View Full Version : What will your child/ren be receiving from the Easter Bunny?
MammaMia
11-04-2006, 08:43
Easter is almost here... my favourite time of year! Bless Peter CottonTail for hopping down the bunny trail.
My little people are avoiding cow's milk protein, so I have bought a couple of dairy-free chocolates and some books.
When I asked my 3 yo DS yesterday what he thought the Easter Bunny might bring, he answered "He might bring me a little tube of Vegemite!!". DS has just observed that friends of ours brought a tube of Vegemite away on holidays. He had never previously seen them and had one of those "What will they think of next?" moments. Completely awe struck. When his father asked him if he thought the Vegemite could go on his toothbrush, his big blue eyes grew wide and the world became his oyster. :D
So, this year our friend Peter Cottontail will be heading off to Woolies to retrieve a Whizz Bang, Top of the Range Tube of Vegemite!
There will be joy in this house come Sunday morning.
How about yours?
Signed
Hippety-Hoppety Easter's on its Way!
No such fun here. Andrew is only 13.5 mths so not quite into that phase yet.
And I have almost finished *my* easter chocs already....so I think it will be quite dull for us this weekend. Or should I say, normal. :rolleyes:
Ruby Slippers
11-04-2006, 08:56
There will be a Barbie doll each with many Chocolate eggs , or maybe someone has already ate some and needs to go out shopping for more well who's to blame:detective: :laughing:
ok it was me. :devil6:
Jax Tellers Old Lady
11-04-2006, 09:06
no choccies for keanu he is too little but easter bunny is bringing him some new pjs a giant stuffed peter rabbit and a fisher price ride to stride walker
jembelina
11-04-2006, 09:09
After much deliberation, we have decided on a pair of gumboots, a book and a small egg. I think the book thing will stick as a bit of a present from mummy and daddy tradition. We will probably end up with a couple of matchbox cars too - ds loves them and daddy just wont be able to help himself!
hayleylea
11-04-2006, 10:34
well Cooper is a little too young for easter eggs so i just got him a peter rabbit book for his first easter. :)
Ana Gram
11-04-2006, 10:52
Absolutely nothing, we don't do easter.
my kids wont miss easter, theyre drooling for the chocolate already.
my dd1's teacher gave each the kids theyre easter pressie before the holidays started, instead of chocolate she gave them mini toothbrushes and mini toothpaste sets.. its great!!
i thought it was a really good idea.
But yep, our house will fill with chocolate joy for that yummy day
mmmmmmmmmmmmm white chocolate!
3cherubs
11-04-2006, 13:39
a little bunny rabbit for rosie and a bigger one for her sister arwen.
the_queen
11-04-2006, 13:47
A friend of mine yesterday was telling me what present they've got for their daughter for Easter. I got Vallerie an egg-cup set last year, but in general I didn't realise presents were exchanged at Easter time?? Maybe that's just me and my deprived upbringing :laughing:
We'll have chocolate eggs and hot cross buns. Church services on Maundy Thursday, Good Friday and Easter Sunday. And lots of stories about the true meaning of Easter. :thumbsup:
James has already received a Peter Rabbit's First Easter book, a Forever Friends easter bear, easter eggs and clothes....and apparently theres more to come....
they will both get an egg cup ... a nice ceramic one ....
Mummy-2-2
11-04-2006, 13:55
Well Tahlia is 19 months and has eaten chocolate before, but with all the talk of the major chocolate companies using child slaves, there will be no choc for us this year.
We will be having an easter hunt- for balls, big balls little balls all brightly coloured balls. Just as much fun as an easter egg hunt, without the cavities and guilt!!
sugar n spice
11-04-2006, 14:37
ethan has a milky bar egg coming and shel has a milkyway egg coming
nothing too big
i will also do a treasure hunt for some small eggs
melbourneprincess
11-04-2006, 15:06
Holly will be getting a big stuffed duck and an Easter book from Mummy & Daddy, plus some eggs in special little felt baskets (on sale at Lincraft!!!) from the Easter Bunny.
Plus we will be doing her first ever Easter Egg Hunt!!!
I can't wait, lol!!!
We traditionally have hot cross buns and fish (not together!!) on Good Friday, and then a roast chicken and all the trimmings on Easter Sunday.
I love Easter too!!! :smiliedance:
Jackson84
11-04-2006, 15:56
DS isnt getting easter eggs, and i am making choc-chip damper for the rest of the family.
11-04-2006, 16:00
with all the talk of the major chocolate companies using child slaves, there will be no choc for us this year.
I hadn't heard about that please explain??????
We're still not doing Easter this year. With Nat at kindy I'm sure he'll be into it next year, but while he's still none the wiser we will avoid it for as long as possible!
11-04-2006, 17:30
Hey Sarah, lucky i didn't get them anything then huh? :o I would have asked beforehand anyhow though.
Mac has a few eggs coming....A big one from us with a My Little Pony mug for her hot milo's in winter, also from us the book 'Guess how much i love you', and a big plush bunny from good old Aussie Post. They were so cute, i couldn't resist. She's also getting a few eggs from family, and i'm doing an egg hunt too.
Charlee will probably have a taste of choccy, but no actual eggs for her, and she's getting a plush bunny too. What you get for one, you have to get for the other :rolleyes: ...well, at this stage anyhow.
my sisters (20 & 23yrs old) and their boy friends/fiances and my 3 yr old are all going on a easter hunt... so whatever i decided to buy will be hunted down by them 5....lol yes i know grown adults doing a egg hunt is a little strange but hey thats what they all want to do. my parents are away on holidays so we are just celebrating easter with a BBQ for us sibbling :smiliedance:
Whatever I bought on sale last year after easter for $1! My 5 year old DS wants a white chocolate egg, but I think after a year in the shed the milk chocolate may have turned white from the heat anyway. LOL!
Mummy-2-2
11-04-2006, 18:03
I hadn't heard about that please explain??????
I only heard about it recently myself, although it has been happening for AGES.
Apparently on the ivory coast, where most cocoa is farmed, they steal children from their parents and make then into child slaves and dont pay them much if anything and then beat them if they try to escape.
one site I found is
http://www.radicalthought.org/
but google chocolate child slaves anhd it brings up many articles.
It really makes you think
madvoice
11-04-2006, 19:08
The Easter bunny doesn't exist but she will be getting a couple of eggs to demolish :D
sopolicha
11-04-2006, 19:20
Whatever I bought on sale last year after easter for $1! My 5 year old DS wants a white chocolate egg, but I think after a year in the shed the milk chocolate may have turned white from the heat anyway. LOL!
And those poor children were put into your care;)
lukaelmo
11-04-2006, 19:33
Ooo I have encouraged family to go wild with eggs for the dude, and they think I am serious :laughing: . I am, but not in the way that they think. He is too young for chocolate, but his mum sure isn't :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: .
And those poor children were put into your care;)
Hey! The Army always have out of date chocolate in their ration packs... what's the problem?? It's not like they even taste it, it's gone in 2.4 seconds. GULP!:p
11-04-2006, 19:34
my sisters (20 & 23yrs old) and their boy friends/fiances and my 3 yr old are all going on a easter hunt... so whatever i decided to buy will be hunted down by them 5....lol yes i know grown adults doing a egg hunt is a little strange but hey thats what they all want to do. my parents are away on holidays so we are just celebrating easter with a BBQ for us sibbling :smiliedance:
Hehe! My sis & her BF (22 & 19) are coming out to visit to do just that too! They're like giant kids! I'll have to make sure they don't get too competitive with DD though! :laughing: It'll make it that bit more fun for her, as i had to basically show her where they were last year! lol
sopolicha
11-04-2006, 19:36
Hey! The Army always have out of date chocolate in their ration packs... what's the problem?? It's not like they even taste it, it's gone in 2.4 seconds. GULP!:p
When you put it THAT way, it seems almost okay.
Glad you see it my way (almost)!
rynosmum
11-04-2006, 19:52
DS is getting the 'Dora the Explorer Gift set with a Dora cup, bowl and Easter egg.
Thing is DS is too young for Chocolate (IMO) and I went off it during pregnancy and haven't enjoyed it since so literally any eggs he gets will be wasted.:rolleyes:
The truth behind Easter is not the chocolate or gift anyway. It is also a reflective time when we remember our first pregnancy and the baby we lost. Easter hasn't really been a celebration in our house since then.
sopolicha
11-04-2006, 19:54
Katrina,
Your post puts a lot of things into perspective. :hugs:
mum2littleman
11-04-2006, 19:56
hey,
although lukey is to young to remember anything i still think it is important to give him sumthing so i have made him a specail easter basket in it there is a big plush chicken that makes sounds when u puch the belly, petter rabbits easter book, a tom the tank spoon and egg cup- has a small choc egg in there i no he cant have it but there had to be sum choc in there even if that means i have to eat it lol and there are bunny ears and little baby chickens all around it looks really cute...
:smiliedance: lou-20
:kiss: lukey 4 months
melbourneprincess
11-04-2006, 23:34
DS is getting the 'Dora the Explorer Gift set with a Dora cup, bowl and Easter egg.
Oh, I wanted to get one of those, but they were SOLD OUT!!! :(
My dd LOVES Dora!
jessgray
12-04-2006, 08:15
DS is turning 1 just after easter so he isnt getting much choccie. we are getting him wiggles dvds (he is a wiggles fan:laughing: ) and from what my family have told me DS is getting all up about 3 eggs from my sister,mum and brother and he is getting toys mostly.
my sister got him one of the plate bowl cup sets with an egg. DS does like chocolate but we dont let him have it lots.the last time he has it was about 3 weeks ago till MIL gave him dark choccie last nite wthout asking me while i was seeing the dr :mad: