View Full Version : the arrival of morgan rose

MaddisonsMummy
21-05-2008, 02:05 PM
although i had a c-sect i thought it would be nice if i still shared my experience with you all.

I had a pretty trouble free pregnancy bar the back/pubic pain but besides that everything went well. at my 36 week check up the dr's discovered bub was breech. rather then the dr telling me he'd see me next week, he was straight on the phone organising my c-section! boy was that a shock and a half! i was atleast expecting him to tell me to wait and see if bub decided to turn but nope... i just kept looking at chris and squeezing his hand and i could feel my eyes watering, i was terrified of what was to come, it wasnt meant to be this way!

so we were given a date, we would meet our newest addition on the 16th of may!

i felt like i had been given a deadline, i had to have everything done and organised by that date! it was exciting in a way knowing we had a definate date (thats if bub didnt want to arrive early), and the date worked well with us as i was worried about bub being born on Maddy's birthday and i also have 6 other nieces and nephews whos birthdays are also in may, but luckily the 16th was no ones birthday.

I was on weekly hospital appt's now and every visit i was hoping to hear the dr say "the baby has turned, you dont need the c-section anymore" but unfortunately that didnt happen and it wasnt a surprise to me as i knew bubs exact position, i could feel everything, especially the head jabbing me in the ribs and the feeling of feet trying to escape.

the date was nearing closer and closer and i was getting more scared about the c-section but so excited to finally meet our new baby.

in the afternoon on the 15th of may i rang the hospital to get my admission time, i had to be there at 6am!

my alarm woke me at 4.15am on the 16th and i got up and got in the shower. i double checked my bag to make sure i had everything, put a few last minute things in, took one last belly pic and we were out the door by 5.30am.

the drive to the hospital was the longest drive of my life! it was still pitch black outside and absolutely freezing.

we got to the hospital at 5.55am and i was admitted and taken to a room. i then had one last ultrasound just to double check that bub was still breech which i could definately feel she still was. i then had a blood test. me, my mum and chris were sitting in the room when this old guy walked in (50+) and asked "did you shave?" and i was like "what the!?", i told him no as i wasnt sure how much i was supposed to shave off so he got an electric razor and done it for me, how embarrassing! i was told to have another shower, i asked why as i had just had one and they said just to get any dust off me that was picked up outside... so i had another shower and had to wash myself in this sterile soap stuff that smelt really bad lol.

once i got out of the shower, i put on the daggy hospital gown and just waited... a nurse then came in and said i should be taken in at around 9.10am and it was already just after 7am, so me, mum and chris walked down to the cafe to kill some time and they got a coffee and we just sat and talked.

we walked back up to the room at about 8.30am and not long later a nurse come in and said it was my turn! my nerves really kicked in then and i could not stop shaking.

mum and chris were following close behind me as i was getting wheeled down to theatre. once we got there i had to confirm my details for the 100th time that morning and chris was taken off to get his scrubs on.

me and mum just waited, then a dr walked up to us and said "we're ready for you, say goodbye to mum, you'll see her soon"... i put my arms out to my mum and hugged her so tight, ive never seen her cry so much in my life, we just hugged and hugged and balled our eyes out. as they were wheeling me away i waved at my mum and then was taken into a small room.

another dr who was absolutely lovely started talking to me and was asking me weather i would like a spinal or to be put to sleep... no way i wanted to be asleep for the arrival of my bub so spinal it was. a canular was then put into my hand and i was asked to get up and walk into theatre. once i was in there they told me to sit on the edge of the table and hunch over my belly while they inserted the spinal, i then felt weird sensations in my legs and was asked to lay down. once i was laying down i felt like i was falling off the bed, i kept putting my arms up in the air and the dr said to me "no your not falling off the bed" and laughed.

once i was laying down i suddenly felt like i wanted to be sick so i quickly told someone and i was given a lovely injection of maxalon which made me not feel sick anymore.

chris was then brought in and sat up next to me next my head and held on to my hand as tight as he could, i think he was just as scared as me. they then done the ice test and i couldnt feel a thing, i could feel the ice just under my neck.

that gave them the all clear to start, which i didnt even know they had! me and chris just stared at each other with smiles on our faces waiting for the news.

one of the nurses then said "i can see a bum", and that was it for me, i was a blubbering mess. i then felt a massive amount of pressure at the top of my belly, on my ribs then the nurse said "you are now the proud parents of a beautiful little girl", our Morgan Rose.

born at: 9.49am
Weighing: 3720gm's/8lb 3oz
h/c: 34cm
length: 52cm

miss Morgan gave us a lovely loud scream and was shown to us over the curtain and she was just gorgeous and so much like maddy when she was a baby!

she was then quickly taken to be checked over and one of the nurses grabbed chris and said "come on daddy, come and cut the cord".

chris walked over to me holding Morgan and we had our first snuggles, it was lovely, she was just so perfect.

i then just layed there while i was been cleaned out and stitched up, i was so happy that we had another little girl.

chris and Morgan were taken up the the ward while i was in recovery, not too long later i was taken up to the ward.

we ended up staying 4 nights and come home on tuesday night, i couldnt wait to get out of there, it was just so boring and i missed maddy alot!

my c-section experience has been a very different one. my scar is very nice and neat (so all the dr's told me) and its 15cm's long so its pretty huge (to me). my sister took a photo for me and i was expecting to see an oozing red sore with heaps of stitches but its just a thin purple line, no redness or anything. im still really sore but im soildering on.

Maddy is such a proud big sister and loves Morgan alot.

to those of you who have made it this far, thanks for reading :)

few pix:

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2172.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2181.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2194.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2209.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2280.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2285.jpg

http://i101.photobucket.com/albums/m76/MaddisonsMummy/morgan%20rose/100_2298.jpg

amandaw
22-05-2008, 07:30 AM
MM - isn't it funny what you remember (like the vile smelling soap!) While it wasn't the original/wanted plan, it sounds like your experience was a good one, and most importantly...a healthy little pink bundle :bee: Congratulations and welsome to the world little Morgan!

Eliza
22-05-2008, 08:00 AM
Lovely Story, You did well. Congratulations on the birth of your little girl Morgan Rose, she is very very cute :flowerz:

LittleButton
22-05-2008, 08:03 AM
:hugs:Congratulations on the birth of your little girl Morgan Rose,:hugs:
:hugs:she so Adorable!!! :hugs: