View Full Version : Maternal Hydronephrosis-how to ease the pain?
I know that most of you have not heard of this ( Hydronephrosis- dilated kidney)- but if there is anyone who has had it in pregnancy- what did you do to help with the pain??? Was anything suggested to you???
Mine is painful ATM, but not enough for the doctors to do anything about as yet (eventhough they have classified it as moderate to severe from ultrasound)- it is not severe pain yet (and hope it won't get that far) but it is enough to be really annoying and starting to interfere with activities and sleeping.
Thanks for any suggestions....
Hi ellie,
I really dont think you will find many ppl around who have it or are suffering....
But here i am, i had during my last pregnancy and have it again this one.
As for the pain, what side is worse (assuming it is on both sides..)?
Also have they found a reason for the obstruction or is it just 'the uterus'?
Have you got any kidney-stones?
Have you been to a urologist? if you have what did they say and if you havent are they planning on sending you?
for now if the pain is worse on one side, lye down on the other side, this will unblock the tube for a little while so it can drain better. also a hot water bottle does wonders. I dont take 'pain relief' as such for it.
sorry i just looked up and realised i just asked you 101 questions sorry! lol let me know, i would love to chat with you, as i have NEVER meet anyone with the same problem.
HI mixy- thanks for your reply!!!
Good questions- on the ultrasound they said it is only my right kidney- left one seems to be ok- but they classified the right one mod-severe???
The pain is mainly on the right side, but if I lie long enough on the left, than left side gets a bit sore too, but not as bad.
They haven't send me to urologist-they said they only will if the pain gets severe or I start getting infections-hmmmmm.
Ob keeps saying it is my uterus that is causing it..... and that they will check on it again at 32 weeks, when I have an US.
I haven't taken any pain releive either yet- as I am one of those pregnant ladies that only take something if realy necessary.
I have found hot water bottle takes the edge off the pain, but I am just geting a bit concerned as it is getting slowly worse.....should I be concerned?
There isn't much info about it on the net or any book, OB not very specific either......so am just searching for any info or as you just someone to chat to.
Thanks for answeringm hope yours isn't too bad and that you are managing ok- I am more than happy to chat to you too.
Hope you are having a good nite....
Hi ellie :wave:
Do you see your GP? cause from what i understand the biggest issue is infections and the chance that your kidney will start to not funtion properly, so going to the GP is eaiser to get those things checked. Last time i had alot of blood in my urine but i have not been getting that this time. They were always freacking out about that.... The only hting the urologest seems to be for is surgery, i had that last time, but i dont plan to this time.
The surgery involves a stent being inserted via the uritera while you (and baby) are under a GA.... alittle scary. but everything was fine, it did not help the problem much though....
maybe we could compair notes, i have been labled mod-severe too.
have a great day
~mixy
Hi mixy- that would be great- to compare notes.
I have a lovely GP, so if I am at all concerned I will go to him- he is very thorough.
I have had no blood in my urine as yet, phew.....
How would you know if you have a kidney infection- would it hurt a lot more? or do they have to pick it up b the dip stick?- I will ask the OB when I see them in 1.5wks.... but only if I get a good one- public system- u never know who you get.LOL.
Are they draining it for you this pregnancy- or just waiting and seing. My pain has been a little bit more managable since I have been concentrating on sleeping on left side--- so I will see what happens ATM.
Thanks for your support.
Hi ellie :wave:
Thats great that you have not had any blood yet, when i was first diagnosed when i was pregnant with DS the first urine test i did was red... not good, but this time i have not had any blood yet... phew :)
I have never had a kidney infection, thank goodness. But i think it involves alot of pain, and some of the signs of a urinary tract infections. Does not sound nice. Yeah ask your ob when you see him/her. what hospital are you going to, hopefully you will have a nice one:)
I will get out my results... the latest one says my right kidney is 136mm and left is 122mm. the right has "very prominate dialation" with the left only "a mild degree of dialation". the right ureteric jet is difficult to see (i alway have this problem when it is checked).all the stuff about the bladder says normal. The "distal right ureter" is only 4mm at the point where it crosses the iliac artery, (this scan was the first time they checked this) and he (Radiologest doing the scan) said that was really bad. And there are lots of stones, these have started forming becasue of the fluid being in the kidney all the time.
Wow that was alot, but that is pretty much what it says just more understandable!! lol let me know what info you have been given. This time they have not put in the actual size of the dialated area. i dont know why, they usually do.
And you dont need to thank me for my support, i cant believe i have found support myself:)
~:flowerz:
Hi MIxi- how are you feeling today? Hope you are ok. How is your tummy growing?
I didn't get the report to be able to read- because the scans are done in the hospital where the maternity ward is- they get all the results via computer- so no paperwork for me to google-lol. I didn't even know to be concerned about this too much untill I started asking.
I went to have a scan because of PIH- Pregnancy induced hypertension- not because of kidney pain.
I did have kidney pain, and at times quite severe- but I didn't know what it was, I just assumed that it was muscles streching in my back-lol. Everytime I did mention it to OB-the pain- they just brushed it off.
Than I went for the scan- and they were scanning the kidney excactly where the pain was. The sonographer said that right kidney was dialated, and that the OB has to decide if it is ok to leave it or investigate further.
The ob I saw that avo- couldn't get the results on his computer- so after I told him what they told me- he said they don't do anything about this unless it causes lots of infections-that than they would reffer me to a urologist.
The next time I saw and OB- 2 weeks later- he was sooooooooo bad, I didn't even ask him to look at the results.
Than I saw one last week, and finally he was a bit reasonable- and he fianally had a look at the results (after 4 weeks-lol) and because I could see his computer screen I saw briefly what was written there-GRRRRRR.
He asked me if I have any pain- I said that in fact I do- because by now I figured that this pain I have is my kidney- not my musces-lol- so he said because I have a scan at 32 weeks to check bubs and placenta- they will also check the kidney than. He said again, that they don't do anything about it, and that it is very commonm in pregnancy.
So u can understand my supprise that no one here has heard of it, and that u are finding it hard to find support.
Anyway- hope you are having a great day- it is so nice to talk talk to you- great to get some info....
Sorry about the :ecomcity:...... just thought I draw u a picture how much help my OB's are-lol.
Wow they have given you the run around!
Yeah i was told it was common in pregnancy but not untill the very end, like last couple of weeks and as you said, a bit of back pain then is definatly not uncommon, and it is brushed off. but when it happens early it will get worse for the rest of the pregnancy, as the uterus is only going to get bigger. When they did my surgery last time there had been no signs of infection. that is what i was told last time anyway, this time i am also getting the run around! not fun!
Im am really glad to hear you have been getting relief from the pain, hopefully lying on the left side keeps helping. It seems to be really helping this pregnancy for me. I have also seen the chiro, i dont know if it has helped as i have not had a scan but the pain seems to be a lot less.
hope you and bubba are having a lovely day:)
Doesn't it just make you mad when you can't get any straight answers from anyone????:hair:
I had my scan when they found it a 23 weeks-
I know that back pain is normal in pregnancy- but this feels different- doctors just don't listen to you- do they. I've had so many things going funny this pregnancy ( PIH and on meds since 23 wks, bleeding and placenta separating since 11 weeks)- that I am not supprised at this:banghead:- but we are hanging in there, and hopefully have the most beautiful little bub at the end of it all- as long as she is healthy.
And another question- if I may- does your pain ever reffer to your arms???I get it in the back/side mainly, but sometimes I feel like the pain is shooting from there, through the rib cage and into my arms.
Which part of Brissie are you? I used to live in Camp Hill and had my first DD in Mater Mothers, but now I live in Melbourne- so far away.
I am near browns plains, so more logan city, but brisbane is eaisier.
I dont think i have had the pain shoting down my arm, but it would make sence dont they say that happens when you have a heart attack and things like that.
I had both of my kids at logan hospi, DS i was booked into the birth center at the royal but ended up having him at logan. this one will obviously be born at home:)
gee your pregnancy has keep you busy, and i bet stressed, im sure your little miss will be beautiful and healthy for you :)
Hi Ladies. My 20-weeks pregnant wife is in the hospital tonight for observations. Today she experienced severe pain in her left flank area. We understood that she had a rather large cyst (8 cm) from the beginning on her left ovary...we assumed it was twisting or something.
We had an ultrasound today and it showed the cyst was fine. No twisting, no rupture. Buy they did diagnose her with hydroneprosis. Now I suspect that the cyst might have been misdiagnosed. I'm trying to learn as much info I can on this condition. Reading through this thread has helped me feel a little better, so thank you. :wave:
Hi kevin :wave:
You poor thing, it must be hard being at home when your pregnant wife is in hospital. hopefully they will look after her well:)
Please let us know how she goes. Send her our way if she needs some support.
Hi Kevin-:hugs: hope she will get better soon- must be so stressful.
Definately send her our way if she would like any support- or you.
It is so hard when pregnancy is not straight forward- on the edge all the time- worrying about the most precious thing in your life- your bub.
Mixi- I just thought about it- maybe the pain in my arm is me crouching- becuase the back is so sore, I keep lifting my shoulders to make more room for bubs- not that it helps- but I still do it:laughing:....
Anyway- do you know if drinking more/less fluids improves/deteriorates the condition????
I wish you all the best for the home birth- I have no chance of home birth- PIH- puts me in high risk, plus I had so many complications with DD's delivery that I am going for elective c-sec. this time. She had shoulder dystocia- and I won't risk it again- she wasn't big, so I think my pelvis is a bit too narrow or something.
Anyways- hope you have a great nite.
Hi ellie,
I had one doctor tell me to try not to drink to much water/fluids at once, try for 1 cup an hour. That way there is no influx of fluid into the kidney at any one time. I have trouble though becasue i forget if i do it that way and end up only drink a couple of cups a day, i just try to keep a drink bottle on me and sip it all day, not have a big drink all at once... does that make sense?
Obviously you have concidered what is most appropriate for the birth of your bubba, sometimes those bubba just dont come out in the best possition. Although im sure that would probably not happen again, i can understand that it would be very tramatic for you and if you feel a c-sec is the best opinion than thats your choice to make:) Just as for me home birth is the choice i make, one i am very happy with so far.... does that make sense?
Makes perfect sence Mixi.....and I admire u in a way.... if that maeks sence-lol
Thanks for the tip with drinking. My problem is that I am so thirsty most of the time, that if u put any liquid in front of me I scul it- so I don't carry a bottle, because I end up drinking it all at once-lol.
Anyway- I better go and lie down- my back is killing me ( kidney) atm- can't sit here for very long-lol- hope there is anything good on tv.
Thanks...I am worried sick, but it's nothing compared to what she is going through. She woke up in less pain this morning. I brought her home and have been taking care of her all day. I hope it calms down. :(
Let her know that we are thinking of her and preying too- hope she feels better soon.
Kevin thats great to hear she is home, it can be really stressful at the hospital, it is lovely to hear you are looking after her :thumbsup: how is she feeling? has she been able to lye on one side to try and releive it, or is it both sides?
Ellie, i feel special that you admire me, i dont know if i have been admired before :) Im assume it is becasue i am home birthing, yes? well thanks:)
Have you been able to try and spread your drinks out? let me know if you think it helps you. Its good that you want to drink lots, keep you very healthy.
Hi mixi- yes I have been trying to spred them out- but not much success yet- I feel incredibly thirsty all the time, and as soon as water hits my lips, I just skull (sp?)-lol.
I drink close to 4 l per day- I know pathetic- a bit too much- but I am just so thirsty- I have metioned it to DR- it's not GD, so they said it's just pregnancy thing-lol.
I just think it's brave to do homebirthing- that's all- not in any bad way, u must be very strong....
I got lot of pain the other nite, had to take panadols, and was actually thinking calling the OB's, but I eventually fell asleep, and it was a bit better in the morning, and it has been managable since, but I will try and have a good chat to them when have an appt next Thursday.
And how are you feeling Mixi- hope it's not giving you too much trouble.
Kevin- thinking of your wife- how is she?
Hi ellie,
yeah 4 lts is alot! you must be going to the toilet all night! after i had the stent inserted with my last pregnancy i had to drink 3 Lts a day, and i found it really difficult at first but i found the more i drank the thirstier i got... how ever that works! Well keep trying to spread it out, and see how you go:)
Im sorry to hear you have been in that much pain:( i find when its that bd the only thing you can do is go to bed and try to sleep to, so i have not got much help for you.
About the homebirthing, you do need to be strong but mainly because alot of people esp. drs have really negitive things to say, and it can get you really down. I find it frustrating that they cant except my decission, so i try to avoid them, which is really difficult becasue of my kidneys :( i test my own urine, with sticks the midwife gave me, to make sure i dont get an infection or anything, so i dont need to be seen as often by the drs.
That reminds me, do you have any blood in your urine? have they said you do or is yours a red colour, you dont have to answer that if you dont want to, but i have started having some again (had lots last pregnancy). so i was just wondering if you have it as well?
Kevin where are you, probably helping your wife out:) lets us know how she is going, and how you are both feeling.
HI Mixi, hope you are having a great day.
No I don't see any blood in my urine ATM- but maybe I should stop using the bloo loo things, because it makes the water in my toilet dark blue- so I wouldn't know really. TMI?:laughing: But I've had a bit of spotting on my undies- last few days- but I am not sure where it's comming from, but I think it's the placenta again- GRRRRR- have to keep eye on it.
I don't test my urine at home, but I see OB's fortnightly ATM cause of High Blood Pressure, so I guess the stick they use would show it??? I better ask them next time.
I understand that the kidney problem would be a prob, but why would it interfere with birth???
I know that a lot of people are against it (home birthing) and I can't understand why people just can't support each other in own decisions- I have had some negative feedback about my elect. c-sec too- u just can't win!!!!!
Hope you have a lovely day Mixi.
hi ellie,
You are so right about the kidney thing not affecting the birth, they just want to interfere. very frustrating. I had both of my other children at the hospital im booked into, and i never had any problem with them, but this time they actually know who i am, (you know, that crazy home birthing lady :laughing:) and im not just a number. very frustrating!
Yeah if i were you i would not use the blue loo things for a while, we had them when i was pregnant last time and so i had no idea i had blood in my urine. when i started gettign the pain i went to the dr, so they did a pee test and the sample was red! i was very frecked out! and when the dr asked why i did not know i had to tell him about my blue loo, was a little imbarrasing, lol
I also passed a few little clots through my urine, and they were only there when i wiped (sorry kevin if your reading this! TMI!) maybe keep that in mind?
and there is no harm in asking at your next visit. when is that again?
Well i hope you are having a lovely evening, and you have a lovely weekend planned
Hi Mixi- very interesting-lol about not just being a number- that's so what I feel like ATM!!!!
I know that my wee sample wasn't red last week (phew)- and my next appt is on Thursday- so we'll see.
TMI alert
about 2 days ago, when I wiped the paper was a bit pink, but not anymore, but since than the MC that's on my undies is brown??? Could that be from urine not u know what- I just assume vaginal, but maybe it's not-lol- shows how much I know-lol.
I will leave it till thursday if it all stays the way it is- eventhough tonight my back is killing me and I am suspecting it is the kidneys, as it's not lower back, but middle back- both sides- do you think that would be the kidneys???
Anyway- hope you have a lovely weekend- I will be away tomorrow- hopefully back by Sun avo.
Hi ellie:)
I dont know if that would be urinie or not, i would ask the midwife maybe, although then they will want you to come up to the hospi etc, so i understand! let me know what you decide it is.
yeah having yellow wee samples is always good! how sad is that though!!! lol
Well i hope you have a nice day tomorrow, and i will probably hear from you sometime after that:)
Hi Mixi- I just thought I would pop in and say HI and see how you're going? How you're feeling, and if everythings going ok.
I am back from my weekend- but am so tired. Will chat to you later.
hi ellie, im feeling alittel crapy today but it has nothing to do with my kidneys, just general pregnancy tiredness... im sure you understand:)
hope you had a great weekend, and i will hear from you when you soon:)
Hi MIXI- yes I know about the crappiness- I had one of those too yesterday- I was sooo tired.
JUst a silly question- how does your kidney pain feel like??? Hard to describe I know. I got my DH to masage my back a little bit the other day, cause it hurt so much, and while he was rubbing it- it was a bit better- so he pronounced the that means it is not my kidney but my muscles that are hurting???? But the massage does not get rid of the pain, just when he presses on the spot on my back, it gives a releive for that second- which is nice.
Silly question I know- but maybe my kidney is not sore???? and it's just a coincidence-lol.
presure definatly helps when they are sore, i know what you mean it does nto get better, but feels better while the presure is there. frustrating i know.
I would discribe the pain as a constant ache, it get worse and better, with different things, but does nto usually go away, sometime it seems to feel better but then it will flare up again. does that make sence?
Yep tha's how it is- but I just got confused with the pressure- I thought if it's kidney than it should get worse if he presses on it- not better. But as soon as u take the pressure off it's back!!!!!GRRRRRRR!!!!!! I wish........
OK, so I won't self diagnise again- it is the kidney- I just like to look for other less sinister excuses- lol- when my BP started to play up- instead of accepting PIH- i decided that my BP is high because I am having a subconcious panic attack- which I don't know about-lol.....not that I ever suffer from panic attacks-lol.
Anyway- it sounds like excactly the same kind of pain-thank you for that.
Hope you're having a nice day!
lol, i dont know what the weather is like down there, but it has been pouring rain all day!! and the weather has been less than nice for quite a few days, so it has been hard to have a nice day! we have done alright though!
Very interesting that you try to make your problems something else, maybe i should try that! lol sometimes i try to forget i have the problems but the pains remind you very quickly:(
i hope your day has been wonderful!
When do you see the/ have a scan, that was some time this week wasn't it?
Hi MIXI- I do know about your horible weather- my family lives in QLD- Gympie and Hervey Bay- so I get the weather reports- it's a bit ugly isn't it.
I see the OB on THursday and my scan is 16th June- so 2 weeks to go.
Well- I believe some break in the rain might be on the way, as Hervey Bay got some sunshine today.!!!!
Hi Mixi- how are ya? Hope you r doing well.
Went to the Ob today, and asked him about the kidney- he basically said that they preffer to do nothing if at all possible as putting the thing in is a surgery (which we know) and so as lomg as I can bear it- it is better to just not do anything.
He had no advice as to how to help the pain- he said nothing can be done- just grin and bear it!!!
Hi Mixi- hope evrything is ok for you.....and that you are well.
Hi sweety, sorry i have been MIA lately, my computer has been playing up:geek: :(
i am doing well. i like that your dr told you to grin and bear it! thanks! i know they cant do much other than surgery... have you tried cranberry tablets, you can get then from the supermarket, chemist and health food stores, they are not cheap, but since i have been taking them, my pain seems to be all but gone, and my urine test are coming up really clear.... worth a try, i brought the cheapest ones, so the more expensives one (that have more in them) must work even better!
Let me know how your going:)
Hi mixi- glad that you are doing ok- and that you found something to help. I will deffinately ask about them when I see the doc next week.
I am not sure how my kidney is doing as I got Shingles- so my whole upper part of stomach and bbs and underarm are in pain:hair:- so I am concentrating beating that atm- but they can't give me much- cause I am pregnant:hissy:.
But I am not complaining- same advice from doc- grin and bear it-:laughing:- so I might as well grin:laughing:.
Anyways- I have an US on monday to check bub and kidney so I will know more than- 3 sleeps to go:smiliedance:.
Thanks for your advice I will deffinately ask about it.
:fingerscrossed: the scan shows everything is doing alright:)
thats no good you are sick, i hope your coping ok, gee poor you it is not nice being sick and pregnant.
How far along are you now? must be getting closer
Hi mixi- my c-section is booked for 31st July- so jusat over 6 weeks to go-yeay...
I am coping ok- just getting a bit sick of being sore 24/7-lol.... but I just want to be careful not taking too many painkillers- so I try to ride it out- and only when I get too sore to handle it I take some panadol.... I know they say it's safe, but I just think the less chemicals in my body the better. I am already on BP tablets, cause my BP is too high.
Hope you are having a great weekend- how are you going?
im doing really well:)
had alittle bit of pain the other night, but i was sleeping on my right side (the side the problem is worsed on). i was sick last week to, not nice....
but im feeling really good at the moment, really possitive, and happy, lol:)
Hi Mixi:wave:
Well ultrasound went well- Bianca is doing great- everything normal- size, fluid, herat rate etc- :cloud9::valentine:
Kidney still dialated- they didn't say much about it- said I have to talk to my OB, but that it is still big.:thumbsdown:
Anyways- seeing OB on thursday, but I assume there won't be much different he will say than what they said before.
Glad to hear you are doing well- I hope it will keep going well :wizard:
Talk to you a bit later.
Hi there Mixi- how are ya? Hope you are doing well.
Got results from the Ultrasound- and the kidney is a bit worse apparently, but fingers crossed will hang in there for another 6 weeks before my C-sec- so that's good.
Hope you are doing well.
Hi Ellie
hopefully it all stays good till your c-sec. Have you been having much pain? or has there been any blood in you wee? 6 weeks till you meet your little lady? how exciting!!
I have started having some blood in my urine, but not bad, so i am pretty happy about that:) and i had my glucose test (i am classed as high risk for GD) and it has come back fine :thumbsup: im pretty happy about that:)
well i hope everything is going well where you are
~mickie
Congratulations on having such good results- that's great news.
No I haven't had any blood- thank god. Pain is managable- there, but not too bad. So hopefully I can just pot along like that for the 6 weeks and than- yeppie- meet my little princess.
That sound like a good idea. just take each day as it comes and soon you will get to meet your princess.... how exciting 6 weeks :goodvibes:
Hi mixi- just bumping it up here- how are ya? how have you been feeling? I have been potting along steadily- only 4 wks to go- can't wait. Pain- manegable- so that looks promissing....
Thats great to hear that everything is going well and that you will be meeting your little one so soon!
I am doing really well, i have not had any pain with my kidneys for a couple of weeks! how great is that!!! although my SPD was playing up nicely to counter that joy! but i have seen the chiro now so hopefully every thing is good for a little while now:)