View Full Version : Go to first new post 40+ Parents/Parents to be (May Chat)
Here we are. better late than never lol
Last 2 posts:
Hello my dears
We have just got in from swimming and my little one is sleeping away!
Maria - don't feel guilty about not having a party for your little one, you are going to have one anyway it seems. I have to admit I really enjoyed G's first birthday - one year olds are pretty funny at a party! Though slumber parties for 9 year olds sound like fun too.
Vicki sounds like you've got it all under control for the wedding! They are such fun. Well done with the weight loss too. Not long to go til the big day now eh?
Maria: We never had a 1st birthday for Kaitlyn as shes born on the 24th dec and it was full on for chrissy with my working a 12 hr shift ( no more though) I just couldnt fit one in. Ill make up for it with no2, so much more fun to be had anyway as they get right into toys etc then.
Amy: Hope your feeling less tired by now?
Mary: Yep 9 days tomorrow to go!!!
Almost done, very little to do now cept a few little things to buy. then I can (hopefully) sit back and chill next week as it gets closer.
Us: I think Miss K has a mild dose of measles. I thought it was teething crankiness but now she has little spots front back and the tell tale behind the ears!
Thankfully was this week and not next lol
quitecontrary
08-05-2008, 09:50
Another thread!! In my birth group we just keep on going until a moderator decided to move us along!!!
Vicki - how excited you must be! I seem to recall running around like a chook in the week before we got married, international guests were the added dimension. Plus the fact that Dh and I still had separate homes - he was renting a studio with the killer harbour view and neither of us were in a rush to give that up, and yes, thats right, he was in the process of editting his PhD. They were fun days!!
I hope Kaitlyn is feeling better.
Genevieve has cut another tooth this week, so its 13 in her little mouth! I think the next three are just about through too, she has a pattern of four in a row! She is a little delight, though I didn't really think this at 5.30 this morning when she was calling for her "breakfast in our bed"! She is asleep again now. We are heading to playgroup today and there was no way she'd have been in a fit state to go anywhere the way she was.
Ys_Woman
08-05-2008, 19:28
Vicki: wow sweetheart..only 9 more sleeps to go!!
I hope things are going along smoothly for you.
Did the spots end up being measles hon?
Mary: Yay for Genevieve cutting another tooth. Does she do that easily? Dane has been drooling for a month or more now and biting my finger at every opportunity but nothing has come through yet.
I hear you on the 5:30am thing. It is boybee's usual waking time..our alarm is set for six so hopefully in time he can stretch it out for that last half hour.
How was playgroup? Is it an active one with craft/songs/games or more a mum's get-together?
Maria: I know I will sound callous here but bday parties are only for the adults sake in the first few years IMO..as are presents. All my kids had more fun with the empty boxes and wrapping paper than they ever did with the pressies and hoopla.
Did you survive the sleepover? My kids are already at me to have friends for sleepovers..eek.
Rita: How are things going with you and your donor hon? The last I heard you were driving her to an appointment and you had your own coming up.
Sorry I haven't been around but I have been so tired lately and by the time I get onto BH and post in the Dec07 group I am being dragged off to do something else.
Things at the kids school like canteen duty/reading/sports days etc are keeping me on my toes..and Dane has been sick for the last week with a cold that is now in his chest, so no good sleeps :(.
My left foot is just a nightmare. I limp all the time now and the other morning I was walking the kids to school when that foot refused to move and I fell pulling the pram down with me. I managed to catch Dane as his forehead was only an inch from the ground. Scared the living daylights out of me.
Sorry for moaning. I just need a few good night's sleep to catch up and become human again.
Hugs to anyone I have missed. It has been very quiet in this neck of the woods for a while.
Hope everyone is well.
Amy:)
HI GIRLS!!
I have returned:smiliedance:but not for long....moving very soon to be with dh (at last).will be busy packing etc.life has been hectic to say the least!
Amy i hope you're feeling better!! that fall must have given you a nasty scare you poor thing.well the ladies on here atm wont really know me....i'm 44 and have two dds 9 and 5,dh is away working and we're moving up to be with him in far north qld ......he's going to fly in and surprise the girls and then we'll hopefully head off asap.
just want to wish everyone the best before i go as i may not get a chance again.it could take months for us to get the pc going again etc etc.
so take care girls,hope i get to pop back here again to say hello sometime in the future...thanks for having me!!!!:wave:
love tracey.
tracey! All the best for the move hun.
hope your back soon, we miss you xxx
Amy: Sheesh hun, what a scare, glad your both okay!!!:hugs:
Hope you manage some sleep soon to help you there.
Mary: lol 530 breaky gawd! Am very lucky here, only time Katie wakes early is when sick or teething, other wise its 8ish 830. About the same amount teeth here, we have 14 and the two eye teeth on its way too
Speaking of sick, yes we had 630 am wake today, the spots are ALL over now, front back, behind ears, lower torso, so safe to say mild measles.
enough to make her cranky as!
She even fell asleep in my dads arms today while i was work at 11am!! Now thats sick, a 11 am nap AND falling asleep in some ones arms.
Some thing shes not done since 6 months old.
Finally im done!!
Picked up the rings today, so thats it.
cept for few minor things to get at shopping next week, coke, bottled water, coffee..that sort of thing.
Oh and grab our champers thats paid for but on order :thumbsup:
I now have a week to sit back, relax and just think. Make sure not forgotten any thing.
quitecontrary
09-05-2008, 11:53
Amy - you poor darling with your foot, sounds awful. You are right about the parties, we had one when she was a tiny tiny to "meet the baby, warm the house", and two for her birthday and I had a ball!!! We have a pretty good "mothers" group so it really was a milestone with her friends as well.
I just love parties, even with just the immediate family around (and thats just my side, Dh's are all in England) we have 10 adults and 4 children these days - and my eldest nephew always wants to know who else is coming!!!
Genevieve had two naps yesterday, playgroup must really take it out of her. She is a good little thing though, she generally sleeps right through from 7pm. This morning it was a 6.45 wake up which was a lot more civilised I have to admit.
We've got a busy afternoon planned again, I have an acupuncture appt at 2 and a friend is looking after G, I hope the little one behaves herself. She's usually pretty good, she knows what side her breads buttered on!!
Must away and get showered/organised, we were off at the gym again this morning.
Ys_Woman
11-05-2008, 17:54
Amy - you poor darling with your foot, sounds awful. Y
I just love parties, even with just the immediate family around (and thats just my side, Dh's are all in England) we have 10 adults and 4 children these days - and my eldest nephew always wants to know who else is coming!!!
A friend suggested I ring the MACH nurse and get an appt for the physio about the foot as it occured because of the pregnancy. I will ring tomorrow.
Two of my step-brother's moved back to England a number of years ago and all my mum's side is over there too. I have never been there so missed out on grandparents/aunts & uncles/cousins etc. Hopefully one day we will get over there. We have no family in Canberra..everyone lives in north central NSW and QLD. I find it sad that my kids aren't growing up with relo's, the same as when I was a kid..but frankly my MIL isn't a bit interested in our kids so *shrugs*..maybe not such a bad thing they live so far away.
How did G go with your friend? And how did the acupuncture go? I am all for traditional medicines.
Hope you had a lovely Mother's day Mary.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
11-05-2008, 17:55
HAPPY MOTHERS DAY LOVELY LADIES. HOPE YOU WERE ALL THOROUGHLY SPOILT.
quitecontrary
11-05-2008, 19:53
Hello again!
I have had a delightful Mothers Day, apart from a 2am wakeup from a little girl with a cold, we all slept in til 7.30. Dh made bacon and eggs for breakfast, I went back to bed when G did after my parents called in, Dh cleaned, we all had cereal for lunch (go figure) and Dh is cooking salmon for dinner though at the moment he is using the sewing machine (once again, go figure??).
All went well at the acupuncturist and G behaved herself for our friend, who is really a replacement grandma for her. Indeed she is referred to as another grandchild by our friend.
Yesterday we all went shopping and I thoroughly spoilt myself, skirt, jeans, cardi and the list goes on.
Hope you've all had a lovely Mothers Day too!!
JEMGIRLS
12-05-2008, 00:05
Hope you all had a good one. I prefer Mothers Day to birthdays any time. Especially the kids make you feel so special. I got lots of home made gifts plus flowers and choccies from hubby. Spent lunch time at my parents house with the rest of the family. Very noisy I must say.
Anyway take care girls and look forward to catching up soon. Finally got some rain yesterday in Perth and tonight it's quite chilly.
Maria
Ys_Woman
12-05-2008, 14:44
Sounds like you were both well looked after this MD.
I had a lovely day too. Got the slow cooker I asked for (and put in the trolley last week just to be sure)..lol..also chockies from the kids. Eldest dd wrote some beautiful sentiments in a card that brought me to tears. Makes mothering so worthwhile.
Hope Monday finds you all well.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
12-05-2008, 19:42
I thought I had walked into the twilight zone when I went to the Bubhub Forum list and clicked on 40+ parents and it took me to a thread (First Time Mum at 40) where there were all these new names..women who were 46/47 and having their first baby etc. I started to wonder how I had missed that thread and all those ppl before..then looked at the posting dates and found it was from Sept 05..:laughing:. For a minute there I thought I was losing what little is left of my mind..lol.
