View Full Version : Twin pram for 21month+ age gap??
Mumofcoops
21-05-2008, 22:02
We are going to be TTC#2 when DS1 turs 1 in a few months time. I have been thinking of pram situation and wondering if i would need a double pram (would DS1 be wanting to walk everywhere by 2 - could carry #2 in sling for first few months - or would he still get tired very quickly???
Sheer Bliss
21-05-2008, 22:13
I would recomend a twin pram. DD was 25months when DS was born & walked FAR too slow to even consider having her walk most of the time. At 3, she insisted on walking to daycare a few weeks ago, it took us 35minutes, when usually it is 15mins! But the size etc of your DS would make a difference too - friends have the valco with toddler seat, and her 3yo DD already weighs 22kg, so is too heavy for the toddler seat, and she has let her walk for ages now, so she sort of expects it, and has trouble gettng her to behave in the pram. I have always insisted DD stay int he pram, so she is happier to do so, maybe keep this in mind now for whatever you decide to do. If you plan on not getting a new pram, get DS used to walking?
We have the Phil & Ted - lots of people love them, but there are some that don't like them at all - so have a really good look. We had a toddler seat, regular pram combo, and if DD wanted to sleep it wasn't comfy, and once DS was sitting he couldn't see anything, and swapping our older DD to the back wasn't easy. The P&T is great, we can have each kid in either seat, and they both love the pram. Then when we are almost finished shopping & have some extra bags, DD walks, DS sits in the front & i use the rear toddler seat for extra storage :laughing: (not heavy stuff)
Good Luck - it was a decision I was unsure of when pregnant with DS, but I coulnd't have lived without it. I did carry DS in the sling for a while, then we got the ergo, but if you are out for ages, it's good to have a few options (I often don't have a car, so walk places)
I am thinking of getting the Maclaren Twin. But there are a lot of good prams on the market.
Mumofcoops
22-05-2008, 14:34
Thanks, i kind of thought i would need a double but was hoping not as the double i want is the new P&T Vibe :D:D I LOVE IT However it is very pricey LOL
Oh well, will have to work on hubby before the time comes. I'll just tell him that i let him get whatever he wants so i should too hehe
mum of 2 girlz
22-05-2008, 18:53
I thought it would be a great idea to buy a double pram as my DD#1 is now 18mths and DD#2 is 13weeks old. It worked for a while, and is good when she gets tired and falls asleep cos she has proper support, but I am finding in the last week or so, she is refusing to get in the pram at all, throwing tantums and doing whatever he can to no get in.she wants to walk everywhere, so i am starting to consider going back to the old single pram for bubby. Obviously every child is different though.
mumof2angels
22-05-2008, 19:05
If you get a double phil and teds new vibe looks very very nice! Ive got an e3 my youngest 2 are 6mths and 3.5 yrs so this is the last pram for me or I could sell it and buy a Vibe!! DH would kill me!!
TeamAwesome
22-05-2008, 19:57
I have 3 aged 3 and under with a 17month gap and a 22month gap so in my experience where we bought a tandem thinking our 1st would walk too slow being so close together etc. What a waste of money that was, we used it occasionally until DD1 was 4mo and it's barely been used since then.
Use a sling and if you don't have one already for your own peace of mine get a harness for your older child for if they are wanting to walk or if you ae wanting to put the baby into the pram and need them to walk.
Mumofcoops
22-05-2008, 23:06
Hmmm, maybe i should just wait and see how DS1 is going when #2 arrives and decide then. He is already hating the pram so i reckon once he can walk it will be even worse!!!
Our age gap was 19 months and my daughter still used the pram until recently (shes just 3). So we have a mountain buggy twin which has been brilliant. It was very dear but worth every penny. If I had to do things over though I may go the P&T because of it being narrower and perhaps more flexible (though we got a bassinet with our buggy so had a bassinet and chair for the first 4 months or so which was good).
I found the pram handy for the two bubs because Bon got tired quickly when out walking, she walked slowly so if you have lots of stuff to do it doesn't work and if she had a tantrum whilst we were out I would just strap her into the pram and keep walking. Living in Tassie it was also helpful if it rained as I could have them under their rain cover while we got to shelter!