View Full Version : Any SAHM out there?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

SuperWoman
11-04-2006, 23:52
Hi fellow SAHM, this thread has been a little quiet so I thought I would start a new one up!!! Post anything you like, about your day, what your kids have been up to, what your cooking for tea, etc. I will start, last week I started cooking dinner during the day as I was finding it hard to make dinner later on, bath DS, give him his night bottle, eat dinner, tidy up, etc. I have found this has given me more of a routine and I feel a little human again!! DH is happy cause he is eating proper food,:laughing: !!!

Also, a bit of a rant, in the last month I have been asked "have you decided when your going back to work" at least 7 times!!:mad: Whats with that?????? This is the best job I have ever had, I would love to stay home as long as I can. Is there anything wrong with that??? I dont think so!!! and I hate the "Do you watch all the soapies" comments!! OF COURSE I do, :laughing: !! I have the TV on during the day, and sometimes I will glance at it, LOL!!!! Im not ashamed!!!

Hope to hear from other SAHM, chat about anything!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:D

sshellzp
12-04-2006, 00:11
Howdy, im nearly a SAHM...just have to wait a few more weeks and bubs will be out of hospital. I can't wait!

SuperWoman
12-04-2006, 00:15
I had a look at your little girls web page. She is soooooooooooo gorgeous!!!! You both have been through alot. I admire you!!! Yes, soon you will be a SAHM, but you really are already!!!:hugs: :hugs:

sshellzp
12-04-2006, 00:20
Thanks, she is pretty spesh!
Its been a long 11 weeks I can tell you that much.
Im worried im not going to cope with her... Its quite scary.

SuperWoman
12-04-2006, 00:30
It is scary when you bring your baby home, I didnt know what I was doing. I felt lost half the time!! Its pretty normal though, once I got in a routine and got to know my DS it just worked itself out!!! You will be fine, you sound like a loving mummy and thats all thats important, the rest will come naturally!!!! And finally your baby girl will be home with you!!!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Ruby Slippers
12-04-2006, 01:00
Both my girls go to school some days fly by , and others are really slow and
i miss them so much , sometimes i have cleaned the house the night before , so in the morning after i put my girls to school what do i do ? and i have found many ways to fix my problem , i exercise in the morning and then it's me time i love to paint , pictures of tree's nudes , i love an empty canvas just waiting to be painted on , i love my job many days it's busy , i hate the slow days but Bub Hub is a good place to vent and have fun.:thumbsup: :D

tyler's mum
12-04-2006, 08:09
im a stay at home mum & a single mum and i allso get ask alot when im goin back to work:rolleyes: im not goin back till tyler starts school i dont wanna miss out on anything

Sarie
12-04-2006, 08:13
I'm a stay at home mum to two rat bag boys;), at the moment we're ttc #3.
Our oldest started at kindy yesterday, he only went for 2 hours and I was a complete mess. He's going to go for the whole morning session tomorrow and if he copes ok with that then he will have two full days next week.

SuperWoman
12-04-2006, 10:59
Both my girls go to school some days fly by , and others are really slow and
i miss them so much , sometimes i have cleaned the house the night before , so in the morning after i put my girls to school what do i do ? and i have found many ways to fix my problem , i exercise in the morning and then it's me time i love to paint , pictures of tree's nudes , i love an empty canvas just waiting to be painted on , i love my job many days it's busy , i hate the slow days but Bub Hub is a good place to vent and have fun.:thumbsup: :D

I know, sometimes I do alto the night before and the next day I have more time for bubs. Somedays though I feel like I should be doing more around the house and I feel like a lazy cow, even though theres not much to do. I think I just get paronoid that Im not doing enough!!!! Im also trying to write a book, thats my project on the side!!! Its so cool that you paint, I would love to have that talent!!:thumbsup:

Sarie: I'm a stay at home mum to two rat bag boys, at the moment we're ttc #3.
Our oldest started at kindy yesterday, he only went for 2 hours and I was a complete mess. He's going to go for the whole morning session tomorrow and if he copes ok with that then he will have two full days next week.

That would be hard. Im sure you missed him so much. Couldnt imagine not having my DS with me during the day. They grow up sooo fast it is scary!!!

tyler's mum: im a stay at home mum & a single mum and i allso get ask alot when im goin back to work im not goin back till tyler starts school i dont wanna miss out on anything

Thats great. I would love to be home with Brady till then. Its the best. I dont wanna miss a thing!!:hugs:

SuperWoman
12-04-2006, 11:03
Well today Brady got up at 6. Now he is napping. I think I will go and have a shower and then start preparing dinner as my parents are coming for tea, and vacum, mop, etc. Busy one today!! Hopefully he sleeps well today!! Maybe I should get off Bub Hub huh????:laughing: :laughing:

Jem
12-04-2006, 11:05
Im a SAHM with 3 kids...
2 boys and a girl....
My daughter is in year one, so she isnt here during the week.... just leaves me and the boys.....
On monday, tues, and Thurs.. ds1 goes to daycare.. so i just have the one... which is when i usually get to go op shopping, and do things that are alot easier with just the one kid :thumbsup:
Dp works long hours.. so im at home doing the usual..... housework... etc...
i am currently studying.... but have been pretty busy lately ( or lazy) lmao:D

Harmony83
12-04-2006, 12:25
Howdie! I am a SAHMummy to and love it, although sometimes I do feel a bit couped up - which is when we go for a walk to the park or go window shopping! I love doing what I do, sometimes I feel a bit too lucky that I get to stay at home with my gorgeous little man! I get the 'so when are you going back to work' thing to, it's so annoying, I am thinking of doing Tupperware for a bit of extra cash, that way Id be able to work around DS instead of the other way around! I also hate the 'so you watch daytime soaps all day then' yeah right-e-o!!! Daytime soaps bore me to tears!!
I found a pamplet the other day about Parkland Tours for parents and bubs at Roma Street and was thinking of going on one - has anyone been on one - are they anygood??

Taylors_mum
12-04-2006, 13:06
I HATE the "So when do you think you will go back to work". We had a get-together on the weekend and just about every guest asked me this question. Drives me nuts. :banghead:

I have only been a SAHM for 6 months and i hate the fact that people look down at you because you are not out "making a living". I feel my JOB at home is much more important!!

Sorry had to vent :laughing:

I love being at home with my DD. My and my DP are in the process of starting our own home based business so hopefully i dont have to go back to work.

Harmony83 - Avon is a good one for some extra cash. You get big discounts on the products to and the often have great toys for bubs.

Mummy-2-2
12-04-2006, 13:16
Hiya

Im Nikki and a SAHM to Tahlia and Ajay 19 months and 3 months.

I love staying home cos I dont miss anything, but hate staying home cos I get so frustrated with my learning to be little miss naughty:shame:

When I get asked when I am going back to work I say

"Work- when did I stop?"

or

"Ive retired"

depending on the context. Usually makes people laugh:laughing:

Kaycee
12-04-2006, 14:34
I have found the "when are you going back to work" question has been more frequent now that DD2 is at school. (and DS is only 3). I just say that he deserves to have me around just as his sisters did when they were pre-schoolers. I like your comebacks, Mummy-2-2, I must remember them!

My SIL always asks me how I "keep my brain stimulated". By the way that she asks I get the feeling she thinks that you would have to be brain-dead to stay at home.

Oh well, each to their own,

diamonds22
12-04-2006, 16:54
So what do your hubbys/partners think about you being SAHM's?? I've had a career since school..but its always really been my dream to be a SAHM (probs cos mum and dad never had time for us kids...so were like strangers....I promised myself I wouldnt be like that..that I would actively take part in my kids lives)

Anyway sometimes I get mixed vibes from my man....like hes ALWAYS saying he wants be to be the perfect wife mummy staying at home (like the old fashion days)..but then he will say something smart arsy...but swears he didnt mean anything by it?!

I'm also finding it hard when people (from my old job) ask me 'what are you going to do now"....and for some reason when I say SAHM i feel silly??? why?? what do you guys say when your asked? maybe i'm just feeling like this cos its such a big change...I get sooo scared i'm not going to be good at it cos most of the time I barly have any energy as it is...and lil Claudia isnt even here yet!!

lol I just want to be a perfect Stepford wife...but not feel embrassed about being proud about it?! does that make sense?? lol sorry for the vent/whinge if u made it this far!!:o

Sarie
12-04-2006, 17:11
Bradysmum, I was an utter mess! I don't think I'm as stressed about him going tomorrow, I know how much he loved it and it takes me 5 minutes to walk there so I can go and take a sneak peak to make sure he's ok if I need to!
I don't really get asked when I'm going back to work any more, though if I do I go with the retired comment or more recently, 'I've become a professional Breeder'... usually gets a laugh or sometimes people just think I'm very strange:D

M O P
12-04-2006, 17:15
I'm a STAHM2B, only 9 weeks to go and then I'll officially join the ranks of the SAHMs. And I can't wait!

SuperWoman
12-04-2006, 23:07
Hiya

Im Nikki and a SAHM to Tahlia and Ajay 19 months and 3 months.

When I get asked when I am going back to work I say

"Work- when did I stop?"

or

"Ive retired"

depending on the context. Usually makes people laugh:laughing:

I love those come backs, I will be using them!!!:laughing: :laughing:

diamonds22: So what do your hubbys/partners think about you being SAHM'??

My DH wanted me to stay home. I will stay home as long as I can, hopefully a while!!!! Dont worry about the smart arsy comments from your man, my DH can be a smarty too, but I know he doesnt mean it. His either tired and grumpy or just trying to push my buttons!!!

kazza: I'm a STAHM2B, only 9 weeks to go and then I'll officially join the ranks of the SAHMs. And I can't wait!

Whoo Whoo, only 9 weeks to go!! Soooo exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:smiliedance:

QTB
12-04-2006, 23:08
Hi everyone.... im mel, im a SAHM to Brayden, 5.5months. iv had my career (teaching special needs) and now its time for my career as a mum, we have just moved here from new zealand at the end of march (as my family live here) . so im looking at doing a part time tafe course starting in july, its only 2 days a week (hairdressing) so it will be nice, just to meet people really (as i know no one except family!) and hubby will be home one of the days to look after bubs as its his day off and the other day my mum has off and wants to have him, so it will be great! im going sooo insane not knowing anyone, i cant jsut pick up the phone and call someone to say hi.... very frustrating, i seriously feel like im in prison being stuck at home all day with bubs, i love it, but it would be nice for me and him if we could get out of the house every now and then! (other than walking around the block a million times LOL

anyway, my rant over :)

Jax Tellers Old Lady
13-04-2006, 21:03
Hi everyone.... im mel, im a SAHM to Brayden, 5.5months. iv had my career (teaching special needs) and now its time for my career as a mum, we have just moved here from new zealand at the end of march (as my family live here) . so im looking at doing a part time tafe course starting in july, its only 2 days a week (hairdressing) so it will be nice, just to meet people really (as i know no one except family!) and hubby will be home one of the days to look after bubs as its his day off and the other day my mum has off and wants to have him, so it will be great! im going sooo insane not knowing anyone, i cant jsut pick up the phone and call someone to say hi.... very frustrating, i seriously feel like im in prison being stuck at home all day with bubs, i love it, but it would be nice for me and him if we could get out of the house every now and then! (other than walking around the block a million times LOL

anyway, my rant over :)
hey there i am from nz too where in nz are you from feel free to msn me i have added you to mine

misskittyfantastico
13-04-2006, 21:25
We are a special breed we SAHM's aren't we??? answer to question is yes we bloody well are:laughing:
I never could have imagined how exhausted I could be at the end of the day, and it's hard to explain it to someone who isn't living it.
Anyways....a great thread, thanks Bradysmum for getting it going:thumbsup:

jaimie
13-04-2006, 21:30
im a SAHM and I LOVE IT!! it annoys me when i find myself making excuse for staying home. like if someone asks if im going back to work i usually say "oh you know its just so expesive to put her in childcare.." and its a lie because we could afford it but i dont want to be away from her for a second.............ok ..maybe id like to go out for dinner every now and then, but thats it!:D

kuz78au
13-04-2006, 22:40
Howdy fellow SAHM's! :smiliedance:

i have been a SAHM for nearly 4 months now and I'm loving it more and more each day! A few weeks ago I was looking for work because I was getting bored at home, but since my boy has been more and more interactive, I'm just enjoying his company so very much! We love going to the shops (usually window shopping lol), meeting friends for coffee, spending the day at MIL's with his little cousin and sometimes just being at home doing bits and pieces or playing! But I will say, some days are better than others :rolleyes:

I definitely don't want to miss a thing and hopefully next year we will be pregnant with our 2nd. Everyday is a challenge, but it's all a good challenge. It's just stimulation you can't get from an office, you know what I mean?! :D And your boss is your child....and maybe you sometimes lol! I appreciate every SAHM now. I was a career woman up until the birth and always wanted to be SAHM. But I never really appreciated what they did until I became one myself. Sometimes it's amazing how narrow minded society can be and how everyone seems to stereotype. :mad:

QTB
14-04-2006, 13:47
Keanusmum: sorry i have the wrong msn email in my profile, i dontknow how to change it lol. it is braydsmum@hotmail.com -i have addes you though... we are from hamilton :)

tyler's mum
14-04-2006, 15:29
i could'nt handle goin back to work i would miss tyler way to much,, i never wonted a career all i ever wonted was to be a mum now that iam there isno getting me to go to work;)

SuperWoman
14-04-2006, 19:55
i could'nt handle goin back to work i would miss tyler way to much,, i never wonted a career all i ever wonted was to be a mum now that iam there isno getting me to go to work;)

I feel the same, so Im really hoping I wont have to go back for a long time!:fingerscrossed:

It is exhausting being a SAHM, and I love going to the shops during the week just so the day goes faster and just to get me and DS out of the house for a bit! Otherwise I feel like Im doing the same thing everyday, IYKWIM!!

I wouldnt change my situation for the world though!!!:D

Whats everyones plans for Easter?

We are just going out for lunch and then seeing some relatives. Im excited cause it's Brady's first Easter!!:smiliedance:

misskittyfantastico
14-04-2006, 20:02
I'm cooking Roast Lamb for my DH and his folks...should be nice:thumbsup:

Sarie
14-04-2006, 20:40
We do pretty much the same stuff day in, day out. We live in a smallish town, so there isn't really a heap to get out and do. We go for a walk most days and then we spend a lot of time playing.
DH also wanted me to be a sahm, even though we could use the money should I go back to work he says it's up to me and he would never put me in the position of having to choose. He would rather me be here for our boys.
It's nice to have his full support, especially when I had my MIL telling me from when Nat was about 6 months old (he turns 3 next thursday) that I should put him into childcare a few days a week, it would do him good. Grrr, I hate that.

SuperWoman
14-04-2006, 21:07
I'm cooking Roast Lamb for my DH and his folks...should be nice:thumbsup:

Yum, sounds good!!!!:chef: :D

Sarie: It's nice to have his full support, especially when I had my MIL telling me from when Nat was about 6 months old (he turns 3 next thursday) that I should put him into childcare a few days a week, it would do him good. Grrr, I hate that.

Oh yeh, MIL's know best huh?? :banghead:

14-04-2006, 21:44
Hey! Im also a sahm & I reckon its the best job ever! It doesnt pay that good..we are VERY under paid of course but its worth every bit staying at home with bubs all day..my only complaint is being responsible for the cleaning & cooking but that all goes with the job right? I wouldnt rather be doing anything else then spending the whole day & night with my daughter...yes i woud like some time to myself sometimes but when i do get it i miss her soooo much :crying:

SuperWoman
14-04-2006, 21:54
Hey! Im also a sahm & I reckon its the best job ever! It doesnt pay that good..we are VERY under paid of course but its worth every bit staying at home with bubs all day..my only complaint is being responsible for the cleaning & cooking but that all goes with the job right? I wouldnt rather be doing anything else then spending the whole day & night with my daughter...yes i woud like some time to myself sometimes but when i do get it i miss her soooo much :crying:

I know what you mean, if my DS goes to my mums for a bit all I do is think about him and I smell his blanket cause I miss him!!! Am I crazy?? Once my DH and I went out without Brady, and all we did was talk about him, couldnt wait to pick him up!! I agree, this is the greatest job!!:thumbsup:

tyler's mum
15-04-2006, 09:01
my mum and dad are coming over for easter i think we are just goin to have a bbq or something:thumbsup:

SuperWoman
15-04-2006, 19:59
Sounds nice and relaxing!!! I think I've eaten too many chocolates already!!!:eek:

Hope everyone has a great Easter!!!! Take care!!!xoxox:hugs: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

Sarie
15-04-2006, 20:18
Oh yeh, MIL's know best huh?? :banghead:

Apparently so:mad:

Anyhoo, we're not having a huge Easter. Just the four of us, we'll probably go up to the park after breakfast...
It was lovely hubby took the boys out for a couple of hours this morning. I spent my quality me time cleaning!!!

Lollie
16-04-2006, 12:39
Hi ladies, wondering whether I could join in convo?

I am a SAHM, my signature basically sums it up for me. I have 81 days to go before I get induced :smiliedance: . Umm Nothing else I can add at this point in time.

Just making sure I get the ok to proceed further into the group first :D

Ruby Slippers
16-04-2006, 12:49
Hi ladies, wondering whether I could join in convo?

I am a SAHM, my signature basically sums it up for me. I have 81 days to go before I get induced :smiliedance: . Umm Nothing else I can add at this point in time.

Just making sure I get the ok to proceed further into the group first :D
Have a great Easter Lollie :smiliedance: .

Terrible2+1cutie
16-04-2006, 14:34
I am a SAHM to 2 boys aged 2 and a half and 16 months, we are currently TTC #3. My DP often wants me to swap positions with him and he can stay at home with the boys but i don't reckon he will cope more than 2 seconds lol.

Catherine

Mum to Blaze and Bailey

SuperWoman
16-04-2006, 19:39
Hi ladies, hope everyone had a great Easter today!!! I think I ate too many choccies, LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It's great that there are more girls joining this thread!!!!!

Lollie: I am a SAHM, my signature basically sums it up for me. I have 81 days to go before I get induced . Umm Nothing else I can add at this point in time.

81 days!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance: Good luck!!

AdelaideMandy, not long for you now too!!!!:thumbsup:

QTB
16-04-2006, 21:28
Bradysmum: i keep seeing your name on threads and thinking, i didnt post in there LOL its cos our names are so similer lol im so blonde!

anyway. i hope everyone had a great easter!!

Lollie omg 81 days... CONGRATS! dont forget to let us know!! hehe

SuperWoman
16-04-2006, 21:53
Bradysmum: i keep seeing your name on threads and thinking, i didnt post in there LOL its cos our names are so similer lol im so blonde!

:laughing: :laughing: Me too!!!!!!:laughing: :laughing:

kuz78au
16-04-2006, 22:30
I hope everyone is having a great Easter too! As for chocolate, what's the deal with ppl giving so much choccy to the littlies!?! They must know us mums sneak a bit too! LOL! :D MMMM chocolate!

SuperWoman
16-04-2006, 22:38
I know what you mean!! My DS is only 4 months old and he got about 4 Easter eggs, OH WELL, looks like I will have to eat them:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lollie
17-04-2006, 01:13
Thanks Ladies :D

RE: Easter Eggs - my son got spoilt (as usual). I think its silly that my family bought him easter eggs, but anyways.

Yeah I know, I am counting down day by day. I really feel and look like I am full term and I still have close to 2 and a half months left to go :thumbsdown:. Just trying to figure out how I am going to last that long? Me thinks I will have to hire a crane to get me in and out of bed :laughing:

Anyways thanks for allowing me to be apart of the SAH gang ;)

SuperWoman
17-04-2006, 23:59
Hi girls!!!! well today we went to my best friends house, and of course got more choccies!!! Im gonna have pimples everywhere in a couple of days!!!!:eek: !!

LOLLIE: Yeah I know, I am counting down day by day. I really feel and look like I am full term and I still have close to 2 and a half months left to go . Just trying to figure out how I am going to last that long? Me thinks I will have to hire a crane to get me in and out of bed

U poor thing, you cracked me up!!!:laughing: :laughing:

Tomorrow is housework day!!! My house is a little messy and I really have to get my a##e into gear!!!! Yeah for me, NOT!!!

SuperWoman
18-04-2006, 23:06
Well I must say I was a teeny wee bit lazy today. Just didnt have the energy. But tomorrow is another day right?? Now I have to do double the work I should have done today!:laughing: :laughing:

What did everyone get up to today?:)

tyler's mum
18-04-2006, 23:14
my parents took tyler to there house for a few hours i was goin to clean the house but fell asleep and sleep for 3hrs:eek:

misskittyfantastico
18-04-2006, 23:16
I feel a bit like I'm jumping in but what the heck.... I woke up at 6.30 for the 3rd time that day! we had brekky, (solids are relatively new so v. exciting) we got in our pram, went down the street and did our shopping. Came home , Bub had a sleep and then I made some "texturised bub food " (told ya I'm excited:laughing: )

anyway I could go on :ecomcity: but I guess I had a day in the life of a SAHM

SuperWoman
18-04-2006, 23:19
my parents took tyler to there house for a few hours i was goin to clean the house but fell asleep and sleep for 3hrs:eek:

Oh yeah, Ive done that too!!!LOL!! Bet you felt good after your sleep though?:thumbsup: You must of needed the rest! Good on you!

milliesmum: I feel a bit like I'm jumping in but what the heck.... I woke up at 6.30 for the 3rd time that day! we had brekky, (solids are relatively new so v. exciting) we got in our pram, went down the street and did our shopping. Came home , Bub had a sleep and then I made some "texturised bub food " (told ya I'm excited )

anyway I could go on but I guess I had a day in the life of a SAHM

Sounds like you had a great day!! I cant wait to start my DS on Farex etc!!! Only a few weeks to go, YAY!!!!:smiliedance:

tyler's mum
18-04-2006, 23:23
yeah i did need it and i feel great but i know i wont sleep much 2nite:rolleyes:

misskittyfantastico
18-04-2006, 23:27
Sounds like you had a great day!! I cant wait to start my DS on Farex etc!!! Only a few weeks to go, YAY!!!!:smiliedance:

Honestly, who would've thought that rice cereal could become the highlight of your day:D

SuperWoman
18-04-2006, 23:28
Honestly, who would've thought that rice cereal could become the highlight of your day:D

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: !!!! So true!!!!

SuperWoman
18-04-2006, 23:29
yeah i did need it and i feel great but i know i wont sleep much 2nite:rolleyes:

Im the same, if I sleep during the day I lay awake for ages at night, and when I finally drift off my DS is waking up!!!

tyler's mum
18-04-2006, 23:34
same as tyler,, the other nite i could sleep end up felling asleep around 4am tyler woke up at 6.30 and just wanted to play

SuperWoman
18-04-2006, 23:38
I love the look on Brady's face when Im sooooooooo tired and he has just woken up, and all he wants to do is get out of bed. Kicking his legs, waving his hands around. I can just imagine what he is thinking, "hurry up mum, wanna play" :D LOL!!!!:laughing:

tyler's mum
18-04-2006, 23:52
a few times ive just got some toys and put her in bed with me but it never works cause she hits me in the head with them if i close my eyes:rolleyes:

SuperWoman
19-04-2006, 00:02
a few times ive just got some toys and put her in bed with me but it never works cause she hits me in the head with them if i close my eyes:rolleyes:

:laughing: :laughing: Too cute!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

jordy&steph'smumma
19-04-2006, 07:44
I'm a SAHM 2 and loving it!!!
I have been ever since we had a first who is 6 now and in grade 1.
He loves school soooooo much he wants to go on weekends!!!:laughing:
I also have a DD who will be 4 next thursday 27th shes our little princess!!
And no. 3 is due in July.
I so love bein a SAHM and could never put my kids in day care all day every day as I'd be scared I'd miss out on too much!!!!

Kylie

Briannabear
19-04-2006, 07:55
Im with you Kylie! I absolutely love being a stay home mum!
I have a 15 month old and Im pregnant with no. 2, due in Oct. :smiliedance:

SuperWoman
19-04-2006, 10:34
jordy&steph'smumma & Briannabear congrats on your soon to be new additions to your family!!!! I feel the same, I love being home with my DS, I would hate to miss anything new that he does and lately it's like everyday that he blows my mind away with new achievements!!:smiliedance:

QTB
19-04-2006, 10:54
Briannabear: Your due date is the date that my brayden was due last year :)

Briannabear
19-04-2006, 11:59
Briannabear: Your due date is the date that my brayden was due last year :)
Very cool! :yelclap: Im curious to know when this baby will come - I went 3 weeks early with my first.

jordy&steph'smumma
19-04-2006, 19:42
I'm also waiting to see if I go over again!!!
My son was 18 days over as my dr was also pregnant and totally mucked up my dates (I didn't know my last cycle date) Mum reacons she was too occupied with her own pregnancy!!!
Luckliy I had to go to a different Dr and he sent me to Bendigo hospital 1/2hr from home they looked at my dates, charts etc and booked me in to be induced the next morning!!!
My 2nd was a week over due but I went in natural and had her in home town which was much better!!! I was only in hospital for 1 hour and she was born!!!:thumbsup:
Hope its that easy this time:fingerscrossed:

Thanks for the congrats Bradysmum!!!

SuperWoman
19-04-2006, 22:52
jordy&steph'smumma, jeez, 18 days over:eek: ! I think your doc was pre-occupied with her pregnancy too!:shame:

Hopefully your next baby will be quick like your DD!:fingerscrossed:

jordy&steph'smumma
21-04-2006, 08:59
Funny thing my dr had her baby on the same day as me too and when I had no 2 she was away in melbourne but also pregnant and this time I just went to a totally different dr from the satart because she was nearly due to have another baby.......
Weird ho we keep having babies at the same time?????

My cousin just had her first bubba yesterday morning 8 pound 2 at 1.22am no drugs nothing just said the gas was her new best friend:D

She will also be a SAHM I will have to get her to join this forum and have a chat too.

Now i'm next in line 12weeks 2 days and counting!!!!

SuperWoman
21-04-2006, 13:51
jordy&stephsmumma, what is it with you and doctors???:laughing: :laughing:

Wish your cousin a big congratulations on the baby!! That is great news:smiliedance: !!! You must get her to join us, im sure she will love it here!!!!!!!!!

12 weeks and 2 days to go!!!:yelclap:

Hope you have a great day!!

MustangMumma
23-04-2006, 09:44
Im a stay at home mummy too, and it is the best job I have ever had!!!!! Be nice to chat with other SAHM!!!! We rock!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance: :smiliedance:

lediva
24-04-2006, 13:47
Another SAHM here too! And I feel so lucky that I'm able to stay at home with bub and not march off to work like some mums do.
We are all pretty lucky that we can manage financially! But I bet there are some pretty money savvy mummies out there.
It wouldn't hurt to share some of our 'how to save money' ideas - what do you think?
I must admit I dont spend too much on myself anymore and I really need a h/cut. Haven't been to the hairdressers in awhile! but I dont look shabby either,lol.
Ebay is a gr8 place for buying bubbies clothes and I dont know if anyone else has looked in at some of the op shops around but the clothes there are gr8. Alot of the time you come ax clothes that are new because most bubs end up with more than they can wear.
They grow so quickly.
And we dont use cloth nappies which probably would save us money! But I find the Snugglers cheaper than Huggies and just as good!

Interested to hear your ideas!

And lastly has anyone ever asked you 'what do you do at home?!!! That really infuriates me - what do they think I do twiddle my thumbs. Sorry :-) It annoys me big time~

jordy&steph'smumma
24-04-2006, 15:22
Hiya Caras mum and mum2jo!!!

Here here SAHM do rock and no we don't just sit there and do nothing.

Well I try to do that in between taking kids to school and kinder, washing, folding, cleaning, cooking, making beds cleaning up toys and trying to look after myself with this huge bump as well as everyone else!!!!!

It p's me off when people think that SAHM's just sit there it's a full time 24 hr job not a 9-5er.

Caras mum I also love lookin on ebay you save so much money on items that baby shops want 4 times as much for....... I just brought a Valco carry cocoon bed off there Practically new it come in the packaging and it cost me 13.10 + 7.80postage.
I seen the same thing in the baby shop in our yown for $70.00 so what gives if you can get a bargain why not????

I don't think there is that much difference in cost using cloth or disposable nappies as you need to use soakers etc and the time, water etc to clean them works out about the same to me???

I used cloth with my first for a while and no 2 was in disposables after leaving hospital as will no 3!!!!

Hope to hear from you guys again soon

Kylie

MonMic
25-04-2006, 15:44
Hiya all :) ,

I can't imagine raising my bubs any other way! My 8 month old is just so gorgeous and cute I don't see why he should spend all day with someone else. Now the 2 year old is another story, she has recently started preschool as she was SOOOO bored at home and craved playing with other kids. I think it would be different if she had someone else to play with her own age at home.

Day care won't take them if they are sick and of course they bring everything home so you get it too! although after saying that we are all currently fighting a really bad cold that we picked up from some kids at the park! I also couldn't imagine having to go to work after having a bad night with the kids!

SAHM's are the best!!

Mon

SuperWoman
25-04-2006, 17:42
Hi Monica, Hope you all feel better soon!! It's the worst when your little ones are sick!!:hugs: :kiss: :hugs: :kiss:

IAdoreYou
01-05-2006, 16:48
I love being a SAHM as well :D

I chase Brooke all over the house now .. soon as she wakes , she is on the go for 3 hours straight :D before settling down again. I wouldn't have it any other way though.

She is 9 months now and just got a tooth!!! we spend our day going room to room .. she crawls everywhere and even walks along the walls holding on with one hand .. her latest thing is taknig the magnets of the fridge.

ran out of time .. I have to go. back soon!

SuperWoman
01-05-2006, 22:51
Yeah, congrats on her first tooth!!!!! She sounds adorable!!!!:hugs:

tyler's mum
01-05-2006, 22:54
tyler army crawl for the frist time 2nite:smiliedance: i was so happy and almost cryed:laughing:

Femme-Fetale
02-05-2006, 07:35
HI girls, im a stay at home mum to my (nearly) one yr old Ezekiel.

Can i join in too?

EskimoMumma
02-05-2006, 07:53
Morning everyone i am currently a SAHM to two kiddies. my DS 4 (i share custody with his dad though) and my DD Mary who is now 5months :yelclap:

I love staying at home and being there, its lovely watching them grow, but ia m always asked when am i going back to work and that will be very soon sadly :thumbsdown:

so hopefully i will be in this thread longer then i hope? :fingerscrossed:

my babyemmy
02-05-2006, 07:58
hi girls, i thought i would pop into here as well:hugs:

EskimoMumma
02-05-2006, 08:02
:hugs: hey, how are you and emmy going?

SuperWoman
14-05-2006, 17:27
Tyler's mum, that is so great that Tyler army crawled!!!! What a cutie!!!!:smiliedance:

Hope all you lovely mummies had a fantastic Mother's Day!!!!!!!!!!:smiliedance: :smiliedance:

IAdoreYou
15-05-2006, 11:06
:smiliedance: Tam .. tahts great about Tyler.

Brooke is starting to walk :eek: she is really finding her balance more and more now ..

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY girls for yesterday :D

15-05-2006, 11:26
How was the day yesterday?

SuperWoman
15-05-2006, 22:39

Lisa, your avater is so cute!!!! Brooke is gorgeous!!!!!!:smiliedance:

Kymmy, Mother's Day was great, my DS made me brekkie while Brady and I chilled out in bed and then we went out to lunch!! How was your day?:D

Hope everyone had a great Monday!!! The week has just begun:laughing: :laughing: !!!!

IAdoreYou
16-05-2006, 12:37
thanks Bradysmum.

I had a huge bowl of Nachos at Pancake Manner in the city .. very yummo. Hubbie had chocolate jewels ..

I had a great Mothers Day and then we watched King Kong DVD late that night.

Another week is underway :thumbsup:

17-05-2006, 12:35
I've had a few Mother's Days in my time
and this one wasn't too bad..

Went to the DFO in Essendon yesterday with no kids, no prams
Bought underwear for myself
skirt for DD
jacket for DS
and a few things for baby...

jordy&steph'smumma
17-05-2006, 14:47
Is the dfo worth going to???
I've never been but have been thinking of going next time where down Melbourne.

17-05-2006, 14:54
Is the dfo worth going to???
I've never been but have been thinking of going next time where down Melbourne.

I like it.
I am a bargain hunter and I like quality clothing and things
so its great for me.
It is worth going.:thumbsup:

tyler's mum
17-05-2006, 19:44
tyler is getting so much better at crawling she is on the go all the time,,, she also now has a tooth im so happy,, but she has been so moody and sick cause she is still teething,,,

hope every mum had a great mother's day,, mine was great:smiliedance:

SuperWoman
17-05-2006, 22:45
Tyler's mum, hope Tyler feels better soon! Boy, they really go through a hard time teething don't they? Poor bubba's!!! Thats great that she is crawling:smiliedance: !! I start Brady on baby cereal soon and Im a little excited about it, although it feels like yesterday that he was my newborn!!!:p

jordy&steph'smumma, I found the DFO good too. Great bargins!!!:thumbsup:

tyler's mum
18-05-2006, 09:00
sometimes i just wish she was born with teeth save on all the pain she is in and she only has one:eek: tyler loves her food she has been having baby cereal for months, she loves her fruit and vegs and just like her mummy loves chicken she does'nt like steak much,, would much rather chicken or fish just like me:yes:

feels like yesterday that she was a newborn i know what ya mean,, i cant believ in 4months she will be 1,, makes me feel so sad yet so proud

jordy&steph'smumma
18-05-2006, 09:01
Bradysmum & Kymmy: I might just have to get dh to take me down there then!!!:thumbsup:
Might find a bargain or 2:fingerscrossed:

18-05-2006, 10:33
I love bargains!
Hubby is actually keen to take me back to the DFO
Maybe in a few weeks.
He just wants some more pants.
And he takes hours shopping for trousers....

IAdoreYou
18-05-2006, 15:01
I so want to go to DFO as well!

I know Tam what you mean .. brooke will be 1 in 2 months .. sad *sigh* but very proud!!

ciao .. hi girls :wave:

18-05-2006, 15:02
gotta go pick up my girl.
go DFO and happy shopping and bargain shopping!

SuperWoman
18-05-2006, 21:19
Has anyone been to the Pumpkin Patch shop at DFO? when I went it wasn't opened yet? If so, was it priced better or the same?

SuperWoman
20-05-2006, 21:56
Hi all!!!! It's a little quiet on here today!!!

Just wondering what everyones plans are for Sunday??? Anything interesting going on??????????:) :)

IAdoreYou
21-05-2006, 10:50
hi :wave:

I'm here just checking mail. My hubbie is working today and my bubba is napping .. we are going out to dinner tonight .. and then home to watch BB and The Great Escape.

busy busy .. :wave:

jordy&steph'smumma
21-05-2006, 14:33
Hiya all!!!

We always have a lazy Sunday. Veg at home watch a movie play computer read a book whatever!!!

Most our Sundays are like this at the moment as DH has been workin 6 days a week as his boss have gone overseas and he is pretty much running the shop. So he is pretty tired on a Sunday (his only day off)

I might get energised and cook a cake or slice soon!! Yummo Other then that i'm being a bit lazy. lol

Nan
21-05-2006, 17:46
Hi everyone! :wave:
I thought I'd crash this thread because I've recently made the decision to be a SAHM!!!! :yelclap: My DD is only 6 months old (today!!!!), but hubby and I have said that if we can survive the 1 income dilemma (I think we should be able to), I will stay home until all my kids are at school. I might work a day here and there, but for now, this is my life for the next 5-7 years!!:laughing:
How do you guys feel about being SAHMs? I still really miss my work as an EC teacher, but I adore my daughter and am learning about mummy things! I thought I'd have all this time on my hands when she's asleep, but I don't!! I'm amazed at how busy I seem to be even with only 1 child and no job!!!
Anyway, that's me and I hope to get to know some of you a bit more. I'm glad I've found this thread as it will be good to chat to mums who are in similar positions to me and have more experience than me.
Love,
Nan. xx

SuperWoman
21-05-2006, 21:32
Kylie, did you end up making a cake or slice??????????:chef:

Nan, welcome to being a SAHM. It is the best job in the world!! Happy 6 months to your little princess!!!!!!:smiliedance:

Our Angel is Pink, did you have a nice dinner??:chef:

Hope everyone had a nice weekend!!!!:D

TwoBlue
21-05-2006, 21:45
How have i not seen this thread before????

well hello everyone :wave:
I am a SAHM to Samuel who is 26 mths and Ethan who is almost 6 mths

I think it is the most difficult, most demanding and most rewarding job in the whole world and if kisses and cuddles are my pay for the rest of my life i will die a happy woman :D

At the same time i am soooooo struggling with it at the moment.
DH has started a new job and leaves for work at 3:30pm and gets home at 2am:(

It is exhausting as not only is my routine turned upside down, but now i do the "horror run" (dinner, bath, bed etc..) on my own !! then in the morning i have to keep them as quiet as possible so DH can get the sleep he needs.

Hopefully this position wont last for long :fingerscrossed:

so maybe you fabulous mummys have some good tips for me?

Anyway i hope to chat to you all heaps more

Nan glad to hear you've decided to be a SAHM, it is a great job !!

SuperWoman
23-05-2006, 14:32
Hi ladies!!!!!

Samsmum04, welcome!!!!! I really feel for you during that 3:30 onwards period of cooking, feeding the kids, bathing etc. It is the most busy part of the day!! Hopefully it eases up a bit:fingerscrossed: ! My DS is almost 6 months too, and I must say, your two gorgeous boys are spunks!!!!!:cool: :cool:

IAdoreYou
23-05-2006, 15:10
Hi girls.

Welcome Nan :D SAHM is the best.

Brady - We did have a yummy dinner .. we went and pigged out on Thai and the place had the highchair set up for us with a bowl and spoon and little cup. v.cute!

Samsmum - HI .. my hubbie is shiftworker as well. I'm quite conditioned to shift work now though, his being doing for 7 years :eek: was very hard with a new baby .. its getting better though. ((hugs))

hi everyone ... cleaning day here today. My Mum came up and helped with clean on top on the kitchen cupboards and behind the fridge and moped the floors .. place smells and looks good.

how is everybody else going?

TwoBlue
23-05-2006, 17:19
thanks for the welcome guys :D

Bradysmum our little men are only a week apart how cool !
Your Brady is quite the spunk too and i have to agree when you say my boys are also :yes:
although my 2 year old is not so spunky today after using baby balsam like hair gel :banghead: his hair is like ducks feathers! The water is just falling off LOL

Lasagne for dinner tonight mmmmm

SuperWoman
23-05-2006, 20:41
Our Angel is Pink, im glad your dinner went well, sounded nice!!! How cute that they had a high chair, bowl, cup and spoon set up for you, thats sooo nice!!! Lucky you that your house is nice and clean!!! We had a BBQ on Sunday with friends and family and my house still looks messy!!:banghead:

Samsmum, you made me laugh when you wrote about your son putting that stuff in his hair, although I know I shouldnt laugh!! Boys will be boys!! How was the Lasagna???

TwoBlue
23-05-2006, 20:56
Samsmum, you made me laugh when you wrote about your son putting that stuff in his hair, although I know I shouldnt laugh!! Boys will be boys!! How was the Lasagna???

Lasagne was gooooood thanks :D Samuel ate heaps of it too so thats great.
I used my girlfriends mums real tomato sauce stuff that the Italians make every year ! Yummo !

Oh and i have now washed Samuels hair three times and its still glossy and sticky !! :banghead:

Our angel is pink - i wish someone would come and clean my house :rolleyes: hehe

SuperWoman
23-05-2006, 21:37
Hey, at least Samuel has shiny hair!!!:laughing: :laughing:

TwoBlue
24-05-2006, 21:38
Hey, at least Samuel has shiny hair!!!:laughing: :laughing:

yeeees Shiny.... mmmmm ... more like "greasy" :laughing:

hello Libby ! You sound liek a very busy woman ! look forward to chatting more...

where is everyone tonight?

Tayla'sMum
24-05-2006, 23:08
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Bub Hub and I'm a SAHM... and I actually work part time from home. Would love to join the thread as I feel a little isolated sometimes, I'd like to chat with other Mums!:ecomcity:

TwoBlue
24-05-2006, 23:17
Would love to join the thread as I feel a little isolated sometimes

mmm i understand that feeling taylasmum !!

I see your in Melbourne.. there is a meet tommorrow morning at Rare Bears in Toorak.. you should come along !!

Tayla'sMum
24-05-2006, 23:22
I actually just saw the "Meet in May" thread. I would've love too, but I have an appointment tomorrow afternoon (which means I have to work in the morning)... perhaps Tayla and I could come along to the next one... :thumbsup:

TwoBlue
24-05-2006, 23:28
oh thats a shame

i hope you can both make it to the next one
they are lots of fun :)

Tayla'sMum
24-05-2006, 23:32
yes - I'll definitely keep my eye out for the next one!

tyhleigha & izaiah's mum
25-05-2006, 00:49
im a sahm to 2 wonderful kids
my day goes something like this in the morning put cartoons on tv and give them breakfast while i clean when they are finished i read a book to them while sitting on bub hub, then they do some drawing etc them morning tea time then its down stairs for a bit then come back up stairs they watch wiggles while i am on bub hub then they have lunch gor for their sleep i join them :D wake up do what ever pre pare dinner for when partner gets hom ehe cooks we eat. play with the kids for a bit then they go to bed between 7:30 and 8. so then we have the night to ourselves hehe ;)

25-05-2006, 11:36
Has anyone been to the Pumpkin Patch shop at DFO? when I went it wasn't opened yet? If so, was it priced better or the same?

It is pretty much the same as the local PP just bigger
so you might as well wait for the sales
The prices aren't better but it is all about luck
when you are looking for bargains.!

25-05-2006, 11:44
Welcome to all.
Nearly everybody seems new to this thread.
nan
libby
samsmum04
tayla'smum
tyleigha&izaiah'smum
I have seen you around
but I welcome you all to this thread....
The wonderful SAHMs!

IAdoreYou
25-05-2006, 14:11
Welcome to all.
Nearly everybody seems new to this thread.
nan
libby
samsmum04
tayla'smum
tyleigha&izaiah'smum
I have seen you around
but I welcome you all to this thread....
The wonderful SAHMs!

I agree ..

Welcome :D

just a quite one today for us here .. was going to be a busy one .. though just never got out the door !!

buys weekend though here . Have a great weekend girls! whats everybody up toooo?

25-05-2006, 14:17
Nothing exciting.
Just cruising today.!

SuperWoman
25-05-2006, 16:59
Wow, you girls have been busy!!!!!

Thanx Kymmy, I thought the prices would be like that too!!!!:thumbsup:

Welcome to all the lovely new ladies!!!!!

Well its my B'day tomorrow, i will be 29!!!! Just having dinner at mum and dads! Tonight we have a meeting at the church for Brady's Baptism, but that about it for us!!! What else are you ladies up to??

Hope you all have a great night, hopefully not to busy, yeh right!!!:laughing:

Catch you all later tonight, hopefully!!!:wave:

tyler's mum
25-05-2006, 20:04
tyler cut her seond tooth last nite u can feel to tip of it,, she is being a grumy bum all day

Tayla'sMum
25-05-2006, 21:04
Hello...

I had a look at PP at DFO, and I thought the prices were ok... but agree, you may as well wait for the specials at your local PP. I actually find PP online to be quite good as well... they seem to be able to access more sizes of there clearance items and if you spen over $100 (which is sooooooooo easy to do!) you get postage for free! One of my friends just actually put me onto a store called JK Kidswear or jkonline... similar clothing to PP... and a little cheaper... I personally still prefer PP....

Tayla is sleeping in a grobag for the first time tonight... she keeps getting out of her covers and she's like a little iceblock in the morning... I thought I'[d get her one and see how she goes... the nights keep getting colder...

anyway I'm tired and rambling:ecomcity: !!

Well catch you all later:thumbsup:

SuperWoman
25-05-2006, 21:55
tyler cut her seond tooth last nite u can feel to tip of it,, she is being a grumy bum all day

Oh poor Tyler and mum!!!! Brady hasnt got any teeth yet, although I dont think it's too far off:eek: !!! It must be so sore for them. Give Tyler a hug from Brady!!!:hugs:

Tayla'sMum, hope Tayla sleeps well in her Gro-bag, I have heard they are really good!!! Let us know!!:thumbsup:

jordy&steph'smumma
26-05-2006, 10:32
HAPPY BIRTHDAY BRADYSMUM!!!

:bday:HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT DAY:bday:

Tayla'sMum
26-05-2006, 11:38
:bday: to Bradysmum!!

:hugs: :hugs: to Tyler!

Tayla'sMum
26-05-2006, 11:40
Tayla has 4 top teeth and 2 bottom teeth... she hasn't cut any more since Christmas... but she's been chewing on those fingers the last few months and the last few days she's been grumpy and had really red cheeks...:mad:

It looks as though she's getting more on the top... She has two hard white bumps on either side of her top 4 teeth (the fang teeth!) and they appear to be what's troubling her. Does this sound right?? I don't really know which ones are due next?? I thought she'd be getting more on the bottom, but there doesn't seem to be signs of any. Anyway, I just rub the bonjela everywhere just in case!!:thumbsup:

Tayla's grobag proved to be a success... as when I checked on her at 7am (when she usually wakes) she was sleeping up the other way in her cot (as usual!) and she was lovely and warm...:sleeping: Didn't hear a peep until 8:20am.... Niiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiice!!!:D

SuperWoman
26-05-2006, 12:14
Thanx so much for the Birthday wishes girls!!! My best friend is taking me out to lunch today!!:D

Tayla'smum, so happy that Tayla had a good sleep!!!! Gro-bags rock,:laughing: !!!! Hope her teething isn't too bad, awww, the red cheeks, when Brady's cheeks go red like that I feel so sorry for him too!!! Give her a big cuddle from us!!

Jordyandsteph'smumma, hope you have a great day too!!:wave: How's the pregnancy going? How are you feeling?

Whats everyone up to today and the weekend????

IAdoreYou
26-05-2006, 15:49
:bday: Bradysmum !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tayla'sMum
26-05-2006, 15:50
Today.... Housework! Although it's happening very s-l-o-w-l-y... just can't seem to find the motivation today... or any day for that matter!:o

Weekend will probably be pretty quiet (as usual) but DH and I are going out on Sat night for a 30th... looking forward to a few beverages:D

Anyhoo... DH will be home soon... so I better make it look as though I've done SOMETHING today!!!:rolleyes:

IAdoreYou
26-05-2006, 16:01
Today.... Housework! Although it's happening very s-l-o-w-l-y... just can't seem to find the motivation today... or any day for that matter!:o

Weekend will probably be pretty quiet (as usual) but DH and I are going out on Sat night for a 30th... looking forward to a few beverages:D

Anyhoo... DH will be home soon... so I better make it look as though I've done SOMETHING today!!!:rolleyes:

LOL !!