A lady called Raine had posted in that old thread today so I gave her the link to our new one. Hope she comes and posts.
lol amy, I saw the thread and was going go back after here, glad you noticed was 2005 cos am sure I wouldnt have lol.
Glad everyones MD went well
Busy one for me, up at 730, off to mums at 830, and on the road at 930 for country drive ti il's for lunch, lovely day all the same though.
5 sleeps to go for me! :yelclap:
Lucky2b Mum
13-05-2008, 13:44
Hello all!
Sorry I've been MIA! Have had a pretty busy time.
Firstly we had our first OB apt. and all is well with bubba! Yay!! I'm about 14wks now. Can't wait to feel some movement. Am trying to watch my weight (I put on about 22kgs with Declan - took me 9mths to lose it and I still had 2kgs to go when I fell pregnant), so not having as much 'fun' as I did last time.
Declan turned 1 on Mothers Day. We had a great day. DH and I attempted a Pooh Bear cake. Declan laughed when he saw it - don't know if he recognised Pooh or just thought it was funny. Kinda looked like Pooh, but with a bad case of sunburn and a broken nose.
DH's birthday on Thursday - May is now an expensive month!
Amy - Your foot sounds bad! I lost all feeling in my feet when I was about 30wks pregnant (the first time). It didn't return after the birth so I went to a chiropractor which helped. I still have some numbness though. Do you think a chiro could help?
Vicki - if I don't get to post again before the big day... all the best! Hope you have the best day ever! Will be praying for great weather there and sending happy thoughts your way! :valentine:
Mary - Declan is cutting teeth everywhere! He seems to get 4 at a time too. I'm not enjoying this teething thing and neither is he, poor little boy. Hope G is coping, you sound cool, calm and collected about it. Wish I was!
Maria - Hi! I just love Mothers Day! I never thought I would get to experience one as a mother. To quote a very wise (Ys) woman ... I'm so very grateful.
Hope I haven't missed anyone ... and sorry for the long post but ...
While I have you all here I wondered if you would have any advice with a problem I'm having. Since we moved Declan into his own room at 5mths we have been feeding to sleep. It's worked great ... until now. He is usually 'asleep' at the end of the bottle, spits the bottle out and is out like a light. But lately he wakes up at the end of the bottle, sometimes upset, sometimes just wide awake - even though he been 'asleep' through most of the bottle. If he wakes through the night he puts himself back to sleep, but if he wakes at the end of his bottle he won't sleep again for hours! He doesn't have a dummy cause he's always been asleep by the end of the bottle. He thinks they're hilarious so giving him a dummy just wakes him up more! Any suggestions? Or is it just a phase? I guess I have to get him to go to sleep without a bottle at some stage, but I don't know how old they are when that happens.
Thanks ladies ...
Hope all is well with you and yours!
Ys_Woman
13-05-2008, 13:58
lol amy, I saw the thread and was going go back after here, glad you noticed was 2005 cos am sure I wouldnt have lol.
Glad everyones MD went well
Busy one for me, up at 730, off to mums at 830, and on the road at 930 for country drive ti il's for lunch, lovely day all the same though.
5 sleeps to go for me!
I am guessing we may not see you around before the big day. I wish you all the happiness your arms can hold Vicki. I hope the day dawns bright and clear as you pledge your life to your beloved:flowerz:. I will be thinking of you.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
13-05-2008, 14:19
Hello Leanne..good to have you back and so glad to hear that all is well with you and bubs.
Somewhere in the next few weeks you will start to feel the flutterings and that will be awesome. Around the 20wk mark I could really feel the kicks and it just took so much stress away at that point. Oooh I so envy you all those wonderful feelings..my baby is growing up too fast!! I want another baby (dh would kill me!)..lol.
As to Declan and his sleeping... It may be time to change his routine so it doesn't include the final feed. If you can feed him, have some play time, then give him a shower, sing a song, read a book..generally wind him down after the shower..he may learn to go down without too much fuss.
Dane is feeling a bit of separation anxiety at the moment so I find myself coming in and out of the room doing odd jobs while he drifts off. He does have a dummy and every now and again I pop it back in but don't make eye contact and don't talk to him...just wander in and out humming while putting away washing etc. It seemed to work with my other children too when they got to that stage..even for ds1 who didn't have a dummy either. Good luck in finding just the right routine for Declan. I know how draining it is when you hope they will go down but spark up instead..my thoughts always go to what I am missing doing while bub is awake in MY time.
No sign of teeth here yet but plenty of dribbling. Does Declan cut them with a minimum of fuss?
How cute about his reaction to the Pooh Bear cake. I laughed when you said it looked like it had a broken nose. For Selia's 1st bday I coloured some shredded coconut in a variety of colours and then used it to create a picture of Elmo on top of the cake I had made. As I was about to serve it I accidentally bumped the plate against the side of the bench and Elmo's face slid sideways and looked a bit like the picture of The Scream..lololol. Probably has something to do with Selia's psycho behaviour now:laughing:
Anyways..my post is probably bigger than yours now..eeek. I think I may have to see a physio about the foot as it is the muscle that is affected not bones I don't think *shrugs*. Might start with the gp.
Please don't be a stranger. I love hearing about how the pregnancy is going.
Enjoy the bday.
Lucky2b Mum
13-05-2008, 14:28
Oh Amy you're a hoot!! I just about peed my pants with your elmo incident!
Thanks for your help with our settling issues. I'm a bit reluctant to start a new routine while he's teething - but I'm liking the idea a lot. He's cutting molars atm and for the past 2wks has had a severe nappy rash (weeping and red raw) It's just starting to settle a bit now so I'm hoping I can tackle the issue soon. He falls asleep in the pram without a bottle so it should be easy right ... yeah right.
Great to chat to you - I'm hoping to become more regular too!
Take care :)
Ys_Woman
13-05-2008, 14:34
Oh Leanne my kids had those awful nappy rashes with the big teeth too..blisters..ouch. I found Bepanthen really helpful at the time.
Gotta love the challenges they bring;)
quitecontrary
13-05-2008, 17:06
Hello again!
Leanne, this teething game is dull isn't it? Genevieve now has a drippy nose and cough, just a delight to behold. She is a little trooper though, she tries to keep on keeping on. Today there have been a lot of hugs. We use white zinc on her nappy rashes, just plain white zinc, it seems to be very effective.
Yay for you being 14 weeks along - how exciting is that???
We are in the midst of the ttc game in this home, which is fun - I just want to see results thought.
Am feeling a bit sad today with the devastating earthquake in China. We have a good friend who is studying in Chongqing, thankfully he is safe. Where I lived and taught was not far from Tangshan and that city had that enormous quake 30 years ago.
I think I should leave this here, I can hear a sad baby.
JEMGIRLS
14-05-2008, 00:07
Amy - I sometimes get a cramp in my left foot and it's really painful. I need to massage it for it to go away. You're right when you say you need to hop around. I hope the psyio can help.
Vicki - I really loved organising my wedding day. Kept me really busy. Must be harder I'd imagine with a little bub. Not long now and look forward to hearing how it went. Only after your honeymoon though!
Julia turned 1 on Anzac Day and that's when 4 teeth popped thru. I must admit I'll miss that toothless grin. It was so beautiful.
I was just thinking that I'd love to meet some ladies my age with similar age children to catch up for coffee etc. Sometimes I feel really old and even though people say I don't look my age I can't help feeling this way. I'm trying to look on other forums to see if anyone is interested in catching up. Shame you ladies are all over the place.
Maria
Ys_Woman
14-05-2008, 12:05
Just dashing by..Dr Phil is about to start and Dane has just gone down for a nap:).
Glad your friends are ok Mary but any natural disaster is just awful when ppl are injured. I feel so awful for those in the earthquakes and the people in Burma in the cyclone.
Sorry to hear G is crook. Dane is just starting to come good, still coughing and rattly but nothing like the last week or so. Managed eight hours sleep last night so he really is on the improve..lol.
Maria: I don't know where you find older women with little ones. I know a few in their mid 30's but not in their 40's..only on here of course:yes:. So I reckon the answer is for you to move to Canberra..hahahaha.
So you have feet troubles too? Not good. Mine is the muscle underneath and the outer side of my foot. It aches most of the time but gets worse the longer I walk. It may fix itself in time but I will seek the gp's advice. I worry more that with the limping and dragging of the foot I will damage the hip and knee joints along the way..ouch.
Belatedhappybirthdayto Julia. I hear you on her losing the gummy smile..but just think how adorable she will look with a mouthful of teeth.
I am about to jump out.
Had a good day yesterday..dd2's teacher approached me at the end of the day with an invitation for dd to attend a special seminar at the end of June for two days. It was a real honour for her to be selected as they only choose a few. Dd is so looking forward to spending two days learning about writing and drama..and not having to be at her own school for those days..lol.
OK..best see if Dr Phil can give me pearls of wisdom today.
Maria: Your from Perth too aren't you?
If so we can catch up for coffee once things settle down after this week if you like.
Give me a private message if your interested.
Mary: glad your friend is safe. Must have been very worrying!
Happy birthday for Julia here too!! happybirthday
amy: how wonderful do dd and such a proud mummy are you :hugs:
Us: My last day work today, Now a week off yay!
Tomorrow = last of shopping and house cleaning. plus finish packing bags for us and Katie to go to il's for the 3+ days.
Am going to miss her terribly!!!!! Have not been without her longer than half a day.
Friday= nails done and girls night in for facials and plucking and other things lol
sat =
10am hair
12 ladies lunch here
2pm over to hall to dress tables and drop off drinks etc
3pm back here to get ready!
4.15 off in car
4.30 you can think of me walking down the aisle at that time :wave:
Better go, few things to do tonight like catch up with the washing, then off for what is hopefully the start of a couple of early nights so I look my best.
Will most likely get on tomorrow or friday as am home.
quitecontrary
15-05-2008, 10:27
Vicki, how exciting for you!!! Cue - Here Comes the Bride!!! gush, gush etc etc!!
Have fun my dear, we will be thinking of you on Saturday afternoon and trying to factor in the time zone as well!!
I have a dd who has become a teenager it seems, up half the night and asleep since 5am. She is now the proud owner of 14 teeth with another two just dying to poke through.
On that note I should away and get under the shower before she wakes and wants to join me waving the shower curtain around and peering in over the edge of the bath!!
Lucky2b Mum
15-05-2008, 12:33
Hello all! Vicki - Good luck for Saturday!! Hope it's all smooth sailing. May you both be surrounded by love, luck and happiness always. Mary - 14 teeth! You wouldn't think their little mouths are big enough for that many. Declan is cutting molars atm. Hope G is doing well. Good luck with ttc! hopefully you'll be holding a new bub in your arms soon. Glad to hear your friends in China are ok. It's hard to comprehend the amount of damage and the sheer numbers of people involved! I can't wrap my head around "18,000 still buried" It's an enormous tragedy - more so for you because you know the people and the area. Maria - Why is it they pop 4 teeth at once? I guess it's a good thing to get it over and done with. Happy belated birthday to Julia. I'm loving having a 1yo! Such a joy watching them learn and laugh! Amy - You must be so proud of dd2! Well done to her! Hope your foot is feeling a bit better. Would be a relief if you could just find the cause and get it fixed. I found it really depressing to be in constant pain with my feet. I hope your gp can give you some answers - if not contact dr phil!! Why not? No seriously, I hope you can get some answers as it affects your mobility so badly. Good luck. Rita - have been thinking of you and hoping all is going well with you and your donor. Us - DH's birthday today. 37, still a lad!! Declan had his injections this morning. God it's awful! One in each leg and one in the arm. Poor little boy. He's down for a nap now. Dh has Friday and Saturday off, so Declan has swimming tomorrow and we'll spend a quiet weekend together. All the best to you and yours ... especially Vicki for this weekend .......
JEMGIRLS
15-05-2008, 18:21
Thanks for the birthday wishes for Julia. It seems they grow so quickly. I must admit I do love this age and her smiles and giggles get to me all the time. My miracle baby is growing up so quickly.
Vicki, all the best for your special day and I hope as I'm sure it will be a dream wedding for you and your future DH.
Had a mothers day night with by cub scout the other night. It was great, no men allowed and we played a couple of games together which were fun and then we were pampered by our children who gave us foot massages, so sweet. Coffee and scones with jam and cream followed. It was nice having special time with my DD who is 9 now.
Take care.
Maria
Just quickly as LOTS to do!
Thanks everyone, will post those pics as soon as get back from honeymoon next week :wave:
till then, take care
Ys_Woman
17-05-2008, 10:58
HOPE YOUR DAY IS JUST PERFECT VICKI.
CONGRATULATIONS!!
:flowerz::sunshine::goodvibes::cloud9::yelclap:
Big hugs,
Amy
Ys_Woman
17-05-2008, 20:42
Well girls..Vicki will be an old married by now :)
Hope it all went well today hon. I was thinking of you.
well, I have been busy, I have checked in a cupla itmes in last few weeks.
Well, my cycle with my new donor is off.... sadly, the wheels fell off the cart. Mostly due to my financial situation which is similar to my mind, not much there anymore!
My friend who has beenin hospital since 20 weeks preg, got to 27 weeks, prolapsed umbilical cord, emergency c/s in the wee hours, baby boy, but 15 hours later, he passed away. I am devestated for her loss.... This has made me re-think about wanting another baby seriously. I feel so sad for her,,, to get this far...... and I get so scared (more scared) to have another! SHe also used donor eggs..... its just too sad.....:crying:
Everyting else here is as per normal, no changes..... still tired as buggary all the time.
Im not completely with it, since Fridays news...sorry.... :(
JEMGIRLS
18-05-2008, 15:17
Hi HBM
My heart goes out to you and your friend. I can imagine how you must feel, especially when it all seems so hard! There are women out there who get pregnant and don't even want them and then there are those who don't even love or look after their children letting them loose in the streets. It's so unfair really. Just look after yourself, sometimes it is good to talk to a professional, or someone you can trust about this. It helped me anyway, of course it was a different situation for me but it all helps.
Maria
quitecontrary
18-05-2008, 15:46
Rita, my heart is with you and your friend. What a sad time for you, actually devastating is closer to it I think.
Sorry to hear things aren't working out with your new donor. Look after yourself honey, take some time for yourself. I hope you are feeling a bit better soon.
All is well here. G is on the mend. We have just been out for a great big walk around a part of the neighbourhood we hadn't explored before, G managed to sleep through some of it which was a joy to behold. She sounds like she might be going to bed again now for a late nap, which means we can have one too!!
Lucky2b Mum
18-05-2008, 18:34
Rita - I'm so sorry, what shocking news. My heart goes out to you and your friend. Such a devastating loss will take a long time to get over. I think it's a normal reaction to be grateful for what you have, so I understand you re-thinking another child yourself. I'm sure you'll take your time with your decision. Big hugs to you and your friend.
No news from here. Declan had his needles on Thursday and has been a bit grizzly since. I just hope that's as bad as it gets.
All the best to you and yours
Leanne X
went to my GP yesterday and told him of my ordeal with having to cancel my donor cycle and how distressed I was. I didnt mention what happened to my friend and how that has impacted on me emotionally. But he reckons I was screwed up enough to suggest I see a phsychologist. So I rang today and she cant see me till mid July! By then Ill have my head sorted out on its own!!!! I have a lot of thoughts in my head about wether to try again at all...... I have two beautifyul girls (both are sniffly, along with mum on antibiotics!).... who could ask for more??? Ill see how I feel in a couple of months.....
GP alsop wants to run blood tests on me to understand where my tiredness is coming from.... Im just totally exhausted all the time and no desire to lift a finger to do anything.....
Plus Im so damn poor lately! Totally sucks. We have loads of stuff to sell in a garage sale, its just getting our *** into gear and get rid of the stuff, surely there is some money in everything we have for sale!
Ys_Woman
20-05-2008, 14:19
Rita: I am sorry to hear about your friend's loss hon..seems cruel doesn't it.
You've been under a fair bit of emotional stress for quite a while now:hugs:..perhaps the tiredness is your body's way of saying it needs a holiday. TTC can really do your head in. Any chance of a weekend getaway with the family? Somewhere like the beach?
Good luck in organising the garage sale. I love going to them but have never held my own ..and yet our garage is overflowing..lol.
Be kind to yourself at the moment..and I hope the dreaded lurgy leaves your family soon.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
20-05-2008, 14:23
Hi to Leanne, Maria, and Mary..so what are you gals up to lately?
Not much going on here. Finally today I am using the slow cooker I got for MD..now the house smells gorgeous. Can't wait for dinner time:)
Best go. Dane is not happy in his bouncer..or in bed..or anywhere for that matter today. I am really earning my mummy points at the moment..lol. Wonder if those teeth are near to coming? hmm..
Bye4now,
JEMGIRLS
20-05-2008, 21:41
Hi Rita
that's awful that you can't get to see someone earlier than mid July! If I was in your shoes I'd be exactly the same. I was on anti depresants about 12 years ago and they really helped me for a little while. They just seem to calm you down a bit without the stress. Of course, this may not help you but and it's not your thing but I thought I would mention it anyway. Good luck to you and I also hope things look brighter for you soon.
When I catch up with friends who have had their children early and have now grown up I find it a bit hard. I love their company but sometimes as I'm in baby mode it's almost like we don't have much in common anymore. I really wish I could meet some women in my situation in Perth for a chat. Why aren't you girls here. At least I can talk to you guys on line and it really helps thanks.
We are still getting beautiful weather here in Perth and walking is so nice. Yesterday my hubby and I walked along the cycle path at the beach and it was gorgeous.
Take care.
Maria
Lucky2b Mum
21-05-2008, 19:47
Grandparents day here today - I love Wednesdays! My mum and dad come over and spend the day with Declan. He really enjoys their company and he learns so much from them. Mum has taught him to say "aaahhh" after drinking from a cup. So cute ... a few weeks ago when I had to dose him with panadol at 3am I heard "aaaahhh" and had to stop myself from cracking up. 1yo's are so much fun.
