View Full Version : Should finances dictate #2?

niknax
22-05-2008, 13:15
Sorry if this is in the wrong section.....

DH and I were having a frank discussion this morning about rising fuel/groceries/mortgage prices this morning and it struck me that although I really want another baby.... Can we afford one?

I am returning to work in a weeks time (sob) and am going to be working 3 days a week but am already thinking we may have to increase this to 4 days a week just to cover the cost of normal everyday items. We aren't extravagent...we don't go out a lot, get takeaway or spend heaps on ourselves but sometimes the money just does not stretch far enough.

Does anyone else think like this or should we just bite the bullet and hope for the best? I mean I am lucky in that i get paid maternity leave so that definitely helps....maybe I am overthinking it.

jessiika
22-05-2008, 13:26
hi
i totally agree its rediculous! im pregnant with my first and my partner earns a fantastic wage as hes in the mines n we still find it hard 2 get ahead with a morgage!
i think u should sit down with ur partner and workout ur finaces n c were all ur money is going n c if u can afford it and if it looks tight then see where its possible to cut back on things to save a bit of extra cash!

Mummaholic
22-05-2008, 14:28
I think if you wait til you can 'afford' it you will always be waiting. I don't mean to offend anyone, we certainly are not wealthy but I for one do not want to regret not having the number of children I want becuase of money.

We will cope.

niknax
22-05-2008, 19:59
I think if you wait til you can 'afford' it you will always be waiting. I don't mean to offend anyone, we certainly are not wealthy but I for one do not want to regret not having the number of children I want becuase of money.

We will cope.

:iagree: totally with what you are saying... we also aren't wealthy and if we had waited until i thought we could afford our DD then i would still be waiting. i was just wondering in these expensive times if it does factor in and stress people out? Obviously if we decide that it is right to increase our family then we will regardless of finances....because like you say you always manage!

Schosta
23-05-2008, 10:45
Hi!!! My hubby and I really want another child. We have a beautiful boy who's 13 months old and enjoy every minute with him.... So we definitely want another..Although we are just making ends meat now... I've been back at work for 5 months now and work 3 days a week to help with all the increasing cost of living. I feel we could struggle if we had another but my partner said we will cope....... Just don't know what to do?????:hissy:

Kittylou
23-05-2008, 10:50
Honestly, I think money should be a factor - not the be all and end all, but it is something you should consider. If you (not necessarily you, OP, just anyone) just can't possibly afford another child then I don't think you should have more. If you think you will struggle financially but will find a way to make it work and are comfortable with the lifestyle that will mean and sacrifices you will have to make, then go for it.

TheMamma
23-05-2008, 12:02
It's a tough one isn't it. That is a question we asked ourselves too. We just found out we are having another bub, but knew we could make ends meet. Don't get me wrong it will be tough - but we also know there are a lot of areas we could cut back on. But then, I guess I might take things further than most - as I would rather rent a tiny house and have more kids, than have my own home and only have one.

I feel for your situation - i really do. And I hope you make peace with whatever you choose to do. :hugs:

forbetoel
23-05-2008, 12:07
A child is not something that belongs on an expense account.

It all comes down to whether or not another child is a priority.

Maybe owning your home quicker, or going overseas next year is a bigger priority.

A child is a blessing and if having another child is your number one priority, everything else can be worked out.

Cordelia
23-05-2008, 18:47
I agree with 4boys2love.

I think you make your money go places. Our family is Christian so we believe that God provides.

niknax
23-05-2008, 18:50
Thanks for the responses... definitely get some great points of view.

Although we are paying off our house it is not our first priority(other than keeping a roof over our head) to pay it off heaps earlier and I am not interested in going overseas. would prefer to spend any extra cash on our family!

I have been thinking further on it and just think that if we decide to have another child then the money will be there. i have sat down and done a budget and we can defo afford another child if we decide to.

thanks for the replies

LuvMy4Babes
23-05-2008, 19:37
This is definitely a tough one. I do agree that somehow you always get by but you have to decide honestly if you really can afford to add another baby to the mix. How well do you get by now? Do you ever get down to having like $5 in your bank account till next pay day, that sort of thing KWIM?

Also being under any type of financial pressure is really really tough on any relationship.

The other ladies have given you some things to thing about anyway, good luck with your decision :)

squiglet
24-05-2008, 10:13

We will cope.
:iagree:

We had this problem with our first child. Dh wanted to waite till we were more stable, more this, more that.
We could waite till we were 80 for that to never happen!
So I sort of had to talk him around to my way of thinking:laughing:

OJandMe
24-05-2008, 10:30
I think it depends....

We all have different lifestyles.

I was having a conversation with my friends the other day about more kids..

And one of them asked me (she has one) if it cost much more having more than one.

Well... honeslty I can't say.. we've NEVER had one! But it's NOT hard supporting 2. And the cost increase since we've had Gabby has been next to nothing. We use cloth nappies.. yes he's on formula.. so that's about $15 a week... but I think $15 dollars a week is the difference in buying Coles Smart Buy millk or Pauls Full Cream milk .. and buying bread 2 for $4 at Woolies, rather than paying nearly $4 a loaf. It's the cost of buying a coffee machine and making lattes at home instead of going out for them. It's the cost of buying fruit and veg at the at the specials table at the greengrocer rather than at Woolies or Coles.

So no... I can't see that finances are a reason to put off having kids.

And in the long run, it saves you money! As you cut down on the need for 'extra curricular' activities for the sole purpose of 'socialising' a single child.

It does have it's costs... we're getting all 3 into swimming, and that will just come under $40 a week...

But I wouldn't say we 'struggle' and we have a minimal income... about $750 a week..

Bigfish
24-05-2008, 12:43
Unfortunately I do think finances should be taken into account. We have 3 children and I would love another but we can't afford another.:crying:

The children that I have are my priority. Ensuring they are fed, clothed, housed (including the security of our own home), are able to participate in school excursions etc. In a few years DS1 will be off to high school and I'm not satisfied that the public school offers an adequate education so he will go to private school hopefully.

It's not just about what you can afford right now but what you can afford in the future as your childrens needs increase.

Having said that I really don't think initially there is a big jump financially from 1 to 2. Especially if number 1 has outgrown all the 'baby' things.

I have a friend who had number 4, 3 years ago and whilst she adores her children she does say she kind of regrets having 4 as financially it is a struggle now. :(

So yes finances should be taken into account but they are not the be-all and end-all!

HTH:)