View Full Version : Nightlight - Yes or No?
Do you use a nightlight in Bubs' room?
The reason I ask is because I do use one and recently Im wondering if she may resettle herself better if it is pitch black..?
I have one in there as i figure if she wakes and can make out the view of her cot she will feel safe when she wakes whereas if she wakes and cant see a thing she will be scared... probably sounds a little silly..
Its not very bright but enough to see around the room (just).
(lately she is waking every 2-2.5hrs so this is a big deal for me!!)
So, do you use one or have any theories on them? :detective:
neekynoo
18-05-2008, 22:22
Yep we have one as part of our bub monitor. It's a very dim blue ring that just takes the edge of the darkness. I like to think it helps her feel more comfortable. I do find she looks at it a bit so maybe she does like it? Who knows! :)
:yes: both the children have a night light, and had them as babies too...
They had touch lamps, and I used to put it on the lowest setting - and it wasn't so much for them to be able to see a little in the middle of the night, but for me to find my way through their rooms in the middle of the night.
I always use a blue globe in them - it's dim enough on the lowest setting that it's almost dark, but light enough that it throws enough light to see where I am going.
They still have them now - but I now turn them off when I go to bed every night.
We have one, but do not use it in DD's room. We have another in the living room, for when she wakes in the night.:)
I have bought tom 3 different night lights, he loved them to death!:o
Each one he gets hold of (no matter where I put it!) and breaks it. :rolleyes:
JJJ&D'sMum
18-05-2008, 22:58
I have never used a night light with any of my 3 kids and I won't be using one for #4 either. I figure that if babies are ok for 9 months in the dark in-utero then they should be fine in the dark after birth. It has never been a problem for my kids or myself. The tiny little green 'on' swtich on the baby monitor is enough for me to find DD's cot in the dark.
CC
no night light for DS, we had a night light in his room until we left him with my sis for the night and forgot to mention that he has a night light, just told her that the door had to be shut and he would got to sleep. he would wake a few times, just wanting a cuddle etc. Well they didnt have a light on for him and he slept a solid 12 hours,so we stopped turning the night light on!! he sleeps heaps better without it on now. Infact if he see's light he wants to get up.
We have a night light in the bathroom so that if he stirs we can see where we are going, but his door is always shut so he doesnt get the benefit of it!!
18-05-2008, 23:10
Nope no lights for us, but we co-sleep so if they wake up we are there for them.
I have bought tom 3 different night lights, he loved them to death!:o
Each one he gets hold of (no matter where I put it!) and breaks it. :rolleyes:
Have you tried the Eggnite?? Haven't managed to break either of ours yet and DD1's has been dropped from height and squished a few times!!
We're using lamps with low wattage bulbs and a cover over them to minimise the lights until I can work out how to get DD1's eggnite clean.
Widget - becareful covering lamps etc - they get hot and can cause fire....that's the reason we use blue globes in the kids lamps, because they are very dim.
They're not completely covered... We did keep checking them every 1/2 hour for the first couple of nights. We have light cotton shirts half draped. They don't even get warm. We moved 3 weeks ago and still havent found the 4 pieces for the eggnites, hoping to find them today!
MummaBear03
19-05-2008, 07:14
My daughter only got a lamp for her 4th birthday and it only really gets turned on when she gets up in the morning at 5 as it's still dark then. In fact, I've never really had lamps but have since bought one for the lounge room and it's great! I don't know if would help or not, but my daughter slept all night every night from birth and didn't have one at all so maybe it makes a difference? Or maybe some babies don't need them and others do?
~mia&ryan~
19-05-2008, 08:48
We had one to start with for DD, but after forgetting to turn it on a few times and DD not being fussed by the dark, we didn't bother anymore.
No we've never used a nightlight for our girls.
We've found that they can get to sleep and resettle well enough in complete darkness.
However, since DD1 gave up the dummy (3 weeks ago)she occasionally asks for the light outside her room to be on. We leave it on (with her door ajar) til she's asleep (for up to an hour) and then turn it off and close the door (to keep it warm).
Its like any sleep prop, bubs will get used to it, and then at some stage you will need to break the habit. Also if you go away or they stay over at grandparents etc, you will need to make sure you always take one with you.
If it works for you, fine, if they don't need it, that is even better esp for the environment & energy saving!!
littlefreckle
19-05-2008, 10:00
Haven't used night light at all. Have a 40watt globe in the normal light. When bub wakes for a feed I just turn the light on feed and change her and turn it off when I go out and she goes to sleep no worries. Has just gone from 2 feeds a night to sleeping right through :smiliedance:
twotrunks
19-05-2008, 10:47
We have used them and not used them with each of ours and they have all been different. None of them are good sleepers though! Nowadays we have a light on in the lounge room which probably brightens their rooms slightly, but I try not to have too much light in their actual rooms. I think there is a theory about them needing darkness at night for their body clocks to adjust properly, and needing lots of bright sunlight in the daytime. But I have always believed that if they ask for a light because they are scared then you should leave one on... I remember being scared of the dark as a kid and its not a nice feeling!
TT
We used to have a little lamp in his room, but at PIL's suggestion we left that off and turned the lounge light on. You can JUST see in his room and he seems more settled
When my DS was little and I finally got him into a decent sleep routine, the teeny tiniest amount of light would wake him up and make him think it was time to get up :hair:
I used to have shutters and the room was pitch black and he started sleeping through :)
Have you tried the Eggnite?? Haven't managed to break either of ours yet and DD1's has been dropped from height and squished a few times!
Tom has had a 'bear light' made by the same people who do eggnite and he destroyed it within a week. :o
He's also had one of the cheap generic plug in sensor night lights from Coles, and another color changing LED light thing what shines through a crystal, both of them lasted less than a day. :laughing:
I have wondered if the 'egg' style night light would be more durable than the teddy!
At the moment he doesn't have a night light and we don't leave any lights on in the house and he's fine. He sleeps well with or without one, I just think they are cute. :o
we don't have night lights in the rooms, but I do keep the hall light on every night
mummysangels
19-05-2008, 11:24
Ok I voted yes but not for bub. My Bub sleeps better in the dark otherwise if there is a hint of light she thinks its play time.
My 6 year old has a egg nite lite and loves it as she is scared of the dark.
Bub is not here yet, but I always have the loo light on and the bedroom door open as I dont like the complete dark, and I can't stand closed doors...
So I guess my bubs will have light...:)