View Full Version : Partners Working Away Chat Thread
Hello everyone.
I felt it would be nice for all of us at home on our own to have a thread just for a general chat about our day to day life. You know, seeing as we can't reach our partners at work half the time to chat to them.
Any newbies feel free to jump into the conversation at any time. You're all welcome.
Finished my assignment today!!! I'm so happy. I've only procrastinated for about 8 weeks now so it was great to finish and hand it in. Yay me!
The kids are in bed, the house is trashed and yet again I find myself chatting on BH.
Ain't life grand?
berniebabe
13-05-2008, 22:18
My DF left for work today so my house is trashed too. Yay on finishing your assignment:yelclap:
I tend to just collapse the first day Dh is away. It's sad to see him go, but I like to absorb the solitude also.
Although mine left aweek ago. The house is trashed because we've all got the flu, so I'm flat out getting the energy to keep the kids happy. Let alone folding up all the washing. Hey it's clean, that's enough for me for now!
proudmama
13-05-2008, 22:57
hey ladies - i both love and hate dh being away - the first few days are almost like relief as i'm like a lone wolf and tend to do my own thing but then the absolute loneliness kicks in (don;t know alot of people where i am but i working on that) and can't wait to have him back but after almost 18mths of this i think i finally getting use to it (says the chick online at midnight coz she's doesn't want to go to an empty cold bed) - a whole week to go - what do you girls do once the kids are in bed to kill time while dp is away????
Kazamataz
13-05-2008, 23:16
Hey Great idea Myliam, We needed a chat thread :yelclap:
Myliam: :thumbsup: Good work on finishing you assignment, I'm terrible at doing assignments, actually all round I'm a terrible procrastinator :laughing:
Bernie babe: My house is always more trashed when Jesse is home!
ProudMama: Its a hard life but a good one :yes:
When Jesse is away depending on what day of the week it is. I usally watch telly, chat on bub hub or watch a dvd.
Plus I do housework, a workout and I usually take a bath or do something relaxing.
Asher is in bed somewhere between 6 and 7 so it really is only a few hours to kill before i hit the hay.
Where is everyone from?
kewlchicmum
13-05-2008, 23:59
Heya all I have been poping into this thread a wee bit of late just wanted to say how happy I am that DH flew home this morning and is home for 2 weeks wo ho :yelclap: and :hugs: to you all who's partners are still away.
proudmama
14-05-2008, 08:25
Kazamataz - we're up in townsville which isn't sooo bad - my only problem is lack of family close by (mines in nsw adn dh's is about 4hrs south of here) - and my night follow a similar pattern to yours depending on the day but things are becoming monotinous - maybe i need a hobby :laughing:
kewlchicmum :smiliedance: on dh coming home yesterday you lucky duck
The one good thing about dh being home for a whole week at a time means we get great quality time with him and we aren't rushed on weekends to get everything done - we can pace ourselves adn enjoy the time we do have together
millymoo
14-05-2008, 10:09
Great idea!! Should get some time on later for a catch up:D
Hey ladies!!
Hubby has only been away for 6 days and I hate being lonely...I guess that's why I spend so much time on the computer (well not lately as I'm so tired after work, I usually crash when the kids do!).
For some reason I find it much harder to cope when I am pregnant! I seem to miss him more.
Doesn't help that he doesn't finish until after 10pm, so I don't even get to talk to him much!
Bernie - Fancy seeing you here!! Haha. I know R has only been back at work for a day but I bet they've gotten up to mischief already!
Kazamataz
14-05-2008, 10:51
Kelwchicmum: :smiliedance: enjoy your time home with your Hubby.
Proudmama: :hugs: Not having family close by is so hard. We aren't close with my inlaws but they live in NSW and my family live in Canberra.
So i hear you on that one, Hobbies are good I have all these old letters and photos and things I was thinking of taking up scrap booking.
Millymoo: :wave: how's it going?
Starlet: hello and you deserve a medal!
4 littles with one on the way and your hubby works away thats amazing :thumbsup:
YOUR A SUPER MAMA
Since Jesse has been home I've gotten into the habit of staying up late and bubhubbing :laughing:
I'm really going to have to get out of that by tomorrow when he goes back to work or my days will be a right off.
mythreelittlemonkeys
14-05-2008, 21:11
Tracey - we must get our butts in gear and head over to Kidz Paradise like we said...
hi everyone...my DH does a 2 & 1 he is home on Mon night and I cant wait...bumma is at mo he is working down here too (big trip to Uk and big tax bill looming means he has to).I have 2 under 2 which is keeping me busy at the mo! as well as all the other stuff I seem to keep volunteering for...
gotta dash baby bug is waking ;)
Look forward to chatting! :)
Kazamataz
14-05-2008, 22:15
TillieAndBug: :wave: Sounds like your a very busy family. I guess thats a good way to pass the time when hubby is away.
When you going on your holiday to UK?
millymoo
15-05-2008, 18:42
Hi everyone, finally got some time to pop in here. I find it hard with just me and the girls to get time on pc. This week has been hard, I think it is week three and the reality is setting in of him being away. The novelty is wearing off. Rosie (14) has been very difficult and we have been a little poorly too. Still I will see him tomorrow:valentine: Had a bit of a pity week. The no time out is so aaaarrrggghhh!!
Ok now to try some personals and get to know everyone:D
Myliam thanks again for starting this thread. great idea!! What are you studying? Hope you are feeling better.We are more messy with DH here..but as weeks go by I would rather have him and the mess!!
BernieBabe hey how are you doing? Love the username:thumbsup:
Jo when Milly is finally asleep and I have had a whizz around the place I have 3 shows on uktv that run from 8-9.30pm so I watch them and usually have a couple of glasses of wine. Maybe a bit of time on here too! I try and have me time even though I sometimes want to sleep!!
Kara we are from England but came to Lake Macquarie in NSW in Aug 2004. Love it here. Trying to sell house though for a smaller newer one but no viewers yet. Hate preparing for Open House while DH away!! How are you?
Kwelchicmum :valentine:...enjoy your two weeks and hope to chat to you soon!!
Tracey congrats on your pregnancy..will that make 5 kiddies in your house! How do you feel today? Hope better. I was always very emotional when pregnant.:hugs:
TilleandBug, where are you going in the UK? I am from Cambridgeshire and would love a trip back but with IRates atm, no chance. The amount our mortgage has gone up a month in last two years would have bought a few tickets home:(
Hope everyone has had a great day and chat soon x
Kazamataz
15-05-2008, 20:12
Millymoo: :smiliedance: So exciting you'll get to see your DH soon.
Sounds like you've been really busy, I hope your all feeling better.
I love Lake Macquarie it's beautiful but I haven't been there in a while.
When I was pregnant with Asher, the house we were renting went up for sale and it was a pain in the butt getting ready for open house when I was as big as a whale!
Ok so today I completely lost it :hissy:
Jesse flew out to work for a 5 day training thingy. He didn't start packing till the last minute and then stressed at me because he was worried about missing his flight.
We drove to the airport and cause he had to fly from the main airport we just drove in and then drove out again.
Asher at this point cracked it because it meant he didn't get to see the planes and wave goodbye to Daddy.
I then had to drive to baby warehouse because I have a pram on layby.
They have a big play pen at the front of the store. I popped Asher in and waited for the assistant.
He had calmed down from not seeing Jesse off but as soon I took him out to put him in the car he went crazy.
He screamed, cried all the way home and thats when I lost it.
I had two loads of washing that needed to be taken to the laundry mat and run through the dries but Asher was being so unreasonable I just didnt make it.
So Asher screamed all the way home and I bawled my eyes out :crying:
It so hard being in a new places and not really knowing anyone.
I just needed someone to sit here while Asher slept (he fell asleep as soon as we got home) so I could run to the laundry mat for 20mins and dry the clothes.
I thought about asking the care taker in our apartment block but when I got home she had started happy hour early :D she's 74 what else do 74 years do with their afternoons.
There should be a business where people do random jobs for you, Like run your clothes to the laundry mat :laughing:
millymoo
15-05-2008, 21:16
:hugs:Kara I am so sorry you had such a day!!
I too think a few services would help:laughing:
When did you come to the Lake and where?
hey guys, just a bit of curiosity, what sort of shifts do your dp's work. mine is on an 8 days on 6 off roster. it works well apart from at night. i have been sleeping in the spare room. it is just a bit much on me getting used to him there and then he goes, i get used to him being gone then he's home. i was losing to much sleep. has anyone else had this prob?
Kazamataz
15-05-2008, 22:09
:hugs:Kara I am so sorry you had such a day!!
I too think a few services would help:laughing:
When did you come to the Lake and where?
Thank-you :)
Its been about 5 years since I last went to Lake and I have no idea where it was.
My friends parents holiday home :laughing:
It was near a lake where they did water skiing but thats about all I remember.
Kazamataz
15-05-2008, 22:13
hey guys, just a bit of curiosity, what sort of shifts do your dp's work. mine is on an 8 days on 6 off roster. it works well apart from at night. i have been sleeping in the spare room. it is just a bit much on me getting used to him there and then he goes, i get used to him being gone then he's home. i was losing to much sleep. has anyone else had this prob?
Jesse works 7days on and 7days off and I find it hard to sleep when he's home too.
When he's not here I sleep in the middle of the bed so its hard to share a bed when he comes home.
But we make it work, he's only just gone back to working in the mines.
When he worked away before I just got used to the change and it was never a problem.
I hope you find a solution that works well for you.
Maybe sleeping in separate beds is the best thing. I mean if your only going to sleep it doesn't really matter where you sleep.
Unless your DH doesn't like it.
Hello Everyone! I'd start listing names but there's already so many. I'm just glad to see everyone having a chat.
Millymoo - I hear you about the no time out thing. I think that's what gets me the most. Before I met my husband, I lived alone. I like my own space and time to get my head together, ironicly (sp?) I'm an extremely social person and DH isn't.
I'm studing my cert 3 teachers aid and hope to do my cert 4 special needs as that where I'd really like to work.
Mum 1986 - my dh is on 2 and 1. I cant sleep in the spare room as he would be mortally offended but I wish I could!!! His snoring drives me crazy, and when ever I try to let DD2 settle herself in the middle of the night he either whinges about it or gets up to her ( and wakes her up even more). I know I should be grateful but it just messes with her routine.
Hey Kaz - Geez what a bummer of a day. We're actually not too far from each other. Hopefully we'll catch up at the pram ribbon playdate thingy. If you ever find you really need a break dont be afraid to PM me and I'd be happy to help. (I have a wwcc). Sometimes just knowing you have another option is relief in itself.
So...my day. Well I managed to get 2/3rds of the way through my next unit of study. Yay me! I went shopping and stuck to my budget. Yay me! And...I finally got around to approaching a local art gallery about my artwork. They've invited me to bring in some pieces to show them and if they think they'll sell, they'll display them. Yay me again! All I have to do now is finish some that I think will be up to scratch. Not an easy feat when your home on your own with 2 kids. Jeez, no wonder my house is trashed all the time. hey that's my excuse and I'm stickin' to it.
Hope everyone else is getting through their days ok.
Wishing you all hot cuppas that you actually get to drink whilst they're still hot!!!
Hey, sorry about all the yay me's on the last post but if you knew how chaotic my days usually are you'd understand. I think I'm the queen of procrastination so a day when I actually achieve a few things really is amazing.
Thanks for understanding.:D
Kazamataz
15-05-2008, 22:53
Myliam: :laughing: I loved all the yay me's!
Thanks for the support, I think it was just one of those days. But yes hopefully we will get to meet at the pram ribbon thingy would be great to meet some other FIFO mums :yes:
Good to hear you got so much done thats awesome. I wish I had more productive days like that.
Well I really should go off to the bed, I have lots to do tomorrow.
Have a great night :wave:
Hope tomorrow is full of wonderful surprises for you:wave:
Kazamataz
16-05-2008, 08:41
Myliam: Whats a WWCC?
proudmama
16-05-2008, 09:30
wow it looks like this thread was really needed - it's sooo good to be able to talk to others in the same boat - all my other frends don't quite understand
Myliam i'm the same as you - if i can acheive anything on a day where john is away then i almost throw myself a party - so keep up the yay's and don't apologies - and i love your comment abou the coffee - he he he - i don't think i've finished a whole cup in 10mths since ds was born
Kazamataz - sorry about your day - some days are soo hard you wanna just tell dh to pack it in and get a job in town - and i agree on the the aid thing too - there should be a service available to help out us semi single and single parents - and i understand being in a new place and not knowing anyone - i spent my first 9 mths in townsville either sitting at home or wondering the shops for no reason just to get out of the house - and i couldn't get work coz i was pregs - it wasn't til ds was born that i thought, for his sake and mine, about joining a playgroup and it has helped - and a lot of the mums there are defence mums whose partners go on deployment for up to a few months at a time so we just help each other out
mum1986 - my dh also does 8 on and 6 off and the sleeping thing is a problem - that first night he's home we both fight for the middle of the bed coz that's what we're use to adn there's usually accidental kicking and pushing coz we forget the other is there and then the first night he's away is just as bad coz the bed is colder and empty and i usually stay up to some ungodly hour coz i have no one to cuddle.
Well ladies i'm off for another maybe productive day - have to get some paper work together before dh comes home on tuesday - we looking at buying a house so we have a million appointments with mortgage brokers all next week :thumbsdown:
many cheers and smiles to you all
Proudmamma - good luck with the house hunting etc. I went through that a couple of years ago. In the end DH just had to trust me and I bought a place without him. The market in WA was pretty savage at the time. Luckily he likes it, and I only stuffed up a little bit. I didn't know you should get a building inspection etc.:o I just loved the house!
Kaz - a WWCC is a Working With Children Card. You may have seen the ads on tele. Just to let you know I was police approved and not some psycho.
Thought I'd treat myself to a movie today whilst DD2 is sleeping. Went to the shop but "P.S. I love you" was all out. I haven't seen it yet and a good girly flick is just what I feel like. Oh well, have booked it for tomorrow instead.
Hope you all have a fantastic weekend.
Bye:wave:
Kazamataz
16-05-2008, 15:34
Proudmama: :) Thanks for the support, I'm glad we have this chat thread :D
I think I need to join a good playgroup and meet some new people.
Its hard because we still aren't sure if we are staying here.
Oooo your looking to buy a house Good luck, I hope you find something perfect and right in your price range and you have no problems with the loan :thumbsup:
Myliam: :laughing: of course I have one too!
I've treated myself to a season one of party of five.
Our local Civic video does 50c weeklies on Wednesday. I'm slowly working my way through all my old favorite TV series.
Well today was a much better day, we made it to the laundry mat but we were there so long we missed swimming lessons :laughing:
I gave them a call and they've given me a free pass to the pool for a swim next week.
Well hope all you ladies have a lovely weekend :thumbsup:
My hubby is on 2 weeks on, 1 week off. He works with Berniebabe's hubby-to-be, that's how we met :)
Tracey congrats on your pregnancy..will that make 5 kiddies in your house! How do you feel today? Hope better. I was always very emotional when pregnant.:hugs:
Feeling great now that it is the weekend! Haha!
Tracey - we must get our butts in gear and head over to Kidz Paradise like we said...
I know, it has been forever!! Are weekends ok with you? Because that is the only time I am free :( it sucks working full time sometimes!
my dp used to work 2 and 1 but they realised 2 weeks away was 2 much and so they changed it. i actually found it easier when it was 2 and 1.
he is home atm and is off again tuesday morning. not happy though cause i think i am coming down with something and it hurts to talk so we can't even chat, and with the babies in bed we can't go out. oh well now i can't talk i have gotten heaps of housework done.
Mum1986 - stuff the housework, nows the time for DH to give you that luxurious foot massage that you deserve.
Kazamataz
16-05-2008, 22:32
:laughing: :iagree:
Kazamataz
17-05-2008, 11:44
Hey does anyone have facebook?
PrincessJasmine
17-05-2008, 15:44
Wish I had found this thread/ topic section earlier!
DP has just done his first week of interstate truck driving. I'm missing him heaps and so is our DD. I'm about to have our second any day now, and its been really hard doing all this on my own. I never realised how much I rely on DP.
He left last Saturday, came home Tuesday morning and was off again Tuesday night. We've seen him for a total of 10 hours this week. DD seems to be adjusting but I don't think I am. I've been all teary and hormonal in the mornings, I'm sleep deprived and the house is a complete mess! I don't want DP to come home to the house like this, but I'm just so tired.
