View Full Version : Heartburn - help!

mumkc
22-05-2008, 19:55
I've tried everything! Mylanta/Rennie, eating smaller meals more often and eating REALLY bland food.

Any other suggestions?

chookat
22-05-2008, 19:57
i used to drink heaps of milk, it helped me heaps

wild at heart
22-05-2008, 20:03
for me the best thing about labour (apart from getting excited that I would have bubs soon:laughing:) was that I didn't have heartburn!!!

Here is everything I tried.. I had it for about half my pregnancy.. and bad..

Raw Almonds- I chewed on these constantly
Milk
Icecream
Custard (basically anything high in calcium)
Soda water (was so great..)
Peppermint tea
I have heard that TUMS tablets are good
Gaviscon medicine ( it is soo much better than tablets that you chew)- on the box or at the chemist it will tell you when to take ie before meal etc
Avoiding coffee/ fatty foods like sausages/ pizza etc
Good luck.. see your Dr if it gets very bad eg you are vomiting etc

Mum2Lucas
22-05-2008, 20:47
i was told milk helps. and my friend said put some ice cubes in it and drinking it from a straw helped better.

Skittles
22-05-2008, 20:54
Eat fruit tingles...the lollies. I had chronic heart bgurn both pregnansies and nothing worked...except fruit tingles. And on the plus side they are yummy. They have worked for a few of my friends and i have read it in a few places.

melly75
22-05-2008, 20:58
Warm skim milk and honey worked for me :D

ringneck
22-05-2008, 21:23
you can get tablets from your dr that are safe during pregnancy, i get bad heartburn and since i am ttc cant take alot of things and have been given tablets that are safe during ttc and pregnancy and they are fantastic.

katieinwa
22-05-2008, 21:58
anything with dairy :) i used to have bread and soup for lunch but gave me indigestion all arvo (come to think of it, anything thats full of carbs does). if i have a dairy smoothy or yoghurt i don't have it all !!!!