View Full Version : 1st birthday cake

~Temet Nosce~
24-05-2008, 11:30
I just got thinking about what sort of cake Im going to get for my dd, and the thought of eggs in cake etc. crossed my mind. Should I get an egg free one in case she is allergic? I dont think she is because she has had food with traces of egg in it and has been fine. Im probably just being paranoid :o shes fine with dairy too.
what sort of cake did you do for your bubs?

punkbaby
24-05-2008, 11:33
If shes had egg before then shes probably ok, can you cook a batch of cup cakes or muffins or something and see how she goes first? Otherwise there is always ice cream cake LOL or frozen yoghurt or you could go a nice egg free cake:)

Benji
24-05-2008, 11:34
For DS' 1st birthday I just made him a carrot cake lol lucky boy.

I used "No Egg" and later on found out that in fact he does have an egg allergy, so lucky that I did (although he has never had a problem with cakes etc from bakeries - just scrambled / boiled concentrated egg).

No Egg is good, but can make the cake seem a little dry, just add a bit of water. Found in the health food section.

Mums5Kids
24-05-2008, 17:04
i made a number one there is a pic of it in the cake thread my bub didnt even get to have any of her cake because i forgot to give her some!

~Temet Nosce~
24-05-2008, 18:07
hmmm I have been wanting pancakes lately so I reckon Ill make up some tomorrow for brekky and see how she goes with a tiny bit- if she is going to have a reaction, better at home than at a 1st bday party.

mmm yum pancakes :chef:

~Temet Nosce~
25-05-2008, 11:07
well I gave dd a bit of a pancake thismorning, she didnt like it much and only had a peice about the size of a 50c coin, but she has had no reactions so far that I can tell, so I guess its safe to say she is ok with egg?

I was soo paranoid, watching her like a hawk lol, I was scared she was going to have her throat close up or something :rolleyes:

patsmum
25-05-2008, 15:14
my son had a freddo frog icecream cake!! he had a piece to play with after we did the candle thing and he loved it!!