How do you cope?? He'll be home after this for a few weeks hopefully, but I'm worried about how I'm going to go it alone with a 3yo and a newborn.
Kazamataz
17-05-2008, 16:16
Princess Jasmine: :hugs: That would be very hard, esp since your so close to giving birth.
I was a mess those last couple of weeks before Asher was born I wouldn't let Jesse out of my sight, I even went to work with him one day :laughing:
Lucky at the time he was working in a mob phone shop and I could just sit out the back.
This is a great place to get support, I had a melt down the other day and the ladies were all so lovely to me :yes:
As for the housework, I say housework shmouswork at the moment. Your so close to having bubs don't worry about it.
Once you do have bubs tho the only "trick" to coping is to be organized.
It's how I do it otherwise my house would be a tip :laughing:
The other thing that helps us that Jesse has a set work roster 1 week on 1 week off.
Will you Hubby have the same or is the work all over the place?
PrincessJasmine
17-05-2008, 17:09
At the moment it looks like he'll be gone 6 days a week, sometimes longer. One of the other drivers said he'd worked 46 days straight before having a day off...:( I hope that isn't the case. He's doing local work for a few weeks so he can help me with the baby. We're having a homebirth too, so there's lots to get ready around here. Not sure how permanent the interstate work is going to be, but he'll be doing it at least for the next 3 months or so.
Kazamataz
17-05-2008, 18:39
PrincessJasmine: 6 days is not too bad, but 46 thats a huge amount! Truckies work so hard.
Well I guess if your having a home birth then you'll need to do some house work :laughing:
PrincessJasmine
17-05-2008, 19:08
I feel sorry for DP, he's going to be busy tomorrow cleaning! But :smiliedance: he'll be home in a few hours. I have to drive in the pouring rain to go pick him up 20 minutes away, but its worth it. :laughing: I'm wearing my pj's can't be bothered getting dressed.
Kazamataz
17-05-2008, 21:04
I feel sorry for DP, he's going to be busy tomorrow cleaning! But :smiliedance: he'll be home in a few hours. I have to drive in the pouring rain to go pick him up 20 minutes away, but its worth it. :laughing: I'm wearing my pj's can't be bothered getting dressed.
Meh I've worn my PJ's heaps of places.
If I'm not getting out of the car what does it matter? :laughing:
Have fun with your DP :smiliedance:
Hi PrincessJasmine. Do you mind if I call you PJ. It's easier to type and kinda reminds me of your pyjamas comment. Hope all goes well with the birth. I love your countdown. "eviction" it took me two seconds to realise what you meant then i just lol.
When I had our second child and my husband started making comments about the sudden lack of housework being achieved I simply told him he was welcome to do it himself. I even offered to return to work and leave him to it. He now cleans up all he can when he's home. Especially after a few nights where I've gone out with the girls and left him home with the kids on his own. Sometimes all they need is a little reality check. They really do love us, even if we're not perfect house keepers.
I'm sitting here typing because I cant go to bed as there is a mountain of washing on it waiting to be folded. I'm not kidding, it really is a mountain. I swear it has goats and everything. There's a faint sound of yodelling wafting from my room right now. The idea was if I took it all out of the spare room where it was hiding and put it on my bed then I could avoid it no longer. I guess I made the mountain come to mohammad (or however that saying goes). Any hoo, it didn't work. It's still there. Looming. I've never really been into any sports so I'm not sure moutaineering is something I want to take on this evening. Besides, I don't have the right clothes. Because well, they're all buried under the mountain aren't they.
Sigh~! Oh well. Here I go. If you've not seen a post from me in 2 days send the rescue team.
Farewell, and may good fortune bless you all.
proudmama
18-05-2008, 00:44
Myliam - i know how you feel - silly me decided to be pro-active today and got three loads of washing done, did some baking and even went for a much needed walk (amoungst my usual chores) - what i was not prepared fro was the aftermath of folding the clothes cleaning the dirty dishes i made and all the aches and pains coz it's been a while since i've done some exercise - needless to say the washing is still on my bed too lol
PrincessJasmine - you have come to the right thread - and don't worry about the cleaning - like Myliam i got dh to spend even just a few hours alone wwith ds and he soon realised why i'm not a stepford wife. and the pj thing i wear mine to drop off dh every fortnight at the airport - there is no way i'm getting up any earlier then 10 minutes before we leace at 5 in the freezing mornings when i know i'm going straight back to bed for a couple of hours when i get home
PrincessJasmine
18-05-2008, 15:07
:laughing: talk about washing, I've had DP doing it all day, he's just folding it now! Yes, PJ is much easier to type! Its nice to have him home, I just wish I was getting a bit more attention at the moment...its hard when DD is so demanding of her daddy's time.
kewlchicmum
19-05-2008, 00:25
Heya all :wave: just thought I would pop in and say hello and that I have not forgotten about you all and :hugs: to everyone who does not have DH DP at home at the moment. Its been a full on 1st week home into the 2nd tomorrow already gee don't you think it goes so quick then they are home and when they are not it slows right down.....mmmm Well better go hope you are all doing well. take care and hope to chat with you all real soon:valentine:
:wave:Hiya Everyone.
Well DH is home tomorrow for four whole weeks!!! What do you think my chances are of getting him to take the kids during the night forf a week straight. :laughing::laughing: Yeah I thought it was +funny+ too0.6. +As youcan tell DD2 is helping me to type this and all she can reach is the number pad.
Kaz - in answer to your question of ages ago, no I don't have facebook. I only have dialup so things like that just take too long.
Hope you all have a great week.
Jen
kewlchicmum
19-05-2008, 22:19
Heya all hope everyone is going well :hugs:
proudmama
19-05-2008, 22:51
hey everyone - dh comes home tomorrow just in the nick of time i've been a little :hair::hair::hair::hair::hair: the last couple of days - just feeling a little unsettled - he's home for a week so i may not be on here for a while (he tends to monopolies the computer when he's home)
here's to moping and here's to coping - catch up soon ladies
Kazamataz
19-05-2008, 22:54
Heya all hope everyone is going well :hugs:
:wave: How you going?
How's things with the bubba? Not long now, Are you getting excited?
Kazamataz
19-05-2008, 22:59
:wave:Hiya Everyone.
Well DH is home tomorrow for four whole weeks!!! What do you think my chances are of getting him to take the kids during the night forf a week straight. :laughing::laughing: Yeah I thought it was +funny+ too0.6. +As youcan tell DD2 is helping me to type this and all she can reach is the number pad.
:laughing: Don't you love when they help you type?
What if you pack a bag and when DH comes home, just say:
"Well it's nice to have you home. I'm off for a weeks holiday at an exclusive spa there's no phones or internet so I can't be reached. Have fun with the kids." :laughing:
It could work....maybe
Kazamataz
19-05-2008, 23:05
hey everyone - dh comes home tomorrow just in the nick of time i've been a little the last couple of days - just feeling a little unsettled - he's home for a week so i may not be on here for a while (he tends to monopolies the computer when he's home)
here's to moping and here's to coping - catch up soon ladies
:hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs::hugs: to you mate.
I hope you have a good week home with DH and you get some me time.
PrincessJasmine
20-05-2008, 09:25
I hope you all enjoy your partners coming home! :D
Mine has been home for a couple of days and I'm ready to send him off again! :hair: the house is so much easier to maintain without him here. And yet I'm a complete mess and miss him when he's gone.
He'll be home for a few weeks before he heads off again. I'm a little dissapointed though, he's barely shown an interest in me since he's been home, its all about DD. I feel silly for being jealous of my own daughter....he doesn't even want sex :(
Mine has been home for a couple of days and I'm ready to send him off again! :hair: the house is so much easier to maintain without him here. And yet I'm a complete mess and miss him when he's gone.
:iagree: :laughing: I know what you mean PJ. I often feel that way. Hopefully after he's had a couple nights sleep and settles in you can be his main attraction again. Don't forget he knows you love him and always will , but he's still trying to make sure your DD wont forget him when she gets older, meets a guy, takes off from home Arrrggghhh... let's not think about our DD's doing all that.
:D Hey Kaz. Where's the spa and whos payin???? Ohhhhh it's so nice to dream.
Hope everyone has had a great Tuesday and may Wednesday bring you lots of smiles.:sunshine:
kewlchicmum
22-05-2008, 16:36
:wave: everyone how are you all going :hugs: to all te mummies who don't have there DH/DP home I hope you are all doing well and they will be home real soon. And to all that have there DH/DP home I hope you all are having a great time and things are not to busy busy ya right I know what it is like:laughing:
Kazamataz I am excited but I am over it how I just want bubby out I am feeling soooooooooooooooooo huge and it's getting harder to sleep and picking up DS and chasing around after him he wins hands down. Any ways how are you going darls?
:rolleyes: I have been starting to wonder how I am going to do it all when DH is away with a toddler and a new born everyone says you will be right it's easy with just one but two I am not to sure about any one out there who are in the same boat would love to hear from you.....:yes:
PrincessJasmine
22-05-2008, 17:33
I'll let you know what its like within the next few weeks! :laughing: DP will have to head off sooner than expected, so I'll be faced with being alone with a 3 day old and a 3yo. Not looking forward to the sleep deprivation :no:
Kazamataz
22-05-2008, 17:40
Kewlchicmum: I remember being so over it when I got to that point with Asher. Esp cause all my friends were giving birth and It just made me want to see my bubba even more.
I'm feeling better but still quite sick, Asher was taking advantage of my sickness yesterday and running off every time I called him.
But his Daddy is home today and he's stopped being so naughty.
We were TTC#2 but like you I was concerned about having two and being on my own every second week.
Let me know how you go, I'd love to hear an other FIFO mum's experience.
Kazamataz
22-05-2008, 17:50
I'll let you know what its like within the next few weeks! :laughing: DP will have to head off sooner than expected, so I'll be faced with being alone with a 3 day old and a 3yo. Not looking forward to the sleep deprivation :no:
:hugs: to you mate, That would be very hard.
Do you have friends or family close by who can come and help?
berniebabe
22-05-2008, 20:57
Kewlchicmum: I remember being so over it when I got to that point with Asher. Esp cause all my friends were giving birth and It just made me want to see my bubba even more.
I'm feeling better but still quite sick, Asher was taking advantage of my sickness yesterday and running off every time I called him.
But his Daddy is home today and he's stopped being so naughty.
We were TTC#2 but like you I was concerned about having two and being on my own every second week.
Let me know how you go, I'd love to hear an other FIFO mum's experience.
My DS cme the day AFTER DF flew out to work. He stayed home for 1 week then left. I have 21 months between DD and DS. Its not so bad when you get used to it :) DF started FIFO when DD was 2 weeks old, so I supose it was pretty normal for me.
So now you are back at work (hope it going well) how long before TTC #2?
Kazamataz
23-05-2008, 00:11
My DS cme the day AFTER DF flew out to work. He stayed home for 1 week then left. I have 21 months between DD and DS. Its not so bad when you get used to it :) DF started FIFO when DD was 2 weeks old, so I supose it was pretty normal for me.
So now you are back at work (hope it going well) how long before TTC #2?
I guess thats a good point, if its what you've done pretty much for the start it just becomes normal.
I think we may seriously look at TTC again later in the year.
My boss is convinced I'll get pregnant soon because all her cooks do.
She actually called me because her cook at the moment is 8 months pregnant and when I did worked for her before it was because an other cook was pregnant.
Even my boss got pregnant when she was cooking in the kitchen a few years back.
She says if you work in the kitchen you get pregnant so :fingerscrossed: it happens :laughing:
I don't know how happy she would be about it tho.
berniebabe
23-05-2008, 10:03
My boss is convinced I'll get pregnant soon because all her cooks do.
She actually called me because her cook at the moment is 8 months pregnant and when I did worked for her before it was because an other cook was pregnant.
:laughing: that is so funny. The same thing happened at my job. I replaced a pregnant lady and they said the same thing to me..... all the ladies got pregnant while working there. a few years later.... guess what happened...... you guesssed it, I got preggers
Kazamataz
24-05-2008, 18:02
:wave: hey ladies how you all doing?
jessiika
24-05-2008, 18:08
hey every 1 :wave:
im new to this section only jus discovered it!lol
my dp & i moved here (WA) frm syd in sept to chaise the mining boom and shortly after i found out that i was pregnant!:baby::bfp:
jason does FIFO up newman near port headland his roster is 4wks on 1wk off and i find the first few days im lost n besides myself as im alone n just mope around (im abit of a sook)but then i find it good cause i can jus relax and do my own thing like get a pedicure without him askin/wingin how much longer lol then b4 u kno it its the 3rd wk and excitment kicks in as the countdown begins although it does seem 2 drag on abit!
i dont kno how im goin to cope once he goes back after mia is born as i hav no family n 1-2 friends here who work anyway n dont have kids so having all you guys will b fantastic
:fingerscrossed: & fingers crossed during the six weeks that he has off he finds another job on a smaller roster lik 2wks on 1wk off would b great!
berniebabe
24-05-2008, 21:24
eek, I wouldn't let DF work any longer than 2 weeks. I would go crazy. My friends DF just started working in Africa and Does 6 and 2. Mad I tell ya. Any way welcome to the thread, I myself only found it a few days ago too.
Kazamataz
25-05-2008, 16:26
:iagree: 4 and 1 is crazy long I could never handle that. I thought 2 and 1 was bad enough :laughing:
What kind of work does your DP do?
I can ask Jesse if there are any positions at his work.
Where do you live again?
TeamAwesome
25-05-2008, 17:53
I've not stuck my head in this section for a while so didn't realise there is chat thread!
I'm Natalie, I live on the Sunshine Coast and DH works 6weeks on 1 week off in Nebo (Nth QLD) as a Powerline Rigger and we have 3 beautiful (more so when they're sleeping:laughing:) children an almost 4yo DS, a 2.5yo DD and a 7mo DD.
I'm actually on here tonight procrastinating as our house is trashed thanks to illnesses in the kids and me being too tired to care but I have an inspection on Tuesday sometime (I so hate that side of renting) so lots to do and of course no motivation to do any of it, I'll mostly tidy as with toddlers it's hard enough clean properly let alone be spotless white glove by the time they actualy come IYKWIM.
We're at the end of a really long bad week which I won't go into but I'm hoping this coming week will be better as I've barely gotten any sleep the last few weeks and starting to feel crummy because of it. DH is fantastic with the kids when he's home, very hands on Daddy and I'm planning on having a massage and a girls time out of some sort when he's home next.
Jessiika - My Dh went back away for work when DD2 was 10days old and I suggest you invest in an electric swing and also as hard as it sounds sleep when ever she sleeps as it will help you get through the first couple of months easier if you do! Don't be too hard on yourself about keeping up with the house work in the first few months. A great tip I was told with my first and still do is to put the washing on when you wake up in the morning, hang it out when bub goes down for a sleep have something to eat and then go back to sleep yourself. Look after yourself make sure you eat oh invest in a slow cooker, you can put dinner on in the morning and it's ready in the evening! Makes it much easier at the end of the day to just dish it up (there is a slowcooking thread in the recipes section) and will give you plenty left over for a decent lunch or you could freeze some for another time too.
Well sorry I've :ecomcity: I should probably stop just nice to "chat" to other mums who understand better than most what I'm going through.
Have a good night girls!
Natalie
Hiya Everyone. :wave:Hope all the kiddies are behaving for you this week. Yes even the ones still kicking inside.
Hey PJ, have you got your lovely bundle yet? I'm hoping as you haven't posted in a few days that you may be busy with a beautiful new baby.
Hi Jessiika. I think the four weeks will seem to go ALOT quicker when your busy with the new bub. I agree with SM about the sleeping. I slept whenever DD2 did. Even if was just for 1/2 an hour. It helped keep me sane. I look forward to having another person to chat to.
Hi Spaghetti Mummy. Thank you for mentioning the slow cooking thread. I've been a bit stumped as to some new ideas for mine so I'm about to head over there now and check it out. It really does make life easier on a busy day if you can come home and dinner is already done. Especially as DD2 is at an age now where she can have chopped up versions of whatever we're eating.
Well Dh is in and we're going to check out the DaVinci Machines exhibit, whilst the girls are at school and daycare. It will be so nice to take my time looking at something and not have to whip my head around every 5 seconds to watch what little fingers are doing. We might even get to sit down and eat a meal together uninterupted. Now won't that be bliss....:D
berniebabe
26-05-2008, 15:52
:smiliedance:Yay DF got a job in Leinster and a house, so we are moving in a few months to be with him:valentine:
Kazamataz
26-05-2008, 16:54
:smiliedance:Yay DF got a job in Leinster and a house, so we are moving in a few months to be with him:valentine:
OO where is he working and how long did you have to wait for a house?
Kazamataz
26-05-2008, 16:55
:laughing: Oh and Congrats we may join you :D
berniebabe
26-05-2008, 17:36
OO where is he working and how long did you have to wait for a house?
He will be running the resturant in the Tavern I think? He had to have a metting with the area manager and the Area manager had a meeting with BHP to see if a house was available. Not long took about a week to find out and a house will be ready in a few swings.
I think its hard to get a house if you aren't in management. When I talk to DF tonight I will let you know. So are you thinking Leinster too?
Kazamataz
26-05-2008, 18:00
He will be running the resturant in the Tavern I think? He had to have a metting with the area manager and the Area manager had a meeting with BHP to see if a house was available. Not long took about a week to find out and a house will be ready in a few swings.
I think its hard to get a house if you aren't in management. When I talk to DF tonight I will let you know. So are you thinking Leinster too?
Oh congrats thats awesome, Yeah Jesse just got a job at Agnew he's a Geo Tech.
They did mention that he could put his name down for a house but he didn't bother asking how long the wait was.
He flys out tomorrow maybe I should ask him to find out.
It would mean we could save alot more money and we could pay off our debts faster.
My only "big" concern was whether there would be other families out there?
Do you know if there are many families in the town?
I would like to go up for a visit first before I decided if I defiantly wanted to move and it would mean TTCing would need to be put on hold as I can't imagine I'd be able to have a baby out there.
berniebabe
26-05-2008, 18:05
Hey we will be there :) There are heaps of families up there. DF went a few weeks ago and took some pictures for me. Imagine a really small town and I mean really small and thats what it is. Are you on Facebook? Seak and you will find some groups
Kazamataz
26-05-2008, 21:34
Hey we will be there :) There are heaps of families up there. DF went a few weeks ago and took some pictures for me. Imagine a really small town and I mean really small and thats what it is. Are you on Facebook? Seak and you will find some groups
Cool will totally check out facebook groups
We were just talking about it and we're still not sure will have to wait and see.
kewlchicmum
27-05-2008, 16:05
Heya all my DH just went back yesterday and I miss him already :crying: must be :bfp: kicking in lol.....Hope everyone is doing well sorry no personals there are so many just read them all tho.:wave:
jessiika
27-05-2008, 16:43
hi girls :wave:
thanks for the advice ive been getting myself into the routine of cooking dinner around 11-12 so i can eat it for lunch aswell!
i have a swing and a motion glider so hopfully she will like them and i will definatley take all the oppurtunities i can to catch up on sleep!
jessiika
27-05-2008, 16:48
:iagree: 4 and 1 is crazy long I could never handle that. I thought 2 and 1 was bad enough :laughing:
What kind of work does your DP do?
I can ask Jesse if there are any positions at his work.
Where do you live again?
we live in wa and jason is happy 2 do fly in fly out but if he could get a job with a better roster that has a decent wage stil we would look into taking it
Kazamataz
27-05-2008, 18:04
we live in wa and jason is happy 2 do fly in fly out but if he could get a job with a better roster that has a decent wage stil we would look into taking it
Jesse does FIFO in the gold fields on an 7 days on 7 days off roster.
He's been in the industry on and off for 4 years and he studied specifically to get into the industry. So he has quite a few contacts up his sleeve.
What kind of work does your partner do?
Kazamataz
27-05-2008, 18:08
Heya all my DH just went back yesterday and I miss him already :crying: must be :bfp: kicking in lol.....Hope everyone is doing well sorry no personals there are so many just read them all tho.:wave:
kewlchicmum
27-05-2008, 23:11
Heya Kazamataz thanks for your :hugs: I have been a real :crying: of late with him being away shame on me lol...I read your DH/DP works in the goldfields I am from Kalgoorlie grew up there.
Kazamataz
28-05-2008, 09:49
Heya Kazamataz thanks for your :hugs: I have been a real :crying: of late with him being away shame on me lol...I read your DH/DP works in the goldfields I am from Kalgoorlie grew up there.
:thumbsup: No worries anytime :D
It must be difficult being pregnant and having DH away. I don't know how well I will go once we finally get there.
Whats Kalgoorlie like?
I want to go visit there one day, go see the super pit :laughing:
kewlchicmum
28-05-2008, 10:26
Kazamataz Well like I said I grew up in Kal was there from year 2 which is 7 years of age I think:confused:
and left when I was around 27 I think it was good :thumbsup:growing up in a country town not a lot to do if your not into sports but I loved it it was all I knew lots and lots of pubs and way more men the women but it's changed lots in the time I grew up there more shops only a main shopping drag tho and it's got way more families living there now which is good. All in all it is a pretty nice place to grew up and live but since being down here in Perth I don't think that I would move back up and live there again.
:wave: Heya morning to all hope your morning is going well we are about off to go do some shopping and prob window shopping. Bad night last night I didn't sleep well never do the first few nights when DH is away and plus being :bfp: does not help any more and DS woke round 1.38am and didn't even go back to sleep of like ages after a bottle he was just talking and lol in his cot till round 3am.........oh boy what sort of day am I going to be in for :rolleyes:
TeamAwesome
28-05-2008, 10:45
Hello Ladies,
Jessiika- I was doing that with my last bub making it at lunchtime when I knew we were having a certain yummy meal! You sound pretty prepared, so I'm sure you'll be fine.
KCM -:hugs: I understand how hard it is to be away from your DH when you're pregnant and have a little one at home! Definately the hormones talking ;) (mine was away for about 30 weeks of mine so missed most of it)
berniebabe - congrats on your DF getting a new job and the prospect of a house provided could be good too.
Oops bub is up and I should be getting off here and getting ready to take them all to the GP so not motivated as recovering from a horrid bug which seems to sweeping our area.
Natalie
mum_I'm_hungry
28-05-2008, 10:53
Interesting thread, ladies! We are considering my husband working away next year, so it's been interesting to read about your highs and lows. I'm still not sure, though... He would probably look at working one week on, two weeks off. It would be in all different places, though, as a locum anaesthetist. Will have to keep thinking about it... Thanks for the insight, though! :)
proudmama
28-05-2008, 10:55
hey all - soo sooo soooooooooo sorry i really didn't mean to go MIA on you last week after dh got home but for some reason we were really motivated and didn't stop doing stuff all week so come night time jumping on here was the last thing on my mind and then come the weekend our house got smacked with this cold/flu/virus thing floating around and even getting out of bed was a task and a half - not to mention ds is also teething so he's a barrel of laughs atm - anywho just a quick note to say hey - sorry no personals - need to do some reading to catch up - most likely be back on tonight - catch up then
Kazamataz
28-05-2008, 11:16
Interesting thread, ladies! We are considering my husband working away next year, so it's been interesting to read about your highs and lows. I'm still not sure, though... He would probably look at working one week on, two weeks off. It would be in all different places, though, as a locum anaesthetist. Will have to keep thinking about it... Thanks for the insight, though! :)
One week on two weeks off would be a dream job. he hardly be working at all :laughing:
Kazamataz
28-05-2008, 11:20
hey all - soo sooo soooooooooo sorry i really didn't mean to go MIA on you last week after dh got home but for some reason we were really motivated and didn't stop doing stuff all week so come night time jumping on here was the last thing on my mind and then come the weekend our house got smacked with this cold/flu/virus thing floating around and even getting out of bed was a task and a half - not to mention ds is also teething so he's a barrel of laughs atm - anywho just a quick note to say hey - sorry no personals - need to do some reading to catch up - most likely be back on tonight - catch up then
:hugs: No worries mate, thats great that you got to motivated.
Not so great that you all were hit with the flu though. Hope your feeling better :thumbsup:
Hows the house buying going?
kewlchicmum
28-05-2008, 15:21
One week on two weeks off would be a dream job. he hardly be working at all :laughing:
:iagree: it would be great :sunshine:
mythreelittlemonkeys
28-05-2008, 17:16
we are hoping for a 2 & 2 soon...but you have to make sure you get paid more to compensate for the fact that you are only working 1/2 the year :)
Not having to work at all would be wonderful! ha ha
gonna have to keep buying those lotto tickets...
Well DH has gone again...and we are home alone...all reeling from a nasty cold and I had tonsilitis this weekend...and OMG has winter come in hard this year with all this rain here...yuck! somehow dont seem at all geared up for it...feels really dark today...
I am looking forward to DH coming home this time as then we are off to England...well he works down here for a week then we go...
Think you girls who are off to woop woop are really strong...I couldnt do it...its hard DH being away but I feel kinda settled here now and not so isolated...
okay I am rambling...must be the head cold and lack of sleep...
jessiika
28-05-2008, 17:41
Jesse does FIFO in the gold fields on an 7 days on 7 days off roster.
He's been in the industry on and off for 4 years and he studied specifically to get into the industry. So he has quite a few contacts up his sleeve.
What kind of work does your partner do?
he an allrounder,he operates different machines n trucks
atm (this last shift only) theyve had him driving triple 7's but cause he 1 of a few all rounder they place him where they need him if that makes sense!
and he has 8yrs experience in army in transport corp (construction) he was transport NCO
jessiika
28-05-2008, 17:53
hey every1 :wave:
hw is everybody today?:)
my dp is due home on tue morning so im really excited and am counting down the sleeps! at least he has 6wks off now as bub can come any day now!
i want to do somthing special b4 bubs comes,something we prob wont b able to do 4 a while but cant think of what lol!
any ideas on something special we could do 2gether on tues?:confused:
i kno he wants 2 see the new indianna jones movie but i went with a friend 2 c that lol and i was thinking about a fancy reasturant as it will prob be the last time we get to go to an expensive place for long time now we have a bub coming it will prob be a family reasturant like sizzler lol:laughing:
Kazamataz
28-05-2008, 20:38
he an allrounder,he operates different machines n trucks
atm (this last shift only) theyve had him driving triple 7's but cause he 1 of a few all rounder they place him where they need him if that makes sense!
and he has 8yrs experience in army in transport corp (construction) he was transport NCO
I'll get Jesse to keep his ear open and if he hears of anything on a shorter roster I'll let you know :thumbsup:
kewlchicmum
28-05-2008, 23:12
TillieAnd Bug :hugs: to you all being sick and yucky that's no good but glad you are all getting over it now. I know what you mean about the weather it's been raining here too all day long well at least we need the rain. My DH does 2 and 2 and it's the best I think 2 weeks goes so quick and it will only go quicker once bub number 2 comes along I am hoping. :rolleyes:
Berniebabe Congrads on DH getting a new job and house that's really great.:yelclap:
Jessiika It does sound like you will have it all under control (oh and that reminds me I need to get a slow cooker to before bub number 2 comes along.) I hope you have a great time together my DH is going to be taking off 6 weeks too when bub comes. When are you due?
jessiika
29-05-2008, 18:51
kara~thanks that would be great!
kewlchicmum~im due 18th june so not long now u?:)
kewlchicmum
29-05-2008, 22:04
Jessiika Me due the 30th July but having a c-section so they are going to bring it forward around 38-39 weeks I have a app and check up and booking in couple of weeks so will get the date then.:yelclap:
Gee it's really quite in here everyone's DH/DP must all be home apart from mine:rolleyes:
Hope everyone is good and bubs are all being:angel:
proudmama
30-05-2008, 00:28
this flu thing must be sweeping the country - everyone, family and friends, that i talk to is either just got it, fighting it or just getting over it - i think me and michael just keep passing it to each other - we can't seem to shake it - and i was just talking to dh and now he has it - fun for us when he get home again lol
jessiika and kewlchicmum - you must be getting excited about the pending arrivals - hope all goes well for you - jessiika dh and i went to the movies alot leading up to michael arriving and ate out alot knowing it would be months and months before we'd be able to do it again - i think we stand at about 10.5 months (michaels age almost to the day) since we've done something like that - it also doesn't help we don't have family here to take him for an hour or two so we can go out - but we have lots of family time which in many ways is a million times better
Kazamataz - the house buying has stalled coz dh is away this week so not much can be done which is frustrating coz we found a place we love but havn't been able to make an offer :hair: - this working away thing is really going to drag out this whole process
well ladies i'm off to rest - notice i didn't say sleep lol - i'd bet a million buck michaels about to wake up - poor kid can't breathe atm so nights are horrid - i'm off to visit friends out-of-town this weekend so i wish you all a happy and HEALTHY weekend and i'll catch up next week
jessiika
31-05-2008, 01:52
jessiika dh and i went to the movies alot leading up to michael arriving and ate out alot knowing it would be months and months before we'd be able to do it again - i think we stand at about 10.5 months (michaels age almost to the day) since we've done something like that - it also doesn't help we don't have family here to take him for an hour or two so we can go out - but we have lots of family time which in many ways is a million times better
hey proud mama :wave:
:iagree::iagree::iagree:
all our family and friends are in nsw and we have nobody to look after bubs either but there is so many other things you can do 2 keep the intamacey alive! and i agree as much as a romantic dinner is wonderful,i would stil rather an inexpensive surprise like a bubble bath whilst children are in bed over a expensive dinner any day!:yes:
and family time will be cherished as jason is away so much!:yes:
:wave: Just popping in to say hi. Haven't been on much whilst Dh is on holidays. If he's not hogging the computer of an evening it's because I've talked him into doing something together with me.
Sorry to here about all the bad colds. I hope everyone's on the mend.
Good luck to all with DH's looking for new jobs.
:fingerscrossed: Here's hoping we all win a share in lotto. We can meet up at some luxury spa resort with impecable day care included. What a dream!
Cheers!
Kazamataz
01-06-2008, 09:31
Hey I did a bit more research, The school has 175 students so thats a fair amount of kids and I would imagine some of those families would have littles.
I checked out those facebook groups too :thumbsup:
My only "worry" now is where will I get my eyebrows waxed? :laughing:
berniebabe
01-06-2008, 10:54
Hey I did a bit more research, The school has 175 students so thats a fair amount of kids and I would imagine some of those families would have littles.
I checked out those facebook groups too :thumbsup:
My only "worry" now is where will I get my eyebrows waxed? :laughing:
There issupose to be a beautician there:yes:
Kazamataz
01-06-2008, 13:03
There is supose to be a beautician there:yes:
:laughing: I was kinda joking but good to know there is one.
Jesse is putting our names on the waiting list and so we'll have to wait and see.
:fingerscrossed: This FIFO thing with a baby isn't going too well.
I could handle it before Asher was born, but now just so much harder.
Kazamataz
01-06-2008, 13:05
Kazamataz - the house buying has stalled coz dh is away this week so not much can be done which is frustrating coz we found a place we love but havn't been able to make an offer :hair: - this working away thing is really going to drag out this whole process
Thats awesome that you found a place :yelclap:
I hope when DH is home you'll get lots done :thumbsup:
Kazamataz
01-06-2008, 13:09
:wave: Just popping in to say hi. Haven't been on much whilst Dh is on holidays. If he's not hogging the computer of an evening it's because I've talked him into doing something together with me.
Sorry to here about all the bad colds. I hope everyone's on the mend.
Good luck to all with DH's looking for new jobs.
:fingerscrossed: Here's hoping we all win a share in lotto. We can meet up at some luxury spa resort with impecable day care included. What a dream!
Cheers!
:wave: How you going? Did you win the lotto? :laughing:
kewlchicmum
02-06-2008, 09:43
Heya all:wave: hope everyone that has had the flu are all over it or almost out of the woods not much fun being sick and having to look after little one all by ourselfs.:no:
US Well not much happening really its long weekend and all my friends are with DH/DP and families so we are just going to have a quite one. Do you find that weekends all your friends are with there families and it's the quitest for you??? Or am I alone on this one :rolleyes:
:bfp: Is going well getting bigger and bigger can't see my feet so have to wait till DH gets home to do my toenails he will have a fit :laughing:
Had a very silly dream last night that Jaws was after me but he never got me just everyone else and he has a very clever sharky told DH and he just cracked up lol I know it really is quite silly now but last night every time I woke up and went back into the dream it was another story:eek:
berniebabe
02-06-2008, 10:35
kewlchicmum - Arrr I hated the preggo dreams.. I had the alot with DD. The last one I had with her was - Someone said to me I had one day before my baby was coming, and I did. one day later she came..... So hopefully you are not planning a trip to Aqua anytime soon:p
DF has gone fishing today so we are supose to be cleaning the house, although I can't seem to drag myself away from the computer:shame:
LOL Bernie...I have a sink full of dishes that I SHOULD do...feeling a bit queasy atm though.
Plus Owen won't sleep.
All I have done today is washed and hung out some nappies lol.
kewlchicmum
02-06-2008, 16:18
StarletJ:wave: heya just had a look at your profile pic and gee you are really beautiful.
Berniebabe:yelclap:heya ya silly dreams I know just want soooooommmmeee sleep cause I know once bub is here that will be not happening much esp with a toddler as well so I have been told:rolleyes:
StarletJ:wave: heya just had a look at your profile pic and gee you are really beautiful.
Aww thank you, amazing what make up can do ;) LOL. I feel gross at the moment, I don't glow when I'm pregnant, I break out like a 15 year old with bad acne!
I can't believe that you guys are going to Leinster! Matt is keeping an eye open on jobs there, but if we do go, it won't be til next year, after we have this baby.
At least he'll get to still see you guys Bernie, because he drives down once every swing :(
berniebabe
02-06-2008, 17:58
OK I had an idea...... how about we all move to Leinster:p:laughing:
Hi girls :wave:, i thought i might come and join this thread if thats ok. My DH works away doing two weeks on and one week off. We have been ttc for almost 12 cycles now and its getting me down a bit. We have a FS appointment on the 17th of this month so hopefully will get some answers and our :bfp:very soon.
Anyway it will be good to chat with some people who are in the same situation as me.
Nat :o
Hi and welcome Nat :)
I hope you get the BFP soon! I suppose it doesn't make it easy to TTC when hubby is working away.
***Sending you lots of baby dust***
kewlchicmum
02-06-2008, 18:33
Nat76 Sending :babydust2:you:babydust2: lots and lots:babydust2: your way:babydust2: :wave: your more then welcome darls my DH does 2 and 2 which is pretty good but this time he is doing 3 and 1 which we are into our 2nd week and I am not so sure about another week cause I am just getting soooooooooooooo huge now lol
02-06-2008, 18:35
Hi Fellow single-like Mums :wave:
Just popping in to say a quick hi there and hello. I'm due late November - hubby is navy and we have a 1yr old lil man.
I'm just wondering - how do you handle being sick while they're away? Today I've been chucking my guts up all day and of course Jedd insists on accompanying me and playing with the toilet paper roll and the toilet brush whilst I'm hurling into the toilet. Not fun. How do you handle it???
Sorry to start off on such a yucky note lol
A playpen maybe(a wooden one with some toys in it)?
Owen is crawling about everywhere so he likes to follow me. But I'm lucky enough to have the older two around first thing in the morning and they will keep him entertained!
Thanks for your warm welcomes ladies :). It does make it harder to get pregnant with DH working away, but we have been lucky so far. He only started about 3 months ago and so far has been able to swap with another guy on two occasions to be home in the right week. :fingerscrossed: it will happen soon !
Kazamataz
02-06-2008, 21:11
Hey guys I just wanted to pop in and say thank-you to all the lovely ladies that sent me messages and called me today.
I'm feeling a little better, haven't been sick for a couple of hours.
Jesse just arrived home, so now I can finally relax and get well.
I don't know what I would have done without you :thumbsup:
It really helped me get through the day :yes:
kewlchicmum
02-06-2008, 22:09
Kazamataz :hugs: Oh darls I didn't know you were sick sorry to hear that I hope your feeling better or at least starting to. :hugs: glad to hear that Jesse is home and can look after you.:sleeping:
berniebabe
03-06-2008, 08:51
Glad to hear you are better Kara. I'm jelous though DF just left this morn:crying:
On a better note, I have found someone to chat with in Leinster:D
berniebabe
03-06-2008, 08:53
Thanks for your warm welcomes ladies :). It does make it harder to get pregnant with DH working away, but we have been lucky so far. He only started about 3 months ago and so far has been able to swap with another guy on two occasions to be home in the right week. :fingerscrossed: it will happen soon !
Is there ever a right week??? DF flew out to work and my DS was born the next morning. We had it all planned too:rolleyes:
Hi there one and all. Howdy to everyone I've not yet said hello to over the last couple of days.
It must be the season for illnesses. We've all had stomach flu at my place and all I can say is Thank Goodness! dh was home when it happened. I don't think I could have cleaned up after the kids and myself without his help.
MilkonTap- I'd suggest an icecream container with a few toys in it be left near the bathroom for your littlely to play with whilst your hurling. If you change the toys everyday to ones they haven't seen in a while then it keeps their attention. Even if only for a little while. My bedside drawer is near my ensuite so I have the bottom drawer full of toys for Bekah to play with whilst I'm indesposed in the next room. She just loves opening and closing the drawer herself.
Just spent half an hour washing the windows for year 1 and 2 at Ami's school. Would you believe someone drew penis' all over them with a glue stick! How mature. The funniest thing was when Ami's very sweet, 1st year out of college, teacher came along to see what we were doing and said "Oh, I saw something up there but I didn't know what it was". lol.
Well that was my fun morning. DH is in bed, recovering from a weekend of helping to nurse the family back to health. I might wait for Bekah to wake up then watch In The Night Garden together. I think they're riding in the pinky ponk today. Yippee!
Bye.
millymoo
03-06-2008, 11:29
:)Kara so glad you are better as it must have been so hard alone.
Sorry been MIA but felt a fraud as DH unexpectedly cmae home for 2 days which turned into 2 weeks.
Back to singledom now though and not really enjoying it:(
Kazamataz
03-06-2008, 14:41
Kazamataz Oh darls I didn't know you were sick sorry to hear that I hope your feeling better or at least starting to. glad to hear that Jesse is home and can look after you.
Thank-you for the hugs I'm feeling a little better we just went to morley to grab a few things and get my eyebrows waxed and now I'm wiped out again.
On a better note, I have found someone to chat with in Leinster
:fingerscrossed: we don't have to wait too long for a house. Apparently there is a playgroup so that will be good. I want to make sure Asher has other little friends to play with.
Just spent half an hour washing the windows for year 1 and 2 at Ami's school. Would you believe someone drew penis' all over them with a glue stick! How mature. The funniest thing was when Ami's very sweet, 1st year out of college, teacher came along to see what we were doing and said "Oh, I saw something up there but I didn't know what it was". lol.
Kara so glad you are better as it must have been so hard alone.
Sorry been MIA but felt a fraud as DH unexpectedly cmae home for 2 days which turned into 2 weeks.
Back to singledom now though and not really enjoying it
Thank-you, I was getting so worried esp since I was getting so faint. I'm prone to fainting and was scared it would happen and know one would know.
:smiliedance: WooHoo to having your DH home for two whole weeks!
Its hard to adjust when they go back after being home for a while. Esp if you didn't plan for him to be home that long.
Welcome to Nat76 :wave:
Well ladies I'm off I need to go have a lie down.
Hope everyone is having a totally tops day :thumbsup:
jessiika
03-06-2008, 20:05
hi ladies!:wave:
hop ur well now kara!:)
welcome NAT76!:shakehands:
hop every body had a good weekend,it was rainy here so didnt get up 2 much but dp flys bak 2morrow so im very excited:D and im now at ease that i can go in2 labour and he will be here!
any way just popped in2 say a quick hello and cathup on the gossip!
kewlchicmum
03-06-2008, 22:56
Heya :wave: all you kewl Mummies :thumbsup: hope everyone is going ok I have Mum coming and staying to the night mora night so that should be nice. I hope :laughing: lol
Us Not much to say really did not have a very good sleep last night Lachlan was up down up down and I just not sleeping that good of late to hard to get comfortable :crying:
TeamAwesome
04-06-2008, 00:26
Hello Ladies, I usually read but haven't found the time to post the last few days in here, I ge side tracked lol.
kewlchicmum- didn't want to take over the other thread so in repsonse to what you said to me in there. Haha, no we only moved with the older two (well the last two moves bub was in my tum though) so not that fantastic but moves cross country are hard with any little ones. However it has made DH now understand my loathing of moving, packing in particular due to all my previous moves (we married when I was 20yo and I had moved 23 times that I could remember and not inc temp accom in between houses) so I'd love some stability and we want to buy our own house and be in it by Christmas. Oh and I should hopefully be able to get someone to come in and pack for us this time too as he now loathes the task also.
Kazamatz- I hope you're feeling better now. The only thing I don't like about DH working away is knowing I'll have to do m/s on my own or in my case usually all day sickness. Since recently being sick I now love Zofran it's a magic drug (though a little pricey but great when you're on your own and horribly sick)
oh gee I've been online much longer than I expected so off to be for me hopefully the kids will stay in bed until 7 or later. as any less and I'll really have to force myself up and I jsut want to sleep all day.
Hope you're all tucked up in bed girls!
Natalie
Kazamataz
04-06-2008, 12:49
Kazamatz- I hope you're feeling better now. The only thing I don't like about DH working away is knowing I'll have to do m/s on my own or in my case usually all day sickness. Since recently being sick I now love Zofran it's a magic drug (though a little pricey but great when you're on your own and horribly sick)
Thank-you I'm feeling a lot better.
The thing that stressed me out the most is I'm prone to fainting when I get really unwell and I could tell this was one of those times.
Luckily I didn't faint and between all the girls in here and few of my neighbours it worked out someone checked on me every hour.
Until Jesse arrived home and once he got home I feel into bed and didn't wake until the morning.
I think after the night of :barf: thats just what I needed a great big sleep.
Well I'm :ecomcity::ecomcity::ecomcity: on here hope your having a great day.
TeamAwesome
04-06-2008, 14:00
Hi Ladies,:wave:
I think DD1 has an ear infection, after being really wingy, whining and then balling her eyes out in short period of time, she told me DS had hurt her ear and he was nowhere near her (and hadn't for about 10-15mins:laughing:) so we have an appointment at 3.50pm.
I can tell you I'm so over kids being sick and having to go to the Dr, of course this is the only for DD to perk up as not 10mins after I rang them she was fine running around and playing happily :rolleyes:but I know if I don't go then I'll be paying for it tonight. and to need to take her to the A&E cos that'd just be a big fat lot of fun in the middle of the night that I'd much prefer to avoid.
Kaz-Glad to hear you're feeling better and being looked after that way then. When I've gotten that bad it's usually related to my iron (got as low as 9), my BP (usually lowish side) or lack of food type thing (which with m/s and vomiting is of course related to gettting dehydrated and not getting enough electrolytes back in fast enough) oh and apparently when my thyroid so generously went over active on me for a bit that can also be symptom.
I've had a number of fainting spells over the years (starting around age 8 when I was in school choir very public fall flat on my face and have had some close calls since then)and now can recognise my signs too so I know what you mean when you say about being a bit prone.
You probably already have but have you had your iron and BP checked recently?
Well I should get ready to go to our appointment ILs are watching DS and DD2 while I take DD1 to the GP and DS needs his spare clothes stocked up yet again and I only just added stuff to it again this morning:geek:
Hope you're having a good day girls.
NAtalie
Kazamataz
04-06-2008, 17:00
You probably already have but have you had your iron and BP checked recently?
Had my BP done this morning and all is good, although I've already forgotten the number :laughing:
I just know she said it was normal for me which means it's all good.
I think it's iron, years of being on and off veggo have taught me to recognize when my iron is low not to mention I've been a bit naughty and haven't taken my supplements lately.
Sorry to hear about DD1's ear infection, I still get ear infections and I hate them!
I hope my kids don't have as many problems as I've had.
I actually think the last one did alot of damage to my ear. I'm going to need to get it checked out.
Thanks for reminding :laughing:
Well Just popped in to waste sometime, Asher is having a nap. Jesse went to rent more videos even tho tonight is good TV night.
And I'm procrastinating because I don't want to do house work. :laughing:
Hope everyone else is having a good day :thumbsup:
Kazamataz
04-06-2008, 17:03
I've had a number of fainting spells over the years (starting around age 8 when I was in school choir very public fall flat on my face and have had some close calls since then)
Oh dear :o
I'm lucky haven't fainted in a too public a place.
Mostly because those who are close to me know my signs too and they at the very least get me to sit before I faint.
TeamAwesome
04-06-2008, 18:50
Well DD1 definitely has an ear infection we've caught it right at the start so hopefully that should nip it in the bud.(DS had almost 10 weeks of it at the same age.) She seems to have perked up a bit which is good.
Kaz - Ah yes the good old lack of iron. definitely get onto your supplements then. and if still not improving then I'd see about getting an iron booster shot as we can't have you flat on your back on your own with a littlie. Lets ust say my other close calls were mostly whilst working and spending too long on my feet without eating and low iron, not a good combo.
anyway I should be getting myself ready for an earlyish night just have to put the bins out first.
Hope you're all having a good week girls
Natalie
Hey Natalie, Hope DD1 is feeling better soon :hugs: and that you don't have too rough a night with it.
kewlchicmum
05-06-2008, 23:38
Jessiika Wow you are like really really close now I am glad that DH is there so if things do start moving he will be right by your side. :smiliedance: I am a little worried my DH will not be home for 6 weeks till I am 37 weeks I hope I don't start early better not any ways as I am having a c-section. :eek: Keep us all informed darls.
SpaghettiMummy You are still like supermummy in my books darls that's a hell of a lot of moves even with just 1 bub. :thumbsup: My hat is off to you. Glad you caught ear infection in time and it can get better real quick they are no fun at all.
Kazamataz Glad your better darls nothing worse then being :barf:
Us Well had mum stay last night it was good having some adult :ecomcity:convo esp at night. I guess that is what I miss the most and I get lonely once Lachlan has gone to bed. She cooked up a storm while she was here I got spoilt :smiliedance:
jessiika
06-06-2008, 13:11
goodmorning ladies :wave:
how are we all?anybody doing anything exciting this weekend?
well now that dp is finaly home we are going 2 go out for dinner on sat which will prob be the last time for awhile once bub comes! last night we went 2 the movies and watched indianna jones and then i draged him in2 sex and the city lol he was the only male in the cinema lol:D im glad i got 2 it b4 mia marshmella came as that will probally b another thing we wont be doing 4 awhile!
kewlchicmum- thanks,well i am due in 12days and still no signs of baby arriving :no: i hope she doesnt get 2 comfy in there cause im over it and dont think i could handle much more then a fortnight lol!
spaggettimum- hope your dd is feeling better ive had ear infections as an adult n i was in the worst pain i have ever felt lol but im a sook, so i kno how the poor thing must feel give her big:hugs:from me!
kazamataz-glad 2 hear ur better:)
kewlchicmum
07-06-2008, 11:38
Jessiika How you doing darls hanging in there :hugs:
Does any one else find the weekends really hard with all your friends family having over halfs home and busy doing stuff with them or is it just me :rolleyes:
Us Well I think we might go shopping today just to get us out of the house and some thing different ya right.:yes::no::)
Hi all. I've been awol as it was my birthday and for the first time in several years DH was actually home for it. I've had a fun couple of days.
Today was kinda fullon. Had a reading done (psychic reading that is, with a bit of life coaching thrown in) and it bought up lots of stuff that i need to work on so now my head is spinning.
I'm getting motivated to start teaching some art classes but I need a suitable studio space I can rent once a week. If any of the Perth ladies have any ideas please pm me and let me know. Ideally I need it to have an area where we can do splatter painting without stressing over any mess getting on the floor.
Hope the sun is shining on you all. Even if only metephorically.
Love and cuddles, Jen.
millymoo
10-06-2008, 07:53
:wave:Everyone, hope you all had a good weekend and Happy Birthday Jen.
We have a busy week here with DD2 in Starstruck and mornings out with Amelia. Just chilling today after a weekend in the Blue mts.
Gets harder saying goodbye each time, even DH looked close to tears yesterday...more for his time with out Amelia I think. He is finding it hard without her:(
Kazamataz
10-06-2008, 11:19
happybirthday JENhappybirthday
sounds like you had a blast :smiliedance:
Good morning to everyone else, haven't been in here for a while.
I kinda got caught up reading some very long but interesting threads :laughing:
Jesse flew out this morning so the house seems a little empty.
Asher is pushing the boundaries a bit.
He's started a really rough stage yesterday we went to the neighbours house as their little boy was turning 2 and Asher was a little bully!
pulled his hair, pushed him over and yelled NO NO NO at him.
I was so :o in the end we left and Asher chucked a tantrum, but I don't know what to do?
Any ideas? he's only 13 months old!
blissfullybonkers
10-06-2008, 12:34
Im back DF is off for another month...poo!! Lucky i have my dad staying for a while, i mean i like to have my own space/peace etc but its just nice to know someone is there ifykwim,
and holy moley Kaz, Asher sounds like my DD!!! they could be twins:laughing: i dont know what to do with her sometimes....:dizzy:
kewlchicmum
10-06-2008, 16:24
Myliam :flowerz: Happy Birthday:flowerz: for the other day I hope you had a great day it makes it even more special when DH's can be home for it. In saying that my DH will be away for mine in a couple of weeks. :crying:
Was your reading good and were did you go? Art class what sorta art class darls. Sorry about all the questions.
Millymoo It is hard seeing them go and I think gee it's really hard for me but it must be even harder for them having to be the ones that have to leave there DW and bubs and home. :hugs: to you.
Kazamataz Heya darls don't worry your not alone I think it's the the welcome to the "2"'s Lachlan is doing the same I tell him off and he does it right back at me and I have noticed that he is doing it to visitors and there bubs as well. Mmmmmm :doh: I think it's started. I just try at times to not look or make sure that he knows I am not watching to see what I will do cause some times if I tell him off or yell he goes off. I think he is testing the waters.
Bessieboo Well at least you will have adult convo at night times that's when I find it really hard once Lachlan has gone to bed and I am up all alone in front of the telly. :eek:
Us Well I am feeling better which is good but just taking it easy getting really short of breath bub is up under my rib cage with his legs most of the time and it times a long time to get him outa there. How did everyone go with the storm on Monday?
jessiika
11-06-2008, 01:41
:party::flowerz::smiliedance:happy birthday jen happybirthday
kazamataz- it could b that he frustrated cause he still developing social & emotional skills and he doeant hav a big enough vocab 2 express how he feels or what he may want eg-toy and its alot easyer 2 pull or pinch n smack or bite 2 get wat u want rather then askin lol its totally nomal behaviour so dont feel embarrased ive worked in childcare 4 3yrs in toddlers room (18months-3yrs)n hav seen alot lol hang in there it only the start lol sorry 2 scare u
big hugs 4 all da mummys who partners are workin:hugs:
kewlchicmum
11-06-2008, 11:42
Morning :wave: all how is everyone going? Hope everyone is all good and feeling great.
Jessiika How you feelings darls gee not long how :smiliedance: I wish it was not long for me I am over it I feel as big as a house can't see my toes and can't even put nail polish on :doh: well at least your DH is home with you.
Us Well DH is still away so how I know how all the 3 and 1 ladies feel like he should of been home yesterday but is doing a extra week doing his bosses job. :crying: and just a couple of extra days I am not liking maybe it's just the :bfp: ya that is what I will put it down to :devil6:
Gee it's quite in here all DH/DP must be home.
millymoo
11-06-2008, 12:07
:wave: Just back from playgroup and shopping , so will catch up quickly while Amelia sleeps.
Kaz I have a bone to pick with you:laughing: I can`t sit on the loo long without thinking of that possum!!:eek: Snakes were bad enough, remember I`m new here! How is Asher today. Milly has tantrums too and I just walk away but it`s tough when you`re on ya own:hugs:
Bessie Hi...wow one month is a long time for DF to be away. I feel my moaning is pretty pathetic now. Hope to be able to keep you company on here.
Kewlchic and Jessika neither of you have long to go now. How does the planning go to have partners home and are they far if things happen early?
Well it is quiet on here so maybe lots of DH/DF`s home:valentine:
I will see mine Friday:D
jessiika
11-06-2008, 12:59
kewlchicmum- not long now hun and it will b all worth it soon,and its a good excuse 2 get some pamperin ang get a pedicure lol:)
millymoo-yea dp flew bak last wed so i havent been on here much he has 6wks off so thats good as long as theres no complications cause if i need a cs i dont kno hw im goin 2 drive and do stuff but we will hurtle that if it happens i suppose:fingerscrossed:
us- well i hav 7days left yip pee!:smiliedance:
ive had a virus:barf: last few days have been in hosp on a drip im better now though it was horrible thought i was goin 2 die n now dp has got it so im now lookin after him as he was so good 2 me
we had plans 2 go watch hulk and sex and city movie 2mora nyt but i guess that wil b on hold lol:yes: hope every body else is fine and dandy!
kewlchicmum
11-06-2008, 13:00
Millymoo Heya darls :wave: my DH is at the top of Aus so long long way away :rolleyes: he works for Argyle diamonds in the Kimberley so if things start to happen before C/S I am up you know were and my parents have moved down south so they are like 4 hour drive away and my DH Mum lives 7 hour drive away so it would not be good:crying: I go see the Dr on Friday and they will make app for my C/S so :fingerscrossed: it will be around 38-39 weeks as I don't feel there is much room left inside me :doh: DH is home on Friday 2 for a week then back for 2 then home for 6 but it's leaving it very close.....mmmmm
kewlchicmum
11-06-2008, 13:03
Gee I am that bored I am working on my profile page how sad is that Lachlan is having well trying to have a nap :fingerscrossed:
millymoo
11-06-2008, 13:12
I am sure all will be fine and hope I haven`t made you worry more. Good to have a C/s and a date in these circumstances. DH didn`t work away when I was preg but I was still freakning out in the last month every time he went out:laughing:! I can be a bit of a drama queen!
I spent ages on my zoints profile when I joined...it is so out of date now, should update it!
I shall pop in and see yours!:D
kewlchicmum
11-06-2008, 13:57
Millymoo :laughing: It's k I have been thinking about that any ways :rolleyes: ya go and check mine out I have pic's all over the place will have to sort it out once bub number 2 arrives and put some up of him.....:eek:
millymoo
11-06-2008, 16:37
Lovely photos!! Hopefully you can all get in mine now,I had made it private:p but I do need to update as Milly is now 20 mths!! I used to love putting things on there so not sure why I stopped:confused: Must take some time to update soon.
Well fussy knickers is having noodles, with corn and peas mixed in and so far just picking out all the corn:laughing::hair:
Hey Everyone.
Hope your all having a happy day.
Kewl - Hope the littley is letting you get a breathe today. The reading went well. I have a friend who gives readings up in Mundaring. Also another who does them around Scarborough way. I can PM details if your interested. The art classes I'm planning is a 6 week workshop, One 2 hour class per week called "Lighten Up". Essentially it's kids art classes for Grown Ups. A chance to regain your childish joy in the simple things. Also a great class for people who dont feel they know how to be creative but really want to try.
I'm doing this from the local library today as my DH is still home on holidays and I really felt like some time out to myself. Guess I should get on with the study I'm suppossed to be doing here today.
Bye for now, Jen.
maiestro
12-06-2008, 19:22
Thought I'd come in and introduce myself, I'm a mum to two kids, Zoe who is 28 months old and Ryder who is 10 weeks. DH just started FIFO again in NT and is doing 3/1 rosters. He did this last year for about six months and it worked really well, but now with two kids I'm a bit worried! things have been going okay so far, we are sort of getting into a night time routine but god it's busy! Besides that it's okay, busy keeping the 2 year old happy and trying to avoid tantrums whilst toilet training and Ryder just cruises along with whatever we are doing!
Anyway, thats me, and I am so happy there is lots of us out here to chat to and share with.
millymoo
12-06-2008, 20:34
:) nice to meet you...I am Helen and my DH is away for at least 3 mths but we do get together at weekends. I have a 17 yr old in the UK (since Jan) studying and living with her dad and a 14 yr old here. Also Amelia who is an "into everything" 20 mth old.
It`s a lovely group of ladies here:D
kewlchicmum
12-06-2008, 23:06
Millymoo What cute pic's your face is really nice darls
Myliam Had to work last night only for 6 half hours but standing on my feet for that long gee I was pooped sore back and feet when i got home been resting up today. Ya if you could pm me the details that would be great darls I always like going and seeing them and seeing how good they are. :doh: Hey your art class sounds really good to I would love to me creative but don't think that I have a creative bone in my body. :laughing:
Maiestro Heya darls :wave: welcome welcome welcome well my DH does 2 and 2 but is just doing a 3 and 1 this time he is due home mora :smiliedance: I am 33 weeks :bfp: and we have a DS who is now 18 months and I am wondering how it is going to be like for me having 2 and close age gap thingie..........I will prob be like this soon :hair:
They are a really nice bunch of gals on here.
Millymoo Wow I did not even know that about you. Wow you don't look old enough to have a what 17 year old.
Us Well didn't really do much went to friends house and we had lunch for one of my friends as it's her birthday mora all the bubs played really good apart from my lill gardener he wanted to climb into the garden every five mins and eat the plants what the lol. I have dr app mora morning to I hope I will get my date for C/S so I can start planning who is to have Lachlan and so on.
jessiika
13-06-2008, 00:11
hi ladies :wave:
how is every1 this evening?
hop ur all not missing ur dp 2 much!and kids arent driving u crazy lol:hair:
maiestro- welcome, all the girls are really friendly on here and love 2 chat!
im jess and im pregnant:bfp: with my first due on wed,lil girl were calling mia:bee: not long now thank god! my dp works 4wks on 1off
kewl- goodluck with your doctors app:fingerscrossed:
us- dp is better 2day so looks like 2mora we can go c hulk movie and do some shopping as i stil hav a few lst min things i need 2 get b4 bubs arrives...actually u girls may b able 2 help...does ne1 kno where i can get lanolin cream for my nipples jus incase they become sore or cracked i would lik 2 hav some on standby or any good cream for breast that is safe for bubs?
neways guys im off 2 catch som zzzzzz:sleeping: nyt all x
kewlchicmum
13-06-2008, 15:44
Jessiika Heya :wave: darls how are you going getting excited yet? Umm you can get that cream from any good chemist I didn't get any creams like that as I didn't have any probs but it's a good idea to have some on hand just in case. Hope you and your DP are enjoying your time together just the two of you cause you are not going to be two for that much longer :smiliedance: I love the name Mia it's so nice was on my list but having another boy which I am thrilled about esp since they will be so close together so I think another boy is just great and what we both wanted :D
Gee it's really quite in here all the DH/DP must be home :valentine: and :hugs: to all who's DH/DP are not home yet.
(mine is flying in this arvo at 5ish bit late but better late then not at all)
Us Well had my app with the dr this morning all is looking good and going well they have booked me into see the Antenatal clinic on the 15th so will be going though stuff with me then which is good as I have a few questions about the C/S I know I had one 1st time round but that was a emergency C/S and went to quick this time it's more planned and I just wanta know what the plan is :laughing:
berniebabe
13-06-2008, 17:40
Hey all hope you are all well. So not long now before the big move. DF finishes at Mt Keith on Monday. He will do FIFO at Leinster for a few swings then off we go YAY.
Jess I was just looking at your due date and thats my DF's bday :) So maybe I will get to have 2 drinks. Pretty big week next week for us. MIL is flying down from Cairns for the wedding *just breathe it will be fine, its only a week* Partying for DF's bday and wedding stuff.
Any who better get some dinner happening
Kazamataz
13-06-2008, 18:29
hello to everyone I haven't been in here for ages and looks like I missed a bit.
My week has been a mess (putting it nicely)
I haven't had a phone or internet for three days because Optus was all like "you haven't paid your bill we are cutting you off." and I was all like "I have paid it!"
It took three days to sort the mess out and in the end they were like "oh sorry our mistake have a nice day!"
And then on Wednesday I'm happily driving to work and I get half way and my temp gauge goes from low to extreme high and steam starts coming out of my bonnet.
I pulled over to find that nowhere in Joondanna has pay phones :hair: thankfully a corner store let me use their phone to call the RAC but for some reason I didn't have works number in my phone (and the store didn't have a phone book.)
So the RAC man comes and He puts some magic liquid in my car saying drive home and then don't go anywhere unless it's to a mechanic.
By this point I'm an hour late for work and no one has bothered to call me to find out where I am. I don't know what they were thinking???
Then I walked up the street to the pay phone only to find it out of order :hissy:
So I cracked it right there in the middle of the street I chucked a bigger tantrum than a two year old full of sugar!
Asher thought I was a freak when I finished he just looked at me and with a rather puzzled look on his face and simply said "Mama?"
I had to crack up laughing :laughing: the week could have been something out of a movie.
So I went home asked a neighbour if i could use their phone and called my boss.
I was like my car is cr@p it makes my too unreliable and it's 2 hours on the bus because I have to go the long way round. So I'm going to have to quit.
My boss was just like ok no worries I know someone else who can do the job.
And that made me want to scream, I only took this job because she rang me begging for me to work for her and now she tells me she has someone else who can do it :crying:
So now I've got that off my chest....
Bernie: We'll have to do a meet before you leave! and hope all is going great guns for the wedding.
Helen: I know how awful was that story, at night I can't go to the loo without thinking of the possum or the rat.
Jessiika: Thanks for the advice, I know what your saying but I guess I was just surprised it was starting already! where has my baby gone?
How is things with your bubba? not long now....
Maiestro: Hello and welcome your going to love it in here lots and lots of support.
Jen and Kewlchicmum: I have nothing to say so just sending you some love :hugs:
Hope everyone is having a better week than me :laughing:
jessiika
13-06-2008, 18:50
good evening gurlies!!!:wave:
how was every1s day? dp and i did a bit of shopping 2 day and had a nice lunch jus the 2 of us but now my back is sooooo saw from the busy day so jus a quick catch up b4 i cook dinner n ly dwn!
kewl- very excited! but upsetting not knowing when she comin and wanting her 2 sooo badly its getting disapointing lol oh well i kno at the latest it will b the 28th if they hav 2 induce me so i thats somthing 2 look forward 2 knowin she will deffinatley b here by then lol
its been great spending time wit dp
kazama- sounds lik u had a terrible week darl!
im ****ed with my ph company atm 2 but im with 3 n im sick off talkin 2 indians not 2 be racist but seriously i jus wanna talk 2 som1 who can help n theres no launguage barrier! grrrrr!
well hop every1 has a fantastic wke stay safe and if i dont go in2 labour overnight ill pop in ova the wke lol
maiestro
13-06-2008, 20:37
Thanks for the welcome!
I've had a really crappy day, had something like a migraine all afternoon, and to top off the day my 10 week old has just gone to bed with the 2yo still sitting up with me - so much for going to bed early tonight...
Kara - I shouldn't complain about my day after the week you've had, what are you going to do about your car?
Berniebabe - where are you moving to? No good about the MIL, I certainly couldn't handle it!
kewlchicmum - have fun with DP home! I'm glad I'm not the only one doing this with a young bub, five nights in and it's not easy so far, but I guess like everything it will get easier with time.
Jess - what was the hulk movie like? Lanolin is just from the chemist, it's safe for bubs too!
kewlchicmum
15-06-2008, 12:22
Heya all :wave: just popping to into say hello :hugs: to all who's DH /DP are still away I am off to do some :chef:
jessiika
15-06-2008, 14:12
helloooo all :wave:
just popped in 2 say hi and see how everbody is...well its very quiet in here so dp/dh must all be home :valentine:
hope your all having a fantastic weekend!
:detective: jess x
dandemumto2
15-06-2008, 20:19
:) We live in Melbourne and my husband works up in the in the Pilbara, 2/1. We have 2 kids that I am at home with. Lucky his work pays for him to come home to Melbourne, but we might move to Perth in the next year because we both think it's a great relaxing lifestyle, not to mention fantastic weather.
Sometimes I do find it hard being alone with the girls, but 2 weeks go pretty quick and the good thing about him being away is when he's home he's just so relaxed and happy.
I also happen to think that it's great for a healthy relationship, not being in each others space all the time. We love missing each other.
Nice to have finally found a site with topics I can relate to.
Cheers and happy parenting everyone!
berniebabe
16-06-2008, 09:08
Hey all, how are we this lovely wet morning - I though I'd pop in and say hi as I'm not sure when I will get another look in this week.
MIL gets here in afew hours and I should be realy cleaning the house, and taking my Wedding dress in for a final alteration then shopping :o Wow this week is going to be busy.
Maiestro - We will be going to Leinster. DF starts there on the 24th June now. Yay I cant wait till we go. Better start packing too.
Jessiika - Hope you have a speedy and pain free delivery. If you do have your bubs on the 18th that will be two cool peoples bday :) (my DF's Bday)
kazamataz - We will definately catch up before we go. After all this fussing for the week I PM you and perhaps we could meet up for a cuppa and let the kiddies have a play.
Any who better run now. Hugs foe you all
Oh yeah My DF comes home on Tuesday:D:smiliedance:
cheezelz
17-06-2008, 04:15
:wave: Hi ladies. Im new to this thread but have been on the site for just over a year now. Ive been wanting to come on here and chat since my DH went on his first stint in Roxby 4 weeks ago. He has just spent a week at home and literally just walked out the door and hopped into a taxi to go back for his 2nd stint. This one will be 5 weeks instead of 3 tho. We live in Adelaide & have a 16month old DD and I am 32wk pregnannt with another DD. Im being induced at 38-39wk so we are timing DH return for that.
At the moment Im pretty upset. Dunno if its the pregnancy hormones or just him going that has bought the tears on. Every other time he has gone away for work I have been able to go with him but this time its impossible with him living on the camp. Its also too expensive to move to Roxby if we planned on doing and saving of his waged. None of my friends really understand what its like to have an empty home at night besides the baby. I didnt realise how lonely I'd get.
Does anyone have any experience on how my DD is going to react to waking and not having him here after a full week of daddy overload? He video calls every night so she can see him. How do I make a 16month old understand that he's not hiding? I try and do something with her everyday whether it be kindergym or playgroup but at home it gets so boring. We dont speak to his parents and mine live in Canada so we have no support there either.
:ecomcity: Here I am babbling on. I'd better go to bed before the queen wakes.
Any advice is greatly appreciated.
jessiika
17-06-2008, 09:49
goodmorning ladies:wave:
im up early this morn as dp is hogging the doona so i thought ild come in and say hi!
big wecome 2 all the cool new people...:shakehands:
dandemumto2 & cheezels
us-well im now 39+6 yesty i had my antenatal app and my middie gave me stretch and sweep and unfortunatley my cervix was tight and hadnt begun 2 open :no: but....
a few hours later i had a light show and later on in the evening began having a few mild tightenings in my lower abdomen but were very irregular:yelclap:
i wake this morn 2 find they have vanished:confused:
so fingers crossed they come bak as i was so excited n now am feelin disapointed and not knowing hw much longer i can cope with the dreaded heart burn grrrrr!
Berniebabe-goddluck with the mil and your wedding hope you hav a great day! and happy bday 2 ur df!
cheezlez-congrats on bubs do u kno what ur having?
firstly :hugs:4 u!!!
i stil get emotional when dp flys out especially the day b4 i try not 2 ruin the last day n nyt we have 2gether but i can neva help but feel reserved and sad, it could possibly be hormones 2 but even if i wasnt preg i think i would stil get upset.
unfortunatley i cant give u any advise with dd as im preg with my 1st but jus reasure her that daddy wil b hom soon and he loves her n misses her n mayb give her a lil photo of her n her dad 2gether??????
anyways girls im off for a walk 2 try get some contractions happening again hope every1 has a great day
:wave: Hello and howdy to one and all, new and old, short and tall, big and small, pregnant and sane, ok ok I'll stop.
Jessiika - hope it all gets movin for you .:fingerscrossed:
Cheezelz - my dd2 is 18 months. Dh has been working 2 and 1 all her life. He's just been home for a month onholidays and flew out this morning. I was dreading it but Dd2 hasn't even realized he's gone yet. When she does notice on other weeks I just say daddy's working and she accepts that. She even says " Daddy work" when he is here but she can't see him because he's outside somewhere. We have a large photo of him on the wall next to her change table, on the wall over her cot, where we say "nigh nigh" to Dad. Plus I have a laminated photo on the fridge, where we say good morning to daddy, as we get the morning bottle of milk. This one is laminated so she can take it off the fridge and carry it around whenever she wants too. So far she seems to be handling it all fine. I did read another suggestion on a different thread where someone put the photo into a plastic dvd cover and sealed it with tape so their child could carry daddy around with them. I thought this was a great idea too. I hope it wasn't too bad a day for you.
Us - well. Today was going to be the first day in 6 weeks that i had all to my self. I really do like my own company sometimes. But as fate would have it my mother invited herself to join me for coffee and then went shopping with me all morning past lunchtime. I did manage to snag 1 hour before I had to pick DD1 up from school. Had lunch, got to school 1/2 an hour early and pulled out a novel to read only to be met by another lovely mum and end up chatting. It was a nice day of socialising with some very nice people.
but
I do find I get grumpy if I can't get some down time, sometime. Maybe just one day this century would be nice. Any way ....:ecomcity:.
Wishing you all a peacefull night with babies sleeping all night through.
Jen.
kewlchicmum
19-06-2008, 00:35
Jessiika How you going darls not long now woho. Are you still with us or are things on the move :fingerscrossed: for you darls. I am so excited for you I am hearing you about the whole heart burn :devil6: its not nice at all.
dandemumto2 Hello and welcome. I know what you mean about it being a healthy relationship and yes I agree it's hard really hard at times being alone with lill ones. My DH does 2 and 2 in way up north Argyle diamonds and we are having bub number 2 next month and our DS will be 16 month so 18 months apart mmm. This is a great site and a kewl bunch of mummies on here.
bernibabe Hope your having fun with MIL's. When is your wedding and how is it all going?
Myliam I know what you mean I do like just alone time but I to never really seem to get it and I think that I am never going to once bub is born.:rolleyes:
cheezelz Heya too darls :wave: more the better. I can relate to that I am really upset when DH goes back to work I mean I do get a bit :crying: but of late I am like a mess must be :bfp: I am thinking.
jessiika
19-06-2008, 14:15
:wave:hi gurlies
im still waddlin about im 1 day over due now :fingerscrossed: i hav a :baby: soon lol
ill keep u all posted!!!:yes:
hav good day ppls:)
jess :detective:
kewlchicmum
20-06-2008, 16:27
Jessiika Sending you lots of:babydust2: on the move bub's dust my first Lachlan was due on the 16 and I had to get induced on the 19 and had him via emer C/S on the 20th.
:hugs: to everyone's who's DH/DP are not home at the moment.
Us Well DH is home but only for a week and we have had my sister come stay a couple of days and my Mum has come up for the day and spent time with us and we have had DSD for a couple of nights so it's been really full on and I have worked one night and Saturday night my last night :smiliedance: I also have a due date for the C/S which is the 21st of July :D which is great but :eek: at the same time. And I too am waddlin everywere jessiika so dont worry your not alone. :rolleyes:
maiestro
20-06-2008, 20:53
Just a quick one - I'm so tired and ready to sleep tonight but have to do a dreamfeed first. Anyway, where does everyones DP/DH work? Hubby got a call tonight about working at Mount Keith or Leinster and I'm wondering if anyones parters knows much about them, what they think etc.
Thanks so much - I'll do personals/write more next time
Kazamataz
20-06-2008, 22:31
Just a quick one - I'm so tired and ready to sleep tonight but have to do a dreamfeed first. Anyway, where does everyones DP/DH work? Hubby got a call tonight about working at Mount Keith or Leinster and I'm wondering if anyones parters knows much about them, what they think etc.
Hey also just a quick one about to go to bed.
But I thought I would answer for you.
Jesse works for Agnew at Leinster, If the job was working for goldfields then I would totally recommend you look into it.
They look after their employees and their families so so so well.
We get private health cover, Asher and I can come visit 24 times a year, they have massive bonus's, they pay extra super,All round they are an excellent company.
Berniebabes Hubby works in Leinster but they got married today so i don't think we'll be seeing her online anytime soon.
Don't know anything about Mount Keith so can't help you there.
Also if he took the job in Leinster later down the track if you wanted to there is the option to move there. There is a waiting list tho and can take sometime.
However it's supposed to be a really lovely place to live and very safe because it's a closed mining town so you can't live there unless you work for goldfields or bhp.
Anyways good luck to your hubby :thumbsup:
Kazamataz
20-06-2008, 22:33
:hugs: LOVE :hugs: LOVE :hugs: LOVE
For you all, I'm off to bed but will come on tomorrow and write personals :D
Just a quick pop in to say Hi!! Sounds like the full moon drove us all a little loopy these last few days. here's hoping for smooth sailing for one and all next week.
Hugs. Jen.
I just wanted to post a HUGE congrats to Berniebabe and her new hubby!!!!
They got married yesterday morning and the day was so beautiful! Bernie looked absolutely STUNNING!!
I bawled my eyes out! lol.
I just saw this! my hubby has been at Mt keith for 2 years(he works with Bernie's hubby).
It is fantastic up there! I have been there twice. hubby loves working there.
maiestro
21-06-2008, 18:08
Thanks girls, good to know they are both good places to work at. I don't think it's the goldfields, I think it's the BHP mine there, would have to double check. So where do you guys live then (Perth?) as if he got it we'd probably move to Perth to save him further travelling.
Congrats on your wedding day Berniebabe, I hope you can share some pics when you return.
Hope all the preggas girls are well and Jessika I'm sending your bub eviction vibes!
Myliam - I love time to myself as well, I know what you mean when people intrude on it, it's a nice way to spend the day but at the same time you just want to spend time by yourself.
DH has 9 days of work to go, he's back here on the 1st July and I can't wait. I hope he does get one of these WA jobs as 2/1 would be so much better than 3/1. I'm finding it easier as the time goes on, but sometimes I just feel so drained. Today I went to the local footy and my 2yo daughter just runs around like crazy there, so I see about two mins of footy and spend the rest of the time running after her. My SIL was there so she could help, but god its hard. I love taking her, but I love watching - wish I could find a happy medium there!
My little man (11 1/2 weeks) has had a great week of growth spurt and so chubby now! I hope the two hour feeding at night is over with...
I am south of the river in Perth, about 15-20 mins away from the airport.
Mt keith is not a town, so families can't live there. But Leinster is :)
jessiika
21-06-2008, 20:18
evening all...:wave:
GUESS WHAT....
IM BEING INDUCED ON TUESDAY MORNING!:smiliedance::yelclap::smiliedance::yelcla p:
THE STALK IS FINALLY HERE 2 BRING MY LIL BUNNY :bee:
sorry bout the outburst im jus over the moon that i finally get 2 hold her!
jessiika
21-06-2008, 20:26
now 4 the personals...............
thanks for all the bub eviction vibes ladies:babydust2:
berniebabe- congrats on ur big day cant wait 2 see pics!
berniebabe
22-06-2008, 11:33
Hi all hust a quick pop in to say hi:wave:
Yay I'm married now :smiliedance:I will fill you in later - perhaps start a differnt thread when i have time. I am crook as a dog ATM :( MIL left me a fairwell prezzie. any who hope you are all well. and I will pop in the next few days.
Thanks for the warm wishes gals :hugs:
Kazamataz
22-06-2008, 16:20
Hi all hust a quick pop in to say hi:wave:
Yay I'm married now :smiliedance:
CONGRATS MATE :thumbsup:
I hope your feeling better soon and can't wait to here all about your big day.
Kazamataz
23-06-2008, 23:16
sorry bout the outburst im jus over the moon that i finally get 2 hold her!
Well I hope as I'm typing this you've already gone in to labour but if not :fingerscrossed: that everything goes smoothly tomorrow and you'll be holding your beautiful baby girl in no time.
oinkietheoink
23-06-2008, 23:52
Im new here and DP will be starting work at Mt Gibson (WA) next week.
Im only 19, DD's 15 months, and a bit scared of being by myself, he'll be doing 2 weeks on 1 week off, and it will be the first time i'll have to be home by myself since we first became 'us'. Nearly 3 years now.
I was wondering how you all pass the time while Your DP's are gone. And some tips to help me cope, especially the first time he goes.
Thanks in advance.
:angel:
Kazamataz
24-06-2008, 00:01
Im new here and DP will be starting work at Mt Gibson (WA) next week.
Im only 19, DD's 15 months, and a bit scared of being by myself, he'll be doing 2 weeks on 1 week off, and it will be the first time i'll have to be home by myself since we first became 'us'. Nearly 3 years now.
I was wondering how you all pass the time while Your DP's are gone. And some tips to help me cope, especially the first time he goes.
Thanks in advance.
:angel:
:wave: and welcome there are quite a few WA ladies in here and a whole lot of support.
I have a 14 month old son named Asher and my DH Jesse does 7 days on 7 days off.
We have a fairly organized life and thats what helps me to pass the time mostly. Lots of activities and am I'm on a health kick so lots of working out.
At night you can usually find me in here or watching dvd's.
If you ever want to catch up for a coffee and chat to someone who totally understands where your coming from feel free to PM me :thumbsup:
have a good night
Kara :D
oinkietheoink
24-06-2008, 00:37
Kazamataz: Ahh my soon to be sombrero sister at Kings park :laughing:
Didnt you say you were going to bed LOL. I did too, but am finding myself stuck on here!
Argh new addiction to replace ebay.
Im always happy for coffee, and with my ebay, and now bubhub night addictions we all know i need it!!
i'll keep you updated when DP leaves. :crying:
Im sure i'll have many people on here to keep me company / entertained.
Ps, i think i read on another thread that your near me, im in morley.
Kazamataz
24-06-2008, 09:42
Kazamataz: Ahh my soon to be sombrero sister at Kings park :laughing:
Didnt you say you were going to bed LOL. I did too, but am finding myself stuck on here!
Argh new addiction to replace ebay.
Im always happy for coffee, and with my ebay, and now bubhub night addictions we all know i need it!!
i'll keep you updated when DP leaves. :crying:
Im sure i'll have many people on here to keep me company / entertained.
Ps, i think i read on another thread that your near me, im in morley.
:laughing: Yes we are heaps close not far at all :thumbsup: Apparently in Bayswater there is a mothers group that has lots of fly in fly out mums.
I'll find out the details and we could check it out.
Bubhub is totally addictive, I used to be addicted to ebay but with all the new changes I've given up on ebay.
Well have a good day
Your Sombrero Sister :laughing:
mummy2jack08
24-06-2008, 10:23
sorry to jump in on your thread, just thought i would say hi!
My DF works away 2 on 1 off i miss him like crazy when hes away...
altho he is glad 2 go back because he doesnt like my moods atm(hes the one that got me preg hehe) :(
i have found bubhub very usefull while he is away tho keeps me busy hehe!
im from perth btw also looking to find some people close 2 catch up with.. dnt have many friends with kids/or preg.
hope everyone has a good day
Hubby has finally gone back to work. He stayed home an extra 3 days(he wanted to be home for Bernie's wedding as he is friends with Bernie's hubby) and also because we had to have an amnio done on Friday arvo.
I am waiting for the results(the NT stuff came back as 1:5 for Downs) and should get them today and I am really hoping that it's good news. Not too sure how I will cope without hubby here if it's bad news. This really is one reason why I hate him being away.
Kazamataz
24-06-2008, 15:21
Hubby has finally gone back to work. He stayed home an extra 3 days(he wanted to be home for Bernie's wedding as he is friends with Bernie's hubby) and also because we had to have an amnio done on Friday arvo.
I am waiting for the results(the NT stuff came back as 1:5 for Downs) and should get them today and I am really hoping that it's good news. Not too sure how I will cope without hubby here if it's bad news. This really is one reason why I hate him being away.
Oh mate, now I understand your post about being a bit of a mess lately. A very big :hugs: to you.
I'm not really good with words and don't really know what to say.
But much love to you and if there is anything I can do, please PM me :hugs::hugs::hugs:
Kazamataz
24-06-2008, 15:25
sorry to jump in on your thread, just thought i would say hi!
My DF works away 2 on 1 off i miss him like crazy when hes away...
altho he is glad 2 go back because he doesnt like my moods atm(hes the one that got me preg hehe) :(
i have found bubhub very usefull while he is away tho keeps me busy hehe!
im from perth btw also looking to find some people close 2 catch up with.. dnt have many friends with kids/or preg.
hope everyone has a good day
:wave: and welcome where abouts in Perth are you?