Amy how is your foot? Have you seen the gp yet?
Hello to everyone, hope all is well with you and yours.
Leanne
quitecontrary
21-05-2008, 20:39
Leanne - one year olds are great eh? What a funny story! G cracks me constantly, and when I laugh she laughs - which just compounds it of course.
We went down to my parents place this afternoon and she climbed on and off their coffee table which was amusing - luckily there were a few adults to catch her if necessary (their coffee table is very big - if it was a dining table it would seat 8!). She is much better than she was, we are off to the Drs tomorrow for the one week check up on her ears. Oh, the funniest thing she did today was when she was helping me bring in the washing - she was picking up the hankies, rubbing her nose and blowing raspberries - guess whose parents both have head colds??
Rita: so sorry to return to hear of your friends loss.
I cannot begin to understand how that must feel but my thoughts are with both her and you xxx
The honeymoon was just glorious!! The ceremony went just beautiful, truly memorable and just how we planned.
Katie walked all the way with the grandfather with bouquet in hand which was awesome.
I havn't caught up with ds1 properly yet to grab pics but will by the weekend.
Until then here is some from the beach and a couple off ds2's camera.
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/WeddingAndHoneymoon
Will be back later with more personals once am back into reality lol
Back to work already tomorrow!
Ys_Woman
22-05-2008, 07:37
Vicki: Hello gorgeous..well what can I say that would sum it all up without sounding trite? What a lovely pic of you and your dh (try typing dh dh dh dh..*middle finger left hand, forefinger right hand*hehehe); Katie was obviously as beautiful as I imagined from the pics of the dress and the pics I had seen of Katie previously. Your dress came out a treat too hon..love that pink lace.
I am so looking forward to seeing other pics..but just not more of the beach..it is making me feel really sad for being stuck inland..lol..:yes:
So do you feel any different?
Would love to hear more about the wedding when you have a chance.
Hugs and mwah:hugs::kiss:
Amy
*checks her dvd drive for signs of wedding cake*:)
Lucky2b Mum
22-05-2008, 09:55
Vicki - Congratulations!! What an awesome backdrop for your happy day. You looked every bit the glowing bride - dh is a lucky man - and Katie looked like a little fairy princess. Congratulations! Look forward to seeing more pics.
Mary - G is a real character! Isn't their energy amazing? And they don't miss anything! Declan has been drooling with his teeth and mum wipes his face with a tissue she pulls from her bra. God love him, he's started pulling the tissue out and wiping mum's face.
Quiet day here today, just me and the little man. Weather is miserable, so indoors.
Hope all is well with you and yours.
Leanne X
quitecontrary
22-05-2008, 16:01
Greetings my dears,
Vicki - what a lovely day! I too am looking forward to seeing more pics!! Well done, congratulations!!!
Genevieve is in the midst of a good afternoon sleep. She has been doing the very dull thing of waking for a couple of hours in the early hours of the morning the past few nights. At least today we all got to sleep in. We went off to playgroup today and she was really happy to be there. I think the fact that she stays at creche happily these days means she is also happy to play without holding on to me at playgroup. So we both had fun. Dh is home so we came back with lunch for him too, he is busy working but we are all heading off to the Drs for G's follow up appointment very soon.
The annoying thing for me at the moment is that I'm not pg - again!! I'm looking at it in a positive manner. That acupuncture must be good for me, usually I'm a cranky b**** at this time of the month. I am going to make the most of it and lose another 2kg this month. It will mean I'll be in even better shape when the next bub does come along. I have also decided to keep off the testing and trying threads here, and the mc threads, they do my head in. There is only so much crying a lass can do.
So, I've decided to do my 10 000 steps every single day (5000 up today, so I'm half way there) and only drink alcohol twice a week. So far so good for the alcohol, but the steps thing I've only really pledged today. I've been wearing a pedometer for months now, but I don't get up the 10000 steps every day by any stretch of the imagination.
Gosh, this is all fascinating for you I'm sure. Anyway, thats where I'm up to today!
Take care my dears.
Ys_Woman
22-05-2008, 17:05
Declan has been drooling with his teeth and mum wipes his face with a tissue she pulls from her bra. God love him, he's started pulling the tissue out and wiping mum's face.
How precious Leanne! And here I thought my friend was the only one who kept her life in her bra. Swear she uses it as a handbag..the babies are forever fishing around in there..lol.
Enjoy the miserable weather..good excuse to curl up with a warm drink and a good book.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
22-05-2008, 17:13
The annoying thing for me at the moment is that I'm not pg - again!!
:hugs: Mary..you are giving it your best shot but it does do the head in at times. I gave away the ttc threads about six months after the m/c..I couldn't live every month being disappointed and wondering at every pain..and trying to buoy up everyone else in there who wondered at every pain and frequently asked : "Could this be a sign that I am pg?", only to be disappointed again. You have to worry about your own emotional health.
Those middle of the night get together's are exhausting aren't they. We let Dane sleep through his final feed time the other night but instead of sleeping on til 6am he awoke at 2am..uggh. I am not very productive for the next two days after a rude awakening. Hope Genevieve goes back into her routine quickly for you.
I envy you getting to a playgroup. I so need a car. It sounds like G is getting into the swing of it though..daycare/creche does teach them that bit of independence which is good.
Best go and fix dinner. Hubby rang to say he is stuck in traffic so I had a few extra mins to kill on BH.
Have a lovely evening.
Cathrine
22-05-2008, 19:43
I hope you don't mind me joining you here. I'm starting injections tonight and still wondering if I can jab myself in the stomach. If you had injections, did you do it yourselves or get someone else to do it?
Cathrine
Just quickly again, have updated the album with some more for yous.
http://picasaweb.google.com/Kaitlyn2006/WeddingAndHoneymoon
Still lots to come, these were just some sent from ds1 via net to keep me happy till he can go through them all lol.
welcome Cathrine!! Im sure there is someone here who can help you.
tell us a bit more about yourself, is it ttc no1? or do you have others. Where abouts are you. I am perth and mother to 2 boys 26 and 16 and a adorable little girl Kaitlyn of 16 months with my just married DH on Saturday.
look forward to hearing lots from you
back Saturday ladies to catch up more xx
have a busy one tomorrow so not sure if can get on.
Lucky2b Mum
23-05-2008, 09:48
Vicki - beautiful pics! What a memorable day for you. The quality of the photos is amazing! Looks like everything went beautifully - so many happy, smiling faces.:yelclap:
Cathrine - Welcome. Hope your first injection went ok - believe me it gets easier. Looking forward to hearing more about you. :)
Mary - TTC is a full time job. We were very lucky to fall with this child. After 18 IVF cycles to get Declan we didn't expect to fall on the very next (and final) attempt. (Low dose aspirin did the trick for me) Good luck. :goodvibes:
Amy - I know what you mean about keeping your life in your bra - unfortunately I have to carry a handbag as well atm - the poor old bra is doing enough work! :laughing: There's no room for even a tissue :eek:
We're off to swimming today. Declan doesn't seem to enjoy as much since I changed him to the Friday class. DH has Friday's off so I thought he could take him (it's amazing how many time you get kicked in the stomach during a lesson). We'll both go in with him today to see if he enjoys it and if he doesn't I think we'll quit. I don't know if he misses the kids from his old class? Anyway, weather is good today so we'll be able to all go for a walk together later.
Hello to everyone else - hope all is well with you and yours.
Leanne X
quitecontrary
23-05-2008, 14:04
Vicki - once again, what lovely photos, I really felt like I was there in Perth our Beautiful Perth.
I miss the West Coast, its been far too long since I was there last.
Cathrin hope its all going well.
Leanne you are right about ttc being a full time job. I just found the whole bubhub thing on it too much for me to take on board. We're at the stage of just ttc, apart from acupuncture and vitamins we haven't taken it any further. You must be so pleased and amazed to be pg again after such a journey to have Declan.
We do swimming classes on Mondays. Dh comes too, but he usually just watches and does G patrol whilst I get ready. G changes her mind on how much she enjoys it, but overall I know she loves it.
Our exciting news is that we are going on holidays again in June - Japan, England, Vancouver, Chicago, Honolulu and home. Its a quick one, Japan and Chicago are for Dh's work, England to see his family, Vancouver to see some of my favourite cousins and Honolulu cause I love it, even if its only for a night!! We'll be away for 3 weeks. Genevieve is one well travelled toddler. I keep telling her that I didn't even leave the country til I was 21.
I hope you don't mind me joining you here. I'm starting injections tonight and still wondering if I can jab myself in the stomach. If you had injections, did you do it yourselves or get someone else to do it?
Cathrine
Yes, from an old hand at IVF, tummy jabs all the way, anywhere from your navel down to your pubic line...no definite spot. And the trigger, these days, its in the tum as well (used to be in the butt).
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 21:54
Just quickly again, have updated the album with some more for yous.
Wow Vicki I felt like I was there *sigh*. Thank you for sharing the pics. Didn't Miss Katie look an absolute treat, but there again, so did her mother. That dress was fabulous..and the setting..and the groom..and the cake. What a splendid day you had for your wedding too. So glad for you both:hugs:
I didn't see your sons in the pics. Are they camera shy? I only ask because Brittany is..we have to either beg (long and hard), or try to take on the sly (usually end up with her head turned away) lol.
Your honeymoon spot looked divine.
Congrats hon..you were a beautiful bride:goodvibes:
Hope you stay on :cloud9: for a while yet to come.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 21:55
Cathrine
Hello Cathrine..don't be shy, jump on in and introduce yourself.
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 22:04
Leanne: So how are you feeling these days? Is bub making itself felt through bubbles/flutters/or kicks yet?
I imagine the swimming is fun for Declan. I would dearly love to take Dane but no car and hopeless bus service :(. I let the shower run over his face every night and he puts up with that ok. My other three HATED water anywhere near their faces..actually it has only been in the last year that Master 7 and Miss 6 have stopped having panic attacks when I wash their hair:eek:. Now they willingly put their heads under water. Maybe Dane will be my swimmer..lol.
Nothing much else happening here. Waiting for teeth to show their faces. I can see them pushing up under the gum and Dane has been exhibiting all the right signs..so hopefully soon.
Best finish a few more posts and then straight to bed.
Hugs,
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 22:09
Our exciting news is that we are going on holidays again in June - Japan, England, Vancouver, Chicago, Honolulu and home.
What an absolute blast you will have Mary:yelclap:. Is there room in your bag for one more?:laughing:
Can't wait to hear all about it and see the pics of Genevieve in front of landmarks. How very exciting.
So have you started packing yet? lol. Ooh..just struck me..it will be summer over there..warmth!
Have a lovely weekend,
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 22:11
Yes, from an old hand at IVF, tummy jabs all the way, anywhere from your navel down to your pubic line...no definite spot. And the trigger, these days, its in the tum as well (used to be in the butt).
Hey lovely..you are very quiet atm. How are you travelling these days? Taking time out to wind down a bit?
Hope to hear from you soon hon.
Wow Vicki I felt like I was there *sigh*. Thank you for sharing the pics. Didn't Miss Katie look an absolute treat, but there again, so did her mother. That dress was fabulous..and the setting..and the groom..and the cake. What a splendid day you had for your wedding too. So glad for you both:hugs:
I didn't see your sons in the pics. Are they camera shy? I only ask because Brittany is..we have to either beg (long and hard), or try to take on the sly (usually end up with her head turned away) lol.
Your honeymoon spot looked divine.
Congrats hon..you were a beautiful bride:goodvibes:
Hope you stay on :cloud9: for a while yet to come.
Hugs,
Yes they are both rather shy when comes to pictures, maybe they get it from me, I tend to avoid them whenever possible. Obviously I couldnt get away with it that day though lol
A lady off out birth thread came to the house to help me prep and take our girly pics and she also took them at the ceremony so when I see her tomorrow am sure can find them in there somewhere..hopefully.
I did say to ds1 tonight that in all the fuss we forgot to take a family one lol oh well. hopefully Lisa has something for us in her photos.
Thanks Amy, Mary and leanne, wish yous had been there too. Hope that in sharing it with all my preparations and now the photos that you felt you were. I did indeed give a thought to you all and wished youd all been there to share it.
mary! Wowers what a holiday, sounds just fantastic, might have to fight Amy for the suit case space lol.
leanne: How did the swimming lessons go?
Must go, late night last night sorting those photos and a hard day at work, so am pooped!
will check back tomorrow after shopping!
xx happy sleeps all
Cathrine
23-05-2008, 22:52
Hi again and thank you very much for the warm welcome. Two injections done now and feeling very professional - lol.
I'm single and 44 and live in Sydney. I don't have a partner and although I've been thinking about this for years, I have always baulked at the last minute.
I think it's hard enough with two partners to raise a child and I'm very nervous about trying this solo, but I think I would be incredibly regretful if I didn't try for what I've wanted for so long.
If it works, it works. If it doesn't, I hope to be a fabulously, eccentric old woman with too many animals and tons of annoying habits!
Cathrine
Cathrine
23-05-2008, 22:58
And I forgot to mention that this is the only time in my life that I'm pleased to be carrying too much weight on my belly ! Apparently the injections are easier!
Ys_Woman
23-05-2008, 23:46
I think it's hard enough with two partners to raise a child and I'm very nervous about trying this solo, but I think I would be incredibly regretful if I didn't try for what I've wanted for so long.
Cathrine
There are no guarantees in life anyway Cathrine so you might as well grab happiness with both hands while you can. I was a single parent for the first twelve years of my eldest daughter's life and it was a wonderful life..not to say better than my life with dh..but wonderful in the sense that my daughter and I were extremely close. Still are.
lol@finding a good use for the extra padding now you have to take injections..ouchie.
I wish you all the best and look forward to hearing the ups and downs as you travel full steam ahead.
Hugs,
quitecontrary
24-05-2008, 18:58
Cathrin - I always said that if I wasn't married by the time I' was 40 I'd make a bub myself. Dh got in on the act just in time really. I do hope it all works for you, your baby will be much wanted - and with that comes love and all the good things. Yay for being in Sydney too - we're all over the gegraphical place in Bubhub land.
We are looking forward to our trip. I should be emailing my sister in law, but instead I'm doing this!
Yes, all of dh's family are over there in England. I wasn't planning to go this year as I thought by this stage I'd be heavily pg but seeings I'm not there are no excuses, plus I've been wanting to get back to Chicago for more than 12 hours for almost 20 years. I think I might start packing early for this trip, usually it ends up being the night before in an awful state.
Amy, you are right, we should get some heat somewhere along the way. Though you can't bet on it in England.
Lucky2b Mum
24-05-2008, 19:45
Hello all!
Wow, so much to catch up on - we're a pretty exciting bunch!
Mary - I didn't know about bubhub when we were going thru IVF to get Declan. Thinking about it 24/7 will definitely do your head in - mind you a fabulous holiday is exactly the distraction I'd be going for, you lucky b*gger!!! Honestly, being pg and having a 1yo is sometimes a strain. The tiredness is the biggest hurdle. Absolutely worth it though - I just don't want Dec to suffer, so I'm trying hard to still be fun. Hope G is enjoying her swimming more than Declan is atm. He still doesn't know how to hold is breath, so I'm not taking him because I've noticed an improvement! I should give him showers instead of baths, but he's too heavy for me to hold for long (13kgs).
Amy - Feeling tired and old lol! I have another scan on Tuesday, so fingers crossed all is still well. I think I can feel the occasional flutter but it's not regular enough or strong enough for my liking. I like a good strong kick every few minutes so I know everything is ok. I will never complain about getting kicked! Dec doesn't seem to enjoy swimming the way he use to. I think I'll look into a playgroup for him. Dane is gorgeous!! Love the new pic! Hope those teeth aren't too painful for him when they arrive
Vicki - How's married life? I bet in the next few weeks you'll enjoy having some spare time! Not something you would have much of recently!
Cathrine - Good on you for knowing what you want and going after it. God knows, partners aren't always helpful! My DH was MIA for the first 5mths of Declan's life! You're going into this with your eyes wide open and I'm sure your little bundle (when he/she arrives) will bring you so much joy you'll wonder how you ever lived without them. Good luck with this cycle, pls let us know how you go with your scans etc. It can be a little overwhelming and exciting wondering how your body will react.
Rita - hope you are treating yourself kindly and taking it easy for the moment.
Hope I haven't missed anyone.
Take care all,
Leanne X
Cathrine
24-05-2008, 21:58
Hello All,
Everyone, I'd like to say thanks for your encouragement. I was reading here for a while before I joined. Your understanding and empathy is wonderful.
Rita, I'm fascinated how to pulled the trigger - in your butt. Mine is fairly ample, but not sure I'd like to aim at it with something pointy.
Leanne and Amy, thanks for letting me know that you were on your own in the early days. I know lots of women do it successfully, but I'm still trying to locate a stray cat that I've just been given and am feeling grateful that at least a baby won't be able to climb every neighbour's roof for the first few years.
Quite Contrary, your trip sounds amazing. I had planned an o/s trip in October, but I think I'll leave it for now and if free to travel then, I'll cross my fingers I can book a seat.
Vicki, congratulations on your wedding. I hope the honeymoon lasts forever!
Have a lovely weekend.
Cathrine:)
Ys_Woman
25-05-2008, 11:09
Leanne: those kicks and flutters should be coming up upon you very soon..and you will just adore them. I also promised not to whinge when I was pg..lol..just tried to enjoy it all and remember every detail.
Thank you for the lovely comment about Dane. Dh and I are just enamoured with him:yes:. We went through a great deal of stress with the earlier m/c as the dr suggested probably lost the baby due to chromosomal problems. Then not having an amnio with Dane we went through the pgcy hoping and praying all would be well. So glad he is fine..spend hours a day just drinking him in and pinching myself for being so lucky.
If I were to give you any pgcy advice Leanne I would suggest getting a really good pair of walking shoes now. I wish I had invested in some back at the 20wk mark.
Cathrine: Yeah..don't have to chase them off roofs til at least two:laughing:. Hope you find your cat btw.
You ladies deserve a medal for sticking yourselves..but the outcome is so worth it.
Is the next step egg retrieval Cathrine? How long before that occurs? Are you using a donor you know or from a sperm bank? (feel free to tell me to mind my own business:)) lol.
Hugs. Hope everyone is having a lovely Sunday.
Dh has taken ds1 to footy training and I am supposed to be changing his room around atm but am stuck on BH once again! lol. Best motivate myself.
Amy
Cathrine
25-05-2008, 14:41
Hi Amy,
I think I prefer Millie the cat on the roof. I've just had to get a stepladder out and put it down the drain to retrieve her from her latest adventure. She hasn't realised yet that she's a foster cat and if she keeps it up, there won't be an adoption - lol.
My cycle is very different from the chart I was given so I'm not quite sure what is next. I have a blood test on Tuesday, but the chart suggests an ultrasound as well. I suppose I'll find out then.
According to my chart if things go well, I think egg collection would be early June. It all seems a bit fast, but we'll see what happens.
Anyway as it's another 'dentist' appointment, I'll have to turn up with braces or whiter than white teeth, or work will be wondering what I'm up to.
It's donor sperm from a clinic. A couple of friends have offered in the past, but after a lot of thought, I've decided on this route.
And why doesn't everyone get jabbed??? I thought we all got to be the pin cushion.
Have a lovely day
Cathrine
Lucky2b Mum
25-05-2008, 14:45
Cathrine - Hope you find that cat! In this house we have 2 cats (max & 99) a 16 yo dog, a 1yo boy a 40yo pregnant woman and 37yo DH. I don't know who is the most trouble - I think it varies from day to day.
Amy - You are a very courageous woman! Dealing with the mc of a precious babe - and then hoping like hell that everything would be alright for your entire pregnancy with Dane. You certainly deserve to sit back and drink in your gorgeous boy.
I am trying to 'enjoy' my pg. It's completely different when you already have a little one. I'm still praying every night and touching wood, but I don't think about the new baby every second of the day like I did with Dec. I'm hoping the dr can tell me on tuesday if it's a boy or girl. We don't care either way *chants healthy, happy and normal* but it will help enormously with the name dilemma.
I'm with you on the shoe thang!!! I know I'll lose feeling in my feet and get diabetes at 28wks. Homepeds for me!!
Ys_Woman
25-05-2008, 15:57
Anyway as it's another 'dentist' appointment, I'll have to turn up with braces or whiter than white teeth, or work will be wondering what I'm up to.
It's donor sperm from a clinic. A couple of friends have offered in the past, but after a lot of thought, I've decided on this route.
And why doesn't everyone get jabbed??? I thought we all got to be the pin cushion.
Heck, the last time I was jabbed was after dd2 was born..apparently having Rubella as a child doesn't cover you for life. The only other times were to test for the gestational diabetes. Hate that test..uggh..yukky drink that makes you feel exhausted afterwards.
Had I made it to 40 still single without a bub I would have chosen donor sperm too..better not knowing the person..less complicated with parenting I would think. Heck though..Brittany's dad (eldest dd) was pretty much a sperm donor..that's about all he gave..lol.
Now listen..I was thinking on your dental problem Cathrine. A pair of wire cutters and a coat hanger would go a long way to making fake braces..you can also make car aerials if you are feeling creative:D. Elsewise stick a cotton ball in the side of your mouth and tell them you had a filling all the way at the back. hehehe.
Won't be long and you will be a dab hand at this insemination thing. What I know about that and IVF comes from watching far too much Foxtel..lol.
Ready to dash to Aldi b4 it shuts.
Ys_Woman
25-05-2008, 16:13
Cathrine - Hope you find that cat! In this house we have 2 cats (max & 99) a 16 yo dog, a 1yo boy a 40yo pregnant woman and 37yo DH. I don't know who is the most trouble - I think it varies from day to day.
Amy - You are a very courageous woman! Dealing with the mc of a precious babe - and then hoping like hell that everything would be alright for your entire pregnancy with Dane. You certainly deserve to sit back and drink in your gorgeous boy.
I am trying to 'enjoy' my pg. It's completely different when you already have a little one. I'm still praying every night and touching wood, but I don't think about the new baby every second of the day like I did with Dec. I'm hoping the dr can tell me on tuesday if it's a boy or girl. We don't care either way *chants healthy, happy and normal* but it will help enormously with the name dilemma.
I'm with you on the shoe thang!!! I know I'll lose feeling in my feet and get diabetes at 28wks. Homepeds for me!!
Oooh..thanks for the Homeped tip Leanne. I saw a catalogue of orthotic shoes but guessing really pricey.
I sure understand how difficult it is when you have a little one already. In fact, it took me months to get into dd2's pgcy because I didn't really want it.
Ds1 had only just turned six months when I found out I was six weeks pregnant. I was horrified. How could I love another bub when I was so in love with him? And carrying him around while heavily pg..yikes. I forget how I survived but I must have..lol..and I adore dd2:yes:.
Maybe when your ds goes to sleep of a night you can devote some time to stroking your tummy and writing in a pregnancy diary. They are great to read back on.
Hugs..off to Aldi.
ttfn,
quitecontrary
25-05-2008, 21:32
Good evening my dears,
All is well here. We've had a lovely Sunday. My parents came over for lunch and I got 'day release' afterwards and went into the city to the Writers Festival with them. Dh cooked lunch, when I got home he was making muffins with Genevieve and now he is making fudge as you do.
Leanne, good luck with the scans on Tuesday. We didn't find out with dd what we were having, I thought she was going to be a girl though from very early on. I had first names worked out about 10 years ago, Dh just said yes! The middle names are family names - Grandmothers middle names on both sides, and the poor duck has two surnames too. We call her Genevieve the alphabet and the poor thing will never be able to fit her full name on forms.
Amy - I don't know how you got through Dane's pg without tests. We just had the nuchal for dd. With this next pg I'll be fingers crossed for a healthy one too. But after the mc I think I might be more inclined to have an amnio - we will see though.
Cathrin - we don't all get to be pincushions, though I have to say I ended up with an emergency caesarean so it was intervention city at the end for me.
We have G's swimming lesson in the morning, so I'm hoping that the little darling deems to sleep straight through tonight. Last night she was up again which was dull. I think her teeth are annoying her but its only 2 more to go and she'll have her quota.
Cathrine
25-05-2008, 21:34
Luck2B - you've just exhausted me with the body count in your house. How do you do it? I can't even manage the cat.
Amy, thanks for the braces tip, but I've decided on a temporary filling first, then a permanent one, and then I'm off to the physio for a few sessions. I haven't got a creative bone in my body - my attempt at home made braces would probably turn out like the Hannibal Lector mask.
Millie is now MIA for about 4 hours. If she's down the drain again, the prognosis is not good. If she's lurking in the garden and miraculously reappears, I'll be torn between whacking her or kissing her.
I think if I had a new baby (joy) and then found out I was pregnant with No 2, I'd just cry.
Have a great week
Cathrine
Cathrine
25-05-2008, 21:38
Quite Contrary - I'll never mention being a pin cushion again! An emergency C has put things in perspective for me. lol
quitecontrary
26-05-2008, 12:16
Cathrin - on the subject of needles and pins, have you thought about having acupuncture to help with catching and hatching that egg? I am having it on a weekly basis at the moment after having it recommended (again!) mainly due to an article about how effective it is in conjunction with ivf. I find it very relaxing and refreshing. Just a thought. I go to a woman in woollahra (don't know where you are in Sydney) who is lovely. When I was pg and had carpal tunnel and swollen ankles she did a great job at keeping both under some control.
Oh, and the "emergency" c wasn't that bad - G just didn't want to budge with any and all types of intervention so I ended up in the theatre 13 days after due date. Not a true emergency but not elective either really.
On the subject of G, she is asleep at the moment after her swimming lesson so I suppose I should get on with a few things!
Hope everyone is having a great start to their week!
ps Cathrin, my name is Mary!!
Cathrine
26-05-2008, 22:24
Hello Mary,
I would love the name of the woman you go to, but being completely ignorant of the effects of acupuncture (pardon spelling) how does it work/help? How do you find it relaxing?
Cathrine
wow so lovely to see this thread finally flying through the chat. :yelclap:
Not much happening here, had the day off work as was very quiet there but that suited me as there was a ton of washing to catch up on with sunshine today and tomorrow.
Have decided to be officially ttc again lol
I just cant help my self, AF seems back on track so maybe there is hope yet. :fingerscrossed:
I will try for a yr..that will make me ( hopefully ) pregnant in the yr I am 45. ( turn 45 august )
On the subject of single mum, I was single for most of ds1 and ds2 ( same as Amy, there were like sperm donors anyhow lol )
and yes it has its hard times but oh boy is it worth every bit of it! and didnt do ds1 or 2 any harm they both turned out just wonderful! :thumbsup:
I wouldnt have done it any other way.
Cathrine
27-05-2008, 20:02
Thanks Vicki, that's really reassuring to know.
Cathrine
Lucky2b Mum
27-05-2008, 20:33
Hello all!
Just a quick drop in to tell you about my dr's apt today. All good - there's definitely a baby in there - yaaay! I have a really nice dr this time, he's scottish (great accent) and he has a sense of humour. So DH and I feel very comfortable with him and during our scan this morning I mentioned that we were hoping to get a 'heads up' on the sex of the baby. Dr say's "we'll have a look" .... "well, I'm going to cover myself and say that it's still very early - but that looks suspiciously 'willy like'" :laughing::laughing::laughing: So maybe another boy for us! We're thrilled!! Struggling for names for boys though, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Hugs to all - hope your Tuesday was a great as ours!
Leanne
Cathrine
27-05-2008, 21:16
That's terrific Leanne, congratulations! Are you sure it's a boy or just a cheeky baby flexing it's fingers - lol.
Ys_Woman
27-05-2008, 23:19
Hello lovelies..
Tabby: So have you worked out your new signature yet? And changed over your name with every organisation you have ever come into contact with?..lol. Good luck with the ttc gorgeous. Are you back on the Clomid?
Cathrine: Forgive me but are you doing IVF or just insemination with the clinic?
Has that darned cat come back yet? Ungrateful thing.
There is a chicky in Surrey Hills, Sydney by the name of Lily Liu who has been celebrated as a fertility acupuncturist. I have seen her on current affairs programs. She has a website too with info and testimonials. Probably not the only acupuncturist who can claim success with fertility either.
Leanne: I was stoked to read your post:yes:..sooo glad the scan went well and bub is nicely tucked up in there..possibly with a penis..lol.
I have no suggestions as to names as it is such a personal thing. All mine were named after our mixed ancestry (Scottish, English, Irish, Danish).
How did you choose Declan's name?
Mary: I just loved hearing that your dh was baking with the 1yr old..lol. Bet that fudge went a long way over Genevieve's face and clothes:).
I have actually started enlisting Selia's help in cooking lately. Took me a bit to let her handle the sharp knives and get close to the gas burner but she is doing really well. She helped make spag bol tonight. Lachie is helping with dinner tomorrow night.
As to amnio..sure, maybe I was foolish for not having it but frankly, with a 1:320 ratio (based on nuchal and 20wk scan results) I stood a pretty good chance of it all being ok. I wish they would promote the idea that the majority of older women do have normal babies..and not keep pushing the negative line.
Well the chook's cooked and the cake's baked so I will head to bed. lol...yeah, bad rhyming I know. Guess you can figure what the family will munch for lunch tomorrow..hehehe.
Alright..I'm going..
Hugs,
Lucky2b Mum
28-05-2008, 09:18
Cathrine - thank you! We make great boys :goodvibes: How are you going? When is your scan? Hope the injections are getting easier. DH and I were heading down the donor sperm road when we finally fell pregnant with Declan. After 17 attempts we totally believed that we couldn't do it together for some reason. I think a donor would be easier as far as parenting goes - and also pretty easy to explain to the child. I believe there are books available to help with the explanation as well.
Amy - thank you! To fall pregnant so early into DS's life would have been a shock. I loved your explanation of your feelings towards the new baby too! It's hard to believe that I will be able to love anyone as much a Declan - but I think Dr Phil says to build another well or something. As for the name thing - well Declan was my favourite name for about 1000 years and fortunately Dh loved it. Declan's middle name is Joss (which I love too) it is chinese for luck or fate. We figured after trying for so long either we are the luckiest people on earth or he was destined to be here.
Hope your foot is on the mend. Have you seen your gp yet?
Vicki - Great news that you and DH will be ttc!! Good luck! :valentine:
Must fly - Grandparents day here today :yelclap:Hello to everyone else - hope all is well with you and yours!
Leanne
Amy: oops! Had forgotten all about my sig, hows that?
Havnt changed anything yet! We decided no rush as so hard to get everything changed over and will do one by one as needed.
Opening a joint account though as soon as we both have time off, he figures may as well seeing I handle it all anyhow lol.
Leanne: So happy to hear alls well with little bean.
and a boy bean at that! woohoo!
names...Oh so hard to choose! Good luck finding a suitable one :yes: I have such a hard time when deciding but usually always go back to whatever was my first choice.
Day off tomorrow! Mums off for tests and il's cant sit, works quiet though so boss didnt mind anyhow. Will now be able to see Katies great grandfather away at the airport as he flys back to england tomorrow :(
Must run, just home from work, the Miss naps and need iron clothes for dinner tonight at sizzlers for the grandfathers last dinner here, is also his birthday.
I got a lovely photo frame that holds 5 photos and of glass and silver. All filled with wedding day and Katie, am sure he will love it.
quitecontrary
28-05-2008, 19:47
It seems all is well with all of you, which is great!
I have a dh who is cleaning the kitchen and about to make dinner, and a dd who is going to sleep - how good is that?
We have been busy as per the usual, with Education Week being thrown into the mix as well. Yes, I know its years off til dd is at Big School, but her big boy cousin was singing in the choir at the local plaza so we all headed off to see/hear him perform. It was lovely. We stuck around for the next schools performance - they weren't a local school so they didn't have a crowd of spectators but you would of thought we knew the kids in the choir, Mum was teary so I was teary, my sis joined in and I think even dh was wiping his eyes (he cried at our wedding, how sweet was that?). God knows what the kids in that choir thought!
Vicki sounds like you are still flatchat with the after wedding-ness. How lovely that Katie has a great grandfather, even if he is in England, thats where half of Genevieve's grandparents are!
Its funny, I'd decided years ago that I wasn't changing my surname - I don't think Dh minds as he didnt want to change his either!! I don't mind if people call me his surname though, and I'm sure he'll get mine too. We did the joint accounts just before we got married as dh was putting in his application for residency. Now everything is in both our names, which is lovely I must say.
Cathrine
28-05-2008, 23:32
Hello, hope all is well with everyone.
Amy - I'm doing IVF with a clinic in Sydney and so far, so good. The evil cat finally returned at 4am the other morning and has now just raced in with a mouse in her mouth. After getting her in a head lock with some wrestling moves, she finally released it and when mouth to mouse resuscitation failed, it was deposited in the bin. If it was alive, I would have delivered it to the despised neighbour's front garden. I'd really like to catch a rabbit and deposit it in their lettuce patch....
I'll look up up the woman in Surrey Hills - she sounds very interesting.
Leanne - the scan has left me feeling a little flat. In July I had 20 follicles, yesterday I had 4. I suppose I was quietly confident as although I've been determined as socially and medically infertile, I suspected social infertility as the culprit. Any hoo, time will tell.
As for the injections, I'm going really well thanks. I had originally planned for a girlfriend to inject me, but I've found it amazing that a great desire can overcome the sook factor. lol
Cathrine
Mary: Absolutely flatchat! Really hope things start to settle down now, my mind is exhausted! I figure once they go it should quieten down a bit, Sunday lunch with my parents first though as feeling like I have neglected them a bit of late, so roast sunday lunch should make up for it.
hmm Tell me your secret to DH cleaning kitchen lol.
jk! Mine will if asked, just seldom I ask.
Your dh sounds just lovely too, good on him for being a great help.
Catherine: Can I ask what "social" infertile means? Sorry if being daft!
Glad the injections are going well. and yes when you have that desire we will do almost anything to fulfill it, even if means jabbing our selves. All the best hun, am fingers and toes crossed for you. ( toes only crossed till next week, uncrossed here for ovulation of course lol ) Then ill recross for both you and me :thumbsup:
Just home from dinner, we were a hr late due to dh in traffic on way home from work and then again once he picked us up we got traffic jammed again on our way there! But none the less was lovely as always.
Hope everyones well xxx
quitecontrary
29-05-2008, 14:05
Cathrine - did you get the pm I sent you with my acupuncturists details - it went on and on and I didn't think everyone would want to hear how fabulous I think it is!! But it is!! There are a lot of therapists listed on Bubhub in the Directory tab at the top of the page. Naomi Abeshouse (my one) is listed there too.
So there are three of us who are ttc by one method or another at this point in time. After being all involved in threads last months I'm passing on it this month and will obsess at home by myself, instead of at home by myself on Bubhub!
I have a sleeping baby and a sponge cake to bake for my mummy's birthday, the hordes are descending after 3 so I must away for now!
Cathrine
29-05-2008, 22:15
Idiot here! What's a PM and where do I find one - lol. What suburb is Naomi in? Sounds like bliss - a sleeping baby and a home baked cake!!! Hope you have a lovely evening.
Not daft at all. Social infertility is basically a lack of an appropriate partner. In my case, it's because I'm single, it could also be because I was in a gay partnership (not sure if the term applies to the guys, but certainly for the girls). So it's really a lack of opportunity rather than a medical issue. Thanks for all the fingers and toes - another scan in the morning so it's a follicle hunt again!
Cathrine
quitecontrary
30-05-2008, 20:02
Cathrine - I note you have worked out yet another bit of bubhub code, and indeed I have sent you another private message - sorry I should've explained to start with.
I felt so angry with western medicine and the labels you've been given. How bl**** awful to be called socially infertile - not what you need at all at this time.
Apart from that, all is well here. I went to sleep on the bed at the acupuncturists again, which was lovely, came out starved again - which was funny. Had to raid Genevieve's dried fruit supply to tide me over for the drive home.
Yesterday's afternoon tea party was a raging success, we all had a good time. Mum was happy and that was the point of the whole thing.
Tomorrow we are getting the doors on our built-ins after nearly a year - it is going to look really different in our room. My nephew told me it looked like a clothes shop the other day, which made me laugh.
Hope all is well with all of you, and the weekend brings lots of fun your way!
Cathrine
30-05-2008, 21:20
Hi Mary, it took me a while to ask what socially infertile meant. I felt slightly leperish.:)
The built-ins sound great, but your own personal dress shop sounds like a lot of fun.
I'm off to Canberra for the day tomorrow and allegedly will be studying on Sunday if I run out of things to procrastinate with.
Back again for another blood test and scan on Monday. They said this morning that they may trigger me on the weekend, but have decided against it for the mo.
Hope you have a lovely weekend.
Cathrine
Ys_Woman
01-06-2008, 08:51
Hi Mary, it took me a while to ask what socially infertile meant. I felt slightly leperish.
I'm off to Canberra for the day tomorrow and allegedly will be studying on Sunday if I run out of things to procrastinate with.
Back again for another blood test and scan on Monday. They said this morning that they may trigger me on the weekend, but have decided against it for the mo.
That is a freakish term 'socially infertile' that would be like me claiming to be a 'virginal lesbian', or a 'partial billionaire' :laughing: (infinitesimally partial I might add!!!) lol.
Wish I had seen your post on Friday..might have been able to have a meet in Canberra.
Good luck with the blood tests on Monday..hope your body holds off til then.
I am off to the BubHub morning tea this morning. Will be cool meeting other mum's in the ACT.
Is anyone else going to their local one today?
Ys_Woman
01-06-2008, 08:57
Apart from that, all is well here. I went to sleep on the bed at the acupuncturists again, which was lovely, came out starved again - which was funny.
Tomorrow we are getting the doors on our built-ins after nearly a year - it is going to look really different in our room.
Maybe the accupuncture jiggles your insulin a bit..good to know for next time though.
How do the robe doors look? Are you happy with them? It is always nice to shut the doors on the mess..lol.
Cathrine
01-06-2008, 21:59
Ahhh Amy, but you could be a virginal lesbian - just non practising, and a partial billionaire could be the 26 year ex Hooters wife of an 89 year old billionaire - lol.
A friend of mine took me down to see the Turner to Monet exhibition at the gallery which was fantastic and we had a great lunch in the sun by the lake. A really lovely day.
How was your catch up with the other bub hub mums?
Have a great week.
Cat
Ys_Woman
01-06-2008, 22:22
Ahhh Amy, but you could be a virginal lesbian - just non practising,
A friend of mine took me down to see the Turner to Monet exhibition at the gallery which was fantastic and we had a great lunch in the sun by the lake. A really lovely day.
How was your catch up with the other bub hub mums?
Have a great week.
Cat
Nope..definitely fully-practicing..lol (dh wouldn't have it any other way:P)..but would really enjoy being a practicing billionaire:yes:..now there's something I could be good at:laughing:
The exhibition sounded lovely..that is what I love about Canberra..all the national galleries, libraries etc..and I have this kinky thing about the Carillion by the lake..lol..just love the chimes it plays. Canberra is a wonderful place to raise kids too..many sponsored family events. Glad you had a good time here.
The BH get-together was a little awkward at first. Only four of us came, and I only knew one, but seeing many other tables with parents and bubs I inadvertently introduced myself before being called over to the real get-together:o. Bit embarrassing but gave me the opportunity to hand out some BH ribbons to those ppl..lol. Just drumming up business for this site.
Have a hectic week of cleaning ahead as we have our bi-annual inspection coming up and the landlord, although the fairest man in town, likes the house to be absolutely perfect. I am so shattered tired all the time and ache constantly..think this one is going to be fun!
Hugs,
Have a great week Cat.
quitecontrary
02-06-2008, 13:43
Good afternoon ladies,
Pleased to hear that good weekends were being had all over the place. Ours was mixed, I ended up getting really angry with my cousin uncle (mum's first cousin) who has been making the built-ins for us and so we still don't have the doors on, though we do have them in the house now. He was 1.5 hours late without letting us know what was happening. If the situation was reversed he'd have been cranky too. All out of hand and silly but there you go. So dh and I spent the rest of Saturday quietly fuming at each other, though we did have another afternoon out at the beach - Coogee again which was great. Genevieve coped with sitting up through lunch without being too loud, and she had a ball in the playground there.
I had to do a lot of apologising over the weekend, but there you go, apparently he'll come over and hang the doors sometime - god knows when though as we are off in three weeks time for three weeks, and then we have our friend from China here for 6 weeks. Lalalala so dull even thinking about it.
We went down to Mum and Dad's for lunch yesterday. We had a great time, another cousin, her husband and three kids came down from the mountains for the day - and we had the full quota of nieces and nephews in attendance too. The kids had a good time together, Genevieve slept for hours and loved it when she was up - the meal was great and no one told me I was doing the wrong thing. It was a really nice day.
So there you go, our weekend in a nutshell. G is asleep after our swimming class this morning so I should get on with things I suppose!
Mary: Glad your weekend has been relatively well minus the cousin drama, hope its all smoothed out and those doors are on soon for you!
Us: We went to the zoo today, its was just too beautiful to be inside and have been hanging to take Katie there as she loves tigers and lions, always running rnd saying ROAR, last few days even pretend play while crawling on all fours and going ROAR. and she grabs 2 little lion figurines and gets them together saying roar and play fighting. Shes really getting into the pretend play rather early. So cute.
She absolutely loved the zoo! The tigers and lions were napping but she loved the rhino and went on to say rhino for the rest of the trip until we hit the penguins exhibit and there was one squawking away so she changed to that instead lol, I got her a little plush penguin there that makes the same noise when squeezed and of course its gone for nap with her. As usual she was a trooper, even getting to after 3 pm to get home for nap and not one complaint.
off to out my feet up! they hurt, so do the calf muscles from lots of up hill lol
Cathrine
02-06-2008, 20:52
Amy, wouldn't that be unreal. They always say that wealth won't make you happy, but like you, I'd like to give it a try !
I really like Canberra too and the girl I was with used to live there and said besides being family friendly, she said everyone gets out on the weekend and makes use of all the parks and activities. When it gets a little warmer I'll go down for the weekend and explore. Haven't really given it a once over since school excursions.
Good luck with the clean up. I'm house sitting my parent's place at the moment and will be in your shoes just before they return.
Mary, sounds like a mixed weekend. Will it be finished before you go away?
Have a lovely week.
Cathrine
quitecontrary
03-06-2008, 21:03
Back again! Sleeping baby and a dh who is meant to be on the way home from work but I haven't heard from him yet - not that that doesn't mean he's already well on the way. He lectures on Tues night, and this is the last one of the semester - I'm so happy!!
Things are fine here. Still no doors on the wardrobe but hell, these things all take time.
My parents and my youngest niece called in late this afternoon. Rory will be 3 tomorrow, what a hoot. She's at the point where she just tolerates Genevieve and can be a bit mean, but G doesn't care, its just us adults that find it off putting. The older cousins just love G so much, so that more than makes up for it.
We paid for our tickets yesterday, so it is truly official. Off on the 24 of June, and back on the 18th of July. Well, at least the in-laws will remember our visit, even if G, the jetsetting 16 monther (this will be her third trip to England) has no idea whats in store. I keep telling her that I had to wait til I was 21 to leave the country the first time, and she is not to get used to this amount of travel! Oh well, thats what happens when you marry an Englishman who wants to see his family. And whose family wants to see us! There is no way my in-laws could travel out here, they have very poor health. So off we trot again! Fingers crossed there is no medical emergency just before we head off this time - the last three trips have coincided with some full on calamities - breast cancer for m-i-l, hospitalisation with pneumonia (m-i-l again) followed by 24 hour oxygen at home, and f-i-l in the psych ward at christmas. Yes, its a laugh a minute in their house, let me assure you. Thank god for G being a little ray of sunshine.
This has gone on and on.
Hope the week is treating you all well.
Ys_Woman
04-06-2008, 11:58
Sorry..just dashing by. I am trying hard to do personals lately but am struggling a bit. Either the weather, cold and miserable, or just me.
Anyway..still alive. Trying to get the house in order but feels like I am wading up to my waist through wet cement..so sluggish.
Hope all are well.
Promise to post properly in the next few days.
Hugs,
matthewsmum
04-06-2008, 16:32
Hi Ladies i have just popped in to say hi...I will be back to catch up on all the goss as i don't have time to read yet...talk soon bye shaz x
Just quickly start the new thread, will do this for a 3 month limit as we really dont need monthly.
back soon with link
http://www.bubhub.com.au/community/forums/showthread.php?p=2729957#post2729957
see yous there!