View Full Version : The birth of Ruby Grace

kerrysinead
17-05-2008, 09:26
I've been meaning to share my rather complex pregnancy/birth story for a while so here goes. Many years ago I was diagnosed with a abnormality of my uterus, basically the right side wasn't formed properly and I needed an operation to remove the non-communicating part of my uterus and also remove the fallopian tube. At the time I was only 14 and was told apart from taking me longer to conceive I shouldn't have any problems. Fast forward 15years later and I fell pregnant almost straight away so we were pretty wrapped about that. :yelclap: Early on in my pregnancy I saw an obstetrician to talk about any complications I may encounter due to my history. Well he certainly didn't pull any punches when he told me about all the risks involved when you have this kind of problem, such as incompetent cervix, pre-term labour, ruptured uterus. From my own research I had found I may not have an easy ride but he confirmed my fears and to be honest I was glad he told me. Anyway everything was going great until I went into threatened pre-term labour at 25 weeks, very scary as we lived in rural queensland and I had to get flown out to Brissie. Thankfully managed to stop the contractions but they wouldnt allow me to go back to the country due to the high risk so I had to stay in hospital accommadation in the city. I was cool about that even though I missed everyone, I mean one day Im at work, next day Im gone but such is life! Unfortunately that was just the start of my problems, for the next few weeks I was in and out with an irritable uterus, shortened cervix, pain from adhesions from my previous surgery and gestational diabetes! Thankfully I had a great couple of mates in Brissie who kept me sane as I wasnt allowed to do much and DP couldn't get through every weekend cos of the distance. All was ok for a couple of weeks and I had a planned caesar booked at 37 weeks, too risky to have a vaginal delivery due to the risk of rupture and also didnt want me to go any further than 37weeks due to the same reason. Again I knew about all this so felt prepared. Anyway just as I think yep I reckon Im going to go the distance, Im lying on my bed minding my own business when at 32 weeks my waters break - big time! :( Straight to the hospital, my temperatures way up, contractions are starting, no messing straight to theatre for an emergency caeser! Fortunately managed to contact my mate who got here as poor DP couldnt get there on time. Ruby Grace was born at 19.29pm, beautiful but just a bit on the small side. :valentine: Fell in love straight away despite her being whisked away pretty quickly!Fortunatley I had steroids at 25 weeks so her lungs werent too bad she was only on the ventilator overnight then off to special care. I have to be honest and reckon I coped pretty well with all the pregnancy issues and the birth but then I reckon I was a mess for a couple of weeks, I loved her so much and just found it so difficult seeing her being tube fed and all the rest of it. I spent all the time I could there, expressing, doing as much of the cares that I could and that helped. To make things worse Im a nurse so I knew what all the monitors meant so that freaked me out even more. Im sure I was the most anxious mother in the place! Anyway 4 weeks went by and she was ready to come home, things were tricky for the first month, reflux, feeding problems, weight loss. I started formula feeding after 6 weeks and that turned things around for us both. I don't feel guilty about it, I did my best under difficult circumstances, maybe next time things may be different. Anyway Ruby is 5 and a half months now, 3 and a half corrected and she is a joy and we are both so happy and love being parents despite all the challenges that face us! Anyway thats my story I just wanted to share it, if there are any other girls out there with uterine anomalies I'l like to hear from them, they're quite rare but they do occur and can cause many problems, but my story shows that there can be positive outcomes for us. Peace :thumbsup:

ohgosh81
17-05-2008, 09:33
Thanks heaps for sharing your story. I too live in rural Queensland and am a bit nervous about what can happen if things go wrong. You have reassured me that things are often all good.

All the best with your little girl!

workin'mumof2
17-05-2008, 09:35
You did so well.. Congratualtions on ur daughter. :hugs:

Ruby is a great name :D