We live in the Mount Lawley area, I have an 14 month old son and am a stay at home mama :D
There are heaps of WA ladies in here so your bound to meet someone who lives near you :thumbsup:
Oh mate, now I understand your post about being a bit of a mess lately. A very big :hugs: to you.
I'm not really good with words and don't really know what to say.
But much love to you and if there is anything I can do, please PM me :hugs::hugs::hugs:
Thanks hun, still waiting on news. I don't think I will find out til tomorrow now.
mummy2jack08
24-06-2008, 19:47
Kazamataz -im from Gnangara atm, moving to Wellard after bub is born.... (waiting for house to finish)
Kazamataz
24-06-2008, 20:06
Kazamataz -im from Gnangara atm, moving to Wellard after bub is born.... (waiting for house to finish)
WOW thats a big move, I'm not sure if any FIFO mums live in either places. I do know tho there is a young mums group in Banksia Grove. Lots of really nice bubhubbers go, PM RebekahLeigh for more details. Hows things going with your pg?
mummy2jack08
25-06-2008, 09:56
i dont mind Traveling, i drive and such and between seeing my parents (Gnangara) and my partners Dad/Bro in Byford - i will be happy 2 travel pretty much any where lol...
Pregnancy is going quiet well - sooo quickly lol...
well i am from NOR and thats where DP n i Live atm with my parents
and DP is from SOR so he chose the block lol... big jump with a newborn tho :(
Just thought I'd do a quick update and let you guys know that my preliminary results came back clear. Still have to wait for the final results, but it's looking good.
Kazamataz
25-06-2008, 11:26
Just thought I'd do a quick update and let you guys know that my preliminary results came back clear. Still have to wait for the final results, but it's looking good.
:smiliedance::hugs::smiliedance: Thats great to hear, let us know when you get the final results.
mummy2jack08
25-06-2008, 11:38
:DThats good news
Hope everything goes well
Kazamataz
25-06-2008, 12:09
i dont mind Traveling, i drive and such and between seeing my parents (Gnangara) and my partners Dad/Bro in Byford - i will be happy 2 travel pretty much any where lol...
Pregnancy is going quiet well - sooo quickly lol...
well i am from NOR and thats where DP n i Live atm with my parents
and DP is from SOR so he chose the block lol... big jump with a newborn tho :(
:confused: I thought I replied to this message but now it seems to have disappeared :laughing: Weird?
Anyways well yes moving with a newborn is not fun, We moved a few streets over when Asher was about 2 months old. I did most of the moving myself as Jesse was at work.
So how much longer till your house is done?
mummy2jack08
25-06-2008, 14:23
HAHA weird!
its finished just waiting on keys now. :)
But with Tim working away i dnt wanna move in untill after bubba is born.
we are buying all new stuff for house, so will start getting all that delivered slowly after we get keys, will give me time 2 paint the house organise things. Organise nursery etc before we move in :)
Kazamataz
25-06-2008, 19:01
HAHA weird!
its finished just waiting on keys now. :)
But with Tim working away i dnt wanna move in untill after bubba is born.
we are buying all new stuff for house, so will start getting all that delivered slowly after we get keys, will give me time 2 paint the house organise things. Organise nursery etc before we move in :)
Fair enough and this will give you a chance to slowly move stuff in and make it all pretty :D
mummy2jack08
25-06-2008, 22:48
Its still another week before tim is home...
I WANT HIM HOME NOW :hissy:
Having a lala night haha, hes been sick and grumpy the last few days so havent been able 2 speak to him much he is just wrking and sleeping.... i wanna look after him :(
oh well there is my LALA for the week:ecomcity:
I know what you mean. It's so frustrating when you can't chat to them whenever you want. My DH unplugs his phone so he can't be disturbed then forgets to put it back for days at a time. That's his excuse anyhow. That's where I've found BH great as at least I can share my day with all of you wonderful ladies.
:wave:Hi to all the people I've not chatted to yet, I've been absent for several weeks as DH was home on holidays. Then it's taken me a while to get back into some kind of routine. Sometimes I put too much on my plate then run around all day feeling like I haven't achieved anything.
Gosh a lot has been happening on here. Wedding's, babies, jobs and houses. It's just all so exciting.:D:yes::D.
Wishing you all hugs and jelly beans.
Jen.
mummy2jack08
26-06-2008, 14:12
Mine turns his mobile off so he cant be disturbed and im like :( i wanna talk to him NOW! hes on shift change today so i got to talk to him a bit more than normal... thats good HEHE :)
berniebabe
26-06-2008, 17:40
Howdy all, Rob had a look at our house today :) 4 bedrooms 1 bath - with a bath YAY. open plan kitcken dining living. Up on a hill on the outer of the town near the bush. We have a verandah which we can watck the sun set from:cloud9: I have been frantically trying to go through stuff but being crook I cant be bothered. Becides the kids wont stop jumping on me.
So because my DH wont be working away any more does that mean I cant join in this thread:p
Kazamataz
26-06-2008, 19:12
Howdy all, Rob had a look at our house today :) 4 bedrooms 1 bath - with a bath YAY. open plan kitcken dining living. Up on a hill on the outer of the town near the bush. We have a verandah which we can watck the sun set from:cloud9: I have been frantically trying to go through stuff but being crook I cant be bothered. Becides the kids wont stop jumping on me.
So because my DH wont be working away any more does that mean I cant join in this thread:p
Oh so exciting, Hopefully once you guys have settled in we can come check it out on one of our visits.
You are totally welcome in our thread anytime :D
Kazamataz
26-06-2008, 19:28
Hi to all the people I've not chatted to yet, I've been absent for several weeks as DH was home on holidays. Then it's taken me a while to get back into some kind of routine. Sometimes I put too much on my plate then run around all day feeling like I haven't achieved anything.
Gosh a lot has been happening on here. Wedding's, babies, jobs and houses. It's just all so exciting.
Wishing you all hugs and jelly beans.
Jen.
:wave: Jen, hope you enjoyed your holiday home with DH. Lots has been happening in here it's great :thumbsup:
Hope your having a great week :D
kewlchicmum
27-06-2008, 16:10
Heya all :wave: OHG I have not been in here for a few days and look at what happens it's full on so many personals :laughing: hope everyone is doing good and are well.
Berniebabe A big congrads on your wedding can't wait to see the pics.
Starlet I hope all is well with the amio I had one of them with 1st DS and DH was a work it was pretty scary had my mum there with me but not the same. :fingerscrossed: for you darls
Us Well it was my birthday yesterday and mum came and stayed and looked after Lachlan while I got my hair done :smiliedance: DH comes home in a week and a bit then home for 7 weeks and for the birth :D
:hugs: to all who are home alone with out there DH/DP
berniebabe
27-06-2008, 16:42
Happy b'day. Hope you had a great one. I am still trying to pack :( I hate moving but cant wait to get to Leinster
Kazamataz
27-06-2008, 17:46
Us Well it was my birthday yesterday and mum came and stayed and looked after Lachlan while I got my hair done :smiliedance: DH comes home in a week and a bit then home for 7 weeks and for the birth :D
:hugs: to all who are home alone with out there DH/DP
happybirthdayLovelyhappybirthday
I hope you had the greatest day and when you DH comes he spoils you rotten!!!
maiestro
27-06-2008, 21:18
DH is home Tuesday - thank god. I am so exhausted. Three weeks is such a long time. I think I'm being a bad mum because I'm so tired. I'm supposed to go to an engagement party tomorrow night but I don't think I can, I'm just so tired. My mum said she'd babysit, but I think I'll just cancel it all.
tired yet my kids are sleeping quite well, what is it with getting more sleep but feeling more tired???
Sorry this is a "woe is me" post, I just feel so ****. I actually hung up on DH tonight because I wanted to talk, but he was so tired he wasn't listening and so I just gave up talking, then we had nothing to talk about and so after five mins on the phone he said "well I guess I'll go then" and so I hung up.
Tired and emotional = me
kewlchicmum
27-06-2008, 23:43
Maiestro :hugs: to you I know how you feel I get like that too I think I am a bit down at the moment so :hugs:and lots of :babydust2::sleeping::babydust2: to you I don't sleep well when DH is away and at the moment I just don't even sleep when he is home cant wait till bub is here so maybe I can get some sleep ya right :rolleyes:
berniebabe
28-06-2008, 21:05
Any one heard from Jess???? Did she have her bubs???
Kazamataz
28-06-2008, 21:09
Any one heard from Jess???? Did she have her bubs???
I was wondering the same thing, she was meant to be getting induced on Tuesday. So she must have her little on by now.
berniebabe
28-06-2008, 23:05
Ok just got off the phone to Rob, and the kids and I are going in 8 weeks. Our stuff will start going in 5 weeks. So there will be no internet for a while:(
So I can stop stressing about the packing. Why I thought 3 weeks??? I dunno. Oh and we get 6 flights each a year :)
8 WEEKS?!?!?!
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! *sniff*
Kazamataz
29-06-2008, 16:03
Ok just got off the phone to Rob, and the kids and I are going in 8 weeks. Our stuff will start going in 5 weeks. So there will be no internet for a while:(
So I can stop stressing about the packing. Why I thought 3 weeks??? I dunno. Oh and we get 6 flights each a year :)
Oh no not long at all!
If there is anything I can do to help you get all packed up let me know.
What are you going to do for the three weeks you don't have your stuff?
I'm so excited for you but we will miss you too IYKWIM.
6 flights is awesome :thumbsup:
We get 24 at the moment isn't that crazy so many flights. We could go up there every weekend that Jesse worked if we wanted :laughing:
We will so have to do a meet with all the Perth FIFO mums before you leave.
berniebabe
29-06-2008, 18:26
We are going to crash at my mums for a few weeks..gotta love mums. Man if I could go see Rob every weekend I would. I love flying, especially the short trips. So we better pull our fingers out and catch up soon hey.
maiestro
30-06-2008, 08:29
Okay well I'm over my little meltdown - and DH home tomorrow - yay!!
Kara - 24 flights is awesome, I would so be taking advantage of that!
Berniebabe - it's all happening quickly hey, 8 weeks is good though, plenty of time to get organised. Bit of time without the net though, how will you manage?? You'll have to upload some wedding pics beforehand so we can see.
kewlchicmum - Belated bday wishes to you!
berniebabe
30-06-2008, 15:07
Everyone comes home tomorrow, so will I see anyone at the airport tomorrow morning??? Maiestro - where does your DH work??
maiestro
30-06-2008, 15:52
He works at McArthur River in NT, and we live on NSW/VIC border so he travels all night tonight to get home. We're trying to find him a job somewhere else though with a better roster - might have to move to perth to get it though and to save him some flying time.
berniebabe
30-06-2008, 18:22
Ok well I wont be seeing you tomorrow then, I thought you were in WA. Oh well
Hey Berniebabe. Sounds like your getting all excited about the move. Hope it's all smooth sailing for you. My DH flies in on skippers tomorrow. I'll be the large lady with the screaming toddler.:wave:
Kewlchicmum - a belated birthday wish to you.
:flowerz: HAPPY BIRTHDAY :flowerz:
Maiestro - (I think I spelt that wrong, but I don't know how to get back to the other screen without deleting all this other stuff I've already written. Oh Well...) I've been so flustered with Dh some times that I've hung up on him. Then he unplugs his phone. It's horrible. At least at home I can follow him around the house to pester him constantly. Ha Ha Ha.
Everyone - Hope your all ready to enjoy the wonder of the school holidays. The kids at home occuping themselves without complaint, the shopping centre's full of delightful polite teenagers and short cues at every entertainment venue you attend. :sleeping:. Huh? Oh sorry I must have been dreaming.
Us - Well I've run out of money to pay for my next two tafe units until next week, so I decided to spend today painting. What? you may ask, or even if you didn't ask I'm still going to tell you so Neh! I decided to start the mural I've been planning for Rebekah's room. I managed to get the background color in on the two walls I'm painting and some of the feature stuff too before it was time to pick up the kids. Great! Until I realized the room now reaks! I've had to put Bek in a portacot in my room and she doesn't like that! I guess I'm in for a fun night. Still, the rooms gonna look great when it's finished. Let's hope I can do it before Christmas...or maybe next Easter....Mothers Day! Yes I can definitley finish it before next mothers day!
Hugs for everyone. Bye.
kewlchicmum
02-07-2008, 12:23
Heya all :wave: any word on Jess?? I hope she and bubs are doing well.
:hugs: to all who don't have there DH/DP home and are doing it alone for the time being.
Berniebabe Wow how exciting for you moving to be closer to your DH that's really great and you will not be far away from Kalgoorlie I grew up there and spent 18 years in Kal not that bad a place. I hate packing love the unpacking and finding homes for every thing. Hey and were are the pic's??
Kazamataz Kewl 24 that's really great I would be using them all up I love flying but don't fly any were esp not at the moment or any moment for that matter.:rolleyes:
Myliam Oh man I wished I could paint that would be sooooooo kewl so what is the mural of?? You will have to take pic's so we all can see.
Us Well DH come home on Tuesday thank god Lachlan has been sick with a cold since my Birthday last Thursday and he has about 4 teeth coming as well so not so good nights sleep what is :sleeping: at the moment any ways with him being sick and me being so :bfp: I don't even know the word.
I now have a date for my C-Section the 21st we have to be at the hospital by 6.30am we are the first to get ours done for the day so I just hope the Dr are all awake.:D
Kazamataz
02-07-2008, 13:18
Heya all any word on Jess?? I hope she and bubs are doing well.
Kazamataz Kewl 24 that's really great I would be using them all up I love flying but don't fly any were esp not at the moment or any moment for that matter.:rolleyes:
Us Well DH come home on Tuesday thank god Lachlan has been sick with a cold since my Birthday last Thursday and he has about 4 teeth coming as well so not so good nights sleep what is :sleeping: at the moment any ways with him being sick and me being so I don't even know the word.
I now have a date for my C-Section the 21st we have to be at the hospital by 6.30am we are the first to get ours done for the day so I just hope the Dr are all awake.:D
Hey no word on Jess yet, I'm hoping she is just really busy with the new bub and will pop in when she gets a chance.
I know its crazy the amount of flights we get, the catch is there isn't always a place for you to stay in town.
So we get all these flights but not always somewhere to stay.
Oh how exciting your C-section is on the 21st of July?
Thats my 25th Birthday :eek: I feel so old, but that will be cool knowing I'll share my birthday with your special little one.
Asher is teething too and his cry has changed to more of a whine now and Its just driving me up the wall.
Jesse came home yesterday and as soon as he walked in the door I was like take him :hair:
kewlchicmum
02-07-2008, 15:26
Kazamataz Funny :laughing: you say that Asher's cry has changed cause so has Lachlan's and I can't wait for DH to come home just to give me a bit of a break. Oh and how kewl some birthdays :yelclap: and 25 is not old your same age as my middle sister I am old I am :crying:33:eek:
Kazamataz
02-07-2008, 21:02
Kazamataz Funny :laughing: you say that Asher's cry has changed cause so has Lachlan's and I can't wait for DH to come home just to give me a bit of a break. Oh and how kewl some birthdays :yelclap: and 25 is not old your same age as my middle sister I am old I am :crying:33:eek:
:laughing: ok maybe I'm not that old, I'm just not good at this aging thing :laughing:
Whats up with the cry?
One day he just woke up and stopped crying and started whining.
Now when ever he is upset it's just this annoying whine with tears.
kewlchicmum
03-07-2008, 12:06
Whats up with the cry?
One day he just woke up and stopped crying and started whining.
Now when ever he is upset it's just this annoying whine with tears.[/QUOTE]
OMG its the same with Lachlan it's like it's a new thing that he now knows he can do and its :hair: lets just hope that they get bored with it and lean some thing that is not so :devil6: lol
Hope everyone and bubs are all well. It is quite in here must be lots of DH/DP home :thumbsup:
Kazamataz
05-07-2008, 16:41
:wave: Hi ladies has been very quite in here.
Well just letting you all know it's my b'day in a few weeks and I'm having a little birthday dinner.
Have sent you all PM's with the details.
Please let me know if I've forgotten you, I don't think I have and for all the non WA girls. I wish you could come but understand the taxi fare maybe a little steep :laughing:
mummy2jack08
05-07-2008, 21:13
sorry i havent posted in a while... have just got outta hospital with High BP and bleeding.
Taking it easy atm (sorta)
hope everyone is doing well... DP is back in perth atm soooo happy :) glad 2 have him back, was scary in hospital hehe
take care
leece
Kazamataz
06-07-2008, 19:40
sorry i havent posted in a while... have just got outta hospital with High BP and bleeding.
Taking it easy atm (sorta)
hope everyone is doing well... DP is back in perth atm soooo happy :) glad 2 have him back, was scary in hospital hehe
take care
leece
:hugs: to you mate, thats scary I hope everything is ok now.
Jesse is home and I think alot of the other girls have their DP's home so it's a little dead in here :laughing:
mummy2jack08
06-07-2008, 19:56
yeah i have noticed its been quiet lol...
How long is Jesse home for?
Kazamataz
06-07-2008, 20:32
yeah i have noticed its been quiet lol...
How long is Jesse home for?
He goes back on Tuesday and to be honest at the moment I can't wait for him to leave!
He is driving me insane :hair:
He keeps asking me questions and before I've even answered he interrupts and says "I don't get it!"
Has been like this all day, he is worse than a 3 year old with all their why questions.
mummy2jack08
07-07-2008, 08:56
I know that feeling all to well. DP does the same thing from time to time....
I just do it back to him and he gets over his little mood eventually HAHA... :)
My step daughter is so much like that, atm she just keeps asking, where is baby? i want baby now? (she hasnt quiet grasped that it needs to grow inside tummy first)
Kazamataz
07-07-2008, 14:49
My step daughter is so much like that, atm she just keeps asking, where is baby? i want baby now? (she hasnt quiet grasped that it needs to grow inside tummy first)
My friends little sister was like that when I was pregnant with Asher.
She asked Claire (my friend) where the baby was and Claire said "In Kara's tummy." Her reply was "Don't be silly Claire, Kara didn't eat a baby!"
:laughing::laughing::laughing:
Had me in stitches for weeks.
kewlchicmum
07-07-2008, 15:03
Youngmum2b90 Hope you and bubs are all right take it easy I know it's hard being :bfp: and DH/DP being away. :hugs:
Kazamataz How you going darls hope DH/DP is helping you out with Asher.
UsWow it is really quite in here hey well my DH is home mora :smiliedance: and is home for 7 weeks with bub due and all that. Mmm don't know how that will go 7 weeks long time we will prob :hair: by the end. lol Bub due on the 21st July and I am soooooo looking forward to it I have had enough I am so tried and big and just over it but at the same time I am a bit scared about it all to. :rolleyes: To much time to think about the C-Section I think.:eek:
Kazamataz
07-07-2008, 17:47
Kazamataz How you going darls hope DH/DP is helping you out with Asher.
UsWow it is really quite in here hey well my DH is home mora and is home for 7 weeks with bub due and all that. Mmm don't know how that will go 7 weeks long time we will prob by the end. lol Bub due on the 21st July and I am soooooo looking forward to it I have had enough I am so tried and big and just over it but at the same time I am a bit scared about it all to. To much time to think about the C-Section I think.
Hey mate, Yeah Jesse is driving me nuts but he's very helpful with Asher.
I'm so excited for you, I can't wait till your bubba comes and it is so cool that we (me and your bubs) will share the same birthday :smiliedance:
I know what your saying about the 7 weeks thing, I'm a little worried that I'll be sick of Jesse when he has two weeks off in October :laughing:
berniebabe
07-07-2008, 20:37
He all, sorry I have been a bit scarce lately. Man packing is driving me crazy. So Rob left today :( I really miss him already, it feels like the whole week was taken up in the back yard. Our back has now been flattened, no shed, no trees, just dirt and lots of it.
Hope you are all well, I will try to have a catch up soon.
He goes back on Tuesday and to be honest at the moment I can't wait for him to leave!
He is driving me insane :hair:
He keeps asking me questions and before I've even answered he interrupts and says "I don't get it!"
Has been like this all day, he is worse than a 3 year old with all their why questions.
Hey Kaz - Chris flies out tomorrow and at the moment I feel the same way. The last two days have just been soooooo nit picky and it's driving me nuts. He decided to trim a tree in the back yard by having one foot on the top rung of the ladder (in a loose soil garden bed) and the other foot on the top of the fence rail. He refused my help and I told him it was too unsafe and went inside as I couldn't bear to watch. Of course he fell off. Thankfully only bruised his shoulder (it could have been alot worse) I didn't say I told you so. Even though I wanted to scream it from the roof tops. Any hoo, he knows I was right and has been narky with me ever since. I think his ego may be bruised as well as his arm.
Hey Kewlchicmum - I hope all goes well for the 21st.
:hugs: youngmum2b90 - take it easy and look after yourself. It's a tough job growing another human being.
:hugs: To everyone who's missing their DH. I know I'll be missing mine soon but for now the DH stands for a whole other meaning.:laughing:
Have a happy Tuesday!!!!
Jen
Kazamataz
10-07-2008, 15:41
:wave: Everyone how are you all going?
Well as my FIFO sister's I wanted you guys to be among the first to hear my news.
We got :bfp: this week bubba number 2 is due on the 14th of March 09
I'm so excited and a little shocked, we had stopped TTCing and look where it got us :laughing:
Hope everyone else is doing great :thumbsup:
Myliam: Your story nearly made me wet my pants men are so funny!
mummy2jack08
10-07-2008, 15:45
OMG Congrats Kazamataz :D
Im so excited for you!!! :yelclap:
i have been doing really well :) going shopping tonight for house stuff YAY!!!
berniebabe
10-07-2008, 15:46
Well as my FIFO sister's I wanted you guys to be among the first to hear my news.
I'm so excited and a little shocked, we had stopped TTCing and look where it got us :laughing:
Hope everyone else is doing great :thumbsup:
OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG:smiliedance:
Congratulations Kara, that is awesome news.
maiestro
11-07-2008, 19:30
Kara congrats! Thats so exciting! how are you feeling?
Jen that is the funniest story about your hubby, so lucky he didn't do more than the bruise.
Berniebabe - packing sucks doesn't it. I'm not looking forward to packing yet again. Going to get some proper boxes this time though!
Kewlchicmum - 7 weeks home with your hubby will be great, especially with the birth of your little bubba, not long to go now!
Leece - how are you going now? Hoep you're okay
We've had a rather big fortnight! Hubby came home and we had a really nice time together (although I really do hate those first couple of days of rest for him). Then last friday he rang about a job, Monday he flew to Darwin and on the way he was phoned and got the job he rang about on the friday. Problem was he had to get to Perth by wednesday, so he then flew to Perth and has been there all week. he's starting Monday doing FIFO in Newman.
Sooooooooo my big news is that we are moving to Perth!! I'm not sure when, our house is on the market and if it doesn't sell by next week we'll just rent it out, so hopefully we can get over there really soon! I'm so excited!!
where does everyone live in Perth?
Kazamataz
11-07-2008, 20:45
Thanks ladies :D
Hey I just found this info over in an other thread about Jess:
Members Name:Jessiika
Bubs Name: Mia
Date of Birth: 24/06/08
EDD: 18/06/08
Time of Birth:2.45pm
Bubs Weight: 3280gm
Bubs Length: 50.5
Bubs Head Circumference: 34
Details of Delivery: waters broke at 4am with meconium and bubs heart rate dropped, was getting prepped for a c-sec when Jess had the urge to push and then bub was crowning, healthy and perfect
Apologies for the delay, Jess had problems with phone and internet so could not let me know!!
Congrats Jess on the birth of little Mia :flowerz::flowerz:
maisymum
14-07-2008, 15:47
HI TO YOU ALL AM ONLY NEW TO THIS FIFO HUBBY STARTED LAST NOV . KIDS NOW GETTING USED TO IT :o DD, :rolleyes: DS, ;) DS, AND TRYING TO CONCEIVE OUR FORTH THROUGH IVF , A VERY HARD THING TO DO WHEN HUBBY ISN'T HERE FOR TESTS AND RIGHT DATES FOR EGG COLLECTION ECT... 3 ON AND 3 OFF IS A LONG TIME COMING . FIRST WEEKS SLOW AND LONELY THEN WE ALL START THE COUNT DOWN . BYE FOR NOW CHAT SOON.
UsWow it is really quite in here hey well my DH is home mora :smiliedance: and is home for 7 weeks with bub due and all that. Mmm don't know how that will go 7 weeks long time we will prob :hair: by the end. lol Bub due on the 21st July and I am soooooo looking forward to it I have had enough I am so tried and big and just over it but at the same time I am a bit scared about it all to. :rolleyes: To much time to think about the C-Section I think.:eek:
I had hubby home for 7 weeks when DS3 was born. It was AWESOME. It made all the difference to have him at home fulltime for the first 5 weeks.
I'm so excited and a little shocked, we had stopped TTCing and look where it got us
Hope everyone else is doing great
YAY!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!
Your baby is due on my first wedding anniversary! A lovely day to be born lol.
Kazamataz
14-07-2008, 17:50
HI TO YOU ALL AM ONLY NEW TO THIS FIFO HUBBY STARTED LAST NOV . KIDS NOW GETTING USED TO IT :o 7 YRS, :rolleyes: 5 YRS, ;) 1 1/2 YRS, AND TRYING TO CONCEIVE OUR FORTH THROUGH IVF , A VERY HARD THING TO DO WHEN HUBBY ISN'T HERE FOR TESTS AND RIGHT DATES FOR EGG COLLECTION ECT... 3 ON AND 3 OFF IS A LONG TIME COMING . FIRST WEEKS SLOW AND LONELY THEN WE ALL START THE COUNT DOWN . BYE FOR NOW CHAT SOON.
:wave: and welcome, it's been pretty quite in here lately but normally there is a lot of us. So there is heaps of support for you.
Its hard when you first start the FIFO thing and 3 on 3 off thats such a long time to be away.
Do you have friends or family close by?
My Hubby does 7 days on 7 days off.
Its excellent barely have time to miss him.
I'm Kara BTW i have 15 month old son named Asher and I'm about 6 weeks pg.
YAY!!! CONGRATS!!!!!!
Your baby is due on my first wedding anniversary! A lovely day to be born lol.
Thank-you I'm so excited can't wait to hold my little bubba :smiliedance:
PrincessJasmine
14-07-2008, 18:43
Sorry I haven't been back on in a while. I had my baby girl!
Congrats Kazzamataz on your pregnancy!
DP is back doing interstate now, he was home for the first few weeks. He's doing Adelaide to Melbourne 2 or 3 times a week. At least he's home on the weekends to help out. The way things are going he'll be doing these runs for a while so its not too bad at the moment. Its when he does Melbourne to Brisbane that he'll be gone 5 days straight. Its a little annoying that we have one car so I have to drop him off and pick him up at all hours of the night. I have to drop him off at around 10pm tonight and pack a newborn and a 3yo in the car.
I've been having a few rough nights with DD2 so its been really hard on DD1 who is such a daddy's girl. Things will be easier when DD2 is sleeping through the night.
Kazamataz
14-07-2008, 20:17
Sorry I haven't been back on in a while. I had my baby girl!
Congrats Kazzamataz on your pregnancy!
DP is back doing interstate now, he was home for the first few weeks. He's doing Adelaide to Melbourne 2 or 3 times a week. At least he's home on the weekends to help out. The way things are going he'll be doing these runs for a while so its not too bad at the moment. Its when he does Melbourne to Brisbane that he'll be gone 5 days straight. Its a little annoying that we have one car so I have to drop him off and pick him up at all hours of the night. I have to drop him off at around 10pm tonight and pack a newborn and a 3yo in the car.
I've been having a few rough nights with DD2 so its been really hard on DD1 who is such a daddy's girl. Things will be easier when DD2 is sleeping through the night.
:smiliedance: Congrats, I love love love love the name Aurora :smiliedance:
Thats great that your DP has managed to get a short trip and can be home on weekends for you.
I can imagine it would be difficult with two littles having to get them in an out of the car esp at late hours.
:hugs: to you I hope you can all settle into a routine quickly.
Kazamataz
14-07-2008, 20:31
Hey ladies just wanted to add if your on facebook there is an excellent group for miners wives.
Its called the miners wives club here's the link if you want to join: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=665993695&ref=ts#/group.php?gid=17815539784
berniebabe
14-07-2008, 22:36
Hey ladies just wanted to add if your on facebook there is an excellent group for miners wives.
Its called the miners wives club here's the link if you want to join: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=665993695&ref=ts#/group.php?gid=17815539784
Thanks Kara, checking it out now :)
Hi Everyone. Wow I can't believe it's been a week since I've been on here. The school holidays have been crazy so far. My daughters school is three suburbs away from where we live and hence so are her friends. That means our holidays are spent driving to and fro to playdates or entertaining children in our own home. Ami has two friends she made in daycare when she was 1 who now go to different schools but they still get together every holidays. This time I took them to the Maze out at Wanneroo. It was great! Not too expensive $13 adults $11 kids 4+ or a family pass. (Take your own food. The cafe is VERY pricey.) They loved racing each other through the various mazes and it wasn't too hard to supervise them as each maze had a vantage point where I could sit with my 1 yr old daughter and still see the other three running around. It was very very muddy but the girls loved that too. They even gave us a baby golf club for my youngin' when we played the mini golf. I'd recommend checking it out. Right now Ami's at the movies with another friend and Bekah is sleeping so I can finally have some chat time.
So here we go...
Kara -
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
OMG OMG OMG. How exciting for you. I guess this means the margaritas are off for you on Sat night. I'm still waiting for my baby sitter to tell me if she's available. Will pm or text you when I know.
Princess Jasmine -
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
Aurora is such a pretty name. I had been wondering and am glad you found time to let us know. It's so challenging trying to figure out a new routine when another little tacker comes along. We used to drive DH to the airport at 5.30am until the DD2 came along. It's too cold in winter so now he has to catch a cab. Luckily his pick up time is 11am so that's OK.
Starlet - I hope your week is going well.
Maiestro - I live in Stratton. There's some really nice suburbs around me, and a few dodgy ones. Mines kind of in the middle. I don't like any of my local schools however, too many reports of antisocial behaviour. That's why I drive 10mins every morning to send my daughter to a school up in the hills.
Berniebabe - Hey Bernie. I hope alls going well with you. Not too many weeks to go now till the move. Does it seem to be flying or is time dragging out for you?
Youngmum2b90 - I hope the shopping trip went well. Did you have fun? I just love to go shopping! Even if I don't buy anything. I just love walking around the shopping centres checkin it all out. (By gum I need a better social life!!!) So is your baby's room all decked out?
Kewlchicmum - Less than a week now.
BEST WISHES!!!
for the big day. I hope it all goes smoothly. So tell me, are you stocking the freezer with casseroles for DH or just making sure all the takeaway menus are near the phone? I left DH to fend forself with my second one (I cooked for the first) and I think he lived off baked beans. Didn't hurt him though.
Jessiika -
CONGRATULATIONS!!!
On the arrival of Mia.
Leeann -
Welcome to the chat thread. I can sympathise on trying to concieve with a FIFO partner. My DH was on 2 and 1 when we were TTC DD2. Combine that with the fact that my body runs on a 5 week cycle and it meant we only had a window of opportunity once every 15 weeks. That's less than 4 times a year! Very frustrating. With your DH on 3 and 3 I'm sure it won't take too long at all. Best wishes!
Happy Tuesday everybody!! Here's hoping it doesn't take me another week to get back here again!
Jen x
fiveofus
16-07-2008, 13:01
Just wanted to pop in to say hello. My DH started working FIFO (from Brisbane to Mt Isa) a couple of months ago so we could see how we would cope. Usually it's 2 on one off and we are coping surprisingly well! We have DS1 who will be 4 in OCT and DS2 who just turned 2 and I am 28 weeks with surprise #3!! The boys do miss their dad while he is away but that seems to be getting better each time. In fact we have got in such a good routine that now when he gets home he disrupts us - ha ha ha!
Bye for now!
Bec
mummy2jack08
16-07-2008, 13:48
Jen - Thanks :) shopping went well... babys room hasnt started yet.... i have so many different things sitting waiting to be set up!! we still painting and doing...
Had a call from doctor today, they said my iron is really really low :( dam!!
how has everyone else been??
mummy2jack08
16-07-2008, 13:49
i forgot to say Hi Bec :)