I was only popping on here .. hubbie is allready home from work , so the house is still messy and bub is still alseep .. so I figure 10 more mins won't kill anybody lol

Shopped today .. BIG food shop as well!
lots of running around this weekend for us :wave:

Tayla'sMum
26-05-2006, 16:09
I was only popping on here ..

I'm always just "popping on" to Bub Hub... but I always seem to get stuck!! LOL!!:laughing:

Well logging off now... really I am!!!!!:wave:

IAdoreYou
26-05-2006, 16:17
:D so funny ..

Me going now as well .. even though now Brooke is awake and in here with me and I still can't get off .. and I'm moving her constantly away from the keys .. as she thinks she can touch TYPE :eek:

:wave: really going now

jordy&steph'smumma
27-05-2006, 10:57
Hi all!!!

Bradysmum:
I'm not too bad getting to the stage where I feel really big and everyone keeps asking how long have you got to go??? Still gettin kicked to death and waking up in the night because he's kicking me.

Starting to get to the tired stage again where I need a powernap on the couch in the afternoon for an hour. The only thing I have to remember to set my alarm on my mobile phone so I am awake to pick up ds from school :laughing::laughing:

But all in all I'm feeling pretty good.

DH has to work today as his boss is in Greece so he's runnin the place so me and the kids might go for a walk down the street and then drive his car home (so we don't have to walk back up the big hill):laughing:

Other then that I need to start getting organised and packing a few things together as I only have 7 weeks to go!!!

Hope everyone has a great weekend :thumbsup:

Kylie

SuperWoman
28-05-2006, 19:09
Hi Kylie, wow 7 weeks to go!!!! Not long hey?? I remember when I was pregnant and I had to sleep upright for the last month or so, drove me nutters:laughing: !!!! The things us women go through huh?

Hopefully you dont forget the kids at school:eek: !!!! Keep setting that mobile phone,:D !!!

Hope you had a lovely weekend!!

Hello to everyone!!!!!:wave:

tyler's mum
28-05-2006, 20:09
tyler has been so good this weekend we when to stay at with my 2 auntys house in the country its over a 5hrs drive tyler was so good in the car,,, her teeth were giving her a bit of troblem but she just keep on looking out the windows at the trees and playing with her dolls and other toys:yes:

hope every one else at a good weekend??

TwoBlue
28-05-2006, 21:22
One of my friends just actually put me onto a store called JK Kidswear or jkonline... similar clothing to PP... and a little cheaper... I personally still prefer PP....

These clothes are great!
There is actually a JK kids store at Southlands now.

Happy Belated Birthday Bradysmum
:bday:
Hope you had a great day!

Hi to all

29-05-2006, 15:00
These clothes are great!
There is actually a JK kids store at Southlands now.

And Highpoint...

SuperWoman
29-05-2006, 23:35
Hi girls, hope you are all well!!!:smiliedance:

samsmum04, thanx for the b'day wishes!!!

How has everyones day been! Brady has been a bit grumpy today, red cheeks, warm, niggly, dribbling, not sleeping. Could this be a teething issue????:confused:

Tyler's mum, sounds like you and Tyler had a great weekend!!!!:thumbsup:

Hope you are having a great night!!!!!!!!!!!!:wave:

Tayla'sMum
30-05-2006, 10:14
Brady has been a bit grumpy today, red cheeks, warm, niggly, dribbling, not sleeping. Could this be a teething issue????

Sounds like it Bradysmum!!

Hello everyone!!:wave:
Well my weekend was really good until I heard the terrible news that my family dog was ran over and killed on Sunday morning:crying: . She was an 11 yo German Shepherd and our family was extremely attached to her... I knew she was getting on, but I never did expect her to die the way she did... it's just plain awful.
Anyway, Tayla has cut her first molar! So she now has her 4 top front teeth, a molar and still only 2 bottom teeth!:D

hippychick
30-05-2006, 12:15
Hello!Im a sahm...
I worked throughout my pregancy and went back to work when my little man was 8 months old.he is now 18 months old.I finished work a couple of months ago.I only worked 2 days a week.(work in dept.store)But i asked my bosses if i could start at 3 on a thurs arvo and finish at 8 in the evening (thurs night shopping)Because my little man was at his nonnas and I would have to get ready at 12 to be at work by 3!!And leave work at 9 go pick him up in the cold and be home at around 10..It got to hard.And there answer-"nope if you want to do it everyone else will want to!!" Every1 else didnt have a baby!!And it was only for a couple of months!!!
Mind you my boss didnt have kids..
thats my rant!!but i love staying at home!!Its the best job in the world!!:D

bellagirl
30-05-2006, 12:36
hi my name is brooke and im new:smiliedance: I stumbled acroos this site while looking up some diet programs any suggestions?:chef:

SuperWoman
30-05-2006, 16:52
Good afternoon ladies.....

Tayla'smum, Im so sorry about your dog hun. Thats so awful. I have a dog and I know how hard that could be, he is like a family member to us too. Big hugs for you and your family...:hugs: ...
Congrats to Tayla on her first molar:smiliedance: !!!!!!

Welcome to Hippychick!!! Your right, being a SAHM is the best job in the world!!!! You should have told your boss to stick it!!!:laughing:

Bellagirl, Im the worst at diets, LOL, I can't give advice on that topic,:laughing: !!! Sorry!!!!!

Well today was hectic, I wen to the shops and Brady was so miserable. he woke up at 9:15 to day and just went down for a nap at 3:30. I feel so worn out. I dont know how he lasted that long!! Im now enjoying a little break. I really do believe it's his teeth, I just wish one would pop out for him!!!!

Hope everyone is well!!!

IAdoreYou
30-05-2006, 17:00
hi :wave:

Bradysmum - Hope the teething settles soon .. Brooke didn't get her 1st tooth for ages either.

Tayla - sorry :hugs:

SAHM is the best hippyc.

Not much to add .. having a 5 min rest right now , was up early today , we had a busy day .. Brooke is TIRED and napping Hubbie is sleeping as his on midnight shift tonight.

Is it cold where we all live? Where do we all live again ?

So cold here this morning - Western Subs.

tyler's mum
30-05-2006, 17:23
tyler cut her 3rd tooth 2 day,,, :smiliedance: she is also starting to pull herself up on things she is growing up way to fast its exciting yet sad at the same time:crying: :smiliedance:

SuperWoman
30-05-2006, 17:30
Our Angel is Pink, it is cold today, although we had a little sun!!! Im in Melb and its been cold for ages now!!!! Hope you enjoyed your rest!!!

Tyler'smum, congrats to Tyler on her 3rd tooth!!:smiliedance: It is exciting when they do new things, but it is also sad cause they are growing up so fast!! Brady can almost sit up by himself now and wants to grab everything in sight,:laughing: !!! Although at the dinner table it's not that funny anymore, LOL!!!

30-05-2006, 21:22
hey Bradysmum y bub sounds strong
my bub is a month younger and he is now sitting up alone
no teeth though.

SuperWoman
30-05-2006, 21:49
I know Kymmy, pretty good huh? I just wish these teeth would make an appearance. I hate seeing him so grumpy and upset, poor babies, what they have to go through!!!!:hugs:

30-05-2006, 21:52
sorry i think my bub is older...
anyway...
no teeth yet thank goodness.

i just got my new computer today
and the kids wont leave me alone
what have i got myself into?

SuperWoman
30-05-2006, 22:34
sorry i think my bub is older...
anyway...
no teeth yet thank goodness.

i just got my new computer today
and the kids wont leave me alone
what have i got myself into?

Your kids want your computer, arghhhhh!!!! Wait till they go to bed and type away!!!:laughing: !!! are you happy with your computer? i hate mine!!!

30-05-2006, 22:43
i do like the puter.
it is a budget one but it will suffice.
my kids are still up
My son is in the shower
my baby is watching TV:shame:
my girl might be sleeping:thumbsup:
and i should be sleeping!
night night!
hubby wants a go!

Tayla'sMum
30-05-2006, 22:54
so sorry about your dog hun. Thats so awful. I have a dog and I know how hard that could be, he is like a family member to us too. Big hugs for you and your family...
Congrats to Tayla on her first molar !!!!!!

Thank you for your kind thoughts:hugs: yes it is extremely sad...

Yes, I don't think the second molar is far away. It really must be hard for them... little Brady will be much happier as soon as it cuts through... :D

Well time to punch out some zzzz's:sleeping:

Hope everyone's bub has a good sleep... sleeping babies means sleeping mummies!!:D

31-05-2006, 08:11
my bub slept ok
but I had some trouble- my feet get so cold
Am I up to early?

Tayla'sMum
31-05-2006, 09:39
It is getting cold!! Only 1degree here in Point Cook this morning!!!!:eek:

31-05-2006, 10:06
At least the sun is out...:thumbsup:

Tayla'sMum
31-05-2006, 10:17
I know!! It actually looks warm!! :cool: I don't mind the cold, I just hate the miserable cloudy weather:gloomy: ... As long as the sun's out I'm happy!:smiliedance:

What's all the SAHM's up to today???

31-05-2006, 10:23
True.
The sun seems to cheer me up.

Now what am I going to do now I have the net in the home?
This is my first ever computer.
My girl got one for her 4th birthday from my bro
About time we got our own I think
Then I have to network with the other puter so I can share broadband
hubby is only learning
i have a little more experience

jordy&steph'smumma
31-05-2006, 11:14
Hiya all!!!

I was having major withdrawals yesterday as my computer just would not start and had some system error so I had to wait till dh come home yesterday arvo to fix it.

Which we had to totally reformat it so lost everything that was on it:thumbsdown:

Anyway it's working now so that is the main thing. I can't go too long without my bubhub now!!!:laughing:

Kymmy and Tayla's mum: It is freezing where I live 2 we have been having frosts every night and it's like -2 in the morning at 9.00 when I take ds to school.

Don't know how I will cope when I have my bubba in the middle of winter and have to take kids to school and kinder in the mornin!!!
At least dh is going to have 2 weeks off work and my big sis is coming down from Sydney for 2 weeks too.
Can't wait to see her.

My dd 4 loves the computer her and ds have my mums old one in ds room and they love playing there games on it. They are both better on the computer then their nan. They learn so much so fast.

oooooohhhhh bubba has hiccups he gets them all the time lately getting ready for his arrive (doesn't help that I just ate a crumpet because I was starving!!!:laughing:) feels so funny!!!:D

Kylie

31-05-2006, 11:25
I had trouble getting on the net this morn
I don't think I could have handled the idea we have this new computer
and I can't use it
I am trying to understand the computer so i don't have to rely on anyone
hubby sure has no idea
I had to coach him last night-how to register on a chat site
I also told him i know everything you do on here
cos he is a troublemaker
and now he is more weary...

Tayla'sMum
31-05-2006, 11:58
Ahhh computers!!

I have had quite a bit of experience with computers over the years and I currently work from home part time as an IT assistant and they still confuse the hell out of me!!!:confused: :confused:

I don't think there is a person out there who fully understands everything!;)

31-05-2006, 12:03
True.
My bro works as a computer technician and he still gets perplexed...

rubyredlips
31-05-2006, 15:29

I too am a SAHM to my 3 month old daughter Ruby - she's my new best mate! It's taken a while for me to get used to not going 'out' to work....I was a nervous wreck at first, even though little red lips is generally a v calm baby. I would be quite frantic making sure all washing was done and the house was spotless......bit hard with a hairy border collie hanging around the place!!!

I feel much more laid back now and am hoping to get into a new mothers group this coming Friday......getting a little bored of my own company and Ruby's not much of a talker yet!

Would love to get to know some of you better.....

Jo:wave:

31-05-2006, 15:44
Jo, welcome!:wave:

~angel~
31-05-2006, 17:08
Hi:wave:
Im a SAHM....I have two at school, and a 3 yr old at home!
I do think he's so needing to go to daycare though, he's so bored with me!
Kel..x

31-05-2006, 17:38
welcome!:wave:
My 3 year old misses his sister when she goes to school.

MumofMadd
31-05-2006, 17:41
I am also a SAHM DS 2yr and look after another 3 after school. I am looking for people to chat to and wanting to get DS mixin with kids his age.

31-05-2006, 17:54
welcome!:wave:

~angel~
31-05-2006, 18:52
Thanks Kymmy
Yeh, it is hard on them, Isnt it, He loves the weekends and school holidays! When he gets the kids all to himself again! :p

31-05-2006, 20:24
my son wont let his sis do a thing without him
she is so bossy
and he just follows...

SuperWoman
31-05-2006, 23:08
Hi all!!!:wave:

Welcome to all the new mummies!!!!!:hugs:

Went out today and bought Brady his Christening outfit. It is soooo cute!!!! He will look like such a little dude!!!!:cool:

It is sooo cold tonight!!!! Im wearing a massive jumper about 2 sizes to big cause I am freezing!!!!!

Hope everyone is well!!!!!:hugs:

TwoBlue
31-05-2006, 23:10
Hi everyone !

I am bored tonight

Just (finally) got Samuel to bed Grrrrr....

Ethan been asleep for hours already (what a gem)

done a bit of housework and there is nothing on tv....

how was everyones day?

Bradysmum when is the Christening? Whats his outfit like?
I have to go shopping for Ethans Dedication outfit soon :smiliedance:

31-05-2006, 23:14
Avee might be blessed when he is one

SuperWoman
31-05-2006, 23:20
Well, Im not really into the white gown outfit, so I bought him a really gorgeous Peter Rabbit knitted jumper thats pale blue and white, with beige cargo cords pants from Pumpkin Patch and the cutest little bootie shoes and beanie!!! A bit untraditional I know, but I always do things differently!!! They are sooo cute!!!!

I can hear Brady stirring and im praying he doesnt get up, he didnt sleep today again!!! I dont know. maybe its a growth spurt, who knows???

31-05-2006, 23:24
We have an outfit that was worn by my bil and sil as well as our kids
so very traditional.

SuperWoman
31-05-2006, 23:27
kymmy, If I had a girl I would have dressed her in my christening outfit. Its nice to keep it going like that! I think its great that its kept in your family and passed down, so special,:hugs: .

31-05-2006, 23:34
my boy wore the gown though he was mistaken for a girl
I don't think it will fit my baby

TwoBlue
31-05-2006, 23:39
The outfit sounds gorgeous Bradysmum ! He is going to look so cool and adorable, it sounds much like what we would go for for Ethan.

Kymmy i think its lovely that you have a special outfit for your kids to wear when they are blessed..

I wonder why Brady isnt sleeping so well... is he teething? Growth spurt? needs more solids? ummm i am just running through in my head all the reasons why it could happen...
Ethan started waking alot and we were at our wits end, by sheer fluke we had used a small knitted blankie (my mum had knitted) to cuddle up with him and he started rubbing it on his cheek and fell straight asleep!! He is now sleeping with the blanket and hasnt woken again since and is sleeping better at daytime. Samuel also needed a soft toy at about 6 mths to help him sleep... perhaps this would help???

31-05-2006, 23:49
What will my baby wear?

My baby has a minimink and he loves to snuggle it- it is a comfort

TwoBlue
31-05-2006, 23:57
i think its so cute when they have something that they love to snuggle with

DS Samuel has a duck and he rubs its wing under his nose for comfort, he also rubs his nose on Ethans head, i think his short, fuzz hair feels soft and it smells familiar, its so sweet :)

01-06-2006, 00:05
i like your new avatar- the cutest boys
except mine of course!

Nan
01-06-2006, 12:48
My baby has a minimink and he loves to snuggle it- it is a comfort
Hi Everyone! :wave:
Kymmy - I only heard about miniminks recently! It sounds good. I'm thinking of getting one for Eden. Good luck with the outfit.
I have had fun reading backthrough this thread! So much was written I've forgotten all the things I wanted to comment on! :laughing: Darn mummy brain!!
Anyway, I'm not really happy at the mo because Eden had her 6month shots yesterday and we waited in the doctors office for 1.5 hours before she went in. :mad: Poor kid was nearly asleep and then jolted when they jabbed her. Not happy Jan. Luckily she didn't cry too much, but I was livid. Okay, just writing on here is helping me calm down a bit!!
Sounds like we have a few other bubs teething on here. I can feel a bulge on Eden's lower gum, so it will probably only be a couple of weeks and she'll have a tooth!
Well, I'm off to a friends for lunch. Yay! I'm getting out of the house!!!!:laughing:
Have a great day girls.
Love,
Nan. xx

01-06-2006, 13:53
I love the minimink too- so warm and soft.
I wrap him up for my benefit too- it is so cold now.

All these babes teething- my bub is 7 months tomorrow
and still no sign of a single tooth:no:

WizzFizz
01-06-2006, 15:19

I am a SAHM (and lovin it!)

Can I join in here too??

Ali :wave:

01-06-2006, 15:29
Of course!
Welcome YM20:wave:

SuperWoman
01-06-2006, 17:16
Hi ladies!!!!!

Kymmy and Samsmum, your avaters are soooooo gorgeous!!!!! I love the new ones!!!!

Samsmum, i think it is his teeth which are annoying him. He had 2 naps today though, so Im rapt!!:smiliedance: !!

Nan, I booked his 6 months needles for Tuesday, poor thing. Give your little one a cuddle for me:hugs: . I feel so sorry for them when the neeedle goes in!!!

Welcome to YM20!!!!:wave: Of course you can join us!!!!:thumbsup:

TwoBlue
01-06-2006, 18:05
i like your new avatar- the cutest boys
except mine of course!

LOL they are the cutest arent they all dressed up in theirt matching outfits ! How bad a mother am i!!! :o
Your new avatar is gorgeous too Kymmy!

mmmm They are acting up alot like TODAY!!!
i have come on here to try and have a breather from them but i dont like my chances :(

Nan - poor Eden ! Thats awful to for her shots to happen like that! E still has to have his as he has been a bit unwell so i am holding them off a bit...

Kymmy- no teeth here yet either but is teething! Samuel teethed from 4.5 mths but didnt crack his first tooth till 10mths! He had floaters (up again, down again, up again etc etc..) i hope Ethan doesnt have floaters :(

welcome YM20

Bradysmum i hope his teeth dont give him too much trouble... Yay to two naps :smiliedance:

01-06-2006, 18:47
I like dressing my boys the same too sometimes,
even my girl if i can get sizes 8, 4, 1

I am sure my older were teething at this age.
I remember they both had 4 teeth by a year old
so this bub just wants to be a gum ee bear
i don't mind so much - breastfeeding is easier without chompers

TwoBlue
01-06-2006, 18:49
i don't mind so much - breastfeeding is easier without chompers

Aint that true!! :laughing:

Besides they are only gummy once !
well actually twice i guess but its only when they are new that its cute :D

01-06-2006, 19:08
cute once...

unfortunately runny noses aren't.
My bub can hardly feed with this cold he is developing

Elijahs_Mum
01-06-2006, 20:05
Hiiiiiiiiiiiii
I am a sahm too.... :wave:

I have one bubba called Elijah and he is 15 months old now :)

01-06-2006, 20:13
:wave: welcome!

SuperWoman
02-06-2006, 22:50
Welcome Elijahs_mum!!!

How are we all today ladies??? What's on for the weekend?? We have Brady's Welcoming Mass tomorrow for the christening and thats about it, hopefully a quiet weekend!!!!!! My mum found a cute little white shirt at the shops today for Brady so next week I will put it on him with his Christening outfit!!! I cant believe they make shirts that small, TOO CUTE!!!!:smiliedance:

Nan
02-06-2006, 23:43
Oh, that sounds gorgeous! I bet he'll look beautiful. I hope it all goes well for your family.
Welcome YM20 nd Eljah's mum! Ali - I read your birth story. I think your avatar is gorgeous. Is that your DD??

Eden is over the needle trauma. Such a good day today.

Not much planned for the weekend. I'm catching up with some friends I haven't seen in months for a girlie night. First one I've had since DD was born, so it could be interesting!!:rolleyes: Sunday morning is church and then spending some quality time with my little bro before he flies home to Sydney Tues. morn. I love him. I really miss him when he goes.:( If I get time, I might go to Target coz the sale ends tomorrow. mega sales at Taget and Kmart on baby clothes atm, hey? I really shouldn't spend though. :shame:
Have a good weekend everyone.
Love,
Nan. xx

03-06-2006, 00:53
aaaah yes I love sales time!
No big kids at home- they are at their Nanny's
Just my bub...

Elijahs_Mum
03-06-2006, 13:13
Hay thanks for all the welcomes...
Today I thought Elijah had a Birthday party to go to.. lucky I was wrong cause I would have missed it :)
Just gotta do some tidying today but I dont know if I will...
(just finished moving house :()

03-06-2006, 13:37
Aaah hate moving house:eek:

Elijahs_Mum
03-06-2006, 16:53
I am glad tho that is is moslty done.. but Elijah is still getting into everything :)

03-06-2006, 17:12
Is he trying to help?

Elijahs_Mum
03-06-2006, 21:24
NO .... mabye but it is peeving me off.. I am seeming to yell at him all the time :(

03-06-2006, 21:33
stressful?...

IAdoreYou
05-06-2006, 11:37
Bradysmum - TOO CUTE :D

we had family stay all weekend .. so just spent the morning cleaning up properly. Hubbie is home today .. so just a quick pitstop.

Hi to Elijahs_Mum :wave:

Its SO COLD in the house here today .. we need to go buy another gate today , so I hope that warms me up :fingerscrossed:

Ciao - have a great day mumma's

Nan - your ava is so CUTE
Kymmy - godo luck with the move !

05-06-2006, 15:34
Kymmy - godo luck with the move !

I am so lucky I don't have to move! Elijah's mum has!:D

LosAngelesMom
05-06-2006, 20:11
I'm new, can I join in?
I'm a sahm of 4 children under 3 1/2 yrs old --& feel very fortunate I could quit work to be with them.
Love this website. So much good stuff.
My family & I travelled around Australia last year on vacation (& loved it). However, we reside in Los Angeles.

05-06-2006, 20:19
Woah 4 kids under 3!
How do u do it?
Welcome!:wave:

LosAngelesMom
05-06-2006, 20:34
I do it with smoke & mirrors -haha.

We had them all in a row, 1 year apart, the oldest will be 3.5 y/o next month, the youngest is 6 wks now.

We're older parents (husband's 40, I'm 37), that decided late in marriage (after 8yrs), that maybe we did want kids after all. And boy did we get them!!

A blessing or a curse? The jury's still out.

IAdoreYou
06-06-2006, 11:57
SORRY Kymmy !!! durr meee :D

Welcome LosA - how is the weather there .. HOT?

Heading out to the park here very soon .. need some warming up.. SO COLD today in the dam house.

SuperWoman
06-06-2006, 22:38
Hi ya ladies!!!!

Welcome to L.A mum!!!! Glad you have joined us!!!!:wave: :wave:

Our Angel is Pink, how did you go at the park?? It so cold right now!!!!

Kymmy, how are you??

Hope you are all having a great night!!!!!!!

TwoBlue
06-06-2006, 22:57
Welcome LAmom :wave:

A blessing or a curse? The jury's still out.

oh how i have days where i wonder this also !

I have family in the states, they are in Lexington.. kentucky.

How is everyone else today?

the boys have been driving me troppo today :banghead:
The energy that 2 year olds have !! If only we could bottle it .. we'd make a fortune !!!

07-06-2006, 12:59
a blessing or a curse?

As for me with my kids I would have to say overall
they are a blessing:yes:
Though we have our days....

LosAngelesMom
07-06-2006, 20:20
Yes, our weather's finally warming up, after a frigid winter (for LA). Months of 10 degrees celsius & under, due to La Niña cooling off our Pacific Ocean. http://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/Newsroom/MediaAlerts/2006/2006030321824.html

This week's been one of those 'curse' weeks re. the children, as the oldest boy has seriously regressed in his so-close-to-being-toilet-trained status. The oldest girl (2.5) is enjoying a naked stage -refusing to wear clothes. The middle girl (1.5) is continuously shut-out of the 2 older kids' play and/or is tortured by them all day long.

However, the 6wk old is still tiny & sweet.

1 outta 4 ain't bad!

OscarTheGrouch
07-06-2006, 21:53
I love Los Angeles. You are so lucky. That is where I have always wanted to live. I love the climate and the scenery up the Californian coast is beautiful.

SuperWoman
07-06-2006, 23:15
LosAngelos mum, your children sound adorable:hugs: , I was laughing at your post. Its amazing how kids go through these stages, but end up driving mum crazy hey?

How is everyone going?:)

I went shopping today, and out again tomorrow, had my parents over for tea, out Brady to bed and now Im having me time!!!! I love me time in the evenings!!!!:smiliedance:

Hope everyone has a great evening!!! Take care!!!:wave:

Nan
08-06-2006, 11:32
Hi everyone.
Hello LA mom!!! I have friends who have just come back here after living in LA for 6 years. Talk about culture shock for them!
Our Angel - thanks for the avatar comment! We think so!!!!
Talking about weather. Two nights ago it got down to -5 degrees here! Apparently it hasn't been that cold since 1989! :eek: :(
Much better last night - a freezing 2 degrees!! :laughing:
Anyway, here's to a nice day for everyone.
Enjoy!
Love,
Nan. xx

IAdoreYou
08-06-2006, 16:15

HI girls.

Bradym- Your boy is so CUTE! The park was okay, we didn't stop .. we ended up justing giving it a wave and headed to the bakery instead ;) OOOH sounds cold your way! rug up ..

LA - Very funny about your kids. too cute!

Nan - freezing WEATHER!

Hi kymmy and Samsm .. Long weekend coming up for us and Hubbie is home again all day tomorrow and we have more family coming to stay! More BBQ food to buy and another clean of the house ICK.

ciao , have a great weekend everybody and a lovely Queens B'day!

LosAngelesMom
08-06-2006, 19:23
Much of the US is still reeling from Tuesday's primary elections.
There's a groundswell here against Repbulicans due to the quagmire in Iraq.
I wonder if John Howard is feeling the heat too? As he's a big supporter of Bush.
California Democrats nominated their choice for Governor to run against Arnold Schwarzenegger in Nov.
A measure to cut the pay & benefits of our country's Air Traffic Controllers was passed by our House of Representatives. My husband's profession. Not good.

AND, kiddie curse week continues.. Tonight the 2 oldest filched a bag of ground coffee beans & dumped it all over our bedroom -- every nook & cranny. The whole house smells like Starbucks.

jordy&steph'smumma
08-06-2006, 21:15
Hi all!!!
Welcome LA Mom:wave:
LA Mom- My house smells like coffee too as DH invested in a cappuccino maker and no fair because I haven't been drinking coffee while pregnant. Oh well only have 5 weeks to go so I suppose I can hang out for a bit longer.

My 2 are in ds bedroom at the moment yelling at each other and it's drivin me crazy ( I use the your not going to school tomorrow) trick for ds as he so loves school and that soon makes him stop teasing his sister.

I have been so tired lately having to powernap on the couch in the afternoon just so I have the energy to get though the rest of the day.
Oh well they say to sleep all you can before bub comes!!!
Hopefully this one will sleep as good as the last 2 who both slept through from 5-6 weeks. Yay:smiliedance:

The braxton hicks are gettin bad (all in practice I suppose)

Must go and read a book to kids before bed (We went to the library again today and they picked out like 15 books to read) My 2 love books so I don't mind a trip to the library every week.
You would think it was xmas when I say we are going to the library:laughing: Does any one else little one get excited about simple things like this???

Anyway better go tootles
Kylie

SuperWoman
08-06-2006, 22:13
Hi ya Kylie, yes you ust try and nap whenever possible, although Im sure it is much harder to do so with 2 kids!! Only 5 weeks to go, whoo, whoo, :smiliedance: not long now!!! Im getting clucky!!!!:eek:

Our Angel is Pink, Sounds like a busy week at your house!!! Hope you enjoy the long weekend!!:wave:

SuperWoman
11-06-2006, 01:43
Hi girls, well today is Brady's Christening day!!! Yipee, Im very excited. Hope it all goes well. The weather is pretty bad here, they say it will be 13 and showers:eek: !!!! Oh well, as long as we are warm inside! Hopefully when I wake up in the morning the rain has stopped!!!

Hope you all have a great day!!!!:wave:

IAdoreYou
11-06-2006, 12:14
>>Brady's Christening day - YAY .. have a great day!!!! :smiliedance:

We didn't have relatives stay this weekend now .. grrrrrrrrrrr after I went and filled the fridge .. it will keep until next time.

just popping in. :wave:

SuperWoman
11-06-2006, 21:50
Hi girls, Brady's Christening went well except that he wasn't well last night. He has a cold now and was coughing and sneezing all night, my poor bubs! He had a temp today and was niggly but he did really well considering it was a long day for him and now he is snug as a bug in bed!!!:sleeping: :sleeping: :sleeping:

Hope you girls had a nice weekend!!!!!:hugs:

Sweetbabe
11-06-2006, 22:31
Hi Girls, hoping that I can join you all in here. Sorry to say that I haven't really read back over your posts to see what everyone has been up to but I will try to keep up with everything hereon in.

I have only recently joined Bubhub but am finding it quite enjoyable. I'm sure my DP won't be too impressed though, just means more time I will be spending in front of my puter :)

We haven't done alot over this long weekend, $$ are abit tight atm. Good thing the weather is crappy, makes it easier to stay inside.

Anyway, I look forward to chatting with you girls.

SuperWoman
11-06-2006, 22:58
Welcome Sweetbabe, glad you have joined us!!!:smiliedance:

Look forward to chatting with you!!:ecomcity: :ecomcity: :ecomcity:

jordy&steph'smumma
13-06-2006, 15:12
Welcome sweetbabe.
Bradysmum I hope Brady feels a bit better. I just hate when my kids get sick (this is the only time they sit still)
Sounds like the christening went well tho.

I am a little sick at the moment my self my throat fels like I have eaten a piece of sand paper every time I swallow.
Oh well off to the drs tomorrow for another check up as to get stitches taken out of my wrist where I had a pyogenic granuloma come up (which basically looks like a big blood blister and bleed like nothing else if you knock it.)
Has anyone ever had one? They are also know as pregnancy tumors??? I had never heard of it before I got one???

Other then this I am still counting down the days but not wanting them to go to fast as I do love feeling the hiccups and kicks even if they do wake me up in the night.:laughing: But I am also looking forward to meeting this little peanut.

Still aren't totally set on a name yet. We like Isaac, Ashton and Deegan at the moment but don't know??? What do you guys think? Any opinions would be appreciated.
My DS loves Isaac as he wants to call him little Zacky which is so cute.

Anywayz hope everyone is well
tootles
Kylie

13-06-2006, 15:21
Having trouble with my ISP- their server is out
So I am at my Mum's.
Hope everyone is well or at the least feeling better!

SuperWoman
13-06-2006, 15:37
Kymmy, I have had trouble logging on too. Took me 20 mins to get on here!!!!!!!!! Drives me crazy!!!:banghead:

Kylie, I have never heard of that pregnancy tumor, hopefully it is all cleared up, you poor thing, doesnt sound pleasant at all!!!! Oh, I love the names!!!! I adore the name Ashton and Isaac is beautiful too. anyone you pick will be lovely!!!!:hugs:

Hope everyone is well!!!!!!!!!!!!!:wave:

IAdoreYou
13-06-2006, 15:59

SAME HERE .. dial up SUX and DRIVES me mad!

How is Brady?

Just popping on girls. Nothing exciting to report! Hubbie is doing day shifts this week .. so lots of little things to do this week and playgroup Thursday!

Hope everybody feels better soon .. have been blowing my honker all morning.

XO talk again soon.

SuperWoman
13-06-2006, 18:35
Our Angel is Pink, hope you are feeling better!! Brady is much better, just a bit stuffed in the nose, poor thing. He is fine during the day, it's at night that he is miserable!!! Hopefully it clears up soon!:fingerscrossed:

LosAngelesMom
13-06-2006, 18:36
Hi gals,

Just checking in myself. L.A. is scorching hot today, even the beaches are roasting. Can we take some of your cool weather?

This week's looking up! Not so cursed. The 2 1/2 y.o. is wearing clothes again. The boy's public tantrums are fewer. And the 1 1/2 y.o. isn't such a curmudgeon.

Perhaps there was nowhere to go but up!

SuperWoman
14-06-2006, 14:53
Hi gals,

Just checking in myself. L.A. is scorching hot today, even the beaches are roasting. Can we take some of your cool weather?

This week's looking up! Not so cursed. The 2 1/2 y.o. is wearing clothes again. The boy's public tantrums are fewer. And the 1 1/2 y.o. isn't such a curmudgeon.

Perhaps there was nowhere to go but up!

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

You dont want our weather, its way too cold!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsdown:

IAdoreYou
14-06-2006, 14:54

Sending get well vibes to Brady!!!

LA - Sending you some COOL air your way ;)

I gotta fly, Brooke is crawling under my legs and trying to get UNDER the computer table!

Its really nice today here in QLD!

talk soon.

Mum2Bug
15-06-2006, 16:45
Hi everyone. Been a while since i have been online but im back and for good this time. I have to say that i love being a SAHM. Have no choice but to enjoy it really. My DD is now 15 1/2 months and has the attitude of a teenager. Note to self: do not watch The Nanny when toddler is awake as she is a quick learner. i decided the other day that being a SAHM means i now have time to do things i used to love doing like craft and baking.....muffins! yummy! was i wrong. DD decided to make this the week that she would learn to WALK up and down the stairs and try and tip the electrician off his ladder. oops!

if one more person asks me if i am going back to work soon i'll clobber them. they dont seem to understand that i prefer the stress of being a single SAHM and not having to deal with chauvinistic, arrogant clients who want their jobs completed within 3 days (on a 3 week job). For those of you also going through this with family and friends....i sympathise.

looking forward to chatting to you all and getting to know you more

ciao

15-06-2006, 19:58
Hello everyone!
Had no net for 5 days and it almost killed me!
Being a SAHM bubhub is such a good thing for me.

SuperWoman
15-06-2006, 20:57
Kymmy, 5 days without the net, arghhhhh, did it drive you nuts???
How have you been?

Deanne, welcome back to Bub Hub!!!! Looking forward to getting to know you!!!! Sounds like your household is a little busy at the moment!!!:laughing:

15-06-2006, 21:24
Yeah, i missed bubhub so much....
i was alreary nuts though...

SuperWoman
15-06-2006, 21:50
Yeah, i missed bubhub so much....
i was alreary nuts though...

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

Nan
15-06-2006, 22:14
Hi everyone.
Hope all the sick mummas & bubbas get well soon. We're doing fine at our place apart from the water freezing in the pipes this morning (it was -2 last night :eek:) and not having any running water until about 10:30am!!! DH went to work with no shower and maccas drive through coffee!!!

.....if one more person asks me if i am going back to work soon i'll clobber them......
Deanne, I know what you mean. This is driving me nuts, too, and my DD is only 6.5 months old!!!! The crazy thing is that I used to be a prep teacher and surely most of the people who ask know that you can't teach 20 odd 5 year olds and breastfeed an infant?!! Its crazy! Even more weird is that they look at you like this :confused: when you tell them you probably wont go back to work for about 5-6 years or so!! :laughing: What a crack up!
Anyway, chat again soon.
Love,
Nan. xx

16-06-2006, 01:07
Yeah, some ppl just don't understand:no:
I get ppl asking me when will I work, as I feed my baby...
Yeah, children don't usually look after themselves that well
That is the job of a parent!
I didn't have children so I could leave them with someone else
so I can look after someone else's children
(i used to work in childcare and u could say i still do!)
i could go on and on :ecomcity:

SuperWoman
16-06-2006, 16:56
Yeah, some ppl just don't understand:no:
I get ppl asking me when will I work, as I feed my baby...
Yeah, children don't usually look after themselves that well
That is the job of a parent!
I didn't have children so I could leave them with someone else
so I can look after someone else's children
(i used to work in childcare and u could say i still do!)
i could go on and on :ecomcity:

Kymmy, you are so spot on with that!!!! I used to work in childcare too and there is no way I will go back to work and look after other peoples children!!!:shame:

Tayla'sMum
17-06-2006, 11:36
Hello everyone!! It's been a while since my last post... how are all the SAHM's?? I've just been reading the comments about "returning to work".... Doesn't it make you so angry!!:mad:

As I have mentioned before, I WFH about 15 hours a week, and it's really hard to do, especially since DD is getting older and is becoming more active... but I wouldn't change it for the world!! I had to go to a conference during the week interstate with about 25 women that all work in offices... most of them didn't have children, and the ones that did, their children were almost my age. Everyone kept asking me... "don't you get bored staying at home?"... or "when do you think you'll go back to work full-time?"... then I'd hear some women saying how easy it would be to be a SAHM! It really annoys me!!! They have no idea!! I mean, I'm not complaining... my life is wonderful and I feel extremely lucky... but it definitely is not E A S Y :no: !!!

My life was a lot easier when there was just my husband and I and we were both working full-time. We only had ourselves to think about... but it was much less fullfilling:( ...

I love staying at home with my baby girl:kiss: , and I wouldn't have it any other way!

jordy&steph'smumma
17-06-2006, 17:51
Hiya all!!!

I haven't been back to work since having my 1st ds and he will turn 7 in November.
I am totally over people asking what are you doing are you gunna work :ecomcity::ecomcity: get over it and shut up is what I think when asked these questions.

I know heaps of people do go back to work and each to their own but I just couldn't drop my kids at before school care or creche every day and pick them up at 6.00pm that night. It's just not for me I think you miss out on way too much. My dd has started 3 yo kinder this year and only goes on a Monday morning from 9 till 12 and it just seems really weird not having her here.

It is good to have a little break every now and then from you kids (ie they go to nans for the night) but even then I do miss them as the house is way too quite. I just don't think I could put my kids in all day care every day. And it would take half the pay you make anyway so do you really come out in front? In my opinion :thumbsdown:

Anywayz after my little rant I shall go pick up dh from work.

By the way I wish I could shout all this but I can't as I have no voice at the moment I have laringytis:thumbsdown:.

Take care all
Kylie

SuperWoman
17-06-2006, 21:32
Kylie, hope the laringytis clears up soon!!!!:hugs: :hugs:

Mum2Bug
17-06-2006, 22:36
Hi everyone.

Thanks Bradysmum...its good to be back. I've finally caught up with the rest of the world and bought a laptop and got the internet instead of using friends and familys Hehe

Nan - Just imagine - one of those little 20 5 yr olds is going to be the kind of child yours grows up to be....you wouldnt want the advance warning anyway.

Well true to my word when someone asked me today about going back to work, I hit them (nicely of course). Besides the fact i love being at home, why would i want to go back to work where my sis could keep sticking her nose in to my business again and where our niece is now working in my old position anyway. dUH!

18-06-2006, 18:11
Well said, Tayla'smum!:yes:

SuperWoman
19-06-2006, 11:39
Hi girls, hope everyone is well!!!:wave:

So whats everyone up to this week?:)

We are going to my in-laws today for my SIL birthday, but havent really got much planned for the rest of the week.:D

Hope you are all having a great day!!! Take care xoxoxox:)

IAdoreYou
19-06-2006, 11:55

Howdy, we had a busy weekend. Its COLD today.

Just wanted to say Hi .. hubbie and Bub asleep.. so lots to do gotta fly :D

talk again soon.

19-06-2006, 12:43
School Holidays are on now in Victoria.:thumbsup:
So its fun for my boy cos he has his big sis to play with.
They are now at their nan's so hubby and I have had some time together.
Our baby is sleeping well- even sleeping through last night in his cot
Not sure if will continue with co-sleeping.

Tayla'sMum
19-06-2006, 13:04

Got the Inlaws (outlaws:D ) over this weekend, from interstate - so got lots to do... have to make it look like I'm not lazy - not that I am, but I'm sure all you SAHM's understand, somethimes you just have to justify your position... especially for the MIL:devil6: .

jordy&steph'smumma
19-06-2006, 14:10
I had 1/2 a great weekend
DH and I went to pictures to see fast and the furious tokyo drift on Friday night which was pretty good:thumbsup:

Got home Saturday arvo and my ds was on the toilet every few hours (sorry if tmi!!) and then was waking up every 2-3 hrs to go during the night:thumbsdown:
Last night before bed he threw up poor little guy.
He has never really been sick other then an ear ache, so I felt so bad for him.
He is okay today still not eating only drinking and eating dry bics for now.

Oh well at least school holidays have started here so I don't need to get up in the freezing mornings to take him to school which is good cause my belly is big with only having 4 weeks to go now.....Yay!!!

Hope everyone else and your littlies are fine.

By the way I got my voice back at least I'm feeling okay now and can actually speak.

Kylie

19-06-2006, 19:11
I know what you mean, Tayla'smum about always having to justify yourself:yes:
Kylie, sorry to hear about you and the family...just hope you get better as soon as possible...

Nan
19-06-2006, 21:22
Glad to hear your voice is back, Kylie!
Our week is going to be fun! We're driving to Canberra on Wednesday to go to my neice's dedication & first b'day! We're driving along the great ocean road for five days on the way home. YAY! I'm so excited. :yelclap:
So, you won't see me around for about a week and a half, but I'll be back. I might even see if I can log on when I'm there!!! Yep.......another adict! :o
Stay well everyone.
Love,
Nan. xx

LosAngelesMom
21-06-2006, 19:27
Hi all, sending some hot L.A. weather your way.

Re. justifying yourself to the in-laws... show them this new Canadian study comparing kids who had a parent at home with them during the day vs. kids in daycare.

Well, no surprise. Kids with parents fared much better... (sorry so long)

THE NEW YORK TIMES
(http://www.nytimes.com/2006/06/14/business/14leonhardt.html?adxnnl=1&adxnnlx=1150881093-QzRBUuDtNllfuLa6lzc5AA)
June 14, 2006
David Leonhardt
The Price of Day Care Can Be High
THERE is one place in North America where parents of young children don't have to worry about child care. In Quebec, full-time day care costs just $7 a day — Canadian dollars, at that — thanks to a government program aimed at one of the thorniest problems that workers in their 20's, 30's and 40's face.

Starting in 1997, the Quebec Family Policy subsidized day care for 4-year-olds at government-approved centers around the province. By 2000, the program had expanded to cover any child not old enough for kindergarten, all the way down to infants. This is universal day care, an audacious idea that recognizes the revolution in women's work over the last 30 years.

Judging by the response of parents, the program has been a hit. Centers from downtown Montreal to Hudson Bay were flooded with applications, and the number of children in day care rose almost 50 percent. Mothers who suddenly had an affordable way to return to work did so in droves and gave the economy a lift. Canada's Liberal Party holds up Quebec's program as a model for the rest of the country.

Almost a decade after the family policy started, however, there was still a big mystery about it. Nobody had done the work to find out how it had affected children. The province was spending $1.4 billion a year on a grand social experiment, yet no one had bothered to look at the results.

So three economists took up the challenge a few years ago, realizing that the program offered an excellent way to examine a much-debated topic. The three — Michael Baker and Kevin Milligan, who are Canadian, and Jonathan Gruber, an American — collected data, looked at various measures of well-being since the program started and compared Quebec with the rest of Canada over the same period.

When they finished last year, the answer seemed clear. "Across almost everything we looked at," said Mr. Gruber, an M.I.T., professor, "the policy led to much worse outcomes for kids."

Young children in Quebec are more anxious and aggressive than they were a decade ago, even though children elsewhere in Canada did not show big changes. Quebec children also learn to use a toilet, climb stairs and count to three at later ages, on average, than they once did. The effects weren't so great for parents, either. More of them reported being depressed, and they were less satisfied with their marriages — which also didn't happen in other provinces.

Before you dismiss the researchers as just three more men starting a new assault in the mommy wars, listen to Jane Waldfogel, a leading child-policy researcher and the author of the book, "What Children Need" (Harvard University Press). "This is a very high-quality paper by high-quality guys," she said. "They're very careful. This is a paper that's going to stand."

AT its root, the Quebec policy is an admirable effort to deal with an enormous economic shift that has taken place across the Western world and that American companies and politicians have pretty much ignored. Today, almost two-thirds of children younger than 6 in the United States don't have a parent at home with them during the day, up from a third just 35 years ago.

Yet laws and workplace policies have changed only marginally. (The right of workers at large companies to take unpaid family leave, as a much-celebrated 1993 law guarantees, is nice but hardly revolutionary.) Instead, many women, and the occasional man, have been left with the burden of doing two full-time jobs at once.

Their efforts are often heroic, but many end up feeling guilty that they are neglecting their careers, their families or both.

Meanwhile, the polite thing to say about work and family is that children are resilient little creatures who will end up doing just as well in one situation as another. And obviously a lot of children are thriving in full-time day care, as their parents can attest.

But there is now overwhelming evidence that — at least in the first year of life — most young children are not well served by spending long hours away from their parents. They will have more behavior problems on average and won't learn as quickly, according to various studies done over the last decade.

As Ms. Waldfogel, a Columbia professor who has been a working mother, said, "I didn't set out to find effects on the kids of parents who are working in the first year." In fact, she said she had "tried really hard to kill off the effects" by looking for other variables that could have been the real culprits. "But the effects are there," she said.

The picture is murkier for toddlers and preschoolers. The stimulation they get at day care tends to make them better prepared for school than children who are home with a parent full time. Yet those who spend too many hours in day care or attend poor-quality programs also seem to be at greater risk of obesity and behavior problems.

This probably explains Quebec, where teacher-child ratios were on the high side and an audit found the programs' educational content to be mediocre. The policy has also discouraged parents who want to put their children in day care only part time by giving preference to families looking for eight hours of care a day.

The big lesson from Quebec is that parents really do need more support, but they need the kind of support that allows them to choose what is best for their family. Mothers and fathers should get paid time off after a baby is born, and the money should come from a government insurance program, as it does in Canada, England and other countries. Companies need to be given incentives to create more part-time jobs that don't derail careers — and then find some up-and-coming men who want those jobs. High-quality preschool programs should be available for every low-income child and perhaps universally.

Yes, this would cost money, and not a little bit. Some taxes would have to be increased, and other spending would have to be cut. (My first candidate: raise the age for Social Security retirement eligibility. Two-year-olds need more help than 66-year-olds do. But that's a column for another day.)

Fortunately, research shows that these investments can produce a nice return. They create a better-educated, healthier work force to compete with other countries over the next century.

But I prefer a much more basic argument. Why don't we just decide that our children are worth it?

21-06-2006, 19:42
Hi all, sending some hot L.A. weather your way.

Re. justifying yourself to the in-laws... show them this new Canadian study comparing kids who had a parent at home with them during the day vs. kids in daycare.

Well, no surprise. Kids with parents fared much better...

But I prefer a much more basic argument. Why don't we just decide that our children are worth it?

Exactly! Our kids are worth staying home with!
Worth more than any dollar.

SuperWoman
21-06-2006, 22:35
Hi girls, how is everyone?:wave:

Kylie, hope everyone is feeling better.:hugs:

Kymmy, how are the school holidays going?

Nan, hope your trip goes well, enjoy the break!!

Hope everyone is having a great week!!!!:hugs: