luck,

squiglet
11-05-2006, 11:39 AM
I thin it's a terific idea, keep at it.
Sorry I can't help out as I don't have a bub yet:o

If your still writing it in a year I am sure to have some stories. My life seems to be made up of one silly thing I do to the next.

11-05-2006, 05:50 PM
What a good idea! Keep at it!

YoungMumSteph
17-05-2006, 06:58 PM
My Ds was Breastfeed and loved it and when he got to about 6months, when we were out in public he pull my top down n start sucking on my chest, not my nipple, and this would cause my milk to leak all over my top. I switched to wearing black soon after!